2019 Kia Niro Hybrid Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, lighting, powertrain & lack of acceleration issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on


Hybrid vehicles seem to be taking over the road, with the 2019 Kia Niro Hybrid leading the pack. The automaker claims it provides “a new spin on hybrids,” but all it seems to offer is more defects. This model suffers from troubles with the engine, powertrain and exterior lighting. Of particular concern are complaints about lack of acceleration after stopping.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2020   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Kia Niro Hybrid

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
14
Fuel/propulsion System
8
Unknown Or Other
7
Engine
5
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Service Brakes
4
Electrical System
4
Exterior Lighting
2
Steering
2
Fuel System, Gasoline:fuel Injection System
1

Problems with the Engine

While the engine in the Niro Hybrid might be slightly different than a gas-powered motor, it still needs to be reliable, but this model doesn’t prove that at all.

One Edmunds user states, “This car does not start under 10 degrees and Kia Niro Hybrid has no fix. Mine has broken down 3 times because of the cold and they told me others have done the same. Yet they will not refund or replacement the vehicle knowing it has a defect that causes reliability issues. Also it is hard to talk to Kia consumer affairs they just give you the run around. Plus I’ve had to pay out of pocket for rental and cab ride to get to work and they have not reimbursed the expenses even though I’m entitled to this through the contract. Avoid Kia I’d rather be driving a Yugo. Just avoid Kia they do not live up to their word I’m just trying to let you know so you will not have to go through what I’m dealing with.”

It turns out that Kia is fully aware of engine troubles. In fact, Service Bulletin #TSB_ENG212_R1, filed with the Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), talks about the need for a cylinder head replacement for the Kia Niro Hybrid because of a misfire situation. This is something that shouldn’t be occurring in newer vehicles, thereby proving that Kia has put a “new spin” on creating cars.

Problems with the Powertrain

Additionally, the powertrain is just as important and can create trouble getting from Point A to Point B with defects.

Here are some comments from an Edmunds user. “I test drove the car at the dealer twice and it worked fine. Five days later, the shifting between electrical and gas engine modes is not working. Often, but not every time, when starting at the light intersection, the gas ending hits the clutch as if someone rear-ended the car.  The car often stalls on the highway. The needle goes into “power” mode, but the gas engine does not even start. Already 3 weeks at the dealer, they cannot fix the problem. Definitely, do not buy this model.”

With this situation, Kia chose to remain quiet instead. There are no communications about powertrain concerns, with hopes that people might just stop talking about them. The only thing that Kia has proven to do differently with the Kia Niro Hybrid is fail at the manufacturing. The company just can’t seem to get the basics down – leading people to believe that the automaker should stick to what they know instead.

2019 Niro Lack of Acceleration Issues

Filed under Powertrain and sometimes Engine, lack of acceleration problems appear to be on the increase for the 2019 Kia Niro.

An owner from Kentucky states in an NHTSA complaint: “There is a pause upon acceleration from a stop (unresponsive). Then the vehicle will lunge forward and make a loud noise. For both driver and passengers, it can be quite startling and feels as though the car has been hit from behind. This started happening in the fall of 2021, when the car was about two years old with about 18,000 miles. It has happened about a dozen times in the six months since first noticed. It seems that this may be a software issue related to the hybrid system – a lag in triggering which motor to use for acceleration.”

An owner from California has a similar complaint: “I don’t know what components are involved. When attempting to move forward from a stop the car does not respond immediately. Then there is clunk noise and a lurch forward. Sometimes when this happens it feels like the car has been hit from behind.

“The problem began about a year ago and has been into the dealer’s service center several times. I believe during one of those service visits a reset of something was done that seemed to resolve the issue for several months. The problem is intermittent.

“Dealer has been unable to reproduce the issue, but stated the last time the car was in for service that another customer with the same year and make was having the same symptoms and a tech that had been allowed to use the car for over a week did not experience the issue. No warning lights or codes are associated with the issue. A car that fails to move forward on a green light is in danger of being rear-ended placing the people in the vehicle and surrounding vehicles at risk of bodily injury.”

Problems with the Exterior Lighting

There’s also a question regarding how well the exterior lighting works. As this system is needed for nighttime travel, any defect can lead to serious safety concerns.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The reverse lighting is inadequate for reverse camera in dark, which produces grainy backup camera image. The camera works fine in daylight. This may require proper lighting or camera that works well in dim light condition. Also, the camera is exposed to weather conditions, such as rain and snow.”

It turns out that Kia is failing miserably, creating this Kia Niro Hybrid vehicle on all levels. In fact, the NHTSA has an alert out on the Niro, which states there is trouble with the front passenger side during crash tests. It shows that the passenger dummy suffered from a higher chance of chest injury because of the defective structure. If Kia were to promote this Niro any further as creating a “new spin,” the company might have to get honest about how different it really is – causing people to become injured because of a lack of proper manufacturing.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 03, 2022
StateVA
Description
I have a used 2019 niro phev. I started getting a loud jerk when starting from a full stop. At first it started happened in ev mode only but I've had it happen in hybrid mode a couple of times ( not sure if the engine is actually working or just on for heating). The sound and jerk can best be described as what happens when you drive a stick shift and you pull the clutch too quickly in first gear without any gas and the car jerks forward. It also feels like I've been rear ended. The car feels unsafe the drive. There were no warning lights. Dealer hasn't reproduced it yet. I just brought it in. Please see these forum posts about this issue. Many others are experiencing this: https://www. Kianiroforum. Com/threads/brand-new-2019-phev-loud-jerking-noise-when-starting-from-full-stop. 8740/ https://www. Kia-forums. Com/threads/occasional-hard-loud-shift-from-start-on-new-niro-phev. 342780/
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
The vehicle has an intermittent jerk/clunk sound when accelerating or coming to a stop. Occasionally it can feel as if the clutch is coming engaging/disengaging roughly and cause passenger's heads to shake forward. In a few instances there has been a delay when pressing on the brakes to initiate stopping before the vehicle, this momentary loss of control is alarming. It feels as if the clutch and brakes did not react to the pedal immediately. I have taken the vehicle to the kearny mesa kia dealership to diagnose the issue on 3 separate occasions starting from 2 months after purchasing the vehicle. On the most recent visit they have diagnosed that dual clutch failed a calibration test - it is unclear if they performed this test on the previous visits. Repairs have not yet been performed as I am disputing the out of warranty claim by the dealership
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 26, 2022
StateIL
Description
During driving or while parked, the vehicle will shut off power brakes, and display an error "stop vehicle and check regenrative brakes". When the power brakes shut off, the brake pedal location and feedback change sharply and the responsiveness is severely impaired. This error can occur at any time, which is very dangerous especially at highway speeds or when coming to a stop. I have let an authorized kia dealership inspect the car for 31 days and did not see the issue. I took the vehicle back, and it happens frequently, so I drove it in with the issue active again and they have had it for another 7 days so far after seeing the issue actively reported. The first occurrence occurred at approximately 18000 miles, about 2. 75 years of operation on may 12, 2022. Since then, it occurs about twice per week. These trouble codes are asserted when this happens: c1360(81) raw code: 536081 ecu: adaptive cruise-control status: test failed, confirmed, warning indicator requested c1741(81) raw code: 574181 ecu: adaptive cruise-control status: test failed, confirmed, warning indicator requested c2405(27) raw code: 640527 ecu: abs control unit status: test failed, confirmed, warning indicator requested
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Obnoxious eye and lung burning fumes in the car when turning the heater on. It was so from the day I bought it. Many owners have reported it also on kia nitro forum . I drive in the cold without the heater or leave the window open to let the fumes out. It's a health hazard and seems to relate to their heater core or it's insulation material. Dealer and kia claim nothing is wrong. It's a health and safety hazard in need of immediate solution and recall. Also car's steering column make a wheezing or rubbing noise when turning the wheel. Dealer says it's normal. It's not a safety hazard yet. But I have never driven or heard any other car with persistent rubbing noise it it's inside the car's steering column. Whatever is rubbing will eventually wear out posing failure and safety risk. A voluntary recall may be in order.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateApr 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
12 volt starting battery (lithium ion polymer) pn 37507-g2120. Battery swollen and will not take charge (2. 5 years old) 15,000 miles on vehicle. This battery powers dash and all related safety systems. Dealer refuses to look into problem as batteries are on national back order status and cannot fix due to parts availability. 3 dealerships have been contacted, all have been making excuses for other systems at fault to avoid recognizing battery is defective. I have been without use since mar2021.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 02, 2022
StateKY
Description
There is a pause upon acceleration from a stop (unresponsive). Then the vehicle will lunge forward and make a loud noise. For both driver and passengers, it can be quite startling and feels as though the car has been hit from behind. This started happening in the fall of 2021, when the car was about two years old with about 18,000 miles. It has happened about a dozen times in the six months since first noticed. It seems that this may be a software issue related to the hybrid system - a lag in triggering which motor to use for acceleration.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 19, 2022
StateGA
Description
Multiple problems with transmission and electrical. Electrical: 1) while traveling 80mph in the far left lane of the highway, I had to make a hard break when someone changed lanes and moved into my path. When I did that, the car turned off completely. (the key fob was still secured in my cup holder.) I could no longer accelerate and it was slowing down quickly. There was no way for me to turn the car back on using the start button. I could do nothing but try to cross 6 lanes of oncoming traffic to get to the roadside in order to stop, which was extremely dangerous on a busy highway. I was very luck I didn't get slammed from behind and end up in a horrible accident. Once I got to the roadside, I stopped the car and was able to re-start it. Kia mechanics said a diagnostic turned up nothing, and they could not "duplicate" the problem. Of course, they can't guarantee it won't happen again. 2) another time, I turned off the car after parking, grabbed my key and exited the vehicle. It started loudly beeping at me. It's the sound it make when the key fob is taken from the car while it's on, or you try to lock the car and leave when it's still on. I had to turn the car back on and then back off in order to resolve the issue. Transmission: transmission was replaced at 19,000 miles because the gears were grinding when I was downshifting and it wasn't shifting from 3rd to 4th well. I'd put my foot on the gas and it just wouldn't go, and then it would finally kick in. I was also having issues with it when parking or coming to a stop. It would get to a point when the car was slowing down and should now coast slowly, and instead, it would come to a sudden stop, then it would jerk forward. When on any kind of an incline, it would stop, roll backward, then catch and roll forward. It seems to suddenly shift into neutral when I'm not in neutral and it should be moving forward. New transmission addressed grinding, but other issues remain. I also multiple issues accelerating now. On may 12, after driving the car to a nearby sto
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 02, 2022
StateFL
Description
Twice the vehicle has lost all ability to brake or accelerate suddenly while driving speeds over 60 mph. The brake sticks in the up position, emergency brake doesn't work, and the gas pedal goes to the floor but does not work. The vehicle electrical panel goes haywire, battery of hybrid shows dead, then all gauges flash and change going up, down, and changing erratically. Vehicle lost all control in february and had to collide into something to stop.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateFeb 20, 2022
StateFL
Description
Starting battery (which operates the safety systems) was getting progressively worse until vehicle could not be started. Upon inspection it was determined that the 1. 5 year old starting battery was swollen and defective. Note: vehicle did sit for 12 months in estate litigation.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateFeb 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
I don't know what components are involved. When attempting to move forward from a stop the car does not respond immediately. Then there is clunk noise and a lurch forward. Sometimes when this happens it feels like the car has been hit from behind. The problem began about a year ago and has been into the dealer's service center several times. I believe during one of those service visits a reset of something was done that seemed to resolve the issue for several months. The problem is intermittent. Dealer has been unable to reproduce the issue, but stated the last time the car was in for service that another customer with the same year and make was having the same symptoms and a tech that had been allowed to use the car for over a week did not experience the issue. No warning lights or codes are associated with the issue. A car that fails to move forward on a green light is in danger of being rear-ended placing the people in the vehicle and surrounding vehicles at risk of bodily injury. The vehicle has not been inspected by anyone other than service staff at the folsom lake kia dealership. On february 18, 2022, the vehicle had no power (automatic doorlocks didn't work, etc) could not be started and was towed to the dealership where it is now.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 08, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 kia niro. The contact stated that while driving at night with the low-beam headlights activated, the illumination was either too bright or improperly position causing the light beam to become visibility hazards to the oncoming drivers. The contact indicated that oncoming motorist constantly flashed their lights indicating that the high-beam headlights were activated even though only the low-beam headlights were illuminated. The cause of the failure was not determined. The contact referenced the nhtsa campaign number: 18v771000 (exterior lighting). The local dealer was notified of the issue. The manufacturer was not yet contacted. The failure mileage was 50.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline:fuel Injection System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 07, 2021
StateCO
Description
Received automated message that my engine may be compromised and to schedule maintenance, I took my car to the dealership service that same day. I was advised that the fuel injectors needed replaced, the car still was not working the was advised a cylinder needed to be replaced that did not correct the issues and was advised the engine needed to be replaced on my 2019 kia niro phev that has 17,801 miles. Dealership has my vehicle now for over 5 weeks with no estimated completion date.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 16, 2021
StateVA
Description
For no apparent reason (other than a stress crack or other manufacturer or design defect), a long crack appeared in my windshield (start from the bottom left and going up and over about 20 inches). It is an interior window crack that cannot be felt from the inside or outside. Vehicle was simply parked at the time. Not caused by accident, rock or other impact. Dealer so far refused to replace the windshield under warranty although it is clear within the basic warranty coverage and not excluded from coverage. Based on google search, it appears that kia has a long history of knowing about windshield cracks on different models, not just the telluride which is part of class action lawsuit. Kia needs to be replacing cracked windshields like this per its basic warranty terms. It is a significant safety hazard.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 03, 2021
StateOR
Description
Since the beginning of april 2021, and just after the odometer turned over to 10k miles, my e-niro has been experiencing a bizarre behavior that poses a potentially serious safety risk. This takes the form of total loss of acceleration power for a few seconds, usually after deaccelerating to a near stop (usually, but not always, when using the paddle on the left side of the steering wheel to regeneratively brake) then pressing the accelerator pedal, or when making a very tight turn (e. G., into a parking space). Power returns a few seconds after the pause, and I can continue. I have been driving this vehicle for almost 2 years, and there has been nothing similar happen prior to the start of this behavior at the beginning of april. The vehicle has been garaged and charged normally and no extreme weather conditions or other factors had been present before this was first noticed. Instances now seem to be increasing in frequency the past couple of weeks, however. On 2 or 3 occasions, the vehicle actually backed up a couple of feet (on level ground), which was frightening both for me and the auto behind me and could have resulted in an accident. On the other occasions, being momentarily unable to accelerate is also concerning (for instance when it dies halfway into a traffic circle or in an intersection when starting to make a turn). Although no warning lights were initially seen, I now get a "check electrical system" warning when this power loss happens, sometimes even when there has been no loss of power to the motor. The warning light disappears after the vehicle has been turned off and only reappears when another incident occurs. I have asked the dealership service department about this, with no firm response yet. I'm reporting to document this in the event others experience this problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 23, 2021
StateVA
Description
Since november of 2020, our niro has been at a kia service center 12 times at 4 different dealerships in a desperate attempt to get our niro to replicate, what I think is another transmission issue, during the mile or two the tech test-drives the vehicle for diagnosis. When I am coming to a complete stop, once in a while I hear a very loud bang or a momentary loud scraping noise as if a metal spatula is being swiftly dragged across a slab of concrete. When this occurs, the car also seems to lunge forward as if I am slipping on ice or wet leaves. At a few dealerships, I have described it like almost coming to a complete stop and then getting hit from the rear. This, to me means gears are grabbing what gears grab (I assume other gears) and causing the drive shaft to turn and thus causing the wheels to rotate without reason to do so. Since my foot is not completely pressing down on the brake pedal as I am still slowing down approaching a red light (or a stop sign, speed bump, driveway, pedestrian, etc), the car makes that notorious loud bang or scrape sound and then jolts forward a bit, enough to scare the daylights out of me. Nothing alerts me when this will happen, it just happened and when it does, the car gets away from me until I can fully brake or until the gears disengage (or stop doing what they are doing to cause this issue).
CategorySteering
DateApr 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
Steering wheel makes a loud squealing noise when making slow turns- in reverse and moving forward.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateApr 12, 2021
StateCA
Description
When we are stopped at a traffic light the forward collision avoidance alarm beeps/chirps a warning. Our vehicle is stopped, not moving at all. The car in front of us, or next to us is also stopped, not moving. Out of nowhere, the collision avoidance light beeps causing us to be concerned that we might get into a collision. It typically happens when the car in front of us is a tesla, mercedes or other high end car, but also occurs when the car in front of us is not a typical high end brand. This safety concern happens randomly, not everytime we are stopped at a traffic light. We have documented this with a video and provided this to the kia dealership. The dealership refused to work on the vehicle without explicit instructions from kia engineers on what they should do. The first time it was brought in, they cleaned the camera lens on the rear view mirror, but that was not the problem, only one way to eliminate an easy fix. We have brought the vehicle in several more times and the service writers told us that this was a known problem and kia should have a fix, but it has been more than 1 year since our initial complaint. I have escalated this concern to higher levels within kia and they are not willing to accept responsibility or try to repair this problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 01, 2021
StateFL
Description
I bought my 2019 car on december 2020. When the car is stopped, and I start forward, the car jerks and make a loud noise. This happens to me randomly, but once very 15 stops in average, about once every 2 days. I went to an online forum of kia owners and it seems that the problem comes from the wrong transmission fluid being put into the car during production. There is a kia technical service bulletin that deals with changing the transmission fluid at https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2020/mc-10174520-0001. Pdf but when I called kia usa, they told me that it is not associated to my vin. I have been 5 times to 2 different kia dealership and it's still not fixed because they had difficulty reproducing and diagnosing the problem. But the second dealership told me that he was able to reproduce the issue once. I took 2 videos (inside and outside the car) of the problem, where one can hear the loud noise.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 22, 2021
StateCA
Description
1. Steering wheel coupler makes a grinding noise when turning and getting louder every day. Dealer claims there is nothing wrong. 2. Toxic nauseating ammonia type fume is emitted from the heater core when the heater is turned on. I have to open windows to be able to drive. Deeker claims nothing is wrong. Both problems reported by other niro owner at kia niro forums.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 01, 2021
StateMN
Description
Ongoing issue: randomly from a complete stop, upon acceleration there is a loud clunking noise. As if I am being rear-ended. Possibly the transmission. Happens more often in cold weather when the gas engine is in use more.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateSep 16, 2020
StateNC
Description
The reverse lighting is inadequate for reverse camera in dark, which produces grainy backup camera image. The camera works fine in daylight. This may require proper lighting or camera that works well in dim light condition. Also, the camera is exposed to weather conditions, such as rain and snow.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2020
StateNC
Description
The vehicle accelerated as if I had pressed on gas pedal when it came to a stop just before putting it in park gear. This is a safety issue, as it can hit someone or something. This happened at about 6400 miles and again at about 6600 miles. Both times it happened in my driveway, which is flat.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 28, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia niro. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the rear driver side tire blew out. In addition while taking the exit and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle failed to stop. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by steering the vehicle to the side and into a parking lot. The contact stated all warning lights were illuminated when the tire blew out. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the rear driver side tire was repaired. The vehicle was taken to local dealer (pomona kia superstore located at 8 rio rancho rd, pomona, ca 91766) where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle had not been repaired as of yet. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and filed a case. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.*dt*jb
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMay 27, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact leased a 2019 kia niro. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph with the accelerator pedal depressed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was experienced twice. The vehicle was taken to kaearny mesa ford kia dealer (7303 clairemont mesa boulevard, san diego, ca 92111, (858)560-6965, and the vehicle was test driven however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 17, 2020
StatePA
Description
Pulling into my parking space, barely moving, car suddenly lunged forward and to the right over a concrete barrier and uphill. This happened with another kia - forte- a few years ago . Same trajectory. Low speed turn, I did not accelerate.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
When I was going to la using 110 express lane. Car stop unpredictably totally and I parked the car left side 110 express lane. I was stayed 3 hours until tow coming.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 17, 2020
StateGA
Description
The vehicle will sometimes go forward eventhough the gear shift is in the r position for reverse. And the opposite happens. I may go in reverse eventhough the gear is in the d position for drive. -- I believe the above happens if I shift gears too quickly before the car finishes its system check. -- that is my own troubleshooting effort/opinion. The wrong motion happens when starting from a stationary position. For example starting the car and wanting to drive forward out of a parking spot or wanting to go reverse to back out of a garage. ---- it's happened several times. I notified the deal sales rep back in oct. When it first happened. It's happend a couple other times and finally I found this website after it happened again this week.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 17, 2020
StateOR
Description
My brakes failed as I tried to stop for a traffic light on a city street. There was a car already stopped at the light, which I bumped into. As I was depressing the brake pedal, it 'gave', and the car continued to move forward; I was unable to stop. Luckily, I had already slowed considerably prior to the brakes failing, so no one was hurt and there was minimal damage. The other driver left the scene without exchanging information, and no police report was filed. The kia service technician was unable to find anything wrong with the vehicle: no codes showed up regarding any problems; nothing was in the online history report; no leaks or damaged brake components were observed; test driving failed to replicate the problem. Although he said I could pick it up, so far I haven't ' I won't drive it if the brakes are not reliable! The accident could've happened on the highway at high speeds; someone could've been gravely hurt or killed... I found an article online that described a recall of kia optimas for what sounds like the precise problem: the 'software for forward collision warning (fcw) may prevent the automatic emergency braking (aeb) system from engaging as expected when fcw senses a potential collision with a stationary vehicle.' nhtsa campaign number: 19v539. Article at www. Consumerreports. Org/car-recalls-defects/kia-optima-recalled-because-automatic-braking-could-fail/ when I brought this article to the technician's attention, I was told they couldn't do anything about it unless a recall specific to the niro was issued. I then called the kia customer service number in the article I found, and was told they would initiate an investigation; so far I haven't heard back from them.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 18, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the consumer rented a 2019 kia niro. The consumer stated that when the vehicle was started and placed in reverse, the vehicle moved forward without warning. The gear shift indicator displayed that the vehicle was in reverse at the time of the failure. The vehicle was returned to the rental company. The dealer and manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000. The vin was unknown. *as
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 16, 2019
StateCA
Description
The problem that I'm I'm having is a code p0456 (evaporative emission system leak detected, which is a small leak. The reason why I'm worried is because the gauge for the rpms goes all the way across as far as it can go, in other words it's like as if I'm pushing down on the gas pedal as far as it can go , it does this when I'm driving on the highway, when I'm about to leave a signal light from a complete stop , when I'm driving up a hill is when it's worst.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateSep 10, 2019
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia niro. While the vehicle was at a complete stop, the forward collision warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to bosak kia (241 melton rd, burns harbor, in 46304, (219) 787-9200) to be diagnosed, but a failure could not be found. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided the contact with case number: 13342866. No further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 24, 2019
StateCA
Description
First the air conditioner stopped working for 2 days. Then on the 3rd day, 8/13/19, the hev light and oil lights went on. The engine slowed down. The car was towed to the kia dealership in ontario, ca. Initially they said it may not be covered by warranty. Then on 8/17 they told me the air conditioner needs a new compressor. Then on 8/23 I was told that oil and metal shards had leaked into the engine and the entire engine needs to be replaced. It is unknown when the repair will be done.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 19, 2019
StateMI
Description
As I was driving on the highway, the ac stopped working. There were no warning lights, alarms or indicators that something was wrong, but I immediately got off the highway because I thought this is not right. As I braked on the ramp, the car still worked, but when I tried to accelerate leaving the ramp, there was no power. I got into an adjacent parking lot and turned off the car. When I tried to turn it back on, it was completely dead. I called aaa, they gave it a jump, but even though the battery was full, when put into drive or reverse it would do nothing.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.