2022 Volkswagen Tiguan Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, engine, and powertrain issues are among the top complaints from vehicle owners received by the NHTSA

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Are you experiencing Acceleration/Shifting Hesitation? Read our Tiguan Acceleration Problems Class Action Investigation.

There’s been a lot of hype about the 2022 Volkswagen Tiguan. As a family-friendly SUV, it’s expected to provide the space and features today’s consumers want. The Tiguan is VW’s best-seller and the 2022 model is labeled as being “Sleek. Strong. Smart.” Yet, complaints are stacking up about the defective electrical system, and problems relating to a faulty powertrain, and engine that lead to major acceleration issues.

Click on other model years to view more problems: 2017    2018    2019    2020    2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Volkswagen pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Volkswagen Tiguan

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
11
Power Train
9
Engine
9
Fuel/propulsion System
7
Unknown Or Other
5
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
3
Visibility/wiper
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Back Over Prevention: Warnings
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 VW Tiguan

Between December 1, 2021, and November 17, 2022, 32 consumers complained to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about problems they were experiencing with the 2022 Volkswagen Tiguan. These relate to more than 12 components and systems they have found to malfunction or cause issues, some highlighting major safety issues.

While many complaints mention more than one component or system, in terms of numbers, the electrical system is the biggest bugbear, with 9 complaints. Problems relate to various issues including the infotainment system, the dashboard light failing, and the rearview camera failing to operate.

Engine complaints aren’t far behind, with a current total of 8 and the powertrain with 7. All but one of the engine-related complaints highlight acceleration issues as a major concern. Two describe how the car suddenly shuts off and then struggles to start again. Similarly, all 7 of the complaints filed as powertrain issues relate to acceleration failure.

Other reasons for complaints involve the windshield randomly cracking and the sunroof exploding without any form of impact.

Problems with the Electrical System

Of the 9 complaints filed in the NHTSA’s Electrical System category, 6 mention problems with the Tiguan’s modular infotainment system, the Modularer Infotainment Baukasten (MIB). There are 2 additional complaints filed under Unknown or Other and Exterior Lighting and Back Over Prevention. Despite (or maybe because of) innovative upgrades, the system is causing major headaches for owners. Several of the complaints also highlight a breakdown of the backup camera display.

There is a recall for cars with a rearview camera that does not display an image. Filed with the NHTSA by VW under Back Over Prevention and Equipment, it states that the failure reduces the driver’s rear view, increasing the risk of a crash. More than 43,000 Volkswagens from 8 models, including the 2021-2022 Tiguan, are affected.

The cause, the recall published on July 20, 2022, states is the manufacturing process of the eMMC memory module in the infotainment system. It also points out that this is a serious safety issue because vehicles with this problem don’t comply with the requirements of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Stand no. 111, Rear Visibility.

What Do Owners Say About Their Infotainment System Problems?

An owner from Washington states that the instrument cluster and infotainment display were blacked out during the day from start-up and for the duration of a two-hour drive. The backup camera display was also black. Restarting and turning the lights on and off had no effect on the dash display. “Brightness of the display is controlled through the infotainment display which was not visible.” After a 20-minute shutdown and restart, the display was normal again. But the condition keeps recurring.

Similarly, an owner from Pennsylvania states that the “Infotainment system fails to start or reboots randomly rendering the rear camera not functional.” Even though this happened more than two months before the official recall, the complaint reports that the VW dealership “identified the problem as the bad computer module.” But they were unable to do the repair because the part needed was not available.

The main problem, the complaint states, “is the lack of (the) rear camera when the infotainment screen is not working, which is a really crucial safety feature when backing out of spaces and parking.”

An owner from New Jersey also experiences the rear camera failing. “The infotainment system does not turn on on most occasions even after trying to reset it by long pressing the power button. Sometimes it takes about 15 minutes or so for the infotainment system to turn on. There is no way one can see the rear of the car without the rear camera feed on the infotainment screen. This is a serious safety issue. This problem has persisted even after the over the air software update. Also, this issue seems to be a widespread issue with multiple people complaining about this on many online forums.”

Powertrain & Engine Problems

There are a total 15 powertrain and engine complaints. Of these, 11 highlight an acceleration problem. There is another complaint filed in the Unknown or Other category, bringing the total of acceleration-related complaints to 12. Many of these state that the problem is most severe when they start their SUVs first thing in the morning.

An owner from Maryland describes how his wife experienced a lack of acceleration. Interestingly, it seems that this problem may be related to the infotainment issues described in the previous section. “During this drive, my wife reached a red light and came to a stop. When the light turned green and my wife attempted to accelerate, the acceleration was no longer working. There were several vehicles behind her that were stopped waiting for her to move. She had to turn the vehicle off and on again before it would work. At this point the infotainment and audio started working again too.”

An owner from Florida describes the acceleration problem as “an accident waiting to happen.” When the Tiguan was new, the owner reported the problem to a salesperson at the dealership the vehicle came from. “I was told the acceleration issue would work itself out because of low fuel and air (that) was in the fuel line.” When he took the car in for a service check with less than 350 miles on the clock, he was told “the issue can’t be duplicated.” The second service appointment for the same issue was about 1,100 miles later. By now, the acceleration issue was more severe.

The complaint describes how the SUV suddenly becomes unresponsive when making a left acceleration or when right-coasting into the turn. “Then you try to accelerate and the gas pedal goes down and nothing happens. Then, suddenly, the turbo kicks and takes off and it’s a very frightening and dangerous situation.”

Cracking Windshields and Exploding Sunroof s

The visibility of a vehicle has more to do with all of the auto glass than simply the ability to see out the windshield. With the Tiguan, exploding and cracking auto glass can sometimes be more of the problem.

There are 3 complaints about windshields cracking and 2 that state their sunroofs exploded.

Windshields that Crack

Cracking windshields seems to be a greater problem than the number of NHTSA complaints indicate. All three complaints state that they’ve been told there is a shortage of windshield glass.

An owner from Illinois states that the windshield cracked without impact when the SUV was stationary. This is certainly not an isolated incident as the complaint points out. “Glass is unavailable to replace due to demand as (the) dealer states (that) this model is having multiple failures of windshield.”

An owner from California was told that the windshield that cracked randomly “is on national backorder indefinitely and they cannot provide a replacement part at this time.” The problem is that the crack is about 3½ feet long and it takes up about 85% of the windshield. “It really affects my visibility as it makes the lines on the road appear in two different places on either side of the crack.” And, he states, “it is illegal to drive with a cracked windshield, especially one that is as cracked as mine.”

One of the complaints states that their windshield crack was caused by a rock. The owner tried to fix it with a repair kit but was told a new windshield was the only solution. “I was informed it will take at least 8 weeks for them to get one with a cost of $1,200. It’s unacceptable to drive around with a cracked windshield for more than two months due to lack of this safety part.”

Sunroofs that Explode

A 2022 Volkswagen Tiguan owner from Los Angeles describes how he thought he’d been shot at when the panoramic sunroof exploded. “I don’t know how else to describe it. I was on my way to work, about to get on the interstate, and all of a sudden I heard this loud “pow” sound. My immediate thought was that I had been shot at.” The sunroof was completely shattered and the driver had “glass shards in my hair and all over my arms and back, causing small cuts on me.”

Not only did the dealer refuse to provide a loaner or pay for a rental car, but five days later, called to say the owner would have to use his personal auto insurance to claim.

Another complaint, this time from an owner in California, states that while driving at approximately 70 mph “the sunroof exploded without impact.” Shattered glass fell inside the cabin of the vehicle, which only had about 624 miles on the clock.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

If you think you have a lemon, you don’t have to stick with it. Instead, you can sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. After all, the law makes Volkswagen pay legal fees.

Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you. All you have to do for us to assess your case for you is call our Helpline or fill in a contact form. You’ve got nothing to lose.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateJan 30, 2023
StateSC
Description
While driving the vehicle, frequent faults stating "travel assist is currently not available" display on the instrument cluster, along with a warning light. During this time, the travel assist features can not be used. The error occurs randomly, and can happen multiple times back to back - it is not uncommon for the car's warning sound to alarm 10 or more times in a 20 minute drive. Scans of the vehicles's modules show multiple communication errors stemming back to the "control module for steering wheel touch detention". After taking the car to the dealership for an official diagnosis, it was determined that the steering wheel is indeed faulty and must be replaced. The car had just under 6000 miles prior to being brought to the dealership for diagnosis.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 25, 2023
StateWA
Description
Acceleration and shifting at low speeds (below 25mph) is unpredictable. The car will hesitate and then lurch forward in an unpredictable way when reversing up a slope and when starting from a stop, particularly on a hill. The unpredictable nature of the issue, and the tendency of the vehicle to lag and then surge creates a significant safety concern. We took the car to the vw dealer we purchased it from for service. They confirmed there is a problem, and said they have received other complaints. They reset some settings, this did not correct the problem. Since then we have experienced a clunking noise sometimes when the car is shifting gears at low speeds.
CategoryWheels
DateJan 16, 2023
StateOH
Description
Tire pressure sensor seems to consistently read low tire pressure every month or so, adjust tire pressures and problem keeps happening. A month ago, I had a tire explode and I'm not sure if it was related to a faulty tire or from my improper tire gauge constantly giving me troubles. Bought the car in september 2022, and have replaced 2 pirelli tires since. Now again my tire pressure is reading low in all my tires and the last time they fixed it was 12/23/22, hasn't even been a month. I see they have had recalls on prior vehicles due to tire pressure loss detection issues. I have 4000 miles on my car.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 06, 2023
StateGA
Description
Our new vehicle has intermittent acceleration hesitation issues since the day it was delivered to us at the end of august 2022. •we purchased the vehicle on 8/26/2022 •went into service at the dealership on 10/5/2022 for “sluggish acceleration” issues (3-5 days) •went back into service on 10/31/2022 for “sluggish acceleration” issues (37 days) •went back into service for “sluggish acceleration” issues as of 12/20/2022 (21 days & counting) •out of the 120 days of ownership, our new vehicle has been in service for sluggish acceleration issues 53% of the time to date, the vw dealership's service center has been unable to reproduce the sluggish acceleration issues; however, it definitely occurs when we drive it - and it is a safety concern.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 04, 2023
StateMA
Description
Infotainment system fails to come on when car is first started. Depending on the outside temperature, it can take 30+ minutes for the system to start. The lower the temperature, the longer it takes. This means that when the car is used for local errands, the system might never come on in cold weather. Therefore there is no backup camera available for maneuvering in a car that has poor rear visability. The dealer, (tracey volkswagon, hyannis, ma) took it for a day and said it worked fine for them. The day they had it was not cold.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 29, 2022
StateTX
Description
When I leave somewhere it will “stall” very noticeably when giving it gas, to the point it won't accelerate and feels like it's not getting fuel for a second or two. It typically does it once and then drives normally. This happens almost daily and has done this since the car was bought new a few months ago. I have experienced this when pulling into traffic and the car not accelerating to get me up to a safe speed. It has not been inspected by a dealer at this time but several other owners of 2022 tiguans are reporting the same issue. No warning lights are on or come on when the vehicle does this
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
Driver fell asleep and vehicle want off the road into a ditch that led to a stone wall protecting a culvert. Vehicle hit the stone wall and was launched into the air across the driveway where it came to a rest on its right side. I estimate that the vehicle left the highway at 45 mph (the cruise control setting) and hit the stone wall at approximately 25-30 mph. During this violent event all airbags deployed except driver's airbag located in the center of the steering wheel. I have a severely bruised and very painful sternum as a result. All systems were normal with no indication of a safety system fault.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 30, 2022
StateMN
Description
During stops the start/stop system has failed to re-engage. This has resulted in the driver having to shift the vehicle into park and re-start the engine while in traffic. Obviously being stalled in traffic elevates the risk of being rear-ended
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 17, 2022
StateFL
Description
I purchased a vw 2022 tiguan I reported the acceleration issue to the sales person at norm reeves vw englewood fl. And I was told the acceleration issue would work it self out because of low fuel and air was in the fuel line. I brought the car in for a service check with under 350 mile on the vehicle. I was told the issue can't be duplicated. And nothing was wrong with the car. The second service appointment for the same issue was approx 1100 miles later now the acceleration issue was more severe. The car now sometimes goes non responsive when making a turn left or right coasting into the turn and then you try to accelerate and the gas pedal does down and nothing happens then suddenly the turbo kicks and takes off and it's a very frightening and dangerous situation . This issue is an accident waiting to happen.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 30, 2022
StateIL
Description
Windshield cracked while stationary no impact. Glass is unavailable to replace due to demand as dealer states this model is having multiple failures of windshield.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Exterior Lighting
DateOct 22, 2022
StateWA
Description
Instrument cluster and infotainment display were blacked out in day time from start up and for duration of drive aproximate 2 hours. Restarting had no effect, turning lights on and off had no effect on dash display. Brightness of display is controlled through infotainment display which was not visible. After 20 minute shutdown and restart display was normal again. Checking display brightness setting, it was normal. I reset it to very high. 1 hr later while driving display dimmed and brightened repeatedly over 5 minute duration, then went dark again for duration of drive, but due to reset of brightness I could dimmly see speedometer reading. Perhaps if I had a blanket to cover display when it first started it may have been visible but just extremely dim. During this condition backup camera display also black.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 23, 2022
StateID
Description
I recently purchased my 2022 vw tiguan new and have a problem with it having a bad hesitation at acceleration. This happens every time at a cold start, as well as at a warm start if it it sat for a few minutes after turning off. It has a terrible lag and bucking, at which point I have to accelerate hard to get it to go forward. This is a brand new car so should not be having these issues. I had our vw service department look at it in twin falls idaho and was told they couldn't find anything.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I've had this car for 2 months. It's brand new. On 4 separate occasions in 2 days, I reached a red light and came to a stop. When the light turned green and I attempted to accelerate, the acceleration was no longer working. There were several vehicles behind me each time this happened and they were stopped waiting for me to move. I had to turn the vehicle off and on again before it would work. Also right before this happened the infotainment system was blacking out.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 18, 2022
StateCT
Description
Especially when the car is first started in the morning, the car will hesitate when pressing the gas pedal. It has happened when pulling into traffic, causing me to over accelarate to make up for the hesitation. Took to dealer and tech confirmed my observations but noted there are no error codes on the transmission.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateSep 16, 2022
StateOH
Description
I took possession of this vehicle on 7/08/2022 and have had multiple problems with the infotainment ctr, cruise control, homelink, wireless charging pad, etc. However the most serious problem occurred on 08/27 when while sitting at a stop light on a downward hill ( I was the front car with a line of vehicles behind me ) while attempting a left turn I accelerated to realize that the car had turned off and I was coasting into the middle of a busy intersection with no way to stop as cars behind me were attempting to turn left also. I attempted to coast off the side of road and out of the intersection as cars were flying around my vehicle, honking their horns and trying to avoid a collision with me. I had a passenger in the car, we were both terrified. The car was still in drive and a warning message appeared that the vehicle must be manually restarted. The cross traffic started to drive through the intersection as I now had put the vehicle in park and restart and get the car out of the intersection and into a safe place. The day prior ( 08/26 ) the car had also shut down on me as I was pulled off the side of the road and attempted a left turn into a driveway ( while working on my job ). I went directly to my dealership and was told they would get me an appt the following week, however the same problem occurred the next day ( 08/27 ) which almost resulted in a crash. I was told by the dealership that it is a start/stop issue, that vw is aware of the problem however there is no fix at this time. I no longer feel safe driving this car. The problem has been reported to vw and a case has been opened. The dealership has had my car for 27 days as of today. They state that they have not been able to duplicate the issue.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateSep 14, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Vehicle regularly, stutters or hesitates strongly upon cold start. Throttle response under light to moderate acceleration results in hesitation or bucking. Situation starts to disappear after warm up. Always after sitting for extended periods of time or upon first started the day.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 13, 2022
StateIL
Description
I want to make you aware of a situation that I experienced with my daughters new 2022 tiguan vin [xxx]. We were driving in very windy conditions with light rain. I lost temporary control of the vehicle. There did not seem to be enough water for hydroplaning although that's what it felt like. This suv was very difficult to regain control of despite only going 60 mph when the loss of control occurred. I am an experienced driver that spent most of my career in sales. I drive a lot in the worst of conditions and traffic. I could barley keep this vehicle on the road. That night on the news we saw a report of a meteorologist student that was killed due to an accident caused by hydroplaning. Guess what type of vehicle, vw tiguan. Not feeling it was a safe vehicle for our daughter to continue to drive, we traded it in. We received a recall notice from vw. A broken rear suspension knuckle can cause a loss of stability, increasing the risk of a crash. This could very well be what occurred. Or possibly the auto braking system kicked in without cause. The torch during braking was strong enough to make everyone in the car sore for a few days. Thankfully we did not hit any other vehicles on the road around us. We went back to the vw dealership where we purchased the vehicle from to trade in or sell back the vehicle. We suffered a great financial loss for trading in this new vehicle to subaru. Well worth it for to protect the safety of our daughter. The issues with the tiguan's' needs to be looked into closely because on a busy highway at 60mph if my daughter would have been driving the outcome I believe would have been much worse. Very scary! Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 12, 2022
StateCA
Description
The windshield on my 2022 tiguan randomly cracked one day with no points of impact along the crackit's about three and a half feet long it takes up about 85% of the windshield. It really affects my visibility as it makes the lines on the road appear in two different places on either side of the crack. After contacting insurance and getting an appointment to get the glass replaced I was told by several windshield repair shops including safelite and the vw dealership that the part is on national back order indefinitely and they cannot provide a replacement part at this time. I am not the only one this has happened to I will provide links to other accounts of the same thing happening on the same car. Https://globalnews. Ca/news/9061769/alberta-volkswagen-driver-unsafe-vehicle/ https://www. Mytiguan. Com/threads/cracked-windshield-frustration. 54677/ the car is not safe to drive due to the lack of visibility on the road as well as the compromise structural integrity in case of a front-end collision. I have contacted volkswagen of america with no success as they have told me to wait for the part there's nothing they can do. I live in california and it is illegal to drive with a cracked windshield especially one that is as cracked as mine. I feel as though I'm paying high payments for a vehicle I cannot drive and feel as if I have been robbed. Please help.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateSep 09, 2022
StatePA
Description
When cold, after putting in drive, vehicle will feel like it stalls suddenly then "catches up" and very quickly accelerates. This only happens when the engine is cold and has been sitting for 6-8 hours or more. Concerned about pulling in to traffic especially in the mornings as I live on a busy road.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 07, 2022
StateNH
Description
When we drive the car the excelarator pedal does respond to moving the vehicle when in heavy traffic and starting off the response is slow the the vehicle jumps forward this has happened since we bought it please let's not have another toyota tps problem with many people ding before anyone says something.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateAug 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
After a cold start the car stutters and jerks on start up. The engine rattles and it kangaroos on acceleration while the revs fluctuate between 1000 - 1500 rpm but the car drives as if it were in limp mode causing it not to accelerate. This is a huge safety issue when you are trying to pull out onto a main street which causes others to break to avoid an accident. I've taken it into three different volkswagen dealerships a total of 8 times but due to the car not having a dashboard light on or an error code they immediately told me the car was fine and there's nothing they can do being they can't replicate the issue. The second issue is when I'm at a stop light or stop sign and upon releasing the brake pedal the car engine doesn't kick back on and restart. It starts rolling backward and I've almost hit people. I get an error message on the dash telling me to manually restart the car. I have to put my foot on the brake put the car into park press the stop-start button to completely turn the car off and then re-press it to turn the engine back on all while sitting at a green light with a row of cars behind me honking. As of recently, the car doesn't have to be at a complete stop to suddenly shut off now it's happening while the car is moving and struggles to start back up.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 21, 2022
StateMI
Description
The car stumbles when cold, it will not accelerate. It does this for the first mile or two. Then it is ok. This has been happening for several months. The dealer says they hooked it up to their computer and can find no faults. It is very scary when trying to pull out into traffic or make a left turn into another street.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 02, 2022
StateNV
Description
Seven months after I purchased this vehicle as new the driver side rear seatbelt buckle is not working which is preventing that passenger to put the seatbelt on, it keeps coming out. I called the local dealership, findley henderson volkwagen, and the earliest appointment is a week from today, which means I can't have anyone sitting there. Any car after seven months shouldn't have this kind of safety problem. Maybe it's a design issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 02, 2022
StateNV
Description
On 07/01/2022 while driving on a highway a rock hit my windshield at one inch from passenger side middle of the windshield which resulted in a star like chip plus a long crack that kept getting longer by the day. Currently that crack is three quarters of the windshield, I tried to fix it by a repair kit without success, took it to safelight auto glass they said it can't be repaired and needed a new windshield which only a dealer can carry since it's the car is a new design for 2022. I called my local dealer, findley henderson volkswagen, I was informed it will take at least 8 weeks for them to get one with a cost of

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,200. It's unacceptable to drive around with a cracked windshield for more than two months due to lack of this safety part.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
The control panel for the sunroof, dome lights etc., suddenly fell down due to a failure of the plastic from the vehicle being parked in the sun. I almost lost control of the vehicle because of the item suddenly falling down and distracting me.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 12, 2022
StateGA
Description
Vehicle jerks and bucks under acceleration when cold started and when moving from a stop light or sign. Hesitates when pulling out like it's attempting to locate a gear and throttle is unresponsive at first, then kicks in suddenly.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJun 19, 2022
StateOH
Description
Frontal collision warning activated on it's own for no reason resulting in a very unsafe condition apart from it being frightening.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
I leased a 2022 volkswagen tiguan from brooklyn volkswagen on may 24, 2022, within 48 hours I experienced a strong vibration upon braking. Most noticeable at speeds higher than 25mph. On may 31, 2022 I returned the car to the brooklyn volkswagen service center for inspection. It had been determined by my service advisor that the brakes and brake pads would need to be replaced and a multi-point inspection was ordered. The most important safety feature was faulty on my brand new car. As of today, june 5, 2022, the work has not been completed on my vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 23, 2022
StatePA
Description
Infotainment system fails to start or reboots randomly rendering the rear camera not functional. Vw dealership identified the problem as the bad computer module and failed to repair it citing part unavailability. Main problem is the lack of rear camera when the infotainment screen is not working which is really a crucial safety feature when backing out of spaces and parking.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 16, 2022
StateWA
Description
- acceleration hesitates from a stop. - if making a left turn or cross traffic turn, when vehicle hesitates it can cause a collision. - have an appointment 5/20/22 (however vw forums have others reporting the same experience.) - no - no this have been an issue since purchase. From 10miles to the now 3200miles.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Back Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System
DateMar 31, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The infotainment system does not turn on on most occasions even after trying to reset it by long pressing the power button. Sometimes it takes about 15 minutes or so for the infotainment system to turn on. There is no way one can see the rear of the car without the rear camera feed on the infotainment screen. This is a serious safety issue. This problem has persisted even after the over the air software update. Also, this issue seems to be a widespread issue with multiple people complaining about this on many online forums.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages
DateMar 28, 2022
StateIL
Description
2022 volkswagen tiguan. Consumer writes in regards to safety concerns with the auto unlock feature on vehicle. The consumer stated all 4 doors on the vehicle unlock when the gear was shifted to park. The consumer stated the feature could be potentially harmful in some situations.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Electrical System
DateMar 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
The component that failed is the "infotainment" system that controls the reverse camera, the hands free phone and other controls such as tire pressure warnings, etc., within the vehicle. The 2022 vehicle had 4000 miles on it and was in our possession for three months. It puts the safety of others at risk because the vehicle is very difficult to see out of manually to reverse and the camera is necessary for this vehicle for safety. This problem has been reported to volkswagen and a case has been opened. The dealer has been notified and we are awaiting the part replacement and it has been over a month since it was reported and it is still not repaired. The day prior to the infotainment system going black we downloaded an update and installed it in our vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateMar 02, 2022
StateIL
Description
Radio rarely has volume. Engine acceleration at breaking. Shifting erratic.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateMar 02, 2022
StateOK
Description
While driving car gives error messages: driver door contact switch, then drivers window and drivers side passengers window rolls down 2 inches. With in a few seconds get error start/stop, and a few seconds later fault: electronic parking brake. When I slowed to a stop the parking break engaged and stopped the vehicle. The only way to move the vehicle is to turn off and restart. Upon restart you can disingage the parking break and move the vehicle from the roadway.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Electrical System
DateJan 31, 2022
StateSD
Description
The infocenter system does not boot and prevents any rear camera or rear alerts to pop up while backing up. System can take 10 minutes to finally boot after starting car and in that time no stereo, backup camera or vehicle monitoring is available. System has been reprogrammed and display unit replaced with no change in symptoms. Dealership verified issues and has been identified on numerous 2022 volkswagen tiguans. Issue has been present since vehicle delivery with at least 3 trips to dealership to resolve issue.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 28, 2022
StateGA
Description
Sudden acceleration issue. Leaving a parking lot at low acceleration my 2022 vw tiguan sel r-line suddenly accelerated. I was able to stomp on the brake pedal to remedy the situation. This happened twice in a 12 hour period. I have not yet taken it to the dealer as this is a rare incident at this time. All seemed like normal operation at the time the issue happened.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 27, 2022
StateLA
Description
I was driving to work and my sunroof/moonroof (panoramic) exploded. The only explanation that sounds remotely logical is spontaneous combustion; I don't know how else to describe it. I was on my way to work, about to get on the interstate and all of a sudden I hear this loud “pow” sound. My immediate though was that I had been shot at. I looked around at my windows, didn't see anything, I looked up and noticed my sunroof was completely shattered with a crack in the middle where it appeared to be buckling upward. I took pictures from my drivers seat before proceeding; I had glass shards in my hair and all over my arms and back, causing small cuts on me. I was technically fine but the glass could've gone in my eyes or larger pieces could have caused major wounds. I called the dealership and was told to drive straight there, so I did. The glass in the middle where it was buckling started to fly off as I was driving. When I got there, they told me they had to obtain authorization before they could touch it. Initially they told me I could wait until the authorization was received. 3 hours later, they said it was going to take longer than expected but I would hear something in 24 hours. They refused to provide me with a loaner or pay for a rental car for me. I called to check the status numerous times and was told “it's still pending.” I received a call five days later telling me that it was denied and I would have to use my personal auto insurance. I attempted to call volkswagen of america and they were extremely rude and basically told me whatever the dealer said goes. I filed a claim with my insurance, she knew exactly what happened just by the description of my sunroof immediately after it happened. This is a huge safety issue that needs to be addressed.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 volkswagen tiguan. The contact stated while driving approximately 70 mph, the sunroof exploded without impact. The contact stated that shattered glass fell inside the cabin of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer but was not yet repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 624.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateDec 01, 2021
StateMD
Description
My wife was driving our new 2022 vw tiguan sel. First incident was yesterday in which there was no audio from the car (radio, phone or otherwise). Second incident today, infotainment screen was blank (black) when put into reverse and no audio. After a little bit of driving the infotainment seemed to reset. During this drive, my wife reached a red light and came to a stop. When the light turned green and my wife attempted to accelerate, the acceleration was no longer working. There were several vehicles behind her that were stopped waiting for her to move. She had to turn the vehicle off and on again before it would work. At this point the infotainment and audio started working again too. I'm reporting this just as I received the information from my wife and will also report to vw. I have not had it inspected by the manufacturer or any other entity yet.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Ruth B

    Since I picked up my 2022 Tiquan Highline I have had multiple issues: (1) the audio system totally cuts out (turning the car off/on at a stop light sometimes brings it back). (2) the most annoying issue is the notification that my “Travel Assist currently not available” with amber triangle icons and with alert rings every few minutes (its like driving without your seatbelt notifications). Service has no solution and tells me for the past 6 months that a system software update is coming that will correct the problem with the infotainment system (3) the start/stop system hesitates when starting (keep that feature turned off). Passengers express concerns with the amount of false notifications and I’m so frustrated that I’m ready to sell off this car!

  • Mishel

    Having similar problems as everyone here. My lower level console where air conditioning controls are keeps turning up and turning down on its own. Lights that indicate airbag use keep turning on and off also. Many times my navigation screen gets stuck as well as the volume when connecting and Disconnecting from a Bluetooth call. Then there’s the stop start system! I’ve had my car completely shut off while exiting the freeway ( going from freeway speed to a lower 25 mph) at that point the car indicates to put in park and restart car. Insane and dangerous in that circumstance with other cars exiting at same speed behind me! Sometimes the car will even turn back on after I’ve shut it down and have exited the vehicle. Lol my car radio will start up again and that’s how I know it restarts.🤦🏽‍♀️ I’ve taken car in to ask if it’s a computer update or what not- but nada. It’s a 2020 tiguan and thank God that I purchased the warranty for the life of my loan, but still so faulty!

  • Terry G

    I have a 2022 Tiguan, That has numerious Radio, Navigation, & electrical problem that started the day I picked the car. I have called the & or written the Service Mgr at Cypress VW in Houston, Left messages with the Customer Service Mgr. (also supposedly the internet sales manager, with no results.
    I then call VW Cutomer Service and spoke to someone who told that a person named Jackie would investigate my complaint and call me back with in 24 hours, it has been 6 days and no response.
    I have been to the dealer 4 times, for the radio problem. the fist time they got me right in & out quickly, the next 3 times it took between 4 to 6 hours.
    The last time when the told me they couldn’t duplicate the problemI went back to the tech explained the problems and he the said he knew about the problem and needed to order a new radio. The radio supposedly has been ordered, but nobody can tell me if the new radio will solve all the problems or if I will still have other electrical problems.
    No response on an eta for the radio.
    VW muist have so many complaints that nobody will respond to any problems.

  • DON G

    HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS with my 2022 Tiquan. Information system sometimes inoperable; audio often not available, but also cruise control shuts off unilaterally but icon indicating operation continues to be lit. VW Customer Service refers me the back to the dealer; Dealer service tried multiple times but can’t find a solution.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.