2020 Honda Odyssey Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle structure and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Are your speakers making popping or crackling noises? You may be eligible to join our class action investigation.

Minivans might not be as popular as they were a decade ago, but there’s still a place for them on the road. Many busy families look for the 2020 Honda Odyssey because they think it will be reliable. While Honda claims this model will provide an “adventure for the family,” the majority of customers aren’t prepared to deal with the actual excitement. This minivan suffers from a defective electrical system and structure-related concerns”

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Honda Odyssey

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
24
Unknown Or Other
14
Engine
8
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
6
Service Brakes
6
Vehicle Speed Control
4
Power Train
4
Structure:body
3
Back Over Prevention
3
Fuel/propulsion System
2

Problems with the Electrical System

The Honda Odyssey comes with a lot of high-tech equipment that must work right to provide an adventure-filled drive. Yet, even the basics in this system seem to fail.

Here is an eye-opening Edmunds review. “As a long time Honda owner I am EXTREMELY infuriated with the fact that I am already having an issue with a brand new vehicle. Purchased a 2020 Odyssey on May 26, 2020 and on June 25, 2020 the audio just stopped working mid drive. I get home, turn the car completely off and the display would not turn off. After troubleshooting over the phone to no avail we have had to physically taken it in. Mind you, there is a fuse you can disconnect or you can disconnect the battery in order to potentially force a reboot but the real question is WHY DO I HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS IN THE FIRST PLACE WITH A BRAND NEW VEHICLE? After a quick google search it appears that Honda KNOWS about this issue with the 2018 and 2019 odyssey which further indicates they have done NOTHING to fix the actual problem and continue to knowingly sell DEFECTED CARS. Shame on you Honda! If you are considering purchasing a new Honda Odyssey, I strongly urge you to reconsider.”

The list of electrical-related recalls is pretty long, showing that the Odyssey has a lot of problems. The first, NHTSA Campaign Number 20V438000, talks about how more than 200,000 vehicles might allow water into the mounting holes around the rearview camera lens, leading to a distorted image. If an owner can’t see what’s behind them, it’s more likely they will run over something or someone.

Beyond this, NHTSA Campaign Number 20V4339000 talks about over 600,000 vehicles that might also have an incorrect instrument panel control module software, which can cause the owner to lose access to valuable information, such as the speed, gear position and engine oil pressure. Without this information, owners are driving blind, especially if this combines with the rearview camera concerns.

Finally, NHTSA Campaign Number 20V066000 states that nearly 250,000 vehicles might have a third row seat accessory power outlet wiring harness that might have been pinched between the rear trim panel and unibody during construction. If this happens, it could lead to a short circuit, which might result in a fire. Considering that kids are generally sitting in this row, this situation is even more dangerous. All three of these recalls show that the Odyssey might provide more adventure than most families want to sign up for.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

Changing focus to the structure, it’s clear that Honda took just as much care in putting together the overall structure as the company did with the electrical equipment.

Here is one NHTSA complaint to look at. “While traveling on the interstate at approximately 75 mph, the sunroof spontaneously shattered. I have a dash cam and when I reviewed the footage, there wasn’t any sign of rocks or debris that had caused the breakage.”

What’s more dangerous is outlined in NHTSA Campaign Number 20V437000. This recall shows that over 300,000 vehicles might have outer door handle cables on the sliding doors that allow water to get inside. If this water freezes, it might prevent the latch from securing properly. When this happens, the sliding door opens on its own, even while driving down the road. At this point, it feels as if Honda is trying to get rid of the children, by setting the back seat on fire or causing them to fall out of the second row. Considering that that word odyssey is defined as “an extended adventurous voyage or trip,” it might be better at this point to take that excursion with a different vehicle, for everyone’s safety.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Honda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving at various speeds, my vehicle will intermittently brake without warning on its own. The brake warning symbol will flash on the instrument panel and the steering wheel shakes. The surprise and unexpected braking caused me alarm as well as my passengers who did not understand why the vehicle suddenly braked for no apparent reason. I have experienced this multiple times while driving. Most recently, we were exiting the freeway and moved into the exit lane. There was no car directly in front of me but the car suddenly braked scaring us all.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 26, 2022
StateKY
Description
Infotainment system stopped working while car was on. It just shut off with no warning. I had no backup camera, phone, usb, radio. This drained my battery and caused my van to not start. I was stranded with my children and had to call a tow. Moments prior to the battery dying, the lights on the dash were flashing, my tail lights were on and flashing and would not shut off. Towed to the dealer and battery was charged and everything is working.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
Several times the van has failed to restart from an idle stop/start at a red light and in the middle of stopped traffic. Several attempts to restart the van fail (van doesn't even try to start) normally after a few minutes with the van back in park it will start again. Very dangerous to be frequently left stranded in the middle of the road. Frequently when the van does successfully take off from a idle stop, you can tell it struggles and just barely is able to resume.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateSep 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
When the automatic start/stop feature turns the car off when the brake is fully depressed the car will sometimes not restart as designed. Further, it is sometimes accompanied by the forward collision warning light coming on and shutting the car off.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 01, 2022
StateVA
Description
Start stop system malfunctions during auto stop/restart. Van will stall or fully turn off instead of restart when brake released and accelerator pressed. Problem is intermittent and increasing in frequency. This results in unexpected stalls/stops in traffic, putting driver and passengers (as well as other vehicles) at risk. Message displayed is “collision mitigation system problem” or the van stops itself and tells the driver to “shift to park”. Van may or may not immediately respond to starting push button. Dealership cannot identify problem, but numerous other customers report similar complaints.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 26, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, she noticed through her rearview mirror that her vehicle's trunk had caught fire without warning. The contact pulled over and was able to extinguish the fire with her shoe. The contact did not suffer any injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it remained in their possession and had yet to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified about the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
The signal turned red, as I was braking, the car engine stuttered and car shut off. Startled, push the park button, and pressed the engine start button but no response, pressed again and it started. This happened 6 months before but didn't report it as I thought it was a once off event. 6 months ago, the car was at a red light, the idle was on and when I accelerated cause the light changed green, the car shut off. Get the feeling its due to the idle but wanted to report this matter
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 19, 2022
StateIL
Description
The “auto engine idle stop” system in my minivan is malfunctioning. This is a safety issue because the engine does not always restart when I take my foot off the brake. I am eventually going to be hit from behind by a driver behind me that assumes my minivan will accelerate from a stop when it is supposed to. Every time the malfunction occurs, the dashboard displays a message “collision mitigation system problem”. However, I have been told by the dealership mechanics that this message is erroneous and that it is displaying because there isn't a preset error message associated with the auto-engine idle stop malfunction. My minivan was 2 years old when I brought it to the dealership for repair the first time. That was in october-2021 and the dealership is honda on grand in elmhurst, illinois. I brought the vehicle to them on seven different occasions between october-2021 and now. Even though they were able to reproduce the problem, they say they don't know how to fix it. So, they made minor repairs each time to different electrical and drive train systems in hopes that the malfunction will cease. After 10 months and 7 attempted repairs, my vehicle is still malfunctioning. The dealership instructed me to contact the corporate level honda customer service department, which I did on july 8, 2022. I was issued a case number and a customer service representative, walter, to assist in resolving this problem. After many follow-up phone calls to them, they will not return my call to discuss my vehicle. I recently contacted the elmhurst, il dealership and spoke with the service manager, david abraham, who said he would follow up with walter. However, I still have not been contacted. I am very concerned for my safety and the safety of my two teenage children who are now driving my vehicle. This will undoubtedly lead to a collision if not repaired.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
My 2020 honda odyssey the engine stalled while I am driving. It isn't the first time in part two years. My first complaint to the dealer on 2020, the first time my engine stalled when I was moving to the parking. The engine stalled and all the lights on on the dashboard with a big bang sound. I restarted the car and my car can drive again. I bought it to the honda dealer at puente hills and they told me stop to use the brake hold system while I am driving. After a few weeks later , I have the same problem again when I made a right turn. After the turn , my car engine stalled again and I almost got rear end from the car behind me. I needed to restarted my car to drive again. After that I drove to other honda dealer at west covina to check my car and they was unable to find any problems. They told me to take videos when the happenings again. My car was fine for almost two years. My car engine stalled again while I was driving also with the big bang sound and all the light on on the dashboard. But I don't need to restart my car on this time . Because the engine start again after all the lights off from the dashboard . I just need to pass the drive button to move my car. I feel so dangerous. I bought my car honda dealer to check and they told me my throttle have carbon buildup so I paid for them to do it. But I am still feeling unsafe and it's a unacceptable situation.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateJul 25, 2022
StateCT
Description
Reverse backup camera works only intermittently. Several youtube videos report the same complaint over many years. Dealership unable to duplicate even though I present them my own video with infotainment center warning “camera system failure”.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateJul 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v438000 (back over prevention) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that while attempting to shift into reverse(r) in rainy weather, the rearview camera failed to operate as designed. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition, Latches/locks/linkages:doors:lock
DateJul 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
I became aware of a news article and videos of a documented security problem with hondas where someone can use a device to unlock any honda made in last 10 years and also remotely start the vehicle without leaving any trace of the intrusion. This poses many obvious security and safety risks to a honda vehicle owner. Example, someone could gain access to a locked vehicle and steal contents. Or they could enter and hide in the back and attack someone. Or they could unlock the car and use the built in garage door opener to gain access to a home. Or they could even start a car remotely in a garage and cause a fire or carbon monoxide poisoning to people inside the home if the garage door remained closed. I am seeking help to get honda to address this issue immediately and provide remedy to owners for this defect. Https://gizmodo. Com/new-key-fob-hack-can-unlock-and-start-hondas-remotely-1849165737
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 12, 2022
StateIN
Description
The auto idle stop automatically turns on when the van engine is started. I was stopped at a stop sign while trying to cross a dual lane highway (55 mph speed limit). Was not aware that the auto idle stop had shut off the engine. When I had an opportunity to cross the highway I let of the brake and pressed the accelerator and the engine was attempting to start and felt like we were going to be struck by cross traffic before the engine started and we were able to cross. I am aware that this feature can be turned off. But it has to be turned off each time the vehicle is started. Needs to be a way to permanently disable this feature.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 08, 2022
StateMD
Description
The honda idle stop feature is the issue. My wife drives this car and on at least 20 occasions, the car shut off when she was stopped at a stop light when idle stop was enabled. The car shuts off when she tried to accelerate once the traffic light turns green. The car then has to be restarted. This is a safety issue because cars behind us could easily rear-end our vehicle since the stop light has turned green and cars are moving. Honda claims that they cannot replicate the issue but it is clearly a large issue with the idle stop feature. It seems as if the vehicle does not have enough power to get the engine back to normal mode and therefore it shuts off. Most of the time that air conditioning is running so perhaps the extra load from that contributes. Regardless, this is something that needs to be fixed quickly.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 25, 2022
StateAZ
Description
While driving on a surface street at approximately 35 mph on a 100+ degree afternoon, the glass moonroof suddenly exploded. I did not observe any object striking the car or the roof. The shade was closed, so glass did not enter the cabin. However, driving the car above 30mph became impossible due to air impinging on the shade and making it more likely that the shade would open and glass would fall onto me.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 03, 2022
StateAR
Description
Non-working touchscreen monitor (navigation, radio, heat/ac adjustments, everything on screen off and won't turn on. The usb outlets, backup camera, rear tv are also all non-working. Issue with doors, van beeps twice when walking away from vehicle, like one is not shut properly even after you open and shut all doors again. Also rear sliding doors don't shut sometimes and act like there is something in the way of it closing and reopening. Available anytime on friday for inspection. Safety issue only with backup camera. Prefer the convenience of having one to see behind me better. Mirrors ok but camera better. Problem was fixed twice at honda dealership in jonesboro ar. They said it was a recall. The solution to the recall only fixed it temporarily though. The same above issues continue to reoccur even after repair. Scheduled and went into honda for the third time for the same issue and the dealership sent me away. This time they said they wouldn't be able to fix again until someone (an engineer) from corporate could come out and look at my car. This hasn't occurred and it's been over two months. They said they have a new service manager and they are looking into it. I've called a number of times and I am just told their new and their trying to figure out who to contact. Issues started out with popping and crackling noise in speakers. Then the touchscreen monitor would say no audio connection. The rear tv would go on and off too. Then the touchscreen just died and nothing works now. It doesn't even turn on. Just black screen. So I have a non-working touchscreen, navigation, radio, back up camera, heat/air adjustments, all components on the touchscreen are non-working. Usb ports are non-working. Rear tv is non-working.
CategoryStructure
DateMar 31, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the warning message "lift gate open" illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed that the lift gate was fractured. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the same local dealer, where it was diagnosed that the striker plate needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the local dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 23, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would intermittently brake independently as the brake warning symbol would flash on the instrument panel. The contact also stated that the steering wheel would shake during the failure. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where it remained in their possession. The dealer stated that the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateMar 22, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v438000 (back over prevention) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 15, 2022
StateFL
Description
Continuously intermittent lose of all main dash board information to include speed, all advanced safety features, display goes totally black. Continuously intermittent lose of infotainment system. Includes radio, gps, backup camera and all other options.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2022
StateGA
Description
Unknown my 3 year old's hand was crushed in the sliding door. The door closed completely, latched and locked (beeped). The door did not recognize resistance when closing and did not reopen. Medical treatment is forthcoming. The picture attached was taken approximately an hour and a half after the incident.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateMD
Description
While parking and approaching another car in a parking lot, the van automatic braking system randomly started blinking and the brakes automatically applied, pulsating and grinding loudly for several seconds for no reason. I believe my safety and my passengers safety was at risk. The problem was random and not reproduced since it happened. The vehicle was not inspected. No warning lamps or symptoms appeared prior to this occurring and have not occurred since. It was a scary experience, I assumed it was some kind of electronic glitch.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
On several occasions our honda van has slammed on the brakes without any vehicle or obstacle present. The automatic braking system has worked properly when someone ahead brakes aggressively ... But the instances I'm talking about have occur without vehicles in our lane. 1 time it was coming around a turn and I almost lost control of the steering since I wasn't expecting a hard brake. I haven't gotten it inspected or looked at. The safety feature seems to work properly but then will sense something that isn't there.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
Just experienced a serious issue with our 2020 odyssey elite with 24,000 miles on it. Jerked forward from a stop and then would not advance beyond 1st gear. Multiple warning lights came on: check engine/ emissions/ back up camera and sensors. Dealer reported there was an electronic defect that destroyed the transmission which they claim caused the transmission to attempt to shift into two gears simultaneously. Not sure but the jerking motion may indicate that the transmission shifted into park while moving. Dealer refused to provide a loaner car and now waiting for a transmission replacement on a k vehicle with 24,000 miles on it. Multiple similar transmission replacements on 2020 honda odyssey are reported on the odyssey owners forum. Had this event occurred on a higher speed or congested area a serious accident could have occurred as vehicle could not accelerate and jerked violently initially immediately followed by inability to shift to higher gears.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateNov 16, 2021
StateTX
Description
The contact's friend owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact stated that his friend received a recall notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v438000 (back over prevention) however, the dealer informed her that the parts for the recall repair were not yet available. The contact stated that the rearview camera was foggy while reversing. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that they would follow up with the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEquipment:electrical:infotainment
DateNov 10, 2021
StateTX
Description
The center infotainment display does not have any visuals anymore. It started with cameras and displays glitching in and out for about 1&1/2 years. The problem wasn't too bad, but in aug 2021, the radio started to not work, and then we began hearing 3 tapping noises every 2 seconds while the engine was on. Now the screen is black and has no displays at all. We brought the van in to the dealership and they said parts had to be ordered. The honda advisor told me that this was a problem that they are aware of that happens often with this particular model. It's been 3 months and nothing has been done. When I called back to check on the parts and progress to see when I can get it fixed, the service department changed their narrative and now they know nothing about any issues like that. We cannot use any functions like rear view display, heat or ac controls, and anything else that are displayed on the infotainment screen. We have 4 kids all under age 6, and my fear is that one child may sneak out and walk behind our van while we are backing out. The mirrors can only see so much, but the rear camera can give a better view of anything low and short.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 10, 2021
StateOH
Description
While driving at approximately 40 mph with the lane keeping assist feature turned on, I attempted to turn on the cruise control. The cruise turned on, but the center instrument panel did not report that cruise was on, nor the speed at which cruise was set. Using the steering wheel controls to increase the speed or decrease the speed did not update the instrument panel. The speed stayed locked at 4:00pm with the cruise control indicator off. The instrument panel with the speed, etc locked up. Several moments later the entire panel went back and remained black for a short period of time. I had no speedometer nor other critical instruments available on my instrument panel. About 10 seconds later or so, the panel came back on and acted normal. It showed cruise was in fact on and set to 43. I promptly turned off cruise control and left it off
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:electronic Lock/latch Actuator
DateSep 09, 2021
StateIL
Description
After stopping at a gas station for a rest break, both the passenger side and driver side rear power sliding doors refused to close after the passengers re-entered the vehicle. The tracks/path for the doors were checked for obstructions and none were found. After multiple repeated attempts at closing (more than ten on each side), the doors were successfully closed. After several additional hours of driving, the same scenario played out at our next fuel stop. The vehicle would have been unsafe to operate had the problem not resolved itself. The doors could not be closed by using the neither the push buttons nor the interior door handle. The dealer service center could not reproduce the problem. The vehicle has not been inspected by anybody besides the dealer service department. They stated that no codes regarding the operation of the doors were stored in the vehicles memory. No warning lamps, messages or other symptoms accompanied this event.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 06, 2021
StateTN
Description
Infotainment system failure. It started by popping and crackling then the entire screen and entertainment system went black. No radio, bluetooth, backup camera or any of the controls on the infotainment system screen.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 13, 2021
StateND
Description
I went to park at a curb, and when I went to stop the van jumped over the curb and almost into a building. I had to almost push the brakes into the floorboard. It was like the car accelerated on its own. I was lucky there was only a flower bed it went through and nobody was on the sidewalk. I have called multiple honda dealerships and they said there was no recall or any problems with the acceleration. No warnings went off, this was at 7 am when this happened.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 02, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda odyssey. The contact stated while driving 45 mph, there was an abnormal sound coming from the brakes. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was diagnosed but not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.
CategoryEquipment:electrical:infotainment
DateJul 25, 2021
StateNY
Description
The audio/infotainment system controls everything in the vehicle. It has had a crackling noise coming over the speakers since I purchased the vehicle in september 2020. I had purchased it brand new and almost immediately after I took delivery realized there was an issue with this vehicle. After reviewing online posts from other owners, it became apparent that this was a widespread issue. The system just turns off while you're driving and you get a black screen that says "network connection lost" and you can't do anything with the unit. The rear-entertainment system does not work, can't adjust any settings that are controlled through the unit which as I said, everything is controlled through there, no rear-view camera, etc. I have brought it back to the dealer countless times and they said there were not any fixes for it and it is a known issue. There was one recall issued that the dealer performed but the problem still exists. The dealer told me that it was a temporary solution for the issue and honda did not have a permanent fix.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 28, 2021
StateTX
Description
New ex-l model van with about 800 miles on it began to permeate the cabin with a gaseous odor coming from the air vents in recirculate mode and could be smelled from the outside of the vehicle as well. Initially smelled it when at idle after a 150 mile one-way trip. The vehicle had to be turned off to make the smell stop. It started again upon return and got stronger when the a/c was put in fresh air mode.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2021
StateMO
Description
I was trying to come to a stop and my car wouldn't stop. The car was shaking and I almost hit the car in front of me. Thankfully there wasn't a car to the right of me so I swerved and pulled my emergency brake. There was a light on that said brake system in orange. Thank god my twins were not with me when this happened. It's a 2020 honda odessey with less than 8000 miles. I bought I brand new! I had it towed to the dealer and they said they haven't found anything to fix. They did keep it another 24 hours to drive it around some more to see if it happens again. I'm worried sick to drive this again with my children in it! What if next time I am not so lucky to avoid an accident?!? I saw others post the same thing on this exact vehicle.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateApr 03, 2021
StateFL
Description
Recall # 20v-438 incomplete. Parts ordered 12/16/2020 . Parts have not arrived as of 4/3/2021.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 09, 2021
StateCA
Description
New car- purchased in oct 2020 has had persistent issues with the infotainment/camera unit repeatedly going black and rebooting. Sometimes off for up to 20 minutes without access to backup camera (I live on a busy street across from an elementary school) or gps. This happened the first time the day I drove it home from the dealer and has happened since. I have taken it to service on multiple occasions in including replacing the infotainment unit and the issue continues. This is a new vehicle. Every time I drive more than 20 minutes it starts rebooting every 15 minutes or so. This is ridiculous.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 13, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Car drive forward when I shifted into reverse.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 14, 2020
StateFL
Description
Upon acceleration from a stop, transmission lags to the point of car not moving. It happens when pulling out into traffic, making a turn or pulling away from a light. Have taken to dealer twice to report.. Now have 7000 miles on car.. Dealer says its normal.. There is nothing wrong with the car.. Its the way the transmission works.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateDec 08, 2020
StateCA
Description
Major safety concern (brake fail during driving) with new 2020 honda odyssey with 2618 miles driven. Brake made loud squeak noise right after purchase and took it to local honda dealership where car was purchased 4 times. Honda dealership resurfaced rotor 2 different times. About 12-14 days ago, honda odyssey brake failed when going down at slight grade. When brake paddle was applied, entire van, including steering wheel shake and van failed to stop. My driving habit of leaving large gap between vehicle saved my life. It took approximately 1/3 or 0. 33 mile to bring car to stop. I saved my life along with other on road on this incident. Van is parked in garage and not being driven until honda north america and/or nhtsa | national highway traffic safety administration inspect the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 19, 2020
StateTX
Description
Defective 2020 honda odyssey received brand new june 9. Began having issues in 2 months. Serviced at baytown, tx community honda on 9/11, 9/24,9/17,10/16 for occurring issue. Problem has not been resolved. Video documentation with time stamp of issue is saved. Case open with america honda: case manager, antonio determined the honda techs at the dealer are incorrectly fixing the van. The fakra connector needs to be replaced. He will submit request to field manager team for a field engineer to be scheduled to service my van. Antonio, case manager, also advised to cancel 11/19 appointment with service department and to wait for call back for honda field engineer. Costumer requested eta, antonio would not provide estimated time, advise to wait for a call. Popping noise, disconnects bluetooth. Popping noise occurs when driver is on a call, listening to music, and even during complete silence there is popping. Electrical issue occurs during stationary, in motion, on a city, highway, and turning. The problem is unsafe because bluetooth connection is not working properly which prevents me to safely use hand free calling. This is illegal in the state of texas. The honda odyssey 2020 currently has 7298 miles.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 19, 2020
StateTX
Description
Purchased brand new march 2020. Experiencing issues with radio static, popping noises from speakers, radio not found error message while driving. Radio still running after car is turned off and doors are opened. We have to turn the car back on and off again to get the radio to shut off. Issues worsened after recall work was completed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2020
StatePA
Description
Turn signal sound indicator not audible when driving. Engine noise, open windows, radio, drown out the sound of the turn signal being on. Turn signal light indicator works but seems to be not enough to remind me to turn it off.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
Crackling noise from front windshield or dash area most frequent when the vehicle is moving but can sometimes be heard after coming to a stop.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 08, 2020
StatePA
Description
Rear sliding doors open after putting car in drive and releasing the emergency brake. Problem is intermittent. The car has not yet moved. I have foot brake engaged. This has happened in my driveway, in parking lots, and along the curb on a busy street.. The last occurrence was 10/06/2020. Problem reported to dealer service friday 10/02/2020 from previous occurances.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 30, 2020
StateIL
Description
We bough the vehicle new, and it was fine for the first 1800 miles. Then, the entertainment system started randomly powering down, usually first displaying a message "network communication lost". Sometimes it will come back on, sometimes it cannot be restarted for days at a time. (when it does come back on, there usually is a popping sound coming from the speakers). This happens at random, irregardless if the vehicle is in motion or not. Besides for not having the ability to listen to music while driving, this is a serious safety issue, because when this happens, the backup camera does not work either. So, you have a large vehicle (I. E. A minivan) with minimal rear visibility, which is usually used around children, and you have no way of seeing what's behind you. I brought this to the dealership and they said they don't know how to fix this. I spoke to american honda and they also said they don't know how to fix this. This is literally a dead child waiting to happen.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 04, 2020
StateIA
Description
The infotainment center will go black and disrupt viewing of the backup camera or other features. It is unable to be turned back on.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 01, 2020
StateMN
Description
We just bought our van 20 days ago, the infotainment system is failing. It intermittently shuts down when parked and while driving. The radio crackles, our model has a dvd player that sometimes doesn't work, back up camera sometimes doesn't work, bluetooth shuts off during a call. Screen shows connection lost and reboots while driving. We waited to take ownership of our van due to a recall that they was related to the infotainment system, I guess they didn't fix the problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateAug 31, 2020
StateVT
Description
I was sold a car with an active recall, that came out on 7/28. I purchased the car on 8/13 and had no idea about the recall... I am extremely upset that I was sold an unsafe vehicle and for a recall that could affect the safety of my wife and children
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 18, 2020
StateVA
Description
While driving on interstates and local roads, the onboard "infotainment" system continually emits loud popping, crackling sound (sounds like things hitting windshield), resulting in distraction and confusion while driving. Various components of the infotainment system randomly go out, causing system reboots while driving and creating distraction. Navigation system is also sometimes affected, failing to provide turn guidance or give accurate location. Rear "cabin view" freezes intermittently, displaying only still image rather than view of rear seats. Fm radio randomly cuts out, displaying "no audio connection for fm".
CategorySteering
DateAug 09, 2020
StateMI
Description
This is a follow up report to 11343147. Since the subject report we have had 3 more incidents (in about a week) of the steering wheel locking and preventing the car from turning. One time the locked steering wheel forced the car into the oncoming lane of traffic during a basic right hand turn into a neighborhood. One instance while stopped to try and back into our drive way we watched the steering wheel turn by itself. In these cases the lane departure warning was set to warning only and the acc and lkas are 100% off. Clear, sunny drive days. Temperature in the low 80's. Car speeds were from 0 mph to probably 25 mph. I have uploaded a pdf that describes as best we can the incidents that have occurred so far. The issue seems to be very random. Will be taking the car to the dealer tomorrow to see if they can determine the issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 05, 2020
StateNC
Description
20v-438 is for a camera recall. However the two dealerships in my town both have said they will not have parts for 2 months.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 05, 2020
StateUT
Description
My vehicle's infotainment system continually turns off. The screen goes blank for long periods of time, the system will restart multiple times while driving, and it will not function properly. I have brought it in to the dealer to be fixed multiple times and nothing helps. I feel the vehicle is not safe to drive when the infotainment console controls so much of the vehicle. The buttons on the steering wheel also are disabled when I drive and have issues.
CategorySteering
DateAug 04, 2020
StateMI
Description
On a sunny, clear, dry day and on a paved and marked two lane country road, the car would not let me turn to the right on a swtichback turn. I was travelling at approximately 25 -30 mph with my foot lightly on the accelerator to maintain speed. The switchback was to the right and upward and it was around 14:00. Basically the steering wheel locked and remained locked forcing the car into the opposite lane of traffic until I brought the car to a full stop at which point the steering wheel unlocked and I could turn the vehicle to the right and follow the road back to the right on its course. The elapsed time was probably 3-4 seconds and fortunately there was no oncoming traffic or vehicles behind us. The lane departure warning system was on. The "main" button for the adaptive cruise control and lane keep assist was on but neither of these systems were engaged. The sensors and camera on the front did not have anything blocking them other than what you might expect after driving a car in normal driving conditions without a wash for 4-5 days. The problem has not re-occurred since this one time event but we also have not driven the car on switchback roads since and don't normally do so. The car had approximately 1500 miles on it. There was no damage to the car and nothing to show so there are no pictures included with this report. I have reported this issue to honda directly as well. I
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 21, 2020
StateNY
Description
New car, odometer ~ 300 miles. Backup camera no longer turns on when car is engaged in reverse.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2020
StateWV
Description
I purchased an odyssey and within less than 2 weeks, the infotainment system started displaying problems. The system gives a loud, crackling noise over the speakers. Sometimes the audio connection will cut out with varying error messages. Other times the entire screen will go black/turn off for several minutes, completing disabling the backup camera and other functions. When the audio goes out it will also hang up/disable any goes going over android auto or bluetooth. The audio display screen for android auto will sometimes freeze. I've already had my vehicle in the shop twice for this problem within a month and a week of owning the car and there's been no resolution yet. I've seen that there's a class action lawsuit for this exact problem in the 2018 and 2019 models, which apparently did not get rectified for 2020. The problem occurs randomly and sporadically, but does occur almost every single time I drive the car at some point or another. It's extremely distracting and not safe.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 09, 2020
StateFL
Description
The car is making a crackling noise from the dash broad. Took it to the dealership and the latter stated that honda is aware of the issue and that the crackling/sparkling noise come from the speakers. He further stated that honda is working with nhtsp on a fix. The noise accentuates when the driver steps on the brakes, but also when s/he speeds up.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 15, 2020
StateNJ
Description
The infotainment system (is) started malfunctioning around 2000 miles. The screen went black and then came back on. It progressively got worse. There was crackling and static around and above the steering wheel. If system was on it went off with the crackling and if off it came on. The message on the screen says network communication lost. When off there is no gps, no backup camera, no speed limit notice, no climate control adjustment, no radio, no clock, no anything that is part of the is. And phones do not charge when system is off. This happens frequently with city driving and highway driving. If I hit a bump in the road the system will come on if off and off if on. I called honda in torrence, ca and was given a case number: 10288286 on march 6. The car was purchased on january 6, 2020. We left nj to drive to fl on january 24. The system had brief moments of black out between january 6 and 24. We were mostly without the system for the entire drive. I took it to ed morse honda in riviera beach, fl in the beginning of february and was told this was a problem with pilots and odysseys. I was told they would need the car for several days and could not promise they would be able to fix it. Honda did not have a fix. They had no loaners so I decided to wait until we relocated to another area of fl. At this time I received an email from wayne gross, service manager honda universe, welcoming me to the honda family. I emailed him about my problem with no response. I later found out he no longer worked there. I took it to regal honda in lakeland, fl and was told the same thing. They would straighten out the wires but would not know if it was fixed. Honda had no fix. I decided to wait until I returned to nj. I have contacted honda universe and was told honda had a fix on may 1. I can't confirm that with hq or service managers. I don't feel safe. *tr
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateMay 19, 2020
StateLA
Description
While traveling on the interstate at approximately 75 mph, the sunroof spontaneously shattered. I have a dash cam and when I reviewed the footage, there wasn't any sign of rocks or debris that had caused the breakage. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 29, 2020
StateMI
Description
Had electrical issues with the odyssey shortly after crossing 2k miles. The vehicle does not start reliably. Called honda roadside assistance multiple times to jump start the vehicle. Brought the vehicle into the dealership to preform nhtsa recall number:20v-066 on friday march 27th and have them inspect the issue starting the vehicle. The battery was charged by the dealership and on saturday march 28th the vehicle continued to not start. When roadside assistance showed up on saturday, the battery was checked and it was not an issue. The vehicle will be brought back to the dealership on monday.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 09, 2020
StateWV
Description
The infotainment screen repeatedly freezes up. It can happen while parked as well as when driving or using the rear view camera to back up - which is the biggest safety hazard. This is very much a distraction for the driver. The only remedy is to turn the vehicle completely off, open the driver's door to shut the system off, and then restart the vehicle.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 12, 2019
StateCA
Description
When pulling into a parking space this morning and applying the brakes, the brake pedal did not engage. Pedal went to the floor with no resistance while making a grinding/slipping sound. I was going straight, less than 5 mph. I released the brake and reapplied quickly (pumped the brakes) before brakes finally engaged. This caused me to come very close, almost hitting the parked car in front of me in the parking lot. I checked the brake fluid reservoir was full and there was no apparent fluid on the ground beneath my car.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 29, 2019
StateIL
Description
Frequent loud crackling noises come from the speakers, followed by a network connection lost error message on the screen, and then the screen will go black and eventually the system will reboot. This will happen repeatedly while driving and does not depend on the state or use of the infotainment system (it can be off and still happen). There seems to be a correlation with going over a bump, suggesting a loose connection somewhere. When restarting or off, the radio, climate controls and the backup camera are all unavailable. This is a safety hazard as it distracts the driver and also prevents usage of the backup camera. Began happening intermittently at around 1500 miles and now at ~1700 miles it happens essentially all the time. Please address this issue soonest possible. Many people buying honda cars and not aware of these issues !!!

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Lin M

    Totally, agree with comment above, most recent can’t get my FREE oil changes paid for with Extended Warranty. Told them in Charleston, SC moving back to Columbia, SC can I use them, “Of course” NOPE plus wanted to charge me $400+ for Transmission/Brake fluid change. Bought it 4/15/22 Honda Odyssey 2020 had 42,000 miles it should have been changed then!!!

  • Sarah S

    Bought a 2020 Honda Odyssey with 20,000 miles on it at the end of April. What a freaking piece of junk.
    The air conditioner takes an eternity to cool down.
    The button for the rear ac fan controls was broken.
    The sound system/electrical issue has been fixed twice and is starting to crackle and pop again.
    The doors randomly lock and unlock when I wash the car.
    A bolt and washer randomly appeared on the floor of the back of the van.
    The van started making terrible creaking and popping noises when the steering wheel turned.
    The shade for one of the windows rolled all the way down into the door panel (and my kids were not wild with it– we had a 2010 Sequoia for 6 years with the same shades and this never happened).
    Can I have my Sequoia I traded in back now? I will never buy a Honda again.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.