2019 Ford Ranger Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Seats, brake and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

People couldn’t wait to get behind the wheel of a 2019 Ford Ranger. It was the first year of the revival of this mid-size pickup. As enthusiasm runs deep, the automaker claims this truck is “adventure ready.” Once the initial fervor wore off, owners realized this truck wasn’t all it was hyped up to be. In fact, this pickup suffers from defective seats, malfunctioning service brakes, a defective powertrain and glitchy vehicle speed control.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Ford Ranger

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
14
Service Brakes
14
Power Train
13
Unknown Or Other
13
Exterior Lighting
9
Engine
8
Seats
5
Fuel/propulsion System
5
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Visibility/wiper
4

Problems with the Seats

No one expects the 2019 Ford Ranger to provide as much comfort or space as the F-150, but it is supposed to have safe seats, yet that’s not the case.

Just look at this review left on the NHTSA website. “2019 Ford Ranger XLT rear seat back locking problem. Ford has issued a TSB on the difficulty of locking the rear seat back into a locked position. Extreme closing force must be used to securely lock the seat back. If not properly locked, the seat back would probably pitch forward in an extreme braking or an accident. This could cause injury to rear seat passengers or others in the vehicle. It should not take a full size adult male using all possible force to latch the seatback. Ford forums have also expressed this problem. As it is a lifesaving issue, the NHTSA should immediately force Ford to design a proper latching mechanism before someone is seriously hurt or killed and then have it installed for free as a safety issue. Ford current solution is not a proper repair. Shaving the bumper grommets a tiny bit is not the solution. Surely Ford’s other vehicles don’t have this issue.”

It isn’t just the seat design that Ford overlooked, but also the front passenger seat belts. In fact, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V518000 highlights a recall that expresses how the improperly assembled seat belts may not restrain occupants during a crash. Between putting the passenger at risk and the rear seat occupants, Ford is only showing concern for the driver. That’s fine for owners who plan to drive alone, but what about the safety of others in the truck? This truck is only ready for an adventure taken by one person – not a group.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Ford Ranger Seats Problems:

REAR SEAT UPPER PORTION WHEN RELEASED TO DOWNWARD POSITION, IS VERY HARD TO RELOCK IN UPPER POSITION, WHICH IF NOT LOCKED TO CAUSE SEAT BELTED PASSENGERS ND SEAT ITSELF TO FLY FORWARD IN A FRONTAL CRASH.

Problems with the Brakes

As discussed above, slamming on the brakes in the Ford Ranger could lead to injury in the back seat. With that in mind, it’s challenging to slam on the brakes at all, because this system isn’t working correctly.

Another NHTSA review states, “Pulling into a parking space and applied the brakes. The brake pedal went all the way to the floor and my foot then engaged the gas pedal also. The Ranger lunged forward and hit a store sign. I have had two instances of unintended acceleration while braking, on both occasions the engine revved and the vehicle went forward. Only have 950 miles on it. The brake pedal has a lot of travel before engaging. Ford needs to take a serious look at this.”

With five recalls already on the 2019 Ford Ranger, the automaker isn’t willing to look at anything it doesn’t need to. Otherwise, people might see how much of a lemon this truck actually is. Instead, the company has chosen to remain silent about braking concerns, leaving people to experience their own adventure.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Ford Ranger Brakes Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2019 FORD RANGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000.

Problems with the Transmission

There was a lot of criticism for Ford regarding the engine and transmission option on the 2019 Ranger. It turns out critics had a lot to say that was valid. This system isn’t functioning as it should and owners couldn’t be more displeased.

Here is a complaint that was filed with the NHTSA. “The contact owns a 2019 Ford Ranger. On several occasions, while driving and approaching a stop, the transmission failed to downshift, which made it difficult to stop the vehicle. [Dealer] was contacted by phone and made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.”

Ford has also issued some recalls related to powertrain concerns. The first recall, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V366000, specifies that the gear shift lever position might not match the transmission gear, which causes the truck to move in an unexpected direction, even when the owner thinks it is in Park. This is caused by loosened fasteners attaching the transmission shifter cable bracket and requires repair. Otherwise, the Ford Ranger might take an adventure on its own.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Ford Ranger Transmission Problems:

I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED TWICE OF A RECALL BECAUSE THE TRANSMISSION MAY NOT BE IN THE GEAR INDICATED. CONTACTED THE DEALER TWICE AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THEY ARE NOT DOING RECALL WORK FOR 2 TO 3 MONTH’S. SO IN THE MEANTIME MY TRUCK CAN ROLL AND INJURE MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE OR DAMAGE PROPERTY.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

As with the other problems this truck seems to exhibit, the vehicle speed control malfunctions put owners and occupants at risk.

Here is yet another NHTSA complaint about the Ranger. It says, “The truck has about 400 miles total. I have had two instances of unintended acceleration while braking, on both occasions the engine revved and the vehicle lunged forward.”

This statement sounds like a replica of what was illustrated earlier. That’s because the internet is filled with similar reports from Ranger owners around the country. Yet, Ford won’t take the complaints seriously or fix the problems. It has chosen to turn a blind eye and continue promoting the Ranger as something it isn’t. This lemon car isn’t ready for an adventure at all but should be sent to the junkyard for scrap metal.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Ford Ranger Vehicle Speed Control Problems:

WHEN TRYING TO SET THE CRUISE CONTROL SPEED THE VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE ACCELERATING CONSTANTLY. THE TRUCK WILL NOT SET AT THE DESIRED SPEED AND WILL KEEP GOING FASTER AND FASTER. THE ONLY WAY STOP THE INCREASING ACCELERATION PROCESS IS STEPPING ON THE BRAKE, MAYBE TURNING THE CRUISE CONTROL OFF. THIS HAPPENED EVERY TIME I TRIED TO SET THE CRUISE CONTROL SPEED WITH THE BOTTOM ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE WHEEL. I REPLICATED THE ISSUE TWICE IN THE PARKWAY JUST TO MAKE SURE THIS WAS NOT MY FAULT. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS TOTALLY UNEXPECTED, THE CAR WAS NEW.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryPower Train
DateNov 22, 2022
StateVA
Description
Transmission clunk jerky and sifting not right. 10r80 transmission just like the f150. Took to ford dealer twice still with same issues. Driving is not safe for roads with traffic and I know others feel the same too
CategorySeats
DateNov 18, 2022
StateMD
Description
The drivers side seat heater short circuited and melted the seat cover and foam. The short circuit left an approximately 1 inch hole through the seat.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 15, 2022
StateLA
Description
Both of my taillights no longer work, at first it was intermittent and they would come back on but after a while nothing worked. No turn signal, hazard, or brake lights for the rear taillights only. The overhead one above the bed still works. The vehicles behind me cannot tell whether I am braking, turning or driving. It appears this was a common issue on earlier vehicles in production. It has been reproduced by an independent service center. It has not been inspected by the manufacturer, and no there was no other symptoms prior to the failure other than the intermittent working and not working.
CategorySeats:front Assembly:seat Heater/cooler
DateNov 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that the heated seat overheated to the point where the contact received severe burns along the back down to the back of the legs. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline for assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
The failed component is a small wheel speed sensor on the rear axle. The sensor is designed in a way where it inserts into the axle and sits close enough to the gears that it can be hit by the gears during bumps/potholes/etc. The issue puts myself and others at risk as when the sensor malfunctions or breaks, it disables multiple safety features of the truck including: antilock brakes, traction control, power steering, hill assist, and collision avoidance system. Other systems affected include cruise control. The problem has been reproduced with three separate speed sensors, two oem sensors and one after market. I have had the vehicle inspected by a ford dealership for the issue. Issues prior to the first replaced sensor was the sensors have issues with cold climate. When snow or ice is on the roadway, the sensors have issues and disable all the above features. Appears the design cannot withstand the cold weather.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 05, 2022
StateNC
Description
This 2019 ranger is experiencing jerky and erratic shifting. At low rpm's (parking lots) it requires excessive rpm's and resulting speeds to shift between gears. It also clunks when downshifting, feeling like the vehicle was hit by another car.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 16, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated while driving 50 mph and approaching traffic, while depressing the brake pedal the vehicle failed to slow as needed. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the forward collision avoidance emergency automatic braking activated and stopped the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact stated that he had experienced the failure a second time. The contact took the vehicle back to the local dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000.
CategorySeats:front Assembly:seat Heater/cooler
DateSep 15, 2022
StateOH
Description
As I was driving down the road I began I started to smell something unusual - in a way it smelled like burning plastic and/or anti-freeze. I then began to feel quite a bit more heat than usual on my lower back, so much I knew something was wrong. I pulled my truck over, got out and as soon as I got out my heated seat started producing smoke where I believe the main heated seat coil is. Within seconds a flame burst out from the seat. I luckily had a drink in my cup holder that I reached over to grab & pour out on the flame. It kept smoking after I dumped the liquid on it. I then grabbed a water bottle from my back seat & was able to put the fire out completely. In conclusion, my 2019 ford ranger lariat crew cab heated seat caught fire while it was turned on, on 9/15/2022 at approx. 9:00a.
CategoryElectrical System:horn, Exterior Lighting
DateAug 02, 2022
StateID
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that the driver's side rear taillight intermittently failed to illuminate while depressing the brake pedal. The contact also stated that the horn failed to operate as needed. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where he was informed that his vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v839000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred him to the dealer for assistance. The vehicle remained at the dealer unrepaired. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 14, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle inadvertently lost motive power and stalled. The check engine warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer and diagnosed with water absorption in the engine. The dealer replaced the boot cover, spark plugs, and engine cover. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,599.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateJul 11, 2022
StateNJ
Description
My rear camera stopped working and I think the front collision alert is affected as well. I understand there was/is a recall for this issue but not my vehicle. I do not understand why.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 01, 2022
StateAL
Description
The 10r80 10 speed transmission will slip, shutter, stall, jump in and out of gear, slam into gear, and often times will wait till you are at a complete stop to downshift into 1st gear which makes the entire truck lunge forward almost like you've been rear ended. I've been to 2 different ford dealerships, had my truck in the shop multiple times and all I hear is them telling me that it's normal and they get these complaints a lot. Long lewis ford of prattville alabama will play dumb and hold my truck in their parking lot for a few days then say they found nothing wrong. Collier ford of wetumpka alabama told me over the phone that the symptoms I'm experiencing are normal and they they will not touch my truck unless it has a wrench light on. A ,000 truck should not have these issues and it be deemed “normal” or even “acceptable”.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 27, 2022
StateWA
Description
The front passenger door mechanism failed. The actuator that grips onto the metal latch on the truck's frame is locked in the up position, preventing the door from closing. That creates a safety problem because the door will not close or latch.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 19, 2022
StateMA
Description
Vehicle is visibly lower or has a lean on the rear driver side bed. Was brought to ford and measured to be lower on right rear side by . 5”inch from the left, fuel tank was at less than a 1/4 tank.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 18, 2022
StateNY
Description
Unknown, my vehicle seems to stall in low gear. I already informed the dealership several times, and they stated that everything was fine. The stalling appears to be getting more frequent as time goes on, and worried that this could cause further damage to the vehicle. This is a safety concern as well.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
Drive truck and park in garage and garage smells like gas. Only happens when parking truck in garage right after driving it. This has happened about 3-4 times now. I don't drive it that often. Just had an oil change at ford and drove home. Then the next day I took it out and parked it in garage and gas smell again. Smell will last 2-3 days if truck stays parked. Have an appt. This coming week at ford.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 02, 2022
StateCO
Description
The contact owned a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle crashed into a cow. During the incident, the vehicle was destroyed and severe front-end damage had occurred but no airbags deployed. No injuries were reported. A police report was taken at the scene and the vehicle was towed away. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The local dealer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 54,000. Vehicle has been totaled state farm with claim number [xxx]. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).”
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
This is not the first time, but I will randomly get a collision warning while I am driving my car. The last incident happened on a 2 lane road with no traffic within visible distance in front of me. It was early in the morning with the sun ahead of the vehicle (approx 7am) and the collision warning indicator came on for no reason. This has happened before. Another incident occurred when I was turning right onto an on ramp and there was a car traveling next to me (who would continue straight) and the warning was going off for no reason. These incidents are extremely dangerous as the flashing and chiming from the alert system is very distracting and causes someone to react to this as opposed to focusing on driving the vehicle. For some people this could lead to a crash by itself as there is no training on what your vehicle will do in one of these situations (ie, like a push to test in an aircraft to know what is making the noise).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateAZ
Description
I was slowly pulling forward, parking my vehicle. I pressed the brakes and they did not engage. I pumped my brakes and my foot was down to the floor with no brake activity and an involuntary acceleration occurred causing me to crash into a brick wall. Fortunately, I was the only person injured in the crash. The police were called and my vehicle was towed to be repaired. It was inspected by my insurance company. I called ford several times to ask that the vehicle be inspected by a ford investigator to determine why the brakes failed and the involuntary acceleration occurred. They misdirected me at least 10 times. I informed that there were 12 reports of the identical problem happening to other 2019 ford ranger owners. They ignored my requests. Upon recommendation by ford customer service, my car was towed from a body shop to a ford dealer where they informed by that there was at least one instance that the diagnostics showed a sensor failure. At no time did any warning light appear on my dash signaling me there was an issue of a sensor failure. In spite of this problem, ford continues to ignore my request for an inspection of the vehicle. I went to a doctor as I had a very bad headache and pain throughout my body. I had a concussion and soft tissue damage along my right side, both hands and elbows.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateOK
Description
On jan 04,2022 while flat towing my truck behind my motorhome it caught fire and burned to the ground. It was too badly burned for the insurance to make a determination of the cause. However, it started in the engine compartment. I know it was not a bad tire because all tires were inflated until the fire popped them. I was able to get the truck disconnected from the rv and know that it remain in neutral with nothing seized up like the transmission or brakes because the truck rolled on its own once it was disconnected and had to be chocked. I had followed all the proper procedures and my key was in acc position. I had towed this truck many hundred miles prior. That day I had towed it 5-6 hours prior to the fire. This incident took place in alachua county florida. Alachua county fire rescur case # acfr22-0000462 alachua police department case #22apd00014 state farm insurance claim #36-29co-58s
CategorySeat Belts
DateDec 21, 2021
StateWA
Description
Possible drivers side seat belt problem on 2019 ford ranger. Incident occurred on monday 12/20/202, about 9:20 am. After rounding a corner at low speed I hit a patch of ice and, spinning about 90 degrees, ran head on into a very tall power pole, anchored to its concrete base with many very large bolts. This stopped me. No damage to the post. Air bags did not deploy, but I was thrust forward, hitting the steering wheel hard. I bruised my chest, not visibly, in the sternum area. I think my seat belt must have failed. The force on the belt ripped the plastic paneling covering it from the sidewalls. My truck is now in the body shop being evaluated. I pointed out the seat belt problem and they said they can give me a new one if there is a problem.
CategoryPower Train:manual Transmission:internal:gears
DateNov 05, 2021
StateCT
Description
2019 ford ranger. Consumer writes in regards to shifting problems with vehicle. The consumer stated the vehicle would violently jerk when coming to a stop. The vehicle would also jerk when accelerating and switching to higher gear. The vehicle experiences loss of power and no engaged gears. The truck engine would rev up and shift hard. The manufacturer was notified, but did not offer any assistance.
CategoryVisibility
DateNov 04, 2021
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that upon activation of the blower motor, an abnormal odor would emit from the vehicle without warning. The contact stated that he and his wife both were asthmatic and that the vehicle had become difficult to drive due to the failure. The contact called several dealers and the manufacturer, and each informed him that his vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v726000 (visibility). The contact left the vehicle with the dealer and the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. Other dealers in the area informed him that they were unable to inspect the vehicle for another month. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 500.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateNov 03, 2021
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was difficulty removing his foot off the accelerator pedal to depress the brake pedal due to the plastic and hump around the pedals. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was because he may crash if the brake pedal could not be depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they informed the contact that there was nothing they could do. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000. The consumer stated after removing the ground cable, all info erased on the computer.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateOct 27, 2021
StateCT
Description
2019 ford ranger. Consumer writes in regards to transmission issues. The consumer stated the vehicle violently jerked when coming to a stop. The vehicle experienced a loss of power and no engaged gears. On some occasions, when driving, the vehicle would quickl change gears causing the vehicle to lurch 3 or 4 times. The dealer and manu facturer were notified and did not offer any assistance.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 12, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brakes had malfunctioned and the brake pedal was spongy or in some cases would extend to the floor causing the braking distance to be extended. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure and no service was performed. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,500.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 30, 2021
StateTX
Description
When applying brake you have to pump brakes, if going at a low speed you'll only slow down about 20% if going 50mph or higher you have to pump brakes 2-3 times to get the mushyness to go away and start braking properly
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 19, 2021
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the windshield wipers, the defroster, headlights low and high beams failed to work. The contact veered to the side of the road for a short while and then drove the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the rodents had damaged the soy-based insulated wiring harnesses at the front of the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired however, the rear lights would fail to turn off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the soy-based insulated wiring harnesses at the rear of the vehicle had sustained rodent damage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 31,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 17, 2021
StateNY
Description
I am certain my vehicle does not shift correctly. It often seems to be in the wrong gear for the terrain and according to the dashboard seems to skip gears. Also it seems to not get the power to the road as if the transmission slips. It is intermittent. The start stop feature which I usually turn off, sometimes does not work correctly. I have only had this vehicle for about 5 months. When the start stop feature is off the vehicle still acts as if its on. I have read blogs of many people having similar transmission issues. A local ford dealer told me it drove fine, nature of the beast and it shifts that way to save fuel. Also on off the gas there is a hard clunk which seem to harsh. I feel like at some point something is going to fail.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 13, 2021
StateOR
Description
The spare tire is held tight against the under body of the pickup bed with a chain crank. The gear mechanism that raises and lowers the tire slowly released the tire to the point that edge of the tire (presumably due to bumps in the road) contacted the pavement. The tire became almost vertical and at a right angle to the direction of the vehicle. An estimated 4 miles was drive before the driver became aware of the problem when an observant motorcyclist motioned the vehicle over. The tire was very hot where it contacted the pavement but had not yet ignited. The tire was roped to the frame to keep it off the pavement to safely drive to a service center. The photo of the tire under the truck shows its approximate position during the incident. The actual position was almost vertical. The photo of the tire chain clamp bracket shows it's position without the tire. The crank mechanism was damaged to the point that the chain could not raise or lower the bracket. A tire fire would have resulted if the vehicle was driven much further. The manufacturer will be contacted.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 30, 2021
StateMO
Description
The brake pedal at times goes almost to the floor. One time it traveled past the gas pedal and my foot engaged it causing it to lunge forward. Had there been a vehicle in the parking spot ahead of me, I would have hit it. I've taken it to the dealer but they claim this is a "normal characteristic for this vehicle". This is both an accident waiting to happen and a problem in need of a solution/recall.
CategorySeats
DateApr 12, 2021
StateOH
Description
Rear seat latch is defective, does not lock in place and if in a crash will injure occupants in backseat. Backseat came forward when I hit brakes to avoid collision. Luckily no one was in backseat.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 03, 2021
StateUT
Description
I have two ford trucks and both have instrument panels that are impossible to read in daylight except for the speedometers. They both have the dash lights turned up as bright as they will go. Not being able to read my instrument panel gauges is a danger for multiple reasons.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateVA
Description
I changed my oil at 5,000 miles, I have approximately 8,400 miles on my truck now. I noticed excessive fuel built up in my oil catch can. After doing some research a lot of people with the 2019 ford ranger are having the same issue. I checked my oil and my oil was saturated with fuel. Fuel is getting into the engine oil.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
I have had my 2019 ford ranger xlt supercrew in the dealers shop twice. Both for automatic transmission related problems. The first issue happened just shy of 20k miles. The truck would shake and jerk when starting from a light or stop. The transmission was pretty much overhauled. The second issue happened around 8k miles later as I hit 28k miles. This time the truck would hesitate between gears. I took it back to the dealership and they replaced the. Module for a second time after first replacing it at the time they overhauled the transmission. In addition they also replaced the converter. I have been the only owner of the vehicle and don't mistreat it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 12, 2021
StateTX
Description
Rodents keep eating the wiring in the engine causing thousands of dollars in damage. This has happened twice in a two month span. I found information that ford uses plant based materials to coat the wiring and to make some of the hoses. I've tried different measures to prevent the rodents from damaging the wiring to no avail. This damage causes my electrical system to fail and knocked out my horn and other vehicle features. It doesn't seem fair and good business practice by ford to keep using these products and not to inform buyers about this issue. My wife owns a honda and her vehicle isn't touched by the rodents.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 10, 2021
StateNY
Description
The info screen which controls hvac freezes up preventing the user from changing the hvac settings which could cause the windshield to fog or freeze . Very dangerous... It's happening in all fords not just the ranger yet no recal as of yet
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 02, 2021
StateMT
Description
Consistent issue with fuel in oil. Latest report from the oil analysis have 4. 5 percent fuel in oil. Dropping oil ignition point to 285 degrees. Issue occurs during normal vehicle use.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 31, 2020
StateMI
Description
After approximately each 500 miles the oil level rises to, and then above, the safe maximum fill marker on the dipstick. The oil smells strongly of fuel. Driving includes short commutes in residential areas (ca 20 miles) and longer road trips (ca 400 miles) the rising oil level appears to be the result of fuel leaking into the system/crank case. Over 4,600 miles (of 9,000 total) the truck has had multiple oil changes due to this issue, but without resolution; fuel smell and rising oil level continue. Services, including oil changes each time follow: 23 june 2020 (4,396 miles) 28 july 2020 (4,806 miles) 8 september 2020 (5,436 miles) 26 october 2020 (7,238 miles; high oil level and fuel vapor valve failure, w/ error code for latter) 28 december 2020 (9,052 miles) the ford dealership has acknowledged that the problem is persistent and they have not been able to fix the matter because the vehicle is not showing an electronic error code and ford has not issued a technical service bulletin.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 27, 2020
StateOR
Description
Software that operates stereo and all other sounds system features freezes up and fails. Vehicle must be shutdown completely to reboot system before it will work again. This is a repetitive problem that needs to be dealt with.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateDec 22, 2020
StateKY
Description
Applying brake truck will stop, after stoping you fill the paddle move downward in the direction of the floorboard, and the truck will start rolling until you apply more pressure to th paddle.. Acting like a bad master cylinder.. 2. Crash light will flash, but no braking.. This happens about every time I drive..
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateDec 09, 2020
StateGA
Description
On wednesday oct. 14, 2020 on a trip from gainesville, ga to pensacola, fl I experienced a problem with this vehicle that I would classify as potentially catastrophic. While driving on the interstate (I-85), I used the cruise control several times at speeds between 60 -70 mph. In montgomery, al, I exited off the interstate and stopped at a stop light. All of a sudden the acceleration increased where I had to put maximum pressure on the brakes to prevent the truck from crashing into passing traffic. I then moved the select shift from drive to neutral and then to park, which stopped the acceleration. The acceleration was so severe that the rear wheels were spinning. Again we experienced the same problem twice more on our way to pensacola at various stop lights. That day I had not yet determined that there may be an issue with the operation of cruise control. The next morning thursday, oct. 15, I brought the truck into world ford in pensacola, fl. For a diagnosis. The service technician took the truck out on the highway but was not able to duplicate the problem. When he used the diagnosis machine he detected a glitch in test a4 which indicated an intermittent inoperative brake lamp switch. He was not 100% sure the brake lamp switch was the cause of the problem but he changed the switch. He was very concerned of the potential seriousness of the situation. We never had another issue while in pensacola or on the way home, but I never turned the cruise control on, as my confidence level was still very low.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 25, 2020
StateME
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact stated that a chipmunk entered into the vehicle and ate some electrical wires. The vehicle was taken to bill dube toyota (40 dover point rd, dover, nh 03820; (603) 749-5500), where it was diagnosed with needing the heating unit to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but continued to experience the failure. The manufacturer had been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 23, 2020
StateLA
Description
The horn does not always sound when you press the horn switch on the steering wheel. It is especially not likely to sound if you try to sound the horn in an emergency
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 19, 2020
StateVA
Description
Purchased a 2019 ford ranger in june 2020. In july, I noticed that the ignition trim ring bezel, a part to secure the ignition cylinder to the steering column was missing and the cylinder could possibly detach. I contacted the dealership twice and have no response.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 09, 2020
StateTX
Description
While coming to a complete stop, the truck surges forward. It has happened 6+ times within 16,000 miles, every time it feels like I was just rear ended by the vehicle behind me. Fortunately, no accidents have occurred as a result of this. The unintended acceleration bumps the truck forward anywhere from 10 to 15 feet as I am slowing down. It happens from 5mph and under. The transmission was checked by the dealer but no issue was found. The truck is currently at a ford dealer for the second time for this issue. They are replacing the gas pedal.
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateOct 29, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger equipped with bridgestone tires, tire line: desert dueler ii, tire size: 255/65/17, dot number: (unavailable). The contact stated that while inspecting the tires, he noticed that the sidewall and tread was severely damaged. The contact stated that the tires were dry rotted. Myers ford co inc located at 13959 spotswood trail, elkton, va 22827, (540) 298-1271) was contacted and stated that the tires were defective and referred the contact to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and opened a case. The manufacturer decided to replace all four tires, due to all four tires showing similar issues. The tires were replaced with similar bridgestone tires however, the failure recurred with the new set of tires. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and opened another case regarding the failure. The contact was offered a pro-rated cost for the tire replacement. The tires were not yet replaced due to the concerns of the contact. The approximate failure mileage was 14,500. *dt
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 04, 2020
StateNY
Description
Brake pedal travels past the gas pedal when making a normal stop creating the possibility of applying pressure to the accelerator unless care is taken. Brake pedal continues to fade to the brake stop with moderate pressure if vehicle is stopped on a hill. Ford motor company attempted one repair which consisted of bleeding the brakes which resulted in no improvement. Now ford contends that the brakes are operating normally and refuse to make further repairs
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 02, 2020
StateMD
Description
2019 ford ranger with less than 600 miles on the odometer. The drive shaft fell out. While driving on the freeway about 60 mph I started noticing a strong vibration. When exiting the highway the vibration became a violent shake and banging noise.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 12, 2020
StateMD
Description
After the auto start stop feature engages at a stop, the engine begins to re-start but then shuts down completely along with all electric functions in the vehicle. Cannot engage hazard lights or re-start the engine until the the battery is jump-started. Once the vehicle is jumped, it functions normally and does not display any battery or check engine indicator. This happened once at a stop sign in a residential area, and again at a red light on a multi-lane boulevard with speed limit 45 mph.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 11, 2020
StateLA
Description
2019 ford ranger purchased nov. 2019 has 18,00 miles. Tires wearing out on inside front tires. Brought to dealer for alignment, but they were busy, took it to nearby shop and they aligned it, but said it was not that out of alignment. They checked the tires and stated that all 4 tires were separated.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 04, 2020
StatePA
Description
Safety recall 19v-839 have letter stating parts are available took vehicle in to dealer 07/23/2020 no parts available, it is 08/04/2020 still no parts available and dealer can not tell me when parts will be available.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 19, 2020
StateCA
Description
I I hve had my vehicle toford 5 times now for the breaks. The break peddle goes within 1" of the floor. When stoping the pedal goes below the gas pedal and wants to acceleerate and stop at the same time. When stoped the peddal will slowly move downward to the floor. I was told to drive the vehicle and get aquainted with it. After almost rearending two vehicles and ending up in an intersection I am conecerned for my well being when oerating this vehice. I would like a replacement at this point,
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 17, 2020
StatePR
Description
Corrosion problems on the chassis will be corrected by delaer. It is not the first vehicle of this model that I see with the same problem. I have more photos.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 17, 2020
StatePR
Description
Chassis corrosion problems. Dealer traded the unit for another. Note several with the same corrosion problem.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 10, 2020
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v839000 (exterior lighting) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. An unknown dealer was contacted and confirmed that the part was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJul 06, 2020
StateNY
Description
When trying to set the cruise control speed the vehicle will continue accelerating constantly. The truck will not set at the desired speed and will keep going faster and faster. The only way stop the increasing acceleration process is stepping on the brake, maybe turning the cruise control off. This happened every time I tried to set the cruise control speed with the bottom on the right side of the wheel. I replicated the issue twice in the parkway just to make sure this was not my fault. The first time this happened was totally unexpected, the car was new.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 28, 2020
StateMA
Description
I received notification from fordpass that my 2019 ranger was in deep sleep mode and that I needed to manually start it. I got into the vehicle and depressed the brake pedal as normal and pressed the start button. Many things happened simultaneously. Mostly lights flashing on the dash and eventually the headlights seemed to be sending morse code. But the engine barely responded at all. Later I hooked up a battery charger and when switched on the gauge bounced back and forth so fast it appeared to be an aircraft propeller. The vehicle was stationary in my driveway.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJun 09, 2020
StateIN
Description
The passenger side front window is developing several snowflake like defects in between the glass. These are three to four inches in diameter and impede the side vision of the vehicle. Ford is refusing to replace the glass. This is a safety hazard and needs to be investigated. The size grows an 1/8 inch a day and does not stop. The spot in the picture is nearly double in size now. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 11, 2020
StateND
Description
Leased the ranger in october of 2019. From then until now there have been more than 6 instances where the gear shift lever has been placed in park, but the truck has freely rolled away. This has happened in my driveway, while parked on a busy street, in a crowded parking garage in denver, and a couple of other places. I've been lucky each time it rolled away in an area crowded with pedestrians or traffic heavy because I've been able to open the door and jump back in and pull the emergency brake, without someone getting run over. In the parking garage a friend of mine would have been pinned between the truck and a concrete wall if she had been just one second slower walking around the truck. We had just parked and were going to walk to the elevator and were too busy talking to notice the truck was rolling toward us. Right after she was out of the path we heard something behind us and turned to see it had hit the wall, about 3 inches away from the back of her legs. I've taken the truck into 2 dealerships to have it repaired and they say there is nothing wrong. There have been numerous witnesses that have seen me place the truck in park, only to have it move on its own, but luther family ford in fargo, nd and ford motor company customer care have told me that they do not accept witness accounts for any issue on their vehicles. They have said that if a warning light doesn't illuminate or an error code isn't recorded in the diagnostics then a problem does not exist. But this is a serious problem, the vehicle is unsafe and may end up killing someone the next time it happens. I'm a disabled veteran and have some mobility issues, the next time I may not be fast enough to get to the truck to pull the emergency brake, or I may not be fast enough to move if I'm in the path of the truck , and then I'll be the one crushed underneath the runaway pos.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateApr 09, 2020
StateTX
Description
Ford issued a letter noting nhtsa recall 19v-839 in january 2020. I have heard nothing since that latter and wasted much time with my local ford dealer trying to get information on the recall. They said "no part was available". This is an unacceptable safety issue by ford. We need the truck inspected and fixed.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 12, 2020
StateOH
Description
A strong acrid smell of melting plastic is noticed when I use the heating and ac unit.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 29, 2020
StateNJ
Description
A recall was done for a connector effecting my tail lights brakes lights and turn signal . I brought it in for repair . They passed it and said nothing was wrong with mine a few weeks later while driving at night all my rear lights went out and no one could see me. I called ford and they were like we can get you in next tuesday . I brought it in the next morning and said this is unsafe to drive and they gave me a rental but informed me ford now has more stringent tests that would prevent this. But there is a backlog and the parts wine be available for 3 weeks.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
There is a long whining noise before it shifts does this every time when accelerating rather it be at stop light or slowing down before accelerating again. I have driven loaners exact model and it did not do it but in mine it did. It is a issue if it is doing in one vehicle and not the other.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 19, 2020
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2007 toyota matrix. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v627000 (air bags). However, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer spitzer toyota monroeville (4710 william penn hwy, monroeville, pa 15146) was contacted and confirmed the parts were not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 19, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v839000 (exterior lighting) however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (al packer ford royal palm beach, 10601 southern blvd, royal palm beach, fl 334110 was contacted and confirmed the parts were not available for the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tools confirms parts not available. *dt*jb
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 12, 2020
StateFL
Description
Thousands of tiny specs in windshield obscure visibility in certain light - morning, late afternoon. Happens suddenly and could cause inability to see incoming car or pedestrian, bicycles!! Very frightening. Research online reveals many have this problem with windshields. This is a brand new truck. I believe it is a defect in the windshield on this vehicle and others. Could cause loss of life as visibility is greatly reduced and it happens suddenly in the light conditions described above during routine driving. These specks can also be seen when vehicle is stationary in the conditions noted. It is especially frightening if it happens in an intersection, while turning, etc.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateWA
Description
We bought a brand new 2019 ford ranger from epic ford and after purchasing the car our ford app said we had a recall. We asked the sales people about it and they said we needed to come back the next day to get it fixed and that it would take a few minutes. We then were told the part would be in the next day and that they would call us. Then we were told the part was on back order and that it would be a week. I called service to see if there was any update and we were told that the part would not be in for up to a month and that we could not take the truck to drive in the mean time because it could light on fire. (and this was after they let us leave the lot with the vehicle and drove it home with our two week old infant) the service told us they would keep us updated weekly. We went into ford a few days later to talk to the general manager so we could get some answers. I was lied to and talked to someone who told me they were the manager but after mentioning legalities he admitted to not being the manager. The general manager came in and he said there was nothing he could do but that he could pay our first bill and give us a loner and that he would contact me for updates. He then ignored my calls and emails about our first bill and would not give me an update. After a month I called service and asked for an update, she said that the general manager gave her specific instructions to not contact us at all. We continued to wait for the part and more than two months went by and we finally got the call we could come get our truck. They illegally sold us a new car with an active recall and lied to us the entire time, avoiding the truth and did the littlest possible for us to try and make it right.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 15, 2020
StateCO
Description
Driver's side window has a fun-house distortion in the glass. This makes looking out the window, including looking in the side-view mirror, difficult and affects the user's attention and incites nausea and dizziness. This is a 2nd replacement, as the first window was defective as well. Replacement is pending, as ford is dragging their feet on the 2nd defective glass.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Power Train
DateJan 10, 2020
StateND
Description
Sometimes truck stays in gear after shifting into park. Has rolled forward after I exited the vehicle. Lane keep assist has misjudged lane & turned the wheels sharply causing unwanted lane change. Pre collision warning often sounds alarms & shows visual warnings with no traffic nearby, the system has emergency braking & I'm afraid of it applying brakes when I'm on the interstate. Crash detected audible & visual warnings often appear when there has never been a crash. Driver's door mirror is not secure, vibrates/rattles when truck is at highway speeds. Front & rear differentials make grinding noises & front end jumps, wheels lock up when using 4x4l. Does not always shift into 4x4h. Vehicle has overheated & stalled while in traffic. Pedestrian detection system is non-functional. A man stepped off the sidewalk in front of my truck on monday, jan 06 2020, I was traveling about 15-20 mph. Luckily I saw him in time and put the brakes on, when I came to a stop the man was a mere 2" from the front of my truck & we were both extremely shaken. Had I applied the brakes 1 second later the man would be dead. The pedestrian detection system never alerted me to the pedestrian with any type of warning, audible or visual. The system never assisted with emergency braking as a result. The parking & cross traffic sensors rarely work correctly, almost never detect cross traffic when pulling out of a parking spot. I can pull up to a vehicle, with my front license plate touching the receiver bar on the hitch of the vehicle in front of me before the sensors detect the vehicle. As a disabled veteran I'm more cautious than most, but all of these issues, of which there are more, make this truck a severe hazard, I do not feel safe driving it. Dealership refuses to service anymore, has been in shop 5 times, they have witnessed some issues but won't acknowledge them. Uploaded list of defects
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 31, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. On several occasions, while driving and approaching a stop, the transmission failed to downshift, which made it difficult to stop the vehicle. Angela krause ford (1575 mansell rd, alpharetta, ga 30009, (770) 649-5100) was contacted by phone and made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 18, 2019
StateTX
Description
Tail light recall: took vehicle to grapevine ford in grapevine tx and they said they had done the work. Looking at the database it still shows no repaired. Unsure what to do about it.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 14, 2019
StateND
Description
The truck will display a warning on the dash as well as make audible warnings saying that a camera in the grille is blocked or malfunctioning. Another warning that also happens a lot is something saying that a crash has been detected, it has loud chimes that go off as well as a flashing red display on dash. The pre collision warning also frequently alerts with visual and audible warnings. All of these will happen at any random time, and of all the couple dozen times these warnings have happened there hasn't been a single time that there was any traffic nearby, nor was there anything blocking any camera or sensor. The vehicle is barely more than a month old and has been back to the dealership a few times to fix body alignment issues and programming issues with the ecu, pcm and tcu. The service department told me that the pre collision system only works if you also have adaptive cruise control, which my truck does not. They said there is no way to fix the system to get it to stop giving false warnings unless they add the adaptive cruise control module and other components. However, the dealership is refusing to add the additional parts and also refusing to replace the vehicle with one that does. They told me ford is aware of this issue, and admits that a false warning may activate the braking system on its own, which can cause an accident, but they stated that ford will not pay correct the issue. This is a serious safety issue and ford needs to issue a recall for their faulty, and dangerous, collision warning system. They need to install adaptive cruise control in vehicles without if that's all it would take to fix the issue and make vehicles safe to drive.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateDec 07, 2019
StateTX
Description
Extreme fuel dilution in the oil. Likely from leaking high pressure fuel pump. I have attached the results from oil analysis at 1860 miles. The test only indicates that fuel dilution is above 5%, which itself leads to severe oil degradation. When I changed the oil, I drained 7. 5 quarts out of an engine with a 6. 2 quart capacity. This would indicate a 21% fuel dilution, not including fuel that has evaporated from the crankcase and returned to the combustion chamber via the pcv system. If I abided by the manual's recommended oil change interval, I have little doubt the engine would eventually catch fire, based on the results of several tests comparing fuel dilution to an oil's flashpoint. After changing the oil, it smelled fine for the first 20 miles or so. After that, the oil began to feel of gasoline again. After going through ford's service manuals, I have ascertained that the problem must lie in the high pressure fuel pump. It runs off the camshaft, where leaking fuel could then make it into the engine and mix with oil. There would be no warning or indication, besides rising oil levels accompanied by the smell of gasoline in the oil. It does not make me happy that my dealer is not taking this issue seriously, especially because a fuel leak of any kind always has the potential to lead to a fire or explosion in the hot engine bay. I paid over k for this truck, and should not have to change the oil every 500 miles to keep it from self destructing. Thank you for your help in the resolution of this issue. I don't feel safe driving my family in this vehicle, and ford has repeatedly chosen not to address the issue. I first detected the issue on october 20th, but I have no doubt that it has been going on since the truck rolled off the assembly line. I purchased the vehicle on august 30th of this year.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 05, 2019
StateTX
Description
I have been notified twice of a recall because the transmission may not be in the gear indicated. Contacted the dealer twice and have been told they are not doing recall work for 2 to 3 month's. So in the meantime my truck can roll and injure myself or someone else or damage property.
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 19, 2019
StateGA
Description
Back seat back rest doesn't lock into place
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 18, 2019
StateNC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. While driving various speeds and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle failed to stop. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The local dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 4,000.
CategoryWheels
DateOct 11, 2019
StateGA
Description
Had 2 rear tires fail within the first 5000 miles. The first at 3900 miles developed a blister on the sidewall and went flat. The second at about 300 miles later developed a slow leak that could not be fixed
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 10, 2019
StateFL
Description
I bought a 2019 ford ranger on august 4, 2019 and the truck vibrates shakes while driving and the windshield window a loud noise like air its coming in and feels like its going to explode. The more speed the more vibration and noises it makes. I do not feel safe driving this truck at all.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 22, 2019
StatePA
Description
Pulling into a parking space and applied the brakes. The brake pedal went all the to the floor and my foot then engaged the gas pedal also. The ranger lunged forward and I hit a store sign. I have had two instances of unintended acceleration while braking, on both occasions the engine revved and the vehicle went forward. Only have 950 miles on it. The brake pedal has a lot of travel before engaging. Ford needs to take a serious look at this.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 09, 2019
StateIA
Description
When you fully depress the break pedal you can fully engage the accelerator pedal. This has resulted in an accident 2 days after delivery of the vehicle. On 8/22/19 shortly after noon I had returned from sioux falls to home . As usual I entered the garage letting the idle carry me in with my foot on the brake. I came to a stop before the parking stop. I started to release the brake to move up to the stop. The vehicle surged forward went over the stop and into the freezer and refrigerator pushing then into the wall before I could stop. I was the only witness, although my wife heard the impact. I was unhurt, air bags did not deploy. Freezer and refrigerator totaled, back wall and door will have to be replaced, will need foundation work. Damage appears to be cosmetic, but lower bumper needs replacement. Farm bureau claim #[xxx] adjuster 515 344 6248, subsequently at a stop sign after ending in the middle of an intersection I dertermined the break issue. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tt
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 02, 2019
StateFL
Description
The truck has about 400 miles total. I have had two instances of unintended acceleration while breaking, on both occasions the engine revved and the vehicle lunged forward
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 22, 2019
StateWA
Description
Intermittent failure of the tail blinkers and brake lights. Initially after vehicle startup everything functions properly. After driving for some time, 30-60 minutes, the blinkers start behaving like a bulb is out. This happens for both driver and passenger blinkers, not necessarily at the exact same time but generally both fail pretty close to each other. Sometimes the blinkers will then start working again while still driving, sometimes they don't start working again until after the vehicle has been turned off for some time. Investigated with the vehicle stopped but still running after the issue occurred and front blinkers function properly, both rear blinkers bulbs don't work at all, tailight bulbs dimmly blink. Brake lights dimly illuminate when brake is applied. Third brake light functions properly. Issue has recurred almost every time I have driven the vehicle longer than 30 minutes in a stretch.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 19, 2019
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford ranger. While driving at an unknown speed, the check engine warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to rc lacy ford lincoln subaru (25 maple ave, catskill, ny 12414) where it was diagnosed that the computer system needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the same dealer, but the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 426.
CategorySeats
DateApr 24, 2019
StateCO
Description
2019 ford ranger xltrear seat back locking problem. Ford has issued a tsb on the difficulty of locking the rear seat back into a locked position.. Extreme closing force must be used to securely lock the seatback. If not properly locked the seat back would probably pitch forward in extreme braking or a accident. This could cayse injury to rear seat passengers or others in the vehicle. It should not take a full size adult male using all possible force to latch the seatback. Ford forums have also expressed this problem. As it is a lifesaving issue the nthsa should immediately force ford to design a proper latching mechanism before someone is seriously hurt or killed and then have it installed for free as a safety issue. Ford current solution is not a proper repair. Shaving the bumper grommets a tiny bit is not the solution.. Surely fords other truck vehicles dont have this issue. Please do something asap before lives are lost. Thank you
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateApr 04, 2019
StateTX
Description
Takata recall- I was recently in a car accident with my 2019 ford ranger and when I pressed the brake the would not apply so I continued to pump the brake and would not apply as I approached the other vehicle the precollison assist turned on and still nothing as I held the brakes down causing an accident
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 04, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was driving my vehicle and trying to stop to avoid a collision. The system indicated collision detection was engaged; however, the brakes would not stop and there was a wreck.
CategorySeats, Service Brakes
DateMar 26, 2019
StateFL
Description
2019 ford ranger purchased, noticed slight pulsation when stopping highway or city. Continued to get worse to a point where I became afraid to drive it because twice on heavy braking pulsation was sever and I was afraid was not going to stop. Situation was worse more truck was driven. Notified service advisor of issue and that I had been really careful but then I notified him again and advised I was fearful of driving vehicle especially on wet road. Took picture of left rear rotor thru wheel holes and found black spots in rotor. Took truck in on march 19th, service advisor called and said the mechanic was going to have all four rotors turned. I told him that was unacceptable, the rotors and brakes need to be replaced. The situation was escalated to ford motor company, today march 26th the service advisor called and left message they were replacing rear rotors. Have not been able to reach them back because I feel they need to also replace brake pads, for a proper mating process. He never mentioned front rotors agin as in previous dicussion. I orivinally advised them they should replace all rotors and brake pads. Them tellong me they were going to turn all rotors makes me think that all the rotors are warped. Also rear seat upper portion when released to downward position, is very hard to relock in upper position, which if not locked to cause seatbelted passengers nd seat itself to fly forward in a frontal crash.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.