2019 Infiniti QX50 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Fuel system, brake and electrical issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Infiniti fans couldn’t wait to get behind the wheel of the 2019 Infiniti QX50. This luxury crossover boasted about a lot of features with the new models proclaimed to “empower the drive.” Yet, it didn’t take long for drivers to understand that this model wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. In fact, this luxury vehicle suffers from a defective fuel system, malfunctioning electrical equipment and a faulty braking system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2021  

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Infiniti QX50

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
8
Service Brakes
8
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
6
Electrical System
6
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
6
Engine
4
Power Train
4
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Steering
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2

Problems with the Fuel System

In a conventional vehicle, the gasoline is what burns to produce power. When something inside the fuel system malfunctions, drivers can experience a myriad of problems, including strong odors, as illustrated below.

One Edmunds review states, “Bought this car three weeks ago and it’s already in the shop for gas smells filling up my garage. So strong in fact that I have to either park my brand new luxury SUV outside in the cold or leave my garage door open for hours while it “cools off”. Dealer repair shop says they can’t find anything wrong of course. This is a serious health hazard! The fact that it’s a gas smell makes me nervous to drive it too as i have no idea if it’sa leak close to the hot engine. This new VC engine definitely has some issues. Also, no run flats available for it anywhere currently so I’m screwed if I have a flat…smh. Car looks cool and has some nice tech but it’s not ready for prime time. With as much money as I spent on this “luxury crossover” I should not have to worry about smelling like gas when I get to work everyday!  I seriously wish I had gone with a competitor. I was an Infiniti loyalist but I won’t be buying another one after this. This car wasn’t ready to be released and you’re using us as beta testers. You’ve lost me as a customer.”

Infiniti isn’t clueless about this situation. The company even issued Service Bulletin #ITB19-026 which tells technicians to replace the EVAP canister filter vent hose, unless there is an obvious fuel leak. It’s unlikely that the high-end Infiniti customers are pleased with driving a luxury vehicle that smells like a garage. Furthermore, a potential fuel leak could easily lead to a fire, thereby putting owners at risk. It’s difficult to feel empowered when living in fear.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Infiniti QX50 Fuel System Problems

MY 2019 INFINITI QX50 FWD HAS BEEN WASTING A LOT OF FUEL COMPARED TO WHAT IS/WAS ADVERTISED ON THE WINDOW STICKER. I LEASED THE VEHICLE EXPECTING THE GAS MILEAGE TO BE SOMEWHERE BETWEEN 24 AND 31 MPG’S, BUT IN REALITY I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING 17 – 20 MPG. MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE AS SUGGESTED BY INFINITI, THE TIRES ARE INFLATED TO THE CORRECT TIRE PRESSURE, BUT I STILL CANNOT GET ANYWHERE NEAR THE ADVERTISED FUEL MILEAGE. THE VEHICLE HAS OVER 10,000 MILES AND I AM EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE FUEL MILEAGE. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE TO ANYONE UNTIL NISSAN/INFINITI PLACE A MORE REALISTIC FUEL MILEAGE ESTIMATE ON THE WINDOW STICKERS OF THESE VEHICLES.

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system of a vehicle runs just about everything. Aside from that, electrical power is also needed to run the various features and accessories. In a luxury-minded SUV, the amenities must work correctly for the owners to remain happy, but that’s not the case with the QX50.

An NHTSA complaint illustrates this by saying, “My wife opened the rear liftgate using the outside electronic door switch on the liftgate. The liftgate electrically fully opened. My wife started to load items into the rear of the SUV. The door electrically closed on its own. The door struck the back of my wife’s head before she could get out of the way. The door did not stop or open automatically, or detect an object in its path. She tried to reopen the liftgate using the switch, and it raised about 5 inches and then immediately shut.”

This Infiniti model is attempting to knock sense into the drivers with this defective part. Plus, there was a massive recall related to the back-up camera as well. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V654000 was issued for more than one million vehicles. It appears that the camera can be adjusted so the rearview image is no longer visible, which poses a major safety concern. To repair it, technicians must issue a software update. What’s worse – not being able to see what’s behind the vehicle or getting beaten up by the tailgate in the rear? The verdict is still out, but owners shouldn’t have to deal with either.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Infiniti QX50 Electrical Problems

STOPPED AT NIGHT, AT A RED LEFT TURN LIGHT, 3 LANE ROADWAY. NO ONE ON ROAD IN FRONT, PASSING ME, OR COMING IN OPPOSITE DIRECTION. BACKUP CAMERA CAME ON, THE PICTURE OF THE VEHICLE APPEARED ON THE SCREEN, ALL WARNING SIGNALS CAME ON FOR AN IMMINENT HEAD-ON, SIDE-FRONT PASSENGER CRASH WAS ABOUT TO OCCUR. THESE WARNINGS FLASHED, THEN SCREEN TOTALLY BLACK. CAR WAS RUNNING, IN DRIVE, FOOT ON BRAKE WAITING FOR GREEN. NO TRAFFIC ON HIGHWAY DUE TO HOUR AND LOCATION. THE SCREEN THEN FLASHED BACK ON, SAME REPEAT WARNINGS, BLACK SCREEN. COULD NOT GET SCREENSHOT, PHONE IN PURSE. LIGHT TURNED GREEN, TURNED LEFT ACROSS 2 MORE LANES, INTO DESTINATION PARKING LOT. SCREEN CAME BACK ON, STAYED ‘NORMAL’ REST OF DAYTIME DRIVING, UNTIL 2 DAYS LATER DAYTIME DRIVING ON 4 LANE HIGHWAY, THE IMMINENT WARNING SYSTEM DID NOT COME ON WHEN A VEHICLE IN FRONT HIT BRAKES, 60 MPH TRAFFIC. I WAS DISTRACTED BY A CELL PHONE ‘PING’, LOOKED DOWN, THEN BACK UP TO SEE THE BRAKE LIGHTS, WAS ABE TO STOP IN TIME. CALLED THE SALESPERSON WHERE PURCHASED, AFTER THE FIRST INCIDENT, ON HER RECOMMENDATION, THEN SERVICE # AT CERTIFIED DEALER WHERE I WAS CURRENTLY LOCATED, 4 + HRS AWAY FROM DEALERSHIP WHERE PURCHASED. WAS TOLD BY THIS SERVICE CENTER REP, ‘NEVER HEARD OF THIS ONE, BUT WE CAN GET YOU IN ON AUG 19TH. (IT WAS AUG 10TH AT TIME OF MY CALL), IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, GET IT TOWED EITHER HERE, OR DEALERSHIP WHERE PURCHASED.’ AFTER THE NEAR REAR-END CRASH, WITH NO ALERT ACTIVATED, MY DECISION TO RETURN VEHICLE VIA NOTICE TO DEALERSHIP SALES MANAGER WAS MADE. DEALERSHIP SALES MANAGER NEVER RESPONDED TO MY EMAIL STATING I WAS CANCELLING PURCHASE OF HIS VEHICLE. 2 SALESPEOPLE WERE SENT TO DRIVE IT BACK, DESPITE THE RECOMMENDATION OF THAT OUT OF TOWN SERVICE REP. TO TOW IT IF ‘ANOTHER INCIDENT’. CONCERNED MORE INCIDENTS MAY OCCUR WITH THIS VEHICLE, THAT IT WILL BE WASHED, WAXED, RETURNED FOR SALE TO ANOTHER DRIVER.

Problems with the Brakes

One of the most basic functions of a vehicle is the braking system. Today’s technology is supposed to make the system work even better, but this Infiniti makes it worse.

One Edmunds user says, “I’ve had my car for a little over 4 months now and I’m terrified to drive it. Let me start off with I am a big Infiniti fan and have never had any issues with my previous cars. The driver-assist controls/ Emergency braking have been malfunctioning to where I’ll be going down the road at 30-40 miles per hour and it will automatically break. It’s not a slow break, it’s a full on from 30 to 0. I have been very lucky that the few times it has happened no one was behind me. It’s a very scary and dangerous situation. It’s currently in the shop, but they have already called saying everything is checking out fine. Be cautious with buying this model!”

Infiniti doesn’t seem to have a desire to discuss this further as there are no communications regarding the problem. At this point, the company might figure it should invoke its right to remain silent. Yet, the owners aren’t. The internet is filled with complaints about nearly every system in this vehicle. If the automaker planned to empower anything, it sure did help the drivers find a voice.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Infiniti QX50 Brake Problems

THIS IS NOW THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED!! THE CAR SLAMS ON THE BRAKES AS IF SOMEONE IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE CAR RANDOMLY. I WAS DRIVING AROUND 40MPH AND NO ONE WAS IN FRONT OR NEXT TO ME, THE CAR RANDOMLY SLAMS ON THE BREAKS AND IT TAKES A FEW SECONDS FOR THE CAR TO RELEASE THE BREAKS AND ALLOWS YOU TO START MOVING AGAIN.THE SENSORS GO OFF AS IF YOU ARE TOO CLOSE, WHEN NO CARS ARE EVEN IN SIGHT. VERY DANGEROUS!!!!! THIS WILL BE KILLING PEOPLE, NEEDS A RECALL ASAP! MANY PEOPLE HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINTS ONLINE AND INFINITI DOES NOTHING TO HELP

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Infiniti pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
On three separate occasions, the collision avoidance system activated without anything blocking it. One incident I was driving at least 35 mph thru and intersection and the car suddenly halted to a complete stop jerking myself and my 6 year old forward. The vehicle behind me had to swerve to avoid rear ending me.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 02, 2022
StateMS
Description
The automatic braking system on my car seems to malfunction when going across the louisiana/mississippi bridge. As I was driving the car began to brake but it didn't come to a complete stop. This put my safety at risk because there were cars behind me and if I would have come to a complete stop on the bridge it would have been a terrible accident. There was a warning issued on my dash while the car was beginning to brake on the bridge.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Suspension
DateSep 26, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was driving around 30 mph crossing an intersection when the emergency braking system activated and caused the truck to stop. There was nothing obstructing the vehicle, nor were any pedestrians near. This is the 3rd occurence when this happened.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateAug 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
Multiple instances of forward emergency braking system engaging on an empty road or when no vehicle is in close proximity. Dealer service department states insects on radar system may be to blame, and were unable to reproduce the issue. Warning light and brakes engage, depressing the brake pedal and returning to accelerator cancel the warning however sudden braking at highway speeds presents an unsafe condition to drivers following behind who may not anticipate sudden braking in free-flowing traffic.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJun 23, 2022
StateTX
Description
Forward collision avoidance system automatically applies brakes during normal driving situtations. This will increase the safety risk for passangers including small children, animals, the driver and other drivers and their passangers. The warning lights came on the same time the fca applied brakes. Numerious complaints already registered suggest approved recall and repairs are required. The qx50 is overloaded with sensory packages, advanced technology and is being serviced by undertrained technicians as stated in previous complaints of insufficiant maintenance repairs fixing the safety issue. If we had been in an airplane instead of a car we wouldn't be here to file this notice!
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMay 31, 2022
StateMI
Description
Was driving down the street going 55mph, not one car in front of me. The automatic breaking turns on and the car hit the brakes by itself. There was a car behind me during the first incident and it almost caused an accident. The driver thought I was brake-checking him and it caused him to have a fit of road rage. This particular incident has happened a total of 6 times. I took the car to infiniti after the 2nd occurrence and they told me they couldn't find any issues with the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 31, 2022
StatePA
Description
Multiple repeated problems with electrical system. Repeated crash sensor failure. This mainly happens when it is warm or sunny. The dealership has had the vehicle four times and the problem is still reoccurring. The malfunction light comes on when the car is first started or while driving. The dealership stated that none of the crash sensors work when it is lit. They have replaced the module that was diagnosed to be the problem, however there is still the same issues. They are going to replace the module again. They have replaced a module to control the wipers twice. The wipers still come on randomly when it is sunny, and the delay for the wipers does not work when it is raining. The cruise control stopped working and is throwing codes. This morning`s new warning was shift system malfunction. It's been in three times for the air-conditioner. The cooling fan was stuck on high speed until they replaced a sensor. The car was inspected and the brake pads were okay, however when the car stopped, there was a very loud pulsation. The dealership told me it needed rear brakes, which we replaced, and 0 later, they were still pulsating. After the second time taking it back, the dealer then said it was the tires which were new. We took it to a private garage, and the problem was warped, factory front rotars because they could not support the weight of the car. They were replaced with performance drilled and slotted rotars, which corrected the issue. The dealership cannot figure out the electrical issues, so they keep replacing the same parts and returning it back in a dangerous state. Since the vehicle is throwing so many codes and has so many malfunctions that I feel unsafe driving it. All of these problems problems started december 2019, when the car had 8000 miles on it. It has been to two different infiniti dealerships, neither being able to fix it. We have photos of all the codes, but when we tried to upload, it failed over and over.
CategorySeats:front Assembly:power Adjust
DateMay 26, 2022
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 infiniti qx50. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle and attempting to adjust the seat, the seat failed to move backward or forward. The contact stated that the seat remained seized in one position after turning the vehicle on and off. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact had taken the vehicle to a local dealer who diagnosed that the driver's seat chair rail needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the seat failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 53,000.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateFeb 25, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 infiniti qx50. The contact stated while driving 60 mph, the vehicle started to decelerate independently. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to park on the side of the road and called the dealer to make them aware of the failure. The contact was able to continue driving to his destination. The contact stated he experienced the failure for a second time a year later. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure on the second occasion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateDec 18, 2021
StateDC
Description
After multiple related incidents, I am compelled to make a report. My car just displayed red and white flashing indicators on the dash and automatically screeched to a halt, completely out of my control, in the middle of a busy intersection. Because the road was damp from rain, my car actually skidded. I was not going to hit anything, there was no car or object in front of me. I was driving at about 30 mph. This has happened repeatedly in parking garages and other low-light scenarios. I have brought the car to the dealer and gotten no answers. At this point I am terrified to drive the car.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateApr 21, 2021
StateMN
Description
On may 4, 2019, I tool delivery of a new infinity, qx50 and after 2. 5 months of ownership (july 26, 2019 to present), I'm having ongoing / unresolved problems / failures with; audio, lane departure, collision warning w/ sudden stopping, heated / cool seats, infotainment, audio, tailgate, remote door locks, both screens going blank, phone / bluetooth connection, awd, automatic shifting problems and extremely soft brakes that put me thru 2 controlled intersections. The dcu has been replaced 4 times and I still have the same ongoing / unresolved problems. I told the service manager (rudy), to start replacing all the sensors, cms and camera and he refused to do that. My qx50 has been in for service five times (including today, 04-21-2021), for a total of 6+ weeks. The mechanic at infinity, can't replicate any of my ongoing problems / unresolved problems and I have 25 videos, showing what the qx50 is dong and infinity can't fix it. I pay a lot of money for the qx50 and for all the driver safety features, other amenities and it still continues to fail miserably and does not perform as intended. Because of these unresolved problems and ongoing issues, my wife refuses to drive in the qx50 with me. I have asked infinity to buy back the qx50 and they flat out refused. I had to obtain a lawyer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 15, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Back in june 2019 when this vehicle had about 5000 miles, I began to feel shortness of breath and light headedness, until one day while driving home on a very hot day, I began to lose consciousness while driving. I took the car to infiniti and even after 60 days, they had no clue what was going on. They called one of their engineers who recommended an indoor air quality test which was ignored and never performed. Late february 2020, I began a lemon lawsuit. Then in august 2020, I had to pay out of pocket for that test and was able to prove that the car had a co2 issue that caused me to nearly go unconscious a few times, and resulted in several months of severe migraines and dizziness which caused me to be out of work and loss of wages. My husband also drove the car for a week and began to experience headaches. This was after they changed the evap hose line even though I never smelled gas. I haven't been able to drive it since december 2019 and am forced to keep paying for it while the lemon law suit process goes on. Thanks to covid, this has been going on for almost a year now with no end in sight. Infiniti was made aware of the co2 issues in august 2020 and only now in february 2021 is when they have asked to bring in the car to attempt to fix the issue. I also experienced issues with the car suddenly breaking while driving on the highway and no cars in front or near me, and cameras turning on for no reason. This was my 6th nissan infiniti since 2004, and I will never do business with them again.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateDec 08, 2020
StateOK
Description
While driving down a four lane highway at 50 mph. The car suddenly applies emergency braking when nothing was in front of the car. If another car is behind this vehicle and this happens, there will be a major accident. This has happened on 3 occasions total.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 infiniti qx50. The contact stated while driving at 65 mph, there was a loud, abnormal popping sound coming from the vehicle. Soon after the popping sound was heard, a bright flashed from the instrument panel. The instrument panel went blank had gone blank with a blue streak across the screen. The contact stated that the vehicle started to decelerate independently. There was also an abnormal odor inside of the vehicle. The contact attempted to open the sun roof however, the sun roof failed to operate as needed. The vehicle was driven to clear lake infiniti (14705 gulf fwy, houston, tx 77034) where after two weeks, the mechanic was still unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a buy back was offered. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 27, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact stated that while her daughter was driving she rear-ended a 2019 infiniti qx50, which abruptly stopped due to the automatic emergency braking system. The contact stated that the air bags did not deploy in her daughter's vehicle. The driver did not sustain any injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was damaged but not totaled. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The manufacturer and the dealer were not called. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The vin was not available.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 08, 2020
StateMI
Description
The car does not shift to neutral without a great deal of difficulty. Could not get the car into neutral while going into a carwash.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateJul 06, 2020
StateTX
Description
Dating back to november 2019, my vehicle's automatic emergency braking have engaged 3 times without reasonable cause at speeds that vary from 40-70 mph. The first two incidents were on normal city roads going approximately 40-45 mph. The last incident (june 2020) happened while driving on a highway, with no traffic around, going ~70 mph and my vehicle almost came to a complete stop. The first time I took the vehicle into the dealership, they reset the system. The most recent time they said the incident happened twice to technician and their assumption was the vehicle was not clean enough. I followed up with infiniti consumer affairs and they told me these incidents have happened in other vehicles but do not think the situations are related. With the incident now happening a total of 5 times (and when the vehicle was clean), I do not feel safe in the vehicle and believe there is an underlying issue.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 24, 2020
StateCA
Description
Car would not drive upon pressure of the gas pedal placing driver in immediate danger. Driver pulled over multiple times, shifted car into park and turned car off, proceeded to attempt to drive again. After fourth time, the transmission/engine responded. This car was returned to autonation infiniti of tustin two days after purchase, the dealership informed they would place the car back on the lot without inspection, this causes great concern for the safety of any future drivers of the car. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2020
StateSC
Description
Two separate incidents of vehicle performing preemptive braking with no other vehicles or objects present while the vehicle was in motion. The first incident occurred while traveling at speeds approximately between 45-50 mph through a four-way intersection; no vehicles were present. The second incident occurred while driving at a speed that was approximately between 30-45 mph approaching an intersection. Probable cause: front crash prevention, forward emergency braking with pedestrian detection, predictive forward collision warning. The vehicle was checked in for service and after a seven day period, no faults were found. The dealership could not replicate the condition stated above. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 15, 2020
StateCA
Description
Dear nhtsa, my automatic emergency braking system warned and autobraked my vehicle during my normal driving without any signs of emergency - no cars are in front of me along the whole street. Luckily, no one was hurt. My webcam caught it. If possible, please put attention to this case as all the owners are in danger. It seems that I cannot upload videos but I will be very happy to provide it as an evidence. *tr
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 05, 2020
StateNY
Description
While driving, the vehicle will decline in acceleration and you can not increase acceleration. When turning the vehicle off, the car will proceed at a slow pace. Infiniti dealer told me that I needed to let the car warm up for 30 minutes. The engine makes noise as if the vehicle is in neutral. At times, once taking your foot off the brake pedal to switch the gas, the car will take off from under your foot. While driving, the car will come to a complete halt as if it was approaching a collision. All emergency indicators will go off. The car must be turned off to return to driving. Vehicle has been serviced by infiniti, where diagnostics are ran but does not register an issue. Last servicing, the service man told me to just call consumer affairs, but consumer affairs asked for a claim number which I did not have. On april 28th, the vehicle was making a left turn and flipped upside down to the right. Nothing was hit for the cause of this accident. All airbag deployed but the steering wheel and rear airbag. Steering wheel was locked to the left and could not be moved. Vehicle was declared totaled. Due to covid-19, the vehicle has been driven four times since ny declared a shelter-in.*dt*jb*dt *tr*jb
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 28, 2019
StateCA
Description
My 2019 infiniti qx50 fwd has been wasting a lot of fuel compared to what is/was advertised on the window sticker. I leased the vehicle expecting the gas mileage to be somewhere between 24 and 31 mpg's, but in reality I have been experiencing 17 - 20 mpg. Maintenance has been performed on the vehicle as suggested by infiniti, the tires are inflated to the correct tire pressure, but I still cannot get anywhere near the advertised fuel mileage. The vehicle has over 10,000 miles and I am extremely disappointed with the fuel mileage. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone until nissan/infiniti place a more realistic fuel mileage estimate on the window stickers of these vehicles.
CategorySteering
DateSep 25, 2019
StateIA
Description
This vehicle has the pro-pilot assist which keeps the vehicle between the lines centered. It is an auto steer. We have had numerous times where the steering will go from line to line, it will cross the line put you on shoulder, cross the center or even move you into another lane with traffic in it. We have complained to dealership, they took it for a week said they found nothing wrong. Within 24 miles of getting it back it was doing it again. They said unless the engine light is on ( for engine code) they will do nothing. This is a feature used mostly on highway at highway speeds. This issue is most dangerous, at highway speeds if it does this could cause a multi vehicle collision resulting in serious injuries or death. I cannot pinpoint certain dates as it has happened enough where my wife will not use it.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2019
StateSC
Description
Stopped at night, at a red left turn light, 3 lane roadway. No one on road in front, passing me, or coming in opposite direction. Backup camera came on, the picture of the vehicle appeared on the screen, all warning signals came on for an imminent head-on, side-front passenger crash was about to occur. These warnings flashed, then screen totally black. Car was running, in drive, foot on brake waiting for green. No traffic on highway due to hour and location. The screen then flashed back on, same repeat warnings, black screen. Could not get screenshot, phone in purse. Light turned green, turned left across 2 more lanes, into destination parking lot. Screen came back on, stayed 'normal' rest of daytime driving, until 2 days later daytime driving on 4 lane highway, the imminent warning system did not come on when a vehicle in front hit brakes, 60 mph traffic. I was distracted by a cell phone 'ping', looked down, then back up to see the brake lights, was abe to stop in time. Called the salesperson where purchased, after the first incident, on her recommendation, then service # at certified dealer where I was currently located, 4 + hrs away from dealership where purchased. Was told by this service center rep, 'never heard of this one, but we can get you in on aug 19th. (it was aug 10th at time of my call), if it happens again, get it towed either here, or dealership where purchased.' after the near rear-end crash, with no alert activated, my decision to return vehicle via notice to dealership sales manager was made. Dealership sales manager never responded to my email stating I was cancelling purchase of his vehicle. 2 salespeople were sent to drive it back, despite the recommendation of that out of town service rep. To tow it if 'another incident'. Concerned more incidents may occur with this vehicle, that it will be washed, waxed, returned for sale to another driver.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 06, 2019
StateNY
Description
This is now the 2nd time this happened!! The car slams on the brakes as if someone is right in front of the car randomly. I was driving around 40mph and no one was in front or next to me, the car randomly slams on the breaks and it takes a few seconds for the car to release the breaks and allows you to start moving again. The sensors go off as if you are too close, when no cars are even in sight. Very dangerous!!!!! This will be killing people, needs a recall asap! Many people have the same complaints online and infiniti does nothing to help
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateJul 09, 2019
StateFL
Description
My wife opened the rear liftgate using the outside electronic door switch on the liftgate. The liftgate electrically fully opened. My wife started to load items into the rear of the suv. The door electrically closed on its own. The door struck the back of my wife's head before she could get out of the way. The door did not stop or open automatically, or detect an object in its path. She tried to reopen the liftgate using the switch, and it raised about 5 inches and then immediately shut. She brought the vehicle home and told me what happened. I opened the rear liftgate using the exterior switch as she had. The gate fully opened electrically and without stopping it immediately closed. I tried to open the liftgate again and it lifted about 5 inches and immediately closed. She drove the car to the dealer and showed the infiniti of coral gables service department. They repeated the actions, the door opened and immediately closed by itself. I contacted infiniti customer service and they opened incident 36294200. They gave her a loaner car and have requested the dealer not repair the car until a specialist arrives. The car was parked and not running on all three occasions.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 15, 2019
StateTX
Description
At stop lights the car will idle roughly like it will stall then it will also jump forward.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 15, 2019
StateTX
Description
Vehicle malfunctions randomly while driving or at a stop light and all of the driver assist/safety assist functions show error messages. It also happens while on the highway. I don't know if the car will stop on the highway.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 27, 2019
StateGA
Description
Strong gas smell in garage. Car had been parked inside garage for at least 5 hours. The smell was so strong that the garage door had to be opened for circulation. Did not see any actual fluid on floor of garage or near fuel/gas cap area. Not a regular occurrence, but extremely concerning.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 04, 2019
StateNY
Description
When driving the car or when the car is not moving ex: waiting at an intersection the car has gone from the drive mode to neutral for no apparent reason.. This has happened on 3 different occasions most recently on 3/2/19.. I want to check to see if others with same vehicle are having the same problem. Went to pull out in oncoming traffic and was unable to do so because the car went into neutral without my knowledge..
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 03, 2019
StateTX
Description
After turning off the engine of my qx50 infiniti 2019 when entering my garage, a very strong gas odor exists for many hours afterwards the car has been brought back several times for the problem and infiniti has tried different parts after replicating the problem in their dealership however, there does not seem to be a fix. What does a consumer do about this. It has been in service center at grubbs infiniti for approximately 50 days since the purchase of this car in november, 2018. I believe this is a serious safety issue, since I have an open pilot existing on my hot water heater in the very same garage where I park the car. Presently in the shop again. Have been told there are other cars of this model with the same complaint. Was even given a loaner of the same model with the same gas odor. Have another loaner, qx60 model without the problem. I believe this car(model) needs a recall.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 23, 2018
StateAL
Description
Vehicle 2019 infiniti qx50 pure 4dr suv awd (2. 0l 4cyl turbo cvt) review we have this car about 3 months now. Have approximately 3500 miles on it. We experiencing a hug defect on this car. In october, I drove the infinity to the gym in the morning 5:20am. It was less than 1 miles away, parked the car outside about 70 minutes. Went home, parked the car in the garage 2 hours. When I got in the car and started, the fan came on. It was so loud that we can hear it inside the car with all windows up. It was on over 40 minutes from my house to work. Got to work, shut off the engine, restarted the car, the fan immediately came back on. This happened 4 times now. We do believe something is not right. Took it back to the dealer, they cannot fix it, said it is per design, not a defect. Bought this as a luxury car, not luxury at all. Now, I am worrying about the safety of myself and my passengers. Not sure when or if the engineer is going to die on the highway. If anyone has the same problem please report it. We are at a loss regarding what to do next. Would not recommend to buy, there is still a lot of problems on this vehicle to work out.
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 11, 2018
StateOH
Description
The forward emergency breaking(feb) with pedestrian detection and predictive forward collision warning(pfcw) did not activate when I was starting up from a 4 way stop sign intersection on a city street. My 2019 qx50 was in motion when it crashed into another vehicle on the passenger door and wheel well. Airbags did not deploy as the qx50 was , I estimate, traveling
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 09, 2018
StateTX
Description
Backup camera and nav screen went blank. Couldn't use the backup camera backing up in garage.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 04, 2018
StateNJ
Description
Car can shift into neutral merely by resting hand on shift lever while sitting or moving

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
3 COMMENTS
  • sasa

    Yes liftgate has mind of it’s own. Specially when battery is low, or car was not driven for a while (2-3 days). Sometimes I am a liftgate on my QX50 since power does go away. But I love my car. Paint does chip easily. Otherwise car is stellar.

  • Damaris m

    isue with infinity

  • AMINA

    At the end of the day, finally I was ready to go home after a long day of work and I opened passenger door to put my handbag and lunch bag and tried to open the door from driver’s side and I was locked out of my car. I had to call the locksmith to open the door and it costs me $100. I contacted the dealership and explained the situation and they said they could not do anything.

    And then recently, I was loading the groceries in the trunk and liftgate closed on me . I was panicked and it hit me on my head.

    And 3 times, I was driving and all of a sudden there was automatic break on even though there was no car in front or behind me.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.