2021 Hyundai Kona Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, powertrain, and electrical issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

This vehicle is subject to a recall. Find out if your Hyundai Kona is included in the recall.

Owners of the 2021 Hyundai Kona prepared for a fun drive, especially since the automaker claimed it is a “small SUV that’s big on adventure.” However, the adventure they have received is different than what was expected, thanks to the defective air bags, malfunctioning electrical system, unreliable engine and failing powertrain.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019    2020    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Hyundai Kona

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
26
Unknown Or Other
9
Electrical System
4
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Wheels
1
Power Train
1
Service Brakes
1
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
1
Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
1
Electrical System:propulsion System:charging:module:accessory
1

Problems with the Air Bags

Having a working set of air bags is essential for on-road safety. Yet, there are Kona customers that are finding this vital safety system isn’t working correctly.

One Edmunds review states, “I had my AWD Hyundai Kona for about a month. I was in a major accident and my car was declared totaled. I was hit from the front and back off my car. High impact. NONE of the airbags deployed. My face went into the windshield and I was slung around inside the car even with my seatbelt on. I now suffer from bone bruising and swollen muscles. I do not recommend this vehicle to anyone. I’m in the process of speaking to an attorney.”

While there aren’t any communications about air bags, there are plenty about another vital safety feature, the service brakes. Service Bulletin #20-BR-002H states that Hyundai is aware there could be fluid leaking from the brake caliper area. Having defective brakes and malfunctioning air bags at the same time is similar to creating a perfect storm. The Kona might be looking for an adventure, but it might be best to stick it on the sidelines instead.

Problems with the Electrical System

The same level of quality is found when looking at Hyundai’s electrical system. It’s a source of complaints for many customers.

Check out what this Edmunds review says. “When the car was built, the technicians failed to connect something under the headliner that controlled the GPS. Since that time, I’ve had issues with the GPS system and the Bluelink system. I’ve owned this car for 2 months and so far, it’s been at the dealership for 19 days of the 2 months that I’ve owned it. Hyundai still can’t figure out how to fix the Bluelink issues.”

According to Service Bulletin #20-BE-014H, there are also issues connecting to the most desired technology. Wireless CarPlay might not work correctly and can auto disconnect, leading to dropped calls and interruptions to music. There’s nothing quite like having to deal with connectivity concerns while driving, especially when the air bags might not protect the occupants.

Problems with the Engine

The engine is arguably one of the most important parts of any vehicle. Yet, Hyundai has struggled for years to get the design and function correct.

One NHTSA review points out, “After loud explosion sound, the engine stalled 3 times recently while driving and today. No brake, hard steering wheel, and almost bumped the car front of me. I took my car to a dealer last week and they said no fix despite of safety recall. Without any warning, first it happened 3 weeks ago.”

It should come as no surprise that there is a recall for this engine. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V301000 points to problems with the 2.0L Nu MPI engines on more than 150,000 vehicles. It appears that the piston oil rings weren’t properly heat-treated, leading to permanent engine damage that requires an engine replacement. However, the automaker can’t replace the engines fast enough, leaving customers to drive defective SUVs. In the meantime, these drivers are putting themselves at risk for a car fire, which is nothing new to Hyundai. There were numerous earlier Hyundai models involved in class-action lawsuits because of fires. With that information in hand, it appears that Hyundai is just continuing to do what it has done previously – put customers’ lives at risk.

Problems with the Powertrain

The final set of complaints is related to the powertrain that seems to provide as much reliability as the other systems.

A final Edmunds review states, “Bought my Hyundai Kona Ultimate AWD with a turbo 11/9/2020, started having an issue with the transmission within weeks. Clunking sounds from the back end when I accelerate occasionally at first & 4 times a whirring squeal. Took it into the service department but they didn’t experience the issue on the test drive and saw nothing loose when it was on the lift. Very disappointed in this purchase, I foresee this developing and being an inconvenience for me even though it’s warrantied.”

Hyundai hasn’t issued any information about the powertrain, probably because it’s so busy dealing with defective engines. It appears that every major system in the Hyundai Kona is leaving undesirable feelings with customers, leaving them to urge potential buyers to find an adventure elsewhere.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine
DateOct 10, 2022
StatePA
Description
Oct 4,2022, 2021 kona, 17,600 miles, was operating on highway when suddenly "check oil" light came on and knockin noises began. Able to pull onto off ramp before deceleration and total stall with oil running out of bottom of car. State police stayed with vehicle due due heavy truck traffic until aaa towed to freysinger hyundai in mechanicsburg, pa. Diagnosed engine failure with 3 to 6 month wait for necessary parts for repair. Had to purchase another car at great financial loss.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 10, 2022
StatePA
Description
Please refer to complaint 11488659 filed 10/10/22. I erroneously listed date of incident as 10/4. Incident occurred on 10/5/22, while driving on highway check oil light suddenly came own with knocking and other noises. I was able to pull onto exit ramp before deceleration and total stall with oil running out of bottom of car. I called 911 due to large trucks and traffic stopped behind me. State police came and stayed until aaa towed car to freysinger hyundai in mechanicsburg , pa (717) 766-8422, where regular maintenance has been done on the car as recently as sept. 20, 2022. I was advised by [xxx] in service dept. That engine had failed with at least 3 months or more wait for replacement parts. I was forced to purchase another vehicle at great expense. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryWheels
DateOct 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
I recently blew out my front tire and put on the hyundai supplied emergency spare. Within 15 minutes of driving, no more than 10 miles, I was flagged down by another driver because a huge cloud of smoke was coming from my car. I had the car towed into a dealership and they informed me that the spare tire that hyundai supplied me damaged the transfer casing on the front tire, causing the smoke. I was told to never put that tire on the front of my car or it will again damage my car. I contacted first my local selling dealer. They were no help. They informed me that the spare tire was the correct part and I needed to contact hyundai directly, which I did. After a week of investigation, [xxx], from their national consumer affairs department, indicates that hyundai has essentially washed their hands of my problem and said it is the correct part and I should use that. I said it damaged my car and the response was it is only supposed to be on long enough to get to a repair shop. My car was overheating after only 10 miles. Smoke was coming from my car after 15 minutes. What if I was on a highway when the tire blew? It could be much longer than 10 miles. Would the car catch on fire? Will hyundai take responsibility for the possibility of my car catching on fire? What about the dangers to myself and my family? Hyundai is taking no further action on this. I am to use the supplied part, damage, or no damage. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 23, 2022
StateCA
Description
My 2021 hyundai kona ev battery need to be replaced. But the dealer would not have estimated time when my kona ev get new battery. It could take 1 month or 3 months. No clues. I would not make a mistake to buy another car like hyundai ev.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 09, 2022
StateCO
Description
While driving up a steep mountain road in heavy traffic and snow the transmission on my hyundai kona overheated and failed. The car began to buck back and forth and a transmission light came on. Unfortunately I was on a mountain interstate in heavy traffic with no real shoulder due to snow. I attempted to limp the car to the top but moved towards the right lane in case. The transmission did it's bucking thing 3 times total and then I noticed smoke coming from the powertrain area. At this point I pulled over and put my car basically into a snow bank so as not to get run over by semi trucks. I called aaa but was able to get the car up the hill after letting the transmission cool for around an hour. This entire situation was completely unsafe and had I been informed I would not have purchased the car because I know that I spend most of the winter in traffic on a mountain interstate. What's even more concerning, this issue is documented heavily online yet the sales reps for hyundai are not aware. The service department is aware and told me that they couldn't do anything because it was working as it is designed. See here an additional forum which outlines the same issue for another driver. Https://www. Hyundaikonaforum. Com/threads/dct-shifting-annoyances. 2428/ best, greg
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 06, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I have a 2021 hyundai kona electric vehicle with approximately 20,000 miles. On august 26, 2022 several warning lights came on indicating that the lithium battery was inoperable but fully charged in danger of catching fire. The dealer immediately towed my vehicle and disconnected the battery. The recall for battery replacement due to fire risk for the 2018-2020 now appears to be affecting the 2021 model year. The dealer is telling me they have no replacement batteries and cannot give me a timeline for replacing mine nor can they assure me that will resolve the problem. The recall needs to be extended to all model years.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 16, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would shut off without warning. The vehicle would restart soon after failure. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer where he was informed that his oil level was severely low; however, they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was parking my hyundai kona electric car going very slow when without warning it took off going over 100 miles per hour. I couldn't control the vehicle. The brakes didn't stop the car. It ran over a wood parking beam, hit two light posts, and went over a concrete structure before finally stopping on its own. I was not hurt. Fortunately, no one else was hurt. I had my seat belt on. The air bags did not deploy. It was witnessed by another person. I had it towed to the hyundai dealer in webster. It is at vision collision. State farm is paying for the repairs. When I got home after the incident I went online and discovered that acceleration problems with this car and year had been reported by others. This is a serious car defect that could result in the loss of life.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 28, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle consumed an excessive amount of oil. Additionally, the vehicle made loud noises while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on eight separate occasions, and the dealer refilled the oil reservoir every one-thousand miles. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the engine needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 16, 2022
StateIN
Description
Ongoing issues with the motor consuming oil despite passing a safety recall inspection. Issues with knocking, oil consumption, engine light on. Issues with the dealership fixing the problem. Issues since january of this year. Issues with stalling and motor locking up. Now no oil and not due for oil change, knocking, hesitates, motor light on.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 12, 2022
StateCA
Description
Check regenerative brake warning comes on and the emergency brake applies while driving also when I come to a stop. When I started my car the immediately the light came on. When I cut my car off the light clears. It happens when I'm braking. The regenerative brake light warning is becoming more frequent. I took my car back to the hyundai dealership and they “checked” it out and found no problem with my vehicle. They ran a diagnostics and a update for my car, but 4 days later the warning can on again, after the repair.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 11, 2022
StateIN
Description
While driving to work car started knocking. As soon as I arrived not even 5 miles from my home, died in my parking lot. Car had no indications of issues. Only information was due for oil change. Checked oil there was none. I was taking it in for service the next day for my regular service check. I was 62 miles over the standard time. Had to pay a tow and found out there is a hole in my engine block. Well with no indication of "low oil" this brings a question of a information failure>?
CategoryElectrical System, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMay 09, 2022
StateTX
Description
I've had this car since end of september 2021. The blind spot monitor on the right side of the vehicle lights up and beeps at random times, even when there is nothing in the blind spot itself. Happens mostly while driving on the highway.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 25, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated that she received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and informed her that no issues were found. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, she heard abnormal knocking sounds coming from the engine. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that no issues were found; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle had lost 3. 5 quarts out of 4 quarts of oil within 4,000 miles. The dealer informed the contact to bring the vehicle back for an oil consumption evaluation after 1,000 miles. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,500.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
The engine failed at 12,034 miles. I was at the stop light right before the bay bridge and my life and others were severely put at risk. Had I been on the bridge when the engine seized it would have meant imminent death. The hyundai dealership said they expected it because engines on the 2021 hyundai kona have been recalled. This vehicle was supposed to be fitted with a safety light warning the driver of an imminent fire or engine failure after 2019 but that didn't happen.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph for an extended period of more than 30 minutes, the engine would remain running 8-10 minutes after the vehicle had been turned off. On another occasion while driving approximately 35 mph and entering a highway ramp, the vehicle lost motive power and power steering functionality before independently restarting and operating as designed. The contact stated that the vehicle also stalled while reversing and would restart after shifting into park. The contact stated that three or four attempts were necessary to restart the vehicle. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
While driving on cruise control set for 45mph the vehicle accelerated to 53 mph. Noticed this multiple times. Also steering wheel making noise and at times hard to turn. All fluids at good level. Then burning smell coming and vehicle revs up when at stop light. And then hard to start. Have had multiple issues with this vehicle. Dealer states all is good. Hyundai is no help. This is a 2021, a new vehicle that should not be acting like this.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJan 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
Sunroof exploded. On 19 january 2022 around 15:45 (pacific time) while driving approximately 65mph in my 2021 hyundai kona electric on hwy 60 (moreno valley, california), west-bound I experienced a loud explosion sound in my kona and glass raining down on me and the inside of the car. I looked up and noticed there was a hole in the sunroof (see attached photos). I immediately found a safe place to exit the highway and stopped.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 03, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the vehicle inadvertently stalled and lost electrical power. The battery warning light, engine warning light, and an unknown warning light were illuminated. The contact veered to the side of the road. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The contact waited an hour and was able to restart the vehicle and drive; however, the vehicle was shaking while driving. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred while driving. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the engine had failed and needed to be replaced. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle would be repaired at her own expense. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The manufacturer was notified of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 21,605.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 02, 2022
StateKS
Description
We have a 2021 hyundai which is the subject of an engine recall. There have been no repairs to the car and we just turned 5000 miles. When the car is cold and first started the engine knocks and it has gone through 2 quarts of oil so far. The dealership says nothing is wrong with it. I have video of it being started and knocking. We are afraid to park it in our garage due to fire risk and due to the greatly reduced price of repairs the dealer can charge hyundai, are getting nothing done. The number 1 driver of this car is 88 years old and does not need this stress. Help, please?
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 08, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact's father owned a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated that while her father was driving at an undisclosed speed, the accelerator pedal was stuck and the seat belt did not lock the contact's father into his seat during impact. The vehicle crashed into a traffic light pole, went uphill, and then flipped before stopping. The air bags deployed, but the steering wheel air bag caught fire. The contact's father was able to exit the vehicle. The contact's father suffered fractured back, chest, ribs, and lumbar spine injuries, as well as head injuries with a brain bleed. The contact's father was transported to the hospital by ambulance. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a police tow yard and deemed totaled by the insurance company. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.
CategoryElectrical System:propulsion System:charging:module:accessory
DateOct 27, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona electric. The contact stated that while his wife disconnected the charger, the vehicle caught fire without warning. There were no reported injuries. The installation plug was melted. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer where it was diagnosed the connection wiring needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. An inspector was able to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified however no further assistance was provided. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateOct 02, 2021
StateWA
Description
We bought the car in july and owned it 70 days and 1,530 miles. The automatic emergency breaking engaged several times without any reason. Sometimes at lower speeds 60. The last time was at 20 mph in a school zone and we were rear ended because of the unexpected stop. We had several near misses on the freeway, but the cars behind us managed to avoid us. The car has severe damage to the bumper, tailgate and blind spot warning, parking collision warning and rear cross traffic warning because of the accident and the car has been in the body shop awaiting parts/repair for the nearly entire month of september. No one was hurt and we didn't have the car long enough to take it back to the dealer to have the brake system checked. The accident would not have happened if the automatic emergency braking had worked properly.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 26, 2021
StateFL
Description
Having acceleration problems. 1. While driving in normal mode, when accelerating from 55 to pass cars on the highway, the tach moves to higher levels but the car doesn't accelerate. I need to take my foot off the gas pedal and wait then try to accelerate again. 2. When a stop light, at a full stop (or stop sign) - the car bucks before accelerating. 3. When I start my car from a cold start and in idle mode - still in park - the tach hops for 30 seconds before settling. All these issues do not happen all the time. Hard to replicate.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 11, 2021
StateAL
Description
I'm trying to find out when my 2021 kona sel plus was built and where ? When did the maker of the oil rings notify hyundai of the defect to the rings why was hyundai able to sell of these kona's with the 2. 0 engines from dealers lots after they knew there was a problem with the engines. My kona was sold to me on 25 feb. 2021 they had to know of the problem by than. I was so angry and upset with my dealer when I check with them about the recall and they told me to drive it till it blew up or catches fire and have it towed in. I sold it back to them and loss 3,000 dollars rather than drive it another mile. Please email me @ [xxx] I'm a 75 year old us navy combat veteran thats hard of hearing with ptsd under doctors care because of the problems with my dealer and the kona with the bad engine parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6)
CategoryEngine
DateSep 07, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The contact had taken the vehicle to a dealer and was informed that the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The dealer also performed an engine check on the vehicle and found no fault with the vehicle. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 03, 2021
StateAL
Description
With the recall in effect on 7 july,2021 and nothing being done to correct the problem not even the software up date installed and the dealer not being able to tell me when any thing ging on to correct the problem I could no longer drive this 2021 kona sel with the 2. 0 engine as I'm 75 years old and my wife is 74 both of us have a very hard time getting in and out of the kona . I took it back to my dealer and dumped if off and told them that I couldn't drive this car and in danger my wife and 4 grand babys. I was in a really bad mental state and end ed up taking a lower grade kona and losing $$$.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 31, 2021
StateCO
Description
After charging the vehicle at home with level 2 charger to 100% it would not go into drive or reverse. It can go to neutral or park only. The car is at the dealership and they told the battery must be replaced when one is available. It is a safety concern because one can get stranded on the road with vehicle that does not move although is fully charged.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 29, 2021
StateAL
Description
I brought the hyundai kona sel from bentley hyundai of huntsville, al on 25,feb 2021 on 1 july hyundai sent me a notice of the recall. After going on line to there web site I saw that the recall was posted 28, april 2021 why did it take hyundai 2 months to let me know of the recall. Is it possible that hyundai tried to sell off all the cars with the recall on the 2. 0 engines before the nhtsa. Org posted the recall. If the recall was posted to hyundai would they still be allowed to sell the cars with the recall on the 2,0 engines to get them off the dealers lots bentley hyundai gave me a ,500. 00 rebate off the sticker price of ,000. 00 it made me think they we're dumping the kona"s asap thanks [xxx] @ [xxx]
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
On 8/11/21, I tried to start my hyundai kona ev, and it displayed the high voltage warning . The car would not start or go into gear and had to be towed to the dealership. We purchased the car in may 2021, and it had about 3000 miles on it at the time. At the dealership, the mechanic diagnosed it as a faulty battery and indicated that the whole lg battery underneath for the electric car would need to be replaced. After doing further research, there is already a recall on the 2018 to 2020 models for the same issue, with the battery catching fire in some instances. The car has the same battery a the 2018 to 2020 models. The guidance for those model years has been to park the car outside, in case there is a fire. We live in an hoa condo (and do have the option to park outside our garage). As of today, there is no eta of a fix for a new battery. If they end up replacing it with another lg battery with the same faulty cell issues, I feel like this is a danger to my and my family's lives. Due to the battery issue, they also quit selling the kona in korea in april, a full month before we purchased our car. They sold us a car with a known issue. I want them to buy back this car, due to the safety issues.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 21, 2021
StateAL
Description
On 1, july 2021 receive notice from hyundai usa about recall of car due to bad rings that might cause engine failure due to engine running badly and might cause engine to lock up and throw a rod and catch fire, I am 75 years old us navy combat vereran with ptsd and other serious medical problems and my wife is 74 years old her knees and hips have ben operated on but she still has problems getting in and out of the car. We take our 4 grand babys to and from school and the sitter 5 days a week. The youngest turned 1 year old on july 7th this year and the oldest is 81/2 years old. We would not able to get our self's and the grand kids in and out of the car in a emergency on 7 july , I returned to my dealer bentley hyundai in huntsville al. They told me that there was :no fix: or test that they could do on my kona sel and to drive it until it "catch's fire and breaks down." than to have it" towed into they dealer ship" using the hyundai tow service. This was totally out of the question as they knew about my wife and grand kids most days of the week! At that time I didn't remember about my 2016 sonata se that was brought new from bentley hyundai that had a software up grade to monitor the engine's operation to tell if problems were developing and warn the operator. This was done back in 2020 ? I was under a lot of stress over this recall and they were telling me "not to worry" about it they showed me several other cars model of hyundai's and I even drove one home to show my wife, which she didn't like as the color wasn't right and the trim options and safety options didn't compare to the 2021 kona sel. After dealing with the sales man who was really trying to help me and the general manager mr. Johnson ,who I felt just was just trying to get me to leave as I was really loud and very up set about they were handing the matter. They drove a 2022 kona se up for me to look over. It was very funny that only a few hours before there we're none.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 19, 2021
StateNC
Description
Transmission slip out of park I was at a complete stop in park got out of the car to get my purse an as I pull the hacker it was still locked so I came around and reached in the car to turn the car off an as I attempted to pull the key out the car started roll back drugged me about 150 feet down the inbank.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 09, 2021
StateTN
Description
The manufacturer is taking 2 long to repair or replace the engine. They started the recall at end of april. In may my mycarfax told me about recall and the manufacture didn't send anything out in the mail about the recall till almost end of june. They are taking 2 long to fix this engine. I drive daily for my job. Sometimes 4,000 miles a month. I need this recall fixed now.
CategoryTires:sidewall
DateJul 22, 2021
StatePA
Description
tire installed as new oem on hyundai kona with 650 miles. Driving at 40 mph and sidewall of tire blew out. Tire did not strike any object or curb. 215/55r17
CategoryEngine
DateJul 19, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact that parts were not available for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that the part was not yet available. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 09, 2021
StateLA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted and confirmed that the part was not yet available. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact stated that the message for oil change due in 28 days was displayed on the instrument panel. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was approximately 8,900.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 09, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The local dealer was contacted, and it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 28, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 22, 2021
StateCT
Description
I had a flat tire (passenger side right front tire). Triple aaa removed tire and replaced with my spare tire. While driving to the hyundai dealership, massive clouds of smoke poured out of my exhaust pipe in rear of car. I also had trouble steering the car. The result of using the spare tire burned the transmission fluid (also contained metal shavings). The transmission had to be replaced along with the fluids in my car.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated while driving at 60 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated the check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed with the engine needing to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was relating the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 21v301000 (engine). The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 18, 2021
StateIL
Description
After loud explosion sound, the engine stalled 3 times recently while driving and today. No brake, hard steering wheel, and almost bumped the car front of me. I took my car to a dealer last week and they said no fix despite of safety recall. Without any warning, first it happened 3 weeks ago.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 06, 2021
StateWA
Description
Vehicle hesitates to accelerate easily and gas peddle must be sharply applied to move forward. Symptoms occur daily when driving on city streets.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 27, 2021
StateFL
Description
Headlights are defective! They get full on condensation obstructing the lights and road ahead. They go off an on while you're driving. Hyundai is aware of the problem and send a bulletin to all their dealers not to replace them. This is compromising our view at night since the lights go off unexpectedly. We almost had an accident! Help
CategoryEngine
DateApr 21, 2021
StateNY
Description
Bought the car in august 2020. In february 2021 the car began to stall frequently and it was running very loud. I discovered that there was almost no oil in the car with less than 5,000 miles on it. Brought the car to the dealership and they determined the engine was defective and would need to be replaced. I have been without my car (but still paying for it monthly) since mid-february. It is now late april.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateApr 20, 2021
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 hyundai kona. The contact stated while driving in inclement weather, rain water was entering the headlamps which diminished the illumination from the headlamps. The vehicle was taken to red hoagland hyundai (6375 cypress gardens blvd, winter haven, fl 33884, (863) 326-6999) and it was recommended to let the headlamps dry out. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,052.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateApr 18, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was entering my neighborhood and slowed down as we neared our house with my foot on the brakes so that I can open my garage door, as I released the brakes, the car started accelerating by itself really fast and I had to slam on my brakes to stop the car from speeding up on its own.
CategorySteering
DateApr 02, 2021
StateNY
Description
Car has been pulling to the right since a week old. Dealer adjusted alignment and still doing it. Wheel is off center and more resistance going left than right.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Henry G

    I Had a 2021 Hyundai KONA SEL-PLUS Night Edition, a beautiful ride. And it handled the road like a Porsha. I loved to drive it. However; the following issues are:
    1. Slow gear transfer from start as you pull out.
    2. Head lighting at night is not good. Needs better lighting for night time use. we had to up grade our
    head lights bulbs in order to see better at night. Head light kept blowing out. With in one year, we had to replace the head lights 4 times. The Kona would have electrical surges then the light issues would begin each time.
    3. The Blind side sensors work when they feel like it, which is rare… Along with front end collision warning. The sensors go off when nothing is there, and when you need the sensors to work….they are not there for you.
    4. Fuel per mile reader is off I have had reading where it was reading 9 mile to the gallon usage even thought we were driving conservatively. Some time it reads easy and other time you would think your driving a late 60’s muscle car.
    5. On the 28th of Sept.2022 I was involved in a accident and the blind side sensors didn’t go off and the airbags failed to deploy.
    6. Electrical issues: there were electrical power surges blowing out the radio and the other electrical related components including the warning sensors.

    We took the Hyundai Kona to the Dealer several times to have it checked. they checked all the sensor issues and the head light bulbs blowing out issues. They were unable to fix and kept trying to blame me for the issues. And we have it all document on the Hyundai paperwork.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.