2019 Subaru Legacy Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle Speed Control, electrical system and cracked windshield cracking issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Subaru continues to top the charts for safety and reliability, even becoming one of the “Most Awarded Brands of 2019,” according to KBB. However, the actual customers of the 2019 Subaru Legacy can’t understand where these rankings come from, especially after looking at the faulty vehicle speed control, poorly-built structure, defective electrical system and dangerous visibility.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Subaru pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Subaru Legacy

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
45
Electrical System
9
Unknown Or Other
6
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Steering
2
Seats
1
Visibility:windshield
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
1
Fuel System, Gasoline
1
Seat Belts
1

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

In modern vehicles, the vehicle speed control assures that customers drive at an appropriate speed based on what’s going on around them. Yet, this system seems majorly flawed.

One NHTSA review states, “About two weeks after purchasing a 2019 Subaru Legacy, I was driving on a highway in heavy traffic when suddenly, for no apparent reason, the speed of my vehicle was no longer under my control. I was in a panic for my safety and life! After a few seconds of this loss in speed control, I either applied my brake or accelerator (I am not sure which) and I regained control of my car’s speed. A few minutes later, I noticed a number of icons on my screen that were strange to me at the time.”

Aside from this system malfunction, it turns out there is a large recall that can affect the drivability of the Legacy. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V218000 affects nearly 200,000 vehicles. It turns out that these cars might have a low pressure fuel pump that could become inoperative. If this happens, the Legacy will stall and won’t be able to be restarted. After looking at failures of this magnitude, one has to wonder what awards this brand has actually won.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

Here is an Edmunds review worth reading. “Bought mine brand new back in May of 2019. Haven’t had it a year yet and had to take it back to the dealership for rattle noise that came from the cover of the EyeSight cameras and paint that’s peeling from a weird place on the car. Subaru will not repair the paint saying that the peel is caused by ‘outside influence.’ I haven’t had this car six months and it already issues from what looks like the build quality. I’m trading mine ASAP.”

There’s even a structure-related recall on the Legacy models. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V493000 states that some of the spot welds located on the cowl panel duct might not have been done correctly, thereby affecting the strength of the car. Basically, the customer above is supposed to believe that a company that can’t weld their cars the right way did a fabulous paint job. It seems that the Legacy is falling apart at the seams.

Problems with the Electrical System

Looking at the electrical system, the same level of defects are found.

Here is one more Edmunds review to consider from a customer that numbered the issues. “2. No control over radio when starting car (when driving you tend to turn the volume up to accommodate other sounds) when you restart the car, it comes on LOUD and no way to adjust  it until the cars electronics are fully up) really embarrassing in a crowded place. Also when starting car and putting in reverse, radio becomes disabled. 3. Sometimes my ‘Eyesight’ feature will disable while driving on a clear day. 4. No maintenance settings on car for oil change reminders, etc.  for the past 20 years all my cars have had that feature. (I buy a new car most every year).”

While a lot of these issues are convenience related, there’s one more that can adjust the way the vehicle works. Service Bulletin #11-200-20R states that the Engine Control Module might not be programmed to handle sub-freezing temperatures. Without an update, it might be difficult to start the vehicle when the temperatures dip too low. This might be fine for customers that live in Arizona, but isn’t a plus for those that deal with harsh winters. Maybe it’s a sign that it’s time to head south.

Problems with the Windshield Cracking

While visibility is important for seeing out of the vehicle, there’s also an aspect of the integrity that’s needed to ensure safety. Yet, the Legacy seems to put further people at risk by not providing a solid design.

One NHTSA review states, “Was driving to work when a tiny rock hit my windshield about 3 inches from passenger side of glass. It was about halfway up the windshield. The rock hit was barely audible, almost didn’t notice it. When I got to work I inspected it and found the slightest scratch, no chip, not any signs of a crack. So I didn’t worry about it. When I got in my car at lunch I noticed a crack from side to side of the windshield. I can take my fingernail and feel the crack on both sides. I feel this is a safety issue. What are you supposed to do on road trips, stop and get your glass replaced every time you get a chip? I do not feel this car is safe to drive when the windshield is cracked from side to side. Not to mention you can get a ticket or told to park the car when it is in the driver’s view!”

Despite countless complaints from customers regarding the shattering glass concerns, Subaru has yet to do anything about it. Instead, the company issues communications about other visibility concerns. Service Bulletin #07-152-19R talks about new power window switch assemblies that were developed to address some concerns. It turns out that the power windows could become inoperative without the updated equipment. It doesn’t seem that there’s a part on this vehicle that can be considered reliable, which causes an educated person to wonder why it continues to win awards? It’s possible there’s been some bribery occurring.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Subaru pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 31, 2022
StateNY
Description
If the car is not driven for multiple days, the battery completely dies. Recharging the battery resolves temporarily. Replacing the battery does not resolve the battery draining quickly. Dealer mechanic confirmed there is no unexpected drain on battery. There are no warning lights or messages.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
During small front end collision, car's engine failed and car sparked a fire resulting in total loss of vehicle. California highway patrol was called and a report was filed. Insurance was contacted and conducted own investigation to rule car as a total loss. No prior warning lights or messages appeared prior to accident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 19, 2022
StateCA
Description
Touch screen driver information system has random display and audible warnings. Audio and navigation display cannot be controlled and does random radio channels and map displays. The screen developed bubbles under the front panel that appears to activate the touch sensor for the display. This condition is very distracting to the driver and might cause unsafe vehicle operation. The constant display changing and beeping may also stimulate seizure symptoms for affected people also causing unsafe operation. This problem was identified by many subaru legacy and outback owners in 2018 which led to a recall and warranty extension for repairs. The radio/nav display is manufactured by harmon. It was widely reported in 2019 and the problem persists. Subaru contends that the display bubbles are caused by liquid contamination of the display, but this has not occurred in our vehicle, and dealers will not accept responsibility for the defective displays.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 30, 2022
StateOK
Description
Acceleration is uneven/hesitant. I think it's the fuel pump. 56,000 miles on vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
On 17jul2022 a long crack appeared in the windshield(front). This can be dangerous as the windshield can break and impact my safety in the car as well as the safety of others around the car.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 15, 2022
StateNC
Description
Battery keeps draining and dying. Replaced battery in october 2021, december 2021 and february 2022. Battery dead again june 2022.
CategorySeats
DateMay 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
the front drivers seat was making a creaking noise. The noise is coming from a faulty weld in the seat frame. Research into the the problem shows numerous other complaints about the seat frame creaking for the legacy.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 25, 2022
StateWI
Description
Battery dies if car not used for a period of time. No telling when this will happen. Problem worse when ambient temperature cold but has happened in summer as well. Sometimes when not driven for a week but other times just a couple days. Has not stranded me yet, but not hard to imagine leaving at an airport and coming back to a dead car in a dark parking structure. Not even enough power to open the doors with fob. Taking it to dealer in a couple weeks for recall(fuel pump) and this problem. They may replace battery but as in other subarus I figure the problem will persist.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2022
StateKS
Description
I walked out to my car this afternoon to find my third cracked windshield since I purchased the car in september of 2019. I have reached out to the dealership and they have denied any issues and are unwilling to say there are any problems. As many reports and lawsuits are pending, I am trying to figure out what to do.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
Winshield cracked with unknown reason
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 06, 2022
StateCO
Description
Unknown spontaneous, crack located near perfect center of lower windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateCO
Description
Windshield cracks very easily with no outside force inflicting damage. Windshield has cracked 2 times in 2 years.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 26, 2022
StateTN
Description
Windshield developed small crack & expanded to windshield wide in a few hours. Cracked windshield & crack expansion is unsafe. Not reproduced or confirmed. Not inspected. No warning lamps.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 16, 2022
StateNY
Description
In our 3 year old subaru legacy the battery is dying if we do not start the car every two days. On the third day the battery is dead and needs to be jumped. I took it to the dealership, while it was still under warranty, and was told that the battery was fine and there was no issues found.. I have since learned that there is a class action law suit ongoing for other subaru models where there is a battery drainage problem.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 04, 2021
StateNJ
Description
3 times I have changed out the windshield with not ever having anything hit it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 01, 2021
StateMO
Description
The windshield has chipped and cracked excessively with no cause. I have a low mileage vehicle that has now experienced 4 separate incidents where the windshield chipped and/or cracked with very little impact. On one occasion, the car was stopped completely but suddenly the windshield popped and cracked directly in front of the driver. I am afraid to drive the car for fear that the windshield is a danger to me and my passengers.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJul 27, 2021
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact stated that the front windshield cracked without impact. The windshield was replaced. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and informed the contact that they were unable to assist. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 13, 2021
StatePA
Description
Purchased used vehicle in october 2020 with 1800 mileage. In april 2021 at 4000+ miles the vehicle (garage-kept) would not start. Attempted to recharge the battery 3 times over several days but it would not maintain the charge. Needed to call roadside assistance and have vehicle towed to the dealership (25 minutes away from my home). Dealership service department drained/dead battery and replaced with new battery.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
I've had this occur two times. Other vehicles pulled out in front of me, and the eyesight technology applied the brakes very, very hard. There was sufficient room between me and the vehicles that pulled out in front of me, so the very, very hard braking wasn't necessary. I would have just taken my foot of the gas peddle, and would have been fine. The problem is when the vehicle itself applies the brakes very, very hard the car behind you almost runs you over because visually there's no reason to be applying the brakes so hard.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 18, 2021
StateIL
Description
While driving on the highway a small stone struck the windshield of my 2019 subaru legacy resulting in an immediate 18 inch crack with separation of the external glass. This is the 3rd windshield that has failed on my subaru. One previous failure resulted in glass cracked on both the outside and inside of the windshield in separate intercepting paths. I know that windshield failure has been common amongst subarus since 2016 and I am wondering how this can still be unresolved. The failures are so immediately dramatic in length there is no repair possible and the safety integrity of the glass is compromised.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
I own a 2019 subaru legacy. I am very shocked that I have experienced three major windshield cracks within only 18 months of purchasing the vehicle. The first one was only 5 months after I bought the car (02/07/20), the 2nd time was 7 months later (9/17/20), and the 3rd time was on may 1st, 2021. The cracks came out of nowhere; once while driving on a light traffic street, once while on the highway, and once while the car was parked. Replacing the windshield for the subaru is very expensive! The company refuses to cover the cost. I had to pay 0 deductible, while my insurance paid over 0+. I have driven different types of cars for more than 40 years, such as hondas, chevys, volvos, and fords, and not one of those vehicles ever had a windshield crack. This is the first time I have ever owned a subaru and cannot believe the nightmare/expense in dealing with this problem within such a short period of time. I am convinced there is a defect either within the area of the frame of the car that holds the windshield or the glass is very poor quality, or both. It is not fair that subaru is misleading customers into believing that their vehicles are some of the safest in the car industry. I hope enough subaru owners who are dealing with the same problem are coming forward. Above all, I hope something is done to resolve this terrible problem soon.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 29, 2021
StateCA
Description
Cracked windshield for no apparent reason. I have already replaced it several times. Vehicle was always stationary.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 21, 2021
StateGA
Description
Windshield cracked while driving - unsure if anything struck the window or not, but it started off as a 6 inch crack and in under 24 hours has spread to over 2 feet in length. I have read where my year/make/model is currently in a class action lawsuit due to faulty windshields and I would like it noted that I have also been impacted by the faulty oem windshields that subaru is using.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateWA
Description
I was driving on 167 freeway going to work the next day I found a cracked a long line on my windshield also cracked found on left driver side window.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 19, 2021
StateIL
Description
I have a 2019 subaru legacy purchased in summer 2019. It is currently 2021, and I am dealing with my 3rd cracked windshield. I have been overly cautious about staying far from trucks, dirty vehicles, large vehicles and just generally keeping distance after the first time the windshield cracked. Despite all my efforts, I still ended up with a cracked windshield yet again. It is a serious safety issue, and I cannot continue to spend hundreds of dollars on regular windshield issues. This is while I am proactively trying to avoid this issue. 1st windshield crack was july 2019 - a rock hit my windshield 2nd windshield crack was september 2019 - just noticed a crack one morning, nothing actually hit my windshield to my knowledge. 3rd windshield crack was february 2021 - again, noticed a crack in the windshield in the afternoon, no noticeable impact occurred.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
The windshield got hit by a very tiny object (likely a rock) and had a circular crack/chip at the left lower quadrant on 1/5/2021 when I was driving on a freeway. I took the car for windshield repair on 1/9/2021. Now the damaged area is bigger with more fine cracks. The windshield did not get hit again after 1/5/2021. The repair did not contain the damage.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2021
StateCA
Description
Spontaneous breaking of front windshield. I parked the car in the garage and the next morning there was a crack in the shape of an uppercase t approximately 7"x7". No extreme heat or cold involved. There appears to be a pinhead size dent possibly from a rock. The car has only 14k miles
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 04, 2021
StatePA
Description
I noticed today that my windshield has a crack that starts from what appears to be from the bottom towards the engine and shaped like the number seven. I do not see anywhere along the crack where a chip appears, which leads me to think it is some sort of pressure break. After reading the recent issues subaru has had with faulty windshields I feel this is an exact example of that.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 02, 2021
StatePA
Description
My subaru legacy windshield was damaged resulting in a crack 8/9/20 on the road. This was repaired. Another small object hit the windshield shortly after on 10/11/20 that was to big to repair and needed a windshield replacement. After that on 11/18/20 another pebble cracked the replacement windshield while on the road. Among all the cars I've had, this car has the most fragile windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
The windshield on this vehicle cracks easily and with minimal damage. I have had to replace two windshields in the last year due to poor glass quality.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2020
StateIL
Description
The windshield had a crack on the left bottom corner of the driver's side but no explained reason. There was no audible sound that led to the crack. I had to pay 0 to get the windshield replaced and the eyesight calibrated. Noticed the cracked windshield when the vehicle was parked at home.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 14, 2020
StatePA
Description
A small crack (roughly 2 inches in length) appeared on my windshield on the bottom passenger side, while I was driving to work. I noticed it while parked at a red light, but it was not there when I had started driving. At first I thought it was something on my windshield because I hadn't been hit by anything, it just appeared. The crack spread considerably further before I arrived at work and I had to replace it the next day.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 10, 2020
StateAR
Description
I took my subaru legacy to the little rock arkansas subaru dealership to service a recall on my fuel tank. While there the service manager refused to replace parts listed on the tsb. When I contacted subaru they stated a new tsb was issued the day before my recall was completed not requiring those steps, that the updated tsb would not be public, would not provide any information about the new tsb and that they were closing my complaint.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 06, 2020
StateOR
Description
Windshield cracked for no reason.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 05, 2020
StateNH
Description
On two separate occasions I was startled by a loud pop kind of noise coming from the windshield area while driving. Absolutely nothing was around to cause this either time and nothing whatsoever has hit the windshield since I've owned this car. I am the sole driver. On both occasions, I was driving down a straight road going 50mph on my way to work (a 10 minute commute). The morning after the second occurrence, I got into my car to find a crack on the lower passenger side of my windshield about 2/3s of the way down and starting from the outer edge. There had been no crack or any hint that something would happen when I left my car the day before. How does a crack just appear overnight with absolutely nothing to cause it? I have never in my life had this happen. The car was absolutely stationary, no nearby trees or anything that could cause any impact. Due to covid, the crack sat for quite some time, when I finally got to make it to the suburu dealership where I bought my car, they denied my claim. The techs said they could find no chip or origination for the crack... (because there wasn't one) the techs agreed it should have been covered under the warranty but suburu still denied my claim. I'm now out 03. 00
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 11, 2020
StateFL
Description
While driving my car with no other cars around, my windshield cracked. The crack now has grown to the center of the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 18, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact stated that while his vehicle was parked under a tree, an acorn had fallen from the tree and cracked the windshield on the driver side. The crack spread from the driver side spread and began to zig zag three inches down the windshield. The contact also stated that he discovered a crack on his front passenger side window that also zig zags from the upper right hand corner down to the middle bottom portion window. The contact called austin subaru(8100 burnet rd, austin, tx 78757) where he was informed to bring in the vehcile to the dealer for an inspection. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateAug 24, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact's wife owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact stated that his wife received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v218000 (fuel system, gasoline). His wife took the vehicle to brown's manassas subaru (9018 liberia ave, manassas, va 20110) where the recall remedy was performed and the vehicle was returned to the contact's wife. About a month later, the contact stated that the vehicle would not start after his wife made multiple attempts to start the vehicle. Due to the failure, his wife had the vehicle towed to faulkner subaru bethlehem (330 stoke park rd, bethlehem, pa 18017) where they discovered that the fuel pump was corroded at the electric connections. They stated the corrosion was caused by a fuel leak that had leaked into the electrical connection. The dealer shipped the fuel pump to japan to have an investigation launched into the failure. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The original dealer brown's manassas subaru (9018 liberia ave, manassas, va 20110)) was notified of the failure and offered to assist regarding the failure. The vehicle remained in the possession of faulkner subaru bethlehem (330 stoke park rd, bethlehem, pa 18017). The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The vin was not available.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 07, 2020
StateIL
Description
There is an 18 inch crack in our windshield. We heard a soft 'pop' noise when we were driving straight on a level asphalt road at a low speed. No rocks or other objects hit the glass. We looked around to see what it was and we noticed the crack. It is about 18 inches long and starts at the edge of the glass on the passenger side of the vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 22, 2020
StateNM
Description
Windsheild cracked and has to be replaced
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 08, 2020
StateCO
Description
Was driving to work when a tiny rock hit my windshield about 3 inches from passenger side of glass. It was about halfway up the windshield. The rock hit was barley audible, almost didn't notice it. When I got to work I inspected it and found the slightest scratch, no chip, not any signs of a crack. So I didn't worry about it. When I got in my car at lunch noticed a crack from side to side of windshield. I can take my fingernail and feel the crack on both sides. I feel this is a safety issue. What are you supposed to do on road trips, stop and get your glass replaced every time you get a chip. I do not feel this car is safe to drive when the windshield is cracked from side to side. Not to mention you can get a ticket or told to park the car when it is in the drivers view! *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 23, 2020
StateOR
Description
The windshield of the car cracked overnight, while in stationary, parked on the city street in a residential area. I parked my car in front my house on sunday, aug 11, 2019, and when I went out in the morning of aug 12, 2019, the windshield was cracked. At that point, I have had the car for 10. 5 months with a mileage of about 5500 miles. The crack started from the lower part of the windshield on the passenger side and extended to the middle of windshield, almost to the diver's side. I notified the dealership and was told that it's not covered by the company. I had to get it fixed at my own expense.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 08, 2020
StateAL
Description
Front windshield has cracked twice within 6 months for no apparent reason as I was driving on the interstate. The cracks were both on the driver side, making it difficult to see while driving.
CategorySeat Belts, Seat Belts:rear/other
DateApr 07, 2020
StateIL
Description
The issue is with the rear middle seat belt interfering with rear passenger seat belt buckle. This was brought to the dealer who mentioned it looked fine but they can move it over. After a few days, the seatbelt revered back to the incorrect position.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 02, 2020
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact stated that the windshield cracked without impact. Subaru of muskegon (1878 e. Sternberg rd muskegon, mi 49444, (888)575-4596) informed the insurance company that the windshield was not covered under warranty. The contact stated that the crack extended across the windshield. The manufacturer was not informed of te failure. The failure mileage was 29,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMar 14, 2020
StateIN
Description
Driving down the expressway at a speed less that 50mph when my windshield cracked unexpectedly and seeming from nothing being flung toward the vehicle or dropping from the sky.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateMar 02, 2020
StateTX
Description
Ever since the beginning of this year, all warning lights and eye sight have come up on the display screen every 2-3 weeks. Twice it's given the code that something is blocking the shutters. Tried clearing shutters, but no success. Tried replacing assembly; still didn't work. First time it happened, car was stationary. Next 3 times, car was in motion. Also tried re-setting computer system, but warning lights and eye sight would come on again in 2-3 weeks. Must be a design flaw somewhere to have this happen four times, even after replacing assembly! Most recent occurrence was on 1 march 2020. This should not be happening in a new vehicle!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 26, 2020
StateIN
Description
While driving my windshield crack. Nothing hit it. It just broke when I drove over a bump in the road. On a country highway.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateIL
Description
Defective windshiled - replaced by safelite -555 n mclean blvd elgin,il on august 16th. 2019 car was leased on april 16th. 2019 as brand new. Cost to replace was 9. 04. Car was stationary when I spotted defective windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 22, 2020
StatePA
Description
Cracked widsheild a peeble hit it and within a couple of days I had to get a windshield
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 20, 2020
StateVT
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact stated that while parked in the driveway of the residence, the windshield cracked without being struck by a foreign object. The contact stated that the windshield cracked in three separate places while parked at the residence. The vehicle was taken to (st j auto buick gmc 500 memorial dr, st johnsbury, vt 05819 (802) 748-1355) where it was inspected and repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to another dealer (white river toyota 303 sykes mountain ave, white river junction, vt 05001 (802) 299-2800) who also repaired the windshield. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure the failure mileage was approximately 12,663.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 20, 2020
StateDC
Description
I'll be replacing my windshield for the second time within a year tomorrow and having it repaired overall for the third time within a year. The first replacement was due to a small pebble kicking up from the highway causing a small star crack in my line of sight forcing a replacement because the patch still caused line of sight issues. Less than a month later another small pebble caused a second crack. This time a patch was fine and luckily was free. This morning I came out to my car, which had been parked all weekend, and when I got in saw that there is a long j shaped crack starting from the top of the windshield near the passenger side eyesight camera going all the way down and around the dot matrix pattern that comes down the windshield near the rear view mirror. These windshields are terrible and I've never had an issue with a windshield before owning a subaru. It's unfortunate because the rest of the car is great. If you're going to buy a subaru probably prepare for an annual windshield replacement and get ready for that deductible.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 11, 2020
StateCO
Description
While commuting from pueblo colorado to colorado springs one morning my windshield slowly started to crack. I drove home to pueblo about 12 hours later and by then the small crack spread across the entire windshield. I assumed the cold air is why it cracked.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 03, 2020
StateNY
Description
We purchased the car in september 2018 and in cold weather we are unable to open the gas tank . We , and other people, have taken the car to the dealer, nothing has been done . The dealership called this a"design flaw".
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 24, 2019
StateWI
Description
The windshield on our 2019 subaru legacy cracked on saturday 12/21/2019. There wasn't any crack in the morning when I drove to the office. The car was parked at a covered parking spot the whole day. In the evening, I noticed a crack on the driver's side while I was driving back. There was no impact on the windshield with pebble etc while driving during the day. When I researched online, I found out that many people are noticing their 2017-2019 subaru car windshields are cracking like mine. So I am bringing this to your attention. I have to pay 0 deductible to my insurance this week and get it replaced.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 23, 2019
StatePA
Description
I had the car less than a month and got home from work, parked the car in the garage and everything was fine, the very next morning when I went out to get in my car the windshield had a huge crack in it. I got the windshield replaced and in less than a month the windshield cracked again.
CategoryWheels
DateNov 19, 2019
StateMI
Description
I had 4,000 miles goodyear eagle ls2 tires when I experienced a sidewalk blowout on the expressway in another state. We had to have it replaced while traveling. The repair shop said it was suspect since there wasn't a foreign object or puncture, it was just the sidewall that blew out. There were no potholes around. Fast forward 5 months and another tire developed a bulge in the sidewall. I happened to notice it when I was at the gas station. Luckily it didn't blow out. I have never experienced any tire ever blowing out or bulging in all the miles I drive. I'm on the road almost every day for my sales job. To me this seems like a quality issue. I still have the second tire if you would like to look at it. The authorized dealer I took it to couldn't be bothered with a warranty issue. There was no damage to my wheel at all and I didn't hit a pothole or road debris.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 18, 2019
StateNJ
Description
I purchased a brand new 2019 subaru legacy 3. 6r limited and 3 months later with approximately 900 total miles the battery died twice while parked.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 10, 2019
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. The contact was unable to adjust the side mirrors to view the blindspots. The mirrors failed to adjust to a 15 degree angle to view the blindspots. The vehicle was taken to hendrick subaru southpoint (200 kentington dr, durham, nc 27713) were the failure was unable to be diagnosed or repaired. The contact read articles that stated that the sideview mirrors should be able to adjust to see into the blindspots. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and did not assist. The approximate failure mileage was 175. *bf *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 29, 2019
StateVA
Description
I've owned my 2019 subaru legacy for exactly one month. Yesterday, while driving on route 13 in delaware, I saw a crack spread from the outside right side of the windshield on the passenger side of the card and spread for about 15 inches sort of in the shape of an "s". Neither myself nor the passenger sitting in the front seat heard anything hit the car nor did we see anything. I took the car to the subaru dealership this morning and I was told that something very tiny hit the windshield. How could something that tiny cause that kind of damage? I am still unable to see the impact. The subaru windshields must be paper thin. I was informed by the service clerk that there was nothing that subaru could do to help. I am extremely disappointed in their response.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. When the vehicle was started, the "check motor engine" and two other unknown indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to kearny mesa subaru (858-278-7100, located at 4797 convoy st, san diego, ca 92111) where the computer system was reprogrammed; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact not to worry about the failure. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was approximately 60.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateAug 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 subaru legacy. While driving 30 mph, the steering wheel turned on its own to the left. The contact managed to regain control of the steering wheel with no issue. On another occasion, while driving 45 mph and making a left turn, the steering wheel made a sharp left turn and became difficult to turn. There were no warning indicators illuminated on both occasions. The vehicle was taken to putnam subaru (located at 85 california dr, burlingame, ca 94010, (888) 697-0962), but the failure could not be duplicated. The failure continued and multiple unknown warning indicators illuminated. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 2,400.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 30, 2019
StateCA
Description
I have bought my care on 04/08/2019 and since then the windshield is broken two times on the highway . The first time just two weeks after purchasing when commuting from work to home on highway 99 I felt a small rock hit the windshield which crack started to grow after 10-15 minutes and grew to the size of four times greater than dollar bill when was replaced. The second time I didn't even felt anything but when I got home after a long drive I realized a crack which grew fast. I feel like the quality of windshield is so low that even with a small rock it starts cracking . At least it should stay like a chip in the beginning.
CategorySteering
DateMay 22, 2019
StateIL
Description
What we notice is a change in response of the steering in some situations. Coming 'off-center' there is a slight change in steering feel and response ' almost as if it has a dead spot 'on-center'. Additionally, I have noted a change in response at highway speed entering and exiting curves. Particularly, the steering has a nice 'weighted' feel entering and maintaining through the corner, but just as one begins to unwind the steering as the road straightens, the steering changes feel and response requiring an unexpected adjustment. The car seems to want to turn more aggressively into the corner as I begin to unwind the steering. Both of these responses seem to be more noticeable at highway speeds. One must immediately correct the direction travel by either turning more into the curve or out of the curve. In either case, the car responds and the non-linearity momentarily disappers
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 10, 2019
StateKS
Description
Driving on an overpass at 45 mph, heard a pop and saw the windshield crack it front of me. It started at the bottom running upward the to the right. This happened before on 03/06/2019 at 3,300 miles and now again 09/09/2019 at 5,174 miles. Have researched and discovered many examples of the issues including past class action lawsuit.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 14, 2019
StateNY
Description
About two weeks after purchasing a 2019 subaru legacy, I was driving on a highway in heavy traffic when suddenly, for no apparent reason, the speed of my vehicle was no longer under my control. I was in a panic for my safety and life! After a few seconds of this loss in speed control, I either applied my brake or accelerator (I am not sure which) and I regained control of my car's speed. A few minutes later, I noticed a number of icons on my screen that were strange to me at the time. Reading the owner's manual days later, I learned that the icons represented that the cruise control was in effect. There are many buttons close to the steering wheel. I must have inadvertently pressed the button to activate cruise control. This could happen again by accident because these controls are so close to the steering wheel. Even though I know what happened, I could still accidentally press the button again and potentially could cause great injury or even death! I want this fault corrected on my vehicle before I or someone else gets hurt! *tr *js
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 07, 2019
StateKS
Description
Windshield crack on the passenger side starting from the bottom at the wiper heater upward and at an angle toward the mirror area. Parked the vehicle in the garage, no crack visible and the next morning the crack was visible upon backing out of the garage.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2018
StatePA
Description
The vehicle is less than one month old and it was found one morning with an 8 inch crack in the windshield. There was no impact made on the windshield. The crack is coming from the bottom left corner and goes towards the center.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 07, 2018
StateIL
Description
My car is 2 weeks old. I used the defroster on saturday night and on sunday morning there was a crack on my windshield from the bottom center. Up and to the passenger's side. I do not hear a stone hit my windshield while driving. Subaru said it was a stone and is charging me over 0. 00 to replace it. I have been driving for many years and have never gotten a crack like this. I believe it is a faulty windshield that cracked with the change in temperature.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.