2022 Kia Telluride Problems, Issues & Top Complaints

Issues relating to the windshield, sunroof, and instrument cluster are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Are you experiencing problems with your vehicle’s instrument cluster not working? Find out if you are eligible to join our class action investigation.

Did your windshield crack unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible for compensation.

Or has your sunroof shattered unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible to join our Telluride Shattering Sunroof class action investigation.

As a three-row SUV, the 2022 Kia Telluride has a large following of enthusiasts. The automaker claims that there’s “no holding back,” but drivers are very unhappy about the electrical system that causes the instrument cluster screen to fail, windshields that crack spontaneously, and sunroofs that explode and shatter.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Kia Telluride

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
35
Unknown Or Other
27
Electrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
11
Electrical System
11
Visibility:windshield
9
Power Train
5
Electrical System:adas
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
4
Engine
3

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Kia Telluride

Owners of the 2022 Kia Telluride lodged a total of 106 complaints to the National Highway Traffic Administration (NHTSA) between mid-July 2021 and October 3, 2022. Of these half (52) are problems relating to windshields cracking. This doesn’t surprise us, since Lemberg Law already has a class action investigation underway for 2020-2022 Kia Telluride defective windshields.

Another big area of concern for 2022 Kia Telluride owners is the faulty instrument cluster. As many as 21 consumers have complained to the NHTSA about this. We also have a class action investigation in place that is looking into these complaints.

Lemberg Law currently has a third class action investigation affecting the 2022 Kia Telluride. This relates to complaints that sunroofs explode and shatter spontaneously without any form of impact. There are currently only 8 NHTSA complaints, but that is 8 too many.

What this indicates is that we have class action investigations into issues relating to 81 of the 106 complaints filed with the NHTSA. This doesn’t make the other 25 complaints any less important.

Overall, there are 18 components and systems that are affected by complaints, plus those that fall into the Unknown or Other category. Windshield complaints appear under Visibility, Visibility/Wiper, and Unknown or Other. Sunroof problems are all filed under either Visibility or Unknown or Other. And all the electrical system complaints are about the instrument cluster.

Other Components Named in Complaints

The other components that are named in the many NHTSA complaints about the 2022 Kia Telluride are airbags, backover prevention, engine and engine cooling, equipment, forward collision avoidance, lane departure, latches/locks/linkages, the powertrain, seat belts, seats, steering, structure, suspension, and vehicle speed control.

The one complaint filed under Seats reports 2 injuries. A nurse tried to retrieve something that fell between the console and the driver’s seat. She managed to call 911 with her cell phone using her left hand. They arrived, and, “it took 3 EMTs to extricate my arm from this terrible design. I currently sustain a bad contusion.”

The nurse’s husband also got his arm stuck during the emergency, and he ended up with “scrapes, bruising, and bleeding.” On another occasion, their daughter, a medical doctor, borrowed the car and also got her arm stuck.

“This console is too big and too dangerous,” she says.

Problems with the Windshield

As mentioned above, there are 52 complaints to the NHTSA that relate to windshields cracking. Some describe minimal impact, while many state there was no impact whatsoever. Many of the complaints relate to very new vehicles, just weeks or even days in the owners’ possession. Typically, complaints state that there is no indication of impact.

Here’s an example. An owner from Kansas states that when his 2022 Kia Telluride was parked in the garage the night before there were no cracks in the windshield. But the next day there was a hairline crack on the lower driver’s side that was about 12 inches long. There was no evidence of impact or any other abnormal stress to the windshield.

An owner from Virginia has a similar complaint. This windshield also developed a crack overnight, and within the first 30 days of ownership. It had been parked in the driveway. This complaint states that the crack is “right in the middle of the windshield so it is messing with my visibility and is unsafe.”

And an owner from Texas says: “The car is one week old and developed a crack in the windshield overnight in mild weather. The crack is over two feet long and growing.”

One of the complaints, from Georgia, states, “My 13-year-old son went to smack a bug off the windshield in the inside and it shattered.” That’s clearly a form of impact, but how strong was the boy to be able to shatter a windshield?

An owner from North Carolina heard a loud pop when stopped at a traffic light. “I noticed a curved crack in the upper center of the windshield that wrapped below the rearview mirror area. There was no impact to the glass at the time.”

Replacement Windshields Not Available

When things go wrong, we often notice that the parts to fix them are not available. Kia Telluride windshields are no exception.

Another complaint states, “I just recently bought a 2022 Kia Telluride 7 days ago and while driving on the freeway the windshield shattered in the lower corner of (the) driver side. There was no car in front of me (not a close distance) or near me for that matter and there was no overpass for a rock to have fallen from. My windshield shattered and glass landed in my face, eyes, and mouth, and all over the inside of my car. Luckily, I was able to maintain some control as there were no other vehicles in close proximity. I’ve had rocks hit my windshield before but never to the point of causing this kind of damage. There have been recalls on previous Kia Telluride models and others with 2022 models have been experiencing this issue as well.

“This is ridiculous and of course, the windshield is on backorder and Kia expects me to continue driving around with my windshield like this because they don’t know when they’ll have a windshield available. At the dealership, they were adamant that a rock hit the windshield.” Needless to say, the owner vehemently disagrees.

“There is no way it is safe for me to continue driving like this, especially when Kia doesn’t even have an estimated date for me to get this repaired.”

Electrical System Issues

As a newer vehicle, there’s no reasonable explanation for having an electrical system issue, as all of the bugs should have been worked out at the factory. Yet, this is one of the top complaints of new Telluride SUVs. More specifically, all 21 of them relate to the instrument cluster, which has 2 recalls.

One of the problems is that some owners are complaining that the “fix” doesn’t work. Others complain that they have the problem but their VIN isn’t included in the recall.

Electrical System Recalls

The first recall, related to the LCD display, NHTSA Campaign Number 21V577000 dated July 28, 2021. It states that up to 5,143 affected vehicles have a blank LCD that can keep vital information hidden, such as the gear selection, odometer, and digital speedometer. This can increase the risk of a crash.

To resolve the problem, customers have to go to the dealership for a software update, which is a major inconvenience for busy lifestyles. But, as the recall states, if you don’t do this, the missing information may increase the risk of a crash. Nearly a year later, NHTSA Campaign Number 22V344000 issued on May 17, 202

2, states that as many as 3,596 2022 Tellurides may have an instrument cluster display screen issue. If yours does, it won’t show critical information, like the odometer, which can also increase the risk of a crash.

The reason for this, says Kia, is caused by too much adhesive in a circuit board that causes the instrument cluster display screen to be blank.

These varied issues are exactly what the 21 NHTSA complaints reflect.

Explosive 2022 Telluride Sunroofs

Complaints about sunroofs exploding and/or shattering range from simple descriptions like “Sunroof exploded,” and “I was driving on the interstate and my sunroof just exploded, nothing hit it,” to quite involved descriptions of what happened.

For instance, a New Jersey owner’s sunroof exploding while on a highway with no other cars in sight. The complaint states that the sunshade was closed, so glass didn’t fall on those in the vehicle when it happened.

“The sound was extremely loud. We heard a loud pop and then the shattering of glass. We all jumped inside the vehicle but thankfully no cars were in sight around us as we did swerve. We were approx. 2 miles from the dealer’s exit so we drove directly to the dealer. The Manufacturer is not taking any responsibility as they say it was due to impact, but there was absolutely nothing that hit our car. No other vehicles around or debris (was) on (the) highway.”

An owner from Texas states that when the sunroof exploded, the noise was so loud that “someone else could have reacted differently and caused an accident.”

All the other sunroof complaints basically state the same scenario.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2022
StateGA
Description
The windows are very loose, if they are down or cracked while driving 60mph+ they shake and rattle seeming like they are going to bust. I only have video proof. The dealership wasn't able to test drive the vehicle at the speed the problem occurs
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 01, 2022
StateSC
Description
Since the purchase of my vehicle 7 30 2022 & after driving the first several times in the darkness/evening hours & since I have had safety concerns that the headlamps in my vehicle are insufficient/inadequate - not just the normal headlights illumination but also the high beams. When the high beams are activated the additional effect is negligible/deliver inferior performance. I have continued to reach out to kia & thus far they have not been helpful. I believe driving at night time is putting me at a safety risk. The dealership did/does not have a way to test the headlamps in any sort of calibration or measuring means other than to turn on the headlights while in the service area and shine them on a wall. When driving during the night time hours I keep my speed on rural roads typically below the speed limit as I do not feel I could brake/stop the vehicle in the field of vision that the headlight illumination provides. I have reached out repeatedly to the kia assistance number & thus far there has been no action or contact made by any positive measures taken to address my concerns. I have even contacted my insurance agent twice to express my frustration of kia's inadequacy to provide a solution or address my concerns. I ask please for any assistance that you may be able to help remedy this safety/risk concern.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 27, 2022
StateMD
Description
Windshield has cracked and required replacement twice since I purchased the vehicle in nov 2021.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility/wiper
DateNov 10, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Windshield cracked. Also oxidation on trim on both sides of windshield.
CategoryVisibility:glass, Side/rear
DateNov 08, 2022
StateMI
Description
Rear passenger window spontaneously imploded while driving on a freeway. I took photos immediately upon arrival at home. No one was harmed, but had it been one of the front seat windows or someone seated in the back seat, they would have been harmed. Has not been inspected. Have appointment at the kia dealership. They have not seen it yet. They resisted repairing it until we told them of other reports of kia windows and sunroofs shattering without cause. I now have some fear of driving it and it occurring again. No warning or indication of the event.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateNov 03, 2022
StateMO
Description
Sunroof suddenly exploded an hour ago while driving on the interstate at 70mph. It was loud, startling both the driver and passenger. It could have caused an accident. Fortunately, the sun shield was closed which prevented glass from entering the passenger compartment. There were no cars in our path. I have not taken it to the dealer yet or called insurance. There was no warning prior to the glass exploding.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 02, 2022
StateSC
Description
Headlights are not bright enough for night driving.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 01, 2022
StateAL
Description
1st crack in windshield was a pebble, the 2nd was a bug that hit windshield.
CategoryTires
DateOct 31, 2022
StateWA
Description
245/50 r20 tire exploded no rubber left on wheel I was on the freeway doing 70, and there wasn't a secure place to pull completely over. No I got 5 second warning my tire was at 26 all others at 30... Then bam
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 29, 2022
StateOK
Description
Blank instrument cluster same as nhtsa campaign # 22v344000. This issue started happening about 2 weeks ago and has happened approximately 5 times so far.
CategorySuspension
DateOct 28, 2022
StateKS
Description
At 13,500 miles I started hearing a clunking noise in the rear of the vehicle. There is also a strong burning rubber smell after I have been driving. The kia dealer confirmed that my rear self leveling shocks need to be replaced. I'm not sure if the melting rubber smell is a fire concern. I am concerned that the reduced braking and cornering ability with the defective shocks would make it harder to avoid an accident. I'm currently waiting for the parts to arrive for repair but was instructed to continue to drive it. These shocks are specific to tellurides with the tow package and it seems to be a known issue from the response I've gotten at both the dealer I purchased from and the dealer where I took it for service.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera, Electrical System
DateOct 25, 2022
StateCO
Description
Electronic speedometer cluster goes out sporadically. Back up camera glitches out randomly and says no camera signal received. At least 4-5 times in a year. Kia service won't do anything about it unless the can “duplicate the issues”.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 21, 2022
StateMO
Description
Windshield cracked with less than 5,000 miles on the vehicle. I noticed it after picking it up from the dealership for an oil change.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving down the highway, the sunroof exploded. There were not cars in front of us or beside us at the time, and we have no indicators of any debris hitting the roof. The sunroof exploded upwards based on the curve of the remaining glass. We were going around 70mph on an 80 degree day. Most of the glass was caught but the visor but some did land on us. We have reached out to kia and they have stated they have never heard of this before despite many other owners on kia complaint forums experiencing the same thing. This occurred on 10/3/2022 at approximately 4pm. We were not seriously injured and maintained control of the vehicle at the time.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Steering
DateSep 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
On a 200 mile drive my serpentine belt shredded causing my car too overheat ac to stop working and leaving me stranded
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 25, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was driving on the highway at a speed of 55mph when a small rock hit my windshield. It was not a large rock, probably closer to a pebble. My telluride's front windshield cracked immediately to a length of almost 20 inches long, horizontally.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 24, 2022
StateNC
Description
Okay so, I noticed my windshield was cracked on my way home from work. It had been parked in front of my work and I live in a small town. I immediately notified kia and asked for the pictures of my car before and after it left the service center because there are 3 visible chips on the lower passenger side of the windshield. Maybe not enough to notice had it not been for my windshield literally splitting. The kia dealership I bought my car from 2 months ago told me it looked like a rock chipped my windshield. I don't believe this is what happened, I think they set something on my car and chipped the windshield. Regardless the windshield crack has spread half way across my windshield in 24 hours. For arguments sake, if a rock had hit my windshield it shouldn't crack completely in half. That's literally insane. I'm beyond upset that my brand new ,000 car already has to have the windshield be replaced. My biggest concern with this purchase was safety and I was assured that it was one of, if not the safest car on the market. It doesn't seem safe to me that a small chip the size of a ballpoint pin cracked my whole windshield in half.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 22, 2022
StateTX
Description
I was driving and a small pebble hit my windshield from a truck traveling in the opposite direction. The crack spidered out slightly. After 1 hour it traveled halfway across the windshield in my line of vision. I believe this is a defect with the tellurides thin windshield glass as a normal car windshield that was hit by a small pebble could have been repaired instead of having to be replaced due to traveling through the window.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield is a safety hazard, I have not had the car for 3 months and have already had to repair it due to it having multiple cracks and chips.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist
DateSep 20, 2022
StateFL
Description
The forward collision-avoidance assist, fca is the main component that failed on me numerous times before inevitably ending in a car accident. The car is currently with my insurance company statefarm, to assess the damage and to see if it was a total loss or not. They have had it since the accident that occurred back on august 20, 2022. The car had multiple electrical issues that unfortunately were temperamental as to when they would happen so because of that I started to take video on my phone when ever they did happen to show the dealership of the malfunction when it happened so they could see with their own eyes that there was a problem. I attempted to have the dealership fix it but the gm nicely said, "if it doesn't happen with us then it then it didn't really happen and we don't care if you have video or not! That's our policy so sorry about your luck!!!" it was the fca and the lane keeping assistance that were the 2 main parts that malfunctioned that risked my safety and the safety of others. The fca is what malfunctioned during the accident. It would randomly slam on the brakes as if I was about to hit something and the lights would flash and the beeping would sound each time it did this even though there was nothing around me. The other times it had done this to me prior it would only happen 1 time and then it would go back to normal but the date of the accident it continued to malfunction over and over again. There were sensors broken on the car from the moment I drove it off the lot back in april of 2022 and have had replaced. The fca had been malfunctioning since early june and I first reported it to kia back on june 22nd 2022. Kia just sent me a letter confirming the fca does malfunction but its to late now! I have so much more to report but not enough space to tell you everything! They could of helped me when I showed them proof but they didn't care. Their negligence risked my life and my children's lives!!!
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 20, 2022
StateTX
Description
I have a 2022 telluride I purchased from the dealer in may/22 and after 3 months the windshield cracked starting from the bottom corner of driver side almost across the entire windshield. The crack happened while the car was parked in the garage overnight, I found later a small chip maybe caused by a pebble. I did some reasearch online and this same problem has been reported multiple times on kia forums. I talked to the dealer and they said this is not covered by manufacturing warranty.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 20, 2022
StateMO
Description
Small rock hit windshield on very edge, the initial impact only produced a chip not much larger than the tip of a ballpoint pen but within minutes a large crack has spread at least 18" across the windshield. Based on research online this is unfortunately a very common issue and has been going on since at least 2019 when the company acknowledged the issue with a "goodwill" customer service initiative to replace damaged windshields for this exact issue. Still waiting to hear from dealer on potential resolution.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 19, 2022
StateKY
Description
1. Speedometer displayed 0 mph on the display screen and odometer. It took 2 days for it to start working again. 2. Backup camera displayed a green screen with a error message for 4 hours.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 18, 2022
StateNY
Description
The instrument panel that displays the mileage, and other things you can select with the mode such as tire pressure, fuel economy, range remaining on the tank of gas goes blank. The main instrument panel display randomly goes out from the moment it starts to the end of that drive, most of the time it works but some drives it's completely blank the entire time, rather you restart several times or not.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 15, 2022
StateSC
Description
While driving at approximately 35 mph, with no vehicles, pedestrians, lawnmowers, trees, road hazards, etc., near, the windshield spontaneously cracked near the passenger side pillar. The initial crack was circular with spider-webbing, the longest of which was approximately 6 inches (not exact due to being measured with a hand as reference). The vehicle was immediately parked, and upon return to the vehicle 1 hour and 45 minutes later, the spider-webbing had spread to approximately half the length of the windshield from the initial crack at the passenger side, to the driver side. My wife confirmed that there were no vehicles traveling the opposite direction, no pedestrians, overpasses, trees, vehicles, or other logical causes near the vehicle immediately following the initial crack. It seemed to occur spontaneously, my wife stated she heard what she could best describe as "the sound of glass cracking like in a horror movie" and observed the initial crack. Due to the rate of the spreading, and fear of further integrity failures, the vehicle is parked. I contacted kia due to the 2020 good will letter concerning windshields, and was told this did not apply to the 2022 due to it not being the appropriate year, and would have to cover the replacement of the window out of pocket or through insurance. No warnings, no noise indicative of something striking the windshield, no damage to any other components including the paint, etc. It just seemingly cracked, the only reason I could deduce is due to the temperature today being approximately 85 degrees, and the vehicle was parked in the sunlight due to the parking not being shaded. Perhaps the exposure resulted in the initial failure and subsequent spider-webbing. This vehicle was purchased brand new on 12 june, 2022.
CategorySeat Belts:front
DateSep 12, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2022 kia telluride. The contact stated while placing the tongue of the seat belt into the receiver, the driver's side front seat belt assembly separated from the body of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the seat belt assembly was torqued to the manufacturer specs. The other seat belt assemblies were checked. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle needed to be diagnosed. The failure mileage was 4,040.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2022
StateMI
Description
Driver assistance causing car to slow down or come to a complete stop on freeway when another car cut in front of me. Also, slowed down when car approaching me getting in turning lane. It is not operating correctly can lead to someone hitting you!
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateSep 04, 2022
StatePA
Description
Crack on the inside section of windshield. Top left corner sitting against the roof. Looks to be failure at install.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateAug 26, 2022
StateMI
Description
3 days after receipt of my brand new 2022 kia telluride I noticed a crack in the top of my winshield. After inspecting there was no visible chip and it started right at the top of the glass. A month the crack took over almost my entire windshield. Disappointed in the quality is an understatement.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 24, 2022
StateSC
Description
Windshield is cracked and only after 3 weeks of purchasing. The crack is in the top middle of the windshield and is spreading very rapidly across the passenger side. Very disappointing considering the price of the vehical!
CategoryEngine
DateAug 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
On july 20th, 2020 while driving our 2022 kia telluride at freeway speeds with a/c operating we noticed a change in humidity in the cabin. Immediately looked at the engine temperature gauge and it appeared normal. A few minutes later checked engine temperature again and once more temperature looked normal. Shortly thereafter came to a stoplight and glanced at the instrument cluster and noticed the engine temperature needle was pegged to the far right side of the gauge - indicating a extremely hot engine - and a "engine overtemp" message appeared in the message portion of the instrument cluster. The alternator warning symbol was also lit. Immediately pulled off the road into a service station and shut down the engine. Upon opening the hood noticed that the electric fan was running and observed no coolant leaks. Contacted our kia dealer and upon explaining the problem to their service manager was asked to check the serpentine drive belt. I did so, and found that the belt was shredded and wrapped around the ac compressor pulley. We arranged to have the vehicle towed 100 miles back to our kia dealer while we arranged transportation for ourselves. At the time of this belt failure this vehicle had approximately 3,600 miles on the odometer. The failed serpentine belt is kia pn 25212 3lac0. It is now august 23, 2022 and a replacement belt has been on backorder since july 20, 2022 and the dealer can provide no information as to when the new belt will arrive. We have had no use of this vehicle since the incident occurred and it has been sitting at the dealership.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
Display for the backup camera went blank. Has only happen once so far.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle was parked on level ground in the garage with the transmission in park. Parking brake was not set. I returned home in a different vehicle and checked the clearance on the garage door prior to closing it. It was at this point that I noticed that the garage door (which was previously closed) would not be able to close without hitting the telluride. The telluride was not driven, moved, touched or occupied during this brief period. Somewhere between opening the garage door and parking my other vehicle, the telluride rolled back 1-2 feet. I tried pushing it and confirmed it wouldn't move, but it would have been impossible for the garage door to have opened or closed with the telluride in the current position. As the garage was closed just before I opened it, and there were not any scratches on the telluride or garage door, there is no explanation other than the telluride rolled back. Since that incident, we have been setting the parking brake (manually). I understand the ev6 has a recall for a similar issue. Seems like the telluride may have a similar problem.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 08, 2022
StateFL
Description
Crack appeared in center of windshield after being parked in my driveway overnight. The crack is approximately one inch in diameter and circular.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
I have experienced 3 windshield cracks within the visual field since purchasing the vehicle new. Each time the pebbles are small and the crack is requiring complete windshield replacements
CategoryEngine
DateAug 06, 2022
StateCO
Description
We were driving down the freeway and the car overheated and power stopped. Turn our the drive belt was shredded and most of it missing. This was verified by the dealership once it was taken to them. This is a known problem through the community who owns these cars.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 01, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Exploding sunroof at approx. 6:45am on july 29th, while driving on highway with no other cars in sight the sunroof exploded. Sunshade was closed therefore glass did not fall onto us while we were driving. The sound was extremely load, we heard a load pop and then the shattering of glass. We all jumped inside the vehicle but thankfully no cars were in sight around us as we did swerve. We were approx. 2 miles from the dealer's exit so we drove directly to the dealer. Manufacture is not taking any responsibility as they say it was due to impact but there was absolutely nothing that hit our car. No other vehicles around or debris on highway.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 01, 2022
StateNC
Description
I was the first car in line stopped at a traffic light - no vehicles in front of me - and I heard a loud pop. Immediately, I noticed a curved crack in the upper center of the windshield that wrapped below the rear view mirror area. There was no impact to the glass at the time - the windshield just simply popped for seemingly no reason whatsoever. This has been an issue on 2020 and 2021 kia tellurides, and kia has been aware of this issue for a while, blaming it on a "windshield bonding problem" at the factory.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2022
StateGA
Description
Purchased a brand new 2022 kia telluride. After less than 5k miles, engine overheated and I had to stop the car in order to let the engine cool down. The coolant level was fine, I did not see any leaks, and I did not notice an smoke from the engine compartment. After 30min of letting the car cool down, I started the car and checked to make sure the radiator fan was working - and it was working fine. The car's temperature gauge showed normal temp. I turned on the heater full blast as I drove home, just in case. Temperature remained normal. I am unsure why the engine temperature reached critical levels causing the warning and beeping from the car's computer. I am still looking for a dealership to schedule diagnostic of the car to figure out the problem. All kia dealerships are booked until nov 2022!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2022
StateAL
Description
I was driving on the interstate and my sunroof just exploded, nothing hit it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 26, 2022
StateIL
Description
Instrument cluster goes blank. “data error” message displays. Speedometer stops working. Fuel gauge goes to “empty”. Compass displays the opposite of what is true (says I'm going north when actually traveling south). Warning message (voice and display on map) giving me a dangerous warning that I'm traveling north while in a southbound lane. No speedometer puts me and others at risk. Problem has been reproduced at dealership on 7/20/2022. No prior symptoms or warning lights when problem first occurred with 300 miles on the odometer. Created a case number with kia on 6/23/2022 (14889564). This problem seems very similar if not exactly like nhtsa campaign number 22v344000 and kia recall number sc237. Kia seems to be dragging their feet in fixing this dangerous problem. It's been very difficult getting any answers on when they will fix the problem. I could use your help. This issue has occurred 9 times in 8 weeks.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 23, 2022
StateKS
Description
Front windshield developed hairline crack on lower driver side. Crack measures approximately 12 inches in length. No evidence of any impact. Crack noticed by owner at roughly 7am cdt on tuesday, jul 5, 2022. Vehicle had been driven the previous evening by same driver. At that time no crack was noted. Vehicle was garaged overnight. As previously stated, there are no signs of impact or other abnormal stress to the windshield. Vehicle purchased new in july 2021. Dealer to inspect week of july 25, 2022.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 22, 2022
StateWA
Description
I was hit on the front driver side of my car by someone who flew through a red light. The impact was so hard that my head slammed against the driver side window and shattered the glass. No airbags in my car deployed. The other drivers airbag deployed. I had to crawl out of the passenger side door because her car was slammed into mine. I sustained a concussion and injury to my arm from the impact. I'm 5'10” and was wearing a seatbelt
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 22, 2022
StateMO
Description
Small rock hit windshield which caused the windshield to crack. Never seen a windshield crack so easily.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 18, 2022
StateVA
Description
We have had the vehicle for less than a year and the windshield has already broken twice from very small/light pebbles. The star caused by the most recent one was so small we didn't even hear it and has now spread to a 30"+ crack across windshield. We learned through researching that the windshields on these cars are becoming notorious for easy breakage and we do not feel safe having such a weak windshield. I have been driving for 18 years and have only ever once before had a windshield need replacement. The crack is so large I am afraid the glass will fall through while driving and it distorts the view. Should not have to keep replacing the windshield for every grain of sand that strikes it!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 05, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Windshield crack developed 6 inches above from bottom from drive side when driving on highway after 2 hours of drive. No one near my vehicle and not related to any collison. Crack increased from 3 inch to half of the screen on parked car. Not inspected by police or insurance company as of now. Went to dealer in norwood, ma and person at dealership reviewed and confirmed it happed without any specific external hit.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 05, 2022
StateOH
Description
Windshield cracking on a brand new 2022 telluride. This could cause severe issues at high speeds.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 02, 2022
StateVA
Description
Cracked windshield developed within hours and it was sitting in the driveway. I have not had this vehicle for more than 30 days only to find out this is a major issue I have to jump through hoops to fix. I was sold ownershield (and sent them photos for review) and was told when sold that product that I could get the kia windsheild replaced with kia parts (they knew this would happen). But today I was informed by ownershield that if I were to use safelite my claim may not be covered... What a scam! It is like a sideways j, right in the middle of the windshield so it is messing with my visibility and is unsafe. No warning of anykind given even after starting up the car. Kia needs accountability on fixing these issues especially with theybare tacking on additional fees for 'shortages'.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJun 30, 2022
StateGA
Description
My 13 year old son went to smack a bug off the windshield in the inside and it shattered.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 28, 2022
StateTX
Description
I brought my 2022 kia telluride with only 12 miles on it in february 12, 2022. Less than 4 months old and only 4177 miles and my transmission has gone out. The dealership I bought has had it for 20 days now. I am told my vehicle is not safe to drive so it has to at the dealership. I have contacted kia customer service they are advising me that the transmission is on back order and not eta for it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Upon starting my vehicle morning of 6/16/22 the lcd cluster display showed “system check” with the scan of the picture of the suv then screen went to black. I attempted to restart the vehicle and it did the same thing. I took the vehicle directly to dealer and rep saw the blank display. In addition apple car play stopped working. On 6/20 rep informed me that everything was working and tech was unable to duplicate the problem. There's obviously something faulty with the vehicle. The car has less than 5500 miles and dealer said since they were unable to duplicate the problem there's nothing to repair but if it happens again to take it back in. This issue prevents me from being able to see odometer and if I have to wait for a tech to get around to looking at it I risk the chance of the problem temporarily fixing itself before the tech looks at it.
CategorySeat Belts
DateJun 19, 2022
StateIL
Description
Driver's (left front) seatbelt tongue is sometimes difficult to fully insert into the seatbelt buckle. Even worse, sometimes it appears to be inserted, but it is not fully engaged/locked. I've inspected buckle and there does not appear to be any debris. Fully pressing the release button on the buckle before inserting the tongue seems to alleviate the issue. Next time I bring car to dealer, I will have them inspect/diagnose/replace.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 16, 2022
StateLA
Description
Windshield. Windshield was chipped by a flying rock or piece of debris on the right side just at the edge on february 14, 2022. Within one to two weeks a crack had formed and went two-thirds of the way across the windshield in the view of the driver. Windshield was repaired on march 31, 2022. On april 13, 2022, less than two weeks from the replacement, a flying rock hit the windshield and caused a chip at the very bottom of the middle of the windshield. Within two weeks the chip had formed a crack and went half way up the windshield, turned, and went almost all the way across the passenger side of the windshield - in the view of the passenger. It appears many kia owners have had the same issue with small chips causing extreme cracks in the windshield which resulted in having to replace the windshields numerous times.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJun 13, 2022
StateMA
Description
Sunroof exploded
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
Completely random windshield crack with unknown cause. Doesn't appear to be from impact, discovered after vehicle had been sitting undisturbed in private driveway, no wear near other persons, vehicles, or poor weather.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJun 09, 2022
StateVT
Description
Purchased 2022 telluride nightfall ex end of august and at the beginning of march and within about 6000 miles a small rock kicked up from a car caused a chip which spread to a large crack the next day. Dealership would not replace due to chip that wasn't even visible as it was in lower passenger corner of black area. Glad I purchased all the extra coverages offered by the dealer and paid more than msrp due to an unsolicited dealer fee!
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJun 03, 2022
StateDE
Description
Instrument panel is not functioning, vehicle is currently at service center waiting for replacement part to determine if this will correct all issues which includes gear shift light indicator not working, voice command stating “turn around you are entering the wrong way” randomly while driving and the instrument panel. Initially the instrument panel screen would alternate between working fine to intermittently being partly or fully snowy before it would go completely dark. This pattern continued until mid may when it went completely dark and has stayed this way. Although there is no recall at this time on my specific vehicle I'm concerned that this ongoing issue could potentially caused me harm while driving.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateMay 25, 2022
StateCO
Description
While driving the car, the speedometer on the car read 0, the entire drive. It would not register how fast or slow I was going. I tried turning off the car and turned it back on, it continued to not read my speed. I have video of the entire incident, but it looks like I can't download video to this site.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 23, 2022
StateMD
Description
After taking my car back to the dealership and speaking to kia usa about my instrument panel going blank randomly, now my blinker arrow lights have stopped working randomly. This is a safety issue even more than the instrument panel because my blinker can be on without me being aware, which could lead to another car pulling out in front of me if they assume I am turning. I was driving for a while today before I realized that my blinker panel lights had turned off and I had been driving with the blinker on. This occurrence has happened twice now within the last week.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 23, 2022
StateIN
Description
Windshield has a long crack with nothing impacting the glass
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 22, 2022
StateTX
Description
Sunroof, available for inspection but scheduled for repair. Sunroof exploded spontaneously, no vehicle in front and no foreign object found that could have caused explosion damage. I calmly move vehicle off road into parking lot. Explosion was so loud that someone else could have reacted differently and caused an accident. I've read and heard of other incidents where people report the same situation. Insurance has been active in resolving this incident. I've also contacted the kia dealership and kia usa. No warning was given before this happened. I do not have at this time have an insurance claim number, response from manufacturer or repair invoice.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 19, 2022
StateMS
Description
Was traveling on the interstate when a small pebble hit my windshield creating half dollar size shatter. This car is only 4 months old and I was only traveling about 35 mph at the time and do not feel the impact should have been sufficient to create this type of shattering.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 17, 2022
StatePA
Description
Outside temperature: 72 degrees philadelphia, pa no other traffic around. The sunroof seems to have just exploded in the center and the environmental conditions were just fine. There was no road debris and or other traffic around to cause such. The damage fortunately did not injure anybody in the car.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 17, 2022
StateTN
Description
Windshield is so thin. I have 2 cracks within 2 months. One is right in my line of vision. Dealership won't fix it even though I'm reading this is a common problem.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 17, 2022
StateMO
Description
I have owned this vehicle since july 2021. In that time I have had to have two different windshields put in due to large unexpected cracks.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 16, 2022
StateCO
Description
Windshield cracked for no apparent reason. Vehicle is 2 months old
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 15, 2022
StateUT
Description
I've had the car for less than 6 months, and have been driving in typical situations that are not any different than how I have been driving other cars (regular driver) for over 20 years. I have 3 separate chips in the front windshield from pebbles or unknown causes. One has extended cracks. I've never had a chip in a windshield on another car before this, let alone 3 within the space of a few months.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateMay 10, 2022
StateLA
Description
Windshield cracked from passenger side to driver side. There were no cars or vehicles in front of me.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 08, 2022
StateAR
Description
Windshield hit with small pebble and crack immediately across windshield never have had happen so easily. Seems to be default in windshield
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 27, 2022
StateOH
Description
I have owned this car for two months. Today, I noticed a crack in my windshield. I haven't had anything hit my windshield. I've contacted kia and am awaiting a call back, but I see online where there are many more complaints about the glass being faulty and cracking for little or no reason.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
Front windshield small crack completely spread across entire windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
The windshield has chipped and shattered three times in the less than 6 months I have owned it. All times, I was driving at or below the speed limit. A pebble sized rock shattered the windshield and the other two times, it wasn't even noticeably hit, it just cracked. A windshield that is this fragile is not safe in a brand new vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 18, 2022
StateCO
Description
Purchased vehicle on 2/18/22 and within two weeks, windshield easily cracked with a small rock/pebble kick up in the snow. Several small chips (at least 100) in the windshield causing low visibility in a car that we've only had for 2 months. Several groups of telluride owners report the same problem on 2020-2022 models but kia is not acknowledging the issue in the 2021/2022 models. Trying to get kia consumer affairs to show me a statement that proves that kia has upgraded their 2020 windshield glass (which has been recalled / a part of a class action lawsuit).
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 18, 2022
StateUT
Description
I don't think the windshield is strong enough and it makes me scared to drive in the highways. I've had for less than 4 months and a small rock left a big crack after going 50mph. Already had another small chip since then. These are made terribly and have had other owners tell me the same.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 17, 2022
StateAR
Description
Small rock struck windshield causing it to develop at 10-12” crack. The vehicle has less than 100 miles on it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 12, 2022
StateAL
Description
I was driving down hwy 25 no vehicles around us and when all of of a sudden our vehicles windshield literally just started cracking across the front, nothing hit our windshield, the incident happened on 04/11/2022.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateApr 08, 2022
StateNV
Description
2022 telluride is undriveable due to safety alarms/warnings. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where it was purchased (findlay kia). It's been 19 days and they have not been unable to find the cause and correct the safety alarms/warnings. Alarms/warnings: master warning electric power steering awd system warning forward collision avoidance assist high beam assist blind spot collision avoidance assist smart cruise system warning lane keep assist
CategoryPower Train, Suspension
DateMar 30, 2022
StateNY
Description
I have owned my kia teuride for about 7 months and in those months I have had to bring the car to the dealer 3 separate times for a vibration problem. For each time car was in service for a few weeks. First was told I needed tires balanced and they balanced. 2nd time was told I needed a new driveshaft and they replaced. 3rd time wad told I needed a new awd coupler and it was replaced. I am a disabled father of 3 kids and cannot go back and forth to the dealer all the time when they tell me I can't have a rental car or loaner and then strand me at the dealer 14 miles away from my house. There has to be a better way to help people cause it seems that kia consumer affairs is not even helping
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 30, 2022
StateCA
Description
After driving on highway noticed a 6” vertical crack in the middle of the windshield . Never noticed anything hitting windshield
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMar 20, 2022
StateIL
Description
Driving 2022 telluride on highway with cruise control active. Forward collision warning activated, initiated the automatic emergency braking, without any objects or traffic around. The activation was unexpected, without any indication of reason, so much so I instinctively pulled the vehicle off the road way and caused damage to the undercarriage and front bumper. This has happened before, and has been reported to the manufacturer and dealership and was scheduled to have it checked out. Unfortunately, the sudden plunge off the road way ended with the vehicle in a severe angled ditch and I ran over a metal post or some other objects in the ditch way and now the vehicle is inoperable.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateMar 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
Started telluride and put in reverse, instead of my back-up camera coming on, the lcd screen began blicking from blank screen to home screen to blank screen. I backed up a couple feet and the camera came on, then it began blinking again.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
On multiple occasions, when the telluride cruise control is active, the forward collision warning will activate the automatic emergency braking system, without any objects in the road. When taking the vehicle to its first oil change at the dealership, I was using the cruise control and it was the first time it happened (2. 15. 2022). The second time was approximately a week later. The third this past week (3. 18. 2022) each time it occurred, it would alarm, break, and return to cruise speed over and over until the cruise was disabled. Appointment for warranty check set for (3. 23. 2022) kia was informed, customer rep said to take it to dealership with no other explanation or help.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 16, 2022
StateCO
Description
Brand new vehicle with 14 miles on it. Drove an hour home from the dealership. There's an issue with the transmission. Transmission will slip / skip gears while both accelerating and braking. Verified in all drive modes (eco, normal, sport, auto). Burning smell coming from vehicle. Buzzing noise coming from engine bay. Our safety was put at risk because when it shifts gears suddenly the car leaps forward, can even happen during turns. Vehicle has not been inspected by dealership yet as it's about an hour away and we do not feel safe driving the vehicle. No warning lights have appeared. Read others with similar transmission issues needing to be resolved.
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
After parking, I tryed to retrieve an item that fell between the console and the right side of the driver's seat . To my horror my arm got stuck. There was nothing I could do and since I am a nurse realized that time was of the essence so I would not lose circulation to my dominant hand. I was able to retrieve my cell phone with my left hand and call 911. It took 3 emts to extricate my arm from this terrible design. I currently sustain a bad contussion. During the emergency, my husband also confessed to have gotten his arm stuck with resulting scrapes, bruising and bleeding and our daughter who is a medical doctor who borrowed this car also got her arm stuck. This console is too big and too dangerous.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2022
StateFL
Description
We had a rock hit our windshield and a crack happened. I know this is possible, but of all the cars I've driven in my 25 years of driving this has never happened with a simple rock hit. I am in a group for telluride owners on facebook. This is a fairly common complaint that is made by owners. I was in a tiguan group prior to trading that in and never once saw a post for rocks causing cracks. Kia is clearly not using the best glass. This can be very dangerous.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 04, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact's wife owns a 2022 kia telluride. The contact stated while his wife was reversing, the instrument panel became inoperable. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that as his wife turned off and restarted the vehicle, the instrument panel lights illuminated; however, the failure returned after a while. The contact stated that the failure had been occurring intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that no issues were found. Additionally, the dealer informed the contact that they could not repair the vehicle under nhtsa campaign number: 21v577000 (electrical system) since the vin was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,200.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 03, 2022
StateMA
Description
Sunroof spontaneously exploded while driving on the highway at around 65 mph. Fortunately, the shade underneath it was closed so the glass did not get in my car and fortunately, my children were not with me.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 01, 2022
StateMI
Description
Sunroof exploded while driving at 65 miles per hour on I 65 interstate. We heard an extremely large explosive type sound and saw that the sunroof cover was retracting. Small pieces of glass and rain began falling into the vehicle. It was determined later, that most of the glass was blown outside. It is unknown if the glass pieces made contact with any vehicles behind us. Kia roadside assistance was automatically activated and we requested the address of the nearest kia dealership. We drove approximately 10 miles to a kia dealership who placed “crash film” over the gaping hole. The sunroof had been closed before this incident. There were no warning lamps/messages prior to the sunroof exploding.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateLA
Description
Purchased on february 10, 2022 after driving a week windshield cracked, traveling at 40mph on city street.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
Purchased 2022 telluride sx on 02/14/2022. Today(2/19/2022) noticed a chip/crack on windshield in driver sight. I believe chip/crack happened for no reason. Crack is in drivers sight and it will be a safety concern.
CategoryElectrical System, Equipment:electrical:infotainment
DateJan 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 kia telluride. The contact stated that the rear backup camera would intermittently remain in operation while in the drive which caused a distraction to her while driving at various speeds. The contact also mentioned that other electrical delays would occur with the infotainment screen. The contact stated that her vehicle was included in nhtsa campaign number: 21v577000 (electrical system) and that upon arrival to the dealer; she mentioned the failure to the dealer. The dealer informed her that the recall would repair the failure; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 0.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving I noticed my windshield cracking from the lower drivers side. The crack has grown bigger. Nothing hit the windshield to cause it to start cracking
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJan 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
The car is one week old and developed a crack in the windshield overnight in mild weather. The crack is over two feet long and growing.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 28, 2021
StateTN
Description
Windshield keeps getting chips and cracks
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 24, 2021
StateGA
Description
My new awd 2022 kia telluride vibration/ humming at 65 mph and above from day 1. It's been in service 5 times and they are not able to fix the problem. The dealership we bought it from didn't even admit there is a problem so we had to take it to another dealership which actually admitted there is a problem. They just changed the drive shaft and rear differential and the problem is still there . It's been in service longer than it's been with me. Very frustrating.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 24, 2021
StateWY
Description
Windshield easily cracked with a small small kick up in snow. Several small chips in the windshield for low visibility in a car with less than 1500miles on it. Several groups of telluride owners report the same problem on 2020-2022 models
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 04, 2021
StateFL
Description
Windshield broke by itself
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 04, 2021
StateNY
Description
Unable to put the seatbelt latch in the buckle with a booster seat in place.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 15, 2021
StateMO
Description
Windshield already has a 'rock chip' on the driver's side. We've only had our 22 telluride for 1 week and only has 200 miles.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 04, 2021
StateNC
Description
The windshield has cracked on my new vehicle with 3,000 miles. I have investigated this and it seems to be a common problem with this make and model.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
I got a brand new 2022 kia telluride. Same day a rock or a piece of debris hit my windshield it was around 3:30 pm, while I was in the last lane to take my exit, so I was going at a very low speed. The impact was not that loud but caused a crack in the windshield, it quickly continue to expand by the time I got home the crack was several inches wide. It is concerning to me that at such low speed the windshield would crack, my previous vehicles had been hit before but never cracked.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:lock
DateSep 20, 2021
StateNC
Description
The door locks on the car will start cycling locked/unlocked very rapidly. Sometimes in only last 10-15 seconds, other times it will not stop until I manually click the lock or unlock button. It does this when it is parked and it does this when the vehicle is in motion. I do have a video on my phone of this. Kia is being of no assistance in getting this resolved. Online there are multiple reports of the exact same scenario and everybody is reporting kia is not fixing the issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 20, 2021
StateMO
Description
Had car 5 days. Heard pebble hit windshield - immediate crack - windshield is in terrible shape. No way this should happen, just cracked immediately
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 08, 2021
StateMI
Description
I just recently bought a 2022 kia telluride 7 days ago and while driving on the freeway the windshield shattered in the lower corner of driver side. There was no car in front of me (not a close distance) or near me for that matter and there was no overpass for a rock to have fallen from. My windshield shattered and glass landed in my face, eyes, and mouth, and all over the inside of my car. Luckily I was able to maintain some control as there were no other vehicles in close proximity. I've had rocks hit my windshield before but never to the point of causing this kind of damage. There have been recalls on previous kia telluride model and others with 2022 models have been experiencing this issue as well. This is ridiculous and of course the windshield is on back order and kia expects me to continue driving around with my windshield like this because they don't know when they'll have a windshield available. At the dealership they were adamant that a rock hit the windshield however, myself and the passenger did not see a rock and the level of damage that occurred should not have been this high which is concerning as well. There is no way it is safe for me to continue driving like this especially when kia doesn't even have an estimated date for me to get this repaired.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 09, 2021
StateVA
Description
This 2022 telluride ex was purchased on 7/10 and has about 1015 miles. While driving in a 35 mph zone beside a shopping center, I heard a click and then noticed that I had a chip in the windshield directly in front of the driver side. I never saw a rock or anything hit the windshield and there were no cars in front of me or passing me at the time so I don't believe a rock hit the windshield. I am not exactly positive what happened during this low speed incident but I have never had this with any previous vehicle I have owned. I believe there is a safety issue with the glass on this windshield if it can chip or crack this easily.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
Bought a new 2022 kia telluride july 26, 2021. On july 27 the lcd instrument cluster went black. I only had the car one day. Came back from the store started the car and it worked. A new car should not have this problem. In the kia forums many have also had this same problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 23, 2021
StateVA
Description
Day 1 of ownership of brand new vehicle. At less than 100 miles on odometer, the center part of the instrument panel goes completely black and does not display pertinent driving information, potentially information necessary for safety purposes. Problem is intermittent. Dealer is unable to fix and unable to determine cause of problem.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 23, 2021
StateIL
Description
Instrument panel located between the speedometer and tachometer which shows information such as mph, tire pressure, miles remaining, etc. Intermittently goes blank. When you start the car, it shows a system check then goes blank. This does not happen every time but it happens frequently (once per day). If you shut the car off and open the door, it usually fixes the issue the next time you start the car. This issue began the day after I purchased the car new.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
Unknown: lcd cluster instrument display went black after purchasing the car for 1 day.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
12 hours after departing the dealership with my new car the windshield cracked. I was driving on the freeway and a small pebble size object hit the windshield. Immediately there was a crack and within hours it spread. The object was very tiny. The impact of the object was not strong since I actually assumed it was bird dropping that hit the car. I contacted the dealership and was informed no replacement is available at this time because the car is so new. It is also not under warranty. They have no estimated time as to when I can replace it. I am worried about the safety of my family as the crack continues to spread impacting my visibility. I am concerned it will shatter causing harm to passengers. This problem has been reported by consumers of 2020 model tellurides and two models later it appears the issue continues with the 2022s.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 18, 2021
StateKS
Description
Center cluster screen on dash is not turning on with vehicle. It is as safety concern as none of my safety alerts are working. Lane assist, emergency braking, cruise, etc. I have reported to kia america and have not heard back.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel, Electrical System:adas
DateJul 17, 2021
StateTN
Description
The component is called the information cluster which sits between the odometer and the speedometer. It was been inspected and they flashed the firmware but the problem continues to persist. With out the I can not view my mileage I can't turn on safer features like the alert if a child is left in the back seat etc. I called back to report it still wasn't working and was told their engineers are working on it. The car is only a week old with I'm not sure how many miles maybe 250 miles but there was zero warning it wasn't going to work, it just started
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 17, 2021
StateOH
Description
Lcd instrument cluster display does not always appear when starting vehicle. This is used to provide a display of the digital speedometer,, fuel economy, and options to enable various driving vehicle warning messages and driver assistance settings.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel, Electrical System:adas
DateJul 17, 2021
StateTN
Description
Dash screen randomly goes blank.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 17, 2021
StateNJ
Description
I just purchased my car on 7/15/21. While driving today my lcd screen on the dashboard goes black after the system check. I can not see any function on my vehicle ie, miles…system setting, fuel etc. This screen is a necessity to operate this vehicle. While looking online many telluride customers are experiencing the same issue and there has been no remediation from kia
CategoryElectrical System:adas
DateJul 17, 2021
StateMI
Description
The lcd display in the instrument cluster that gives information about many adas features stays off. The screen just remains blank on most starts. Restarting after opening and closing the doors helps some times to bring the display back. But since there is no feedback about many adas features because of no display, it is indeed a safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel, Electrical System:adas, Vehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateJul 16, 2021
StateCA
Description
The instrumentation screen in front of the drivers wheel goes out all black periodically on some startups. With it black, cannot tell what mph / gear / distance to empty / drivers mode, and none of the advanced drivers assist features work. One time it happened while on cruise control and just kept accelerating as if it didn't know what speed I was going. 2022 kia telluride. Many others same issue in the forums I'm in.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 15, 2021
StateMA
Description
Screen in cluster randomly does not turn on, missing critical information while driving the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 14, 2021
StateCA
Description
The instrumentation cluster screen goes black about 50% of time vehicle is turned on.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.