2020 Jeep Cherokee Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, engine, and powertrain issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2020 Jeep Cherokee continues to push for excitement with enthusiasts. In fact, the automaker tells people to “make room for adventure,” with this model. Yet, owners are finding that the adventures are more than they want to handle. This Jeep seems to have a faulty electrical system, poorly running engine that is known to catch on fire and a malfunctioning powertrain.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2018   2019   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Jeep Cherokee

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
12
Power Train
12
Engine
10
Unknown Or Other
8
Service Brakes
7
Fuel/propulsion System
4
Steering
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Air Bags
3
Suspension
3

Most Common Problems with the 2020 Jeep Cherokee

There are numerous problems with the 2020 Jeep Cherokee. By September 2022 there were 45 complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about 20 components and systems. The most common problems relate to the engine of the Jeep, its electrical system, and the powertrain.

There are also many complaints on other platforms, including Edmunds.

Engine issues range from the check engine light coming on for no apparent reason, oil leaks, and stalling, to burning smells, smoke, and horrendous fires. Electrical problems include the Jeep suddenly stopping, and the Climate Control system, entertainment system, and radio freezing. Powertrain issues include faulty Power Transfer Units and problems shifting gears.

To illustrate how far the poor manufacturing goes, consider this recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V637000 talks about dangerous concerns with the steering system. It states that the steering rack could break, which would further increase the chance of crashing. However, few things can be determined to be an “adventure” short of losing steering control.

Problems with the Engine?

It doesn’t do any good to have a powerful engine if it doesn’t run correctly. That’s what customers are dealing with when it comes to the 2020 Cherokee. By far the most serious issues concern smoking engines and engines that catch alight. New cars shouldn’t smoke for any reason , let alone burst into flames.

Here’s another Edmunds review to consider. “2020 Jeep limited with the 4cyl turbo. Have had it (for) two weeks. “First I was getting something under the hood running after shutting (the) motor off for up to 45 minutes.” He took it to the dealer who was unable to find anything wrong. Then his wife pulled into the garage and shut off the engine and there was smoke pouring out from the grill. The vehicle was not overheating but there was lots of smoke or steam.

“I have never seen smoke or steam in any of my new cars like this and I lease two vehicles every three years.  So now it’s back to the dealer (on) Monday.”

NHTSA Complaints City 2020 Jeep Cherokee Engines Catching on Fire

A 2020 Jeep Cherokee owner from Massachusetts tells in an NHTSA complaint how while noticing a “burning odor,” another driver on the road alerted her that the Jeep was on fire underneath. She managed to coast to the side of the road, and as she got out, “the hood exploded (and was) engulfed in flames.” She says that it burned down to a crisp! The fire department extinguished the fire, and the owner filed a fire and police report. The vehicle had only about 3,000 miles on the clock.

An owner from Maine states that his nephew was driving at about 70 mph when he smelt burning inside the cabin of the vehicle. Then he noticed flames coming from the engine compartment. He stopped the vehicle and got out. It was destroyed by the fire and towed away from the scene.

Another Massachusetts owner describes in a complaint how the Jeep caught on fire while parked in a parking lot. It was so bad it caused two other vehicles to catch on fire. The fire department extinguished it “and determined the fire was caused by the engine. A police report was filed.”

Problems with the Electrical System?

There isn’t a lot that can be said about an electrical system on a vehicle – it either works or it doesn’t.

An owner from Texas has told the NHTSA that a problem relating to the electrical system keeps recurring. “While at a complete stop at a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle shut off and lost electrical power. There were no warning lights illuminated.” The owner was able to restart the vehicle and continue driving. After the failure reoccurred several times, he took it to the dealer who completed “an unknown repair.” But it happened again, this time illuminating the brake warning light. At the time of the complaint, this owner was waiting for feedback from Jeep.

An owner from Colorado states that the vehicle’s SOS call locks the entertainment system and it won’t call SOS or disconnect. The radio isn’t available either. This NHTSA complaint states that this “has occurred multiple times” and that “the UConnect has serious electrical issues.”

As it turns out, Jeep is aware that at least some of these faulty electronics can lead to serious troubles. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V191000 states that over 300,000 vehicles might have a software error in the rearview camera. This error causes images to remain displayed after the SUV has been put into Drive. With this defect, the driver can be easily distracted and confused, thereby possibly causing an accident. Of course, this image could serve as a means of entertainment for discontent kids, just tell them it is their favorite programming.

Problems with the Transmission?

The transmission is the main part of the powertrain. This vital component is needed to provide a smooth ride, yet the Cherokee utterly fails.

An owner from Ohio submitted a complaint to the NHTSA in August 2022. “On 3 separate occasions after being stopped to make a turn, (the) vehicle has started to go and then stops moving like it’s out of gear.” It also makes a clunking noise as if it’s going into gear as it starts moving. Jeep has told the owner twice that the vehicle needs an update. But, “It has since done it again, and they tell me unless it does it while they have it they don’t know what it is.”

Another Edmunds review also talks about malfunctioning gears. “The transmission definitely has a lag and seems to have a difficulty deciding which gear is best. Especially when attempting to quickly pass, or when going down a large hill. The slap stick isn’t much help.”

Service Bulletin #9004244 goes on to talk about more transmission problems. It talks about fluid leaking from the transmission oil cooler. To repair it, the technicians are required to replace the transmission oil cooler and possibly the lines as well. Having such major malfunctions just further proves how poorly made this Cherokee is. Maybe a safer adventure would be to walk or bike to work, instead of taking this defective SUV for a ride.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Jeep pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
The rare windshield shattered. The vehicle is currently at a jeep dealership because after the incident I opened a complaint with jeep corporate and was told to have it towed into the dealership. My child was sitting in the back seat when we heard a loud noise and seen the glass was shattered. Jeep was viewed by police. There were no warning that after warming my car up prior to leave my house that my back windshield would shatter not even a minute into my drive.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateOct 12, 2022
StateFL
Description
In august 2022, my 2020 jeep cherokee 4x4 limited started having jerking issues when excellerating. I also kept hearing a whistling sound that appears to come from the front passenger door. In addition, the entire navigation system would power off, at any time, for no reason. I would have to physically turn it back on. One week later while running errands in palm coast florida my 2020 jeep would not start for approximately 20 minutes and the svc 4wheel drive warning light was illuminated. While on the phone with road side assistance the jeep started. I was instructed to drive home and a tow company would be contacted. Driving home I realized that I had no operating lights, turn signals, and all th jeep electrical components were out. I drove for 15 minutes to my home in complete fear for myself and other motorist. In august 2022, my jeep was towed to atlantic dodge-chrysler jeep dealership located at 2330 us-1 south, st. Augustine florida 32086 (904) 797-4383. I was initially told my issues were caused by a dead battery cell. The dealership replaced my battery but the svc 4wheel indicator was still illuminated. I was instructed by the dealership service department to drive 2 hours and rest the vehicle for 24 hours. The svc 4wheel indicator did not reset. I was informed by the dealership that a ptu unit needs to be replaced. I keep my vehicle routinely dealership maintained, so I researched the causes for ptu failure in 2020 jeeps. I found that there has been a history of ptu failures with my vehicle type, to include the backup view delay. My vehicle has not been recalled for the rear backup view and it is still malfunctioning. If there is a recall on ptu units and rear backup viewing, please send me the information to schedule a recall repair.
CategoryPower Train, Suspension
DateOct 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
Starting mid 2022, the vehicle was having trouble shifting into passing gear upon highway acceleration. It seemed to get stuck at 45 mph before shifting into a higher speed, putting me at risk. Subsequently, in september 2022, I brought vehicle in for oil change. The mechanic put the car on a lift and found that the passenger front axle boot was torn, and fluid was leaking from the axel joint. I brought the car to the dealership for repair. The transmission problem was a needed computer update. The axel boot and axel half was replaced. The troubling aspect of this is that no warning lights came on for any of these issues.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 05, 2022
StateAZ
Description
I will try to answer each question: the electronic emergency brake engaged on its own at a stop light, then later while driving on the highway. Could have easily been re-ended and lost control on freeway causing extreme damage. It was a night, and driving alone. Called dealership, they said to bring it in or tow it but wouldn't be able to get to it until oct. 20th and then if a part needed to be ordered it would be longer. I then took it to our mechanic, who said it was the electronic brake module and most likely was caused by water leak. They showed me complaint article with complaints of same thing. I notified my insurance company of same. The warning lights only came when it happened last night. 10/04/22. They are not currently on, and I only drove it to the mechanic shop where they diagnosed the problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 29, 2022
StateOH
Description
On 3 separate occasions after being stopped to make a turn vehicle has started to go and then stops moving like its out of gear. It will then make a clunkng noise like its going into gear and start moving again. I have taken it to jeep and they said after 1st two times it needed an update. It has since done it again and they tell me unless it does it while they have it they dont know what it is. This started with only 18000 miles on vehicle and it currently has around 22000. This is scary because its going to cause me to be in a wreck if it happens while I'm turning in traffic. Please feel free to contact me for further information.
CategoryElectrical System:body Control Module/bcm
DateAug 25, 2022
StateNE
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle inadvertently stopped. There was a temporary message of no bus, then the instrument panel went blank. The contact waited 10-15 minutes to press the auto start/stop button for the vehicle to restart. The vehicle was driven to the local dealer who diagnosed a failure with body control module (bcm). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 73,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 17, 2022
StateTN
Description
Electronic parking break turned on automatically while driving 55 mph on highway.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 09, 2022
StateCO
Description
My 2020 jeep cherokee trailhawk began experiencing a "clunking" noise coming from the center of the vehicle. The first time I took it in, the dealer could not replicate the noise. The second time, the dealer did hear it and determined it was the power transfer unit. The dealer *claimed* it was the result of uneven tire wear from the factory firestone tires. The dealer has offered to replace the ptu under the warranty; however, they stated they "may not" replace the new ptu if we continue on the same tires. Even with 34k miles, the front tires have 10/32 and the rear tires have 12/32. They said that we needed to purchase new tires through them at 0. When I mentioned about getting tires from another tire store, he needed to check with his manager to see if the ptu would still be warrantied. The ptu is a known problem for the cherokee but the dealer has been trying to seek ways to get more money.
CategoryTires
DateJun 09, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee equipped with continental tires, tire size: 225/60r18, tire line: 100hms radio tubeless. The contact stated while the vehicle was getting an oil change the mechanic noticed that the two front tires were wound. The dealer and the manufacturer were not made aware of the failure. The dot was not available. The failure mileage was 6,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJun 06, 2022
StateNJ
Description
About a week ago, a faint smell of gasoline was noticed at the front of the vehicle after it was shut off. The smell became stronger and more noticeable with each passing day. Today, gasoline can be smelled coming out of the air vents as well as outside of the vehicle. Wife seems to think the smell started when she started using the air conditioning. No signs of fuel leaking. No check engine light. The vehicle has 20450 miles on it. We are trying to get it into the dealership as soon as possible, but at this point we are not driving it out of an abundance of caution.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
I was driving to work this morning at 5:30am in the rain, heavy rain, so I had my wipers on. They were turned to high because of how heavy the rain was. All of a sudden the wipers went crazy and the drivers side wiper was hanging off the side of the car still trying to wipe. I immediately lost visibility and tried to move off the highway. I was struggling to see where the road was. I ended up off pavement at one point and I believe that's where I picked up the screw in my tire that made my tire go flat. I was luckily near an exit, but now leaning into the passenger side of the car trying to see and find a safe place to get off the road. This could've gone very badly I was lucky and blessed it did not. I took my jeep to the service department at the dealership where the gentleman helping stated he's seen this a lot. He said there hasn't been a recall on the cherokee only the truck, but he's seen it happening in a lot of vehicles. Evidently the screws come loose. If this is a common problem there needs to be a recall.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJun 01, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated while at a complete stop at a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle shut off and lost electrical power. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and continued driving. However, the failure reoccurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where an unknown repair was completed; however, the failure recurred while driving and the brake warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that they would follow up with him. The contact was awaiting a call back from the manufacturer. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Power Train
DateJan 24, 2022
StateNY
Description
In december 2021 the "awd not available" warning message came on. During a trip, the cruise control did not work. Took car to dealer on january 4, 2022. Diagnostics revealed the following: oil leak in the engine, repaired under the warranty. Body controller module and body wiring failed, replaced under warranty. Power transfer unit failed, power transfer unit replaced under warranty. Car returned to me repaired on january 14, 2022.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 12, 2022
StateNC
Description
Climate control system freezes and will not turn on or will stop working while driving. Windows fog up with no way to defrost and cause low to no visibility while driving. No warning lights appear before this situation occurs. Car was in the shop at spartanburg chrysler, jeep, dodge in sc for a month just a few weeks after purchasing the vehicle. The problem first occurred when the vehicle had about 5,000 miles on it. Within 6-8 months the problem is happening again.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 04, 2022
StateCT
Description
Fuel system failure on top of 2. 0 liter jeep turbocharged engine (approx. 53 - 54k miles), resulted in emptying of fuel tank over top of engine while driving on interstate. Vehicle filled after normal operation to low fuel light and driven for 29 miles to shopping center. Ran out of fuel in entrance/exit of shopping center parking lot. Attempted restart caused large volume of fuel to pour out of engine compartment onto ground. No evidence of tampering, photo of failure attached (believe under the split foil jacket). Vehicle did not leak when off, and delivered by flatbed to ri dealer the next morning. Backtracking the traveled highway path later indicated a probable in- operation failure (based on visible trail). This is consistent with approximate amount spilled in parking area and total fuel loss of 15 gallons based on tank size. Passenger compartment is tight and I do not recall it developing a strong fuel smell until attempting to run stationary. Noted 2020 jeep wrangler of same year had a recall notice for a 2. 0 liter engine, notice 21v-665, so wondered if a similarity exists. There is concern for extreme fire risk, on-road shutdown, and environmental spill in a sensitive area. I walked the parking area where it stalled to ensure there was no large concentration of fuel mixed with the puddles from the rain. Quoted repairs are 676. 00 not under warranty. Vehicle is a company car used only by myself, and has had no engine work or fuel area work, with only routine oil changes and maintenance inspection of air filters. Vehicle is waiting for backordered fuel line parts at dealer service. This incident resulted in an extreme level of hazard to myself, environment and others, and I am surprised was considered a non warranty issue. Informed repair is outside of 36,000 mile warranty. Ok, but I am a mechanical engineer with 35 yrs experience and this is worth a safety check to ensure there is not a pattern similar to several other chrysler vehicles.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 01, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact noticed that the vehicle was on fire while parked in a parking lot. The contact mentioned the fire caused 2 other vehicles to catch on fire. The fire department extinguished the fire and determined the fire was caused by the engine. A police report was filed. The vehicle was damaged. The dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was towed to a body shop. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,800.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 16, 2021
StateSC
Description
The contact owned a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated while his wife was driving at 35 mph, when approaching an intersection a vehicle coming from the opposite lane came thru and caused the driver to hit that vehicle head-on. The air bags did not deploy. There front end of the vehicle was crashed in. The driver sustained a crack sternum, bruised lungs, and hurt their foot while depressing on the brake, the contact sustained an injured right shoulder due to the seat belt, internal bruises to their sternum, ribs, and stomach, as well fluids in their lungs. There was medical treatment at the scene and took both the contact and the driver to the hospital for treatment. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard where the vehicle was deemed a total loss by the contact insurance company. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000. Contact was later found to have dislocated sternum and damage to internal organs as well as damage to dialysis port. He recently was hospitalized to manage pain and monitor organs four weeks in the hospital and one week in nursing home. Now doing pt at home.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 12, 2021
StatePA
Description
The first time- driving and the ‘d' button on the shifter started blinking and got stuck in drive, excellerated, couldn't stop. Shut car off! Rest after 15 mins and scheduled repair/check. Shifter box-assembly was replaced and found to be the problem. 2nd time- got stuck in reverse and wouldn't move. Took it to the dealer, scheduled repair/check, told to keep driving it. 3rd time- check engine light came on, stopped at dealer, told to keep prior appointment and not to clear it. Never checked it. 4th time- driving at speed of 65, car shut off, no power but had brakes. Towed to dealer car still not able to start. Currently at the dealer.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJul 21, 2021
StateTX
Description
•on numerous occasions while backing up the rear cross traffic warning alert does not alert you and I've almost backed into other vehicles, a tree, a mailbox and even people walking. •my safety as well as my wife's safety and the safety of other drivers is put in danger bc the alert warning not going off could have caused a wreck and caused someone to get seriously injured and it could have also caused someone to have gotten ran over or just simply hit bc of the alert system not alerting us of the other vehicles, objects or people behind the vehicle. •not sure what you mean •not at this time have I taken the vehicle to be checked. Have an appointment set up to go in next week. •no there weren't any warning lamps, messages, or other symptoms of the problem prior to the failure. •the first occitan e of this malfunctioned happened when we had the vehicle about 2-2 1/2 months it has happened more than a handful of times.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 16, 2021
StateME
Description
The contact owned a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated that while his nephew was driving approximately 70 mph, a burning odor was present inside the cabin of the vehicle. The driver then noticed flames coming from the engine compartment. The driver stopped the vehicle and exited. No further information was available. The vehicle was destroyed and towed away from the scene. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer and an unknown dealer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 13,000.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJul 01, 2021
StateMA
Description
Vehicle was in a front end collision resulting in k in damages, driver transported to the hospital with leg and head injuries. The airbags did not deploy. None.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 29, 2021
StateWI
Description
Jeep is always in motion when issue happens radio freezes up loose all climate no heat defrost they are telling me that not having heat or defrost is not a safety concern living in the state of wisconsin with 30 below weather. This in most cases happens 2 to 3 times in a row when it does it in total with out heat or defrost for 5 to 10 minutes it has been to the dealer several time and they can't fix it started in late oct of 2020 and is still a issue
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 20, 2021
StateRI
Description
In less than a year we have had to replace the windshield 2 times already. Both using oem replacements the first from an extremely light impact of the wiper being put down from the standing up position after cleaning the windows the second for now known reason. There is no impact marks just a crack going across the bottom of the windshield. When contacting auto glass replacement centers we were told this is a very common issue on cherokees since the glass is so thin now. Both times the cracks spread across the bottom of the windshield making us think that maybe the heat or the heated wipers are causing part of the problem(we live in ri so heat in the car is used often for over half the year).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 03, 2021
StateMD
Description
Purchased the vehicle 10/2020, we had our first snow 12/2020 got in the vehicle and there was a puddle of water on the passenger floor board, took the car into the dealership, was told the ice and snow got under a seal on the windshield made it expand and caused the leak, they "repaired" it. Had no problems, until it snowed again 1/2021, this time got in the vehicle and there are puddles of water on both the passenger's and driver's floor boards? Not sure why a vehicle that was sold with a "cold weather package" can not handle the snow and ice??? Maybe it is just me but I do not think a vehicle with just over 7000 miles should be leaking water inside?? Maybe I just have too high standards? My husband does clean the vehicle when it snows, we are not the people that drive with 4 inches of snow still on the vehicle, we make sure the it is clear of snow and ice.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 28, 2021
StateMA
Description
Tl* the contact leases a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, an unknown burning odor occurred. The contact stated that another vehicle alerted her that the vehicle was on fire underneath. The contact quickly coasted over to the side of the road and as she exit the vehicle the hood exploded engulfed into flames. The contact stated that the vehicle burned down to a crist. The fire department extinguished the fire of what had left of the vehicle. A fire and police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow lot and was later taken by the vehicle insurance to an insurance auto auction lot where it still remained. The contact called kelly jeep chrysler, 353 broadway, lynnfield, ma 01940, and informed them of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 19, 2021
StateME
Description
I purchased a brand new 2020 jeep cherokee last january and my 4 wheel drive sensor came on in november. My dealership got me in the first of december and told me it's my ptu. They stated the part was on back order till the first of january. I asked if I could get a loaner till the part came in and they stated they don't provide loaners for that long of time. I let it go and decided today to give them a call with an update on my part for my 4 wheel drive. They stated still don't have a date for when the part will be in. I explained this is crazy because I bought a brand new 4 wheel drive vehicle to have for the maine winter and haven't had 4 wheel drive at all this winter. He said he was sorry and will call as soon as they know more maine
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Suspension
DateJan 17, 2021
StateOH
Description
In the am, the monitor went out and came on at a later time that day; when driving at 70 miles per hour the front end was vibrating; and when returning home, within three seconds I lost steering, it engaged, went out and engaged again. I parked the jeep, had it towed to the dealership two days later. Went thru arbitration and lost.
CategoryPower Train, Suspension, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 01, 2021
StateAZ
Description
1-20-2020 purchased a new jeep cherokee latitude, we purchased the car with 4 wheel drive and all terrain tires for our needs, gravel, mud, snow, flooding etc. In or about 12-1-2020 we received an recall w43, we thought it had to do with the bumper being melted by the exhaust. The recall stated tire rub and exhaust tips. Well needless to say they performed the recall, which I was suspect of because I think they are trying to hide a defect in manufacturing of the vehicle. Well anyway they repaired the vehilce to there liking, they replaced the exhaust, and replaced all four tires with 18" rims and street tires. And they did not replace the spare tire. I believe this was done to alleviate any defect that the all terrain tires would show and cause more problems. Aka warranty. Now I dont have the off road capabilities and 4 wheel drive safety that I had when we purchased the car. With these street tires which are not rated for sand gravel snow etc, dont work on 4 wheel drive vehicles, and cause me to lose mileage, now I have a car that was purchased, the 4 tires were changed, only 4 rims were changed and I have no off road capabilities. I paid for the tires that were on the vehicle, I paid for the car to have off road and 4 wheel drive caqpabiltys and now I have noon. Not even the right spare.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 22, 2020
StateCO
Description
Vehicle sos call locks the entertainment system and will not call sos nor disconnect. No radio available. Has occurred multiple times. The uconnect had serious electrical issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 11, 2020
StateTX
Description
The vehicle was in motion. The vehicle made a notification on the cluster saying 4wd system unavailable, service required. The vehicle then began to shift ruff and the only way you could get it to point a to b is if as soon as you started it you put it in sports mode. The vehicle went into the shop on 10-15-2020 and came out of the shop on 12-4-2020 due to them not being able to get the part which was a power transfer unit. The part got delayed multiple times. After I got the car back on the 4th it started making a rattling noise from the front end like something was loose. I messaged the mechanic and advised him of the issue and he told me to take it in the following day and he would look at it. Unfortunately he got sick and I finally got back ahold of him on monday the 7th to look at it. He said it seems like something is out of torque and that he would get ahold of me the following day to bring it in so I could have a loaner vehicle. I have since heard from him. My car also made an error code of auto start/stop system not responding yesterday the 10th of december which I notified the mechanic and have yet to get a response.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the rear windshield exploded without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed. Neither the manufacturer nor an authorized dealer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 3,200. The vin was not available.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 30, 2020
StateFL
Description
Vehicle does not warn or apply brakes when it should, I can easily overtake a vehicle in the same lane and drive right up to the rear bumper of the car ahead and will get zero warning.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateNov 12, 2020
StateMA
Description
Emergency brake engaged without any involvement by operator - could not move vehicle. When repeated attempts were made to release without achieving, vehicle was able to move however instrument panel stated er brake needs servicing.*dt*dt*dt consumer stated vehicle was leased.*jb*as*jb
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 10, 2020
StatePA
Description
On and off the highway the steering sticks when trying to stay in the lane which leads to oversteering and constant weaving in the lane and sometimes going over the lines. The transmission also shift very hard and at times will not shift when it should. I was told these are normal in this vehicle.... It is not normal!
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:hood:latch
DateOct 28, 2020
StateKS
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated while driving 69 mph in windy weather and passing another vehicle, the hood inadvertently unlatched. The hood ajar warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to allen samuels chrysler jeep dodge ram of hutchinson (1421 e 30th ave, hutchinson, ks 67502, (620) 665-5567) and was informed it was flex hood and working properly. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The vehicle was taken to marmie chrysler dodge jeep ram (1724 10th st, great bend, ks 67530, (620) 792-2571) where the hood was adjusted and the switch was replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted however, no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 3,900.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 25, 2020
StateSC
Description
My boyfriend was in an accident with my 2020 cherokee and hit a semi truck at the front right corner of the jeep while on a 2 lane highway. None of the airbags deployed. Thankfully no one was injured inside the vehicle. There was a 29 year old driving and a 2 year old in the back seat on the right side.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateOct 12, 2020
StateNJ
Description
While driving under normal dry conditions service parking brake,abs,esc active warning light and check engine light come on. Front brakes pulsate also
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Exterior Lighting
DateOct 12, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Esc light comes on randomly, condensation in both body side tail lights ,switching from defrost to a/c warm air blows to floor (set at 70),then I change to front vents warm air continues ,then try to set on auto and nothings blows out, then turn to a/c again and it goes to warm defrost. Front drivers side speaker randomly goes out
CategorySeats
DateOct 12, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Front leather seat on 2020 jeep cherokee came completely undone underneath from day4
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 20, 2020
StateOK
Description
While driving the vehicle all the warning lights come on and warning sounds start going off. We lose our speedometer, fuel guage and all other instruments. The parking brake engages as we are driving down the road and the vehicle will not shift gears. When stopped after this incident, the parking brake engages and we are unable to go forward or backwards while in gear. After todays incident, the vehicle wouldn't start back up after the vehicle was turned off. This started 2 weeks after we purchased the vehicle and has been a continuous problem since that time. (we've owned the vehicle since february 2020.) the vehicle has been in the shop 4 times with the same problem. One of those times it was in the shop for 2 1/2 months and the service department wasn't able to locate the problem. We finally took the vehicle to a dealership 3 hours away from our location and they fixed the blind side module which they stated shorted out the remaining systems and that it is fixed. Today, 09/20/2020 we had another incident in which the malfunction was worse and wouldn't start after we turned off the vehicle. The problem is getting dangerous and scary while driving. I have video recordings of each incident. The videos are to long to attach, but I have been able to text them.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 14, 2020
StateNY
Description
Vehicle has been making a clanking sound when coming to a full stop. Sound seems to be coming from directly under the vehicle. Sound goes away with esc turned off. Jeep dealership was able to duplicate sound, but have not found the problem.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 27, 2020
StateNY
Description
When turning it makes a sound. When braking it makes a sound. While idling fan get very load. When speed increases makes a sound.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 10, 2020
StateTN
Description
Low oil pressure warning, engine rpm started fluctuating and almost stalled. Vehicle has 1400 miles it, was advised by dealership that I will have to add a quart of oil every 1500 miles to the vehicle, and that they are aware that I should not have seen the low oil pressure warning but in fact the engine should have stalled. That they have heard others in a right or left hand turn their cars stalling out as they called a safety feature. That to me sounds unsafe
CategoryEngine
DateJun 25, 2020
StateKY
Description
Engine light came on the 29th day of ownership, with odb code p0139. The one o2 sensor was replaced, driving back home after the repair the engine light came back on. Took it back the next day same code p0139, this time they replaced the ecm/pcm computer. After almost two weeks the engine light came back on with the same code. I purchased this car with on 7 miles on it and it's been in the dealership 3 with less than 2k on it. *tr
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJun 11, 2020
StateOH
Description
Vehicle stalls anytime it idles or comes to a stop. Stalls while in reverse or drive. Stalled several times in reverse backing out of driveway. Stalled while trying to go straight after coming to a stop at a stop sign. Stalled in the middle of an intersection while trying to make a left turn after being stopped, waiting oncoming traffic to clear. Stalling in an intersection could have caused serious injury or death to myself or proceeding oncoming traffic through the intersection. When vehicle stalls, the emergency parking brake is activated and requires the car to be put in park and restart the vehicle. After stalling, engine has a hard time starting again. Check engine light comes on after stalling. Vehicle was purchased new with 10 miles on odometer. Currently has 950 miles on odometer and is not drivable. After trying to find the problem for over a week, my local jeep service center said that they found raw fuel in the hose from the purge valve, charcoal filter, and other components. Fuel is overflowing into these components of the vehicle, which is a manufacturing issue. Fuel pump is said to need replaced, which is a very common problem with 2019 models. This needs to be recalled on 2020 jeep cherokees, as well. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 03, 2020
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 jeep cherokee. The contact stated that there was a moldy and mildew odor coming from the vents in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to bob poynter chrysler dodge jeep ram of seymour located at (873 e tipton st, seymour, in 47274) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that water entered the vehicle at the driver's side weld seams. The vehicle was re-sealed and the carpet replaced however, the failure recurred. The contact attempted to reach the manufacturer but was unsuccessful. The approximate failure mileage was 4,800.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 28, 2020
StateCA
Description
Vehicle stalls while in motion on city streets and needs to be put into park and drive again to move. Vehicle has 85 miles on it. Purchased 4 days ago. On day after purchase vehicle stalled while going straight on 2 instances, it stalled on a right turn on 2 instances, it stalled at takeoff after being parked once, it stalled when trying to back out of parking space 3 times on reverse. On day 3 the vehicle stalled on right turn once, going straight once and while exiting parking lot the vehicle stalled and the engine shut off completely while in motion. Warnings when car stalled initially was just a blinking 'd' light on dash and gear shift with instructions to 'shift to park or neutral, press brake + select gear'. When car stalled and engine shut down additional messages indicated that the 'electronic stability control' was not available. When engine shut off messages indicated 'service park brake', 'service transmission restart in park with vehicle at zero speed'.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 08, 2020
StateWA
Description
Driving my vehicle during rush hour traffic when the check engine light came on and a throttle issue message flashed, vehicle experienced a drastic loss of power causing an unsafe driving condition for myself and other motorists. This vehicle was purchased new with only 8 miles on the odometer, currently has 500 miles, vehicle has the 2. 4 liter engine and automatic 4x4 transmission. Contacted the jeep dealer whee I purchased the vehicle and they did not mention that there could be a known issue with this jeep, however after some research I found an article on the same identical issue being reported by multiple jeep owners of the 2019 year model with the same 2. 4 liter engine, see: https://www. Consumerreports. Org/car-recalls-defects/2019-jeep-cherokee-recalled-over-stalling-risk/ based on the article that I found it seems like there is a software update that needs to be performed in order to correct the issue, however some drivers still had problems after the update was done. I was asked to bring the vehicle to the dealer on monday, some jeep owners also reported that after 4 hours of the vehicle sitting with the engine off, the problem goes away, making it difficult for the dealer to replicate the issue during diagnostic and there may not be a code stored that can be pulled by the service department. I hope that nhtsa keeps an eye for this, if the problem is a known issue by now to chrysler-fiat and no fix has been applied to current year model jeeps, then chrysler -fiat may be acting in "bad-faith" and knowingly selling vehicles that should probably be part of a nationwide recall campaign, also there is a serious safety concern about a vehicle that is rendered powerless while operating on a highway or in our case, having to drive on the steep hills of the pacific nw as part of our daily commute.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 31, 2019
StateOR
Description
I took my foot of the accelerator to apply the brakes and the car continued to accelerate even as I applied the brakes. I had to apply the brakes for a mile or two until I could safely pull over. Once I pulled over and completely stopped the rpms went over 7000. I turned the car off and restarted it. The rpms again went over 7000. I let the car sit for a few minutes and started the car once again. The car operated just fine after this. We took the car into the dealership and they could not duplicate the problem.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Brenda j

    I have a 2020 Cherokee The dealer told me that it was a demo on the Lot so I purchased it at 6000 miles now I purchased the car in November Took it back in in December to get an oil change they’re telling me that it had 87000 miles on it Took no roaches or anything now this is Mate and it has 11 500 Now I haven’t took any road trips in this vehicle I took it in to be checked they said they could not tell me anything about the mileage jumping so now I’m just sitting and waiting thought I had a good vehicle may not be anything that I can do but I can try

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.