2022 Hyundai Elantra Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Seat belt pretensioner, brake, and electrical issues are among the top complaints from vehicle owners received by the NHTSA

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Hyundai Elantra makes up a segment that has been losing popularity over the years. Still, the automaker claims “the sedan is back with an edge.” But, does it really have the edge? Owners experiencing seat belt pretensioner, faulty brakes, and other issues aren’t so sure.

Click on other model years to view more problems: 2017    2018    2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Hyundai Elantra

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Seat Belts
27
Service Brakes
5
Unknown Or Other
5
Engine
4
Power Train
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Electrical System
3
Wheels
3
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Lane Departure: Assist
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Hyundai Elantra

The problems owners are experiencing with the 2022 Hyundai Elantra are very varied. They include 16 components and systems and range from failed acceleration and malfunctioning brakes to windshield cracks and grinding wheels.

The most common problem, though, is a serious lack of parts needed to rectify a dangerous seat belt fault that has been recalled by Hyundai. As the recall states, 2022 Elantra seat belts may explode!

More than half the complaints received by the National Highway Traffic Administration (NHTSA) – 27 out of 51 (2 for the Elantra N) – are about this problem. They come from various parts of the country. Fortunately, it isn’t because their seat belt pretensioners have malfunctioned, but rather that parts needed to fix them aren’t available.

Most of the other complaints are standalone issues. Otherwise, they are components that have attracted no more than 2 or 3 complaints each, and usually highlight different issues. There are, though, at least 7 complaints that focus on malfunctioning brakes and several regarding TPMS sensor issues.

Exploding Seat Belt Pretensioners

Seat belts are a vital safety feature in any vehicle. When they have a major fault, like those in the 2022 Hyundai Elantra seat belts have, it is understandable that tensions run high.

While there are no complaints to the NHTSA stating that seat belts have exploded, there are a lot of very anxious people. Their anxiety is exacerbated by the fact that since the recall was first announced in May, 2022, there has been a general unavailability of parts to fix the problem. There is also some anger.

Consumer Complaints About Faulty Seat Belts

Most complaints state that the part to do the recall repair is unavailable. But there are some comments from highly concerned Elantra owners.

An owner from Cookeville in Tennessee, maintains that her dealership is “prioritizing money over public safety.” She states that she was told the cars on the lot needed to be fixed before they could fix her Elantra. “THE UNSOLD CARS THAT ARE JUST SITTING THERE. Not only is this reckless, it shows a complete disregard to my safety and others that may be in the vehicle or near it if something were to happen while being driven.” While she has had “zero issues up until this point,” she feels that her “vehicle should be given priority over a vehicle that isn’t even sold.”

Others also feel that safety should be the priority. An owner from Texas was advised in August that Hyundai didn’t have the parts or personnel to fix the problem. They couldn’t supply a timeline on repair either. The owner, who is reliant on the car to commute to and from work daily, states he has no other transportation options. “I live in a high traffic area and am scared that my seat belt will kill or maim me if (I am) involved in an accident.

An owner from Washington , DC says: “This is serious. I am scared to drive because my seatbelt can kill me if I get into an accident.”

Having received a second letter from Hyundai in September, an owner from Florida is super-frustrated. “It has now been almost two months and there is still no concrete plan being reported to me. I think this is an unreasonable amount of time to be waiting for a remedy to a safety problem while I drive a car that could be potentially dangerous.”

Recall: Seat Belt Pretensioners May Explode

Hyundai’s seat belt problems keep increasing. On March 3, 2022, they issued a recall for 140 2022 Elantra and Elantra HEV sedans. The problem, they explain, is that if the vehicle is in a crash, “the front passenger-side seat belt pretensioner may explode upon deployment.” And, an exploding seat belt pretensioner “can project metal fragments into the vehicle, striking vehicle occupants and resulting in injury.”

A month later, on April 1, a new recall notice was filed with the NHTSA. Adding 2020 Hyundai Accent and 2021 Elantra models to the list, it increases the potential number of vehicles affected to 6,240.

On May 19, 2022, a third recall was filed, increasing the potential number of affected vehicles to 230,233. The list of affected products now includes the 2021-2022 Hyundai Elantra and Elantra HeV, as well as the 2020-2022 Accent.

The first owner notification letters were mailed on May 19, followed by the second batch on May 31, and the third on August 28, 2022. Owners were told that the seat belt pretensioners would be replaced free of charge. They were also told that if they had previously had the repair under first or second recall, they would still need to “have the new remedy completed.”

However, there is no indication how many – if any – owners have been able to get the repair. Between May 23 and November 16, 2022, there have been 27 complaints to the NHTSA that the parts needed to repair the seat belt pretensioners are not yet available. These come from owners in at least 16 U.S. states.

Brake Problems

Complaints about the Elantra brakes are varied, but some talk about sounds the brakes make.

An owner from Texas describes “a kind of wailing sound” that is like the “high pitched squeal that is usually heard when the brake pads are worn. It sounds like a deeper kind of wailing sound. It actually comes and goes and never does it in normal drive only in reverse.”

The autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system is the subject of an owner from Nevada’s NHTSA complaint. “I was traveling on a road headed to east bound 1-80 when my AEB engaged and it caused me to swerve to the left and the AEB slammed into the braking system. It lasted about 30 seconds and then clicked off and did not do it again until a few days later when traveling on the same road the AEB engaged again at the same spot causing my vehicle to swerve to the left. It then did it a third time while traveling in town at 45 mph. The AEB slammed into the braking system for about 20 seconds and then released. It was very scary and not provoked as this could cause a very severe accident if not fixed.”

An owner from Illinois tried to make a stop at a stop sign, but the brakes didn’t work. “The car kept driving, (and I) had to swerve several times.” Changing gears didn’t work either. But suddenly the car stopped abruptly in the middle of the road. “Several lights displayed on the dashboard. (It was the) scariest moment of my life! Hyundai needs to fix this problem!”

Problems with the Electrical System

There aren’t a lot of complaints to the NHTSA about the Elantra’s electrical system. But one issue that has been highlighted several times is the horn. It’s faulty, stops working, and, according to complaints, there’s a back order on new ones.

An Elantra owner from Idaho states that when responding to a driver who was clearly distracted, and “almost backed into my car, I hit the horn.” It sounded for a second and then stopped working. “In researching online and speaking with a local dealer, there are numerous reports of the horns failing. The dealer even said that the items to repair them are back ordered.”

Another horn-related complaint from a New York owner states that the horn fails and blows fuses, which is a “band-aid for the current problem.” His concern is that not having a horn is a “risk to me and my family and others on the road.” But the problem is he “was offered no options from Hyundai Corporate other than to wait for the (a new) horn.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

It’s not easy when you find yourself with a lemon, especially when you can’t use your car. Or, if you do, it isn’t safe to do so. So, if you think you have a lemon, why not sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees and there’s a good chance you may be able to get your lemon out of your life.

Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners. If that sounds like a good idea, call the Lemberg Law Helpline or fill in a contact form. We will assess your case and see how we can help you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateJan 18, 2023
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated that on two separate occasions, while driving with cruise control activated, the vehicle came to an abrupt stop. There was no warning light illuminated. After each failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed; however, no fault was found with the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided a case number. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 5,500.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 11, 2023
StateAZ
Description
Exploding sun/moonroof
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 30, 2022
StateVA
Description
After driving the vehicle for about 5 miles I stopped to make a left turn and when I let off the brake and pressed the gas pedal the car crept forward but wouldn't speed up and the gas engine wasn't starting or even cranking. After about 20 to 30 seconds to gas engine started and the car drove fine for about 15 miles then I went to slow down and the car speed up on it own and the adaptive cruise control was off. Then it drove fine for a few more miles then I stopped at a red light and then began to make a right turn and the car did the same as before. It crept forward and the gas engine wasn't starting or even cranking. Then after 20 to 30 seconds the gas engine started and I was able to speed up some but then the engine would rev up but the car wouldn't speed up. It seemed like the transmission wasn't engaging. The car was parked for about 8 hours and then drove to the dealership without any issues. The service department at the local hyundai dealership looked at the vehicle and test drove it without any issues
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 28, 2022
StateTX
Description
The car is a ticking time bomb and dangerous to the public. My car has stalled and broke down in the highway several times. Had to wait for 3-6 hours tow trucks in between. The latest one, I reported to the service advisor that my car stalled all of a sudden at a neighborhood. She told me they didn't find any error codes therefore there is nothing wrong with the car. I was also told to keep driving it till it breaks down and only come back to them when that happens. Lo and behold not even 3 days later on christmas night it broke down on me and had to wait in the middle of the highway in between the highway and on ramp. Had to wait several hours in the cold as the car would not start for a tow truck to come. After dropping off the vehicle at the same dealership again it will be almost 4 days and they have not touched the car since. They don't know what's wrong with it because it doesn't show an error code on their gds scanning tool. Now it wont even scan because the car will not start. Therefore they don't know how to fix it. Rather than trying to look for the source of the issue, they only replace the damaged parts caused by the issue. Same exact scenario happened back in september, car broke down on the highway, 6+ hour wait for a tow truck, the service advisor said the catalytic converter melted and they just went to replace that and not what led up to that issue. The stalling has happened several times, I would lose all power and just coast to the side of the road with check engine, battery, oil light, everything on, on the dash and if the onboard bluelink system does not get a code then the service center will not know what to do with the car. They heavily rely on the error code before they can attempt to do anything to the vehicle. My odb scanner shows me all the dtc codes but the dealership just brushes it off and doesn't listen to the customer. I keep telling them you don't get fouled spark plugs and melted catalytic converter if there's no issues.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 26, 2022
StateAL
Description
My horn has ceased functioning. I have seen in forums this is a very common issue.
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts, Seat Belts, Seat Belts
DateNov 16, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated that while parking the vehicle and turning to the right or the left, there was an abnormal grinding sound coming from nearby the wheels. The contact stated that while continuing to turn the steering wheel, the sound would stop. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer however, the mechanic could not determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired; and the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 4,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
When I come to a stop the nose doesn't nose drop. Took them a while at the shop to agree something was wrong, they had to vehicle for 2 months cut the rotors, a week later it's doing the same thing. So now it's easier to calipers hanging up heating up the rotors but they say I'm running out of warranty on it when it started I noticed it 2,000 miles and I'm reaching 10,000 now and they say the brakes run out at 12,000 even though they had my vehicle for 2 months just to cut the rotors.
CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 21, 2022
StateOK
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted, and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 15, 2022
StateFL
Description
8 speed dct shudders and is sluggish to engage when starting from a stop.
CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 07, 2022
StatePA
Description
There is a recall on this vehicle, but hyundai is prioritizing new, unsold cars over cars that are currently in use. It has been several months since the recall was announced, and I have seen many, many unsold cars repaired so that they could be sold, but haver yet to hear of any cars on the road and in use that have been repaired. Hyundai is prioritizing profits over the safety of their owners.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, she accidentally touched the gear shifter and shifted the vehicle into neutral(n). The contact was unaware that the vehicle had shifted into neutral(n) as the vehicle failed to accelerate upon depression of the accelerator pedal. After experiencing the failure, she tested the gear shifter and discovered that she was able to shift gears functions without depressing the brake pedal. The contact called a dealer and made an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.
CategorySeat Belts
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was made aware of the issue. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 30, 2022
StateNV
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact had received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 23, 2022
StateFL
Description
I was sent a letter in july regarding the current recall for the safety belt pretensioner and how it may deploy in a faulty manner and injure passengers. I received another letter today that hyundai is "preparing to implement the safety recall remedy." it has now been almost two months and there is still no concrete plan being reported to me. I think this is an unreasonable amount of time to be waiting for a remedy to a safety problem while I drive a car that could be potentially dangerous.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 22, 2022
StateFL
Description
Dealer has been unable to repair the recall associated with my car. I've been waiting for half a year for it to be repaired and dealer claims they don't have the part available for it to be repaired. This shouldn't take that much time.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 20, 2022
StateFL
Description
I have had to replace my windshield from debris twice this year and have a crack filled in today. One small rock can make a crack and usually it takes a while for spidering to occur, but the hyundai elantra windshields are so temperature sensitive and must be super thin that over the course of one day in colder (below 50° f) and hotter (above 90° f) spidering occurs in a matter of hours. It is both a huge inconvenience to customers and a safety issue. Hyundai appear to have settled class actions on their faulty windshields in the past so I'm not surprised that this is an issue, but I want more to be done. I know it's a small problem but to be on my 3rd windshield and only owning the car 1 year being the first owner is a huge problem to me
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra n. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that he was able to schedule an appointment with the local dealer who confirmed that parts were available. The contact stated that the local dealer called to cancel the appointment and stated that parts were not yet available. The contact stated he scheduled appointments with capitol hyundai (1050 capitol expressway auto mall, san jose, ca 95136) and premier hyundai of seaside (4a heitzinger plaza, seaside, ca 93955) who also confirmed that parts were available and then called to cancel the appointment because the parts were not yet available. The contact stated that he called several other dealers who confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 12, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 29, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The dealer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had been notified of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 24, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer, happy hyundai (9121 s cicero ave, oak lawn, il 60453) and rogers hyundai (2700 s michigan ave, chicago, il 60616) were made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated his wife parked the vehicle in the garage and turned off the vehicle. When he walked outside, he noticed the vehicle had rolled out of the garage and struck a parked vehicle. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The dealer was contacted, and they advised to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted, and they stated that the contact needed to submit different documents and pictures to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 26,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
I bought my brand new 2022 elantra in july of 2021, the only problem I have experienced is the brakes make a sort of wailing noise. It's not a screeching noise as if the brakes need to be changed or that the rotors are worn or brake pads are low. It is not a sound I've heard brake make before and it typically makes the sound when in reverse and slow speeds. I was a mechanic in the united states air force for 16 year so I know a lot about mechanical issues so a year old car certainly shouldn't be making these kinds of sounds.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateAug 11, 2022
StateOR
Description
The 2022 hyundai elantra blue is hyundai's entry level hybrid model, and after purchasing it about a month ago, we started experiencing 'near misses' while changing lanes and using the blinkers.  while other models have a visible side mounted blinker on the right and left mirrors, they removed this important feature from the entry level model.  this means there is no visible blinker on the side of the vehicle.  while many vehicles have a blinker mounted on the front and rear of the vehicle with a reflector that wraps around to the side to give some visibility, hyundai opted for small blinker lamps only visible directly at the front or rear of the vehicle.  we have recorded a video at night showing the car with it's blinkers on as viewed from the side, and the only way to see that the blinkers are on is from the reflection on other surfaces.  we actually tried the blinker in the daytime, and it is completely invisible when the blinker is on.  the vehicle does have a blind spot warning that shows the driver when someone is in the next lane, which has been helpful.  however, on a three lane freeway, we have experienced the issue where we are changing lanes at the same time as a car in the far lane, and the blind spot warning doesn't register the other vehicle until too late.  thankfully, all we've experienced so far is honking from other drivers, but we are very concerned that this may lead to an accident.  I contacted hyundai consumer affairs, who directed us to take the vehicle in to a dealership.  when we took the vehicle in, the hyundai dealer rep recognized the issue, but said there was nothing they could do to take care of it since it was a design issue.  we let hyundai consumer affairs know what the dealership said, and they said "unfortunately the dealership would be the one to assist in the blinkers on the side mirrors.  if the dealership is stating that there is nothing they can do unfortunately this would  mean that your vehicle did not come equip".
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateAug 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly hesitated with the electronic stability control (esc) warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle resumed normal operation several seconds after the failure. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 04, 2022
StateSC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 03, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact called four local dealers. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 02, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was not contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts, Seat Belts, Seat Belts
DateAug 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine, Fuel System, Gasoline, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 01, 2022
StateNV
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, he depressed the brake pedal to the floor and the vehicle inadvertently attempted to accelerate forward. The contact also attempted to accelerate; however, the vehicle inadvertently stopped. The contact then restarted the vehicle and the vehicle operated as intended. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the failure had occurred after purchasing the vehicle at the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,600.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
I received a recall notice for 22v-354 (hyundai recall 229) on 8/1/2022. The recall states that this is an important safety recall and hyundai is preparing a remedy, but it's not ready yet. It states that owners are strongly recommended to park vehicles outside and away from structures. It states that the driver/passenger seat belts can explode and project metal shrapnel into the vehicle occupant compartment. However, the dealership advised they don't have the parts or personnel to fix it right now and they don't have any timeline on when it can be repaired either. I need my car (that I just purchased in april 2022) to go to work every day. I don't have other transportation options available as I drive from client to client and am self employed. I live in a high traffic area and am scared that my seat belt will kill or maim me if involved in an accident. I'm sure hyundai wouldn't forgive my payments until this is fixed, but they just expect me to drive an unsafe vehicle until “whenever” this can be fixed?? Please require a deadline for them to fix this or forgive my loan so I can purchase another vehicle. This is not okay. We pay taxes and expect safety and regulations. Please contact me with a real solution.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJul 10, 2022
StateNV
Description
I was traveling on a road headed to east bound 1-80 when my aeb engaged and it caused me to swerve to the left and the aeb slammed into the braking system. It lasted about 30 seconds and then clicked off and did not do it again until a few days later when traveling on the same road the aeb engaged again at the same spot causing my vehicle to swerve to the left. It then did it a third time while traveling in town at 45 mph the aeb slammed into the braking system for about 20 seconds and then released. It was very scary and not provoked as this could cause a very severe accident if not fixed.
CategoryElectrical System:horn
DateJun 23, 2022
StateID
Description
In responding to a districted driver that almost backed into my car, I hit the horn. The horn sounded for a second and then stopped working. In researching online and speaking with a local dealer, there are numerous reports of the horns failing. The dealer even said that the items to repair them are back ordered.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Seat Belts
DateJun 21, 2022
StateDC
Description
Hello, I bought a brand new hyundai elantra hybrid 2022. In the first month my navigation system started having trouble and would just stop working as I was driving. Which was very unpleasant experience. I would like to keep using it but it just wont work. I already went to the dealership for this issue but they were unable to resolve it. The only thing they could do was to restart the car. Please see the screenshots of errors for your review and investigation. Today, but accidentally discovered that my huydai has a recall and I was not informed about it. The issue at hand is following: "safety risk the subject vehicles are equipped with driver/passenger pyrotechnic-type seat belt pretensioners that may deploy abnormally during a crash. An abnromal pyrotechnic pretensioner deployment could cause metal fragments to enter the vehicle occupant compartment, which may result in injury to vehicleoccupants." this is serious. I am scared to drive because my seatbelt can kill me if I get into an accident. I would like to ask you, please take care of this issue asap and also provide a remedy for failed notification on time which puts my life and health under risk. Thank you very much, victoria
CategorySeat Belts
DateJun 21, 2022
StateTN
Description
I was advised of the current recall on my new 22 elantra. I took my vehicle to the hyundai dealership where it was purchased (cookeville) from a mere few months ago. I advised I needed the recall on the seat belts fixed. I was then told that they wouldn't be able to fix this recall for awhile (over a month) because they needed to fix the cars currently on the lot. The unsold cars that are just sitting there. Not only is this reckless, it shows a complete disregard to my safety and others that may be in the vehicle or near it if something were to happen while being driven. Mind you, I bought this car completely new from them and have zero issues up until this point. I feel that my vehicle should be given priority over a vehicle that isn't even sold. The cookeville hyundai is prioritizing money over public safety and I will as though it should be addressed immediately.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJun 06, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was driving down a highway at around 60 mph with no one around me. As a car started to pass me on the left, my elantra started sharply turning to the left and stopping. The dash started beeping with emergency braking lit up. The system activated on its own for no reason.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateMay 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
I drove my vehicle to the store, parked and went in to the store to get some things. When I came out and started the car several things were wrong with the car. The power steering was not working, the rpm gauge didn't work at all, the back up camera also was not operational. The check engine light was on, the forward collision light was illuminated. I was able to drive it home but that was a sketchy drive home. The next morning I got in the car and started it up no problem, none of the issues from the previous day were there, the power steering worked perfectly and everything was fine. I still drove it to autozone to get it check with a scan tool, and when I did the scan tool didn't come up with any faults. This all happened about two weeks ago. Hopefully the problems don't come back. Vehicle mileage is 15,000 and I've had the car for almost a year so whatever it is better be covered under warranty. I also have been having a kind of wailing sound from my brakes when I slowly reverse, it's a high pitched squeal that is usually heard when the brake pads are worn. It sounds like a deeper kind of wailing sound. It actually comes and goes and never does it in normal drive only in reverse, if anyone else has experienced this please let me know.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 25, 2022
StateIN
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact checked online and discovered that his vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer had been notified about the recall and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had also been notified of the recall and gave the contact the same information. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact was notified through a ride-sharing platform that her vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer had been notified of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had also been notified of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 23, 2022
StateCO
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai elantra. The contact was notified by a ride share platform that the vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 202v354000 (seat belts) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was also made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
I attempted to make a complete stop at a stop sign. The brakes wouldn't stop the car. The car kept driving, had to swerve several times. I attempted to put the car in neutral didn't work, tried to put it in park didn't work. It abruptly stopped in the middle of the road eventually. Several lights displayed on the dashboard. Scariest moment of my life! Hyundai needs to fix this problem! I called the dealership to speak with the service manger art at world hyundai in matteson, il, left several messages no call back! Final call, I was told that art couldn't come to the phone, I could drop off the car, but they have no loaner to give me in the meantime.
CategoryStructure:interior Panels:dashboard, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
During the summer, I used to get some rattling on my new elantra right after beginning to drive, after a long interval of parking under the sun. But once the car cooled down due to the a/c, the rattling would disappear. I never bothered to find the exact source of rattling because it used to last only a couple of minutes. Now in the winter, something in the passenger side starts rattling every time I go on a bump! So I took the car to the dealership following a whole week of consistent rattling. They said the noise is coming from somewhere in the dashboard and it is likely due to the misalignment caused by the shrinking of plastic in the cold. They said I could leave the car with them for 2-3 days and they could open up the dashboard and find the exact source of the noise. However, the disclaimer was that opening up the dashboard could actually introduce more rattle after it was assembled back, because the dashboard plastic parts are not precisely machined. Also, if the cause of the rattle was not found to be a manufacturer defect, I would have to pay diagnosis fee as well as the price of any broken parts that needed replacement, along with the labor charge to replace it. What's the point of warranty then?
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
On 2/26/2022, while driving east bound 134 at night. Aeb of my 2022 elantra kicked in. The first time aeb kicked in hard and I lost control of the car for a split moment. The warning sounds as the aeb activated and I swerved slightly (within my lane). This happened while I still had sufficient safety distance with the car in front of me and before the car in front of me began braking. The second time this happened was 10 minutes later, when there were no cars next to, behind, or in front of me. Same thing happened where aeb suddenly activated under normal driving condition. The vehicle is available for inspection upon request. This sudden braking puts me, my passenger, and car(s) behind me at risk. Potentially this puts cars next to me at risk too. The problem is currently under inspection by the dealer at cardinale hyundai in corona, ca. Dealer so far has notified me the problem was unable to be reproduced and did not find any system or parts out of the ordinary. The vehicle has not been inspected by the police or insurance. This is a brand new 2022 model elantra purchased on 12/31/2021. There were no prior warnings lamps, messages, or other symptoms prior to the failure. Dash cam video clips of both incidents are available upon request.
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateMI
Description
Hired a local tire shop to install winter tires on a second set of wheels, with a second set of tpms sensors. Later, I discovered the car was not picking up the sensors, but it also failed to illuminate the tpms sensor alert. When I took it back to the tire shop, they checked the tpms with their own sensors and said they were working fine, so they didn't know why the car didn't detect them. I called my hyundai dealer, and they said that aftermarket tpms often don't work, and I have to use hyundai-approved tpms. This is fine, but the owner's manual ought to say so. I checked the owner's manual, and it doesn't say that only hyundai-approved tpms can be used. The dealer replied that hyundai doesn't like people installing aftermarket parts. I replied that installing winter tires is not usually considered an aftermarket modification, and a person shouldn't be inhibited from installing winter tires. So all I ask is that the owners manual should make this clear. In the section on tpms, it should say that only hyundai-approved tpms sensors should be used, or else it should say that if the driver installs a second set of wheels with winter tires, that this installation should be done by a hyundai dealer and not by another tire shop. Of course, the owner could install the winter tires on the factory wheels with the factory tpms. But this would mean that every season, the all-season and winter tires would be swapped and re-mounted and re-balanced, which is unnecessary. It is standard practice to buy a second set of wheels and tpms sensors to make seasonal tire changeover easier. Since installing winter tires on a second set of wheels is a routine practice, and not usually considered an aftermarket modification, therefore, if this car has special tpms requirements, they should be indicated in the manual.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateIN
Description
I attempted to accelerate while on my way to work and the vehicle would not start the engine. With the pedal pressed all the way to the floor, I was barely accelerating. Had this happened when I was pulling into traffic or otherwise had to accelerate quickly to avoid an incident, it could have been extremely dangerous. The battery almost completely died before I was able to pull over, but turning off the vehicle and starting it again returned the vehicle to normal. The vehicle has not yet been inspected concerning this issue. There were no warning lights to indicate there was any sort of fault. The vehicle is available for inspection upon request.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
I bought my 2022 elantra less than a month ago, I drove the car on two round trips on the highway taking care-- that's it. One morning in ottawa there was a cold snap and the bumper cracked on its own leaving sharp plastic edges on the front of the car. I also had paid almost ,000 for an extended warranty but I don't know if the surgeoner hyundai dealer will replace the bumper yet. Coincidentally, while I was at the dealler another elantra almost exactly like mine had the same problem!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateNY
Description
My horn failed and keeps blowing fuses which is a band-aid for the current problem; my car poses a risk to me and my family and others on the road if a new horn cannot be installed promptly. The problem was acknowledged by "matthews hyundai of greece - rochester ny(14626) and I was told it'd be a couple of weeks, now I've been told an eta of (03/30/22) which I have a email stating so. The vehicle has no warnings on the dash that let me know that the horn has malfunctioned. I was offered no options from hyundai corporate other than to wait for the horn.
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateMS
Description
When changing out the wheels and tpms sensors even with the right frequency the elantra n will not pick up the new tpms sensors. They told me at one dealership it had to be the factory sensors. Then quoted me 0 for new sensors
CategoryEngine
DateDec 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
My check engine light came on before the car reached 700 miles on it. The car acts like it does not want to accelerate, but the rpms go up- I have cruised at 60mph (and at 35) and tried to move over to a different lane to avoid upcoming vehicles and the car won't accelerate. Merging onto the freeway, again I'm gaining speed, and then the car quits accelerating. I have had the accelerator all the way down to the floor and still no power. Periodically the check engine light will shut off. I have had the check engine looked at with the reader and the code that comes on is p2261 turbo/super charge
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 28, 2021
StateAZ
Description
When attempting to engage lane keep assist and lane follow assist, it did not engage for 14 miles of my trip. I turned off lane follow assist and lane keep assist and after a few mins I turned those two back on but still did not engage. Vehicle had 147 miles at the time and had 235 miles left in gas tank. Stereo speakers cut out at high volume due to speakers getting hot.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.