2019 Honda HR-V Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Fuel system, brake and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

In the world of crossovers, the 2019 Honda HR-V has gained a lot of attention. In fact, the automaker appeals to buyers by saying, “cross over to excitement,” but many owners aren’t thrilled with the adventure this model brings. From a failing structure to a malfunctioning engine and a defective fuel system to non-functioning service brakes, this vehicle puts a lot of lives at risk.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Honda HR-V

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
10
Electrical System
7
Fuel System, Gasoline
6
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Power Train
5
Engine
4
Unknown Or Other
3
Air Bags
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Structure:body
2

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

There’s no question that customers need to spend a decent amount of money to drive the HR-V. It’s not considered the lowest dollar option on the market. With this additional cost, the structure should be well-made, but it’s not.

Just look at this Edmunds review. “Least favorite thing is that the sunroof can’t be open while the car is moving. It will blow you out of the car… Aside from the two drink compartments, all other compartments are so tiny, nothing will fit into them.”

It turns out that there are other issues not even addressed in this review. Service Bulletin #A19-067 states that some center console armrests might not remain upright, which could be both distracting and uncomfortable. Maybe it’s just the car’s way of reminding owners how poorly-made this vehicle really is.

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical system runs every aspect of the vehicle, from the window locks to the battery. Without a properly functioning system, owners have a lot of glitches and annoyances to deal with.

Take this NHTSA complaint as an example. “The contact owns a 2018 Honda HR-V. The contact stated that there were several failures with the vehicle. The driver’s side door window kept going up and down, the electric power steering EPS failed, the EPS warning indicator flashed, and the steering wheel seized while reversing the vehicle. The vehicle was turned off, restarted, and taken to [dealer], but the dealer was unable to duplicate and diagnose the failures. There were no diagnostic trouble codes present at the time. The contact was provided with a loaner vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 5.”

It turns out that other electronic problems exist. Service Bulletin #A18-123 discusses the trouble with hooking an iPhone to the vehicle. It appears anyone running iOS 12 is having connectivity issues. Instead of taking responsibility, Honda blames Apple and says there’s nothing that can be done until the tech company fixes the problem. In the meantime, owners just can’t get connectivity to their newer iPhones. It’s difficult to create excitement without a driver’s favorite tunes playing during the trip.

Problems with the Engine

The engine is the main component of any vehicle and must be reliable to ensure customers can get from Point A to Point B. Yet, the HR-V has some serious engine concerns.

Another Edmunds customer states, “The engine has some knocking sound and a bit loud accompanying with a liitle vibration and the car jerks and breaks abruptly with a light press on the brake pedal. Sorry Honda this is my first and last Honda I have ever bought I just wish for the amount I bought, I bought something different such as Mazda or Toyota.”

Honda is aware of powertrain and engine issues. Service Bulletin #A19-021 states that the vehicle can create a rattling or metallic buzzing sound while traveling at speeds between 20 and 55 mph. Honda claims it simply requires a software update to adjust some of the parameters. Sadly, it just doesn’t seem logical that a software update would repair metallic sounds coming from the engine. As a last resort, customers could drive lower than 20 mph or more than 55 mph to avoid the problem. Just try explaining that one to the police that pull you over.

Problems with the Fuel System

The fuel system works hand-in-hand with the engine to provide power. Yet, with the HR-V, this is just one more system that doesn’t seem operable.

One more Edmunds review states, “I bought a 2019 and have nothing but problems it has no acceleration and loses power while turning. The Parking brake says it can only be released while your foot is on the brake and even with my foot on the brake still won’t release. Sport mode doesn’t even give it more power up hill and the paddle shifters are a joke worse car I ever bought wish I had my Tacoma back that I traded for. Do not buy this car.”

There has even been a recall due to the defective fuel system on the HR-V. In more than 135,000 vehicles, the fuel pump can completely fail, according to NHTSA Campaign Number 20V314000. If this occurs, owners might find themselves in the middle of the road with a stalled crossover, further increasing the chance of an accident.

Problems with the Service Brakes

As seen in the next instance, stopping isn’t this vehicle’s strong suit either, unless it is abruptly due to failure.

Just read this NHTSA complaint. “Was stopped at red light. Decided to use Brake Hold feature and when traffic started to move I tapped the gas pedal to release the hold. The vehicle accelerated at an excessive rate and I ended up in the rear end of the car in front of me. Air bag sensor came loose and wire was dangling after impact and bag sensor didn’t upload.”

Another recall occurred with the brake system on the HR-V. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V777000 states that the rear brake caliper piston coating might not be correct on nearly 65,000 vehicles. This insufficient coating can reduce the braking performance, again increasing the chance of an accident. So whether customers are being rear-ended from being stalled in the roadway, or they rear-end the car in front of them due to failing brakes, this HR-V is a danger, either way you look at it. Again, this isn’t the “excitement” that most people are signing up for. Instead, they could participate in a demolition derby if they are looking to be in a car crash.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Honda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 13, 2022
StateNY
Description
I heard of an ongoing investigation partaining to 2019 accords and cr-vs, so I wanted to add this information: I have a 2019 honda hr-v, and at least twice, the automatic breaking system has engaged erroneously/at dangerous times. The most glaring incident, I was driving in one lane at ~30 mph, and there was a left turn lane with a stationary car that I approached. I was not in the turn lane, I did not try to turn into the lane. My emergency brakes detected the car, one lane over, and unsafely slammed the brakes. I ground to a halt/5 mph, on a 30-35 mph road, and was almost rear ended. Luckily, nothing happened, but since then I have started to deactivate emergency breaking.
CategoryElectrical System:instrument Panel:fuel Gauge
DateJul 23, 2022
StateVA
Description
The gas gauge/mileage reader does not turn on in colder weather. There is no ability to tell how much gas is left in the tank or how many total miles are on the car. We ran out of gas on the middle of the highway because the gauge was not displaying how much was left in the tank. There are numerous reports of the same issue on this forum https://www. Hrvforum. Com/threads/fuel-gauge-goes-in-and-out. 41212/
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 02, 2022
StateFL
Description
The glass front windshield cracked on the inside of the vehicle from the rearview mirror down to within a couple of inches of the dashboard. I had the windshield replaced and the technician said it was very rare for this to happen, that it could possibly be a manufacturer defect. I just want this to be on record in case it happens to other owners of this vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2022
StateAL
Description
While driving on the interstate all dashboard lights come on including parking brake. After turning engine off, the lights go off and come back on after 5 minutes of driving again. If parking brake is engaged when parked, it is not releasable. Changed battery with honda battery, issue resolved. 6 months later driving down the interstate and the same thing happens again but this time the door ajar lights and sounds are on and the overhead light is coming on and off while I am driving at night. This is a known issue amongst 2019 hrv's. Dealership does not know what will resolve the issue. They provide coded that says it will be the start of the resolution and code can be ran after these items are fixed to fix the remaining items that might be causing it. 00 for a not even 3 year old car to be fixed for a known issue???? Hrv forums have many people that have spent thousands and the issue is still not resolved. Lights coming on in the car on the road at night are a safety issue. This definitely needs to be addressed. No issues with the vehicle prior and no warning that anything is wrong.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
On 2/27/2022 vehicle was involved in front end collision. Vehicle hit a fence, concerned that on impact vehicle air bags did not deploy.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
12/2/21-accident started as rear end collision and car was pushed into car in front for a front end collision. The driver side airbags didn't deploy and the driver's face slammed into steering wheel causing injuries.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 21, 2021
StateNV
Description
I was driving into my very short driveway tonight. I have a class b (van sized rv) parked in front. As I drove in and started to brake, the car accelerated rapidly. I tried pumping the brake, but the car accelerated and hit the back of the rv, causing significant damage to both vehicles. The air bags did not deploy, but the seat belt became very tight. I took the car into a dealer in utah 4 weeks previously and they did recall work on the brakes and fuel line. The problem with the brakes was excess air in the brake lines that they had to bleed, from what I read about the recall. I don't know if this is still the problem, but something caused the brakes to fail. I am now unsure if this car will be safe to drive, even after repairs. I live in a very remote area where the nearest community of any size is 2 hours in either north or south directions. There is open livestock grazing (horses and cattle) on the two lane highway and without the ability to brake as needed, this could be deadly for me, my passengers and the livestock. Please look into this. I have never had this happen!
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJul 16, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the contact was informed by the dealer that parts for the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and informed the contact that there was no date for parts availability. A case was filed. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJul 09, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted, and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact that there was no time frame for parts availability. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJul 01, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact received notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the dealer informed the contact that parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 05, 2021
StateNC
Description
Received dash warning "brake hold system problem" ."electric parking brake system problem parking brake not available. See your dealer".
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateMay 28, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be repaired under nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline). While leaving the dealer, there was an abnormal fuel odor inside the vehicle. The contact stated while driving the fuel odor in the vehicle caused her to have headaches and there was a burning sensation in her throat and in her eyes. The contact continued driving to her residence. The contact was concerned that the fuel odor might cause long-term health conditions. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,415.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 honda. Hr-v. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed however, the vehicle loss motive power and power steering assist making it difficult to change lanes. The contact also stated that while driving and exceeding 40 mph, the vehicle started jerking. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,800.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Steering
DateApr 26, 2021
StateNY
Description
My vehicle stopped in the middle of the highway without any warning. This was a very scary and dangerous experience. After the engine completely stopped and I tried turning on a symbol of steering wheel and an exclamation came on. Only thing to note is that we were using the cruise control at that time. My vehicle was completely disabled and had to be towed. The honda dealer said it was nothing based on diagnostics and they're not sure why this happened.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateApr 05, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact was made aware of nhtsa campaign number: 21v215000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called tempe honda (8030 s. Autoplex loop, tempe, az 85284, (480) 771-8116) where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 16, 2021
StateMD
Description
Digital gauge including odometer and fuel gauge randomly blanks out for periods of time causing you not to know how much fuel is in the vehicle while driving. This seems to be a safety concern. I reported it to american honda but they advised there is no recall at this time. This is a widely known concern and happens on a daily basis.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 05, 2021
StateMD
Description
The dash gauge including the fuel gauge blanks out display intermittently in cooler weather while driving. Seems like a safety concern since when this happens the fuel gauge reads blank. There are multiple complaints online from people talking about the same concern.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateWI
Description
Car locks randomly when you are inside it's outside of it with the doors open with it hatch open it's a real hazard if there's a child inside and you have a key inside when it locks this is a stationary problem.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 19, 2021
StateFL
Description
I only had this vehicle for a few weeks and I was driving up a bridge when traffic came to a screetching stop. I slammed on my breaks and my hr-v did not slow down as it should have. I had a 2018 honda civic for 3 years before this and they drive in a similar way. I also have driven old, huge, heavy trucks and suvs for years. I've even driven on ice and I lived in one of the snowiest places on earth (literally) and have never had a vehicle not stop in this way... I am really concerned and I got into my first accident, ever. After having this vehicle for less than 3 weeks.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJan 18, 2021
StateOR
Description
My vehicle has the same problem as several that are already listed on your website. Sometimes when I brake the car accelerates and tries to take off. I have to let off the brake and stomp on it again and I feel that the accelerator lets up. Sometimes when I let off the brake the car starts to speed up on it's own. I've been told by the dealer that they "can't find a problem." I was told by adrian from honda america " we will do nothing for you. When I bought this car it only had 3400 miles on it so it was like brand new. It does it most of the time when decelerating from a higher speed, like coming off the freeway and slowing to stop at the light.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 18, 2020
StateWA
Description
I have a 2019 hr-v ex-l that I bought new in october of 2019. On 12/9/2020, on my way to work, I was driving about 55 mph on a highway and I heard a loud pop. I opened my sunroof visor to find that my sunroof had shattered. I closed the visor immediately, so that glass would not fall on me. I called the dealership to let them know that I was bringing it in, and to ask if this would be covered under warranty, and was told no. When I arrived at the dealership, the technician said that it looked like a rock had hit it, and that is considered a road hazard, therefore it would not be covered under warranty. I let them know that there were no cars around me at the time of the incident, so I did not think it was possible for a rock to hit it. Additionally, there was no evidence of a rock strike, and the glass had actually broken in a way that the edges were raised up from the vehicle and not down, which I would assume would be conducive of a rock strike. They then told me that sunroofs don't just shatter on their own, so something had to have hit it, and that I should claim it on my insurance. My car was repaired, I picked it up, and paid the

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,053. 45 bill for the sunroof replacement out of pocket. I have since done quite a bit of research, and it seems like there is in fact, a significant precedent for sunroofs spontaneously shattering. I found multiple instances, several recalls from other manufacturers, as well as multiple class action lawsuits being filed for this exact situation. Additionally, I found multiple articles and quotes from glass professionals, as well as engineers, stating that it is physically impossible for a rock that has been kicked up from another vehicle to achieve enough velocity to shatter tempered glass on a horizontal plane. I am in contact with the general manager of the dealership, hoping they reimburse me, but no luck so far.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 21, 2020
StateNY
Description
I received a recall notice from the honda dealership where I bought the car about 3 years ago. I explained that I am unable to bring my car there because of health related reasons and the fact that the dealer is over 50 miles away from my home. I can only drive very locally. I asked the dealer to send the fuel pump replacement assembly to my local mechanic`s repair business and have him install it. I was told in no uncertain terms that this replacement part recall may only be done by honda mechanics at their service center. I explained I am unable to travel there and have disabilities making it impossible for me to get there. Nobody else can help me. I was told that I must live with the consequences of my decision and that the part will not be replaced. I am living in fear every time I have to use my car because the recall notice warns that this fuel pump defect must be replaced or there exists risk of a crash if it is not replaced. Please help me! I don`t know what to do! I am elderly and scared.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 07, 2020
StateIA
Description
07/06/2020- around 12: 32 pm, my car suddenly didn't work/stopped as I'm about to turn left on an intersection . The steering was locked. Prior to that the dashboard gave me the following warning signs: * battery charge warning light * check charge system * brakes * abs * traction control or esp this situation led me to call the police, because I'm in the front middle lane and causing obstruction, and call my insurance to tow my car which came at around 3:00 pm. Stopping and totally losing power while driving on a busy intersection is not a simple problem. It is a life-threatening situation that happened twice in as little as 3,000+ miles of driving (as my odometer indicated). I would like to know if this is related to the car recall my car has, which at that time no parts are available. Also, this was not the first time my battery was dead. My car is brand new. I was trying to file for lemon law, but they say its not applicable since I have warranty. I hope you can give me light on this situation. I am a first time driver, I don't know much about cars. I just want to prioritize my safety. Thank you!
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 12, 2020
StateCO
Description
My incident occurred in january 2020, within 2 weeks of purchase. The car was brand new. I was driving in my parking garage and turning into my parking spot. As I was making the turn to the right, I hit the brakes to slow down. Instead of reducing speed, the car accelerated and hit a cement pole next to my parking spot. The car shut down immediately, but the air bags did not go off. The front end was completely damaged and required extensive repair on the front bumper and grill, front lamps, radiator, and cooling,
CategoryEngine, Fuel System, Gasoline
DateAug 18, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v314000 (fuel system, gasoline). The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called courtesy palm harbor honda (31200 us hwy 19 n, palm harbor, fl 34684 (727) 263-3103) who stated that the vehicle operated as designed. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. After the recall letter was received, the contact was informed that the remedy part was not yet available. The contact stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the remedy parts were on back order for two weeks. The failure mileage was 4,568. Vin tool confirms parts not available.*dt*jb
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJul 20, 2020
StateCA
Description
When pressing the gas to begin moving from a complete stop, at a light on the 76 highway, the car will not kick into drive. You can press the pedal all the way to the floor and the vehicle only goes 10 miles per hour in traffic! This has happened 5 times within the last year!
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 16, 2020
StateMA
Description
Car looses acceleration at high rates of speed while driving on highway. On at least 4 occasions even with my foot on the gas pedal it just slows to unsafe levels while attempting to enter on the highway. This passed saturday while in the fast lane it just slowed to 30 mph with cars slamming on brakes behind and to the right of me.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 30, 2020
StateGA
Description
Mileage regulator on dashboard initially started flickering. This occurred 3 or 4 times. Then recently utcstarted flickering and went blank. Thus I could not tell how man miles I had driven or how many miles I had until next refill. This continued and I took a short video. Then continued to drive to dealership where it did the same thing. However, mechanic couldn't duplicate it, but saw my video. It was determined that I needed a new mileage regulator which is on back order. Car under warranty with less than 5,000 miles. This problem occurred when driving on the road or while ccx waiting for food thru a drive in. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateJun 18, 2020
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact stated that the driver's and passenger's side front and rear door fails to auto lock intermittently. Additionally, the automatic brake assist failed to function as designed. The contact stated that on several occasions after going over a bump in the roadway, the instrument panel became inoperable. The vehicle was taken to hertrich honda of easton (6546 ocean gateway, easton, md 21601), on several occasions however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 12,000. *ln*dt*jb*jb*ln*as *tr*ln*tr
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 27, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact stated that while coming to a stop with the brake pedal depressed, the engine revved up and the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact stated that extra effort was needed to depress the brake pedal and shift to neutral simultaneously to slow and stop the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to paul miller honda of west caldwell (1170 bloomfield ave, west caldwell, nj 07006, (973) 808-9100) on four separate occasions however, the mechanic was unable to provide a cause for the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and sent a regional inspector out to diagnose the vehicle. The inspector also failed to arrive at a conclusion for the vehicle failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 6,850.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes
DateApr 01, 2020
StateSC
Description
Was stopped at red light. Decided to use brake hold feature and when traffic started to move I tapped the gas pedal to release the hold. The vehicle accelerated at an excessive rate and I ended up in the rear end of the car in front of me. Air bag sensor came loose and wire was dangling after impact and bag sensor didn't upload.*dt*jb
CategoryWheels
DateMar 11, 2020
StateNJ
Description
The first tire damage happened on 1/10. We were driving back from the city. There was a loud noise, but kept driving because we were on the bridge. The following day honda dealer did the following: 1/11 right rear tire was replaced due to side wall damage; while car was at the dealer, honda claims the technician, due to internal negligence (what does that mean?) caused damage to sidewall: 1/11 left front tire replaced "due to internal negligence"; on february 24th, while driving back from nyc, almost on the george washington bridge, when there was loud sound. I think I hit a pot hole: at the honda dealer on 2/25 where the left rear tire replaced due to severe damage to sidewall; on march 8, while driving on route 4 pressure light suddenty turned on: honda dealer on3/9 where low tire pressure light on, diagnosis was too much tire pressure so adjusted three tires replaced all due to sidewall damage. I do not think this is a coincidence. That is too many tires being damaged for the same reason. The car has 8646 miles on it. When tire was replaced 2/25, tire pressures were also checked. Then by 3/9, all tires had too much air. There has to be something wrong with the tires or the car. I do not feel safe driving this car anymore, wondering when the next "severe damage to the sidewall" will happen.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 30, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. The contact stated that while attempting to park, the vehicle independently accelerated and crashed into the rear of another parked vehicle. There were no injuries sustained. No police report was filed. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 272. *js
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 05, 2020
StateID
Description
While operating an unmodified 2019 awd honda hrv per the included owner's guide (page 86), the brake pedal was required during 100% of a 15 mile descent to maintain the vehicle"s speed within the posted 35 mph speed limit. The engine braking promised, in the "l" gear selector, by honda's owner's guide was lacking. This issue has been verbally brought before the distributor, in addition to being formally listed as a complaint to the manufacturer. This vehicle, to which I am contractually obligated to own for 36 months, has significantly less engine braking capacity than the precedent set by decades of like vehicles which have been released to consumers with engine braking adequate for safe mountain driving. My own opinion may be irrelevant in motivating a motor company to improve or repair their product, but I refer to the idaho cdl manual as an authority on safe practices and equipment for mountain driving. Please refer to the idaho cdl manual, section 2. 6. 6 speed on downgrades "you must use the braking effect of the engine as the principal way of controlling your speed on downgrades. " as previously stated, the engine braking provided with the 2019 honda hrv is not adequate as a principal way of controlling speed on downgrades. I would guess that this problem may be related to a lack of proper tuning in the pcm (powertrain control module) regarding shifting set points. This presumption is based upon the added electrical shifting control equipment featured on a premium model, with a mechanically similar transmission. There was no disclaimer presented regarding engine braking or mountain driving before, during, or since the purchase of this vehicle. The consumer has little or no indication that this would be a problem during an urban test drive.
CategorySeats
DateDec 30, 2019
StateAZ
Description
The front seat electric heaters do not adequately heat up in either the high or low settings. Dealer techs claim the cabin climate control has to be turned up before they will work. They barely get warm. I own a 2016 hrv with seat heaters which work very well, are not connected to climate control and there is no comparison.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 23, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 honda hr-v. While attempting to park the vehicle, the contact attempted to ease forward by lightly tapping the accelerator pedal. Upon lightly tapping the accelerator pedal, the vehicle accelerated forward independently without warning. The contact crashed into another parked vehicle in front of her. The contact was finally able to place the vehicle into park and shut off the engine. A police report was not filed and the air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. The contact was able to drive the vehicle back home. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 240. The vin was unknown.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 28, 2019
StateIL
Description
I left my car parked with the emergency break engaged at home for 3 days. I just tried to start my car and the emergency parking break light flashes when I just step on the break peddle. When I attempted start the car but the car would not engage the ignition, my dashboard warning lights for the break system, battery,abs, breaks, low tire pressure, awd, and parking engage light all start flashing, and the right info screen displayed the error message of emergency break issue, contact the honda dealership. After multiple times attempting to get the car to start now the light for the e parking break light flashes and the engine start stop button lights white when I engage the break peddle. I have called for assistance but have no further information to the problem at this time. I hope it is just my battery dieing from the e break, but I do not understand how this could kill the battery. It has not reached below freezing for the past few days but has gotten to the high 30f.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 29, 2019
StateMD
Description
My brake assist safety alerts do not work as specified. I have had my car to the dealer 3 times for this; communicated to honda corporate ([xxx]) w/o resolution. I just had two incidents where I almost rear ended a vehicle while moving ahead of me with no alert from my vehicle. One was approaching a toll booth; the other at a exit- where a car suddenly stopped. The steering wheel never vibrates as it is supposed to and the alerts are random - sometimes I see on or hear one. The settings for distance to set alerts have no relevance. I have exhaused my resources to deal with this. The dealership (hertrich in easton md) falsified a report of findings when I test drove it with thier mechanic. He couldnt even tell me how it was supposed to work. The regional rep for honda test drove with me to demonstrate how it should work - it passed in all bu one instance. Richard, the national rep for honda will no longer return my calls - 800-999-1009 x87147 (case [xxx]). I have exhausted my options for getting this resolved. I am concerned about my assumed safety with this feature. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tt
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJul 07, 2019
StateVA
Description
Since the purchase of the vehicle, three indicator lights have gone on and off approximately 20 times and the vehicle is in the dealer's service department now for the third time to try and remedy the issue. The indicator lights are: the yellow check engine light, the yellow electronic parking brake symbol ((p)) and a red flashing "park" light. On the second visit, the oxygen sensor was replaced. It has been replaced again during this, the third visit, a month later and is still in the shop to ensure the lights do not go on in my possession. I am not confident the oxygen sensor is the root of the issue and the dealer has yet to fully resolve the issue.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 03, 2019
StateNY
Description
Fuel tank location, directly underneath front passenger compartment, with bars on both sides of gas tank.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.