2019 Tesla Model X Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Build quality, electrical system, suspension and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There aren’t many electric SUVs on the market, which is what makes the 2019 Tesla Model X so unique. Another key feature is how the automaker claims it is “the safest SUV.” However, families across the nation are finding out that the defective electrical system, poorly-built structure, malfunctioning suspension and faulty engine are causing concerns.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Tesla pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Tesla Model X

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Suspension
14
Electrical System
12
Unknown Or Other
12
Structure:body
10
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
7
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
6
Service Brakes
5
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Steering
4
Electronic Stability Control
3

Problems with the Electrical System

A faulty electrical system can lead to a lot of problems. From the way an EV charges to the functions of the amenities, there can be a lot of headaches if this system fails.

Here’s one problem noted by an NHTSA complaint. “The driver side window doesn’t roll all the way up when trying to close it automatically with one button push. It goes partially up the side and then will automatically roll down.”

Aside from this, there are other documented electrical system issues. Service Bulletin #SB-19-44-008 talks about the High Voltage harness between the front drive unit and Front Junction Box getting disconnected, leading to alerts that tell the driver to stop, limit acceleration or stop operating the vehicle. While it doesn’t affect the actual operation of the EV, it can be scary to get these alerts while driving.

Aside from this, the NHTSA is currently investigating an electrical system issue that might turn into recalls. NHTSA Action Number DP19005 talks about a major problem with the battery system that needs further investigation. So much for being the safest SUV. Actually, this vehicle can only be deemed safe if no one drives it.

Problems with the Suspension

The ride quality with a luxury SUV should be sublime, but that’s not what Model X users are finding.

Here’s another NHTSA complaint worth looking at. “5 week old vehicle with 2200 miles had the left rear axle become disconnected spontaneously after accelerating straight ahead from a city street red light without any prior collision or accident. This wheel was tilted 30 degrees into the wheel well rendering the car undriveable. The left rear axle or control arm was visibly hanging freely underneath the car. Tesla Service has been unable to diagnose the cause for spontaneous failure and await input from the engineering department. They have suggested that it could be a control arm failure or a broken aluminum car frame.”

Again, Tesla is aware of numerous steering problems. Service Bulletin #SB-20-31-001 states that the front stabilizer bars might have the wrong vulcanized bushing, which lead to a squeaking sound when traveling over road imperfections. Considering most roads are not perfect, this must create a wonderfully beautiful harmony that owners are probably getting sick of hearing.

Problems with the Build Quality

As a premium SUV, this vehicle needs to be made to the highest level of quality possible. Yet, there are too many reports saying otherwise.

One NHTSA complaint states, “Driving at around 20 miles an hour over flowing water on a city street, the splash from the water ripped off the right black plastic arch cover of the right wheel. Fortunately, the plastic arch cover remained attached, but most of the plastic tabs were detached. The worry is that if the speed of the vehicle had been more, the plastic piece could easily have been entirely ripped from the vehicle and flown into the air causing damage.”

This isn’t the only structure issue. Service Bulletin #SB-20-12-002 says that condensation is getting into the B-pillar, which is causing an obstruction to the camera. Because of this defect, some Autopilot features aren’t able to work correctly, putting people in danger. Maybe it is a safer SUV without the Autopilot after all.

Problems with the Electric Engine

While the driving force of an EV is different than a gas-powered car, the propulsion is just as important. With the Model X, there seem to be even more complaints about the electric engine, leading one to wonder why anyone would want to pay more for this system.

Take a look at this NHTSA complaint. “While I was parking, sudden unintended acceleration occurred, vehicle jumped the curb and the vehicle smashed into a wall. The airbags deployed. The car took a life of its own. I am a good driver with no accident history and did not press the gas. I had just pressed the Park button. I have several lacerations on my face. My left orbital has a contusion and right eye needs retina surgery. I have cracked ribs. I will need extensive rehabilitation on my back and neck. I have nonstop headaches. What is scary is I could have been with my 5 year old on a highway. I almost drove over a 4-year-old child and her mother who were playing 4 feet away. The car was only 2 weeks old. I know that Tesla keeps saying the same thing, that it is the fault of the driver and that may be the case, but I have several witnesses to see the car took off including my finance driving behind me. Come on Tesla, this is a $120k car. I loved this car for the 2 weeks I had it, now I am scared to drive it again.”

Even though Tesla says this is the fault of the driver, NHTSA has something different to say. NHTSA Action Number DP20001 is an open investigation talking about sudden acceleration. This might be a problem that eventually turns into a recall, once again proving that the word “safe” should never be used to describe this SUV.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Tesla pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 26, 2022
StateCA
Description
February 2022: on feb 23 and 27, 2022, the vehicle would not start when parked. It was taken to the tesla service center on march 1, 2022. As shown in the service notes from (exhibit 2), the service center " found micro sd card issues causing center display communication issues and loss of support for low voltage battery, tech replaced micro sd card, installed firmware and replaced 12 v battery". We took tesla diagnosis and repair at face value, and our family drove the car for approx. 8000 miles additional miles before the second failure occurred. August 2022: while driving with my wife at 65 miles per hour around 1:45 pm on august 7, 2022, on a very busy hwy 91 east in the los angeles area, the vehicle lost power unannounced, and in less than 2 minutes of the first warning lamp coming on. With the help of very limited residual power that was left in the car, I was able to navigate the vehicle to the triangle between 2 merging freeways. We can only surmise that since I turned on the hazard lights immediately after the first warning lamp was on and there was sufficient distance between the vehicles behind us, we avoided a major accident that could have resulted in bodily injury or death not only to me and my wife, but for others on the freeway. We were stuck in that narrow space for over an hour as we were on hold with tesla roadside assistance for a very long time. The gears would not change, and no amount of hard boot would restart the vehicle. Luckily, we had requested a tow truck from aaa about 40 minutes into the wait and it arrived within 20 or so minutes after the tesla said the car had to be towed. It was the most traumatic and scariest experience of our lives, whose emotional scars are still fresh in our minds. Imagine vehicles whizzing by us within inches where we were parked causing our vehicle to shake very hard every time a vehicle passed by, reminding us of the danger we were in. The vehicle was towed to the closest tesla service center.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateOct 02, 2022
StateOH
Description
My rear passenger doors were unable to open. The falcon wing doors could not be opened leaving my child trapped inside. The child locks were on but I could not open the doors from inside or outside the vehicle even if I tried overriding the system. I attempted a vehicle restart and that did not resolve the issue. Finally I turned off the child locks and reached inside the vehicle from the driver door and held the open button on the rear door. The door still would not open up but did pop open a couple inches. I had to physically lift the door up against the resistance of the electric motors to get my child out. I did open a service request with tesla but I do not feel safe driving this vehicle if the doors are ever unable to be opened.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving with my wife at 65 miles per hour around 1:4 pm on a very busy hwy 91 east in the los angeles area on august 7, 2022, the vehicle lost power unannounced in less than 5 minutes of the first warning lamp coming on. With the help of very limited residual power that was left in the car, I was able to navigate the vehicle to the triangle between 2 merging freeways. We can only surmise that since I turned on the hazard lights immediately after the first warning lamp was on and there was sufficient distance between the vehicles behind us, there was no accident that could have resulted in bodily injury or death. The vehicle was towed to the closest tesla service center in buena park, ca. Tesla technicians "suspect a sporadic voltage/current spike from rear drive unit, but unable to confirm after a 40 mile test drive". They replaced a blown fuse 107 as their diagnosis for drivability; in addition they also changed the 12v battery. In feb 2022 and march 2022, the vehicle would not start when parked. The service center " found micro sd card issues causing center display communication issues and loss of support for low voltage battery, tech replaced micro sd card, installed firmware and replaced 12 v battery". Tesla has not been able to (a) identify the root case, (b) if the solution they provided addressed root cause and what in their experience, expertise and judgement is the probability if such a failure would reoccur. They have also not provided information of what tests they performed and data from the testing. I am aware that in feb 2022 a tesla lost power on I-70 near independence missouri and the driver died from the pile up. Based on the above, we are very concerned that the vehicle is unsafe to fro the passengers in my car and others on the freeway in proximity to my vehicle. I had provided information about the august 2022 incident to nhsta hot line call center on august 25, 2022. To date I have not heard back.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 07, 2022
StateNM
Description
What component or system failed or malfunctioned, and is it available for inspection upon request? -- cruise control system (with or without full auto-pilot engaged) how was your safety or the safety of others put at risk? -- vehicle comes to a near complete stop from highway speeds, in traffic, to avoid 'something' that doesn't exist has the problem been reproduced or confirmed by a dealer or independent service center? -- no, but can be reproduced on highway 54 between el paso, tx and alamogordo, nm has the vehicle or component been inspected by the manufacturer, police, insurance representatives or others? -- no were there any warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to the failure, and when did they first appear? - no, problem has occurred since april 2022 after receiving the full self-driving beta software update. Description of problem: vehicle is suffering from the well known "phantom braking" issue and appears to be getting worse. The problem can be reproduced 100% of the time on highway 54 between el paso, tx and alamogordo, nm. With cruise control activated and set to 75 mph (auto-pilot disengaged), vehicle will hard brake to 45 mph or less and then resume back to 75 mph; essentially "brake checking" the vehicle directly behind. No injuries or accidents to report at this time
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery, Electrical System:wiring:fuses And Circuit Breakers
DateAug 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 tesla model x. The contact stated while attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle would not start. After several hours, the contact was able to start the vehicle and drove home. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the 12-volt battery was replaced; however, the failure reoccurred. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, the vehicle started losing power. The contact pulled over to the side of roadway and the vehicle lost motive power and stalled without warning. The contact was not able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they diagnosed the vehicle and they stated that fuse #107 was blown. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 34,234.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 04, 2022
StateNJ
Description
My 2019 model x, which hadnt travelled even 2-3 miles in the last 3 weeks, suddenly had misaligned front wheels. When I contacted tesla, they sent a tow truck to tow the vehicle. The tow truck driver upon seeing my vehicle mentioned that the suspension is broken and he has been towing many tesla model x's because of this reason. The tesla service center said that the suspension is damaged because of driver abuse most likely due to driving at high-speed over potholes. Upon asking them how did they find out about the damage they mentioned that their service technician went underneath my car while it was on the tow truck and using a flashlight saw that the suspension was bent and determined that was due to driver abuse. Tesla didnt have any records to prove that the car was actually inspected at their shop and they sent my car to their authorized body shop to be fixed at my expense. I believe that tesla is lying, they know that the front suspension is weak and tends to get damaged over few years of abuse. Instead of recalling the vehicle they are blaming the drivers such that the driver's insurance bears the cost instead of tesla.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 22, 2022
StateOH
Description
When in direct sunlight in temperatures above 80 f rear doors (referred to as falcon wing doors, fwd) will not open reporting an “obstacle detected” error. The on-screen manual override will not work in this situation. You just use the interior physical control on the pillar near the door you are trying to open. For this control to work you must disable the child protection control. Manually raising the door therefore requires several intermediate steps including disabling a basic safety mechanism. On top of all that, the door takes up to 20 seconds to open using the manual override. I have had the issue repaired on 3 separate occasions and it is still not fixed. I would also note the the 2018 tesla model x we previously owned had the same problem.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 17, 2022
StateNV
Description
Car brakes hard when nothing is in road and when it comes to stopped cars waits too long to brake and brakes too hard when using autopilot
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateJun 03, 2022
StateWA
Description
We continue to experience "phantom braking" from our tesla model x. The incidents are sporadic, but have been been consistent across our 3 years of ownership of the car. The phantom brake incidents always occur on the freeway, and are rarely associated with an actual collision. The car will be set to standard "autopilot" cruise, and will suddenly slam on the brakes. We have become so accustomed to this, that we are usually ready to intervene and accelerate manually to avoid startling/brake checking the traffic behind us. Autopilot has always seemed to phantom brake in the following conditions: around semi trucks, or large trucks, or when (what I assume) is confusion of the nav system where the car believes it's on a reduced speed limit road, when in fact it's still on the freeway.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateJun 03, 2022
StateCT
Description
Unexpected hard braking while the car is in advanced driver-assistance model.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 23, 2022
StateGA
Description
Experienced repeated phantom breaking and unwarranted early collision warnings
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The automobile automatically brakes even on the highway at speeds of 55 -65 miles per hour. It creates a safety issue because there are cars coming behind me at full speed and the tesla stops for no reason.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Service Brakes
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateMD
Description
Phantom breaking does occur. It is scary when this happens because of rear vehicles not being able to stop. The breaking, I think, is probably due to some shadows on the road like bridges casting shadows on the road, or something else of that nature, the vehicle perceives an obstruction ahead. I think it is camera issue related, or sensor perceiving some unknown, not existing object ahead. This has happened multiple times, and at one spot on I 690 before a bridge. That is why my thinking is shadow issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
When I am driving down the highway, the car breaks abruptly for no reason at high speeds. It has scared my family multiple times over the last 3 to 4 months. I thought by now it would stop doing it, but it's still inconsistent even when I checked all of the camera lenses turn sure they are clean. I understand this is being called phantom breaking? Please let me know when I can do?
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 04, 2022
StatePA
Description
Tesla's v11 software has moved systems needed to use the vehicle, such as climate control, window defrosters, and more from standard reachable positions, to buried in menus. This requires multiple taps, swipes, and other actions that take the driver's eyes off the road. The system also uses microscopic sized fonts, rendering it very difficult to quickly view information such as speed, battery level, location, and more while operating the vehicle. Please look into this. Thank you.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateAZ
Description
At highway speeds, using autopilot, my car will suddenly and powerfully brake to a full stop unless I intervene. If this happens with traffic behind me, they must brake hard to avoid hitting me. Also the forward collision warning activates when there is no reason. I have many video recordings, of my dash, the events and the road, while this is happening. How do I send video to you?
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 tesla model x. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph in the carpool lane, the brake pedal was applied however the vehicle failed to stop and crashed into an unknown vehicle. The contact mentioned the brake alert feature failed to engage. There were no police reports filed, injuries, fire or air bag deployment. The contact called the local dealer but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 29, 2021
StateCA
Description
My car at a complete stop at a red light and sudden the car accelerated so fast forward ( unintentioned accelerated ) and rear ended the car in front. Need to take a look into car electrical and software issue
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
The mcu (media control unit) and the driver's dash goes out while driving under normal driving conditions. When the mcu and dash goes dark/dies, the turn signals don't work, the rear view camera goes out, the blind spot warning and lane departure warning is disabled and the speedometer doesn't display. Basically I was driving in the dark. It was a very dangerous situation. Fortunately I was driving and not my wife who is the primary driver. This is no longer a technical safety concern but rather a safety issue for us and for others. I brought it in for service 2 times and the outcome was: we're aware of the bug and working on an over the air fix but no eta. This is not an isolated issue since it occurred many times captured below: jun 22 - 8:33 pm pst jun 30 - 8:32 am pst jul 2 - 12:32 pm pst jul 8 - 5:58 pm pst jul 13 - 8:09 am pst jul 16 - 6:46 pm pst this is similar to the situation that occurred in the collapse of the condo in florida. In that case: 1. They were aware of the issue 2. They knew they had to fix it 3. But they didn't take responsibility nor accountability. They should have evacuated the building instead of killing 100+ innocent lives. In our case: 1. Tesla knows there's an issue 2. Tesla knows it needs to be fix 3. Tesla refuses to take immediate action until something drastic occurs. The car is practically brand new with only 5k miles on it. I have videos to capture this frightening ordeal.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJul 06, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 tesla model x. The contact stated that the vehicle was in the parking lot parked for approximately 1 minute, the vehicle independently accelerated forward as the park assist unavailable warning light illuminated causing the vehicle to crash into a concrete wall where it came to a stop. No airbags deployed. A police report was filed. A police report was filed. There were no injuries sustained and no medical attention was sought. The vehicle was towed by the police department to a lot where the contact was awaiting the insurance company estimates for the damages. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and started an investigation. The contact mentioned nhtsa action number: dp20001 (power train, electrical system, vehicle speed control, electronic stability control) as a possible solution to the failure however the vin was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 12,548.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 10, 2021
StateFL
Description
On 5/2/21, I purchased a used 2019 model x from an audi dealer in florida. I am a us citizen with a legal drivers license in the state of florida. On 5/2/21, I submitted an ownership transfer request via the tesla website, I included all the requested documents to verify ownership, including my fl drivers license, registration, picture of the odometer, and I even added some photos of the car itself. On 5/9/21, I was forcibly locked out of my vehicle by tesla motors while I was parked far away from my home. On 5/9/21, I called tesla roadside for help, explained I had a one year old baby in arms, was standing under the sun, could not reach into my vehicle. I was told they could not verify ownership. I explained I had to access my vehicle, I had both keys with me and was able to verify anything they needed, I was told they could not verify ownership. I was told it was a security matter and that since they could not verify ownership the vehicle was now locked and not accessible, even though I legally owned it and had both keys in hand. On 5/9/21, I spent 6 hours and several hundreds of dollars trying get a tow to my home, and trying to get inside of it to grab my belongings. I failed. The vehicle is parked at that location, I'm unable to access my vehicle, that I paid for, that I legally own, because "tesla motors" cannot verify ownership.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body:door
DateApr 26, 2021
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 tesla model x. The contact stated while the vehicle was stationary, the driver side front door opened and automatically closed on the contact's finger. The contact stated that medical attention was required at the hospital for a finger laceration. The contac stated that another incident recently occurred when the she was exiting the rear passenger side door independently closed and slammed on the head. The contact stated that the door automatically retraced upwards after hitting her on the head. The contact sustained a cut and a headache however, medial attention was not required. The contact was relating this issue to the automatic door closing feature in the vehicle. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to tesla service center (52 derwood cir, rockville, md 20850) where it was diagnosed with nothing needing to be replaced. The contact stated that the dealer informed her that the door was programmed correctly as it would automatically retract when an object was detected. The vehicle had not been repaired as of yet. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 16, 2021
StateMD
Description
Historically (may 2019 - dec. 2020), the screens (showing speed, autopilot status, and other information) would sometimes go blank. I reported the problem in my 1st week of ownership (in may 2019) and periodically thereafter. Tesla remotely sent a fix from time to time, but the problem persisted. I then learned from the media (not tesla or the nhtsa) that nhtsa had mandated a fix on 2016-2018 model x's because of screen failures. I asked tesla to fix my 2019 (noting that it appeared to be the same problem as what had req'd. The nhtsa mandate, and tesla did fix it (or said they did) a few months ago. But on april 13, 2021, the problem came back and far worse. On that day and while driving my son to upstate ny by highway, the screen did not simply go blank (at least not initially ... It did eventually) but first "froze" for over a minute while falsely stating that I was still in autopilot (hands off pedals and steering wheel) going roughly 70mph on a highway. Again, during the freeze, the screen (frozen) falsely said I was still in autopilot (when, in fact, autopilot had disengaged). I alerted tesla to the problem april 14 and brought the car in for an april 15 fix. Tesla addressed it, but I can have no confidence in the fix (1) given the history; and even more so because (2) tesla's invoice falsely describes the problem as simply a "blank screen" (which is not nearly as dangerous, bc the driver is at least alerted to the problem), and said simply that its "engineering team is aware about this issue and is currently working on a reliable solution. Issue will be resolved in one of future firmware revisions." this seems dangerous and unacceptable.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 06, 2021
StateGA
Description
The car's electronics fail while driving . The main monitor shuts off while the car is on the road. It shuts off for several minutes and then comes back on. Extremely scary as everything on this car is controlled on the large screen and when it shuts off , you cannot modify , control or change anything . Happens atleast once a week if not more . Tesla technician acknowledged the problem but cannot fix it saying that it has been an issue with model x.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateMar 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
Here is a mangled and partially burned model x in the junkyard. Https://erepairables. Com/salvage-cars-auction/tesla/model+x/vid-46135539 the back wheel has fallen off and is stashed in the frunk. All the suspension links on the back are stretched and snapped, but the wheel is almost undamaged. It is impossible for those stretched links to have been caused by the crash. The rear of the car is almost undamaged. It is idiotic to use extruded aluminum for critical suspension links, they are simply not strong enough for the weight and power of the car. The danger only increases as the cars gets older not just because of wear and tear but also because cheaper secondhand teslas are affordable for young inexperienced and often reckless younger owners. Please take action before more people get killed. Than you. Keef
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
We purchased this vehicle back in august 2019. We have been experienced both instrument panela fail on hwy in daytime and night time. We have returned to tesla service center almost every month for this issue. However, tesla isnt able to solve the problem for us. It seems very common to have both panels failed after more than an hour of driving it. Please kindly help to investigate it. This really put myself and family members in danger.
CategorySuspension
DateFeb 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
The car experiences a strung judder under acceleration. Tesla replaced the front half shafts at about 10,000 miles and solved it temporarily but it has returned. They now say it is a design issue and they will replace them when a new version is produced.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Steering
DateDec 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
While driving on the highway using the autopilot function the car would spontaneously swerve out of the lane when the lanes were merging. At other times it would slam on the breaks although there was no vehicle in front of me.
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
Since we purchased our vehicle the bumper has never been fully attached to the car brackets. Tesla has attempted to fix this at least 5 or 6 times. The last visit resulted in tesla installing a completely brand new bumper which appears to be fully attached.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 19, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2019 tesla model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/38420467? Rownumber=26 the lh back wheel and suspension has fallen off. The rh back wheel has gone as whompy as an elon. This one takes the proverbial biscuit. Did the tent monkeys run out of gaffa tape? Un freaking believable. To see this clunker in all its glory be sure to click the 360 degree box. I say again, un freaking believable. Please get these things off the roads before even more people get killed. Thank you. Keef
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Structure:body
DateDec 15, 2020
StateCA
Description
I started to reverse and as always the backup camera view came on the dashboard. I was watching as I backed out of my parking space. My wife felt it was very hot in the car and she turned on the ac. That switched my backup camera view on the dashboard while I had pulled my car half way. I was then driving blind as I pulled out without the camera view on the dashboard. I didn't hear any "stop" sign or any audible sound to stop before I hit the bus behind.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 08, 2020
StateCA
Description
You have opened an investigation into front suspension failures of certain model years and models of teslas. It is obvious that suspension weaknesses and failures are affecting all years and models of these cars due to bad design, bad manufacturing and bad quality assurance. This 2019 model x is a perfect example:https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/38309891? Rownumber=17 the back wheel has gone whompy. Both front wheels have fallen off. The ball-joints and other giblets have popped apart. Good heavens to betsy what more do you need before you demand a recall? Are you waiting for a bus full of children to get obliterated by one of these unguided missiles? Does musk really have a licence to kill? Words fail me. (and that doesn't happen often) yours angrily keef
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 08, 2020
StateFL
Description
I bought this car new in 2019 and after a few months of driving the car developed this horrible shudder as you accelerate between 30-40mph. I brought the car in for repair and was told there was no fix for it. After I contacted an attorney tesla replaced the axles on the car. Tesla told me that if I accelerated hard on this car I would void the warranty. Problem I use this for work as a doctor in the hospital and I do not hard accelerate this car. Now imagine if I had to hard accelerate to get on a highway or pass someone. Look at the number of complaints. This car now sits in my driveway and now have another car while I pursue the lemon law
CategorySuspension
DateNov 30, 2020
StateFL
Description
This is the 2nd time that the left front suspension vibrates and rattles on acceleration. When I went to tesla to see if repair was still under warranty, I was told no. I explained that this "repair " was done some time ago after I purchased the vehicle, and was look for a good faith repair. I was told I'd have to pay for repair this time around. I am a limo driver and use my vehicle to transport passengers.... This is a major issue to my business.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Exterior Lighting, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 17, 2020
StateWA
Description
Tesla reboot while driving on a freeway! Super scary experience driving home on cold and rainy october night in my one year old 2019 model x. I turned on my auto-pilot and within few seconds, the dashboard as well as the speedometer turned black. The dashboard turned dark, lights out, and the car seemed to be free rolling at a high spped on the freeway... No indicators, no speedometer. Nothing. I thought that the car systems failed and I panicked, did not know what to do and my whole life flashed in front of me with the impending catastrophe. I continued driving. After a few minutes I turned on my right indicator (not knowing whether it was working) with the intent to exit the freeway. After a few minutes I managed to exit the freeway, found a spot to stop the car and waited for the functions to resume in 5-7 mins. Afterwards I called up tesla roadside assistance. To my surprise, it seemed that they are aware of such issues. They advised me to not to use autopilot feature for 24 hours. They promised to evaluate the reasons and get back to me. It's been 2 days and I have not heard back from them. From the user forums I gather that this incident happened due to rebooting of the car's systems on its own and is not rare and other owners have expereinced this nasty issue. I am shocked that how could tesla not fix this issue when they are aware of this? By not fixing this issue, we are waiting for a tragedy to happen or probably it happened already and no one know of the reasons. I am scared to drive this car knowing that this issue can happen again. I have put through undue stress and psychological trauma due to this incident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
The driver side window doesn't roll all the way up when trying to close it automatically with one button push. It goes partially up the side and then will automatically roll down.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
The vehicle and steering wheel vibrates while accelerating
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
The air conditioner stopped working after supercharging the vehicle
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2020
StateKY
Description
Vehicle began smoking and caught fire. Iv completely burned, nothing left except the frame.
CategorySuspension
DateJul 23, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a tesla just arrived in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/36891270? Rownumber=8 it has been in a major collision and it is a near certainty that occupants have been killed or seriously injured. The part of the car that has suffered the least damage is the back rh side and it can be seen that the complete wheel and suspension has been torn off. The wheel assembly has been placed in the frunk of the car. The torque link on the suspension is snapped along with all the other giblets. Since there have been so many other cases of tesla wheels randomly snapping off for no good reason it is highly probable that the back wheel falling off was the cause of the crash rather than the result of it. You can prevent further loss of life by doing your job and launching an investigation into the dangerously fragile tesla suspensions. Thank you keef please note that date of crash etc. Are only estimates
CategorySuspension
DateJun 05, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2019 tesla model x in the junkyard https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/36463077? Rownumber=19 yet again... The suspension has snapped off. No airbags have been deployed, the car has not been in a front end or even a sideways collision. This is self inflicted injury. The suspension giblets have snapped like a pretzel. How many more examples of these deadly defective tesla suspensions do you need before you recall the nasty things??? Yours whompily [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategorySuspension
DateFeb 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2019 model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/35430523/33 it has done just 2000 miles and the front suspension has simply fallen to bits causing a sudden failure to proceed and air-bag deployment. It has not hit anything. It only has self inflicted injuries due to defective suspension giblets. Jan 20, 2014 - tesla chief elon musk disputes the use of the term "recall" in ... In a tweet earlier this week, musk said, "the word 'recall' needs to be recalled," I guess you guys are in agreement right? ( rolls eyes, breaks wind loudly) have a great day. Your friend keef
CategorySuspension
DateFeb 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/35430962/32 it has self-inflicted injuries due to the usual broken fore-link which has been the subject of innumerable complaints already. If you guys can spare a few moments away from your worship at the temple of musk.... Would you mind issuing a compulsory recall for tesla's lethal weak suspension giblets. Thanks. Your friend keef
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 12, 2020
StateNY
Description
I've had my tesla since december 24th 2019. The car was given to me without a test drive and said to have a seven day guarantee. The car was defective from the moment I got it, automatically accelerating and acting sporadically when engaged in auto pilot. The battery life is has often been one third of what I paid for and tesla will be 'servicing' it for the third time tomorrow. The car is dangerous and not reliable. They would not take my car back because they told me I was part of a government rebate that invalidates my ability to return the erratic vehicle with poor mileage. Among other issues my car also has window alignment issues bubbles in paint defective camera defective sensor misaligned windows automatic acceleration when not supposed to steering issues defective autopilot strange sounds and more
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 27, 2020
StateGA
Description
Driving at around 20 miles an hour over flowing water on a city street, the splash from the water ripped off the right black plastic arch cover of the right wheel. Fortunately, the plastic arch cover remained attached, but most of the plastic tabs were detached. The worry is that if the speed of the vehicle had been more, the plastic piece could easily have been entirely ripped from the vehicle and flown into the air causing damage.
CategoryAir Bags, Engine, Structure:body
DateJan 21, 2020
StateFL
Description
I just bought a 2019 tesla model x 2 weeks ago. While I was parking sudden unintended acceleration occurred vehicle jumped the curb and the vehicle smashed into a wall . The airbags deployed. The car took a life of its own. I am a good driver with no accident history and did not press the gas. I had just pressed the park button. I have several lacertaions on my face. My left orbital has a contusion and right eye needs retina surgery. I have cracked ribs. I will need extensive rehabilitation on my back and neck. I have nonstop headaches. What is scary is I could have been with my 5 year old on a highway. I almost drove over a 4-year-old child and her mother who was playing 4 feet away. The car was only 2 weeks old. I know that tesla keeps saying the same thing that it is the fault of driver and that may be the case but I have several witnesses to see the car took off including my fiance driving behind me. Come on tesla this is a 0k car, I loved this car for the 2 weeks I had it, now I am scared to drive it again.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 14, 2019
StateMD
Description
While drivind on autopilot , the car is changing from drive to park mode. It happened many times on freeway. Service center unable to resolve the issue
CategorySuspension
DateDec 04, 2019
StateCA
Description
I have been filing reports of teslas having snapped suspensions for more than 3 years but no action has been taken. The photographs of this broken tesla provide categorical proof that that the suspensions are unsafe. Please note that this car is only a few weeks old and has only done 1500 miles. Https://www. Copart. Com/lot/57807379/photos there is absolutely no damage to this car apart from the snapped off suspension. The links have been stretched until they snapped and then the entire assembly has been wrenched off. Quite obviously the extruded aluminum links are too weak to withstand the massive torque especially if the brake is applied on one wheel by the traction control. All it takes to snap off the suspension is for one wheel to slip on the road surface and that wheel will be locked up by the traction control. The result can be disastrous. Even if the power to the electric motor is immediately cut the flywheel effect will still power the opposite wheel at double rpm via the differential. This can cause a sudden surge in speed and a swerve. ***a flywheel is a mechanical device specifically designed to efficiently store rotational energy (kinetic energy). Flywheels resist changes in rotational speed by their moment of inertia. The amount of energy stored in a flywheel is proportional to the square of its rotational speed and its mass. Flywheel - wikipedia*** it is astounding that in 2019 these cars are still using such unsafe suspension systems. Please investigate this problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateNov 08, 2019
StateNY
Description
This is a 2019 tesla model x with rear "wing doors". Left car in a parking garage. Attendant parked the car, left fob in the car, walked away and left rear "wing door" mysteriously opened on its own. I saw this happen on garage security video system. A couple of months ago I walked in my home garage and the right rear "wing door" was in the up position. Nothing had been touched. Nothing activated. Car was in sleep mode.
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateOct 31, 2019
StateFL
Description
5 week old vehicle with 2200 miles had the left rear axle become disconnected spontaneously after accelerating straight ahead from a city street red light without any prior collision or accident. This wheel was tilted 30 degrees into the wheel well rendering the car undrivable. The left rear axle or control arm was visibly hanging freely underneath the car. Tesla service has been unable to diagnose the cause for spontaneous failure and await input from the engineering department. They have suggested that it could be a control arm failure or a broken aluminum car frame.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Structure:body
DateOct 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
While I was parking sudden unintended acceleration occurred vehicle jumped the curb and the vehicle smashed the building went thru the wall. There were twice prior incedents with no accident but freaking out whithin last 4 weeks. The vehicle was in motion in city street all three instances. All three incidents I was turning the corner or parking with less than 5 miles per hour.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Engine
DateAug 01, 2019
StateMD
Description
Two major issues. On june 23, after a software update, I left to run some errands. I got a message that the update didn't install properly, but given that the functions of the update didn't seem critical, I decided to wait to try and reinstall. I was at a stop light in the center lane on wisconsin avenue in dc (a very busy street), when I went to go as the light turned green, my entire screen went black and I could not start the car. My hazard lights wouldn't even go on. Thankfully, I could roll down my window and wave cars to go by. I thank god that my children weren't with me, as I could have easily been in a catastrophic accident in a very busy intersection. After a couple of minutes of great distress, the car started again, but my navigation, auto drive, etc. Were not working. I called tesla and they resent the update and it installed fine, but took about two hours and three tries??? This was a nightmare. My purse was in the backseat with my phone and I was so busy waving cars around me I couldn't get to it. And no power = no tesla emergency assistance. How do you get help? This was terrifying. My second issue is that my lte rarely works. I've scheduled service, but they can't accommodate for another two weeks. That often leaves me with no navigation, no satellite radio, etc., etc. My app now shows my car is charging in maryland... When it's in a parking garage in dc. Again, not helpful. Having this experience and the failing lte, I am 100% convinced that you need to have carplay, where at least you have a back up for navigation and voice to text ability. It isn't safer to only have lte if it doesn't work. Mine went out this morning during my commute and never came back. I even tried using my phone hotspot for wifi and that didn't work either. How are you going to offer netflix and voice text if the lte and wifi don't work? How is that safer?
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 25, 2019
StateMD
Description
Went to a showroom to checkout the teslas, the model x gull wing doors hit me on the head as they were closing - should have a sensor to prevent that.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.