2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Service Brakes, Electrical and Transmission issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

For people looking to find a reliable and durable family SUV, it makes sense that they buy a 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After all, it has been a top-rated model for many years, mainly due to the American build and reputation. This model boasts of “Raising the Bar,” but is evident that the quality is only going downhill. From defective powertrains to faulty electrical systems and malfunctioning service brakes, there are many examples of how low the bar truly is.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2014   2018   2020  2021  2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
37
Unknown Or Other
28
Power Train
22
Engine
19
Service Brakes
9
Air Bags
7
Steering
6
Vehicle Speed Control
6
Exterior Lighting
5
Service Brakes, Hydraulic
5

Problems with the Transmission

This SUVs powertrain is meant to be strong and rugged. Even though this is a family vehicle, it also claims to handle off-road travel for additional adventure. With that in mind, the components must be able to withstand a lot of abuse, but that’s not most owners’ experience.

Even on Edmunds, you can find real customers complaining about the defects. “This car started shifting hard and rough less than one week after I bought it with less than 1,000 miles on it. It has spent more time at the dealership to get fixed than it has in my driveway. Dealership cannot fix the issues and they are getting worse with the car refusing to shift, park or turn off now.”

Out of only three service bulletins that the automaker provides, one of them (18-044-19) is for the powertrain. It appears that some owners experience a Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) illumination along with several Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs). These are either related to the Engine Restart Performance, Engine Stop/Start (ESS) or the Intake Air Temperature Sensor 1 Performance. To fix any of these, the PCM requires an update from the dealer. In the meantime, transmissions everywhere are misbehaving and owners can’t figure out why. What makes it worse is when the dealer acts like they don’t know what the problem is – leaving customers to feel insane.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Transmission Problems:

ON STARTUP WHEN COLD. TRANSMISSION IS WEIRD HARD SHIFTS. SEEMS TO NOT KNOW WHAT GEAR TO BE IN. SUDDEN STOP IN TRANSMISSION BETWEEN 1ST. AND 2ND. GEAR.VEHICLE AT 1300 MILES TOOK TO DEALER THEY TEST DROVE ONE MILE (1) ADVISED ME OF TSB REPORT FROM JEEP IN MOTION WITH TRANSMISSION. ADJUSTMENT TO CONTROL SHIFT IS EVEN WORSE THAN BEFORE. JERKY AND ALMOST DEAD DROP IN TRANSMISSION ON BRAND NEW VEHICLE IS HARD TO BELIEVE. LIKE TO SEE TSB REPORT. 20 PLUS YEARS AUTO MECHANIC MYSELF.DEALER DID EXPERIENCE THE TROUBLE I HAVE WITH VEHICLE.

TRANSMISSION SHIFTS HARD AND ROUGH. MAINLY SHUTTERS THE ENTIRE CAR WHEN THE AUTOMATIC TRANS DOWNSHIFTS FROM 3-2-1 GEARS. VERY NOTICABLE FROM 2-1 GEAR. WILL ALMOST SURGE/JUMP THE CAR FROM THESE TWO GEARS. THIS CAN BE A HAZARD AS IF I WAS TO STOP FAST IT WILL JERK THE ENTIRE CAR AND ALMOST LUNGES THE CAR FORWARD WHEN DOING SO. THIS CAR WAS BOUGHT JULY 27TH, 2019, WITH 2K MILES ON IT. TOOK IT INTO THE DEALER AND OF COARSE THEY DENY ANY ISSUE AS THEY WOULD BE OUT THOUSANDS OF LABOR DOLLARS IF THEY WERE TO FIX 1 CAR. SO IT’S TOO EASY FOR THEM TO PASS OFF THAT IT’S FINE.

CAR STALLS WHEN DECELERATING. HAPPENED ON RESIDENTIAL STREETS ONLY AS WE REFUSED TO TAKE THE HIGHWAY FOR FEAR OF AN ACCIDENT.

Problems with the Electrical System

Along with the powertrain, the electrical system appears to be just as much of a problem. As with the last issue, we see a similar problem.

One NHTSA review says, “Stop/Start System Warning Light. When the car was stationary at a traffic light, the car turns off at the stop light and does not restart as it is supposed to when the accelerator is pushed. All items on the shift indicator begin to flash. Car must be turned off and restarted. The stop/start system warning light stays on. This has happened three times and is extremely dangerous.”

We see this same problem addressed in the last Service Bulletin. Jeep hasn’t chosen to release many communications, probably with the hopes that they can cover up the problems. After all, how would the company “Raise the Bar” if their vehicle is riddled with issues? They must not be aware that most people take to the Internet these days to do their research and have found countless other owners complaining about the same things. Sorry Jeep, but your “nothing to see here, move along” mentality doesn’t work in this day and age.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Electrical Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, A WARNING INDICATOR APPEARED, NOTIFYING THE CONTACT TO PULL OVER WITHIN THE NEXT FIFTY MINUTES. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE WAS CONTACTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BATTERY WAS SEVERELY DISCHARGED. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,321.

CONTINUALLY GETTING LOW VOLTAGE ISSUES DESPITE HAVING IT “FIXED” AT THE DEALER. PARKING BRAKE WON’T TURN OFF.

STOP/START SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT. WHEN THE CAR WAS STATIONARY AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT THE CAR TURNS OFF AT STOP LIGHT AND DOES NOT RESTART AS IT IS SUPPOSED TO WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS PUSHED. ALL ITEMS ON THE SHIFT INDICATOR BEGIN TO FLASH. CAR MUST BE TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. THE STOP/START SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT STAYS ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES AND IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

Problems with the Brakes

With all the powertrain and electrical trouble, one could only hope that the brakes work correctly. Otherwise, collisions are imminent. Sadly, that’s not a part that can be depended on with this SUV.

Just look at this NHTSA review. “We leased a new 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee LTD on February 1, 2019. Around the beginning of April, we noticed that the brake pedal had to be depressed further than when it was new to stop the vehicle. Each week it was getting worse to the point where now it goes all the way to the floor and does not stop with confidence. We have stopped driving it before it fails completely. Waiting for service appointment with the dealer.”

What’s interesting about the brake problems is what’s found in Service Bulletin #9004028, or more importantly, what’s not found in the communication. It appears that Jeep is replacing a lot of master cylinders, but we wouldn’t know why because they don’t outline the trouble. Instead, they tell all technicians to call two main people at Chrysler to discuss the repair prior to doing this. There are only two reasons for this. 1. They are replacing so many that the higher-ups want more control over it, or 2. They are trying to hide something. Either way, this isn’t good news for owners. The larger red flag is how hush-hush everything is with the company. They sure seem to be Raising the Bar, but only in the sense of becoming the shadiest automaker yet.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Brake Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT LEASES A 2019 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE PRECEDING VEHICLE STOPPED SUDDENLY. THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BAYSIDE CHRYSLER JEEP WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE BRAKES PERFORMED NORMALLY AND NO FAILURE WAS FOUND. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Jeep pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
In june 2022, recall z48/nhtsa 22v-426 was announced. The recall impacts the 2019 jeep grand cherokee overland we purchased in september 2022. At the time of purchase, a remedy for the recall was anticipated "soon" and "in a timely manner," according to both the manufacturer and dealership. Nearly 6 months since the recall was announced, there is no remedy. Our business prohibits use of any vehicle with an open recall. Efforts to use the vehicle for other purposes, including rental services (such as turo, among others) have failed due to the open recall. We have incurred significant financial loss of income as a direct result. The manufacturer refuses to offer a replacement vehicle, refuses return and will not compensate for losses incurred. The manufacturer and dealership both confirm there is "no remedy expected in the immediate future". The vehicle is financed through the dealership, and ongoing payments are expected from the finance company, even as we cannot use the vehicle for its primary purpose. A remedy has not been provided as required "in a timely manner," and the manufacturer's refusal to compensate or accept a return of the vehicle egregious.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
Backup camera sometimes stays on after shifting out of reverse and it takes many tries to turn off. It also sometimes comes on randomly while driving and won't turn off right away.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 24, 2022
StateFL
Description
Jeep dealer has still not issued a repair solution for the open recall on my car that was issued in june 2022. The recall cannot be repaired as jeep does not have a solution in order to fix.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
Recall (22v-426) is now 6months old with no solution. Is car really safe to drive? Cannot sell it. Isn't 6 months too long?
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 21, 2022
StateVA
Description
My rear windshield shattered without any reason. It was a cold morning (30f). I used the remote start feature to turn on the car. When I start the car and start moving, I heard the shattering sound and my whole back windshield is broken. There we no scratches and prior damages on the back windshield.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 18, 2022
StateFL
Description
Ublock radio information center screen delaminating leading to eventual failure
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Service Brakes
DateNov 16, 2022
StatePA
Description
Outstanding recall z-48. This recall was first identified in june 2022. The dealers cannot fix the problem because chrysler corp. Has not provided a solution. This is affecting the operation of the vehicle and probably reducing the resale value. Five months seems to me too long a time not to have a solution. Can the government give them an ultimatum of either provide the fix in the next 30 / 60 days or provide a cash discount on trading in the vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 16, 2022
StateNY
Description
Power rear liftgate top attachment stud holding the power drive to the body of the vehicle sheared off, causing the very heavy liftgate to come crashing down. Fortunately I was able to jump back. The liftgate probably weighs about 150 pounds. It seem that a small 1/4" stud that holding this in place is not adequate for the load. There does seem to be some internet discussion of this happening to others. This vehicle only has 40,000 miles on it.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateNov 09, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the vehicle started overheating and the engine overheating light illuminated. The contact was able to pull over and waited for the vehicle to cool down and the vehicle operated normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the mechanic stated that coolant was leaking into the engine and the egr cooler needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vin was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 20v699000 (engine and engine cooling) and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline to file a complaint. The failure mileage was 41,115.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
Uconnect gps not showing correct location uconnect screen delamination
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateNov 02, 2022
StateWV
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the stabili-trak control warning light and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the abs module, hydraulic control module, and the stabili-trak control needed to be replaced. The contact was then informed by the dealer that the vin was included in the nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available and the contact was advised to call the nhtsa hotline. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 76,000. Parts distributions disconnect.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateNov 02, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateOct 21, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 07, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Vehicle start and shift out of park without depressing the brake pedal
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 07, 2022
StateKY
Description
The u connect screen is delaminating! I'm afraid some features may stop working.
CategoryService Brakes, Air:antilock:abs Warning Light, Service Brakes, Hydraulic
DateOct 03, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated upon starting the vehicle, the abs warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was test driven. The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 11,198. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
The infotainment screen is faulty, it is delaminating and causing a lot of distracting and dangerous driving issues: - rear camera and warnings do not work correctly - screen flickers, and changes screen which is very distracting while driving. - screen will randomly turn on or off and change settings. It has been ongoing since december 2021, I took it to the dealer who told me it was just a software issue and it would update and fix it. It never did. I took it back (now out of warranty) told me they would fix it and ordered the part. After trying to contact them, 6 weeks later, they are now refusing to fix it. Jeep are telling me the same thing.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
The ignition mechanism of my vehicle. The push to start. I was driving and the push to start mechanism just fell inside its housing. I've never seen anything like this. Luckily, I wasn't driving very fast. I was able to slow down and park. However, I could not turn the car off. I had to get out of the car and try to find the ignition button which had apparently fallen out of the housing. After feeling around through a hole underneath the steering wheel I was able to feel the ignition in order to turn it off.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
The front panel of the panoramic sunroof exploded into small pieces for no apparent reason. I was driving under 35 mph, on a 2 lane road, in clear, warm weather. I heard a "pop", then glass sliding over the roof of the car. In the rear view mirror, I then saw glass falling past the back window. When I stopped to investigate, I found that glass had also fallen down onto the fabric shade, which was thankfully closed. Broken glass falling into the passenger compartment could cause the driver to lose control of the vehicle resulting in a collision, as well as causing direct injury to occupants. After this incident, I found other reports of spontaneous jeep sunroof failures/explosions online. I will be taking my vehicle to a dealer and filing a warranty claim. I was traveling out of state (1300 miles from home) and could not find replacement glass at any dealers within 250 miles of my return route. Friends vacuumed out most of the glass on the shade before covering the entire opening, and what was left of the panel, with aluminum hvac tape for my journey home. I can still hear glass falling down onto the shade when I drive the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateAug 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
Vehicle was purchased on 8/11/2022. After the vehicle was stopped, turned off & emergency brake set, the brake lights continued to stay on for several minutes.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Hydraulic:antilock/traction Control/electronic Limited Slip:control Unit/module
DateAug 25, 2022
StateFL
Description
2019 jeep grand cherokee. Consumer writes in regard to nhtsa safety recall 22v-426. The consumer requested confirmation that the vehicle was safe to driver without having the recall completed.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph the vehicle would shift hard and fail to accelerate over 40 mph. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer, who informed the contact that the transmission needed to be disassembled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified but no additional assistance was provided. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.
CategorySeats, Seats:critical Fasteners
DateAug 15, 2022
StateNJ
Description
the contact's daughter owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the second-row passenger seat release button was depressed and the seat catapults forward towards the front of the seat. The occupants' head and feet were pinched between the drivers' seats. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
Small evap leak code has been on my car for almost 12 months. Jeep dealer is not able to identify a fix because the code is so broad and could be triggered by many different issues. Check engine light cannot be cleared due to evap leak
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 21, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated while reversing, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled before independently shifting to park(p). There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the battery was reset and the vehicle operated normally; however, the failure reoccurred. The vehicle was taken to another dealer however, the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The contact stated that vehicle had also started independently before. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The contact was then informed that the vehicle was out of warranty. The failure mileage was 46,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
2019 jeep grand cherokee radio is delaminating. This causes components to either not respond or to activate on their own without driver activation. This known delaminating issue is a serious safety concern as the instrument panel controls the large majority of the components in the vehicle.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJul 18, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v426000 (service brakes, hydraulics) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The dealer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 06, 2022
StateSC
Description
Recall on this vehicle that the dealer is unable to repair at this time. It poses a safety risk as the car can potentially shift out of break without knowing .
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:tailgate:latch
DateJul 05, 2022
StateIA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the tailgate opened independently and without warning. The dealer was contacted and notified of the failure however, they had not received a callback. The contact also attempted to notify the manufacturer of the failure; however, the call was disconnected after each attempt. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 56,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Steering
DateJun 16, 2022
StateMI
Description
After starting and functioning normally for a ~ mile, a warning came up “stop safely - your vehicle will shut off soon”. I was on a road with no shoulder and had to keep going. In less than a minute, (1/2 mile) power steering failed, all other electrical devices, brake lights, dash lights, speedo failed shortly thereafter. Engine and trans were barely functioning. I just managed to manhandle ( power steering had failed) it into a parking lot when it shut down completely. There is no way my wife (car owner & usual driver) could have steered it to safety. Once into the lot, couldn't electronically unlock doors or put it in park or even turn it completely off. It was literally electronically dead. Had to climb over seat to retrieve pets and perishables from the back as the tailgate open function also failed. Towed to davis chrysler jeep in yulee, florida. No word on root cause. I assume it was catastrophic batteries failure without any warning or prior symptoms.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 15, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Touch screen on uconnect system freezes upon startup or randomly while driving and will also turn blue and reboot several times before it functions properly. Backup camera will not function when screen is frozen and this is a major safety concern. Top left corner of touch screen has started to delaminate, approximately 3 months out of standard 3 year warranty. Vehicle has 36,981 miles. Delamination is causing issues with touch screen.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
After getting new tires my vehicle becan to have issues shifting at times mimicking a stall or stutter at times. I didn't not having any vehicle warning lights. Because of new models of jeeps that have an “automatic”' feature that can not be adjusted manually. I took the vehicle in for service to the local jeep dealership. Upon their running diagnostics they determined a needed a new driveshaft because the vehicle was istuck in low drive. This is a design and safety flaw
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 27, 2022
StateMI
Description
My vehicle stop running at the light. I got it started again and turned left and it died about a block from the light. Then it would not start. Hard it towed home and the rear wheels locked up when they tried to dropped the car off in the drive way. Could not take it out of gear. The next day it started up and was able to move it. Made an appoint to have it checked our four days later and it would not start. Took it to the shop and they could not move it off the back of the flatbed. Brought it back home. Then the batteries died. Tried to jump start., almost. When it did I took it out of park. But then it was dead. Nothing. Had it towed to the jeep dealer in marshal, mi. They said both batteries where totally no good. They replaced the batteries and found out the fuel pump was burn or shorted out and had to be replaced. They do not know why this would happen or they just would not say. The vehicle only has 78000 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 26, 2022
StateNC
Description
Radio screen is de-laminating (glue failing) and randomly makes calls and mutes calls for hands free. Changes my a/c settings and such. This is a safety issue when I am driving because people are distracted enough that I don't need to worry about the radio messing up. Not a recall yet but so many people have had issues with this part.
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 29, 2022
StateNH
Description
I have a 2019 jeep grand cherokee trailhawk currently around 33,500 miles. I bought this vehicle new and have been having issues with it since I got it. I hear electrical crackling and popping throughout the cabin, mostly in the dashboard. I thought at first it was the adaptive cruise or forward braking system engaging, but the sound seems to be completely random. A common symptom is the speakers, microphones, and speaker-based safety alerts are completely cut out. If I'm on a call, the person on the other end will not be able to hear me until the speakers come back. Some of the systems that do not work as intended include: -- radio/siriusxm/apple carplay/android auto (no sound) -- uconnect voice command (no sound/mic) -- parking sensors (no proximity alerts) -- usb ports (slow charge and do not recognize phones) -- forward collison alerts (no sound) -- navigation alerts (no sound) -- blind spot alerts (no sound) I've tried the system with the following phones (with oem and high-quality aftermarket wires) on at&t, verizon, mint: -- iphone xs -- iphone 12 -- iphone 13 pro max -- samsung galaxy note 8 -- samsung galaxy note 20 -- samsung galaxy note 22 -- samsung z flip my jeep has the panasonic uconnect system. I've attached pictures of the type & imei etc. This issue causes a direct safety concern when an alert doesn't activate or a when the loud electronic distortion comes through the speakers that will cannot be turned off—causing me to have to pull over and turn the car off for the sake of my hearing.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 21, 2022
StateWI
Description
I was driving my 10 year old son to school. We hopped in our jeep in the garage. Pushed the start button and my son smelled something that was burning. I backed out of the driveway and then my son said there is smoke coming out of the center counsel. I pulled over and looked in the counsel and saw a fire. Ran to the house and got a fire extinguisher to put it out. Fire was out out for a short time, but then burst into an all out fire. The car burnt to the ground. Nothing remained. So far the insurance company and chrysler cannot pinpoint what caused the fire. It is a total loss and the damage was too extensive to determine the cause. My son and I are very lucky we got out of the vehicle in time and everyone was safe. The vehicle was a lease and had only been serviced for oil changes by our chrysler dealer. No alarms or visual indicators forewarned us that anything like this was going to happen. The vehicle is a total loss and we don't know why it caught on fire. Chrysler denies any form of responsibility. Just looking for answers and hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateMar 05, 2022
StateMI
Description
Suv airbag waring light flashes off and on. Lights randomly come off and on when truck is parked.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateFeb 10, 2022
StateWA
Description
I have had 2-3 windows blow out on my truck for no apparent reason. I am afraid that the front wi shield is going to blow when I am driving and I will get hurt and/or die. I am a single parent and need a vehicle to be safe. The dealership is being difficult and won't look into why it keeps happening. The warrenty won't cover it either as they don't cover glass. I want them to look into why it is occur if or give me my money back. They don't seem to take this problem seriously.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
Airbag did not deploy
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJan 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was sitting at a drive thru when my 2019 jeep grand cherokee limited 4x4 started to malfunction. A service shifter light came on, then the service engine light, then the service airbag light. All the lights and windshield wipers went on. No matter what I did lights and wipers kept malfunctioning. My car stalled and I wasn't able to move it. I turned my car off, turned it back on and again. It let me drive a couple feet but the steering wheel was stiff. Again it stopped moving, wouldn't allow me to go any further and only made the noise as if I was accelerating. All the lights and windshield wipers kept going crazy. I turned my car off and on again. Lights and wipers never stopped. I was able to drive another couple feet but then the 4x4 locked. The shifter switched from drive to parking and it was stuck on parking. The emergency neutral lever and button locked. My jeep was going no where. The cables that connect to the battery were extremely hot and could have been a fire hazard. The vehicle was also saying service transmission continue on d, do not shift or turn off engine but the vehicle automatically set it self to parking. My entire car locked down. I could only turn it on and off. I had to get it towed to the nearest auto repair shop. Their analysis computer was unable to communicate with the vehicle. Luckily I was in a drive thru and not driving on the street or freeway. I could have been a very dangerous/deadly situation elsewhere. No previous accidents, issues with the jeep. It all happened suddenly.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 04, 2022
StateMA
Description
Electronic stability control and check engine lights on. Remote start and auto park stopped working. Dealer says not covered . 43000 miles. Quoted 1400. 00 to repair.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateDec 17, 2021
StateSC
Description
Both headlights blew out at the same time while I was driving at night. No visibility. Dangerous situation. No displayed message. Dealership replaced both bulbs. Cost was 0. They stated that it was not an electrical problem. Too much of a coincidence!
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 30, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Our jeep just hit 9k miles and the airbag service light has turned on and it gives a warning of it each time you start the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 30, 2021
StateCA
Description
Both head lamps went out on a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. Manufacture say it is maintenance issue, but both going out at the same time is too much of coincidence. There must be a electrical issue (which is covered under warrantee) that cause this.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Camera System, Electrical System
DateNov 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
Screen display will freeze while putting car into drive from reverse, thus having the back up camera stuck on the screen while driving. This recall was issued for my make and model, but my vin was not included. Please report this is happening in my car to ensure my car is included in the recall.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
Minor leak in evap system. Unsure if malfunction is due to a bad sensor
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateSep 14, 2021
StateIL
Description
Backing out of garage to driveway just a few feet. Car suddenly accelerated on its own to a very high speed in reverse. Knocked down a tree and busted through the neighbor's garage wall. Attempted to pump brakes but it did not help one bit. My safety was at risk and luckily I was not hurt. Luckily there was no one in the alley or at my neighbor's driveway or garage. People could have been killed based on how fast the car suddenly accelerated. No warning lights were on prior to the incident. Nothing to indicate there was a problem with the car. When the car stopped as a result of hitting the garage wall, it was still in reverse. There is k damage to my 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The collision company said they will make sure its safe to drive but I'm not sure if it should be inspected elsewhere. I will contact a dealer to inspect after collision company releases the car. How am I to drive this car again not knowing if this could happen again and potentially result in death of someone? The car is certainly available for inspection.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 08, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that the stop/start system failed to operate as designed. The contact stated that while driving with the stop/start system engaged and the vehicle was stopped at a stop sign or a traffic light, the stop/start system failed to engage the engine. The contact had to put the vehicle in park and restart the vehicle. The failure was experienced twice. The contact stated that the stop/start system light illuminated on the instrument panel and stated that the system needed to be serviced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer do be diagnosed. The mechanic failed to retrieve a fault code. The dealer also tests drove the vehicle and was unable to duplicate the failure. However, the contact stated that the mopar computer sent an email alert that the stop/start system needed to be serviced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 23,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateJul 05, 2021
StateTX
Description
I was driving on a highway on june 18, 2021, from houston to galveston (tx), at approx. 30 mph given traffic at that time, and suddenly the dash board started blinking and malfunctioning, I realized I lost the speedometer showing me only horizontal lines, the brake light turned on (red) and it felt like I did not have appropriate control of the steering wheel, it was very stiff. I was able to reduce the speed, turn on the emergency lights, tested the brake and then take the exit into the feeder and stopped and turned off the car. I called the river-oaks chrysler-jeep service unsuccessfully. I waited 15-20 minutes and then turned on the car to see that the engine sign was on, this was not the first time that I've got this sign and even received emails with a warning for which the car was taken accordingly for service and I was told by the advisors that if the engine sign was on, the car was drivable but if it was blinking it was not drivable. One time, after having one of these situations with the engine warning light on, the next available day I brought the car for service and because the light was already off, I was told that the system might have reset and that no action was needed at that time. I decided to proceed my trip given that the steering wheel felt that is was back to normal, tested the brakes and drove to my destination, using the feeders and at very low speed. The next morning I called the jeep service and talked to the advisor (mr. Fernandez) over the phone, explained what happened and he reassured me that I could safely drive the car back to the dealer given the fact that the engine light was on but not blinking. Car was dropped for service on june 22, after being parked for those days. The abs module was reported to have an internal failure and it was replaced. This has been a repetitive event but this last time was critical in terms that I lost confidence in this vehicle. The administration at this dealer is fully aware of these events.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 27, 2021
StateNY
Description
Stops and needs to be put in park to restart, was determined not related to start stop or batteries . Jeep still in shop part not available for undetermined length of time
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateJun 16, 2021
StateMA
Description
I was driving around 75mph on the interstate for about an hour (not using cruise control) when all of a sudden the accelerator no longer worked. There was no warning, no error lights or codes or anything. I tested the brakes and they still worked. I was able to coast to a stop on the breakdown lane. I waited about 20 seconds and restarted the car and everything worked again. This is my son's car that I was driving and it's really concerning because I thought I bought a safe car for him. I'm an experienced driver, but either way it's extremely dangerous. I looked information up about this issue and I guess it's been happening quite a bit according to the internet. Someone mentioned that the 4 pcm torx head t15 mounting screws that hold the pcm faceplate to the protective metal case where the circuit board is housed are too long. (not the 3 bolts that hold the pcm to the mounting bracket) when there was a vibration or shift, the screws touched the circuit board shorting everything out and causing the engine to stall. The owner put washers with the 4 little t15 screws and were able to fix the problem. I think there needs to be a recall. I'm afraid to drive the car myself or have my son drive it. I'm taking it to the dealer, but I don't think they'll be able to recreate the situation.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 15, 2021
StateNE
Description
Vehicle stalling and jumping when switching gears
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System
DateApr 16, 2021
StateOK
Description
The screen that displays radio and navigation and rear backup camera freezes up and camera will not display. The system does this intermittently and will power itself off and on. Sometimes it will not reboot unless I stop, put the vehicle in park, turn off the engine, restart the engine and take vehicle out of park. It is very distracting and unsafe to freeze up and lose the display. This has happened when I'm driving in town and on the highway and also when vehicle is parked. This has been ongoing since december 2020. The radio module has been replaced once. The security gateway module has been replaced but nothing has helped. I've taken in back 4 times since january 2021 for the same issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
I was stopped in traffic with the vehicle in drive. When the light changed to green I pressed the accelerator and the drive (d) indicator light began blinking. At the same time, the engine would rev but would not go forward. The vehicle behind me nearly ran in into the back of us. I had to switch from drive to park, back to drive to move forward.
CategoryElectrical System, Seats, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2021
StateTN
Description
The display/electronic system appeared to be hijacked during my commute to work. The hacker began by changing the radio from sirius xm to an am station, then began changing settings (climate control of seats), viewed connected devices (usb, media etc.), then switched to view the rear view camera, viewed the compass, viewed phone settings and dialed the last number dialed from my phone. The hacker kept going back to settings, rear view camera, radio and climate control. This all happened in a short amount of time and continued even after I had stopped the vehicle and turned my cell phone off. I left my phone off until I arrived at work and the hacker was still messing with settings and radio. I turned the vehicle off and opened the door to drop the display and all electronic auxiliary power.
CategoryAir Bags, Engine, Structure:body
DateJan 26, 2021
StateLA
Description
My vehicle (2019 jeep grand cherokee) was only 1 1/2 years old and was involved in a head on collision. I was driving about 45mph when I was struck by 4-door chevy silverado (driver-to-driver collision) that was attempting to make a left turn on green, so only going about 3-5mph. The truck's steering wheel airbag deployed, but none of my jeep's did. My jeep's entire front area was crushed, and driver's side experienced extensive damage as well; resulting in my jeep being totaled. Everyone at the scene of the accident was shocked that my jeep's airbags did not deploy. As a result, I busted my head on the steering wheel, and 6 weeks later, I still have a knot on my forehead. I will never purchase a grand cherokee again! I am completely amazed there are zero recalls!
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
I bought this car in jan. 2018 brand new. For the first year or so I had no problems. As of july 2020 it has stalled on me for 5 times. It only happens while on the highway (60-70mph). The lights on the dashboard start blinking and it says "shift to p to start". It decelerates very quickly luckily I've been able to merge to the emergency lane on the highway but this last time (1/17/21) it was very scary as cars were swerving in order to avoid hitting me. I'm unable to accelerate so there's cars going 60-80mph flying past me. Once I get to the emergency lane and down to 5-7mph the car completely stops (hard stop). I've taken it in to the dealer every time and every time they can't "duplicate" my complaint, there for nothing can be done. Can someone please fix this as I still have 1 year left on this car! If not- im trading it in & no longer buying jeeps. I have the dealer invoice for all visits if anyone needs them.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 06, 2021
StateCA
Description
Multiple issues: 1) loss of power while driving. Had to come to a full stop while in traffic and restart the car. 2) doors wouldn't lock any more. 3) battery drained within 24hrs and required jump start. Diagnosis: faulty tipm, currently being replaced. Can provide full documentation if requested.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 14, 2020
StateTX
Description
The ac does not stay cold. It cycles from cold to like warm and humid several times per minute. I have taken the vehicle in to the dealer several times. They have drained and recharged the ac to no avail. They have told me other customers complain of the same thing in the 2019s. It happens while the vehicle is stationary and in motion. This is a known issue that no fix has been established for.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 08, 2020
StateCT
Description
In june of 2019, I purchased the vehicle new. About the 3,414 mile mark, I had major electrical issues. While driving the car, all of the warning messages started flashing across my dashboard. The car became sluggish and felt like it was going to stop running. This all happened when I was in traffic moving forward. I felt unsafe. It went to the dealer. If my memory serves me right, they found about 75 codes had been activated by the computer. They could not find a problem with the car and gave it back to me. On my way home, it happened again. All the warning messages flashed across the dashboard screen while I was on the highway. The car was sluggish and I thought it was going to die. It went back to the shop and they kept it for about two weeks. Could not find a problem with it. Finally got it back and I was ensured it was repaired. About a week ago, it happened again. The 11,000 mile mark. The exact same scenario as before. But the car stopped moving on two occasions when I was in reverse and in traffic stopped waiting to make a left turn. The car remained running but would not continue in reverse or go forward. I put the car in park both times, messages flashed across the screen and seemed to reset the system. I then could continue going with the car. I definitely felt unsafe when this happened. Again, they can find nothing wrong. I was told there was a two page printout showing all the warning codes that had gone off. As I write this, the car is in the shop. Ive been told they cannot find anything wrong. As of this writing, they do not know what is wrong with it. They wanted to give it back to me, unfixed. I told them to get it repaired. The car is to dangerous to take back un-repaired.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 08, 2020
StateSC
Description
I noticed that when it rains water leak in my truck on the driver side from the brake pedal. I has soaked the carpet and mat several time and also caused mewdow problems the vehicle was stationary at the time in sumter sc at my home
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 19, 2020
StateMA
Description
My 2019 jeep grand cherokee will intermittently not start. I will push the button and it revs up but does not turn over. This lasts for about 10 minutes and then will start. This happens about once a week. The car also stalled underway twice this past summer. Quirk jeep in braintree ma tells me nothing is wrong when I have video evidence. The car is not safe and is like new. It currently has only 8500 miles on it. Very frustrating when I paid a lot for the car.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateNov 17, 2020
StateMD
Description
Recently submitted a claim. Had to tow to my dealership and was just notified that the transmission is also malfunctioning. I have notified my dealer if these exact recalls at this website for this make and model and they are telling me it does not apply to my vehicle. Bizarre. Please help. I've only had this car 8 months.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 15, 2020
StateMD
Description
My car has stalled twice in the last 3 days and has also no turned on so we needed a jump 1 day ago. We bought this car brand new off the lot with only 65 miles on it. Also there's an 'a!' symbol showing on the dash now.
CategoryAir Bags
DateNov 03, 2020
StateNY
Description
This vehicle was hit by a silverado extended cab pickup at a 4 way stop twice by the same truck. The impact resulted in the jeep being a total loss with extensive damage front and rear. The airbags never deployed resulting in injuries to both the driver and more serious the passenger. The jeep was accelerating from a dead stop to cross the intersection. The truck did not stop or slow down at the intersection.*dt*jb
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateOct 15, 2020
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, the vehicle failed to immediately shift into drive or reverse. In addition, the dashboard computer malfunctioned. After the computer self reset, the vehicle would suddenly accelerate. On several occasions the engine revved up and the vehicle would abruptly accelerate forward or in reverse. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer jim shorkey north hills chrysler dodge jeep ram located at 7670 mcknight rd, pittsburgh, pa 15237 who was unable to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 6,700.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 12, 2020
StateND
Description
While driving down a road, at 30mph, it all of a sudden stalled out. Power steering stopped working, engine was dead, it said on dash to "shift into park". I managed to pull into a parking lot. Put it in park. Turned it off, then attempted to restart, it wouldn't start (sounded like engine trying, then not turning over. I then turned it off again, and tried, and it turned on. I was able to make it home, but a car shouldn't stall while driving at 30mph down a road.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 23, 2020
StateTX
Description
So for a couple of months when the vehicle is in drive, it will 'spit' when it's in gear. Like I'll push on the gas and it will go but sometimes it will stall and then go again. It stopped doing that for a couple of weeks but today I was reversing out of my driveway and it said 'shift to p before putting in gear' (keep in mind the car was in reverse). And the car was 'spitting' as I was in reverse. I checked to make sure it was completely in the reverse gear and it was. So I put it in park and then reverse and it was fine after that. But I saw this post on facebook not long ago, a women had I believe a 2017 jeep cherokee, she was driving on the highway and her car popped up a notification 'shift to p'. Right after that her car automatically stopped and she wrecked. My car said the same thing to me this morning while I was in reverse. There is no recall on my vehicle as of now, and I am scared for mine and my families safety. Please investigate this.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 22, 2020
StateNV
Description
Vehicle transmission is very spotty .. It jerks and hard to get from one gear to the next. There's a major issue with the transmission. This occurs everyday
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Engine
DateSep 13, 2020
StateMO
Description
I was driving on the interstate when all service light came on and steering wheel locked up and the car began to power down. I almost crashed into a 18 wheeler because the steering wheel would not turn properly. I was able to pull over and the car would not move, switch gears, stop or start. My vehicle was serviced by jeep twice in the past two weeks.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 08, 2020
StateNY
Description
Service shifter will randomly come on right after vehicle is started or starts beeping when driving but then clears itself and I check on dash for stored messages it disappears. Only once has vehicle not come out of park after being started and all shifter lights were on when it wouldn't come out of park shut vehicle off and turned back on and was fine but service shift still comes on randomly. The photo I attached is not from today 9/8/20
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 24, 2020
StateNY
Description
I was driving home and the jeep switched to neutral on its own and flashed "shift to park" on the screen. I had to roll to the side of the road, put it in park and turn it off. I am scared to drive it. I have kids. If this happens on the highway we will be hurt.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 17, 2020
StateTX
Description
Vehicle has shut off while driving 3 separate times. The last time was doing 65 down a texas highway. Suddenly lost all power to the engine. On pressing the the motor revved up but there was no transmission engagement even though the vehicle was still in drive. Was forced to pull over to shift into park to restart the vehicle. All three times the vehicle was in motion and the automatic vehicle shutoff feature was disabled. I had it in to the dealer after the first two times, they weren't able to reproduce it so they gave it back having driven it 100 miles and taken a quarter tank of gas doing so. I haven't driven the vehicle much due to the pandemic but yesterday the third occurence happened in a construction zone and we were almost rear ended at 65 mph due to this failure.
CategorySteering
DateAug 17, 2020
StateIA
Description
While driving on a city street the electric power steering failed with no prior indication of a problem. This made the vechile very difficult to steer at low speed. The dealer diagnosed the problem as a failed electric power steering pump. The repair requires replacement of a complete rack an pinion system as the pump is a integrated part. The vehicle has less than 15,000 miles.
CategorySeats
DateAug 12, 2020
StateMN
Description
The lower leather driver's seat has lost it's bolstering within one year of purchase. This causes the driver to loose lower seat support which allows the seated driver to lean against the door while driving.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 10, 2020
StateNV
Description
When we put the car in reverse the back up camera comes on but once we put it into drive the back up camera stays on for quite sometime... Dealership in carson city nv could not duplicate it so we are stuck
CategorySteering
DateJul 27, 2020
StateGA
Description
Driving my car around a curve when the wheel locked up on me and started turning in the other direction and into opposing traffic
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 20, 2020
StateAZ
Description
The jeep makes a loud popping noise when placing it into any gear and you can feel a push forward. I took the jeep into the dealership to check out the problem. First they said they did not have it happen to them and I needed me to come in and show them. When I got there and showed them and the mechanic first thought it could be something and put it up to look at it again. He made it repeat the popping and lurching movement multiple times then came back and said all jeeps do this and it is normal. But now it is worse and it is also popping and lurching while slowing down and speeding up.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 17, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was turned off and restarted however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was driven to the residence. While attempting to place the gear shifter in park, the transmission failed to engage. The started to roll backwards and the parking brake was activated to stop the vehicle. The contact was unable to turn the vehicle off. After a while, the vehicle loss power and turned off. The following day after starting the vehicle, the contact attempted to shift the vehicle out of gear however, the transmission failed to engage. The vehicle was towed to transitowne jeep chrysler dodge ram of west seneca (2989 transit rd, elma, ny 14059) to be diagnosed however, the diagnostic test was still pending. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided the contact with a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 13,787.
CategoryEngine, Steering
DateJul 12, 2020
StateCA
Description
I was driving my car and the car shut down and steering wheel locked in place. A flashing message came on to restart my car. Luckily I was on an empty road and no one was behind me.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
Engine shutdown while driving. Has shut down multiple times while moving down the road. Engine shuts off, pressing gas will rev the engine but there will be no transmission power even though the vehicle is still in drive. Have to pull over and shift into park and restart. This is extremely dangerous! *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 09, 2020
StateLA
Description
When using the view screen for navigation I continue to get weather alerts for locations that 100s miles away from me. Which make me look down at the screen to touch the ok button to get back to the navigation. The feature to turn off weather alerts is not programmed into the head unit, which sends out non related weather alerts constantly during my driving. Again, forcing me to look down at the screen to touch ok! Very dangerous to be operating the screen head unit while driving. Every few minutes! Vehicle in motion. *tr
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 09, 2020
StateNY
Description
While driving straight at approximately 45 mph on a the 3 lane road full of traffic vehicle suddenly clunked loudly and violently shifted from high gear possibly fifth or sixth into first gear with the rpms at over 7000 this caused me and my family to lunge forward at which time I momentarily lost control of the vehicle. I was able to gain control and steer the car towards the side of the road and had to slam the shifter into park in order to stop. While stopped the vehicle remained at 7000 rpms until I pushed the off button of the console. *tr
CategoryEquipment:electrical, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 09, 2020
StateCO
Description
Uconnect on stereo system freezes up. When it does this the temperature controls, phone, radio, navigation system and everything it controls stops working. The vehicle can be stationary or moving and it just stops working, have to pull over and turn vehicle off and wait for at least 5 minutes for it to come back on. *tr
CategoryParking Brake, Power Train
DateMay 28, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle independently shifted into park with the parking brake warning light illuminated. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle several times however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to bay chrysler dodge jeep ram (636 15th st, panama city, fl 32401) to be diagnosed which was still pending. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 31,000. The vin was not included.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 12, 2020
StateOH
Description
Hello. I have found many issues with my uconnect system and what appears to have been compromised (hacked). I have reported this to jeep and the sirius/cm system. 1 occasion my sos/assist feature was deactivated while I was in the car. Another time light changed from red to green on another occasion without touching it. 2 system was reset and showing phones being connected that had been totally removed from uconnect system. 3 on more then one occasion my uconnect links/apps were not loaded... Totally disappeared after being there and car was on for more then an hour. 4 settings button/ option to adjust important information sometimes not on screen. 5 map navigation giving misdirection and had me driving in circles back to my starting point. 6 screen freezing and not allowing me to disconnect phone/change screens... Also had issues where my screens would jump from one thing to the next without touching anything. Do not know if my uconnect was accessed during the time period my phone was hacked into and I hooked it up through carplay or if a "lock link " was used. I've done my research because I thought all these were odd and it is not uncommon for "low lifes" to get into these computer systems. I have been working with phone company, jeep fca case management, apple on the issues of my hacked phone and uconnect system.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateCA
Description
I got into my vehicle and when I tried starting it would not turn on the engine. The only thing that would illuminate was the speedometer area. The audio unit would turn on off and then on and then off. I tried about 10 times and would not start the engine. The vehicle was parked in my driveway when it happened.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 03, 2020
StateCA
Description
The navigation system has a weather alert notification that can't be disabled. It takes up the entire infotainment screen and does not go away unless I take my eyes off the road to click on it to close the window. This happens everyday in my jeep with a wind advisory. Pretty absurd notification especially since it happens every day. I live on the west coats and understand it can be windy. Super dangerous to constantly pop up and make me close it manually.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 24, 2020
StateFL
Description
After going through an auto car wash the brakes failed and the car rolled into a pole while pulling up to a vacuum station about 50 yards from the exit. I believe the abs system notified the car that it was in a slide because the rear wheels continue to rotate while the front wheels are not rotating while being pulled through the car wash tracks. Therefore tricking the system into thinking it should not brake when brakes were applied.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 23, 2020
StatePA
Description
This is in reference to an accident on 1/22/20 at approximately 5:45pm near pittsburgh, pa. I had an issue with the 'driver side' lower or 'foot' air bag, as it did not 'undeploy' or if it did, it is very bulky after doing so and because of that, it caused, in my opinion, additional and unnecessary damages to the other party's involved. Situation - immediately after the accident, I needed to apply the brakes and could not do so because the airbag was in the way of my feet reaching and pressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was still in drive and idling which, consequently led to me pushing the vehicle in front of me further than the actual spot of the accident and 'possibly' into the vehicles in front of her. I literally had to put the jeep in 'neutral' and then press the 'power or on/off' button to shut the vehicle off and to keep it from continuing to push her car. Now ... Do I believe your vehicle saved my life absolutely! However, this airbag issue seems to be something that could have turned out horribly wrong had I not known how to shut the vehicle off without using the break. If I would have been unconscious, then in theory I l could have pushed the vehicle in front of me until what I was pushing via idling was too much weight for the low rpm's of idling to bear. Additional details - while exiting the highway, but still on the exit ramp, I was involved in a multi car (4) accident that I believe (as I did overhear conversations from the other drivers but being the 4th vehicle out of 4, I did not eyewitness this myself) may have been caused by an aggressive driver who cut off another driver in front of the 4 of us and this action inevitably caused the 4 of us behind him to slam on our brakes. Unfortunately, things happened so quickly that I was not able to avoid hitting the car in front of me.
CategorySteering
DateJan 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
On sep 2, 2019 while traveling straight at around 60mph the steering wheel turned slightly to the left and locked in that position for a few seconds, almost causing a deadly crash on the freeway as the vehicle almost hit the cement divider. I applied force to turn the wheel in the other direction, to no avail for a few seconds, but then when the wheel "unlocked" it clicked and the car swerved to the right, causing us to almost spin around. I held the wheel as straight as I could, but we did get into a collision when the car was already straightening back. I requested maintenance records from avis, the rental company, but they denied releasing them. Can someone please compel them to release maintenance records for this vehicle? We almost died that day and they won't take any responsibility for the faulty steering mechanism. Avis is actually attempting to collect money from me for the damages but won't release the records. Thank you!
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 02, 2019
StateNY
Description
Radio not working problem with u connect , car parked in driveway
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 07, 2019
StateGA
Description
Took my car to the dealer because the sunroof is leaking they tried to fix it twice failed the second time I took it the complete drivers side floor of my vehicle was wet they said the reason why it was wet because it the sunroof bolts had rusted it is less than a year old and already has rust .
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 27, 2019
StateTX
Description
Vehicle struct pole on passenger side, at approximately 40 mph, and side air bags did not deploy. Extensive damage to the entire passenger side including door intrusion into the cabin. Both major support pillars were bent and side windows shattered.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 25, 2019
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, the contact discovered that the headlight covers were cracked. The contact was concerned that the headlights may overheat and cause a fire. The vehicle was taken to elgin chrysler dodge jeep ram (1010 e chicago st, elgin, il 60120, (847) 697-0900) where they informed the contact that there was no failure and she was at fault. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 21, 2019
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While driving 72 mph, the contact heard an abnormal bang noise and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart and was driven to tallahassee dodge chrysler jeep ram fiat (3987 w tennessee st, tallahassee, fl 32304, (844) 280-9221) where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,300.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 09, 2019
StateCT
Description
While driving on the highway, it began beeping the check engine light came on and the vehicle shut off. I tried turning turning the vehicle off and back on, but as soon as I put it into drive the check engine light came back on and the car started beeping again. From speaking with fellow jeep owners (all different models) this problem seems pretty common and unsafe. The car only has 5700 miles on it. Totally unexpected when spending so much money on a brand new car.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 08, 2019
StateMI
Description
Purchased a 2019 jeep grand cherokee 1 month ago that had less than 3,000 miles on it. Yesterday when driving home from work, we were going roughly 40 miles an hour when the car came out of gear and lost all power to the wheels. Pulled the car to the side of the freeway and transmission locked up . Had vehicle flatbedded to dealership where the trans had to be manually disengaged to get of the tow vehicle. This vehicle has 4,000 miles on it.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 08, 2019
StateCA
Description
The vehicle was purchased new in may 2019 currently has 2700 miles on the odometer. I was traveling along the highway and began hearing a loud noise that seemed to be emanating from my undercarriage. I drove to first off-ramp to inspect and discovered a part of the braking system had broken. The vehicle was no longer drivable and had to be towed to a dealership. Later, the service writer informed me that a caliper had broken and that damages would be covered under warranty. I was not provided with a cause for this failure.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 01, 2019
StateIL
Description
27 days after the purchase of vehicle battery went completely dead and needed to be replaced. On the 3rd day after this repair, " check engine" light went on
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 23, 2019
StateFL
Description
Transmission shifts hard and rough. Mainly shutters the entire car when the automatic trans downshifts from 3-2-1 gears. Very noticable from 2-1 gear. Will almost surge/jump the car from these two gears. This can be a hazard as if I was to stop fast it will jerk the entire car and almost lunges the car forward when doing so. This car was bought july 27th, 2019, with 2k miles on it. Took it into the dealer and of coarse they deny any issue as they would be out thousands of labor dollars if they were to fix 1 car. So it's too easy for them to pass off that it's fine.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 21, 2019
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, a warning indicator appeared, notifying the contact to pull over within the next fifty minutes. The vehicle stalled and was unable to restart. Roadside assistance was contacted and the vehicle was towed to larry hillis chrysler dodge jeep ram fiat (3211 n westwood blvd, poplar bluff, mo 63901, (573) 785-5769). The dealer stated that the battery was severely discharged. The battery was replaced. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,321.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 16, 2019
StateSC
Description
Today makes the 3rd time ive had my car at the dealership. 1st time they said it blew a fuse. This is after I got a message that my air suspension needed servicing immediately. That lasted overnight. Took it back the next day. I was told it was a factory defect. Paint overspray, loose wiring. They fixed that. It lasted a few days. Then as I was about to leave town. I got the message again. I was told it was ok to drive. So I did.. Today I took it back in. Now the dealership is trying to get me to trade my car. Which will cost me more monry. We shouldnt have to pay anymore money out of pocket.. And our pyts will go up. This message happens as car is moving. Its supposed to be raising up.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 08, 2019
StateRI
Description
I purchased the vehicle new last week and the collision avoidance system doesn't work. I returned the car to colonial dodge-jeep in hudson, ma yesterday with 130 miles on the car they verified that doesn't work, but do not have any 'fix' for it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 05, 2019
StateVA
Description
While waiting stationary to turn on a city street, the car was in the auto start/stop mode. As soon as I took my foot of the brake to begin turning, the car completely shut off and started flashing warnging lights and cycling through several warnings like fcw indicator disabled. The car also told me the lane departure sensor was turned off as well. The car continued to flash these lights and cycle through multiple other warnings and refused to shut off. At one point the car even turned on the windshield wiper blades by itself.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2019
StateIN
Description
While driving the car with 750 miles the electronic stability control, abs, check engine, brake service antilock brake system lights all come on. While driving noticed car wasnt tracking miles then died on the interstate at approximately 70 miles per hour.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 07, 2019
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While driving at unknown speeds, the contact noticed that the front passenger window was cracked. The vehicle was taken to griffin motors chrysler dodge jeep kia (9576 mercer pike, meadville, pa 16335 (814) 333-4618) where it was diagnosed that the glass needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to the parts being on back order. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 2,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 02, 2019
StateVA
Description
Stop/start system warning light when the car was stationary at a traffic light the car turns off at stop light and does not restart as it is supposed to when the accelerator is pushed. All items on the shift indicator begin to flash. Car must be turned off and restarted. The stop/start system warning light stays on. This has happened three times and is extremely dangerous.
CategoryWheels
DateJun 02, 2019
StateNJ
Description
The jeep grand cherokee came with 20 inch tires. The "full size spare" is only 18 inch. The internet says having 2 different size tires can be dangerous for driving and /or damaging to the differential. Jeep should be made to give a valid full size spare tire. The customer has to pay extra for the 'full size spare'.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 28, 2019
StateNY
Description
Car stalls when decelerating. Happened on residential streets only as we refused to take the highway for fear of an accident. Although this is for the jeep cherokee this describes the incident perfectly: https://www. Freep. Com/story/money/cars/chrysler/2018/10/31/2-4-liter-2019-jeep-cherokees-recall-stalling/1836821002/
CategoryAir Bags:sensor:occupant Classification, Air Bags:sensor:occupant Classification:front Passenger
DateMay 24, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While driving at any speed, the passenger side air bag did not recognize when the passenger seat was occupied. There was no warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to five star chrysler dodge jeep ram of macon (478-287-1907, located at 3068 riverside dr, macon, ga 31210) where the vehicle was kept for a week. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and assigned a case manager. The manufacturer referred the contact to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 350.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 16, 2019
StateNC
Description
Vehicle lost power on highway @ 65 - 70 mph. Operator was using cruise control to increase and decrease speed in heavy traffic. Operator pressed the cruise off button and the vehicle lost power to idle and would not accelerate. Operator pulled over and switched the vehicle on and off several times over about 5 minutes before vehicle wold operate normally again.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 29, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact leases a 2019 jeep grand cherokee. While the contact was accelerating from a stop, the preceding vehicle stopped suddenly. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the brakes failed to engage. As a result, the contact rear ended the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The contact took the vehicle to bayside chrysler jeep dodge (212-19 northern boulevard, bayside, new york 11361, 718-229-8700) where it was determined that the brakes performed normally and no failure was found. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 23,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 29, 2019
StateNJ
Description
We leased a new 2019 jeep grand cherokee ltd on february 1, 2019. Around the beginning of april we noticed that the brake pedal had to be depressed further than when it was new to stop the vehicle. Each week it was getting worse to the point where now it goes all the way to the floor and does not stop with confidence. We have stopped driving it before it fails completely. Waiting for service appointment with the dealer.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 05, 2019
StateNY
Description
Refer to complaint #1184392 2019 jeep grand cherokee.(1) after tcm replaced at 1300 miles 3/1/2019. (2) internal valve body kit installed in transmission 1456 miles 3/12/19 to 3/22/19 parts had to order. (3) transmission ordered 4/3/19 @ 1589 miles. In service date 10/11/2018. Took delivery 10/13/2018. After all this trouble I was driving normal city road april 2,2019 vehicle would bang thump like backlash after complete stop in transmission felt in entire vehicle. The vehicle felt like no gas response to move in gear then. I came to stop at light to turn left car in drive running. Vehicle would not move at all. Stuck dead in road. After trying everything to move vehicle I got off 3 lane road to driveway of senior residence home. Vehicle running to stay warm it did it again would move in any gear. Flatbed came to take to dealer since they just did valve kit in transmission 13 days previous and 156 miles approximately.) after all these experiences I've had in little time and mileage occured this new 2019 jeep grand cherokee is unsafe with all these transmission troubles. Transmission never knew when to shift normal since 1000 miles. Erotic shift with noice and thump after stopping , feels like no gas to move vehicle in gear driving. Took a turn and felt like out of gear no response in gas fuel pedal, times of acceleration it would lag then extreme take off and jolt you forward. Shall be also registering complaint with fca and issue of new car lemon law.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 19, 2019
StateNY
Description
The gas pedal became stuck when I was driving around local streets. I was stopping my truck because I was coming up to an intersection. When I lifted my foot from the gas pedal it did not come up. Almost as if the cruise control was engaged. It was scary and I went a little too far into the intersection with my foot on the brake.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 17, 2019
StateMO
Description
Continually getting low voltage issues despite having it "fixed" at the dealer. Parking brake won't turn off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 09, 2019
StateMN
Description
Due to issues with radio's core software, the display of the car which control all vital functions of the car including temperature control goes inaccessible while car is in motion. It is accessible only when car comes to a complete stop and software is allowed to reboot which takes more than 20 minutes. This is so against the safety because the main core controlling unit of the car is of no use due to this problem. There is no definite solution and answer by the dealership, service branch, unconnect customer care and star ticket system. The car got into this issue within 24 hours of leasing it and is a brand new 2019 model.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 05, 2019
StateNY
Description
On startup when cold. Transmission is weird hard shifts. Seems to not know what gear to be in. Sudden stop in transmission between 1st. And 2nd. Gear. Vehicle at 1300 miles took to dealer they test drove one mile (1) advised me of tsb report from jeep in motion with transmission. Adjustment to control shift is even worse than before. Jerky and almost dead drop in transmission on brand new vehicle is hard to believe. Like to see tsb report. 20 plus years auto mechanic myself. Dealer did experience the trouble I have with vehicle. In a one mile road test. Dealership did not close out work order. Will mail me copy of work order. Still waiting since febuary 28. 2019 service.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Lin

    Car is a lemon. It’s been serviced 6 times and is currently at the dealership AGAIN. It’s a fairly new Suv. Technicians continue to fail me and Managers continue to disappoint as they make you fight for help that should be given due to their lack of ability to fix it once and for all!

  • Lornnette

    My jeep jerks like someone hit me from behind .I have taken it to the dealer shop 5 time .the problem was fixed once it stopped for a few weeks then returned. Now this is happening 3 to.4xa week.

  • Rick R

    The technician at the Jeep Dealership in Tampa told me when I asked him about the tire pressure light being on for months now but the tires are inflated right. I asked if he could Turn OFF that diagnostic. And, he said it was against the law to do so. Is it? And, my key was in the ignition a week ago I shut the door and the door locked! A guy at the car wash had an instrument that opened it. But, I asked the Technician can he make sure it does not do that again. Well, he said he would need to run a diagnostic! Another $130 along with the $130 for the tire pressure! lol

  • Wayne

    My 2019 grand Cherokee has been at the dealership since December 31 waiting for a new transmission. It is now Jan 26 and they still have not received it. What are my options

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.