2018 Lincoln MKC Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Powertrain, lane departure, and structure issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on


Compact SUVs have grown in popularity, with the 2018 Lincoln MKC getting a lot of attention. While Lincoln uses the tagline “what a luxury car should be,” it’s clear that this vehicle didn’t make the cut, which is probably why it’s no longer in production. Maybe the discontinued SUV was deemed a loser because of the faulty powertrain, defective lane departure system or poorly-built structure.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Lincoln-Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Lincoln MKC

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
3
Unknown Or Other
2
Wheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
1
Fuel System, Gasoline:delivery
1
Tires
1
Wheels
1
Power Train
1
Electronic Stability Control
1
Air Bags
1
Lane Departure: Lane Keep: Automatic Steering
1

Problems with the Powertrain

The powertrain is responsible for taking the energy from the motor and transferring it to the wheels. One of the main components in this system is the transmission, which appears to be giving Lincoln owners trouble. 

One NHTSA complaint says, “The contact owns a 2018 Lincoln MKC. The contact stated that on several occasions after the vehicle was parked with the engine turned off, the contact exited the vehicle and the vehicle started to roll away. Additionally, the contact attempted to reenter the vehicle but was unable to do so, and the contact fell and sustained several bruises and minor cuts. The contact was certain that the shift lever was switched to the Park position. The vehicle then crashed into a light pole. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] to be diagnosed, however the result was still pending. The damage to the vehicle was repaired, there was no additional repairs made to the vehicle.”

Transmission issues are foreign to Lincoln, according to the communications. Service Bulletin #20B27 talks about the transmission torque converter that overheats under “certain driving conditions.” When this happens, it causes a rough idle, low performance, as well as increased noise, vibration and harshness. To repair the problem, an internal transmission repair is required. Is this “what a luxury car should be?” It’s possible to get the same level of quality from a cheaper Ford vehicle.

Problems with the Lane Departure

Advanced driver-assist features are designed to protect occupants, but the Lincoln SUV seems to be using systems creating more danger.

Here is another NHTSA review. “The contact owns a 2018 Lincoln MKC. While driving approximately 65 mph, the lane departure safety feature activated to correct the vehicle from veering out of the lane. The lane departure feature steered the vehicle too far to the left, causing the vehicle crash into the median and flip over. The vehicle sustained severe front end damage, but the front air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an undisclosed location. The driver, front seat passenger, and rear driver side passenger all sustained head, neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer and local dealer were notified of the failure, but the cause of the failure was undetermined. The failure mileage was 2,382.”

This situation is completely unacceptable, much like the brake recall that is putting people at risk. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V104000 states that some vehicles were equipped with the wrong front brake hoses. These parts are chafing against other components, thereby resulting in a fluid leak that could increase stopping time and might lead to an accident. Whether it is staying in its own lane or braking, the MKC can’t seem to perform basic safety functions, leaving a lot of people in danger. Maybe it’s best to stay far away from this SUV when it’s spotted on the road, just in case.

Problems with the Structure

As a luxury vehicle, every part should be well-constructed and durable, but that’s not what customers are finding. 

Just read this Edmunds review. “Would love my 2018 MKC Select, if not for the ongoing rattle/vibration noises in the dash, that the service department have been “unable to replicate” after having it serviced at the dealership twice for it.  Disappointing to have live with this issue with a brand new, luxury vehicle and it’s made me lose confidence in the overall quality.”

The structural issues get even worse. Service Bulletin #TSB 20-2171 goes on to discuss how some vehicles have seat pan looseness, clunking, thumping and lateral movement, especially during turns. It turns out the defect is found in the seat pan track, which requires a reinforcement be installed for proper security. Along with everything else going on with this SUV, who wants to deal with the seat shifting around while driving? Anyone watching from a different vantage point might think there are ants in the pants.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Lincoln pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryWheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateSep 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 lincoln mkc. The contact stated that upon having the tires serviced by an independent mechanic, the mechanic informed him that all the lug nuts were swollen and difficult to be removed. The dealer was notified of the failure and the contact was given an estimate for the repair. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure and informed him that they were aware of the failure; however, the parts were on backorder. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 23,480.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline:delivery
DateAug 04, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2018 lincoln mkc. The contact stated that after refueling, the vehicle would not immediately start. The driver had to turn the ignition key and depress the accelerator pedal simultaneously to start the vehicle. Additionally, while attempting to refuel the vehicle, the fuel nozzle would constantly click off and on. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who replaced a fuel system line and the failure was remedied. No further information was available. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 13, 2022
StateOH
Description
My check engine light went on one week ago and we received a message that my vehicle was unsafe to drive due to an engine misfire. We did not drive the vehicle, but could not take it into the dealership until today as they were backlogged and could not fit it in until today (9/13/22). I just received notice that my 2018 lincoln mkc needs the engine block replaced due to a known issue with the 2. 0 ecoboost engine leaking coolant into the engine, which can cause overheating and possible combustion. I discovered that there is a technical service bulletin noting this known issue, but there has not been a recall on the vehicle and it will now cost 00 to replace.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 02, 2022
StateOH
Description
Misfire cylinder2 coolant found in combustion chamber requiring longblock engine replacement. Through investigation found that this is a widespread factory defect that ford is well aware of. A diagnostic check was not performed on this issue during any routine service visit even though a technical service bulletin had been distributed to dealerships in 2019. The dealership and ford customer service personnel all confirm there was nothing an owner could have done to prevent this result. An engine light came on at 77,000 miles, just 7,000 miles outside of the warranty.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 06, 2021
StateNV
Description
Engine light came on and my linolnway app told me to not drive over 45 mph because my car may start having smoke come out. I took the car to the dealership and was told that I needed a new engine because the coolant has leaked over . I was told that my car was the 5th lincoln that came in and needed a new engine. A new engine was installed and I was told that I had just made the warranty otherwise it would have been a 00 fix. I was without a car for a week and a half.
CategoryTires
DateAug 17, 2021
StateIL
Description
I purchased this vehicle in 2020 and it came with these tires. Three of the four tires either had a bubble or repeatedly lost air around 28000 miles. These are very unsafe tires and unlikely a road hazard damaged three of the four.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 03, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Rear deck door does not fully close and lock, causing the system to continually attempt to close and lock it. Causing the battery to become fully discharged when parked.
CategoryWheels
DateSep 30, 2019
StateTN
Description
After less than 26000 miles the tires are reported by ford maintenance to be woren to a dangerous level when traveling there is a loud noise from tires
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 21, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 lincoln mkc. The contact stated that on several occasions after the vehicle was parked with the engine turned off, the contact exited the vehicle and vehicle started to roll away. The contact attempted to reenter the vehicle but was unable to do so. The contact fell and sustained several bruises and minor cuts. The contact was certain that the shift lever was switched to the park position. The vehicle then crashed into a light pole. The vehicle was taken to heritage lincoln inc located at 900 w genesee st, syracuse, ny 13204, (315)472-4534 to be diagnosed, however the result was still pending. The damage to the vehicle was repaired, there was no additional repairs made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted nor informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. The vin was not available. *bf *tr
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateFeb 11, 2019
StateFL
Description
The dealer that sold me my vehicle gave me this defective car wile my vehicle was being serviced for issues. I was with my wife and stoped to buy honey at a stand at the corner of an intersection in delray beach, I parked the car and left the car on opened the door and went out to buy honey, my wife was on the passenger and also came out , left the door open, we where about 7 min talking with the guy at the honey stand when all the suden the car was coming at us, thankfully the three of us where not run over , I ran as fast as I could to get inside the driver side to put the brake and was able to stop it, the vehicle was going tourd a main road (jog rd) scariest moment .......
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 09, 2018
StateFL
Description
Sunroof has a large crack in it and lincoln dealership states it was hiit by something. Nothing hit that glass. Lincoln will not cover the charge and wants to charge me00. The glass sunroof is defective
CategoryAir Bags, Lane Departure: Lane Keep: Automatic Steering, Steering
DateMay 01, 2018
StateWV
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 lincoln mkc. While driving approximately 65 mph, the lane departure safety feature activated to correct the vehicle from veering out of the lane. The lane departure feature steered the vehicle too far to the left, causing the vehicle to crash into the median and flip over. The vehicle sustained severe front end damage, but the front air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an undisclosed location. The driver, front seat passenger, and rear driver side passenger all sustained head, neck, and back injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer and local dealer (mountaineer lincoln in beckley, wv) were notified of the failure, but the cause of the failure was not determined. The failure mileage was 2,382.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.