2020 Ford Expedition Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system and build quality issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Did your sunroof shatter unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible to join our Expedition Shattering Sunroof class action investigation.

The 2020 Ford Expedition is a large SUV that’s designed to take families on the road. The automaker claims it is “built to command,” but this vehicle can’t even direct itself. From the faulty structure to the defective electrical system, owners are taking to the internet with complaints.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Ford Expedition

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
23
Unknown Or Other
17
Power Train:automatic Transmission
4
Engine
3
Electrical System
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Structure:body
3
Back Over Prevention: Warnings
2
Visibility/wiper
2

Problems with the Build Quality

The structure consists of many parts, including the body panels and auto glass. If any part of this vital structure fails, it could have disastrous effects.

That’s what is seen with this NHTSA review. “While driving on a clear day on the Interstate (no other cars around me), the rear portion of the Vista panoramic sunroof exploded, sending glass everywhere.”

It turns out that this is just the tip of the iceberg with structure-related issues. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V366000 also talks about the middle row seat headrests. The problem stems from the attachment bracket, which hasn’t been sufficiently welded to the frame. Because of the reduced strength, occupants might not be fully restrained, leading to an increased chance of injury.

This isn’t the only issue that shows the trouble with the seats. In fact, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V633000 shows that more than 630,000 vehicles might also have reduced seat back strength. It turns out that the recliner mechanisms might be missing a critical part that keeps the seat secure. Without it, the seats become loose, leaving occupants unrestrained yet again. At this point, it’s difficult to command when people can’t even rely on the seating that they are in.

Problems with the Electrical System

Moving onto the electrical system, there are just as many faults that could lead to injuries.

Here is one Edmunds complaint to focus on. “Lane centering is so feeble as to be worthless. Charging pad doesn’t work but maybe there’s something I don’t understand.”

However, the electrical system-related recalls are much more severe. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V262000 states that the pre-collision assist features incorrect coding that can disable the system. If the driver doesn’t know that this critical software is disabled, there is an increased chance of an accident. Yet, we see another electrical system problem that could cause injuries during a crash. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V217000 discusses the front passenger seatbelt buckle’s Belt Tension Sensor (BTS), which could malfunction. If this happens, the seat belts won’t provide adequate protection during an accident.

One more recall is worth mentioning, even though it’s not related to the complaints listed above, although it probably will create its own list of customer trouble. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V197000 states that more than 55,000 models that have a ten-speed automatic transmission might have a serious defect. In these models, the transmission shift cable lock clip hasn’t been fully seated, thereby allowing the transmission to be in a different gear from what is shown on the gear shift position. If owners are unaware of the problem and place their vehicle in Park without the parking brake engaged, the SUV could drive away on its own. This unintended vehicle movement is the cause of serious concerns. The only thing left to do is alert bystanders to stay away from the Expedition, which could roll into people or objects.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryPower Train
DateMar 13, 2023
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, there was an abnormal sound coming from the vehicle, followed by hard shifting from the transmission. The contact stated that the “service required” message was displayed. The contact pulled over to the side of the roadway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer to be diagnosed; however, the mechanic found no failure with the vehicle. The contact stated that the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer again and the dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced, and that the manufacturer was aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 13, 2023
StateMT
Description
I was traveling on the interstate at a rate of 75 mph. I signaled a lane change and pressed the gas pedal. I heard the engine respond and the rpm surged. The drive train went dead. There was no power at all. I checked it was in drive and it was. The car began to slow and I began trying to get off the road. Suddenly with a bit of a jerk, it drove normal.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 10, 2023
StateTX
Description
While traveling approximately 65 mph on state highway 35 near austin, tx, my expedition violently shifted out of gear when I attempted to accelerate to move into the next lane out of the way of a commercial 18 wheeler that was changing lanes. This caused me to lose power and coast until I could recover drive ability. My family and I were sitting ducks in the middle lane of a 4-5 lane stretch of highway. I was able to get off the highway and park in the nearest parking lot. I remember seeing a red notification stating something like “no shift” on the dashboard display when the issue happened. Immediately confirmed no other issues, transmission and cooling system temperatures were in normal range and no other check or warning lights came on. Also, did not see any leaks and all fluids were within normal ranges.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 10, 2023
StateSD
Description
2020 ford expedition. Consumer writes in regard to nhtsa safety recall 22v-250.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 05, 2023
StateFL
Description
I recently purchased this vehicle and I have had the problem from the beginning. When driving and slowing down. Usually around 5th gear or slower, it will shift hard into the lower gear with an obvious noise(thunk) coming from the rear of the vehicle. You can also slightly feel this. I have tried to duplicate the issue without using brakes to rule that out and I have done so. It is definitely not a brake issue but a transmission/power train issue. This happens to me multiple times a day on most every drive. I have looked at multiple forums to see if this is a common issue and it seems that it is. A common issue without a reliable fix. I am hoping that of multiple people claim this issue that ford will in fact take it seriously and fix the issue
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Power Train
DateFeb 18, 2023
StateTN
Description
My transmission shifts very hard while driving. Mainly from 4th to 5th gear while going 50mph on a decline. The car has been in the shop for it a couple times and have yet to “replicate” the issue or repair it. The blind monitor system keeps saying it's having an issue responding to the transmission. I get notified on my app constantly, yet the dealership has told me they can't replicate it therefore no repairs have been made.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 18, 2023
StateTX
Description
While driving on the interstate and accelerating the vehicle first shifts very hard then goes into complete limp mode, I have had to coast to a stop on the side of the interstate to restart the engine and pray it starts working again. Once it happens once it consistently happens daily till I have it repaired which ford is booking appointments for transmissions 3 months out. The manufacturer has been able to replicate the failure multiple times. Each time it happens the onboard screen flashes to see owners manual and the check engine light comes on. This has put my entire family at risk because it usually happens at 55+mph and going from that amount of speed to no engine/transmission power is terrifying. I have spoke with other owners and this is a consistent problem these machines re having.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 11, 2023
StateCA
Description
There's two different incidents oke happened at approximately 30,800 transmission made a hard clunk around 30 mph, transmission error on dash appeared but cleared as soon as I came to a stop. Transmission started working but shifting differently as in harder shifts but not all the time. Last week on. February 4th wife stated she felt a hard shift and thought transmission dropped/broke I know ford will say can not replicate symptoms so I am reporting this incase more issues arise from ford expeditions as this can be a safety issue for family's with children or as in our case we foster and are always taking kids to where they need to be
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateFeb 03, 2023
StateNC
Description
The transmission in the car is not functioning properly. Shifting is not happening correctly and there is slippage. The shift between gears is significantly impacting the car while in motion. The lurch between gears skips the car ahead. Further, ford dealers are so backlogged with transmission issues that they are refusing to diagnose and service vehicles due to lack of technicians and parts.
CategoryPower Train, Power Train:automatic Transmission
DateFeb 01, 2023
StatePA
Description
1) automatic transmission; yes 2) transmission defect causes the vehicle to unexpectedly lose power, increasing the chance vehicles traveling behind could collide with the vehicle (powertrain occasionally does not initially respond to throttle input) 3) yes 4) the vehicle has been inspected by a ford dealership; unknown with regard to inspection by others (the vehicle has been serviced by a ford dealership five times and the problem has not been corrected; early symptoms did not include unexpected loss of power; ford refuses to replace the trans) 5) october 2021; initial symptom was harsh downshifts; symptoms as of 16 january 2023, are harsh downshifts, harsh reverse engagement when vehicle is cold, erratic upshifts (see above) and burning transmission fluid; an error message appeared while driving on 16 january (see attached)
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 27, 2023
StateMI
Description
I own the 2020 expedition. I pressed down on the gas pedal to accelerate into traffic. While the truck should have down shifted and accelerated, instead the powertrain completely disengaged; a total loss of power. The rpm jumped way up to redline, I took my foot of the gas pedal and as the rpm came back down, the transmission slammed back into engagement. At this point, I was finally able to accelerate. This issue has put us in danger as when I am on the road and try to accelerate to my vehicle does go into gear acts if it's in neutral. Also I have been at stop light and light turns green cars are honking as my car won't move. I have had this issue for quite some time, I called for they took it in for inspection the first time and found no issue, took it in again and they said it was the cadillac converter, they replaced it, and they reprogramed the vehicles gears and now I am expirenceing the same issues, but worst. 2020 ford expedition
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 25, 2023
StateCA
Description
Muffler and exhaust pipes have gotten rusted. I only have 37k miles on it. Is this a defect from manufacturer? I have many other cars but not rust over 100k miles.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 16, 2023
StateMS
Description
There seems to be an issue with the 10 speed gear shift in my 2020 ford expedition. We were driving on the interstate when we attempted to slow down to shift lanes, the gear shift very harshly and then would not respond to pressing the acceleration pedal. It made some very loud clunk noises and after a few minutes, it finally responded to the acceleration but it also was skipping gears and shifting really hard. Upon research, I found out that older models have an issue with the 10 speed shifter as well as others with my same make/model/year. Will bringing my vehicle in for inspection since this can be very dangerous in busy highways.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 03, 2023
StateFL
Description
I was traveling on the interstate when I was slowing down to get off an exit, got struck from behind at more than 80mph and rear ended a semi trailer that released the emergency brakes of his truck abruptly.. My airbags did not deploy. Suffered multiple lacerations through my body because of this double impact.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Power Train
DateDec 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
The transmission has now had over 5 shifting stall and power loss events while on the highway when attempting to downshift when accelerating. This loss of power causes a drastic reduction in speed and delay in actions. These events have nearly cause accidents at highway speeds. Additionally the radar sensor for the collision avoidance system went out and the car now shifts harshly in any gear with jerking and clanking. Multiple service lights are now illuminated. This first happened around 20k miles, but is has been increasing in frequency and now the car is not safe or driveable. This is the same transmission that is affecting other ford cars, like the ford 150 which has been subject to recalls. From publicly available information ford thinks it's a shifter and transmission disconnect but has not been able to implement a fox.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
Driving on freeway and slowed down due to traffic and trucks ahead. Got over into left lane, accelerated and vehicle stalled then jerked forward. Wrench light came on. Got off the freeway, turned vehicle off and waited 5 minutes. Another time was driving up the grapevine to la, vehicle stalled and again quickly accelerated forward. I got off the freeway to allow the vehicle to rest. Third incident, driving on freeway, wrench light again appeared. When taking long road trips, I must stop every 2 hours in order for vehicle to not stall and to eliminate having transmission issues.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 18, 2022
StateMI
Description
2020 - expedition collision avoidance should be investigated. Background: 05-08-21 traveling south at 6 pm near oxford michigan on m-24 (grassy-median 4-lane highway) at the posted 55 mph limit in clear weather. Ford co-pilot360 & 360 assist active with 360 deg camera. Speed control set to normal mode with “collision avoidance” set to max and auto braking. I am (1st car) in the right lane with a 2nd car following also in my lane. A 3rd car (waiting to enter the highway) stops ahead (on right- from west) at an intersection where left turns (north) are prohibited. That 3rd car safely turns right (south) in front of us quickly crossing both active southbound lanes and over into the short left turn-around lane north. That 3rd driver had cleared the two active lanes quickly and safely. As our vehicles approached him we had an open traffic lane on our left, a clear shoulder to the right and nothing in front of us, no safety issue yet. Issue: when I drive past that 3rd vehicle my expedition dashboard shouts “collision warning”. My vehicle applies the brakes while my 360 degree cameras ignore that a car is closing fast behind me. I need to accelerate and do it now! I'm shocked to find that flooring my gas pedal or even pumping it has no effect. Ford has taken my throttle away from me, I can't help that 2nd car behind me. The 2nd car brakes and swerves hard into the open lane barely missing me. It was just luck that the driver was responsive and the lane was open. No, I did not hit or touch the brake by mistake. The 2nd car now angry at me accelerates hard, passes and swerves back into my lane then hits his brakes! My expedition “collision warning” doesn't appear, so my “auto brakes” fail to activate and I'm forced to brake hard in response. After successfully avoiding another ford induced accident, I backed-off a great distance to encourage a justifiably angry citizen to move away. I didn't want a third attempt at my life if he pulled a weapon
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 28, 2022
StateMS
Description
I was driving my expedition and the sunroof exploded out of nowhere. I had the screen closed so no one was injured.
CategoryTrailer Hitches
DateAug 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
Last year (2021), I purchased an equalizer weight distribution hitch (manufactured by progress mfg inc., fastway trailer products, 353 south 1100 west, provo, utah 84601) when I bought my grand design transcend xplor camper trailer. The dealer sold me the 10,000 lb. Hitch which was compatible with the 9,000 lb. Gvwr trailer. Recently, (july, 2022) while pulling my camper into a campground site, the shank broke. It broke at the 90 degree joint and the gusset also fractured. Fortunately, I was only creeping into the campsite, so the trailer dropped to the ground, but no damage was done to the vehicle or camper. Upon examining the failure, it appear that one of the welds was defective. In the picture (broken trailer shank - 5) it is clear that the weld on the left side had no weld fusion to the adjoining component. It appears that this was a "cold weld" and was a major contributor to the subsequent failure of the remaining welds and gusset. With the bad weld, the other welds were constantly over-stressed, and subsequently failed during normal use. From the discoloration of this "cold weld" it is evident that this condition existed for some time prior to the final fracture of the remaining welds (which are shinny - final failure) and probably existed since manufacturing. The defective weld also shows signs of "undercut". These are clear signs of poor manufacturing workmanship and should be considered to be a major safety concern. This type of failure should never occur and could have had major safety consequences if the failure occurred while travelling at high speed on the highway.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateAug 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
Panoramic moon roof exploded without warning. No debris or objects hit roof. Glass fell into vehicle from above. Ford denying any manufacturing wrong doing. Glass could have cut or injured children sitting in car seats below.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateAug 18, 2022
StateUT
Description
Driving on a 4-lane highway when a box truck directly ahead stopped quickly due to a stopped car ahead of it. The forward collision warning flashed and beeped, but when forcefully applying the brakes, the brake pedal only pulsed (like anti-lock brakes) but didn't slow the car even enough for the driver or passenger to feel any inertia moving forward in their seats or with their heads. The automatic emergency braking also didn't work, leading to a rear-end collision forceful enough to push the box truck into the car in front of it, apparently injuring the driver of the front car who was transferred by emergency personnel to a nearby hospital to seek medical evaluation/assistance. After impact, a message appeared on the dash stating "pre-collision assist not available", but the forward collision warning worked, there was no prior warning of issues for the pre-collision assist, and the warning message was after impact, which significantly damaged the front portions of the vehicle (estimated damages exceed ,000). There was a recall for the same model and year of this vehicle for pre-collision assist features/software not working properly, but it either didn't apply to this specific vehicle or was already addressed by the dealer, and the details aren't quite the same as what was experienced in this collision.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateAug 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving at 10-20 mph a week after purchasing the vehicle brand new, the vehicle started jerking. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact continued driving. However, the failure recurred while driving the entire day. The dealer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that the failure was normal as she had just started driving vehicle. The failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice where it was diagnosed that no issues were found. Additionally, the contact stated that there was steam coming through the ac vents. The contact also stated that the check engine warning light illuminated, indicating that the catalytic converter was damaged. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. However, after the battery replacement, the vehicle shut off while driving and coming to a complete stop. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. However, the failure reoccurred while driving in the highway. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and veered to the side of the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was lacking unknown computer chips. Additionally, the dealer diagnosed that the transmission, the ac coil and the catalytic converter had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and opened a case. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
Automatic transmission making abrupt and lurching gear changes (even coming out of park) in addition to mechanical sounds. Safety has not been an issue, so far. The situation has not been inspected by dealer or any other mechanic. Vehicle still under warranty with less than 8,000 miles. No warning messages have surfaced. Never involved in crash or flooding.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 07, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I own the above listed 2020 expedition. We were traveling on interstate 287 yesterday. I was in the right lane and was stuck behind a slow moving semi truck. I put on my blinker and waited for an opening in traffic to move into the middle lane. When an opening presented itself I pressed down on the gas pedal to accelerate into traffic. While the truck should have down shifted and accelerated, instead the powertrain completely disengaged; a total loss of power. The rpm jumped way up to redline, over revving, but the truck was slowing down. I took my foot of the gas pedal and as the rpm came back down the transmission slammed back into engagement with a loud audible clunk that jolted the whole vehicle. At this point I was finally able to accelerate. While this was all happening I had just moved into the middle lane of traffic, which was bearing down on us. All the vehicles behind us wear slamming their brakes and honking their horns. I thought for sure we were going to die. Thank god it wasn't an 80,000 lbs peterbilt bearing down on us or we would be dead, by the grace of god we're not. Upon returning home I went onto the ford truck owners website I belonged to. I came to learn this is a known issue with ford's 10 speed transmission that ford has failed to address. That there are pending lawsuits and that the nhtsa is aware of the issue. One of the member suggested that I file a complaint with the nhtsa, that was my impetus for writing you today. This is a dangerous condition that ford needs to remedy. Thank you in advance for your time and attention in this matter
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 11, 2022
StateGA
Description
When accellerating in 5th, or6th gear trans slips out hard and car wont accelerate for 1 to 2 seconds. It displays being in 1st while this happens before it goes back into precious gear and starts driving.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 08, 2022
StateVA
Description
The car electric 120v 150watt connector is failing to hold into any plug into the socket thus falling or pulling halfway out and creating a dangerous situation to our children sitting on the back. In trying to plug back in one of our children got an electrical shock. On another instance the electrical plug came halfway out and made contact with some metal and an electrical arc was created and started a small fire with our children sitting on the back. The circuit braker did not pop or quit working so we had to dry stop in the middle of traffic to prevent fire from spreading. We took the car to a ford dealership to be repaired and they dismiss us till I show them our other 2021 f350 same electrical plug exactly the same and how tight it holds the electrical plug! Not till then the service advisor told us "yes it needs to be change" we have been waiting for this to happen over 6 months now without resolution.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2022
StateMO
Description
While driving down the highway I heard a pop in my vehicle and realized my sunroof had burst. Glass separated and flew into my car and cut myself and my 4 small children. No warning lights were on in my vehicle at this time. When brought to the dealership for repair, the repair shop reported that this will happen with these vehicles and to pursue reimbursement with ford. Unfortunately, ford reports that vehicle is not under warranty and the repairs won't be covered.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 28, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle started to decelerate independently. The contact stated the error system failure warning light was illuminated. The contact also started to hear an abnormal noise. The contact stated after a few seconds the failure independently stopped and he was able to continue driving to his destination. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing an unknown tbs to be completed. The vehicle was serviced for the bulletin but continued to experience the failure. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 20, 2022
StateTX
Description
Can be driving on freeway at 70 mph and all of sudden vehicle stalls or transmission begins to slip or stall. Make this grinding clinking sound. All lights on dash light up. Nearly caused a crash . Vehicle jerks and jumps back into gear and then takes off again. Will also do this at even 35 mph too. This has happened numerous times. We have taken it in to ford and they can't find anything wrong with it
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 15, 2022
StateTX
Description
At 70+ mph the automatic transmission made a loud clinking sound, lost acceleration/power for approximant 5-8 sec, and the "wrench" and other lights on the cluster board lite up with every light flashing on the interstate in a passing lane, and heavy traffic all around. This same incident occurred just 2 days later at approx 35 mph. It was erratic, disorienting and very distracting. The sudden change in behavior of the vehicle could have caused me to lose control of the vehicle at speed on a the interstate and could easily resulted in an accident causing major injury and damage. This issue has occurred approximately 8 time in the last year starting at approx 22k miles. The dealer says the car has no fault codes and they have download "updates" to the software. One time the dealer had a code of "stuck in park". That did not resolve the issues. To date they have no explanation for why the vehicle behaved in this manner. Honestly, I am very reluctant to drive this vehicle. I am at a loss on where to go with this issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 02, 2022
StateMO
Description
The moonroof exploded- please come look at it before this kills someone!!!!!! Had the curtain been open the glass would have gone all over my children, it also poses danger to those that might be driving behind/around you should the glass fly into their vehicle/passerby's. It appears this has been a issue but a recall has yet to be issued which is mind blowing to me- as these vehicles often are hauling large families posing a huge safety risk. There were no warnings!!!!!!!!!!!! Glass everywhere_ address this before someone gets killed!!
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
At least 5 different times while driving I go to push the accelerator and the gear seems to slip and an awful sound like gears grinding is heard. I always feel like my transmission is going to fall out from under the car. It prohibits the car from moving and I have almost been hit from behind because I cannot accelerate at the time. It has happened on the freeway, in town driving, and even accelerating up my driveway. I have taken it to a ford dealership but no answers.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 01, 2022
StateGA
Description
My car has been skipping between 3 rpm and up. The other day the collision assist pulled up and my car did a crazy jerking and almost cut off while driving. I drove slowly home with it constantly skipping and making it hard to accelerate. After it sat overnight the collision warning went off. It's still skipping some and the power is not there like it once was.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 29, 2022
StateGA
Description
Transmission is slipping very bad. Really shifts hard between gears, especially from 4th to 5th gear. Went to pass a vehicle, on acceleration the transmission slipped and the engine rpm's went very high. I let off the accelerator and the gear caught. I thought the transmission was done at that time.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 20, 2022
StateMA
Description
While driving down the highway I heard a noise of something on the roof of my car I looked in the rear view mirror and saw a chrome piece blowing along the road. When I got to my destination I noticed the roof rack front rail cap was missing on the passenger side. The drivers side was secured and not loose. I did see a recall for a 2017 explorer for the same issue but nothing for my car
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 25, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph and going down a hill, the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the power steering operated as needed however, the brakes failed to operate as needed. The contact steered through an intersection as the vehicle continued to accelerate. Additionally, the forward collision avoidance systems had not activated. The contact attempted to apply the parking brake however, the parking brake failed to engage. The contact stated that the vehicle then decelerated independently and she was able to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a hotel. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
While driving the vehicle in 4a and sometimes 2 wd at 75mph it shifts into neutral and you have to pull over and slow down to 50 mph to get it to go back into gear. I have another vehicle just like it and the same problem exists and ford dealer says they can't find anything. This is definitely a safety issue as it occurs mostly on the interstate.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJan 25, 2022
StateLA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the rear windshield unexpectedly shattered. There was no impact to the rear windshield that could have caused it to shatter. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was 17,143. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 28, 2021
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated while driving 70 mph the "power train malfunction" warning light illuminated on the instrument panel as the vehicle went into limp mode. The contact stated that the vehicle would fail to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The contact stated that the first time the failure occurred she pulled over had the vehicle was towed to an unknown ford dealer as she was out of town. The contact stated that she was unaware of the diagnostic test result or repair. The contact stated that the failure had occurred multiple times. However, on the most recent failure after picking the vehicle up from the dealer the vehicle failed to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle rolled into the parking lot next to the dealer and the contact had to turn the ignition off to stop the vehicle. The dealer was contacted immediately, and the vehicle was towed back to the dealer. The vehicle was currently at the dealer waiting for the diagnostic test and repair. The contact stated that the dealer contacted the ford engineers and was awaiting guidance on how to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact stated that she had requested the manufacturer buy back the vehicle twice and was denied. The contact stated that the manufacturer advised her to contact nhtsa. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission, Service Brakes
DateDec 22, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact's husband owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated that while driving at 65-70 mph on cruise control, the vehicle inadvertently downshifted, skipped a gear, and lurched forward several times. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle would skip from 3rd gear to 5th gear whenever she would depress the accelerator pedal. The contact was able to continue to drive the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired; however, upon picking up the vehicle from the dealer and driving home, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle inadvertently decelerated instead. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact also stated that the rpm of the vehicle was jumping between 2,000 and 3,000 rpm. The contact continued to drive the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who test drove the vehicle but was unable to diagnose it. The dealer reset the adaptive learning of the vehicle; however, the failure persisted, and the vehicle would make abnormal clunking sounds while shifting into drive. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who informed the contact that they could not duplicate the failure. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred increasingly and significantly while driving. Additionally, the driver's side rear brake had an abnormally strong burning odor. The vehicle was taken to lebanon ford (770 columbus ave, lebanon, oh 45036) who was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer notified the manufacturer of the failure. The manufacturer's field technician advised the dealer to replace the brake light sensors. The contact stated that the brake light sensors were replaced; however, upon picking up the vehicle, the start button was depressed but the vehicle failed to start. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and offered a buy back. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 7,400.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 06, 2021
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the gear shifter suddenly dropped, the rpm revved up, and there was a thumping noise and a shift system malfunction warning light illuminated. The failure occurred when the contact attempted to accelerate. The failure occurred twice and on the second occurrence, the contact noticed that the rpm was revving up while attempting to accelerate. The contact released the accelerator pedal to stop the failure and the vehicle returned to normal functionality. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer however, the mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,916.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateJul 19, 2021
StateSC
Description
At 70+ mph the automatic transmission tried to drop into 1st gear while on the interstate in a passing lane with heavy traffic all around. It had a loud and physical clunk then began to lose power. It was erratic, disorienting and distracting. The sudden change in behavior of the vehicle could have caused me to lose control of the vehicle at speed on a federal interstate and could easily resulted in an accident causing major injury and damage. The dealer says the car has no fault codes and they have download "updates" to the software. To date they have no explanation for why the vehicle behaved in this manner. This is the second time I have taken the vehicle in for odd transmission behavior. I have a video of the dashboard during the event showing the speed, rpm, mileage and the gear selector gauge when the transmission attempted several times to shift from higher gears to the 1st gear. I shared the video with the dealer. The video I have was taken with a iphone. It would not up load to your site. I can make it available. This is dangerous with no answers!
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJul 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
Forward collision warning, dynamic brake support and automatic emergency braking do not work and the driver menu to to turn on/off and or adjust settings is inaccessible. Although not part of nhtsa recall #20v-262 issued in may 2020, my vehicle matches the exact vehicle configuration and problem(s) outlined in the recall documentation. The vehicle was brought to the dealership on 6/16/2020 where ford claimed the vehicle did not have any of the aforementioned safety systems and therefore had no issue. [see attached paperwork dated 6/16/2020] after 1 entire month of back and forth, the dealership subsequently acknowledge the vehicle does indeed have the safety features and they need to further investigate with no commitments made on solution and or timeline. [see attached email dated the issue was spurred by a near miss collision when the systems did not activate.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 18, 2021
StateFL
Description
While traveling at highway speed on I-95 north around 10am, the vehicle brake quickly and abruptly activated which reduced the vehicle speed by 15-20 mph. Within seconds, the vehicle returned to previously set speed with adaptive cruise activated. This incident occurred while passing a tractor trailer truck. The truck was in the center lane and I was passing on the far left lane. As I started to pass the truck, the brake activated when within 10-20 feet of the truck for a moment then returned to previously set speed (75 mph). This happened so quickly and unexpectedly, I did not notice any warning indicators on the dash display. Fortunately there were no vehicles closely behind me so there was little risk of an accident this time! Due to this incident, I have not used adaptive cruise since nor have I taken the vehicle to a dealer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 08, 2021
StateWI
Description
The power running board on the passenger side is malfunctioning. Twice it has opened and then started shutting with the door open and my child's good on it, almost closing with their foot in it. I have taken it to the dealer but they could not replicate the issue. I am taking it in again next week. The vehicle was not turned on and was in park.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 28, 2021
StateTX
Description
While the vehicle is stationary, I am standing at the back with the liftgate open and the liftgate starts to close.
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateApr 21, 2021
StateVA
Description
The vehicle shakes/vibrates when driving over 65mph, gets worse the faster you go. Seems worse in the middle of the vehicle. Took it to ford dealer we purchased from and they couldn't find an issue, just said its something with the tires or rims. Took it to local ford dealer and same thing, said it was rims or tires giving vibration. Brand new vehicle!! Should be a smooth ride, and dealer has no idea why it does this, and has no solutions other than good luck. Started last summer, after the vehicle was towed. Dealers didn't notice any damage or anything notable underneath the vehicle.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 25, 2021
StateFL
Description
We are only doing pickup orders as we have had covid. We park our vehicle and turn the vehicle off and open the lift gate while waiting for the delivery to be placed in the back of the vehicle. Once delivery is complete, lift gate will only close a few inches and the horn beeps twice. This happens over and over again until we get out and close the lift gate manually. Our local dealer we just purchased the vehicle from has tried to fix this issue, however, ford has advised us that the vehicle has to be either kept running, or turned on to close the lift gate. After trying this process, our sons in the 3rd row have been getting nauseous from the fumes. Ford also states in the user manual that the lift gate should be fully closed to prevent fumes from entering the vehicle. We have videos of the lift gate stopping and horn beeping that we can not send but are available if we are contacted.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 17, 2021
StateMS
Description
2020 expedition. Caught on fire spontaneously and burned down
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 30, 2020
StateOK
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 ford expedition. The contact stated that while the vehicle was stationary in the driveway after being started remotely, while entering the vehicle, the contact stated that the rear windshield shattered independently. The contact called mainer ford (1724 234th st nw, okarche, ok 73762, (405) 267-9827) and the dealer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was taken to local body shop where the rear windshield was replaced. The contact also stated she experienced some unstated electrical issues with the vehicle. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 21, 2020
StatePA
Description
On october 19, 2020 my husband and I were traveling on i295 south near jacksonville, florida when we heard an extremely loud explosion similar to a gunshot inside the ford expedition. The noise was so jarring my husband jerked the steering wheel but quickly gained control. We were lucky there weren't any cars in the left lane because we could have caused an accident. We weren't sure what had happened. As we quickly assessed the situation, we could hear the sound of glass cracking above us. The sun visor above us was closed as well as the sunroof. There was no damage to the sun visor, but we made the assumption that the sunroof was the cause of the loud bang and the sound of glass cracking so we kept the visor closed. If the sunroof cover was open we would have been covered in broken glass. We exited the highway as quickly as possible. We drove into the jacksonville chrysler dodge jeep ram westside dealership in jacksonville fl, that was just off the highway and that is when we saw the sunroof had a large hole in it and the glass was continuing to shatter and disintegrate. It was clear from the way the glass was broken on the sunroof that it was as if the glass was blown outward from the vehicle and not caused by something hitting it from outside from above. Also there was no damage to the interior visor of the vehicle. We had not gone under a overpass and there were no cars in front of us and no other damage to the exterior of the vehicle. *having difficulty uploading images so if they aren't visible please contact us.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 09, 2020
StateGA
Description
Back up camera stopped giving any warning and distance to objects. If not aware of this it could cause the car to strike and object or another vehicle.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateSep 29, 2020
StateLA
Description
New vehicle purchase on 9/10/20, owner noticed headlight beams were possibly misaligned approximately 9/22/20 in a well lit city. Misalignment was confirmed when traveling from a town with less lighting on 9/26/20. Driver noticed misalignment causes delayed reaction time as hills, curves, and road signs were not visible. Contacted dealership to report issue on 9/28/20. Dealership scheduled appointment to remedy issue for 10/15/20.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Steering
DateSep 25, 2020
StateAK
Description
At 1000k miles the electrical panels on the car lit up like a christmas tree. When it was pulled over and placed into park, it jumped. We called the dealer to be told it was a glitch and would work itself out. The next time, we took pictures and they misdiagnosed it twice. The third time, they saw it and did a bandaid repair and now say they have to dissamble and rebuild the car's electrical system, including dropping fuel tanks and other major components to get there. They are evaluating whether or not they "buy back" the car and we take a large depreciation hit and the months it took to repair it. It was 1000 miles when it happened and they should have offered a full refund. Now we have a car of questionalbe integrity, they did not let us know how bad the problem was at the bandaid repair stage, and now want to charge us for a factor defect. This is after we bought a truck that developed the ford "death wobble" and returned the vehicle at a loss. We had a suburban for 20 years and no issues. Ford, while facing multiple lawsuits on many cars, will not own up to factory mistakes. 3 misdiagnosis and then a bandaid fix without accountability of how extensive the problem was with the vehicle. Ford corporate did not ask for pictures and refused to give us email address contact information for the legal department. Ridiculou
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 24, 2020
StateLA
Description
While driving on a clear day on the interstate (no other cars around me) the rear portion of the vista panoramic sunroof exploded, sending glass everywhere.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateFeb 12, 2020
StateAR
Description
2020 ford expedition. Consumer writes in regards to panoramic moon roof exploding while driving. *ld *js

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Michelle L

    My 2020 expedition has electrical issues and also transmission problems. At one point we put it in forward and it went in reverse. I’ve discussed with the service department and they seem to not be concerned. It is so scary when I am driving and everything just goes black for the electrical issues. I only have 12,000 miles on this car. I don’t know what to do.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.