2019 Volkswagen Golf Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, fuel system, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 VW Golf continues the lineup of this iconic vehicle. The automaker claims that “every model needs a runway,” but many of these cars have trouble moving at all. There are massive complaints about the electrical system, engine, fuel system and powertrain, proving that the basics are all defective.

Click on other model year to view more problems2018   2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes VW pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Volkswagen Golf

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
35
Power Train
15
Unknown Or Other
9
Electrical System
6
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Service Brakes
3
Structure:body
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Steering
2

Problems with the Electrical System

Everything in a modern vehicle runs from the electrical system. If part of this system malfunctions, it can create severe issues.

That’s what is seen with this NHTSA review. “2019 Golf GTI SE 6MT purchased with 12 miles. Engine randomly stalls in Neutral when rolling to stop with clutch fully disengaged after having downshifted to either second or first gear. This has happened (3) times since picking up the brand new car (4) days ago. The electronic display that shows which gear you are in has also reported the wrong gear once (so far). This is an issue affecting *many* 2019 Golf GTI owners.”

The engine issues caused by electrical concerns are not something new for VW. There will be more about this situation in a moment, but first, it’s important to look at an electrical system recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V615000 states that nearly 700,000 vehicles end up with a build-up of silicate on the shift lever micro switch contacts, allowing the key to be removed from the ignition, even while the shift lever is not in Park. If an owner removes the key without the car securely in Park, it could roll away and lead to an accident or injury. Maybe that’s why this model needs a runway.

Problems with the Engine

What everyone is talking about, in some fashion or another, is the Golf engine. This vital component doesn’t operate the way it should and has turned a lot of customers off from the VW brand.

One NHTSA complaint states, “I had some engine stall problems with the vehicle when first purchased. The engine would cut off quietly while at a stop light and beginning to depress the clutch while in Neutral. Happened in heavy traffic on the highway and in stop-and-go city traffic. I brought it back to the dealership and they claim to have reset the engine control module. Upon a few days after return, the engine cut off while the clutch was depressed in the middle of a turn.”

It turns out that the NHTSA has an open investigation about this VW engine. NHTSA Action Number DP19003 has been ongoing since September 2019 and alleges defects in the vehicles. Of course, it doesn’t take a lot of expertise to see that there are clear engine issues. However, it’s important to let the authorities perform the due diligence before calling the automaker out. Still, it won’t be long before these engines are heading down the runway to the salvage yard, where they belong.

Problems with the Fuel System

What powers the engine? The fuel system is responsible for offering the gasoline the engine needs to move. Yet, many complaints are being filed for this system as well, because of the defective engine technology.

Here is another example from the NHTSA website. “Vehicle is stalling while coming up to a stop at low speeds. I fully engage the clutch and then it stalls. It feels more of an engine shutdown than a stall; I say this because it is a very quiet and gentle shutdown. You can’t even tell it happened until you see the RPM’s drop to zero.”

There are no further statements from VW about this situation. It seems that everything the company has wanted to say has already been done. In the meantime, customers are left watching their RPMs to determine if the engine has shut off or not. This isn’t something that owners should be dealing with, especially while focused on showing off the car on the “runway.”

Problems with the Transmission

One look at the powertrain is going to show the same major malfunctions that have already been addressed.

As one more example, read this NHTSA complaint. “The contact owns a 2019 Volkswagen Golf. While driving in first and second gears, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The failure occurred on multiple occasions and also occurred while the transmission was not in gear with the clutch pedal depressed. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: 190719047. The contact indicated that the failures were related to the NHTSA Investigation Number: DP19-003. The failure mileage was 100.”

The owners are barely getting their new Golfs off of the dealer lot before the engines are failing. How are they supposed to even show this VW model off before it dies? It seems that Volkswagen severely dropped the ball on this model, and the sales are going to reflect this failure.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes VW pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategorySuspension
DateOct 31, 2022
StateFL
Description
Gti has an overly squeaky front suspension. Suspension is 100% stock and unmodified. Searching online yields many golf owners experiencing the same issues (in the usa and worldwide). People say to lube up the suspension with grease, but this could cause a safety issue if it gets on the brakes. Volkswagen claims this is normal, but I've owned nine volkswagen vehicles and this is the first one that's ever had this issue. This sound has been ongoing since the vehicle had 10,000 miles on the odo; the vehicle now has 60,000 miles.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was driving during the afternoon on a local road at approximately 30 mph. When I approached a traffic light with car brake lights showing ahead of me, I gently tapped my brakes in anticipation of possibly needing to slow down or stop. Instead of an expected gradual slowing of the vehicle, I was surprised when the brakes seemed to grab and the car stopped abruptly as if I had stepped down hard on the brake pedal. Fortunately, the situation appeared to return to normal in an instant when I let up on the brakes. The incident has not reoccurred.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 23, 2022
StateMI
Description
The vehicle suddenly shut off while going 60 mph on the highway, and a 'check starter system' message appeared before a message that indicated that I need to stop the vehicle appeared. Vehicle was able to restart and the same issue occurred again less than 1 mile down the road. My safety was at risk due to the loss of power, that on another road or a highway on ramp, could have caused a collision due to the loss of speed I experienced. There were no prior warnings until the loss of power. The manufacturer service center was unable to replicate the issue or make any corrective action.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 11, 2022
StateVT
Description
During annual state inspection on 7/8/22, tech found that the right rear wheel (19" vw pretoria gloss black alloy wheels) was bent on both the inside and outside. Unsafe to drive. Wheel had to be replaced. Do not recall hitting any pothole or road hazard that might have caused this damage to the wheel. Apparently, other owners of this model car have also experienced bent rims. This may be a manufacturing defect or a design flaw, in that the wheels cannot withstand the forces transmitted from stock low profile tires (235/35zr-19).
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Engine
DateMay 12, 2022
StateCA
Description
Multi-system failure - multi incidents; dealership has confirm and 'corrected' but several electrical/engine issues persist. Vehicle has been inspected by three vw dealerships (royal motor sales in san francisco, serramonte, ca and kalispell vw in montana). Several issues were observed while driving - multiple system failure warnings, and also engine failure multiple times. The last time the engine failed while driving 75 miles an hour and there was no where to pull off nor shoulders.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 09, 2022
StateUT
Description
The plastic button for the hand brake/ parking brake pops out of the handle which then causes the brake to release. Vw has replaced the part under warranty 2 times since I purchased the vehicle. In my case the second time it happened the car popped out of gear and struck 2 cars across the street from my driveway. Dealer states its a common issue. But volkswagen has done nothing to correct the issue other than replacing the hand brake repeatedly on the cars. It's a major safety issue in my opinion. And I feel they need to come up with a permanent solution rather than replacing with a new faulty part. I have since sold the car back to the dealer as I don't trust that the hand brake on the car won't fail again.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateDec 15, 2021
StateFL
Description
11/2021 @ 5927 miles - sunny day, no vehicle in front, without warning aeb lit up, flashing and automatic brakes engaged, vibration felt, bringing car to near stop for no reason. Speed approx 35 mph on flat, straight roadway, approx 4 lanes heading one direction. Could have been rear-ended since car stopped suddenly. No prior occurrence. Vw case #05016886 created by vw upon contacting. Recommended vw service inspection. Vw service stated fault c113b00 for hill descent button, which this model doesn't have hill descent option. Vw technician reconfigured the abs module to rectify error.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 31, 2021
StateFL
Description
The car idles rough during initial cold start up, intermittently hesitates during acceleration and feels like it misfires during cruising. My dealer found that the ignition timing was retarded by 5º and told me to use better gas, citing a vw field service action (https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2020/mc-10176770-0001. Pdf). The problem persisted after they treated the fuel. The car has never thrown a code causing the check engine light to turn on, and so the dealer has declined to investigate further. My records show the car was only filled with premium fuel, using vw recommended brands (bp, exxon, mobil, shell) in the 2,000 miles prior to the service appointment and was only filled with regular fuel twice (due to the colonial pipeline shutdown) since the car was delivered new from the dealer.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateAug 08, 2021
StateCT
Description
Intermittent warning light on dash indicating, "cruise control system malfunction". The owner's manual says to have the system checked by volkswagen. The dealer said the vehicle is operating normally. I first noticed this the day after service action code 24fx was completed on 4/8/21. I noticed this four more times since.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 19, 2021
StateOR
Description
I experienced two leaks inside my car due to a vw manufacturer defect with sun roof drain tubes. The first time it happened my car was three months old. At 20 months it happened again causing extensive staining in the interior of my car. No where in my maintenance schedule was I told to clean out drains. The dealer is saying I'm liable because the drain clogging was environmental. I say the drains should not be clogging this much on a new car. There are numerous instances of leaks and vehicle buy-backs for vw alltracks, as well as other vws for this. I paid the dealer 0 to unclog the drains because I have no choice but now I'm out of luck with the replacement of the headliner. The dealer admitted it's no where written that unclogging those drains is required.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 08, 2021
StateCA
Description
The problem is with the vehicle's fuse system. The golf r came with no spare tire but an air pump, which needs to be powered by the 12v dc power of the vehicle. But when I use this original air pump, the fuse of the 12v dc power burns out. This happened for several times since I had the car in october, 2019. The dealer can only give me new fuse to replace the broken one. Many golf r's owners met this similar problems. I think there is some issues with their fuse system design.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 09, 2021
StateCT
Description
Coolant leaking from thermostat housing waterpump module causing engine issues. Common issue on the vw ea888 gen 3 engine.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 07, 2021
StateMI
Description
Key fob left on top of car while trying to put car seat in, which allowed car to start (push to start) and move, however keys fell off car during movement. When done while parked this will normally lead to a beeping sound and a warning that there is no longer a key in proximity, and two big yellow lights come up on the dashboard. However, as the key fell off the roof when the car was already in gear/moving, no warning sound or dashboard light came up (car acted as if everything was normal even though there was no longer a key in range). This led to a set of lost key fob/house keys and being stranded once parked.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateSep 29, 2020
StateNY
Description
Four times over the last week while driving 35 mph straight down a residential road, I experienced an unexpected engagement of the front collision warning, and one of those four times, 4 days ago, I additionally experienced an unexpected engagement of the front assist emergency braking which caused me alarm, as the speed dropped dramatically from 35 mph to 20 mph, and I had to be sure no cars were behind me to cause a rear-end collision. In none of these situations were there any hazards on the road to avoid: cars, pedestrians, objects. In all of these situations, cruise control was engaged at 35 mph. The sensor is not dirty. The error is not consistent in the timing of when it happens. When the front assist emergency braking engaged, the front collision warning did not appear until about 5 minutes after, when the road was also clear and my speed was 35 mph with cruise control engaged. There is a class action lawsuit from august 2020 that describes my situation almost exactly: https://www. Carcomplaints. Com/news/2020/vw-front-assist-class-action-lawsuit-braking. Shtml I have not taken my car to the dealership as of yet, but based upon several other complaints regarding this issue, I do not expect them to do more than professionally shrug.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 23, 2020
StateNH
Description
Autonomous emergency braking system does not work in emergency situation - did not deploy in a rear-end collision situation.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 05, 2020
StateMD
Description
Issue with automatic dsg transmission after 3 days of ownership and 182 miles on the odometer. Issue first happened while accelerating from a stop at a traffic light after it turned green. After shifting from 1st to 2nd the car lost power, free rev'd and after approximately 5 seconds was able to engage 2nd gear quite roughly. Presented an error message that stated "transmission in emergency mode: reverse not available." pulled into a parking lot under it's own power and power cycled the ignition. Error cleared, no warning lights at that point. Happened again a few hours later while driving at 40 mph, a series of sudden jerks and an abrupt loss of power, transmission appeared to be in neutral. Cel and other warning lights illuminated. Once the car slowed it engaged first gear and limp mode. It was only possible to drive at about 10 mph in this state. It was quite abrupt deceleration in a normal traffic pattern and was difficult to avoid getting rear-ended and pulling over safely. Scan tool error codes attached. Indicates clutch 2 opening and closing unintentionally. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 27, 2020
StateTN
Description
Sunroof leaks into cabin causing headliner stains and water damage to headliner. Vw is not taking care of the issue properly and I have been without my car for 29 days now.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 21, 2020
StateNY
Description
Hello. I purchased a new vw golf alltrack se from open road vw manhattan on 2/3/2020. The next day, I started noticing rattling noises from the driver side headliner when car is in motion over bumps and corning around soft shoulders. The dealership noticed the sound and attempted to repair the issue on 2/17/2020 with lubrication. The car was returned to me and unfortunately the rattling sounds persists.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 13, 2020
StateMT
Description
Vehicle was delivered brand new with a leaking panoramic sunroof. The dealership attempted to repair it by grinding down bad welds, replacing the sunroof assembly and headliner to no avail. Vehicle was bought back by volkswagen usa. This is a widespread problem with these vehicles and volkswagen needs to come up with a fix that's free to owners regardless of warranty being active, in other words an official recall, until then do not get stuck with one of these cars.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 05, 2020
StateLA
Description
Engine stalled while stopped at a stop sign in my neighborhood on new car. Start/stop feature was disabled and I was returning home. The engine was warmed up. The vehicle display informed me to put the vehicle in park and restart the vehicle manually. This gti has the dsg auto transmission.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateFL
Description
Engine hesitate, stumble and jerk from stop to the first 5 gears and make whining noise. Brand new car! Scary do drive and dangerous. Have the car for about 2 weeks, 1,500 miles.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 10, 2020
StateFL
Description
Engine stalls repeatedly while slowing to a stop
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Steering
DateNov 20, 2019
StateNJ
Description
2019 gti 6mt stalls. The issue presents itself slowing down to a stop, where the engine will soft stall and require restarting. This has happened when stopped at a light, as well as when in motion, coasting to a stop. It has happened on the highway, in heavy traffic, as well as parking in a parking spot. The unsafe condition is when in heavy traffic, in rush hour on rt 287 (major highway) coasting to a stop, the engine dies and I loose control of the steering wheel control and acceleration. The start stop button needs to be pushed to get the car to start up again. The car is brand new and has roughly 650 miles on it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 07, 2019
StateMA
Description
The driver's side rearview mirror developed a stress crack which may affect visibility. The issue was not caused by road debris. Vehicle was in motion on highway.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
I had some engine stall problems with the vehicle when first purchased. The engine would cut off quietly while at a stop light and beginning to depress the clutch while in neutral. Happened in heavy traffic on the highway and in stop-and-go city traffic. I brought it back to the dealership and they claim to have reset the engine control module. Upon a few day after return, the engine cut off while the clutch was depressed in the middle of a turn.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 15, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. The contact purchased the vehicle a few days ago. While driving, the vehicle stalled twice without warning. The contact activated the eco and normal modes, but the vehicle failed to start. The contact also depressed the accelerator pedal to see if the vehicle would start, but was unsuccessful. The contact had to manually start the vehicle with the key and was able to drive. The contact called norm reeves volkswagen superstore (20 auto center dr, irvine, ca 92618, (949) 830-7300) and was informed to schedule an appointment or take the vehicle to a local dealer. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 320.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 15, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. While driving in first and second gears, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The failure occurred on multiple occasions and also occurred while the transmission was not in gear with the clutch pedal depressed. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: 190719047. The contact indicated that the failures were related to nhtsa investigation number: dp19-003. The failure mileage was 100.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 02, 2019
StateSC
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. While driving frequently at various speeds and attempting to stop the vehicle, the clutch engaged on its own. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to low country volkswagen (1001 johnnie dodds blvd, mt pleasant, sc 29464, (843) 881-8555) who stated that the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and did not assist. The failure mileage was 800. The vin was invalid.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2019
StateMD
Description
Purchased 2019 gti rabbit edition 6mt. Soon after purchase, vehicle began stalling unexpectedly when coming to a stop when car is in neutral. Has happened when clutch is either depressed or not. Sometimes car has stalled when fully stopped. In this case the car starts idling roughly and shudders before stalling. Car starts up again with no warning lights illuminated. Call has stalled 6+ times since purchase. Car has also exhibited excessive vibration coming from the engine since purchase. Dealers have not really been helpful; they either deny that there is a problem or say that the wheels/tires need balancing, however balancing and replacing the tires did not fix the issue. I am positive this is related to the stalling issues. Also, the gear number indicator sometimes shows that the car is a a different gear than what is currently selected (I. E., car is in 4th but gear indicator incorrectly shows the car is in 2nd). I have seen that other owners have these same exact issues which means that these are manufacturing defects in the vehicle. This is a safety issue because the car could stall at anytime making it harder to control or stop, especially in an emergency.
CategoryPower Train, Steering
DateSep 11, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. While the vehicle was stationary at a stop sign, it stalled, shut off, and the steering wheel seized. When the vehicle was restarted, it resumed normal operation. Riverside volkswagen (8330 indiana ave d, riverside, ca 92504, (951) 509-2100) was called and stated that they would attempt to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 09, 2019
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. While driving 5-15 mph, the vehicle seized without warning. The contact veered to the shoulder of the road, manually restarted the engine, and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to suntrup volkswagen (6000 s lindbergh blvd, st. Louis, mo 63123, (314) 892-8200) to be diagnosed, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 30, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf. While stopped at a stop light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to mckenna volkswagen (18711 beach blvd, huntington beach, ca 92648, (888) 355-5733), but they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 900.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 22, 2019
StateGA
Description
I was pulling up to a red light, clutched in, shifted to neutral and noticed my steering had locked. I restarted the car, it stumbled, and then died. Restarted again, it stumbled and then died. Restarted again, it stumbled, and then died. Restarted again, and then the light had turned so I gave it throttle to keep it from stalling and then got going. Once moving I did not have any driveability issues. It had about a 1/4 tank of 93 octane fuel and I had just driven a few miles on some city backroads. During the stall the gauge gear indicator showed 5>4 when in neutral meaning the car thought it was in 5th gear.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 22, 2019
StateNC
Description
2019 vw gti rabbit edition 6spd manual. Intermittently, when approaching a stop light or traffic stopping, the car in neutral, or with the clutch fully depressed, the engine will stall. The car will restart. Sometimes after this happens, the car will have a strange exhaust sound that reminds me of a car that is running on not all of the cylinders, or has an aftermarket camshaft. If the car is shut off for a short period of time and then restarted, this exhaust sound will disappear. When the car stalls, all power steering assist ceases. This stalling only seems to happen while stopping and is random. Some days, it will do it 4-5 times in a 11 mile trip and some days, not at all.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 21, 2019
StateMD
Description
The motor completely shuts off unexpectedly while the car is in motion. Sometimes there will be a loss pf engine power and a 'stuttering' and jerking just before the stall occurs, but not always. At faster speeds there is a hard thump and sudden deceleration. My car has stalled 14 times while in motion at speeds from 20 mph to 60 mph since I started counting (there have been more stalls than this). The car also now stalls at stop lights, stop signs, or simply while idling in neutral (I have video of the motor shutting off). The issue first appeared at about 310 miles on the odometer on 19 august 2019. The car now has only 372 miles on it. All stalls have occurred while car was being driven in a straight line, on both local roads and a state route highway. The check engine light does not come on when these stalls occur. There have been three near-accidents since the problem occurred. Car was purchased 29 july 2019, vehicle had 122 miles on it from delivery from a pennsylvania dealer to my dealer in maryland.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 13, 2019
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 volkswagen golf gti. The contact stated that on several occasions while stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to harper volkswagen located at 9901 kingston pike, knoxville, tn 37922, (865) 691-0393, to be diagnosed. The mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code or to duplicate the failure. The contact stated that on the fifth occasion of having the vehicle taken to the dealer, the contact was informed that the vehicle had shifted to economy mode which caused the vehicle to shut off. On one occasion, the vehicle was struck in the rear by another vehicle while attempting to drive off from a traffic light. There was no injury sustained in the rear end collision. The contact stated that the service tech called the manufacturer to inform them of the failure with the vehicle. The manufacturer's response was still pending. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,604.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 27, 2019
StateNH
Description
Coming up to a stop with the vehicle in neutral, whether having the car in neutral or using the clutch pedal, the vehicle will stall. This occurs in any scenario such as exiting a highway and coming to a stop, or pulling into a parking space, or inching forward in traffic. It always occurs in the final moments of coming to a stop. July 23 2019 is the first date of occurrence. Since then it has occurred randomly happening once in a day or 9 times in one day.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 15, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car is stalling and transmission is not shifting properly. Have had in the dealership multiple times, totaling over 5 days in shop. 4 days first time, at the dealership twice today (july 15, 2019) stall occurs after sitting in traffic or stop-go driving. When coming to a stop, will shutter and come to a stall.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 08, 2019
StateRI
Description
As I am braking to a stop with the clutch fully depressed (at a red stop light or to make a left turn), the car quietly and completely stalls out and shuts down. The dash lights remain on. I can restart the car. This seems to occur randomly but occurred 3 times yesterday afternoon. No engine check light.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 06, 2019
StateVA
Description
The car stalls frequently when idle and stopped at light or other and needs to be restarted from the push start button and only has less than 1000 miles if started soon after buying it and called dealer but could not find the good time for appt
CategoryEngine
DateJul 01, 2019
StateWA
Description
Engine stalls. Intermittent. Problem relates to 2019 gti (s model) with 6-speed manual transmission. When fully warm or hot, the engine randomly stalls with transmission in neutral and when braking to a stop, usually with the clutch depressed and usually at speeds from 10-0 mph. The engine stalls are gentle with no stuttering or shaking. Example: coming to a stop at a stop sign or in heavy traffic, the engine quietly dies without warning. Engine restarts and runs normally thereafter until the next unexpected stalling event. Vehicle purchased new in may of 2019. First stall at 250-300 miles. Most recent stall on 6/30/19 at 1150 miles. No "check engine" warning appears on dashboard. No error codes show up via obd-2 diagnostic scan. 92 octane chevron gas used exclusively. Owner has decades of experience driving manual transmissions with no issues until now - doubtful this is operator error. Vw dealer is friendly, but baffled.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 01, 2019
StatePA
Description
This is a 6mt 4 door se vw gti 2019 with 1500 miles and 6 week of ownership. The vehicle randomly stalls at low speed when breaking approx 5 mph or even when stationary after coming to a halt. Happens when the car is in neutral or when the clutch is fully depressed. This is not a case of wrong gear or not fully depressing the clutch. It has happened a couple of dozen times both with myself and my wife driving so not the driver at fault. Happens when the engine is at temperature but not at first start up. This issue is becoming dangerous as recently it put the car into the path of oncoming traffic and previously nearly getting rear ended due to sudden stall. Consistent stalling as we turn into our drive way - less than 5 mph clutch depressed and turning right. Soft stall - engine just cuts out v a rough stall you would expect when trying to pull away in third gear. Most recent date of occurrence entered below.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2019
StatePA
Description
Sunroof spontaneously shattered with no impact while driving on a highway
CategoryEngine
DateJun 30, 2019
StateAL
Description
In some situations when coming to a stop with the clutch depressed the engine will shut off quietly. Does not happen every time I come to a stop but has several times.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJun 10, 2019
StateNE
Description
2019 golf gti se 6mt purchased with 12 miles. Engine randomly stalls in neutral when rolling to stop with clutch fully disengaged after having downshifted to either second or first gear. This has happened (3) times since picking up the brand new car (4) days ago. The electronic display that shows which gear you are in has also reported the wrong gear once (so far). This is an issue affecting *many* 2019 golf gti owners. Here are some notes of the issue so far: - 6-8-19 @ 1am (131 miles) - no cel - clutch was out and car was in neutral coming to stoplight in left turn lane. Going less than 5mph when car died. Seemed like it happened when the tach was at idle-range. Restarted with button. - 6-8-19 @ 10:56pm (225 miles) - no cel - pulling up to driveway. Car died at less than 2mph going up a very slight hill when clutch was depressed to go into first from neutral. Was going *very slow* when this happened. Restarted with button. - 6-9-19 @ 3:30pm (276 miles) - no cel - brother was driving with me in the passenger seat. Pulling up to stop sign in his neighborhood and he was in neutral with clutch out slowing to a stop and the car softly died again. Restarted with button. - 6-9-19 @ 11:44pm (418 miles) - no cel - driving up a street in a neighborhood going 20-25mph in 2nd gear and the display between my tach and speedo said I was in 3rd and should shift into 4th. When I crested the hill and hit the brakes to slow down for a part of the street that was damaged, the gear displayed switched to 2nd (which is what I was in and hadn't changed). These issues are very well documented by drivers in enthusiast forums such as reddit and golfmk7. Com. You can also find videos of the issue on youtube: https://www. Reddit. Com/r/golfgti/comments/b9cpb7/possible_2019_6mt_stall_issue_your_feedback/ https://www. Golfmk7. Com/forums/showthread. Php? P=776852#post776852
CategoryEngine
DateJun 01, 2019
StateNY
Description
Brand new purchased 2 days ago on 5/30/19 with 24 miles on it. It's a 6 speed manual transmission and when approaching a stop either in gear with clutch depressed or in neutral, car will stall and need to be restarted. Dangerous, safety is a concern. It's a very subtle stall and you really have to be paying attention or bad things will happen. Happening more often now, vehicle now has 122 miles and going back to dealer for more testing. Initial testing at dealer was able to duplicate problem 1 day after purchase. It's now 2 days old! Build date was 3/2019. It appears to me to be slow speed coasting, clutch not engaged in neutral to a stop or clutch engaged in gear coasting to a stop.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 28, 2019
StateMA
Description
2019 manual transmission gti's stall when coming to a stop in traffic.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 20, 2019
StateNY
Description
Engine stalls as car comes to a full stop in normal street traffic: braking with transmission in neutral, clutch engaged or disengaged, near-stationary or full-stationary; braking with transmission in gear and clutch fully disengaged, near-stationary or full-stationary.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 07, 2019
StateWA
Description
Vehicle with manual transmission, engine stalls at low speeds in neutral. Brand new car, only 100 miles.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 06, 2019
StateFL
Description
When coming to a stop, under 5 mph. The car starts to drop rpms and then it will stall.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 06, 2019
StateFL
Description
After driving the car for 30 or so minutes on both city and highway streets, my new gli with 800 miles on the odometer will intermittently stall when coming to a stop. This engine stall happens when the clutch is to the floor and in gear and sometimes with the clutch out and in neutral. It is a very gentle stall - nothing like the lurching that occurs during a typical stall, in fact there have been times when I didn't notice the engine died. After the occurrence of the first stall it usually continues to happen at each subsequent stop for the rest of that particular driving trip. The car returns to normal after sitting for along period of time. This issue has happened on three separate occasions over the first month of ownership.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 28, 2019
StateCA
Description
I have a white gti rabbit with a manufacture date of 10/18. Vehicle engine stalls when coming to a stop. This occurs with the vehicle in neutral regardless of whether or not the clutch is depressed and happens during city driving. The vehicle exhibited this problem around 3000 miles and has occurred several times since. It does this every so often in an unpredictable manner and am unable to repeat it. Also noticed that the gear selector on the dash acts erratically when this happens sometimes showing 4-2 or 4-3 or 2-3 before the stall occurs. No dash lights come on. There are no check engine lights. Vehicle requires a restart by pushing the start button before driving again. Am afraid that this will happen during freeway driving.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateApr 27, 2019
StateMD
Description
Engine soft shut-off when in neutral (manual transmission) or with the clutch to the floor, while shifting to neutral, and coming to a stop. City street. This occurred 3 successive times over a short, 5 minute trip home on city streets. Every downshift, with gear neutral or disengaged, the engine shuts off just as or after coming to a stop. There is no "stall shudder" from the engine, and it just revs from 1k rpm to 0 when stopped or while stopping, in neutral. The vehicle had been warmed up to operating temperature. The dashboard gear reporter also misreported the current gear at this time: reported 3rd when in 2nd, or 3rd-to-5th when in 3rd. Again at low speeds, and low revs that would not be appropriate for an upshift. Vehicle bought new this week, currently at 100 miles on the odometer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 25, 2019
StateCA
Description
On several occasions since about april 8,2019 my new gti stalled while I was driving. When the car stalls it does so without warning. The stall occurs as if the car simply turned off. On a few occasions the car stalled when I stopped at a stop sign or when I drove onto my driveway. Twice the car stalled in bumper to bumper traffic on i580 near san francisco. Both of those stalls came at a moment when vehicles following me nearly collided with me because traffic began to move but my car stalled and for a moment did not move in sync with traffic. The stalling seems to happen more as I come to a stop. It has been happening more frequently over the last few days also. I realized there is in fact an issue so I contacted the dealership where I purchased the car. I have an appointment in 1 week so they can hopefully address this issue. I will not be driving the car until the dealership clears it as safe to operate. The car is a 2019 vw gti 6 speed manual shift. The stalls started when the car had about 400 miles, today it stalled for about the 8th or 9th time and has about 1125 miles. I am very experienced operating a manual transmission and I know that the stalling is a vehicle issue and not operator error.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 18, 2019
StateCA
Description
Vehicle died when stopping at red light at a high traffic city intersection, clutch was all the down. Also, died twice in reverse while parking in driveway at slow roll while clutch was completely depressed.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 17, 2019
StateTX
Description
Engine stalls at crawl speeds/coming to a complete stop with the clutch pedal fully depressed. Has happened thrice since purchase. First episode with odo at around 100 miles. Second around 350 miles. Latest episode 4/16/19 at 556 miles. The stall is very quiet like if the car has an auto stop start function and is only noticed when pushing on the gas pedal to get moving again. Has never happened when coasting in neutral with the clutch let out. Has not happened at higher speeds but have not driven many highway miles. Starts right up again with no trouble on pushing the stop/start button. No trouble with the gear indicator as some other owners of the same model have stated on online forums.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 13, 2019
StatePR
Description
It's a 2019 rabbit edition gti and the engine stalls at a stop in neutral position at normal running temperature. Many owners of the gti rabbit mk7. 5 are experience the same problem and there's no warning lights on the panel that indicates the car should be service. I have experience this problem only after a full stop not running!
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 10, 2019
StateCA
Description
I purchased a 2019 golf gti rabbit edition (urano grey) w/ manual transmission on 2/23/2019. On 2/27, my car stalls when I am stationary on flat terrain, waiting for the green light at the intersection, with my clutch all the way in. I restarted the engine without releasing the clutch. The revs goes up to 800, stays there for a second, and the car stalls afterwards. I did another two restarts after that, which gave me the same result. The way I get out of this situation is to apply a little throttle when waiting, raising the rev to around 1100. This issue never occurred afterwards, but I believe there is a potential defect in power train or engine.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateApr 08, 2019
StateNM
Description
Vehicle stalls when coming to a stop with clutch depressed. Gear indicator will indicate wrong gear.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 05, 2019
StateTX
Description
The car coming slowing down to a stop will shut (stall) off and require restarting. Secondary issue where the transmission gear selection indicator will show the wrong gear selected. Https://www. Youtube. Com/watch? V=56omnoqsi-c
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateApr 04, 2019
StateMA
Description
Vehicle is stalling while coming up to a stop at low speeds. I fully engage the clutch and then it stalls. It feels more of an engine shutdown than a stall; I say this because it is a very quiet and gentle shutdown. You cant even tell it happened until you see the rpm's drop to zero.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 04, 2019
StateGA
Description
I have a new 2019 vw golf gti rabbit with 500 miles, I've had a problem with the car stalling as I come to a stop. It's happened multiple times, all while slowly coming to a stop. It's quiet and don't even notice until I try to accelerate

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.