2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV Top Complaints and Problems – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Build quality, wheels and electrical issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There is an urgent recall on this vehicle. Find out if your Bolt is included in the recall.

Customers looking for a cheap electric car gravitate to the 2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV. The automaker claims it will help owners “go farther than you think.” However, most people that get behind the wheel are wishing to go nowhere instead. This car suffers from a defective electrical system, poorly-made wheels and a shoddy structure.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
38
Fuel/propulsion System
11
Unknown Or Other
8
Vehicle Speed Control
6
Engine
4
Power Train
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Air Bags
3
Lane Departure: Assist
3
Lane Departure: Warning
2

Problems with the Electrical System

With an electric-powered vehicle, the advanced systems must work seamlessly. Yet, the Bolt EV is struggling to meet expectations.

Here is one NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2020 Chevrolet Bolt EV. The contact stated the vehicle was in ‘L’ mode before the vehicle lunged forward into the wall. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but it was unknown if the vehicle was diagnosed or repaired. No further information was available. The failure mileage was 500.”

Additionally, electrical system failures are running rampant within the engine itself. Service Bulletin #19NA220 states that some vehicles require an engine wiring harness replacement because of damage and the lack of propulsion. When everything is relying on a functional electric system, there’s no room for error. Maybe the Bolt should have “gone farther’ to meet these demands.

Problems with the Wheels

The tires are the only part of the car that touches the road surface. With tires or wheels that aren’t performing, safety of the occupants is at risk.

Here is another NHTSA complaint to reference. “Tires don’t self-seal. I immediately advised that this was due to a defect in workmanship of the self-seal tires. I quoted the following paragraph on self-sealing tires from the Micheline OE warranty manual. ‘Michelin tires with the self-seal logo are covered under this warranty. These tires are designed to seal in the event of a puncture, and have specific instructions for repair by tire professionals at Michelin authorized dealers.’ There are two areas where we have a problem. 1.) If the tire fails to steal itself then it is not operating as designed and therefore has a defect in workmanship. 2.) The warranty specifically says they can be ‘repaired’ by a Michelin authorized dealer. I contacted 3 Michelin dealers and all of them said they do not repair self-seal tires. The fourth Michelin dealer was Costco and they told me they could repair it in error. They had never seen a self-seal tire before, never received any training from Michelin on the repair of said tires, and when presented with the product bulletin on how to repair the tires, they still refused to repair it. After a lot of haggling, I was able to get Michelin to agree to pay 50%. I am still waiting on the exact amount of the reimbursement and so this has not been completely resolved as yet. My total out of pocket for 4 new non self-seal tires is $970.01. I could have saved about $40 by not getting the lifetime/rotation/balance/flat repair.”

While there is nothing stated by the company about the issues with the tires or what should be done, there are lots of complaints saying the same thing across the internet. It might be time for Chevy to pay attention to the customers and do something different. With a little diligence, the Bolt might be able to “go farther” on functional wheels and tires.

Problems with the Build Quality

No one expects the Bolt EV to be made from premium, luxury materials. Yet, the vehicle should be built to stay together and supply basic needs.

This KBB review states there might be structure-related troubles. “Floor carpeting is cheap! Had to buy WeatherTech.”

It turns out that Chevy even issued a recall showing how defective the Bolt actually is. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V184000 states that the door-handle cable in the rear doors might have been manufactured to be too long, which can lead to damage. When this cable becomes damaged, the rear door can open unintentionally if the window gets opened. Imagine the horror for rear-seat passengers when the door opens on its own. Apparently, owners can only “go farther” if they are willing to leave the back seat occupants behind. Hopefully, they don’t fall out along the ride.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 21, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Electrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateNov 16, 2022
StateHI
Description
I am filing a complaint against gm. The following info is from the nhsta website. Original recall date: aug 20,2021. Manufacturer recall number n212345940. Nhtsa recall number 21v650. Recall status: recall incomplete, remedy not yet available. I have waited over a year for my replacement battery. Gm has seen an almost 15,000 vehicle surge in bolt ev and euv sales in the most recent financial quarter. And gm has announced increasing new bolt production by almost 400%. However, thousands of existing bolt ev owners are still waiting for replacement batteries. Gm continues to state that parts are not available. Clearly, with the surge in sales and gm's plan to increase bolt production, parts are available. Existing bolt owners have suffered for years with defective batteries that none of us known if or when a battery will catch on fire and kill us or damage property. I urge the nhsta to put pressure on gm to replace defective batteries first before selling cars with nondefective batteries. I would not be complaining if gm was not clearly prioritizing profits over people. Gm is making nondefective batteries but makes existing bolt owners wait over a year for a replacement while gm takes in revenue and generates profit. The defective batteries catch on fire. None of the batteries existing bolt owners should have to wait this long for replacement batteries and suffer with anxiety and stress not knowing when or if their car battery will spontaneously ignite.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
When I was parking my car on the street, in front of my house, my chevy bolt suddenly accelerated. Like it was full throttle. I slammed the brake pedal, didn't help. My bolt pushed forward, then to the sidewalk, my parked 4000lbs van, that was in front of me (van had front wheels turned/pointing to the curb). My bolt continued accelerating for another few seconds, even that I was pressing brake pedal as hard as I could. I released and pressed brake pedal at least once or twice. Eventually my car stopped. Whole ordeal lasted just a few seconds. I turned the car off. After a minute, I turned the car on again, very carefully. It behaved normally. Throttle and brakes behaved like always. I parked it and will have it towed to the diagnostic or service place. Both my chevy bolt and my van (dodge ram 1500 van 2003) sustained significant damage.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 29, 2022
StateWA
Description
I have called the chevy dealer (gilchrist, tacoma, wa) more than 5 times in the past year in addition to the chevy concierge regarding the unrepaired recall for fire risk. I have followed all of the interim charging guidelines yet still have significant fear and anxiety that my house will catch on fire while the car is being charged. In addition, there is compromised range to the vehicle due to the modifications with charging and I incur great expense by being forced to use commercial charging stations for routine long distance trips.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 20, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was made aware of the issue. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 17, 2022
StateVT
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had been notified of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 07, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 04, 2022
StateMI
Description
We took delivery of a chevy bolt from sundance chevrolet in may 2020. Gm recalled our bolt for battery fire safety concerns in august 2021. As instructed, we took the bolt to our local dealer for a temporary safety fix. The software install reduced battery charging to 80%. As a result, our bolt's effective range has been greatly reduced. The car is not operating as promised. This reduced operating condition has continued for more than 13 months. I also read that we may not even receive a replacement battery when gm finally applies the final remedy, if our battery is examined and found not to be defective: https://www. Recurrentauto. Com/research/bolt-recalls-told-through-the-data if true, that means we would have lost at least a year of full range without any compensation. We understand that production of new batteries will take time. But this is too long. Gm has been unable to remedy this problem in a reasonable time. We have a much harder time understanding why gm hasn't examined our bolt's battery to determine if is defective. If it isn't, the software battery charge detune could be removed and we could utilize full charge range again. Seems to us gm could implement a battery examination program immediately. If true, nhtsa should require this immediately. We are extremely dissatisfied with this situation, and are hereby formally notifying nhtsa of our complaint.
CategoryElectrical System, Electrical System
DateOct 04, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
Pushed accelerator to floor. When I took my foot off the accelerator car continued to accelerate at full throttle for about 15 -20 seconds. Uncontrolled acceleration stopped when I pumped the accelerator. Chevrolet dealer found no fault codes due to a problem with the fly by wire. It appears that when the accelerator was pushed all the way down it somehow got caught and held in the full throttle position by the gm rubber floormat even though the floormat was held in place and attached to the carpet by the fasteners that gm supplies. I had the car and mats for about 2 years before this very dangerous event took place. The local gm dealer cut and removed part of the mat by the accelerator to prevent possible mat contact with the accelerator. However, the dealer could not confirm the floor mat was responsible for the incident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 25, 2022
StateNY
Description
Unknown the vehicle suddenly took off after putting it into drive causing it to accelerate out of the driveway and crash into the house across the street. The vehicle was parked on an incline in the driveway. Application of the brakes failed to stop the vehicle.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 14, 2022
StateME
Description
I received recall notices in the fall of 2021 and at that time I did the suggested changes to the vehicle's menu as to charging percentage etc.. I did not get full use out of the vehicle through the winter for fears of lack of charge during the colder months and concerns about safety. On 3/31/22 I took the vehicle to the dealer, central maine motors auto group -waterville maine, for the suggested software updates. At first there might have been an improvement in charge allowed, but difficult to tell because with the warming weather it would show more. On or around 6/15 the car behaved erratically while in stop and go driving and I noticed a warning on the dash which said something about propulsion problems and to take it to a dealer. The charge left did not read correctly on the way home and the vehicle would not charge when I got there. I took it to dealer that monday the 20th with some trepidation for the 50 mile trip not knowing if I had power enough or if was safe to do so. I left the vehicle there and did get a loaner car. Now it is going into the ninth week since then, and besides me calling them to check after 4-5 days I have not heard anything from either the dealer or gm as to updates, timetables or any word at all. This is outrageous on their part and a sad state of affairs if no one in gov't will step in to help with this situation. I know I'm far from being alone in this. Hope you can do something. -
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 26, 2022
StateCO
Description
On august 20, 2021, almost a year ago, my car was recalled and a repair was promised to restore the vehicle to original specifications. This has not occurred to date and all attempts to work with the manufacturer to repair, replace or repurchase this vehicle has been unsuccessful to my satisfaction. I would like the battery and propulsion system replaced to my satisfaction returning the vehicle to factory specifications. It was my understanding that chevy would not start manufacturing back up on new vehicle production until all cars in the recall were repaired. They have not done this.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting:headlights
DateJul 07, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the high-beam headlights activated independently while driving. Additionally, the contact stated that the front driver's side seat heater would engage independently while driving. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The contact veered to the side of the road, turned off, and restarted the vehicle in order to disengage the high-beam headlights and seat heater because the vehicle failed to respond while attempting to disengage the features manually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 07, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated while driving 25 mph, the vehicle shifted into limp mode with several warning messages displayed. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate above 45 mph. The contact initially drove the vehicle back to the residence and attempted to recharge the vehicle however, the vehicle was not charged. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer where it remained in their possession. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 27, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 25, 2022
StateNV
Description
The recall for battery replacement is ridiculous! Gm has a solution of limiting the usage of the vehicle and not giving an inclining of when it will be resolved. The vehicle must be parked outside and the charger unplugged. Now that summer is here the battery air conditioner is using the limited battery percentage giving me even more limitations.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 22, 2022
StateME
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and offered to trade or buy back the vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJun 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
Gm announced a recall for this vehicle for battery fires approximately 10 months ago. The recall involves battery replacement (clearly very expensive). Gm appears to be delaying or intentionally prioritizing batteries to new car applications. The company is not able (or willing) to even forecast a date at which the recall will be performed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 26, 2022
StateOR
Description
My car has been under recall for over a year and gm still does not have a battery pack for it yet they are producing new chevy bolts with the same battery system. Should not the existing customers be taken car of before they sell more cars with the same battery??
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 21, 2022
StateIA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The dealer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 16, 2022
StateMO
Description
Our chevy bolt was purchased in november of 2020 a recall was issued in august of 2021. We purchased this car for the battery size that could give us greater range. We owned a nissan leaf before the bolt. The theoretical range of the bolt made it a better choice over a newer leaf. No real timetable to have the problem resolved.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 06, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received a notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system). The dealer had been notified about the recall; however, the contact was informed that the parts were not yet available. The manufacturer had been notified of the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes
DateJan 31, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50-60 mph and 30 feet from another vehicle, the brake pedal was applied but traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle failed to stop and crashed into the rear of a toyota prius. There were no warning indicator lights illuminated. The vehicle was able to be driven from the scene. There were no reported injuries, fire, or police reports filed. The air bags did not deploy. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateJan 03, 2022
StateIA
Description
Constituent writes requesting information and assistance due to the recall from chevy regarding bolt battery fires on their 2020 chevrolet bolt.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 28, 2021
StateTX
Description
Yesterday, 27 december, the vehicle was presented to capitol chevrolet for service under this recall number 21v650 they did not repair anything. To the contrary, they reset software to gimp the vehicle battery capacity --and hence, range performance--to only 80%. The car is worse now than before they "fixed" it. No date set for actual repair, when already more than 4 months have elapsed. And in the meanwhile, gm continues to collect 100% lease payment on only 80% delivered car. Not acceptable.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 13, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and the contact was in the process of obtaining a buyback. A case was opened. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
I had purchased gm original equipment when I bought my car. They are the factory floor liners that are sold by gm and can be bought at the dealership. The floor liners, for the most part, cover all of the footwell areas of the driver, passenger and rear seating. The following dates are approximate so keep that in mind. In august of 2021, I was attempting to get out of the way of a commercial vehicle that was about the run me off the road. While attempting to do that the accelerator pedal became lodged under the drivers side floor liner and would not release. This caused the acceleration for the car to be at the maximum level, resulting in the car taking off very rapidly. Only after applying the brake at the same time and getting over to the shoulder was I able to shut the car off and dislodge the pedal from the floor liner. Besides being absolutely terrifying it was extremely dangerous. It again happened in october of 2021. It is obvious when you look at the floor liner and it's design. The edge is sticking up just far enough to catch the bottom of the accelerator pedal and becomes very difficult to dislodge, especially when you add in the panic it causes when your car suddenly takes off as fast as it possibly can in traffic. I have contacted gm about getting replacements sent out and they said they are not doing that at the moment. I contacted the dealership where I purchased the liners and they said they were not going to do anything about it.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 01, 2021
StateVA
Description
This recall advises not parking in my garage due to potential fire, it advises not charging to 100% due to likelihood of fire, . By not charging to 100% the car does not operate as intended. The richmond international airport posts a sign saying bolt vehicles may not park in their garage or it will be towed at the owners expense. My windshield has a crack the length of the windshield. Safe lite ordered a chevrolet windshield more than 3 weeks ago and chevrolet has not been able to provide safelite a windshield replacement. What alto dealer builds a car and does not stock replacement parts for obvious failure points! There is a recall on the floor mat sold by chevrolet on the drivers side front. Chevrolet stated that the mat must be removed however parts are not available at this time as replacement. These failures are unacceptable and gm/chevrolet should be mandated to buy back the car from the user immediately!
CategoryAir Bags, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was slowly pulling into a parking lot with my bolt ev 2020, the car accelerated uncontrollably and in a split second had collided into the wall in front of me. A section of the wall had broken and the car was wedged in the broken section of wall. This is how it came to a stop. The acceleration was so sudden and uncontrollable that even slamming my feet against the brakes did not help slow down and avert the accident. It is notable that the air bags did not engage during this accident. This wall adjoined an apartment complex and a commercial property. It was fortunate that nobody was affected expect for damage to property. But the collision could have easily caused damage to lives had there been people on the apartment complex side of property. I also had a minor less 10 years old in my car who could have been potentially affected. On reading online, I came to notice two recalls on the vehicle. One of them about the floor mats and possible acceleration as the one described by me seems related. I was not notified by chevrolet about this recall. I could have removed the floor mats had I known about the additional issue. The only notifications I got were for the battery, for which we have followed the safety pre-cautions prescribed. This incident happened less than 14 hours at the time of writing. A police event has been filled (event 21-34-0195) with the sunnyvale department of public safety. The insurance representatives are yet to inspect the vehicle. There were no warning messages, lamps or other symptoms prior to the failure.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery, Electrical System:propulsion System:traction Battery
DateNov 05, 2021
StateNY
Description
2020 chevrolet bolt. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall related to battery fires.
CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateOct 03, 2021
StateWV
Description
I hit a deer on a back road coming home from work, on impact I heard a loud explosion and smelt burning electronics and the smell of an air bag, the seat belt locked. Then after the initial impact the car then stopped and the emergency alarm went of and many messages were on the screen. Fast forward after everything, I call onstar to make ask a question they answered with I see your air bags deployed are you okay, I responded yes because "they didn't come out" the air bag switch did explosion but the air bag did not deploy.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 29, 2021
StateNY
Description
2020 chevrolet bolt. Consumer writes in regards to fire risk safety recall. The consumer stated the manufacturer was contacted, but had not offered any assistance.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
Battery has a high risk of fire. Gm refuses to initiate buyback according to ca lemon law.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 24, 2021
StateMN
Description
This is a comment on an existing open recall (nhtsa chat said to use this form). Related to the chevy bolt recall 21v650. The latest information from gm at https://media. Gm. Com/media/us/en/gm/home. Detail. Html/content/pages/news/us/en/2021/sep/0920-bolt. Html contains this: "within approximately 60 days, gm will begin launching a new advanced diagnostic software package that will increase the available battery charging parameters over existing guidance. The diagnostic software will be designed to detect specific abnormalities that might indicate a damaged battery in bolt evs and euvs by monitoring the battery performance; alerting customers of any anomalies; and prioritizing damaged battery modules for replacement. It is gm's intent that further diagnostic software will allow customers to return to a 100 percent state of charge once all diagnostic processes are complete." I would ask nhtsa to require gm to publicly describe how they tested and verified that this new software will find 100% of battery packs with faulty cells. For example by building a significant number of battery packs with known faulty cells in different configurations and confirming that all packs with faulty cells were correctly identified. This doesn't require the publication of proprietary information, only a description of the verification procedure and results. A previous software update was supposed to detect faulty packs but it did not work so a more robust test is required this time as they intend to use the information provided by this software to determine which packs to replace. Thank you
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system ) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked their daughter noticed that smoke was emitting from the rear of the vehicle. When the contact came to view the vehicle the smoke had resolved and the vehicle appeared normal. The approximate failure mileage was 6,600. Vin tool confirms parts distribution disconnect. (recall related incident) ts
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2021
StateNY
Description
2020 chevrolet bolt. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall 21v-560. The consumer stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time completing the recall repair. The manufacturer and dealer were made aware.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
I received a recall notification regaring our 2020 chevy bolt which was purchased only six months ago. Not only is chevy not providing any indcation as to when our car will have its battery replaced (the dealer suggests it could have six months or longer), their proposed interim fixes are completely unacceptable and unworkable. If we cannot charge the car more than 90% and if we cannot go below 70 miles, the effective range has been reduced by roughtly 50% or about 100 miles which frustrates the entire reason we purchased this car (we commute approximatel 120 miles round trip each day). They are not offering to provide a rental or substitute car nor are they offering to take the car back and I'm now stuck with a poorly made hunk of metal and lithium with no idea when we will be able to use the car again.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 20, 2021
StateNH
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted, and it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateSep 20, 2021
StateNY
Description
National recall for potential battery fire that gm has known about for a while in their older chevy bolt electric cars and now the problem has spread to their newer models. Gm has placed restrictions on these cars for charging the battery and driving the car that it makes the vehicle unsafe to drive or even park near other vehicles or structures do to the potential of fire that could result in severe property damage, severe injury or even death.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact stated that while charging, the vehicle made an abnormally loud sound. The vehicle became very hot. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v650000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who stated that parts were not yet available. The dealer informed the contact about additional testing. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but, no further assistance was provided. The contact was concerned about driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was 36,000. The contact requested the manufacturer to buy back vehicle. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 19, 2021
StateVA
Description
The batteries that power my vehicle. The risk to me is spontaneous fire which could kill me and my passengers, burn my house down or cause me to have a car accident. The dealer identified the problem but does not have the parts to correct the problem and the dealer has no idea when they will be able to correct the problem. The only solution in the interim is to park the car away from everything and everyone and wait for the fire to initiate. The vehicle has been inspected by the dealer. I want the dealer to reimburse me for the vehicle so that I don't have to constantly live in fear and risk death.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 17, 2021
StateMO
Description
Vehicle has a known fire hazard. Vehicle is unsafe to be operated in the way it was intended(and as sold to me). Limitations on charging make the vehicle unusable. Only way to make the vehicle usable, makes it a fire hazard. No remedy is available, which means the car is unusable with no end in sight. Unacceptable for a new vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 09, 2021
StateTX
Description
Currently, my 2020 bolt has been recalled due to fire hazards. I contacted the local gm dealership north park chevrolet (castroville tx) and was informed that there is no clarity on the exact part that needed to be replaced in order to make my vehicle safe. I later contacted gm [sr:9-6936321672], in order in inquiring when parts will be parts will be made available for replacement still tbd and no part numbers were provided. I informed gm that even when charging to the recommended 90% that my car gets very hot and makes a loud noise while plugged into the charger, but I was informed that there they are currently still working on a solution. It is unacceptable for an auto manufacturer to sell a vehicle this is a fire hazard is at a higher risk due to the warning signs that gm has ignored.
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Assist
DateSep 02, 2021
StateNM
Description
No fix available for vehicle next other recall part backorder
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2021
StateCA
Description
Recently going from cali to az and back I had 7 check engine lights while charging but onstar said nothing is wrong. Also it happened while running at still while running the ac. This is very dangerous and I refuse to drive my bolt and will payout of pocket for a rental and seek reimbursement. Anyways ive been trying to send these videos to engineering/you. Here is 4 videos electrify america check engine https://youtube. Com/shorts/15j8qhnrprc? Feature=share evgo with onstar. In california evgo https://youtu. Be/yh_3m5jmiam electrify america. California. Https://youtu. Be/xzos_-e8fhg evgo az https://youtube. Com/shorts/zf61arcn8z0? Feature=share
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 30, 2021
StateTX
Description
This is third occurrence. When doing hard acceleration (to merge onto road or pass vehicle) the vehicle would not stop acceleration. Hard braking did not disengage acceleration. Placed car in neutral and applied brakes. When placed back in drive continued hard acceleration. Placed vehicle in neutral and came to stop. Placed in park and then drive continued hard acceleration. Had to bring to stop and power vehicle off.. Dealer will triage to see if error codes available. They want me to continue driving since no loaners available
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateAug 29, 2021
StatePA
Description
Gm has stated in their nhtsa recall notice that my vehicle has the potential to burn down my home and has not provided any sort of fix or even a timeline to fix the problem. The recall states not to charge the vehicle in a garage. My home charger is located in the back of my garage and I do not have the ability to charge the vehicle outdoors without spending thousands to redo my home charging system. My garage is under my two story house, meaning a vehicle fire has the potential to destroy my entire home and kill everyone inside. Again, gm has made no offer to provide replacement vehicles or financial compensation for the home infrastructure changes that must be made to keep safely using the vehicle until a formal fix is announced, and any such repair would require being without the vehicle for weeks at a minimum. In summary, in order to abide by the stated interim recall instructions, my vehicle would be rendered useless as I would have no means of charging the vehicle. It is my hope that the nhtsa holds gm to account for their failures regarding this recall.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 23, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck causing the speed to increase to approximately 65 mph. The contact indicated that the vehicle would not slow down while depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was shifted into neutral and turned off to stop the vehicle. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The local dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not yet contacted. After the failure, the floor mats were inspected, and no related failure was found. The failure mileage was 3,200.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt. The contact stated that while the vehicle was plugged into the charge box however not being fully charged. The contact stated that prior to the failure occurring the vehicle was already charged fully, without warning a couple of hours later, the vehicle exploded in the driveway of the contact's residence. The contact looked out the window and noticed smoke appear under the vehicle. The contact ran outside and within a minute the vehicle was engulfed in flames. Flames were seen underneath the vehicle and around the rear wheel well. The police were contacted attempted to extinguish the flames however failed. The fire department was contacted and came out to extinguish the flames. The vehicle did damage the driveway. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The vehicle was still awaiting insurance adjustor results and the vehicle was towed by the insurance company. No dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and has started an investigation. Based on the vehicle information nhtsa campaign number: 20v701000,21v560000 (electrical system) was a possible solution to the failure however the vin was not included in the open investigation with nhtsa. The failure mileage was approximate 5,000. Consumer stated manufacture is no longer communicating with the consumer. As of 08/25/2020 insurance company deemed the vehicle a total loss. (recall related incident) ts
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 13, 2021
StateNJ
Description
A life threatening situation in which upon swift acceleration attempt the accelerator pedal was stuck in the down position, the safety of myself, my family who were passengers as well as other surrounding vehicles on the highway was put in immediate danger as vehicle proceeded to accelerate well beyond legal limit. Using the brakes only slightly decelerated the vehicle while vehicle dash displayed maximum power kept being sent to the drive unit. That same day I was unable to replicate the problem as it seems to happen only once per drive cycle. Same issue has occurred on 2 separate occasions during 2 separate drive cycles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was driving on highway at aroung 65 mph. Suddently, the driver window glass shattered without any external impact. The glass pieces fell very close the window where it shattered indicating there was no external force. I notified gm but they are not ready to even accept the case telling me that I am lying to them and somebody might have broken into the car.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Service Brakes
DateJun 29, 2021
StateNC
Description
I have had people following me, and almost hit me when stopped at a stop sign, or waiting to turn left, because the brake lights go off while the car is still being held to some degree by electric motor braking. When driving the car in l mode, one pedal driving, the brake lights come on when decelerating, but when stopped they turn off. The issue is, there is some electrical braking applied when stopped at a stop sign or light, even with no foot on the brake pedal. The car will hold on a slight grade when in l, with no foot on the brake pedal. As far as I understand the law, if there is service braking being applied, the brake lights must be on. I also believe that the electric motor holding back is considered to be service brakes on an ev. I've heard gm corrected this issue on the 2022 models, and I think it should be corrected in the earlier models. Another issue is tall vehicles following close behind me don't see the turn signals because they are in the bumper, mounted very low. I've had people blow the horn at me several times for turning, when they did not see my turn signals. They are working properly, just too low for some vehicles to see when they are close behind. The turn signals are separate and are much lower than the brake lights.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
2020 cehvrolet bolt. Consumer writes regarding an issue with rear headrest. The consumer stated the vehicle seemed to lack a headrest. The vehicle has 3 seatbelts therefore should be equipped with 3 headrests.
CategoryLane Departure: Warning
DateApr 05, 2021
StateVA
Description
Lane departure warning system does not audible alert or seat vibration as stated on page 212 of the owners manual or as described on the chevy website. The lights on the dash do work as described in the manual. Https://my. Chevrolet. Com/how-to-support/driving-performance/driving/lane-keep-assist-departure-warning
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 30, 2021
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact was pulling into a parking space, she took her foot off the accelerator pedal however, the vehicle inadvertently accelerated forward into the retaining wall. The vehicle was towed to capital chevrolet (9820 capital blvd, wake forest, nc 27587) however, the contact was unaware of the failure diagnosis, or what needed to be repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000. *dt
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 12, 2021
StateOR
Description
The 2020 chevrolet bolt ev premier has excellent cruise control, holding speed to within 1 mph of set speed through automatic acceleration going uphill and automatic regenerative braking going down hill. The car has collision detection and can report time to impact to the tenth of a second. What it can't do is apply regenerative braking when a detected crash may be imminent. It just flashes a warning light and sounds an alarm beep, but doesn't try to prevent a crash, allowing a driver with slowed reflexes to plow into the vehicle ahead.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Lane Departure: Warning
DateMar 12, 2021
StateOR
Description
Lane keeping assist (lka) and lane departure warning (ldw) are important safety features, particularly for older drivers. These features, touted in chevrolet's online and print advertising, are poorly, and potentially fatally, implemented in the 2020 chevrolet bolt ev premier. The 2020 bolt ev owner's manual describes these features beginning on page 213. When turned on, lka is undetectable and no steering correction can be felt in the steering wheel. While ldw may illuminate a small amber warning signal on the graphically complicated driver's display, the manual states, 'additionally, there may be three beeps, or the driver seat may pulse three times, on the right or left, depending on the lane departure direction.' on page 215. A safe driver does not watch the complicated display to detect a small symbol turning amber from green. The lack of auditory or vibration warning rendered this safety feature useless. These conditions were observed in clear daylight on multi lane highways as well as in less hospitable conditions. As implemented in the 2020 chevrolet bolt ev premier, lka and ldw do not exist, though being used as a selling feature.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
Android auto skip and pause on steering wheel stopped working unless infotainment reset daily or re-enter car. Was an abnormal ticking noise coming from the vehicle. The noise sounded as if it were coming from the area of the console/ gear shift
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 11, 2021
StateNC
Description
Accelerator pedal gets stuck on floor mat and requires pulling it up with your toes to stop acceleration. I have a 10 second video I can share documenting this. I contacted chevy customer assistance today and they said they would refer the case[xxx] -- to the "appropriate department". I am worried it will be lost in the bureaucracy, so I am contacting you also. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryWheels
DateAug 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
Ttirs dont self seal I immediately advised that this was due to a defect in workmanship of the self seal tires. I quoted the following paragraph on self sealing tires from the michelin oe warranty manual. Michelin tires with the self-seal logo are covered under this warranty. These tires are designed to seal in the event of a puncture, and have specific instructions for repair by tire professionals at michelin authorized dealers. There are two areas where we have a problem. 1) if the tire fails to seal itself then it is not operating as designed and therefore has a defect in workmanship. 2) the warranty specifically says they can be "repaired" by a michelin authorized dealer. I contacted 3 michelin dealers and all of them said they do not repair self seal tires. The fourth michelin dealer was costco and they told me they could repair it in error. They had never seen a self seal tire before, never received any training from michelin on the repair of said tires, and when presented with the product bulletin on how to repair the tires still refused to repair it. After a lot of haggling I was able to get michelin to agree to pay 50% . I am still waiting on the exact amount of the reimbursement and so this has not been completely resolved as yet. My total out of pocket for 4 new non self seal tires is 0. 01. I could have saved about by not getting the lifetime rotation/balance/flat repair. Https://www. Chevybolt. Org/threads/tire-puncture-bad-luck. 35976/page-2#post-554598 multiple complaints of self seal not working dealers refuse to fix.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 31, 2020
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chevrolet bolt ev. The contact stated the vehicle was in "l" mode before the vehicle lunged forward into the wall. The vehicle was taken to a dealer (heritage chevrolet owing mills: 11234 reisterstown rd, owings mills, md 21117) but it was unknown if the vehicle was diagnosed or repaired. No further information was available. The failure mileage was 500.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Jim Z

    My 2020 BOLT started beeping, showing service immediately and power reduction about 6 weeks ago. the air conditioner stopped working and you could not charge it. the car has been at the Chevrolet dealer ever since. The Dealer tells me general motors needs to develop new software to fix it.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.