2021 Kia Sorento Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Was your vehicle recalled for seat belt pretensioner issues? Read our post on the Hyundai & Kia Seat Belt Pretensioner Recall.

Finding an SUV has never been difficult, with many drivers opting for the stylish 2021 Kia Sorento. The automaker claims customers can “let the adventures begin” behind the wheel. However, adventure is an understated term to describe a faulty engine, dangerous fuel system, malfunctioning powertrain and failing tranmission.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018    2019    2020    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Kia Sorento

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
58
Engine
23
Unknown Or Other
20
Electrical System
15
Vehicle Speed Control
7
Fuel/propulsion System
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
2
Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
2
Steering
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1

Most Common Problems with the 2021 Kia Sorento

he most common problems owners of the 2021 Kia Sorento are reporting to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) relate to the powertrain and engine. There are also serious complaints about a malfunctioning fuel system.

Engine-related complaints are varied, ranging from lost acceleration capability, rattles, and bearing failure, to what seems to be an unfixable error code that says “refill inverter coolant.” The problem with the latter is that the light stays illuminated and blocks out other warning lights. There are also lots of complaints filed under Engine that report failed transmissions.

A large percentage of powertrain complaints are also about problems that result in failing transmissions. Reports to the NHTSA vary from the transmission slipping and then failing to them suddenly not working at all. Some complaints say the SUV shuts off and redlines when the gears are shifted. There are also reports of transmissions making a “clunky” sound.

Problems with the Engine

The most important part of any vehicle is the engine. With a defective motor in the Kia Sorento, customers can’t help but be disappointed.

Here’s one Edmunds review to consider. “Purchased an SX Prestige with 2.5 Turbo at 2100 miles that was a dealer demo. Drove the Sorento for two weeks adding about 1500 miles or so. As I pull in my driveway the engine began rattling really loud. No warning lights came on. Had the vehicle towed to the dealer I purchased from. Was told that the engine bearings failed, causing internal damage. Also there was metal inside of Turbo itself. Was told I was getting a new, updated engine and turbo. New engine has been installed.. just waiting on a new turbo. I’ve been without my vehicle for 12 days now. Very disappointed in KIA.”

There’s little to point to the problem in this situation, other than many other customers are experiencing it as well. It might turn out that Hyundai is faced with even more class-action lawsuits, such as the one from previous models that stated Hyundai installed engines that could spontaneously combust during normal operation. That’s one heck of an adventure that most people aren’t prepared for.

Problems with the Fuel System

Working in conjunction with the engine is the fuel system. When this system malfunctions, the vehicle cannot run as intended.

That’s what is shown in this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2021 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, the contact noticed that the exhaust started to leak. … also stated the engine was overheating with no warning light illuminated.”

Sadly, Kia Sorento owners are currently facing a dangerous recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V519000 reveals that affected models equipped with a 2.5-liter turbo engine have a fuel pipe that could leak between the pump and rail. If the fuel leaks in this location, there is a heightened risk of a car fire. There’s nothing quite as adventurous as trying to get the family out of an SUV before it explodes.

Problems with the Powertrain

There are also issues with the powertrain in Sorento models. Of course, this is another vital part that doesn’t do what it should.

One last Edmunds review states, “I turn my vehicle on to drive home and the check engine light comes on, at first I think maybe it is just a fluke…It was downpouring that night so I thought something might have triggered it. I go to drive and I notice as I am trying to accelerate my RPMs are going up but the speed is really not increasing, until it JOLTS me forward. I finally make it home and hope it was just a random event. The next day same thing happens, check engine light is on, notification comes up on my screen ‘possible transmission control issue’ same thing happens, car is not accelerating, RPMs going up, and if I stop at a red light and the ‘auto on off’ kicks in the car totally dies.”

The review goes on to say “When I am finally able to get into Kia the next day they tell me I need a new transmission…….a NEW TRANSMISSION on a brand new vehicle with only 5000 miles on it!!!!! It has now been sitting at the Kia dealership for 26 days and they have no ETA on when the new part will arrive. Stay far far away from this car!! It looks beautiful, but it is a lemon!!! I will be submitting paperwork for it to be taken in as a lemon law and get a refund to get something else, NOT A KIA.”

While there is no recall yet, Hyundai has released Service Bulletin #SC202_DSM that discusses a Voluntary Service Campaign to replace the accelerator pedal assembly on affected models. It appears that the RPMs rise even when they shouldn’t because of this malfunction. If it happens while driving, Smart Pedal Logic becomes engaged to reduce the RPMs to an idle speed, causing even more problems. Maybe the Kia Sorento should be renamed a Bucking Bronco to properly reflect how it drives.

2021 Sorento NHTSA Transmission Complaints

NHTSA complaints about failing transmissions are filed under the Powertrain, Engine, and Unknown or Other categories. Most vehicles are new and many owners report long waits to have their transmission replaced.

One owner who had a 2021 Sorento for only five months says the dealership had to replace three transmissions. The vehicle “stayed in the shop for over 4 months with no loaner. When I got it back, I drove it for 2 weeks and in the middle of traffic, the dashboards lit up like a Christmas tree, then the truck cut off on me. This is a safety concern and this truck is a lemon.” At the time, he was attempting to negotiate a buy back from Kia.

Another owner states: “My 9 month old (9000+ miles) car went completely into neutral while driving without any warning. The speed dropped quickly, and I was very close to getting hit by the car behind. I carefully stopped and turned off the car at a curbside, and it went back to normal when restarted. However, the next day I started the car like normal and found it wouldn’t move either forward or reverse with the Check Engine Light on. The car was then towed to the dealership for inspection, and they were able to reproduce the problem. I was told the entire transmission needs to be replaced. The same terrifying experience is seen from multiple internet forums for the same new Kia Sorento 2021.”

An owner who had transmission failure when the SUV stopped mid-drive says, ”Thankfully I was driving on a suburban street at low speeds, but it could have been dangerous in another circumstance. The car was towed to a Kia dealership and they claimed it was fixed after a week. However, they could not successfully start the car when I went to pick it up and I had to leave it at the dealership.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryPower Train
DateNov 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
Vehicle suddenly displayed the message "stop safely immediately" and then lost all traction to the wheels. This happened as I was entering a busy street and could have resulted in an accident. I had to coast to the side of the road where the car would not drive. I took the vehicle to my kia dealer and they performed a software update as part of a recall. The update or "fix" only prevents the immediate loss of traction and does not address the underlying cause. My car is now back at the dealer with a failing transmission.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateNov 28, 2022
StateNH
Description
The contact owned a 2021 kia sorento. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v703000 (trailer hitches) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that after being parked for about 3 hours when someone informed them flames were coming from near the fuel tank. The fire department was called to put out the fire. The vehicle was towed and deemed totaled. A fire report was made. The contact's spouse burned their hand attempting to remove items from the vehicle before it completely burned. Medical attention was not needed. The contact stated that a nearby tree became charred by the fire as well as the ground surrounding the vehicle. The dealer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated their insurance was going to contact the manufacturer however they were unsure if their insurance had done so as of yet. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle transmission completely failed immediately after long (~4 hr, 224 mile) highway drive. During drive vehicle hesitated slightly when downshifting to accelerate. After arriving at destination, vehicle showed a check engine light and would not consistently accelerate. After sitting for ~36 hrs, vehicle would not shift into any gear (drive or reverse). Had to have vehicle towed. After unsuccessfully attempting to update and flush transmission, and consulting with kia engineers, future kia in fresno, ca informed me that the dual clutches in the transmission had “melted and fused.” failure occurred the day after a transmission software update by the kia dealer in carson, ca.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 13, 2022
StateNV
Description
10/25/2022 started the suv at a wal-mart parking lot and as I drove out of the parking lot onto a street my suv made a motorcycle sound then it started to loss power with my foot still on the gas pedal. Suv came to a complete stop and was towed home. 11/03/2022 picked up suv from kia dealership. Drove 43 minutes home and parked inside garage. An hour later started the suv to go pick up kids from school. The suv wouldn't reverse out of the garage. I restarted the engine 4 times then it finally reverse out of the garage then when I put it on drive. There was no power to drive. I restarted the engine again 2 more times then it finally drive and I parked it back inside the garage. 11-04-2022 I attempted to drive suv to kia dealership for help. I made it onto the freeway with a speed of 74 mph for about 8 minutes then my suv started to loose power with my foot still on the gas pedal. I almost got rear ended by a big rig before I can even put my hazard light on and pulled safely to the side of the freeway. My suv was towed into kia dealership that same day. 11-12-2022 picked up the suv from kia, drove it 43 minutes then stopped at chevron to top off gas. When restarted the suv my engine light came on the dash board. I drove it back to my house. I notified kia asap with a picture of my dash board and it's been in my garage since yesterday. Today is 11/13/2022. All incidents are not able to be duplicated by the dealership's mechanic everytime they had the suv. No actions were taken. I showed them videos and picture of the proof that I do have but because it's not happening for them while they have my suv. They can't fix my suv problem. It's an accident waiting to happen and I already had a near miss on the freeway. An extremely concerned 2021 kia seronto owner.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
On aug. 24, 2022 I was out shopping at a few different places. My car at this point had never given me any issues, still practically brand new with barely a little over 10000 miles on it. I got in it and started it up. I go to put it into gear and it would not go. I tried again and again then noticed a check engine light on. I turned it off then started vehicle again. I tried putting in reverse, it would not move, drive, it would not move. I called dealership and they sent over service tech along with wrecker driver. The service tech duplicated the same issue I had. He drove me back to dealership to put me in a loaner. Next day he said the wrecker driver said it started and drove just fine however the check engine light was still on so service tech said they were going to look into it. Finally by sept. 1, 2022 I was told it was ready to be picked up. Was told that the engine computer needed a software update for transmission and it cleared out the light. I picked up vehicle on sept. 2 and along the way home all of a sudden my car went from 70 mph to a sudden halt! I managed to move off the freeway after almost being rear ended and stopped the car. Frantically I called dealership but they were already closed for the day. Once my fiancé showed up he was able to get it to go into drive but the max speed was around 15 mph which he drove to our house which was about another 7-8 miles as I followed in his vehicle. Had car towed to dealership next day on sept. 3. Finally on 16th of sept. I was told a new transmission was needed, which was going to be on back order. Now, as of nov. 6, 2022 I am still waiting for my car to be fixed and returned to me. So in summary, my 2021 kia sorento which is barely a yr old and a little over 10,000 miles is waiting to have the transmission replaced. I was told it would have to be a re-built one, not even a brand new one, go figure!
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph and attempting to merge onto the highway, the vehicle failed to accelerate as needed. The contact stated that she pulled off the highway ramp, turned off and restarted the vehicle several times before the vehicle started operating normally. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. Additionally, the contact stated that the start/stop function had started to fail to operate as designed. The vehicle would shut down at a stop sign or traffic light; however, as the brake pedal was released and the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle would cycle between shutting the engine off and on. The contact had taken the vehicle to a local dealer, where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact researched online and related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v760000 (power train). The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 25, 2022
StateIN
Description
Transmission quit engaging and had service light that said to stop vehicle immediately on september 24, 2022. The vehicle was then towed off to nearest dealer for inspection/diagnosis. Software update was applied on september 30. We picked car up on oct 01 and drove home with no issues. On oct 02, I started noticing car was not shifting properly from 2nd to 3rd gear. I had to delicately drive in a certain manner to get it to shift to next gear. Oct 03 engine light came back on, had vehicle towed back to dealer. Oct 04 received call from dealer and after diagnostic was completed, they said they had ordered a new transmission for us with an unknown eta. Safety of us and others was put at risk due to the transmission behaving erratically. No warning lamps, or messages had been received prior to transmission disengaging initially on sep. 24. However, there were some symptoms prior to that incident, so I had a strong notion that it was only a matter of time until we were going to experience a transmission issue.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 22, 2022
StateFL
Description
On oct 5th, 2022, I was driving home from work on interstate 75, when I heard a chime from my dashboard. When I looked at the dashboard there was a message to “stop safely immediately,” and the check engine light came on. I happened to be at my exit and took the next exit off the highway. Whiling getting to the off ramp the vehicle randomly shut off. I stopped the suv with the brake with no incident. Thankfully no one was behind me. However, the car wouldn't turn on. After several tries the car turned on again. I immediately drove it to kia which was about 2 miles away for immediate service. They did a multi-point inspection, checked fluids. The tech came back saying the vehicle need a software update. They did a software update and returned the suv. I was told everything should be fine. Within a day of the update the check engine light came back on. This time when I accelerate the rpms are going up but the speed is not increasing. The sorento hesitates to accelerate from a stop. The vehicle has issues shifting in the lower gears until it jolts forward. I returned the suv to kia where now I am told it needs a new transmission. I was given no indication as to when this fix would happen. I ask for a rental car they have none. Tech at kia says its okay to keep driving this suv. Did I miss something? As of oct 22, they want to recheck transmission fluid which they have already checked. I have been given the run around with no fix for the problem insight.
CategoryAir Bags, Visibility:defroster/defogger/hvac System
DateOct 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
Drivers side airbag illuminates intermittently, a/c smells like dried urine, has stuttered while driving on 2-3 occasions phone charging pad does not actually charge phone instead just maintains whatever battery life is already in phone before placed on pad.,these are all issues within the first 30 days of purchasing certified pre owned kia sorento on 8/15/22
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateOct 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
As I was taking off from stop sign car dropped into lower gear jerking car and lowered speed. Did this twice almost causing an accident. Knowing something was very wrong we proceed to dealership. Suv stalled out 3 times on the way. Third time it stalled out was in front of service writer in front of dealership. This car has been very dangerous to drive from the delivery to now. It hesitates when you give it gas at stop and vibrates as you pic k up speed. This car is very dangerous to drive. Has been in shop for a week tring to figure out the problem. I have complained to service department about this ever since I have owned the car. Thanks for any help. I know I,m not the only one with this problem. Pat mcgrath.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 13, 2022
StateFL
Description
Kia has been chasing transmission problems on this vehicle for several months and now the transmission has completely failed.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 07, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Refill inverter coolant notice comes up after routine oil change and downhill control turns on without me turning it on I have to shit my vehicle off in order for the brake control to turn off, available for inspection upon request. This notice interferes with me seeing the digital speedometer. Coolant was checked by dealer no leaks found, was told to wait patiently until a fix is available. No prior issues until I took it in for an oil change with the dealership.
CategoryEngine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
As my vehicle was in drive and I was actively driving, an error displayed on the dash stating to "stop safely immediately." the vehicle would neither accelerate nor decelerate and would not generate any rpms. The check engine light came on, went off hours lately and the vehicle appeared to perform normally thereafter. Nonetheless I had the vehicle towed to the dealership and was told they were unable to duplicate the error although. I was told that although they could download the code for the error, it was unlikely that kia would replace the faulty sensor that needed replacing as it was located on the side of the transmission. I was told to video the issue if it ever happened again. 7 days later, the exact same thing happened while I was in the middle of an intersection with my children. I leased this vehicle in may of 2021 and this issue occurred in july 2022 with 7800 miles on the odometer. There were zero issues with this vehicle prior to this and I have all service records and video footage of the incident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 02, 2022
StateLA
Description
My vehicle was in my garage and I noticed a crack in my windshield. Nothing hit my windshield and there are no knicks in the glass. The crack starts all the way at the top of the windshield and the crack is spreading very quickly. I bought this vehicle used on 7/12/22 and I only put 789 miles on it since purchasing it.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 15, 2022
StateOR
Description
The transmission failed; it is at the dealership awaiting a replacement transmission, and, if needed and if possible, I would authorize for it to be inspected. While in a parking garage, the instrument cluster displayed a "safely stop immediately" message and a check engine light, and the vehicle began to lose momentum and roll to a stop, regardless of accelerator input. The problem was was replicated and confirmed by a kia dealership. The vehicle has not been inspected beyond the service department at the dealership.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving car dropped to 20 miles pe hour pressed gas harder and rpm stayed at 2 and car failed to accelerate, loss of driving power. It intermittently will drop rpms and lose speed with no warning no light or indicators. This is the 2nd transmission the original failed on 09/11/21 with only 12,000 miles on the car and had to be replaced. This transmission only has 14, 00 miles on it and is a replacement from the valley kia dealer. This car is unsafe to drive you dont know if you press the gas pedal it will actually accelerate or stall.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
I have a 2021 sx with 6000 miles sitting at the dealership with a failing transmission. Yesterday september 2, 2022, my vehicle lost 100% of power and I was left at a traffic light with no power. The dashboard said, "stop safely immediately". The engine light came on and thank god I was not on the highway. Got towing service to kia dealer in houston. It is a very dangerous situation for any driver to lose all power suddenly. I went to the internet and this is a common problem with this model. It is related to the dct transmission.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
I have 2021 kia sorento hybrid, which a regular message stating that it needs to refill inverter coolant fluid keeps coming up, even though the car coolants level is full. This is not a new problem for the all the kia users that have this model. Also, kia and their network of dealerships have known of this problem for over 1 yr and their standard answer is" we know its a software program, and will get back to you once the software code is fixed". Basically, they are dismissing the complaints and issues from the car owners. Also, this is poses a security and safety concern, since the warning light/message takes over the entire center console/display. Other relevant safety and security warnings/functionality is obstructed by it. Please force kia to make this a mandatory recall for all hybrid owners. There are thousands of customers impacted.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Refil inverter fluid warning light is on constant, this doesn't allow the driver to access any digital information while vehicle is on. The vehicle is also having issues with the entertainment consul, bluetooth connection issues along with the ability to access apple car play. Dealership says it's kia and nothing is being done. Various forums with others having similar issues.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 29, 2022
StatePA
Description
Vehicle is not shifting properly. The vehicle is hesitating on shifting up and have a very hard down shift. When vehicle was brand new this was mentioned to the dealer and they said it was "normal" for these "new" transmissions. This issue has now since gotten way worse. When sitting at a stop sign and needing to accelerate to get out onto the roadway and wheel is slightly turned on "dry" roads the traction control light will come on and vehicle will not accelerate. This is a very big safety concern as myself and my kids use this car daily! This problem has been made aware to dealer but only to be told its "normal" this is not normal its a big risk of possibly getting myself or others into an accident. The vehicle is going to be relooked at with another dealer 8/30/22 as it has gotten worse and im concerned of the safety of myself that this vehicle may malfunction causing as accident. I have also looked at other reports of these 2021 sorentos and seeing a pattern with the transmission issues of them.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 22, 2022
StateUT
Description
Car fails to shift gears. Will not allow to switch to manual and get stuck in first gear. Car has less than 12,000 miles
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateAug 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle went into limp mode suddenly while driving on the road and would only go 10 mph. We were able to pull vehicle aside and within a minute the car would not move. Check engine light came on with a warning message to pull vehicle to the side of the road. We were able to drive the vehicle home 7 miles after waiting about 1 hour after the issue and the next day drove it to the dealership. Car has been at dealership since 8/8/22 and service advisor and kia engineer have yet to figure out what went wrong. We have no eta as of today when we will get car back. This issue is concerning as the vehicle came to a complete stop with traffic around us.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 11, 2022
StateIN
Description
On my way to the grocery store less than a mile from my home an alarm and dash alert popped up "safely stop immediately." the vehicle was stuck in first gear and the rpms revved up. Almost immediately I lost power and it was stuck in neutral even though it was in drive. Then the engine shut down. When I restarted it I could not move. This is extremely dangerous and should never happen. The vehicle has 17,802 miles on it and now my wife and I are afraid to drive it. After sitting for about 20 minutes I was able to start it and return home. It has not moved since. We called the dealer and they were backed up for over a month on service. This is a new vehicle? Upon investigating this issue I found just on one website over 43 reports of the same incident. One person said that a dealership has an entire row of these vehicles with the same problem and transmissions are on backorder. It's been 3 days and still waiting for a reply from my local dealer. This is not safe!
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train
DateAug 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
1) automatic braking: twice, car has auto braked in the middle of a 4-way intersection when a car was stopping at the light. Car has auto braked in the middle of the 3rd lane (fast lane) on the highway during rain. Car has auto braked multiple times when reversing out of a parking spot. In one of those incidents, I have to drive forward in order for the car to move; turning it off and on does not reset the vehicle. The auto-braking while driving especially on the highway causing rapid decceleration could result in another vehicle rear-ending me. 2) many transmission issues: jerky transmission, car moving backwards while in drive (usually uphill, doesn't have to be steep), car stalling in park or when going up steep hills, traction control kicking on and engine downshifting (even though the roads were dry).
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateAug 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
I have owned this vehicle for about 1 yr & 7 months now. It's been great but all of a sudden last friday, the dashboard started producing an engine overheat warning with an alarm sound when I was driving under normal conditions. So then I pulled out of the highway and went to the nearest parking lot, and checked the engine. The coolant color was normal & max level. No sign of leaking. Then we resumed driving and nothing happened. Later on the way back home... The same thing happened. The alarm sounded for a while and the temperature indicator reached red at the max level then it went away. It was already too late for us to reach out to either dealership or kia, so I was going to get in touch later. The next day afternoon, I got a diagnostic appointment for the coming wednesday with the nearest kia dealership and went out to take care of a few other stuff. The alarm sound with the temperature gauge reaching the red max level happened again after merging into the highway, and it went off after a while. This occurrence has happened 3 times already and I'm a bit worried that it may happen again and something else may happen even though the engine and other fluid levels were fine based on the visual inspection. Not sure if this is fixable...
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 04, 2022
StateTN
Description
My 2021 kia sorento with 15,500 miles suddenly displayed a “stop safely immediately” warning with no other lights or indicators as to an issue. My husband and I were trying to find a safe place to stop when the vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating and would not shift out of first gear and the rpms increased to over 5000. We then lost all drivability in the middle of the road and couldn't move at all. The dealership said a sensor was dirty and “cleaned it” and sent us on our way. Less than a week later, with my four year old daughter in the car with me, the same thing happened again but the “stop safely immediately” warning displayed briefly, disappeared, and then the car again lost all drivability in the middle of a busy highway.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
Vehicle randomly losses power when trying to accelerate from a stop. This creates a risk of being rear ended or struck while attempting to merge into traffic. Power loss is 100%. May last from a couple seconds to several minutes. No warning lights come on. The vehicle is currently at the dealership awaiting diagnosis which I was told could take several weeks due to a “backlog of vehicles awaiting repair and a shortage of repair technicians”. Dealer refused to offer a loaner car and kia will not provide a loaner or rental vehicle until the car is diagnosed by the dealer.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
Vehicle randomly looses power to the wheels while driving vehicle. This has occurred while in drive and reverse. Engine check light is lit (not blinking) and message appears on instrument panel of "stop safely immediately" at time of occurrence. This first started on 7/4/2022. This occurred while in heavy traffic which put myself in a dangerous position as it did for other drivers around me. Vehicle is at the dealer service department for the third time. They are having difficulty recreating the issue. On first visit technician found history code p1c2d03 described as "incorrect gear ratio". Transmission software was updated, I picked up car on 7/7/2022 and did not make the 4 mile trip home before it occurred again. The last occurrence was on 7/27/2022. Problem occurred while backing out of driveway.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Hello sir / madam, I bought this used 2021 kia sorento with vin number [xxx]. Greenway kia orlando, has verified with me and given me a print out saying this recall has been repaired successfully by them in march of 2022 before they sold it to me. They even said that documents have been submitted to nhtsa and nhtsa is not updating in to their system since 3 months. Can you please help me on this subject. Recall has been repaired and I have the repaired invoices and proofs that they provided to me. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 27, 2022
StateMA
Description
Vehicle slams into gears, jerks forward when accelerating, hesitates a long time when reversing then changing to drive(extremely dangerous), and when in park and not turned off yet it surges or revs slightly and you can feel it trying to go forward. At first these things were rare but then became occasional and now after a year they have become constant. Dealership says I need a new transmission and they may have my car for two months or more! Have also had a dead battery twice already with nothing left on or plugged in.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
Vehicle has a constant, unresolved error reporting that inverter coolant level is abnormal. Occurs daily. Dealership is unable to determine whether it is an issue. Has been taken to the dealership 2 times in the last 3 months. The warning also occupies the dashboard screen and cannot be dismissed, preventing me from viewing any vehicle details (engine temperature, tire pressure, digital speedometer)
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 20, 2022
StateUT
Description
Refill inverter coolant warning on dashboard. Took it onto local dealer, no problems located. May be a sensor issue.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
Transmission failure—car stopped driving mid-drive. Thankfully I was driving on a suburban street at low speeds, but it could have been dangerous in another circumstance. The car was towed to a kia dealership and they claimed it was fixed after a week, however they could not successfully start the car when I went to pick it up and I had to leave it at the dealership. Additionally, the paperwork I was given that detailed the service did not match the records the service department had. After several weeks and despite attempts to contact them, I have received no updates. The check engine light came on after the initial failure.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 12, 2022
StateSC
Description
Vehicle stuck in high rpm until I parked and restarted vehicle. Additionally continues to rock back and forth while parked and jumps forward significantly upon braking and acceleration.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 10, 2022
StateGA
Description
Transmission started slipping after 25,000 miles, very scary in traffic. Got home and transmission completely failed.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 09, 2022
StateOH
Description
Wet clutch went out causing the car to stall and stutter, that has been replaced and now it is struggling to shift into 2nd gear. Jerry shifting and high rpms.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 09, 2022
StateOH
Description
Fuel tank door won't open. It supposedly locks and unlocks with the doors but it gets stuck locked, couldn't get fuel. Had to find something like a coat hanger to stick in and jimmy it open.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 03, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Inverter fluid light has been coming on and staying on for over a month. It impedes the view of the digital display. The dealership has no fix nor any rental vehicles to bring my vehicle in. I have had this vehicle for 14 months. No one can tell me if this consistent light is harming my vehicle nor is there an urgency to repair. Unacceptable in a 40 grand vehicle
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 29, 2022
StateMN
Description
There is a constant error happening daily where a warning shows “refill inverter coolant” it takes up the main display and no dealer has a fix
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 29, 2022
StateOK
Description
Inverter coolant refill light will not turn off. This is available for inspection. This could be a possible fire risk. Issue has been confirmed at dealership. Components have been inspected by manufacturer. Issue started around 23,000 miles.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 28, 2022
StateMI
Description
There is a warning message stating "refill invertor coolant" that keeps coming up. The coolant is already full and the car functions normally. However, the warning message can only be cleared for a few seconds before it returns. The message covers up other information on the display such as digital speed and driving warnings such as lane departure. I feel this is an unsafe condition. The dealer I talked to said they are aware of the issue and trying to resolve it on another customer's car. At this time they are unable to resolve the issue.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 25, 2022
StatePA
Description
Car jumps when going into reverse, going into a stop and coming off a stop. Hesitates off of stops. Feels like it goes into neutral when going around bends. When I'm park, it rocks back and forth and rpm's go down. It's been happening since I bought the car a year ago.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 21, 2022
StateGA
Description
Car suddenly stopped going while driving on interstate, almost like the car went into neutral while driving. It started back again after a few seconds and thankfully I was coming down a slight incline and was able to keep coasting while trying to get off of interstate. I pulled over and it seemed to be fine again so I continued home and when driving up my driveway it did it again and I could not get it to go forward to pull into garage. I was able to put it in reverse and back up and then after that it went into drive and pulled forward but then I tried reverse again just to see what it would do and then it would not reverse and would just rev up like it was in neutral again. I have called 5 kia dealerships this morning and nobody seems inclined to look at it or to assist me with this matter.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 16, 2022
StateTX
Description
We have been having a few issues with our sorento. 1. There will be times when the car wont accelerate or go past the current speed. The first time this happened, we were traveling on the highway and it was difficult to pull over to safely pull over. We had to restart the car completely and let it rest then restart it. The second time this happened, was right after it was "fixed" by the dealership and I was able to safely pull over and restart the car. 2. The second issue is the car will jerk violently when shifting in reverse or down shifting to a stop while driving in automatic. When we originally took the car in for this issue (not even a full year after purchase), a transmission leak was said to be the problem and fixed. This worked for a few months then the issues started to gradually return. The car will also jerk forward and back while sitting in park. While this issue isnt as dangerous, the hesitation in the movement of the car could put myself or my family at risk if the car will no accelerate or decelerate in time. No warning light or problem indication is given when this problem arises. .\
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJun 07, 2022
StateOK
Description
The inverter coolant refill light will illuminate at all times even with the system serviced. Kia has serviced the system but has no solution on how to stop the light. The light also blocks out any other warning that may happen on the dash. With the light illuminated while driving, it is impossible to determine if the system is empty to cause a fire or just a faulty light. The dealership has confirmed the faulty warning light. There are no computer codes associated with the warning light.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 05, 2022
StatePA
Description
Transmission down shifts hard when coming to a stop or putting it in reverse. Car has been to the kia dealership were we where told this normal. We had a expert look at the car and his diagnosis was there is something wrong with it. You can here the transmission making a clunky sound when coming to the stop. People in parking lots have noticed this as well.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 05, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving the car displayed a notice in the dash stating “stop safely immediately” . We stoped the car in on the edge of traffic. After we restarted the car we shifted into drive but the transmission wouldn't allow the car to move. The car had reduced rpms and wouldn't move in drive or reverse. Ultimately had to have it towed to a nearby dealer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 01, 2022
StateMI
Description
Unknown. I was driving down the express way, when I heard a big bang. Glass all through my car. I looked up and noticed that my sunroof had exploded. This is very dangerous and really scary while doing 70+ down the freeway! Something needs to be done. Doesn't seem like kia warranties their glass and insurance companies want to charge the deductible for something that wasn't even anyone's fault.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 20, 2022
StateGA
Description
Transmission has to be replaced. Car shut off, redlined when gears switched, struggled between gear shifts, would not start.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMay 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle inadvertently shifted into neutral. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,978.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 16, 2022
StateIA
Description
I began having issues with my car rolling forward around a foot or two after coming to a stop. This was very disconcerting as it meant that I could not be sure if when I stopped, I would not roll forward into another car or something else. It also twice began having a difficult time shifting automatically after idling for 10 minutes, I switched to manual and eventually got it to shift that way. I took it into my local dealer to have it looked at and they assured me this is just how the transmission is. It was driven only a few times over the next two weeks, then I went to pick up my daughter from school and after she got in, it began having a serious issue with shifting, only shifting automatically once rpms reached over 5,000. I could not get the manual shifting to work at this time. Additionally, the engine light came on. We slowly made it home and I made an appt to have the dealer look at it again. I have now been told I need an entirely new transmission.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 14, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Car has been having issues with not starting many times also dealership was contact also was serviced and still having issues.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the fluid inverter level indicator warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the dealer informed the contact that there was no known repair available for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The failure mileage was 7,650.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 07, 2022
StateTN
Description
Less then 25000 miles. I was backing out of a parking place I heard some signal indicator beeps, put the car in park and saw a transmission engine light indicator lit. On the display panel were the options to make an appointment with a dealership or to call roadside assistance with the description of " a possible condition with your transmission control system has been detected. A full system check is recommended to be done when convenient. Please contact your local dealership for an appointment" I called roadside assistance to see if they were able to help me further understand and they could not and suggested I called the dealership. I drove the vehicle home and was hoping a sensor may have gotten wet as we had a lot of rain and bigger than usual puddles. The next day I started my car the engine light was on again. I drove to the dealership (when I called them they did not answer in the service department). A woman came out to the vehicle and said she could not diagnose what was wrong but as long as I'm not having any difficulty driving, nothing feeling weird, or off that I can bring it in on monday, two days from today, so we agreed. I went to one store and when I came out the car started and shifted into gear but pressing on the gas no power! It would not go forward it would not go in reverse, nothing! The diagnostic code from my kia phone app is p1c2d03 I can't find anything about this code.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateApr 29, 2022
StateMS
Description
I have a ‘21 sorento hybrid. The refill inverter coolant warning light keeps coming on. The first time it happened was on a road trip. A local dealer told me to check coolant levels and when it was full, told me it was safe to drive. I had it looked at as soon as I got home. By that time, the light had gone off. They flushed and refill the coolant. It happened again within 3 weeks. I took it in again. The dealer inspected said nothing was wrong with vehicle. Safe to drive. Also said I was the second one of these they'd seen. They were told corporate is working on a fix. I starting a ticket with kia customer service. It's been 9 days and no response from them. I am counting on the dealers being correct and that it is safe.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateApr 27, 2022
StateGA
Description
After being driven for 45 miles, with no problems, then parked for 2 hours, then when I started to drive, dashboard lit up "pull over safely immediately". I pulled over, shut car off and restarted. Same notice appeared. Tried again and nothing appeared. I attempted to move the car and it would not engage in drive or reverse. Shut car off, started again and still would not move. Then was towed to a kia dealership. Upon inspection, I was told it needed a new transmission. Vehicle had 5,606 miles. Car is at dealership since april 4 waiting for new transmission. I was told there are other kia's also waiting for new transmissions. If I had been driving and car suddenly shut off, it would have been very dangerous (there are many such reports online where people have experienced this). There is documented evidence on line that others with low mileage have had this problem dating back to april 2021. This car needs to be recalled and significant changes made. The car is available for inspection at the dealer's location, lou sobh kia, 1135 buford road, cumming ga 30041 if you need. You can reach me at[xxx] or via email [xxx]. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 07, 2022
StateNE
Description
1. Transmission; vehicle is currently at dealership 2. Yes, I was driving with my daughter in the vehicle at the time 3. Yes, they were able to verify that the vehicle needs a new transmisson 4. Yes, the vehicle is currently at the dealership and has been inspected by the mechanic 5. Since I started the lease, in april 2021, I have noticed "rough shifting" of gears. I have notified kia dealership of such, and they told me it was normal for the engine, so I continued to drive the vehicle. While driving on the interstate, on april 1 2022, the transmission light illuminated on my dash and an error message also across the led screen.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:engine:oil/lubrication:sump/tank:drain Plug
DateApr 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated while reversing, she noticed a trail of oil on the ground. The contact parked the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local pep boys who informed the contact that oil had leaked onto the skid plate. The engine oil was refilled and the contact drove back to her residence. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and assisted the contact with towing the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed that the oil drain plug had fallen out causing the oil leak. Additionally, the dealer diagnosed that the lack of engine oil had caused the engine to fail, and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but informed the contact that the vehicle would be repaired at her own expense. The failure mileage was approximately 10,394.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 05, 2022
StateIN
Description
Vehicle's transmission would not engage in "drive" or "reverse". After sitting for almost an hour, tried again and it engaged in "drive". Took to dealership, could not duplicate the problem. 4 days later, while driving, the vehicles transmission automatically disengaged from "drive". The car was left inoperable, in traffic. This is very dangerous.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 25, 2022
StateMO
Description
In 2 instances the car shut off without warning. Once after the car had been shut off, ( would not restart.) then again while the car was in drive sitting at a red light. (engine shut off without warning). Dealership could not figure out cause. When trying to restart the dash lights would come on with all codes being thrown as failure for multiple systems but engine would not start or try to start. The car did think it was running though as the dash would say car will shut off in alloted time frame that was set in car settings. Both times after the car being towed to the dealership and sitting for the night it started back up next morning like nothing ever happened. I ended up getting traded out of the vehicle at 18,500 miles after owning the car for 30 days. I'm assuming that's why previous owner traded it. It's a lemon.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 23, 2022
StateVA
Description
Suddenly one morning the transmission didn't work at all. I had to get a towing service to bring the car to the service. After a couple of days, they told me that the car needs a new transmission. Btw, the car only has 12,000 miles!
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 23, 2022
StateOR
Description
The vehicle stutters before it comes to a complete stop and creates a panic feeling thinking it is not going to stop completely. Have had the car into kia for two separate inspections and they just tell me it's due to a dual manual clutch working in and automatic car. I know I am not the only one experiencing this terrifying sensation on a brand new vehicle. Kia won't do nothing until the transmission completely fails. Even their master tech indicated there are issues with these transmissions causing shifting and breaking issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
2021 kia sorento ex had 3,196 miles on it when the transmission failed. The car was driving down a street when it lost speed and alerted driver to pull over. Driver had seconds to pull over before car completely stopped among traffic. Had the car been in heavy traffic, it almost certainly would've resulted in a collision from behind, especially at high speeds. The vehicle is currently at the dealership awaiting shipment of a new transmission. The vehicle has been expected by kia dealership. There were no warnings of transmission failure before it failed, only once the problem was occurring in real time did driver receive an alert to pull over and a code regarding powertrain issues. Kia dealership mentioned that they had "a whole wall of cars with transmission issues" which conveys that this is a wide spread issue among their brand. If that is the case, it needs to be investigated and a recall needs to be issued.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 05, 2022
StateGA
Description
I was on a straight road no cars around the collision sensor went off and slowed me down. Another time it kept slowing the passenger side wheel down as the traction control was going off it did this 2 separate times. Got down the road some and it did it 2 more times but with the driver side. Last week I pulled into my drive way and was in park when it started telling me traffic was coming from the left, like I was about to back into something, I can't remember if I had shut it off at this time due to someone had fell out of the 3rd row when her foot was caught in the seat belt trying to exit the car. I called my nearest kia dealer and was told they were so far behind and since I did not buy my vehicle from them it would be last. I asked if an accident was to happen who would be responsible and he couldn't answer me.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateGA
Description
I've had a concern for last several months with my transmission not shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. A new car with 100,000 mile warranty shouldn't be having transmission issues, so just started paying closer attention to ensure it wasn't my imagination. Gears not shifting became worse & more noticeable. On 2-21-2022 (on way to work), the transmission wouldn't shift from 1st to 2nd and then 2nd to 3rd gears. The rpms went to 4,000 and 5,000 respectively. No lights are showing. I noticed a beep (like a seatbelt not engaged) that sounds 3 times prior to the transmission issues. Nothing in seats to activate a "seatbelt not buckled" sound. I pulled over, shut car off, sat for a few minutes & restarted the car. Same issue. The car was not moved again until 5:15 p. M. To head home from work (35 miles one-way commute). I pulled out onto the highway and transmission again rev'd to 5,000 rpms. Pulled over and shut car off again. Car in park, restarted the car, and the car lunged as if going into gear, but I was in park. On 2-22-2022, same issue as the day before. Still no lights coming on. Called dealership & had kia roadside assistance tow the car. Dealership kept for 3 days and could not duplicate the error. On 2/27/22, drove to church & had same issues. Returned home, put car in park in driveway (still running), the car shuts off and restarts on it's own. Monday, 2/28/22, does not appear to have any gear shift changes on the way to work until 5 miles from work when traveling 45mph and the car stalls almost to a dead stop in traffic; engine light comes on. Sent pic of engine light & text service advisor. Car towed by kia roadside assistance to dealership. Now I'm without a vehicle because kia won't provide a loaner car. I can rent a car and take it up with kia customer cares in hopes of getting reimbursed - which is not likely to happen. 25,000 miles on car. Very unsafe - does someone have to die to get issue resolved/recalled?
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 23, 2022
StateMA
Description
Driving @70 miles per hour complete loss of transmission ... This is not a safe car to drive ..
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
We had just received our sorento back from being in the shop for 4 months due to being in an accident. Part of the repair work was to have the software updated and reprogrammed at a kia dealership, which was completed. We picked up the car on tuesday, feb 15, 2022, and on wednesday, feb. 16, as we were traveling down hwy 27 in lake wales, fl, the alert began to ding and the hybrid warning came on, as well as other lights (I can't remember which ones). The car lost acceleration capability, but as we slowed and turned down another road, the car began to slightly accelerate very slowly. We were able to travel another mile, when the acceleration completely stopped. We pulled over to the side of the road and put the car in park. The engine was very rough. The message came on to leave vehicle in park to charge the hybrid battery. When we did that, the engine started for about 5 seconds, then shut off. We attempted this two more times, with the same results. We also tried to jump the car, according to the operator's manual, but it didn't work. We had to have the car towed to the dealership.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
On january 17th at approximately 1 pm I was driving on rt. 12 in cordelia, california when I heard a loud explosion coming from the car's rooftop. I pulled over and discovered that my closed sunroof had shattered. There was no indication whatsoever that anything hit the glass. There were no vehicles in either direction less than 1200-1500 feet from my car when the sunroof class exploded. I assumed this would have been a warrantee claim as the car just approached one year old. Unfortunately, the manufacturer, kia, denied the claim. I am now appealing the denial. Needless to say, I will never be comfortable driving this car with the sunshade open since that is what saved us from the shattered glass.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
Exploding panoramic sunroof: was driving about 50 miles per hour on a highway in northern california. No other vehicles within 1200-1500 feet in either direction. Was not driving under an overpass when we suddenly heard a large explosion and a rush of air. We pulled over to the side of the road and noticed that the sunroof glass had exploded and was completely shattered. We strongly believe it was not a result of an impact from a foreign object unless it literally fell out of the sky which seems extremely remote. We heard nothing until the explosion. No other damage to the car's hood or roof. No indication whatsoever that anything hit the car. The car manufacture, kia, denied the claim. Fortunately no one was hurt since we had the sunshade closed and no other cars were nearby to get hit by the shattered glass. This could have been a dangerous situation.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
I noticed a clicking sound coming from the front driver's side wheel well. I also noticed a burning smell coming from the engine after driving the car for 10-15 minutes. Shortly thereafter, while driving the vehicle the rpms seemed too high for the power being put out in the vehicle. It was also acting sluggish and felt like it was going to stall when at a stop sometimes. At one point, the check engine light came on but then went off after driving it for a few miles. I took it to the dealer's service department and they discovered that there was a fault in the transmission and it needed to be replaced. This is a 2021 kia sorento with only 6,500 miles on it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 07, 2022
StateOH
Description
When making a turn and accelerating from a stop (pulling out into traffic from a parking lot), if there is any loose gravel or potholes, the traction control system engages and renders the vehicle unable to accelerate. This has almost caused accidents on multiple occasions and has been described by other drivers on this forum: https://www. Kia-forums. Com/threads/sporadic-issue-no-acceleration-from-stop. 350565/page-7#post-2083617
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 06, 2022
StatePA
Description
Tonight was the first time I drive this car in the snow. I was going downhill doing 5 miles per hour, I even downshifted to hold vehicle back, and the brakes totally locked up on me. I couldn't turn the car, it slid straight across the road, at a "t" intersection, and I crashed into a sign, and continued to slide down a hill on someone's property. In all my years driving this has never happened to me. We have been complaining to kia about the brake system on this car for months. Something is wrong with this car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 04, 2022
StateNY
Description
1/2/22 horn-when I attempted to lay on it due to being cut-off, it was at this time, and continues to be inoperable. 1/4/22 reported to destination kia, service department, albany, ny. Acceleration-when pulling onto a major highway where the speed limit is 55mph, from an entrance ramp, my vehicle would not accel above 32mph. I do not recall any warning lamps. I was forced to pull off to the shoulder of the highway where I shut my car off and restarted it. The problem corrected itself. On the second occasion, I was driving in an area where the speed limit is 30mph, my vehicle would not accel (I cannot remember my speed); I do not recall any warning lamps. I was again forced to pull over to the side of the roadway where I shut my car off and restarted it. The problem again corrected itself. 1/4/22 reported to destination kia, service department, albany, ny kia cannot get me in for service until february 2022 due to a staff shortage! Unacceptable due to the two (2) severe safety concerns.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateDec 29, 2021
StateKY
Description
Vehicle loses all power at random. First incident was dangerous merging into traffic. The vehicle remains in this condition until restarted. Dealer found no code problems. There are lots of issues with this vehicle and failing transmissions.
CategorySteering
DateDec 28, 2021
StateFL
Description
The car drifts from right to left all the time on any road surface. This was addressed at about 2,000 miles months ago and they could not get it to steer straight. I brought this up on the oil change visit and the tech never addressed this at all ! The dual clutch transmission does not shift properly. The vehicle larches hard into reverse, feels like it will sometimes stall when starting out from a stop sign or traffic light. (this is dangerous) the idle goes up and down from 750 rpm to 1,100 rpm when the car comes to a stop. (this is dangerous) the brakes feel like they are weak. (this is uncomfortable at best) there is a lot of wind noise at 45 mph and up. Had you do a . 00 oil change. When I got home, I checked the oil and it's at least 1/8 quart short. I have not had time to come back for your techs to add more oil yet. So, your tech did not address issues (1) (2) (3) (4) at all. Instead, he wrote up the issue (2) as being normal for that type of transmission. After your service advisor joshua mills saw I was very dissatisfied with the lazy diagnosis, he took me to j. D. Mcclure with the list of problems I had outlined to your company. Jd explained he was brand new at kia and did not have kia experience which was disheartening at best. I asked that he contact kia corporate to have a certified kia rep come look at this vehicle. He assured me he would do so and call me back to see if and when a rep can come look at my vehicle. As of today, he has not called me. Yesterday my wife ann called right after she used the vehicle and experienced a lot of potential stalling issues and spoke with christina. She explained that all principles were in a morning meeting but she would tell jd about your issue and have him call you. He did not call !!! What are you going to do about these issues ??? These issues are all over the kia forums and registered complaints are listed on the n. T. S. B. (national transportation safety board) on all of the above.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 17, 2021
StateTX
Description
Issue: vehicle appears to encounter a severe reduction of power output when attempting to accelerate [I. E., either will not exceed 5mph or accelerates extremely slow) while also experiencing random erratic shifting, shifting failure, and abrupt jerking. Issue occurs regardless of circumstances (I. E., speed, weather, road conditions, turning, accelerating from stop, accelerating while in motion). Issue first appeared 12 dec 2021. Restarting vehicle will not resolve issue. Check engine light illuminated briefly and then extinguished. Vehicle is available for inspection. Vehicle has not been diagnosed by dealership; service department visit has been scheduled [30 dec 2021].
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 16, 2021
StatePA
Description
Hello, my 2021 kia sorento sx was purchased new and it currently has 1917 mileages on the odometer. After purchasing the vehicle I have noticed a very noticeable noise which seems like coming from the transmission. When I slow to a stop a big clicking noise comes from the transmission. This noise is concerning regarding a safety stand-point and to be honest it is really annoying. I have read some other comments online and it seems to be an issue around this certain make and model. I have been to a kia service center on two separate occasions on this issue. At this time the service department stated they can not assist me moving forward unless I escalate this to kia support which I plan on doing. Thank you for your time.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateDec 09, 2021
StateNY
Description
Transmission failure at 9108 miles. Car was turned on and error code stating of some form of a transmission failure. Odd electrical sounding issue in engine bay as well. If the transmission had failed while I was driving I could have gotten into a serious accident. Kia is already notorious for failing transmissions in their other vehicles. This car maybe no different.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 05, 2021
StateCA
Description
2021 kia sorento sx prestige (xline) did not want to shift on its own. When it was taken to the dealership, sme's reset the check engine light, drove 1 mile (total) and informed us there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. They were able to see a power train code (transmission fluid level pressure) within code history however they did not drive it long enough to replicate the code. Transmission fluid levels were checked ( 89% full) and was topped off prior to releasing the vehicle back to us. After driving about 40 miles, the vehicle was taken to the store however, went limp in the middle of the road. The vehicle would not move (no matter the gear) and after turning off the vehicle and turning it back on the vehicle would not budge. The vehicle was forced to move after revving up the vehicle to 5k rpms the vehicle started to drift. During this time, the d symbol and r symbol would blink repeatedly. I put it in manual mode and instead of showing the gear it shows an " s ". Thankfully this occurred on a military base however, if this occurred off the base I believe I would have gotten into an accident causing serious bodily injury or worse. Currently, the check engine light is on and I do not feel comfortable or safe in the vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 30, 2021
StateAR
Description
I brought this truck 1/1/21. 6/13/21, the transmission went out on me. The kia dealership had to replace 3 transmissions, in which the truck stayed in the shop for over 4 months with no loaner. When I got it back, I drove it for 2 weeks and in the middle of traffic, the dashboards lit up like a christmas tree, then the truck cut off on me. This is a safety concern and this truck is a lemon. Currently going through the buy back process since september. It's now going on december.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 29, 2021
StateNY
Description
The transmission periodically does not engage when in drive the transmission also over revs the engine while going a slow speed I pointed this out to the dealer when in for service they stated they were aware of other transmission complaints, and I should keep an eye on it. Nothing was done to fix the problem there were no warning lamps or indicators when this happened
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 24, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Within a 2 month period after purchasing this vehicle, the windshield has cracked twice. First time was more understandable as a larger sized rock hit the windshield right next to the pillar on the passenger side creating a roughly 4” starburst crack. That one was replaced and 2 weeks later a tiny pebble kicked up and created a small chip on the upper corner driver side. Within about 30 seconds the chip spread halfway across the windshield. These new windshield seems to be extremely weak and falling in line with the issues the telluride had as well with the kia acoustic glass.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 21, 2021
StateTX
Description
Transmission failure with no warning while driving on the highway. No warning lights before or while this occurred. Car would not accelerate. After being diagnosed at the dealership, we were told there have been other reports of the same issue therefore replacing the transmission would not be an option and kia may have to buy the vehicle back. This is not a safe vehicle!!
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 19, 2021
StateWV
Description
At first from 1st to 2nd took rpm to 5,000 before shifting to 3rd. Almost like it was stuck in neutral over that time but clearly in automatic. Once in third girl no power until rpm drops and then shifted. At high speed all seemed fine. Happened ever time I start/stopped until when turned off car and it on went away. Now this morning on the way to dealship no forward or revese so having it towed to dealership.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 16, 2021
StateNC
Description
The vehicle has a dual clutch transmission which causes the vehicle to lunge forward at idle. The transmission also "slips" at times during hard acceleration and results in very slow acceleration when entering a highway on a ramp or making way across an intersection. The transmission also shifts extremely hard when coming to a stop and then lunges requiring additional braking. This presents a safety issue when crossing an intersection or coming to a sudden stop in stop and go traffic. The vehicle has 10,000 miles was inspected (and reproduced) at the kia dealership where I purchased it, and the service department states that the transmission is working as designed, which I believe since there are numerous complaints about the same issue on line and kia forums. The newest issue (about 2 months old) is that there is a whining noise that appears to be coming from the transmission during acceleration until the transmission shifts into another gear. There are no warning lamps - the issue has been occurring since purchased in may 2021. It appears that this issue is with the dual clutch 2. 5 turbo models across the kia line.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 12, 2021
StateMD
Description
When coming to a parking lot stop the vehicle skips or jumps and it can be felt on the floor board. I took it to get inspected at a kia dealer who was able to identify the problem being my transmission and not the brakes. He informed me that kia considers this a “normal condition” and that there was nothing they could do about it. This is extremely alarming and concerning that kia is not concerned about transmission issues in their brands. There are no warning lights that come on. I feel unsafe driving this vehicle in fear of the transmission tearing up completely or running into the back of another vehicle or object. I drive on a busy interstate everyday for work and driving this vehicle in this condition is not safe in my opinion.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 06, 2021
StateDE
Description
I was driving to work on I-95 when a message appeared on the dash to “stop safely immediately”. Less than a minute later, I lost the ability to accelerate and the vehicle was losing speed. I pulled over to the shoulder. Vehicle was towed to the dealer. They were unable to pinpoint the issue and stated the entire transmission needs to be replaced.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 20, 2021
StateDE
Description
My 9 month old (9000+ miles) car went completely into neutral while driving without any warning. The speed dropped quickly, and I was very closed to get hit by the car behind. I carefully stopped and turned off the car at a curbside, and it went back to normal when restarted. However, the next day I started the car like normal and found it wouldn't move either forward or reverse with the check engine light on. The car was then towed to the dealership for inspection, and they were able to reproduce the problem. I was told the entire transmission needs to be replaced. The same terrifying experience is seen from multiple internet forums for the same new kia sorrento 2021.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2021
StateWA
Description
Car has 2500 miles and engine is revving funny, cruise control was working fine but all of a sudden started noises like downshift problems and lost power for cruise control; mph light flashed it has the 8 speed transmission it says. Please look into this as I paid a lot of money for this car to have it acting up already. I do not trust dealership to tell me the truth. Thank you.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 07, 2021
StateIL
Description
The suv had a whistling noise then started leaking transmission fluid. I brought it in and the master tech said the whole transmission needed to be replaced. This is a new vehicle which only 5000 miles on it .
CategoryEngine
DateOct 06, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the engine was vibrating abnormally. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer set an appointment however, the vehicle had not yet been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 500. Consumer would like to withdrawal the complaint.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 06, 2021
StateOH
Description
Power train operation is erratic and unpredictable. I have have experienced the same problems of other reports (loss of power when turning, jerking/rough shifts, cruise control issues) with the addition of this: when stopping the vehicle in a smooth controlled fashion, it suddenly has a boost of acceleration at 1-2 mph which requires extra brake pedal pressure to keep from impacting the car ahead.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 06, 2021
StateNC
Description
Transmission failed at 3200 miles leaving my family stranded. Car was completely disabled abruptly. Luckily I was able to find people to push my car to a safe location until my tow arrived. This was very scary given the fact I had my three children inside.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 03, 2021
StateNC
Description
The transmission is failing after only 6000 miles. The vehicle suddenly and without warning will stop functioning, this happens while driving. The vehicle comes out of drive gear while still running and leaves driver with no ability to move out of traffic. This has happened numerous times over the last few weeks. After researching online it became evident that this is a common problem with the 2021 kia sorento. Many consumers complaining of the same thing. My wife was almost rear ended saturday when the vehicle jumped out of gear and she was unable to get it out of traffic. These vehicles pose a very high risk and probability of causing accidents.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 26, 2021
StateOH
Description
In traffic at a stop either needing to make a turn or just accelerate forward, when passing over an uneven surface (pothole, sidewalk curb from exiting a business), the accelerator does not respond to the pressure being applied and the vehicle barely moves even with pedal nearly to the floor (like crawls 1-2mph), the traction control light blinks, to get across the intersection or junction and then it suddenly performs as if nothing happened. This is very dangerous as the vehicle is almost practically stalled and all you can see is oncoming traffic approaching. It is very hard to replicate but occurs at the most unfortunate times. The vehicle was just at its' first service appointment where I escalated the issue to the service department. They claimed they could not replicate, but they knew what I was describing and said there was nothing they could do. I also asked if they could ride with me so I can try to replicate it, but they declined. However; this is a safety concern.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 06, 2021
StateVA
Description
Engine stall while sitting in red light twice in one month. I had to put vehicle in park and restart the vehicle to get the vehicle moving.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 05, 2021
StateOR
Description
I am having trouble with traction control on my 2021 sx xline... When turning it comes on suddenly resulting in power loss and no ability to accelerate. This has happened four times since purchasing the vehicle. I nearly got hit when it happened twice last night trying to get home. It is dry here - no water or rain. The vehicle was in smart mode, has awd and the traction control lights flickered on and off on and off right before the problem happens.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateAug 03, 2021
StateCA
Description
The transmission failed entirely after 3,738 miles, disabling the car. Fortunately, the vehicle was parked when the transmission failed. Loss of power while actively driving could result in serious risk, crashes or death. Upon completion of repairs, kia van nuys self-reported to me that at least 4-5 2021 kia sorrento were currently in for repair with the same issue of transmission failure after only 3,000 - 4,000 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 02, 2021
StateTX
Description
Rough idle when waiting on intersection due to red light. Possible knocking sounds each and every time engine turns off due to stop & go feature or when I turn the key off. It's been happening since middle of march..
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 29, 2021
StateFL
Description
On monday 7/26/2021 I heard a popping sound and discovered that the windshield of my 2021 kia sorento sx sustained an approximate 2–3 inch starburst sized crack that proceeded to spread overnight while parked in the garage. The crack increased to about 6 inches long. The crack is topmost more on the driver's side, initiating a pinpoint exactly on the edge of the middle black patterned grid directly to the left of the rear view mirror mounting. While inspecting the crack this morning , running my fingers along the damage glass both inside and out, I could not feel any divots. The glass to the touch was as smooth as silk. I am concerned about the possibility of a factory defect due to the recall of 2019 kia telluride windshields. This car is only 6 months old.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJul 23, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, the contact noticed that the exhaust started to leak. The contact also stated that the engine was overheating. The contact stated that there was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but was not yet diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was relating the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 21v519000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,911.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateJul 02, 2021
StateME
Description
Kia's manual gives instructions on two different ways (having two is a bit odd) to disengage their adaptive cruise control (kia's name for it is smart cruise control). Neither works. It is not possible to disengage scc and use regular cruise control. This has been brought to the attention of the dealer from where the car was purchased (who has been working with us non-stop) as well as by me to kia via their website. The dealer's service department has inspected it and cannot find a way to disengage the scc. (other safety features built into the car can be turned off). Kia is balking at finding a fix. I cannot use cruise control in this car without also accepting the scc feature. I find it dangerous unless it is what I want engaged. I prefer to be in control of my vehicle and do not want the car adjusting my speed for me. If I'm approaching a vehicle and signal to pass, but first get to close to the vehicle I wish to pass according to the vehicle's software, the car slows down as I move into a passing lane. Even if I have plenty of room for someone who may already be in that lane, my vehicle slowing down until the camera and software determine it's 'safe' again poses a problem. I can give other examples, but am sure you get the idea. Suffice to say, other brands of vehicles have a way to disengage adaptive cruise control features. Kia's manual states it can be disengaged, but as stated, those directions do not work. Kia needs to make this right. Since I need to give a date next, please realize this has been ongoing since our purchase on april 30, 2021.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 09, 2021
StateAZ
Description
On wednesday june 2, 2021 around 12:15pm I was leaving a teacher summer workshop and I started the car as usual, no issues, and proceeded to leave the parking lot to make a right turn onto the street. I was about a mile away from home. As I proceeded to hit the gas the car moved forward into the street then failed to shift into the next gear, which left me stranded with traffic quickly coming up behind me. I turned the wheel really hard to get as close to the curb as possible. I proceeded to press the gas pedal all the way to the floor and nothing happened except high rpms around 3-4k. I looked at the dash to see if there were any warning lights, at the same time I am pressing the gas pedal trying to get the car to move forward. It suddenly moved forward so I merged over to the left lane, with traffic coming up behind me, and it happened again. It failed to shift into the next gear and seemed to be stuck. I am moving forward about 1-2 mph. I stop in traffic and within 15 seconds it caught second gear and moved forward and I was able to make it to the middle lane. The sorento started to act normal, shifting gears and moving forward, so I proceeded towards the light to make a left-hand turn. I waited until all the oncoming traffic passed by to make my left-hand turn, then I hit the accelerator and it lurched forward and wouldn't shift into the next gear, it just continued to rev to 4k. I'm coasting along at about 1-2mph trying to get through the intersection so I don't get hit by another car. I move the shifter into a different gear to see if it would catch and it didn't. I continue pressing the gas pedal and it all of a sudden lurched forward and started acting like normal. I was about a half mile from home at this point. The car acted like normal and I was watching the dash to see if any warning lights were illuminated, no lights every appeared on the dash. Dealer can't replicate issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 07, 2021
StateGA
Description
Purchased vehicle new on 4/7/21 had an issue on 4/15/21(nhtsa claim# 11408325) - sons kia advised that it was just a loose battery terminal cable. Pleaded with them to replace cable for possible short to no avail. On 6/6/21 - the car wouldnt open with key or uvo application - called kia roadside assistance twice and couldnt get anyone. After a couple of hours, the car finally had power and let me in. While driving home, on the interstate, I was going 60 mph. I tried to speed up, but the car wouldnt let me and the rpm stayed at 2(2000). When I got off the exit, I slowed down to turn. When I went to push gas, it didnt want to accelerate. It finally accelerated after a couple tries. Additionally, I noticed when speeding up and slowing down - I hear clicks when the gears change. I dropped the automobile off at calavan kia in lithia springs, ga. Waiting on a service advisor to call.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Exterior Lighting
DateApr 15, 2021
StateGA
Description
Only had car 8 days with 500 miles. Went to pull away from stop sign and car cut off. When attempted to restart, car advised to place in park first. Once placed in park and pressed start button - all systems went dead. Sparks came from grounding cable under hood. When grounding cable was adjusted, car started turning on and off randomly. After waiting two hours for tow truck, was able to adjust ground cables well enough to drive home. Subsenquently, car was towed to dealership.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 25, 2021
StateMD
Description
I've had vehicle for approximately two months and two days. Intermittent issue where vehicle fails to accelerate when making a turn after stopping (no vehicle in front) or accelerating forward after a stop (stop light with vehicle in front). Issue occurred first on 20 feb 21 and again on 23 mar 23. Vehicle was purchased 23 jan 21. Issue so far appears to occur monthly around the same time of the month. Issue not easy to replicate. Concerned that issue could cause an accident as vehicle literally accelerates about 1-2mph and when out of "danger zone" acceleration picks up. Very scary. Refer to this forum thread - it appears a couple other people may be having a similar issue. Https://www. Kia-forums. Com/threads/sporadic-issue-no-acceleration-from-stop. 350565/
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 19, 2021
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 kia sorento. The contact stated that upon parking his vehicle in a parking lot, the forward collision avoidance warning activated without another vehicle being in the vicinity. Upon inspection, the contact discovered that the forward collision avoidance sensor had detached from the front driver's side bumper and rested on the bumper by the connecting wires. The contact then took the vehicle to courtesy kia of brandon (9205 e adamo dr, tampa, fl 33619) where they confirmed the failure and informed him that a new bumper had to be ordered to fix the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide any assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 500.*dt*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 06, 2021
StateFL
Description
Had car for 5 days and windshield is cracked on passenger side no indication of anything hitting windshield. Didn't notice tell after being home and showing friends the new car

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
3 COMMENTS
  • Lucio

    My 2021 kia Sorento premium SX is doing the same we press the button and sputters and shuts off n now while on drive siting every time we stop at a red light or stop sign it gives this hard pull from the transmission.. what do I need to do or who do I need to contact about this issues that this care is having

  • Cesar

    Pros are the digital gauges look awesome but unfortunately it’s true. CONS- The leather seats are hard and not so comfortable for long distances, but wait that’s not the worst part. I’ve owed my 2021 Kia Sorento X-Line for about a year now and for about two months been having startup issues. We press the start button to a putter then shuts off. It has happened more often than not. It’s now at the local Kia dealer awaiting next steps. The techs have it sitting outside awaiting engineering consultation. I was told by my consultant they hope to hear from engineering soon to continue their efforts to find the cause of the problem. It’s been ten days now since I dropped it off. I’m driving a rental in the meantime.

  • melvin w

    waited 3 months for a turbo to be replaced on a new 2021 turbo………..had vehicle for only 7 months before turbo went out

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.