2019 Jeep Renegade Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, transmission and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Owners of the 2019 Jeep Renegade believe they got behind the wheel of a compact SUV that turns heads. Even the automaker claims this model will “make them look twice,” but it isn’t for good reasons. In fact, this Renegade model suffers from serious engine, electrical system and powertrain concerns.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Jeep Renegade

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
7
Electrical System
7
Service Brakes
4
Power Train
3
Unknown Or Other
2
Tires:tread/belt
2
Air Bags
2
Seats
2
Visibility/wiper
1
Tires
1

Problems with the Engine

The engine of the Renegade has never been praised for being the most powerful in the lineup, but it should still be reliable. Sadly, that’s not what the majority of owners are finding.

Here is one Edmunds review related to engine concerns. “Bought a 2019 and 2nd day the service engine light came on. So they let me pick out a different 2019 Renegade. The 2nd Renegade the same thing has happened. Then they ‘fixed’ took it home and next day the light came back on. Then they ‘fixed’ and service manager drove it home but the next morning on his way to work the light came on again! They are still refusing to refund the money at this point and are still trying to fix it! Been 4 weeks and still no car! Now we have a lawyer helping us. My 1st car payment is due now and I don’t even have the damn thing!”

No one wants to find out that their new car is a lemon, but it’s even worse when the dealership refuses to make it right. Still, there are plenty of documented instances of trouble with this Jeep engine. Just look at Service Bulletin #18-089-19, which also talks about the problem with an evaporator system leak. These are situations that shouldn’t be occurring on new SUVs.

Problems with the Electrical System

Most people don’t understand how valuable the electric system of a vehicle is until it doesn’t work correctly. Unfortunately, Jeep Renegade owners understand it far too often.

Just look at this Edmunds review. “This car cannot handle much stress at all, 3 years owning a new car and I have had so many problems from engine lights, to cannot start the vehicle and had to have the whole ignition replaced, to throttle problem. This is an absolute worst vehicle and Jeep is a poor brand for so many deficiencies. Never should anyone buy this junk or anything from Jeep.”

The faulty electrical system has even led to a massive recall, affecting more than 25,000 vehicles. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V287000 states that the software can lead the occupant restraint controller to malfunction and disable some of the passive safety features. When this occurs, there is a higher chance of injury after a collision. Basically, even if the engine is working correctly, owners are left with putting their safety and those in the vehicle at risk.

Problems with the Transmission

While the powertrain of a vehicle consists of several components that create movement, the most important part is the transmission. In modern vehicles, the transmission should be well-built and durable, but that’s not the case with the Renegade.

Here’s a complaint that was filed with the NHTSA. “The contact owns a 2019 Jeep Renegade. The contact stated while driving at approximately 55 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact made several attempts to restart the vehicle which failed. The vehicle was towed to [dealership] to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission and transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,600.”

It’s not fair to this owner that their new SUV was a junkyard candidate after just eight thousand miles. That’s not even a year of driving and completely unacceptable. The company doesn’t deny trouble with the powertrain. In fact, the automaker has twenty service bulletins about the system. One such communication, Service Bulletin #18-063-19 REV. A states that SUVs are struggling with a no-start condition, poor fuel economy, intermittent stalling and pinging noises during acceleration. According to the communication, these issues will be fixed with a simple PCM update, but there are probably lots of owners that also required a new transmission or module.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Jeep pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateSep 09, 2022
StateKY
Description
Sometimes when I put the car in drive after I've reversed, the rear camera stays on while I'm driving forward.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 16, 2022
StateOK
Description
My car is dying after running for awhile. I've had a multipoint inspection done, and everything was in order so I'm not sure what's wrong. It just cuts off while I'm driving, and no engine lights are on. If I try to start it again, it usually turns back on, but it makes me do it several times some times.
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateJul 29, 2022
StateFL
Description
Both front tires had improper wear on the outside tread. The tires were worn down to the steel belts.
CategoryAir Bags, Engine, Power Train
DateJun 03, 2022
StateGA
Description
The vehicle was involved in a crash and no airbags deployed. The front right (passenger) side quarter panel, windshield bumper, headlight, marker light, and turn signal will all need replaced. With no safety restraint system, had the accident taken place at higher speeds, my passenger and myself could have been seriously injured or worse. The transmission, at 54,000, has began to overheat and slip while shifting. The cooling fans only work with the air conditioner on causing the vehicle to overheat. This vehicle has a 194° thermostat and the temperature gauge reads 227° but the actual gauge shows the temperature still in the middle, where it always is. I have replaced the coolant bottle due to it separating at the seam causing a coolant leak. Also, nhtsa show that I have zero pending recalls when I know there is because I never took the vehicle to the dealership because the dealership is permanently closed.
CategoryTires
DateMay 16, 2022
StateVA
Description
4 months after my first incident with my front 2 tires, here I am again dealing with the exact same issue with the 2 rear tires. What angers me even more about this instance is that the mechanic who replaced my front 2 tires looked in january when they replaced and said that my rear 2 seemed to be ok an unaffected by whatever was going on and maybe it was just a fluke. Something needs to be done or this issue is going to cause an accident. I was lucky that someone saw the exposed belts with mine and let me know otherwise I could have possibly had a blowout and had no idea.
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateMay 16, 2022
StateVA
Description
Owned my vehicle a little over 2 years and when walking past my car one day noticed a shimmery glare on my driver side from tire. Upon further inspection realized that the shimmer was coming from the belts that were already making an appearance. Immediately took my car to a service provider who tried to get me to spend over 0 to get a possible warranty credit. I walked out and just ordered 2 tires from another manufacturer. When my mechanic put my new tires on said he found zero reason that these tires should be doing what they are. I have never had such a horribly manufactured tire in all my years of owning cars. Complete junk and going to cause an accident if someone doesn't do something about it. 215/60r17 is my size
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 22, 2022
StateCO
Description
37000 miles, 4 sets of rotors, 4 sets of brake pads, the current set has only 1000 miles on it and rotors are already warped and cut marks on them, in less than 5 months. Jeep service mechanics have said off the record this is a known problem with these jeeps but they are pushing all the costs off to consumers to keep fixing it, and it took a lot for any of them to finally admit it's a known problem with the front dusk brakes on jeep renegades.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 19, 2022
StateAZ
Description
If you have my jeep renegade in drive and you open a door it activates the emergency brake. My husband was in a wreck in the lowes parking lot. He hadn't shut his door right and so he opened the driver door slightly which activated the emergency brake which in turn caused him to slam into a parked car. I don't see how this is a safety feature at all.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 16, 2022
StateLA
Description
The contact owned a 2019 jeep renegade. The contact stated while his daughter was at standstill at a traffic light, she was rear-ended by another vehicle. No air bags were deployed. The driver sustain neck, back, left knee injuries, and lacerations on her lip. The driver did seek medical attention at her hospital. The contact stated other people were injured in this 6 vehicle collision but he was not aware of how many or what were the injuries with any of them. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The insurance company deemed the vehicle as a total loss. The vehicle was first towed to the local dealer and then towed to the second location at copart. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure and sent out a specialist for crash data retrieval. The failure mileage was 31,778.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 31, 2021
StateOH
Description
I have a 2019 jeep renegade. I have had issues with the vehicle not wanting to shift when it is cold and after it has been driven long periods of time. I have had the vehicle in several times an they keep saying there is nothing wrong. When I first got the vehicle before the first oil change they had to put a quart of oil in the vehicle. That has not happened until now. I went to go to cleveland last week and I checked the oil and had to put a quart of oil in it before I went. I had 15500 miles on it and did not have to change the oil until 20000. When I told them that they said that they were allowed 1 quart of oil between oil changes. I did not buy a brand-new vehicle to have to check the oil every 3000 miles. If I want to do that I would of kept my chevy trailblazer that I did not have to put a quart into just a ½ quart that cost 2 – 3 dollars a quart not 10. That was why I got rid of the other vehicle.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:throttle
DateMay 27, 2021
StateNE
Description
The contact leased a 2019 jeep renegade. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stopped inadvertently with the “service automatic throttle control" message displayed on the instrument panel. The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer on three separate occasions where several tests were performed however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryEngine, Structure
DateMay 24, 2021
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep renegade latitude. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25-30 mph, there was another vehicle coming in the opposite direction onto a steep curve on the road. The contact steered right to avoid hitting the other vehicle and ended up hitting a tree that was on the road, then hit two other trees nearby. The air bags did not deploy. The contact and passenger did not sustain injuries and no medical attention was received. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed back to the contact's parent's residence. The front frame, tie rod, and the radiator was damaged. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.
CategorySeats
DateJan 07, 2021
StateIL
Description
I am a loyal customer of chrysler owning 4 including including 2 cars in the last 20 months and on 1/4/2020 filed my first warranty claim that was denied by chrysler. The problem was the drivers seat that adjusts manually is stuck and will not adjust. Chrysler claims that because the cause of the problem is something was placed under the seat causing it to get stuck, it is not covered and wants 0 to fix it. My problem is that everyone puts stuff under their front seats and myself and everyone I know has had no problems. The very fact that something place under a seat caused the seat to get stuck is on its face as a question of fact a problem with the manufacturing. That chrysler would treat me, a longtime customer making his first warranty claim this way by refusing to stand by its products and fix this simple problem causes me to want to warn anyone thinking of buying a chrysler of chrysler's refusal to stand by its products for this simplest and most obvious design or other failure of chrysler win making a car.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 21, 2020
StateWI
Description
My radio/screen randomly turns off for no reason. This started shortly after purchase in aug 2019
CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 21, 2020
StateWI
Description
The rear seat belts recognize someone is in the back seat when there is nothing in the back seat. The seat belts have to be fastened at all times (with or without a passenger in the back seat). If one person is in the back seat bucked, the other spots will continuously "ding" until the seat belts are fastened. This has been ongoing from 1 week after the car was purchased (aug 2018)
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 06, 2020
StateGA
Description
Supposedly some rodents or something chewed the wires in the jeep and the evap, probably because of the soy used in the wiring. This resulted in the fuel gauged indicating it was empty even with a full tank and made it feel unsafe to drive. Not sure of how dangerous or hazardous this may have been but it was alarming and the manufacturer is not taking responsibility for it, even though they used the soy wires.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateSep 27, 2020
StateWI
Description
I was driving the vehicle on a busy street that has a speed limit of 40 mph I was on my way to drop my child off to school. The vehicle all of a sudden shuts off completely and I got really scared so I hit the brakes but the brakes were not working they locked. I tried again and the second time the brakes went all the way to the floor, they did not work. I was so scared I didnt know what to do I could'nt stop the car it turned back on by itself and the brakes worked again. Second time the car malfunction my husband and I went to pick up a pizza and we put the car in park, the car shut off and so did the gps screen. It came back on right away and nothing else happened that night. Third occasion that I was in the vehicle and it malfunction we got in the car and my husband turned the car on as he put it drive as we were leaving the front of the car like the wheels made a popping sound and the engine got really loud. The engine noise only lasted about two minutes and went away. My husband did tell the dealer were we bought it from and also jeep/chrysler is aware that the brakes have been malfunctioning. There is a liqued coming out of the brakes or caliper that its yellow, that is not save and should not be happening especially on a brand new vehicle. The driver side window as well does not work properly, it stops in the middle or it just does not work. The salesman who sold us the car mentioned to my husband that the car idles and that car does not do that. Also we were told that the vehicle is suppose to detect any objects near it and make a beeping noise which does not happen at all. Then we took it to three dealers two of them who did not find anything wrong with the car and one of them did find the issues we have stated. They told us that the waranty does not cover the issues. My husband spoke to chrysler and they will not do anything. The vehicle is not safe.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Vehicle has 5700 miles on it, the radiator ruptured a seem leak, then a leak in the auxiliary radiator and now because it overheated once (for less than a mile) the entire engine needs to be replaced.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 09, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep renegade. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the automatic emergency braking system erroneously activated causing the vehicle to abruptly stop. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer river oak chrysler located at 4807 kirby dr, houston, tx 77098, who diagnosed that the body control module was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100. The vin was unavailable.*dt*jb*ln
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 27, 2020
StateNC
Description
My car went completely limp all the warnings lights on my dash came on but my car was disabled until I turned car off then restarted it . I took it to a jeep place and they said it was going to take a new gas pedal and sensor also a canaster and gas pressure sensor . Which they told me the cost would be 1500 with covid 19 going on I've been out of work and I can't afford that but with a brand new car I should not be having any problems with this car
CategoryWheels
DateJul 11, 2020
StateVA
Description
I was driving on i95n towards richmond va. The lights on dashboard illuminated telling me my tire pressure was low. I pulled over and checked my tire and it was flat. There was no nails. The tire is a defect from the manufacturer. I have enclosed pictures of the brand. As you can see in the pictures the tire thread is not from wear and tare. I still have the tire in my back seat. I called a tow truck. Purchased a used tire. I will be calling the manufacturer on monday july 14. I was on the highway and in motion when this happened.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 02, 2020
StateMA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep renegade. The contact stated while driving at approximately 55 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact made several attempts to restart the vehicle which failed. The vehicle was towed to 495 chrysler jeep dodge ram located at (732 rogers st, lowell, ma 01852) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that transmission and transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,600. *ln
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Seats
DateJan 20, 2020
StatePA
Description
2019 renegade owner had software issues since day 1 - chronic issues are a distraction & unsafe & yes I crashed the car due to that distraction. Heated seats shut off for no reason. Remote services wouldn't work radio had to be replaced & now heated seats stay on but now my stop n go doesn't work at all. Car is in shop all the time with no real resolution - I am only trading problems. Car hesitates when taking off from a light or from a stop front windshield major blind spot. Doors don't stay in an open position when getting in & constantly fall shut on me & my baby when trying to load him into car. Chrysler has been notified & they don't remotely care about my issues nor do they see that all my dealer visits as unacceptable. I didn't buy a new car for constant dealer visits & now I am stuck in a unsafe unreliable vehicle that chrysler won't buy back & the negative equity is so bad on this vehicle that I can't trade out of it without a major loss. I have been in many other jeep vehicles that have some or all of the same software issues as mine. Worse buy ever!
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 18, 2019
StateFL
Description
On oct 23rd 2019 my car would not shut off it would stay in accessory mode then every warning light came on. I took it to the dealership where I leased it from on aug 6 a week later they said it was a air bag module problem. A week later they said they were having a problem locating the part. Now it has been a month and I still dont have a car.*dt*jb*dt*jb
CategoryEngine
DateOct 31, 2019
StateNJ
Description
2019 jeep renegade latitude purchased brand new in april 2019. Buring oil issues: (first started on 8/27) - 4600 miles in. Low pressure light came on. Had to add 3 quarts of oil sae 0-20. Didn't contact dealer thought they just miss calculated the quarts of oil and added it myself. (8/31) -4698 miles in. Got the first oil change (a few days later after I added 3 quarts) just to make sure there was a full 5. 5 quarts starting fresh). (10/22) -6980 miles in. (only 2000+ miles into new oil change) now the "oil change required" light is on, being low on oil. I have a service date scheduled with the jeep dealer for 11/2/2019. I'm not topping it off the oil on purpose out so they can diagnose the problem the way it is and it's recorded. Also been researching online and it looks like I'm not the only one with this problem (their are may). Seems the 2. 4l engine is burning through oil (averaging 1 quart every 1000 miles). This is dangerous and totally unacceptable in a brand new vehicle. Chrysler needs to step up, take responsibility and fix the problem immediately before someone stalls in mid-drive and gets killed. Some people experience no warning lights at all until it's happening. I'm sure the dealer will come up with many excuses on 11/2 so I'm being pro-active with reporting my issues. I'm just surprised with all on-going reports and complaints I read online the 2. 4l engines excessive oil consumption is not already a major priory recall for the jeep renegade. Safety needs to come first!!
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 13, 2019
StateLA
Description
Vehicle has less than 2000 miles and the brakes are making noise when braking. Dropped off the vehicle at the dealership to resolve the issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 22, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep renegade. The contact stated that the clock on the instrument panel switched to a metric display. The vehicle was taken to castilone chrysler dodge jeep ram (306 w main st, batavia, ny 14020, (585) 343-1780) at least ten times for the same failure. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The dealer did not provide the contact with documentation for any of the repairs; therefore, she did not know the specifics of what was performed. The manufacturer provided a claim number and promised a call back, but the contact had not heard back yet. The failure mileage was unknown.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Alicia D

    I purchased a 2019 renegade brand new. Before I even left the lot I noticed my phone wouldn’t charge, I tried 4 different chargers before they finally believed me. My lights have been turning on and off as they please since 30k miles. I have took it in twice for weird noises and they never found anything but the noise magically stopped for a while. At 45k miles going 60mph it started slowing down and would not accelerate so I pulled to the side of the road. I finally realized my car had shut off so I tried to restart it. It started with lots of trouble and died, at that point my transmission light came on. Had it towed to dodge, they said it was throwing transmission and abs codes. A week later with no loaner vehicle I might add, they are now claiming I need a fuel pump too. Absolutely hate this car and my experience with their “service” department.

  • Jazimine A

    I have purchased a 2019 Jeep Renegade in April of 2022. It currently has 24,000 miles on it and I’ve just put it in the shop for transmission trouble. I have kept up with all day to day maintenance and haven’t had any trouble until when it failed. Can you help?

  • melissa l

    Have a was on a 2019 Renegade- just had to have transmission replaced at @ 18,500.00 miles. It had shifting issues from the start but I was told it was “normal”.

  • Cynthia L

    Hi my name is Cynthia Lasos I bought my 2019 jeep renegade on May 31st of this year its been at the dealership since with push button start problems it doesn’t start

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.