2019 Kia Sorento Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle speed control, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There’s no question that SUVs are taking over America’s roadways. One popular option has been the 2019 Kia Sorento. This SUV boasts about plenty of style and lots of functionality. The newer models even claim to “bring on the adventure.” They couldn’t be any more honest in their description as this SUV brings plenty of excitement with it, just not the type that most owners want to deal with. The defective engine, malfunctioning powertrain and faulty vehicle speed control take consumers for a ride.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018    2020    2021    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Kia Sorento

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
27
Engine
23
Unknown Or Other
16
Electrical System
12
Exterior Lighting
11
Steering
7
Vehicle Speed Control
7
Structure:body
6
Fuel/propulsion System
4
Seat Belts
4

Problems with the Engine

The Kia Sorento isn’t a top of the line SUV, but owners still expect the engine to be durable and full of performance. The automaker is known to provide reliable vehicles, but something seems to have gone wrong with this model.

Just look at what this Edmunds review states. “There are serious problems with the transmission or engine misfire, especially when trying to drive at 25-30 mph, as is stutters back and forth. Stuttering is also very notable when accelerating. Usually skips a half second between shifts on acceleration onto the highway.”

What’s interesting about the manufacturer communications is that nothing addresses any engine problems of at all. While many automakers will have a long list of troubles that are discussed between the higher-ups and the technicians, Kia has nothing. Either they don’t prefer to talk to their dealerships or they are attempting to hide something. For anyone with any experience, it’s a clear sign that something isn’t right.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Kia Sorento Engine Problems:

LEASED THE CAR IN MARCH AND BY END OF MAY IT WAS IDELING ROUGH AND CLICKING. GOT A MESSAGE ON MY SCREEN ENGINE CONTROL SYSTEM FAILURE AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK IT ONTO THE DEALER AND WITH LESS THAN 2900 MILES IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. NOW IT WILL BE ABOUT 3 MONTHS (THEY ARE BACKLOGGED) UNTIL I GET IT BACK!!

WHEN PULLING OUT OR STARTING OUT THE CAR HESITATES MAKING IT VERY UNSAFE WHEN PULLING OUT IN TRAFFIC. I HAVE REPORTED IT TO THE KIA SERVICE CENTER, BUT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT IS VERY FRUSTRATING AND UNSAFE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR IN MAY.

LOUD ENGINE RATTLE NOISE WHEN STARTING ENGINE THAT HAS BEEN SHUT OFF OVERNIGHT.SOUNDS LIKE THE CAMSHAFT CHAIN HYDRAULIC TENSIONER IS BLEEDING DOWN.TENSIONER DOES NOT MAINTAIN A CORRECT INITIAL POSITION.NOISE DIMINISHES WITHIN A MINUTE OR SO OF STATIONARY ENGINE RUN.

Problems with the Transmission

Along with the engine, the powertrain is another essential system that must work well for a comfortable ride. When the transmission or other system components begin to malfunction, the ride goes from normal to out of control very quickly.

On Edmunds, a reviewer pointed out the initial trouble they experienced by saying, “After 1000 miles, it started being jerky when starting out and slowing down. Brought it back to the dealer 5 times. The dealer had a ‘transmission expert’ flown in from KIA. After 6 weeks I was emailed a poorly put together emailed from Kia corporate. It said that all 2019 Kia Sorentos with the new 8 speed tranny all exhibit this jerky operation and they would not fix it, buy it back or trade it for a different model. After consulting with a lawyer, I found that I would just trade it in for a different make car. Cost me a bunch of money. I hear there is a lawsuit being put together for this. I have never been so poorly treated by a car manufacturer.  Never again!!”

Unlike the engine trouble, the automaker at least acknowledges that there are some issues with the powertrain. In Service Bulletin #TSBTRA082_R1, we see that the MIL comes on with DTC P0741. It requires an update to the ECU. While they don’t go into a lot of detail, it’s obvious to see that there are some serious concerns to work out. The SUV shouldn’t come off the line requiring updates to run correctly. These are things that should have already been worked out before selling the vehicle to consumers. How many car owners want to have their SUV sitting at the dealership waiting for repairs right after the purchase? That’s not the adventure most people sign up for.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Kia Sorento Transmission Problems:

MY 2019 V6 KIA SORENTO STUMBLES AND HESITATES UNDER PART THROTTLE, LOW RPM, ACCELERATION REGARDLESS OF SPEED. IT’S MORE NOTICEABLE IN CITY DRIVING, BUT IS PRESENT WHEN TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY. KEEPING THE TRANSMISSION IN “SPORT” MODE REDUCES THE SEVERITY, BUT DOES NOT ELIMINATE IT. WHEN I PLACE THE GEAR SELECTOR IN MANUAL MODE, AND LOCK IN A HIGHER (NUMERICALLY) GEAR, I CAN DUPLICATE THE HESITATION. I HAD MY DEALERSHIP REFLASH THE LOGIC CONTROLLING THE TRANSMISSION, PER A TSB, BUT THAT ONLY PARTIALLY ADDRESSED THE ISSUE SO IT MAY BE A COMBINATION OF FUEL DELIVERY/AUTOMATIC GEAR SELECTION. I BELIEVE IT’S MORE OF A FUEL DELIVERY PROBLEM, THOUGH. SOMETIMES THE HESITATION IS SUCH THAT IT PREVENTS PROMPT ACCELERATION, POSING A SAFETY CONCERN. I’VE USED VARIOUS FUEL SYSTEM CLEANERS DESIGNED FOR GDI ENGINES WITH LIMITED SUCCESS. MY VEHICLE HAS 13K MILES ON IT, AND IT HAS PERFORMED IN THIS MANNER SINCEI BOUGHT IT APX. 2K MILES, AND TWO MONTHS, AGO.

MY 2019 KIA SORENTO HAS HESITATIONS WHILE RAMPING UP IN SPEED. TOLD DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS AFTER THE 1ST WEEK OF OWNERSHIP. TOLD IT WAS NOTHING SINCE IT DIDN’T SHOW UP IN SPORT MODE. I’M SEEING IN FORUMS THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE 8 SPEED TRANS. DROPPING OFF TO DEALERSHIP TODAY FOR THEM TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN.

TRANSMISSION STUMBLES / HESITATES WHEN ACCELERATING UP HILL OR ON LEVEL SURFACE AT LOW SPEEDS. VEHICLE BRIEFLY AND REPEATEDLY LURCHES UNDER ACCELERATION AS IF DRIVING ON PATCHY ICE-COVERED ROAD SURFACE. NOTICEABLE TO DRIVER AND PASSENGERS. WORST IN COMFORT, SMART AND ECO MODES. NOT AS PRONOUNCED, BUT STILL PRESENT IN SPORT MODE. MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN DRIVING SHORTLY AFTER START-UP. LESS NOTICEABLE AFTER 10-15 MINUTES DRIVING.

Problems with Steering and Speed Control

Controlling speed is a common aspect handled by today’s technology. When something is defective, it can lead to a rough ride and a potential crash.

One Edmunds reviewer stated, “Steering alert at speeds above 55. Steering recalibrated  6 times in 4 months.Parking brake issues & slipped out of parking gear while in my driveway. Poor shifting between 35 and 45 MPH .electronic steering feature shuts off and on. Would not buy again. Electronic and computer issues since buying in 11/18 service department favorite quote ‘not showing any error codes.’”

Again, the company chose not to discuss vehicle speed control systems through the manufacturer communications. They did, however, release another notice regarding other advanced safety systems, which are just as important. Service Bulletin TSBELE154 states that the Blind Spot Collision Warning malfunctions with a DTC C270254. To reassure those reading the statement, they make sure to mention that there isn’t a real issue or defective part. How reassuring that is. The vehicle is alerting that there’s a problem, but there really isn’t one. There’s nothing to see here, is what they want consumers to believe. After all of the problems experienced with the Sorento SUV and the lack of transparency from the automaker, many owners have become concerned. It doesn’t seem wise to purchase a vehicle in search of an adventure. Instead, the car-buyer might do better to go on vacation instead.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Kia Sorento Speed Control Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 KIA SORENTO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A COMPLETE STOP, THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESPOND AND THEN SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ALL THE TIME EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN APRIL OF 2019. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO STEVE HANN AUTO GROUP ON THREE OCCASIONS, BUT THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED

WHEN CRUISE CONTROL IS SET THE VEHICLE WILL WITHOUT WARNING SURGE , JERK AND JUMP. THE RPM NEEDLE WILL SHOW ACCELERATION. THIS HAPPENS WITHOUT NOTICE AND NOT ON ANY INCLINE OR DECLINES, ON STRAIGHT AWAYS. THIS HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED WHEN THE CRUISE CONTROL IS SET.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 30, 2022
StateDE
Description
While I was driving on the nj turnpike near newark, nj, I saw black smoke coming in the front windows that I had open about 3 inches each. I immediately pulled into the shoulder of the highway and turned the cars ignition off. By the time I got the car in park and turned it off the entire front cabin of the car was so thick with smoke that I couldn't see or breathe. I was able to get out and away from the vehicle just as it completely went up in flames. Two truck drivers stopped and emptied their fire extinguishers on the fire but it did not help at all. By this time the nj state police had arrived to help with traffic and they had me sit in the back of one of their vehicles away from the heavy smoke. Prior to seeing the smoke, I had no warning lights on my dashboard, the temperature of the car never rose, and there were no emergency messages whatsoever. There also had not been any work performed on the car for at least 3 weeks prior to fire. Had I not been in a location where there was an accessible shoulder I don't know that I would have been able to get out in time to escape being overcome by the thick smoke. I have no idea what caused the smoke and ensuing fire and I also have no idea if anyone has inspected the vehicle since the fire. The insurance company is not paying anything because of a clause in my policy indicating they do not pay if the vehicle was being used to transport for money when the incident occurred. They also knew that I had a courier service and used this vehicle for personal and work use. When I told them I wanted an investigation to find out what happened and who is at fault (because it's not me) I was told that they don't have to release the vehicle for any investigation because they wouldn't be paying on it anyway! I believe kia is responsible for this and I want them held accountable. There will be a police incident report but I checked on it today and it still is not ready. The vehicle was towed to moran towing in kearny, nj.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
The fuel system is faulty in that the cabin of my vehicle now smells like gas. The fumes gradually became stronger in smell. This is a huge safety concern in that it's impairing my way of driving. This put not just myself and my passengers but those on the road with me. Not to mention a fire hazard. I have gradually become I'll, major headaches, nasal/sinus pain, irritated throat and difficulty breathing, dizzy and nauseated. I'm on my way to 2nd er visit in a span of 3weeks. Prior to smell I had notice a pull back in power. Feeling like the engine was lacking what it needed to run.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 10, 2022
StateFL
Description
The pearl paint is chipping off exposing the metal underneath. I've contacted the dealer in clermont, fl twice trying to receive help with no results. I've also contacted kia corporate and have been told my 2019 is no longer covered for paint. I have 40,000 miles on it and paint should not be peeling off leaving metal exposed. Obviously something was not done correctly in the setting of the paint or an ingredient left out of the mixture. I am including an image.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 05, 2022
StateWA
Description
The transmission for my 2019 kia sorento v6 awd stumbles and hesitates when accelerating. It is a safety issue. When I attempt to accelerate the transmission does not engage for a second or two which is critical in normal driving. This hesitation could easily cause an accident. It is available for inspection upon request. I have reported to kia dealers on multiple occasions and to kia consumer affairs and they have performed two technical service bulletins that did not correct the problem. The dealer reproduced the problem but indicate that it may be a design flaw by kia but they do not have a fix at this time. There are no warning lamps, messages, or other symptoms of the problem prior to failure. The issue first appeared since the vehicle was purchased in 2018. There are numerous complaints for the same concern on the nhtsa -power train problems for 2019 kia sorento.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateOct 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Today, while driving on the road, the sun roof of the vehicle just exploded. Nothing was thrown into it nor was it caused by an object. It sounded as loud as a gun shot, and and it exploded into many pieces of glass. Because the shade was pulled up, these pieces did not fall over us, but if the shade has been uncovered, the glass would have fallen on the driver and passenger. As far as today we only called the insurance and went to a repair shop to get an estimate of the cost to repair. A friend of mine has a telluride 2022 and the same thing happened to her last year, she just repaired it, but now I think it is very important to let you know what happened to both of us since she did not report the incident. Now , I am worried because my daughter is driving a kia sportage 2023. The loud sound can scare the driver very easily and cause an accident not to mention the glass falling on the driver.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train, Suspension
DateSep 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
I purchased my kia sorento in 2020. It was a used 2019 with 7,000 miles. I immediately noticed that it would squeak rather loud and bounce high when driving over very small humps on the roads. Being that I'm no mechanical savvy, I assumed this was normal for suv's because I've driven sedans all my life. Anyways, I was informed of the issue when going to a tire repair shop asking why my back tires sounds so harsh when driving. I was told that there are waves in my tires due to the shocks. And that the shocks has had to have issues for a while to now change the formation of the tires. I have now read several kia forums and there are lots of kia sorento owners who have suspension issues close or the same as mine. Another issue is the automatic emergency brake. I was unaware of this feature until one day having to make a sudden stop and the vehicle stopped and shut off on its own almost causing me to be hit in the rear. This event was very traumatizing. I googled this feature and thought that I had turned it off but I realize that I can't make it go away and it is a very dangerous feature to have. My vehicle does not have as much driving experience as I do and I am capable of controlling my vehicle to avoid an accident if I need to without the assistance of a computer which has almost caused nearly fatal accidents by immediate stops or shutting off the vehicle causing me to not be able to control the vehicle myself. Another defect is the powered trunk. Whether I open it from the button near the steering wheel or the button on the rear gate, the trunk will immediately close on its own after opening; sometimes closing down on the top of the head of my children or myself. I selected to disable the "smart" feature but it does not stop it. The last defect is electrical. I have replaced the same internal light near the rear view mirror, and it continues to go out. This is an indication of an electrical issue and with my kia only having 54,000 miles, further action is needed.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateAug 30, 2022
StateKY
Description
When vehicle is started and put in drive, you go about 5-10 feet and the forward collision avoidance assist, warning lights come on dash. Bright orange triangle with a exclamation mark,& 2 orange cars crashing symbol,& middle display says forward collision avoidance assist(fca)system disabled. Radad blocked. And the warning lights remain on. I have taken to kia east in louisville, they say my vehicle is fine, no problems. My advisor even told me that they popped off the plastic bumper and removed the radar and cleaned it.(I was told that if they did that the radar would have to be recalibrated--and it was not). When I left the dealership the warning lights came on and I took it back in and they still tell me they worked on it and its fine. Called kia consumer, they tell me to video and get it back in the shop that if its throwing codes there is no problem. I told her I don't feel comfortable trying to drive and video my dash board, but did have a passenger help with this task. Lights come on every time you start it and proceed forward. I also reported how sluggish on take off and how it does not want to speed up and almost get hit if you pullout in traffic and then how it lunges forward and the accelerates very hard. I feel this is a very unsafe vehicle and they are giving me the run around kia consumer telling me to take it to other kia dealerships for service that are miles away from me. The documentation from the dealership just says can't duplicate and no real written explanation of what was done to my vehicle. It took 3 months to get my vehicle even checked at the dealership. I even took my vehicle to a local body shop to make sure it had not been hit and it had not. Please help me get this taken care of.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateAug 23, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that the front passenger side headlamp failed. The vehicle was taken to carmax where the headlamp was replaced however, the front driver's side headlamp failed. No warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 11, 2022
StatePA
Description
The transmission is not shifting from first to second or third to fourth gear. Rpms jump between 4-5 and it won't accelerate. Dealership was able to replicate issue but no codes appeared during scan. They put in a ticket. It has stopped in traffic already. I was able to shut off and restart but this is dangerous.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 01, 2022
StateKY
Description
The car has issues with accelerating, with huge hesitations that almost feel like the car is going to stop, causing a jerking feeling. This especially happens on the expressway, initially at around 20 mph and then around 50+ mph. Have taken the car to be serviced with no resolution for the issue after over two weeks and now my check engine light constantlystays on. Other kia owners have expressed noticing similar issues with their sorento. This is a big concern, as it has the potential to cause several accidents nationwide.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
The white pearl paint on my 2019 kia sorento has started chipping in some spots without any impacts or action that would affect it. I feel that this could expand and maybe chip a large portion of the hood paint while I am driving, which may cause me to react erratically and maybe cause an accident. I have seen many complaints online recently of other owners encountering the same problem. I have taken the suv to the dealer many times for maintenance, but they have not attempted to repair the issue. No lights or alarms have presented themselves prior to this issue, which I first noticed while washing my car in january 2022.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 24, 2022
StateCO
Description
On july 21 year 2022 my kia sorento was stolen. I am under the impression that kia did not fix the problem of the ease of getting into a locked car as well as fixing the problem of how easy it is to start the engine and drive off. I am very disappointed and will never buy a kia product again. This was my second and final kia. I feel kia is responsible for my car being stolen because the problem of accessibility was not fixed even though kia was aware of the problem. I would like some kind of reimbursement for the anguish and trouble this has caused. A police report has been filed on this incident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 13, 2022
StateWI
Description
My vehicle was stolen in a parking lot full of other vehicles. I now know about the design flaw, making it easy for kias to be stolen. This needs to be resolved immediately via a recall by kia to fix this flaw and to prevent other kia owners from going through this.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 10, 2022
StateNC
Description
Engine stutters and jerks upon acceleration. Happens in every driving mode (comfort / eco / smart / sport). This has been a persistent safety issue, and judging by the number of similar complaints, a speedy resolution is needed.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 06, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving at night with the low-beam headlights activated, the light beam was bouncing up and down and moving from side to side presenting a visible shadow within the light beam, causing a visibility hazard for the driver. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who replaced the driver's side headlight assembly and the movable headlight controller; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryEngine, Seats
DateMay 31, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle lost motive power. Additionally, the front passenger's seat was not able to move forward or backward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 56,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateMay 20, 2022
StatePA
Description
There is a hiss noise coming from the steering when you are making a left or right turn.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateMay 11, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 21v519000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 11, 2022
StateMI
Description
Front bumper (black) is peeling. Local repair shop said the bumper was not properly primed before they (kia) painted them. Peeling started 9/15/2021
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 06, 2022
StateFL
Description
Jerks in lower gears and sometimes speads up when you're about to stop and/or slow down & when you make a turn, caused me to get into an accident on i95 while my kids were in the car with me!!!! When I tried to break the car slightly sped up before stopping causing me to rear end another vehicle. This is my second kia car, the first was an optima. I thought kia's were strong, reliable and safe cars. Something needs to be done!!!
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateApr 20, 2022
StateCO
Description
What component failed-high pressure fuel pump. It would have to be towed from place of inspected. They cannot put the part back inside the car; the part went "poof" into big chunks after it was taken apart. Mine and my children's saftey; our lives were put at risk on april 5th, 2022. We were driving home from school in a 40 mph zone. At the stop light when the light had turned green when the gas pedal was pressed down the car drove at less then 5mph and then stalled out. There was zero power to the gas pedal. We had to pull over and restart car and hope there was power. We were only down the street from our home. I had to baby the gas pedal and could not get to pass 10 mph in a 40mph zone and then a 25mph zone. The car then sat on our driveway until we could take it to our auto shop on april 19th, 2022. The kia then turned on and had the check engine light on now. The car would drive up to 38mph in eco mode only before it would start to spurter and slow down itself on its own. There was hardly any power to the gas pump again. When I entered the auto parking lot there was a very faint squeal sound coming from the engine area. When the auto place called they told us when the part was taken out "the internal parts disintegratend" and the part cannot be placed back in the kia. The high pressure fuel pump did not handle the "fuel pressure". This has been a concern for many kia's that have come through the auto place. They had said they have seen kia's of all styles as far back to 2017 having this issue and that the part is on a national back order with zero eta of being back in stock. How can a car part not be on a recall and be on a national back order. I had called peak kia in littleton, co. I was told that the high pressure fuel pump went bad on my account.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 09, 2022
StateOH
Description
During use wipers at times will random stop in up position on windshield. Intermittent problem will start working again after toggling wiper switch.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 31, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owned a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while his wife was driving at an undisclosed speed, she lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a lamp post. The air bags did not deploy upon impact. The contact's wife later received medical treatment for a fractured vertebra, right hip, and groin injury. No police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow lot and deemed totaled by the insurance company. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
Whenever I am stopped at a stoplight and in the close vicinity of a vehicle powered by electricity (specifically tesla) or dual powered vehicles, the front warning lights start acting up. First going to (green) warning, then to (yellow) warning, and sometimes all the way to (red) warning. This happens even when the stopped vehicle is in the lane next to me and is parallel to me. The whole time all vehicles are stopped and waiting for the traffic to start moving. In my opinion this is very dangerous. Hopefully this is not affecting any of the other computer functions. This has been going on for at least 5 months. Consumer stated it only started about 6 months ago and really is only the late model tesla an prius models that cause the crash sensors to go off.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateNC
Description
Vehicle hesitates upon acceleration on takeoff. At times it will almost stop. This has been a problem since purchase date 7/11/2019. Dealer has no solution and there has been no recall. Dealer has other 2019 sorentos with the same problem, but has not been able to duplicate the problem with our vehicle. This is very problematic when pulling into traffic from a standstill or accelerating from a stop light. No inspections have been made other than dealer. No warning signals have ever appeared..... Just a definite hesitation upon acceleration.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 22, 2021
StateFL
Description
My 2019 snow white kia sorento paint started peeling up on the driver side hood and wasn't caused by any type of damage. Took the vehicle to the local kia dealership and was told that my 3 year 36000 mile warranty was expired and there was nothing they would do to correct this issue.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 06, 2021
StateNC
Description
This is ongoing condition from delivery of vehicle. Based on car complaints already filed on car complaints. Com we believe kia knows about this problem. There is some sort of relationship of night driving and low beam headlights that causes very dark shadow on windshield that abstructs driver vision. We further assert that knowing this kia willfully adjusts headlights too high to try to conceal problem.(dealer said they were set 8" too high. But when adjusted to factory settings the problem got worse. Case number entered with kia. Now in escalation mode ... However we live on top of a mountain with 3000 foot drops if our vision is obstructed and we miss edge of road. The headlights were adjusted back to the higher setting but we feel that will blind on coming cars still another safety danger. Kia must fix this problem. I have photos to show this limited vision night driving low beam rural road safety prob lem
CategoryExterior Lighting:turn Signal
DateNov 22, 2021
StateIL
Description
In september 2021 the driver side turn signal would intermediately work. Replaced the bulb twice with no difference. Upon further inspection, found 2 wires corroded together. Being the vehicle is still under warranty, the sorento was taken to a kia dealership in october 2021 which we were told it was damage and not under warranty, and a new harness would need to be installed. No mentioned of why the wires over heated, became brittle, and melted together. During that time, the headlight functions started to decrease drastically as I refused a new harness install being that wouldn't solve the problem of why it happened. No warning lights appeared on dash, no messages, just our first clue something was wrong was the driver turn signal was working in spurts. I ended up pig tailing the light socket in fear of a fire and to fight kia as this is a dangerous situation.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 15, 2021
StatePA
Description
The factory design of the low beam headlights seems to have a feature that prevents up-shining into oncoming traffic. However, this design results in a dark shadow-line across the field of vision. This dark shadow-line results in poor visibility especially when driving in areas that are very dark. The shadow-line makes it look like I'm driving into the bat-cave. I have observed on some online kia sorento user forums of the same complaint. My kia dealer claims that this is a factory design and there is no remedy. I have uploaded 3 photos taken from inside the car parked in front of my white garage door. You can see the horizontal shadow-line and two "teeth" that hang down in the field of view. The line is not very pronounced against the white door, but is very much so when driving on a dark road. Please investigate and advise. Thank you very much.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 19, 2021
StateVA
Description
When driving at night, the headlights appear to be pointed excessively in a down direction leaving me with a dark shadowy area within my line of eyesight. Headlights checked at dealership and reported back as no issues. My kia owners manual states in chapter 4 page 129 that the headlight beam levels are automatically adjusted depending on the number of passengers and weight in the trunk and other driving conditions. Also advises to contact kia dealership with any issues. Done! The kia dealership informed me that my model does not have the dynamic bending light referred to in chapter 4 page 130 of the owners manual. At this point if I want to have light in my sight line, I must drive with my headlights on high beam. Oncoming drivers beware! This issue needs to be addressed by kia.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
We have been experiencing a lost of power. The engine sputters and loses power when accelerating. This has happened on several occasions. Today, 10/11/2021, we were nearly hit four times on interstate 580 in oakland. We were travelling in the number two lane at sixty miles per hour. I began to accelerate to reach the speed limit when the sorento began to sputter and lost power to five miles per hour. As we lost power the vehicle behind me nearly rear-ended our vehicle. As we moved to the shoulder we were almost struck two more times. Once on the shoulder I turned the kia off and back on. I attempted to accelerate on the shoulder and it sputtered and lost powers at twenty miles per hour to five miles per hour. I have done research and its apparent there is a major safety issue with this year. Its unfortunate it take a loss of life (or lives) to have a major recall.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 02, 2021
StateMO
Description
Pearl white paint peeling and chipping on hood of vehicle and bumper. Kia has known knowledge and history of this defect of the 2019 kia sorento with the pearl white paint and hasn't stop using this color paint. Paint flakes has to go somewhere, air, water, etc. Hazardous material. This not just a touch up job, expensive procedure, have to restore the whole area, with the ensure that the paint matches up and possible cause of repainting again in the future. Kia needs to be held responsible for permitting defective equipment on the road.
CategorySeats, Steering, Structure:body
DateAug 26, 2021
StateWI
Description
My vehicle was stolen from my residential home. My window was buss out and they stole my vehicle. After over two weeks my vehicle was finally retrieved by the police and city of milwaukee tow lot. I was told by financing company as well as police department to go get pictures of vehicle as reported from tow company that my vehicle was completely totaled out. I went and retrieved pictures seeing that my car was totaled. With this being said I don't have a vehicle for me or my children to be able to get to work and or school and daycare. I don't know what I'm going to do with trying to not jeopardize my job with getting to work. So I'm writing this so that kia company can be held accountable for not recalling these vehicles and putting me and my children during this pandemic at risk of losing everything home, job and more.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 16, 2021
StateNM
Description
I was driving along the road on a light traffic day, I approaching an intersection when the traffic light turned red, I tried engaging brakes and they would not engage. As I approached the intersection I became fearful of colliding with multiple vehicles and due to brakes failing I encroached the intersection when I was t-boned by another driver. I see various complaints of brakes and the lack of stopping power for this particular vehicle. I advise anyone else to avoid purchasing this vehicle if you value yours and your families safety.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateJul 15, 2021
StateOR
Description
Headlights causing moving shadows, blind areas, phantom objects. Unsafe because visibility is reduced, compromised. Dangerous to operators and passengers. Has a high probability of causing an accident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 15, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was driving at 65 mph on the freeway. The weather was clear and the road is clear and there was no traffic. While I was driving, I heard a loud explosion and heard wind right after. I pulled at the first exit to check what had happened and saw the sunroof was shattered with a large hole about 12 inches in diameter in the glass. The interior sunroof shade was closed the entire time I was driving. Very little glass entered the car cabin and the interior sunroof shade currently shows no signs of holes or damage. Upon initial inspection, there appears to be little glass in between the sunroof shade and sunroof. It appears the vibration of the vehicle caused the sunroof to shatter in an upward motion. In addition, please note that no items were being carried on the oem roofrack. The car windows were also closed when this happened. I have 2 babies that were sleeping in the backseat when this occurred.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateApr 12, 2021
StateNC
Description
Car lost power while drving and a semi truck almost ran into me. Have taken car to kia dealership and throttle body was replaced and week later same problem exist. I have taken the car there 3 times for the same problem haven't had the car 3 months have had this problem since I purchased the car.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMar 05, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving on the interstate highway for a duration of 1 to 3 hours the "collision avoidance system" faults out, lights a warning on the dash and totally stops functioning. The text warning goes away after a few seconds and a triangular warning light stays on. The system remains inoperable for the balance of the trip. Overnight sometimes the system appears to reset and everything returns to normal and the system again works for 1 - 3 hours then the cycle repeats itself. We are senior citizens and specifically bought this vehicle for this safety feature. The fact that it is not reliable is a serious safety concern.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 22, 2021
StateND
Description
I began smelling burnt plastic and my battery light came on in my dashboard. Shortly after, all the warning lights came on in my dashboard (engine, abs, traction control, etc). My vehichle wound up dying completely on the side of the road. I brought it to the kia dealership. They informed me that all of the internal wiring was burnt beyond recognition. They were unable to tell where the problem started or ended. They also mentioned that I was fortunate that the vehicle died when it did because some of the burnt wire was an inch away from my fuel line and could have caused my vehicle to explode if it was running any longer. The end result of damages that needed to be repaired include a new alternator, battery, engine harness, o2 sensor to name a few. Ultimately they claimed warranty didn't cover an "act of god" so my insurance was forced to cover the cost of the damage.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 16, 2020
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while stationary at a traffic light and making a left turn, the vehicle began to stall. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to drive to her destination. The vehicle was taken to kia of cleveland (2492 s. Lee hwy, cleveland, tn 37311; (423)693-0505) however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times and occurred intermittently. The manufacturer was informed of failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 14, 2020
StateFL
Description
Jerks in lower gears when you're about to stop and/or slow it down when you make a turn, bad workmanship on kia's part. Keeps happening everytime. This is my second car, the first is sedona, thought kia's were strong, reliable and sturdy cars, but sadly disappointed. Never again another kia.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 30, 2020
StateOR
Description
Engine trouble. Engine failure and stalling problems.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 28, 2020
StateDE
Description
When taking off, it spits and sputters and the rpms go down to zero as pulling out in the highway. Safety issue! This has been an ongoing issue have had it in the shop 3 times
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 08, 2020
StateNV
Description
Inconsistent power to the wheels especially when cold but also on freeway. Uneven delivery of power to the wheels is usually called transmission surge from a lack of consistent fluid pressure being maintained in each gear. Has bucked hard enough in 3rd and 4th gear to rock my head forward and back. In eco mode it's downright dangerous. More than once I thought I'd be ht by another car trying to turn onto a busy city street. Does this less in comfort mode. This happened on many dates but below you only allow tp pick one so I [picked one date. It doesn't buck in comfort mde but the stutter or surge is still there. In the first 4-5,000 miles, maybe 10 times or so, after coming to a complete stop on a city street while waiting to make a left turn with my foot still on the brakes, I have felt it drop into first gear. Three or four of those times it was such a distinct thud I could feel in the steering wheel, the seat and the floorboard. Either it hadn't fully downshifted into 1st by the time I stopped, or it downshifted all the way into 1st then into to neutral, and what I'm feeling is it fall back into 1st. Dealer said mechanic couldn't duplicate my surge problem. I demanded a test drive with the mechanic and went to a smooth part of a nearby road where he said he 'could feel it some but it's not bad enough for kia to fix it. Let us know if it gets worse'. The flip side of this statement is: gee, too bad your anticipated new car joy isn't going to happen, but kia is happy with it's anticipated profit, and won't act on this unless it gets worse. Multiple attempts to say costco gas is the problem.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 07, 2020
StateCA
Description
Engine hesitates or jerks until it warms up. Vehicle was bought new and have had it to the dealership and they say it is nothing is wrong. Based on all the complaints with this same problem it definitely is not normal.
CategorySeat Belts, Service Brakes
DateAug 04, 2020
StateFL
Description
On 7/25/2020, my 2019 kia sorento had complete brake failure, for the third time in 4 months. I took my sorento to my dealership service department where I was told that the problem was a "deformed booster brakes vacuum hose"which they replaced (2 days in the shop march 23rd too much 25th). On july 13, 2020 it happened again and the car was back at the dealership service department, for the second time. A week later(july 25th) they call to me to pick up the car. The service manager informed me that they had replace the host with an updated vacuum hose, and that kia cooperation engineers were aware of this problem. On saturday 5 days after having the vehicle back from the service department, the brakes failed again completely while I was driving, which resulted in a accident. My insurance company is calling it a total lost. My car is a lease with 9,800 miles only. I have had the car for 1 year only. My was not the only kia sorento brought back to the dealership with the same problem. What should I do?
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJul 31, 2020
StateAZ
Description
When accelerating from stop (19th ave and vineyard) the car will hesitate then take off at a fast rate of speed. There has been instances where the brake system hesitates to stop, almost like a delayed reaction (mostly while traveling on local streets such as west bound baseline rd). The brakes squill (all the time when braking) so bad and so loud. I feel like I've been ripped off on a car that's already giving problems less than six months of purchase. The city of all instances is phoenix, az.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 29, 2020
StateOH
Description
The transmission hesitates while accelerating. Acceleration is very slow in every mode except sport. The transmission still hesitates. Very unsafe. This occurs when kia is first started or accelerating after a turn. It's also noticeable when accelerating while merging onto the interstate.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 24, 2020
StateNY
Description
Like many others, my 2019 kia sorento v6 awd stumbles, hesitates and jerks when accelerating from a stop. Does it more pronounced when the vehicle is cold. Had it to the local kia dealership and they said it is a problem that kia is aware of and "they" would notify effected customers when they have a fix. Really! It has been 2 years and they still don't have a solution?
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 04, 2020
StatePA
Description
When pulling out onto the road pushing on the accelerator the vehicle wont accelerate ,pushing down on the accelerator another 1/8 of an inch and the vehicle will take off very fast, also it feels like a misfire at slow speeds. It happens always.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 29, 2020
StateFL
Description
The power windows are a safety hazard. They are all on an automatic feature, so when you touch the button they will either go down or go up all the way, and you cannot stop them. It's impossible to put the window down or up part of the way. My child's finger got caught in the window when I tried to raise it up half way. I took the car to a kia dealership, and the service advisor told me that's the way kia designed it, nothing can be done. Then I saw there is a class action lawsuit being handled by a law firm based on kia and hyundai models from 2016-2020. I have never had a car that had this ridiculous and dangerous problem. Kia needs to be prosecuted. Https://topclassactions. Com/lawsuit-settlements/auto-news/vehicle-safety-defect-class-action-lawsuit-investigation/
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 29, 2020
StateAL
Description
Transmission is giving hesitation from 1st to 2and gear and possibly 3rd.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 18, 2020
StateNH
Description
Stumbles horribly through the low gears during acceleration until hitting ~45-50mph on cold start-up (after sitting several hours or overnight). After engine warmup the effect begins to moderate, though it remains present at all times. Worse in eco and comfort drive modes. Going up hill the car accelerates faster which lurches the car forward and is very scary. Sounds like a misfire when I start the car this happens in the city/town and speeding up to get on the interstate. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 01, 2020
StateVA
Description
We only have about 14000 miles on the vehicle. The vehicle has been checked twice now for the transmission having a problem. Yet the "dealership" keeps telling us that it is not "reproducible" yet they "tell me they reset the computer" even though it did not kick any codes. The transmission - is very sluggish in getting into gear. (especially in the morning warmed up or not) the other issue I have tried to address with kia is the gap in the interior carpet of the third row. The dealerships hide it and when addressed with kia they try to cover it up. The carpet is gapped on the floor board. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 17, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Left side steering wheel control buttons for radio volume, muting, changing stations, changing radio modes, phone and phone hang up intermittently fail to function. Problem occurs almost daily and last anywhere from a few seconds to 15-20 minutes. The dealer service advisor has seen the issue at least 3 times but but the time it gets to the mechanic the problem resolves itself. Dealership has replace the affected buttons and the steering wheel clock spring. Problem continues but now with another twist. Now when trying to change the radio volume from steering wheel controls and when the button fails to perform the function intended the system activates my phone and calls the last number dialed. I cannot hang up from the steering wheel controls and have to find the hang up control on the center screen. This distraction has almost cost me an accident. Intermittant malfunction has been happening since the car was new in nov 2019 and continues to date now may 2020 with 14000 miles on vehicle. It does not make any difference if the vehicle is stopped or in motion for the problem to occur.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 12, 2020
StateMN
Description
When cruise control is set or just starting the kia and going it will without warning surge, jerk, and jump. The rpm needle will show acceleration from 2. 5 rpm and it jumps to 4. 5 rpm and stays their for awhile before going back down to 2. 5 rpm. This happens without notice and not on any incline or declines, it's on straight aways. This also happens at any speed when the cruise control is set or when just starting the kia and going. It's not just on the highway when this happens it also happens in city streets. It first only started happening when it was cold out but now it's happening even with warmer weather. I've taken it to kia of duluth many times and always get told nothing is wrong or to just change the drive mode from smart to eco but it doesn't make a difference and it has been doing this since I got the kia which was 16 months ago. *tr
CategoryWheels
DateMay 11, 2020
StateDE
Description
There has been a droning noise coming from the left front tire at speeds over 15 mph for a couple of months, and it continues to get louder. *tr
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 06, 2020
StateFL
Description
Our 2019 kia sorento lx v6 engine is surging and hesitating really bad. Car was brought in for service but nothing has worked to correct the issue. When pulling out onto the highway it will hesitate and then surge spinning the front tires, this is very serious safety issue! It has become dangerous for us to exit our development onto a busy high speed thoroughfare! Dealership indicates this is a known problem with the sorento and we should contact the manufacturer. We have driven other new kia models and none of them have this issue. *tr
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 20, 2020
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds with headlights on low, the headlight displayed a shadow and bounced. The vehicle was taken to the university kia of durham (5105 durham-chapel hill blvd, durham, nc 27707 919) 572-1700) where the headlights were adjusted and functioned as designed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 10,000. The vin was invalid.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateApr 19, 2020
StateGA
Description
Purchased vehicle new with 12 miles on it back sept. 2019. I noticed almost immediately that it feels like the car is lurching forward, or skipping like when I accelerate. I took to dealership to have them check it out. Before I could get it into service dept. Tech told me that they all do it. With the new sport, eco, comfort and it is trying to adjust to your driving habits. It is still doing it. The other day, it lunged forward like it wasn't going to stop when I had my foot on brakes. I am taking back to dealership to have it checked out again. Will post update. I personally thing kia needs to investigate problem.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateApr 14, 2020
StateVA
Description
Driving eastbound on I-66 east of cartharpin road, my sorento's sunroof exploded. The traffic was light at mid-morning, no construction in the area, smooth pavement, I was going about 65 mph. Exploding sound, I thought it was a blowout. Discovered large hole in the middle of the sunroof. Previous evening we had driving rain, temp down to about 40 overnight, current weather was sunny, 45-50 degrees. Car was leased new, has about 22k miles. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 11, 2020
StateTX
Description
Transmission hesitates from a stop and during acceleration at low speeds. Cannot seem to maintain consistent speed and acceleration. Dangerous pulling into traffic with a hesitation. Transmission feels skittish as if it is jumping between gears until you are up to speed around 50 miles per hour.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 04, 2020
StateVA
Description
Carpeting. Gap in the carpeting at the third row. The separation of the carpet was not something we knew about because it was hidden by dealer prep. It was discovered the first time we used the 3rd row for our grand children and were also installing better floor mats.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 01, 2020
StatePA
Description
On 3 separate occasions (2 of which occurred 3/1/20). After stopping my vehicle, I lost all electrical power when I attempted to restart. No displays, no lights and of course the vehicle wouldn't start. After exiting and entering the vehicle multiple times everything comes back on. The battery and alternator test fine and the keyfob battery is good, the vehicle was not in motion when the incidents occurred.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that while driving at 45mph, auto lane correction warning light illuminated. The contact lost control of the steering somehow managed to gain control which was difficult to steer the wheel and veer to the shoulder of the road. The contact then turn the vehicle off and back on and drove at low speed to the residence. Roadside assistance was contacted and towed the vehicle to greenway kia of hickory hollow 5406 target dr, antioch, tn 37013 (615) 731-0099 where it was diagnosed that the alternator failed needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not subjected to a recall. The failure mileage was approximately 10,200. B
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Steering
DateJan 27, 2020
StatePA
Description
Days previous to event was getting warning alerts on different problems. Called dealership when warning alerts continued happening. On day of event was driving on major route, when power steering became difficult as I pulled over the entire car shut down. No lights, no braking, no hazard lights to engage all systems down.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 13, 2020
StateIL
Description
Friday on an open street (no bridge or any other external force known) my sunroof basically imploded covering my passenger driver and myself in 1000 of glass pieces. I was lucky there were no subsequent injuries since I slowed down and hit the break and noone crashed into my car
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 13, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact took the vehicle to atlanta west kia (1301 thornton rd, lithia springs, ga 30122) because the check engine warning indicator was illuminated. The dealer determined that the knock sensor needed to be replaced and ordered the part. When the contact returned for the vehicle, she was informed that the wiring harness to the engine needed to be replaced due to rodent damage because the insulation was soy bean based. The repairs were not covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 9,166.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 12, 2019
StateWA
Description
The vehicle will unexpectedly surge when the accelerator is applied, especially from stopped and at low speeds. This unintended and abrupt is a safety hazard as there is the ongoing possibility of crashing into another vehicle or obstruction.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 10, 2019
StateFL
Description
While driving on highway, radio on and only connected via bluetooth. The radio screen was flickering and then shut down as if I manually turned off . As this happened the dashboard lights and my headlights shut off. I had to safely pull over and by the time that I did, I couldn't record it for evidence as it rebooted itself. I called right away and had to wait 2 days for appt. This is the 3rd time and rick case kia in sunrise fl keeps giving me the run around. My battery and alternator is fine. I honestly think they stop caring and just give me excuses and tell me they have to wait for mfg decision on my issue. My issue seems to happen when I am driving and cannot be on my phone recording as they want some kind of video as proof . So disgusted with their service and wished I wouldnt have gone with a kia.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateDec 02, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. While driving on the highway, the blind spot collision system sensor illuminated. The vehicle then jerked and stopped in the middle of the road with no other vehicles in proximity. Miami lakes kia (16600 nw 57th ave, miami lakes, fl 33014, (305) 820-3803) diagnosed a failure with the computer system. This was the second time the failure occured. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the contact was awaiting a new diagnosis. The manufacturer had not been contacted. The vehicle was purchased two months ago. The failure mileage was 70.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 30, 2019
StateNM
Description
The headlights have two weird shapes at the top line of the headlights. These shapes interfere with the clear driver view at night. This is dangerous and must be rectified immediately.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Power Train
DateNov 23, 2019
StateMA
Description
[xxx] I have some records from (lev kia) I am going to share with you as soon as I get them together, in the meantime I am going to drive this 2019 kia sorento and hope on the highway it does not decide to down shift at 60 or 70 mph like it was doing, especially if a large tractor trailer is behind me. I think it would be a mess when they find out that a (serious electric problem that the manager warren rios at lev kia told me that the vehicle has) caused the transmission to down shift, I will send those papers soon. Also if there was nothing wrong with the transmission, why did they replace the first one. They told me because of a moisture problem was the cause of the internal shifting modulator valve to act up, after the transmission was replaced I had the same problem I called and was told to bring it back and leave it they had to do a program update for the transmission to correct the modulator valve. How do you correct a moisture problem in an internal modulator valve with an update? We will see what your answer to this is, there were other problems with the #1 e-brake light coming on by itself #2 the right front head lamp lower lamp going out 2 times, they had it in the shop for three days and went through the wire harness cleaned all the connectors to the lamp. I told [xxx] that a lot of this happened after a heavy rain storm that something was getting wet and causing either a short or a surge or a bad ground connection, I have pictures of the e-brake light being on and the headlamp lower light out only on the right side. That's it for now I will sent the paper work soon. I am also sending a copy of this note to the attorney general's office and to kia corporate headquarters, and the better business bureau information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 14, 2019
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. While operating the vehicle, the passenger side seat belt released without a warning chime sounding. Gerald kia of north aurora (201 hansen blvd n, aura, il) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 08, 2019
StateNY
Description
On august 25, 2019, while driving home to new york, my wife sat in the front passenger seat and my daughter sat in the second row seat behind my wife, I stopped at a rest stop for gasoline at about 12:15 pm as I pulled into the area with my foot on the break to slow down, the car surged forward and I pressed hard to stop the car. It stopped. On the same day, at 4:17 pm, I pulled into a sunoco gas station. With my foot on the break as I pulled into the station, the car surged, I pressed hard and the car slowed down. I slowly pulled around the two occupied pumps and pulled behind the other pumps. (time-4:19pm) a car was at the first pump and a man was standing at his gas tank pumping gas. With my foot on the break, I slowly moved behind his car at about 2 mph and the car accelerated. I pushed hard on the break. The car continued to accelerate and hit the protective barrier surrounding the gas pump. Both front air bags deployed. Fortunately, no one was injured. The car was towed. My insurance company, allstate declared the car 'totaled.' included in a service was a recall for a computer mechanism c/s: sa387 um tcu logic improvement dtc p0741. Kia told me it was related to the transmission. Did this recall replacement contribute to the accident? I told kia central also that the fca (forward collision avoidance assist) did not engage on august 16. Did this malfunction contribute to the accident? These concerns were never addressed or investigated by kia motors. Numerous calls to kia central and to kia consumer assistance center were attempted without resolution and most times ignored. On september 24, kia from central called me to inform me that the case was closed. Kia did not evaluate the car or ameliorate the situation. Kia needs to investigate the 2019 kia sorrento for malfunctioning performance. People could get seriously injured or die! *js
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateNov 04, 2019
StateMA
Description
I sent this to [xxx] I have some records from (lev kia) I am going to share with you as soon as I get them together, in the meantime I am going to drive this 2019 kia sorento and hope on the highway it does not decide to down shift at 60 or 70 mph like it was doing, especially if a large tractor trailer is behind me. I think it would be a mess when they find out that a (serious electric problem that the manager [xxx] at lev kia told me that the vehicle has) caused the transmission to down shift, I will send those papers soon. Also if there was nothing wrong with the transmission, why did they replace the first one. They told me because of a moisture problem was the cause of the internal shifting modulator valve to act up, after the transmission was replaced I had the same problem I called and was told to bring it back and leave it they had to do a program update for the transmission to correct the modulator valve. How do you correct a moisture problem in an internal modulator valve with an update? We will see what your answer to this is, there were other problems with the #1 e-brake light coming on by itself #2 the right front head lamp lower lamp going out 2 times, they had it in the shop for three days and went through the wire harness cleaned all the connectors to the lamp. I told warren rios that a lot of this happened after a heavy rain storm that something was getting wet and causing either a short or a surge or a bad ground connection, I have pictures of the e-brake light being on and the headlamp lower light out only on the right side. That's it for now I will sent the paper work soon. I am also sending a copy of this note to the attorney general's office and to kia corporate headquarters, and the better business bureau information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategorySteering
DateOct 23, 2019
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. While driving 30 mph, the steering wheel failed to move and all the instrument panel warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to scott kia of springfield (321 baltimore pike, springfield, pa 19064, (610) 544-0100) where it was diagnosed that the power steering assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. Upon leaving a parking lot, the steering wheel seized and failed to move. The vehicle was taken to the same local dealer who stated that the power steering parts were on backorder. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 4,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 17, 2019
StateGA
Description
2019 kia sorento, purchased on 8/11/19 that has had an issue with vibration since day one.. One dealership told me that it was flat spotted tires and that I would need to take it back to the dealership where it was purchased. Dealership where it was purchased said it was high radial force on two tires and replaced those two. Vibration was still there and I took it back again and was told that the tires were just crappy(brand) and there was nothing they could do about it, but I could replace them. I contacted kia consumer affairs and they agreed to give 0 toward a new set of tires, which I had put on and am still waiting on my 0. You guessed it, the problem with vibration is still there at low and high speeds. In fact, I have video of my water bottle shaking in my cup holder with the vehicle parked. Also there is a major issue with hesitation with this new 8 speed transmission. The dealership told me that I would just have to go somewhere else for another opinion. Worst experience that I have ever had with a brand new vehicle.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 15, 2019
StateLA
Description
My sorrento started to ride very rough and felt like engine was knocking and mthe vehicle would start to shake. I pulled over turn vehicle off checked all my levels everything was ok except low washer fluid. Proceeded home no problem. Next day after working and running errands same thing happened this time engine light came on. Brought it to auto zone and the error code given is p0200. And I notice that my vehicle is burning a large amount of fuel. The next day the light was off no problem but on yesterday 10/14/19 it has started again.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 12, 2019
StateKY
Description
Our new 2019 kia sorento ex v6 engine and new 8 speed transmission surging and hesitation really bad, especially in lower rpms. We have had it into service 5 time now but nothing has worked to fix the issue. When pulling out onto the highway it will hesitate and surge, this is very dangerous! The new 8 speed transmission shifts way to soon, so it does not keep the rpms up long enough to get the car going sufficiently therefore causes surging.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
Within on week of purchasing my new kia sorento, I experienced a windshield crack that spread quickly across the windshield within 24 hours. The windshield should be built better. I've never had such an issue with other makes from previous cars. I had purchased the platinum protection plan but was told it would not cover. I called the dealership at which I purchased the car for help only to be given the run around being transferred to multiple departments. The crack spread from the bottom left corner across the middle of the windshield in my line of sight making it difficult to clearly see. I had to pay myself to get the windshield completely replaced. I am disappointed in the quality of my kia and the service I have received.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateOct 10, 2019
StateME
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. While driving approximately 60 mph, the forward collision warning message suddenly displayed. Moments later, the vehicle abruptly stopped without any other vehicles in the vicinity. After turning the vehicle off and restarting the engine, the vehicle operated normally; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to van syckle kia (729 hogan rd, bangor, me), but the cause of the failure could not be determined. Later, while driving approximately 40 mph, the 'blind side collision' message displayed and suddenly activated, which abruptly stopped the vehicle without any other vehicles around. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and provided case number: 13352019. The failure mileage was 5,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 27, 2019
StateTX
Description
Purchased car in jan 2019. Car studders on acceleration of car under all conditions. Acceleration is always rough. Two time and several calls to dealer has been of no help. I keep getting told by dealer that kia is working on software fix for the problem and that all kia sorento's have same problem.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateSep 16, 2019
StateWA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. While attempting to accelerate from a complete stop, the vehicle did not respond and then suddenly accelerated. The contact stated that the failure occurred all the time ever since the vehicle was purchased in april of 2019. The vehicle was taken to steve hann auto group (1730 s 1st st, yakima, wa 98901) on three occasions, but they were not able to replicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 10,500.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 06, 2019
StatePA
Description
I noticed an engine/ transmission hesitation problem. I currently have 6500 miles on my 2019 sorento ex v6 awd.. When I took it to the dealer for an oil change I told them about the hesitation especially in eco and smart modes. Sometimes it hesitates initially from a stopped position but the real concern it hesitates after you pull into an intersection which is very dangerous because it prevents you from driving away from oncoming traffic. This is a huge safety problem. I mentioned this to two kia employees and they said that they had the same problem with their kia vehicles. The service department said they checked my vehicle and did not find a problem but the 'reset' the transmission computer. It did not fix the problem. There are two other similar complaints listed on this site and many reports of this on the kia sorento forum. This problem is well documented.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 03, 2019
StateNY
Description
My 2019 v6 kia sorento stumbles and hesitates under part throttle, low rpm, acceleration regardless of speed. It's more noticeable in city driving, but is present when traveling on the highway. Keeping the transmission in 'sport' mode reduces the severity, but does not eliminate it. When I place the gear selector in manual mode, and lock in a higher (numerically) gear, I can duplicate the hesitation. I had my dealership reflash the logic controlling the transmission, per a tsb, but that only partially addressed the issue so it may be a combination of fuel delivery/automatic gear selection. I believe it's more of a fuel delivery problem, though. Sometimes the hesitation is such that it prevents prompt acceleration, posing a safety concern. I've used various fuel system cleaners designed for gdi engines with limited success. My vehicle has 13k miles on it, and it has performed in this manner sincei bought it apx. 2k miles, and two months, ago.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 24, 2019
StateGA
Description
When pulling out or starting out the car hesitates making it very unsafe when pulling out in traffic. I have reported it to the kia service center, but they could not find anything wrong with it. It is very frustrating and unsafe. This has been going on since I purchased the car in may.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 18, 2019
StateFL
Description
Purchased new 2/22/19. Reported acceleration hesitation problem to the dealer the next day. Since then it has been in the dealers shop over 30 days. Consistently hesitation and stumbles on acceleration. Kia motor co, has denied their is an issue and vehicle is running properly according to design. Kia engineers agreed there was an issue with my car but no fix available. I drove 3 different brand new sorento's with exact drivetrain and they all performed exactly as my car. Almost got run over last week trying to accelerate on an interstate on ramp.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 06, 2019
StateIA
Description
Transmission stumbles / hesitates when accelerating up hill or on level surface at low speeds. Vehicle briefly and repeatedly lurches under acceleration as if driving on patchy ice-covered road surface. Noticeable to driver and passengers. Worst in comfort, smart and eco modes. Not as pronounced, but still present in sport mode. Most noticeable when driving shortly after start-up. Less noticeable after 10-15 minutes driving.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 06, 2019
StateOH
Description
My 2019 kia sorento has hesitations while ramping up in speed. Told dealership about this after the 1st week of ownership. Told it was nothing since it didn't show up in sport mode. I'm seeing in forums that this is a problem with the 8 speed trans. Dropping off to dealership today for them to look at it again.
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateAug 05, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was out of town when my airbag warning light came on, indicating a problem with the vehicle's airbags. I contacted kia and was told the repair should take 2-4 hours. However, after trying a fix the dealer discovered that a wiring harness in the front console was faulty and needed to be replaced. They have now had the car for a week. I am not sure if any or all of the airbags would've failed during a wreck but felt this was significant enough to report, especially since the vehicle has less than 10,000 miles on it.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 22, 2019
StateNH
Description
Loud engine rattle noise when starting engine that has been shut off overnight. Sounds like the camshaft chain hydraulic tensioner is bleeding down. Tensioner does not maintain a correct initial position. Noise diminishes within a minute or so of stationary engine run.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 18, 2019
StateCO
Description
When driving at high altitudes, the car seems to want to stall. We will be driving along just fine and then there is hesitation for a moment and then the car will be going along just fine again and the hesitation happens again. This is continuous throughout our entire high altitude drives. Usually occurs at approximately 8000-10,000 ft in elevation. Seems to occur more often at 40 miles per hour. I am scared we will have complete failure of the car in the mountains and have no cell phone service in order to call someone for help. We have only had this car for about 6 weeks and have taken 4 high altitude drives and this happens everytime. Took the car to the dealership and they told us this is a known issue and kia is working on it. How long will it take kia to resolve this issue? I don't want stall somewhere and create a hazardous condition for myself, passengers, and others surrounding me. Please see kia gets this taken care of as soon as possible for everyone's safety.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateJul 18, 2019
StateMD
Description
My kia sorento 2019 has been acting weird for a while. I had talked to the service guys and I was told all is fine. Here are some of the major issues: 1. The car has an issue of acceleration. Once it reaches 45mph it becomes noisy and it feels like the engine is about to explode. The answer from the service guys:" it is normal." 2. The brakes: it takes too much time to stop. So, even if I keep my distance from the car in front of me, I always struggle to stop at the safe distance at the stop sign or lights. The answer from the service guys: 'no problem with the brakes.' 3. After driving for an hour or so, the motor overheats significantly. 4. Finally, the car rolled back from the parking lot (while on the park mode ) and injured two people, and damaged another car.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 06, 2019
StatePA
Description
We purchased a 2019 kia sorento sxl on may 4, 2019, and took delivery on may 6, 2019. The first day that I drove the car it stumbled when I tried to pull out from a stop. I thought it might be a fluke or a computer learning event but it continues to happen occasionally. We have had two close calls trying to merge into traffic when the car starts to pull-out then it stumbles with no accelerator response for a few seconds, then it takes off like a shot. I joined the kia forum to see if anyone else reported this happening and found that several owners had the same complaint. They all say that the dealership claims that there is nothing wrong and that the vehicle is operating as designed. We now own a car that we are afraid to drive because it happens sporadically and you cannot predict when it will happen again. I called jim shorkey kia and explained the problem and was told that people have to learn how electric throttle controls (fly-by-wire) operate. That is garbage because our 2011 equinox and my 2014 cadillac cts sportwagon are both fly by wire and neither of them has ever exhibited this phenomenon. When jim shorkey checked for codes and drove the car for 11 miles they told me that the new 8-speed transmission might be the problem but there no programming updates for it yet. I know a little bit about cars having worked as a mechanic for over 50 years and am positive that this is not acceptable. I believe it to be in the redundant app sensor to the throttle motor and computer control system. I am afraid that this will result in accidents with severe injuries and damage. I feel that kia should recall these cars and find a proper fix.
CategorySteering
DateJun 05, 2019
StateKY
Description
2019 kia sorento experiences swaying at interstate speeds. Must continuously steer left and right to keep it in the lane. In light wind it is much worse. Kia did not find a problem. The vehicle has 3100 miles on it. When purchased it only had 16 miles on it.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 04, 2019
StateMN
Description
Leased the car in march and by end of may it was ideling rough and clicking. Got a message on my screen engine control system failure and a check engine light came on. Took it onto the dealer and with less than 2900 miles it needs a new engine. Now it will be about 3 months (they are backlogged) until I get it back!!
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 09, 2019
StateMN
Description
When cruise control is set the vehicle will without warning surge , jerk and jump. The rpm needle will show acceleration. This happens without notice and not on any incline or declines, on straight aways. This happens at any speed when the cruise control is set.
CategorySteering
DateMay 07, 2019
StateAZ
Description
In stationary position. Car off. The plastic covers on the bottom of the steering wheel broke off. The plastic connecting them did not match and is of poor design.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 18, 2019
StateAZ
Description
Rear seat belts do not stay latched. I have car seats installed with the seat belts and the keep coming undone, whether there is a child in the seat or not. This has been happening since I purchased the vehicle, at 167 miles!! Am at 417 now and it has happened at least 5 more times.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 21, 2019
StateFL
Description
The automatic lights on low beam are aimed too high and are blinding at night. Every car that passes me at night flashes their high beam lights at me; even a state trooper flashed his lights at me and blue lights, he didn't pull me over. I feel bad driving this vehicle at night, people are thinking I'm rude for driving with my high beams on, when I'm using my low beams. The high beams on this vehicle offer no additional lighting of the road, but they do light up the tops of trees very well. Also, the low beam lights are pointed too far to the left and right and leave a large dark " v " shaped void in the middle, exactly where my eyes focus on the road. The dealer checked everything, states operating as designed, they have no ability to adjust the lights. Per the service department: the kia tech line personnel are denying there are any issues with the lights. This is definitely something kia needs to fix. The lights are the only thing I don't like about the vehicle, and it only has about 1400 miles so far. The problem is mostly noticeable when driving at night on dark unlit roads, highways or rural driving.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 14, 2019
StateCA
Description
I was driving in a normal freeway, beautiful day, suddenly for not reason my fron windshield got a crack, out of the blue, very scary. I did call kia right the way, I told them I was driving from la to san francisco on the freeway 5, on vacation for 4 days, what happen, I was afraid the crack continue expanding, they told me to take the car to a dealer & they will take care of it - when I came back after my vacation with the kids, we called went to dealer kia in glendale, they said was a rock!! Won't cover it, I called manufacturer again, they said don't worry go again to dealer they will help you out, nobody is helping us, car is not safe, we had been mistreated, verbally abuse 7 nobody is doing anything to help us out. Car was brand new, less than 30 days, defective, you can trust this car, it is a rip off!! Very upsted & deapointed with kia, 1st and last time. I have been driving for over 30 years, never had a situation like this with any car
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 04, 2019
StateNY
Description
Blind spot warning quits after extended driving in heavy rain. Which I understand but it will not work for a week or so after. Dealer worked on it twice already. Kia tec says this is normal. Find it hard to believe this is normal if, it just stopped working during the rain is one thing, but not to work for a week after is not right. Bought this car because of this safety feature and paid good money for it. The dealer agrees with me and also says its not right ,but kia does not want to back up this warranty. Kia has a 9 or 10 point bulletin on when this feature will not work but will not tell you before you buy the car. The dealer agreed with me kia has a moisture problem, but won't do anything about it.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 12, 2018
StateCO
Description
Refer to complaints 11111999 (7/17/18) and 11142824 (10/26/18) on this site which are similar. When driving in dark, rural areas with low beams on, two inverted "half moon" shadows disrupt the driver's ability to see. As the vehicle turns, these headlights also turn (as they are designed to do) and this makes the disruption to safe operation even worse. This was reported to the dealer after delivery (8/2018) and we were referred to kia consumer affairs. They opened a "case", then closed it abruptly, and after further complaint, have reopened a new "case". They have stated they will do nothing about this issue as their position if that the vehicle is "performing as designed". As they abruptly closed the first case they offered "free 3-year maintenance" (oil changes) which we refused as this is a significant safety issue. We cannot drive the vehicle at night, nor use this 7-passenger vehicle to transport our grandchildren, making it virtually useless for our needs. Kia has confirmed they will not address this "case" other than to leave it "open" we urge nhtsa to conduct an investigation of this unsafe vehicle and the non-responsive kia organization who are refusing action and hiding behind their "performing as designed" excuse.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 26, 2018
StateCT
Description
In any dark area when using low beams are used a shade comes down across front windshield and you can not see out in motion and stationary dark city streets , back rds. Any where it is pitch dark.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 26, 2018
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 kia sorento. The contact stated that the front passenger seat belt alert did not chime when the seat belt was not buckled. The contact called south hills kia at 724-942-3000 (located at 3644 washington rd, mcmurray, pa 15317) where the technician was unable to explain the failure. The technician promised to look into the matter and call the contact back, but the contact had not received a response. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not offer an explanation. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 800. *tt consumer stated passenger side seatbelt no warning light or sound. Updated 11/28/18*jb *js
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 24, 2018
StateNY
Description
Car has problem when driving in econo mode. Will hesitate when given gas in morning and at times when pulling out in traffic. Note never informed about the problem before leasing of car. Told by service department that is the way it was designed. May cause problems for other drivers or accidents. Note by mileage was never test driven after so called fix.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 17, 2018
StateCA
Description
At night time when the vehicle head lamps are on, there are two triangular shaped objects that are shadowed from part of the head lamp housing. These project into the distance and are an obstruction and make the driver dizzy and it appears as though there is something ahead that you may hit. These shapes also move from side to side as you drive around bends in the road making it even worse and making the driver and the passengers dizzy. It is extremely dangerous and will likely cause an accident. The car is not drivable at night due to this flaw in the design. I have a case logged with kia and they say that the design cannot change and that they have manufactured over 10,00+ of these vehicles. This is a brand new car and it is very poorly designed and very unsafe to drive in the evening. Everyone needs to know this and not buy this car, I also now have to fight with kia to get my money back which will not be fun.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
8 COMMENTS
  • Sue

    My 2019 Kia Sorento has the same issues with transmission as other people are stating. Clunking and jerking. Slow acceleration and lagging acceleration through intersections. Kia Canada won’t help out under basic warranty even though I’ve taken it in and complained that it started at 7,000km. Now I have to fight for the issue under extended warranty. This is not right!!

  • Zia

    My sorento in pakistan is 3.5 Lamda II V6. I m facing issue of AC comprossor grinding noise which only heard when u switch off the Ac button. Company has replaced the Ac compressor twice, but problem keep on reoccurring. If any expert may share email address. I can sent the video of griding sound I noted

  • Brian C

    My 2019 Sorento SX V6 had a sudden down shift at highway speed, luckily I was coming to a traffic light. Has anyone else had same issue. Truck only has 42,700+ miles on it.

  • Debbie W

    Has anyone had problems with the camera’s not sensing objects? I’ve had it going in on 3 times now with a different reason each time.. If I put it in reverse it will notify me I’m to close to something.

  • James D

    Maybe 10 times or so, after coming to a complete stop and while waiting to proceed with my foot on the brakes, I have felt it drop into first gear. Three or four of those times it was such a distinct thud I could feel in the steering wheel, the seat and the floorboard. Either it hadn’t fully downshifted into 1st by the time I stopped, or it downshifted all the way into 1st then into to neutral, and what I’m feeling is it fall back into 1st. Other times were more subtle but still detectable. That stopped after a couple thousand miles.

    Power is still not smoothly transmitted to the wheels. It stumbles when cold and sometimes I feel it on a long drive on the freeway. Got an Uber ride from the airport once. Driver had the identical car and said he experienced similar problems. Three times, when cold and only having driven a mile or less, it has bucked while accelerating in 3rd or 4th gear hard enough to rock my head forward. It’s tempting to think fuel system, but the above items and the uneven delivery of power to the wheels at high speeds also, is more like transmission surge from a lack of consistent fluid pressure being maintained in each gear. I’m thinking valve body, torque converter, if lucky maybe just a bad PCM. In ECO mode it’s downright dangerous and more than once I thought I’d get killed trying to turn onto a busy road. Less noticeable in comfort mode.

    I take it easy on a car and my last one lasted 12 ½ years. I researched the hell out of SUVs and chose the Kia over the Accord RDX and Ford Edge. I’m not happy with the driving experience to date. Dealer said “mechanic couldn’t duplicate my surge problem so I agreed to go back test drive with the mechanic. Went to a smooth part of a nearby road where he said he “could feel it some but it’s not bad enough for KIA to replace the transmission. Let us know if it gets worse“. The flip side of this statement is: Gee, too bad your anticipated new car joy isn’t going to happen, but KIA is happy with it’s anticipated profit, and won’t act on this unless it gets worse. Multiple attempts by both to say Costco gas is the problem. BS!

  • James G

    2019 Kia Sorento V-6. Stumbles and jerks, especially when cold or climbing a hill. It will then down shift and jerk the passengers hard.

  • Tanya D

    MY 2019 V6 KIA SORENTO STUMBLES AND HESITATES UNDER PART THROTTLE, LOW RPM, ACCELERATION REGARDLESS OF SPEED. IT’S MORE NOTICEABLE IN CITY DRIVING, Cold start car is rough on start. I have brought this to the deal TWICE they did the recall but car is still doing it, brought it back a second time deal said it doesn’t do it. I plan to bring it back again.

  • Joe M

    2019 Kia Sorento misfires. took to shop several times. They said they fixed and i agreed to settle and except payment but have emails that say i can lemon car if continues. Vehicle is still doing it and Kia. took to shop again tech said it was misfiring. Tech responded didn’t find misfire. Kia refusing me service now.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.