2019 BMW X5 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, poor vehicle structure and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 BMW X5 is a luxury SAV that’s meant to take over the market. The automaker even claims that the newest lineup stands for “confidence never detours,” but owners are wishing they had gone a different route. This vehicle suffers from a faulty electrical system, a defective powertrain, a poorly-built structure and dangerous wheels.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes BMW pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 BMW X5

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Steering
14
Unknown Or Other
8
Service Brakes
7
Engine
6
Electrical System
5
Power Train
4
Air Bags
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Electronic Stability Control
2
Air Bags:sensor:occupant Classification
1

Problems with the Electrical System

With a high-end vehicle such as the X5, it’s expected that the best electronics will also be used. However, BMW struggles to get even the basic systems to work correctly.

Here’s one Edmunds review that airs some complaints. “I’ve been driving BMW’s since 1999 and have never had any type of mechanical or electrical issues or problems. This cannot be said about the 2019 X5. Mechanically the car is perfect. There have been at least 5 recalls one this vehicle for electronic issues associated with the new iDrive7. BMW has repeatedly blamed Apple for poor integration of the Apple Car Play feature. That’s all well and good.  However I purchased from BMW; not Apple.I wanted to trade out to an X3, which in 2019 still utilized the iDrive 6. For 2020, it’s the iDrive 7. Talking  to BMW technicians has indicated this is a widespread problem across all the BMW lines that use iDrive 7.”

It turns out that BMW has issued several electrical system recalls. The first, NHTSA Campaign Number 18V732000 states that the capacitors in the Body Domain Controller are short-circuiting and overheating. This only increases the chance of a vehicle fire. Another recall, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V684000, says that the backup camera isn’t working properly in many vehicles. Without this technology, owners are at risk for an accident. Whether the X5 backs into someone or it goes up in a blaze of glory, it’s true that owners no longer have the “confidence” that BMW promises.

Problems with the Transmission

Since the beginning of cars, transmissions have been upgraded and slowly perfected. After all this time, one would think that BMW would know how to create a quality powertrain, but that’s not the case.

Look at this Edmunds review. “I bought a brand new 2019 BMW X5 and since the moment I drove it off the lot, there have been problems. I have had transmission problems, my wheel makes a loud clicking noise whenever I turn right and I’ve had a myriad of electrical problems (including my engine being disabled bc it couldn’t detect my key in the car) I have 1,000 miles on the car and it’s already on day 20 in the shop (and counting). During all of these issues, BMW has given me two separate loaners BOTH of which had some of the aforementioned problems. In addition, my friend bought the same exact car a week after me and they have already gotten a new one due to the lemon law. It seems to me that these models have MAJOR issues that BMW don’t know how to handle.”

Sadly, there have been no communications from the company about transmission-related problems. Instead, owners are left to figure out the problems on their own. It might be better for owners to run out their lease agreements by turning the X5 into a lawn ornament and cutting their losses. At least they would have “confidence” knowing that no major incidents would occur while behind the wheel.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

Anyone that owns a 2019 BMW X5 knows that it’s not cheap. Yet, the materials and construction lead people to believe that it’s a budget-friendly option.

Just read this Edmunds review. “This thing is a beautifully designed piece of junk that will not hold up.  More plastic parts than ever. Who wants a radiator that can’t take the heat? I have had seven BMWs over the years and the 2019 X5 is a joke. I predict plunging aftermarket values and a lot of unhappy customers.  Oh, and if you need air conditioning, forget it.   The system is so poorly designed it can’t cool five cubic feet.”

It turns out that BMW didn’t even put time into creating a decent seat belt system. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V096000 states that the attachment bolts used for the driver’s seat and seat belt were tightened incorrectly. This problem also leads to a chance of injury if a crash were to occur. BMW wants customers to believe that “confidence never detours,” but many owners believe it’s time to switch brands completely. BMW doesn’t seem to put the needs of the occupants first. Instead, it’s pocketing lots of money for premium vehicles that aren’t made to high-end standards.

Problems with the Wheels

There’s a lot of discussion recently about the run-flat tires on the 2019 BMW X5. Customers aren’t happy to have a vehicle without a spare tire, but that’s the way BMW wants it.

Just look at this argument left on a BMW Forum. “Added problem is having a spare to match the non-runflats. With this car, the spare most likely won’t fit in the spare-tire space either. It will take up all of my cargo space in that case.”

It seems there is nowhere for customers to even put a spare tire if they wanted one and the run-flat tires are continually failing. However, the wheels themselves are just as bad. Another recall, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V541000, says that the wheel bolts were tightened properly and can loosen with driving. Eventually, these wheels can detach from the vehicle and cause an accident.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes BMW pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryAir Bags, Air Bags:sensor:occupant Classification
DateNov 22, 2022
StatePA
Description
I received notification that my passenger restraint system has a malfunction. The car threw up a code, I received a phone call and text message from the dealer. I thought this was important so I took the car to the dealer. They said the detection mat needs replace and the cost would be 11. 00. The dealer asked me if something spilled on it? The answer was no. I believe this is a safety defect an a recall should be initiated!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
Since february of this year, my x5 has suddenly gone into neutral gear while driving in stop and go traffic on multiple occasions over the past 3 months. This incident first started on 2/26/2022, wherein my car abruptly went into neutral, coming to a complete stop in the midst of heavy stop and go traffic, while approaching george washington bridge. This happened twice within a 20 minute interval during that same trip. The car wouldn't start back again for several minutes each time. Following this, I took my x5 to my local dealership to get it checked out. The dealership kept the car for a few days, ran some tests, but were unable to replicate the issue. The car was subsequently released to me. (ref: dealership service invoice dated 3/8/2022) the exact issue recurred on 5/22/2022, again in heavy stop and go traffic, approaching george washington bridge. This time the car wouldn't start for more than 10-15 minutes. Following this, I had to call 911 to help me out. The car eventually started after 20 minutes. I took it back to the same dealership. Once again, the issue couldn't be replicated. However, after consulting with the factory technicians, the dealership replaced the gear shifter. (ref: dealership service invoice dated 6/8/2022) unfortunately, this exact issue recurred on 6/24/2022 – heavy stop and go traffic, on the approach to whitestone bridge. The car abruptly went into neutral from drive mode, stopped completely and wouldn't start back again for a few minutes. Please note that the automatic start/stop (msa) system on the vehicle was always set to off. It is a miracle I did not get into an accident when this issue manifested each time. I have made yet another appointment with my local dealer for 7/11/2022 to re-evaluate the issue. In the meanwhile, I called the main office at bmw usa and got a case started as well.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 03, 2022
StateGA
Description
The car has a faulty cup holder that allows fluid to leak. Below the cup holder is crash module, which controls the airbags and all the safety restraint system. I had a minor amount of fluid leak. This caused corrosion on the ascm module. Bmw is fighting me in paying for this. Based on my research there have been hundreds of incidents and a class action lawsuit. This is clearly a defect in design. If this would have happened when I was driving with an accident that followed, none of the safety equipment would have worked thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 31, 2022
StateTX
Description
About a year ago, coffee began leaking from below from a paper cup in the plastic cupholder of my x5. I immediately noticed it and cleaned it up. Approximately 1-2 ounces of liquid leaked into the plastic cupholder. On may 11, 2022, the passenger restraint system faulted and the light came on. The vehicle was inspected by bmw of austin and stated that liquid seeped onto the airbag control module and some of the pins were corroded. This would not be covered by the warranty as it was deemed an "external" factor that caused the failure. The estimate to fix this issue and get the airbag functioning again is text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green",005. 00. Bmw placed the airbag control module right under the plastic cupholder, and does not seal the plastic cupholder or the important airbag control module right under the plastic cupholder. Luckily, the airbag system did not automatically stop the vehicle as has been the case with other vehicles- x7 and x5. This is a design failure that bmw is aware of that leaves its customers at risk of injury due to the airbag system faulting. This issue is ongoing and affects all x5 and x7 models. Bmw needs to provide a remedy to this design and safety flaw. Owners should not have to pay text="Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm" smalltext="Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win." img="balance" color="green",000 to remedy. There is a class action lawsuit filed in december 2021 for this exact issue.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 08, 2022
StateWI
Description
I recently acquired a 2019 bmw x5. When I requested seat belt extenders as your web site suggests, "if you need a roomier belt, contact your vehicle manufacturer to obtain seat belt extenders." my dealer told me that they "cannot get them." I contacted bmw corporate customer services and while the gentleman I have been dealing with is trying and is very courteous, he can't seem to find any information. I regularly transport two people who cannot use the seatbelt and I am concerned for their safety.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 16, 2021
StateCO
Description
Traveling west on I-70 at the eagle colorado exit the brakes failed as we pulled off the highway the brakes failed. Went up the ramp at 50-60 mph. Missed the cars waiting to enter the round-a-bout and went over a decorative divider about 3 feet high. Went in the air and was then traveling on the wrong side of street. Saw a fireplug and hit it at 20-30 mph and that stopped us. No airbags deployed at either hit. Four in the car and no serious medical issues, just soreness. Had police and fire test the brakes to show they didn't work. Obviously the air bags hadn't deployed. Filed police report with eagle city, 2021-000417 and aig insurance report 80255229. Car was declared totaled.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 11, 2021
StateIN
Description
Driving my vehicle and on my screen popped up driver seat restraint malfunction, also rear seat restraint malfunction please go to closest dealership. I bring my vehicle to bmw dealership in my town and rep calls me and advise that the cup holders sit above the srs wiring and that liquid gets thru the cup holders and dripped on to the wires causing them to no longer work. This is a design flaw I have never spilled a drink in my cup holder and even if someone did on accident why is the airbag wires not covered in plastic if going below cup holders that leak any type of liquid. I am unable to afford, I do have warranty however bmw stating that this is an outside interferance and will not be covered under warranty, so I am having to drive with no airbags. I researched and many others are having same issue with this same year and make different models. This is something that definatly needs to be recalled as it is a design flaw and a safety hazard.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 09, 2021
StateCA
Description
Over the 2 years of ownership I had about 5 incident where I lost control of my 2019 bmw x5 40i. The specific trim was xline with standard brake option. It occurred rather randomly so I was not able to identify the pattern to reproduce. Right after the ignition to leave a parking space (and while still holding the brake since starting the car) the car would push my foot up and I would lose control of the brake. After a few seconds of desperate tries to press the brake, I was able to stop the car from drifting backwards as I engaged "park" gear. Similar situation occurred and each time I was fortunate that there wasn't a car directly heading towards me. However I experienced this life threatening experience and bmw seems to acknowledge with their service bulletin of "sib 34 04 19" but no fix was given to me.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 15, 2021
StateGA
Description
While I was driving the car alone around 7:30pm 5/13/2021 on the way to a restaurant, after I pushed the gas pedal to pass another car (accelerated to about 50mile-55mile/hr), the car all of a sudden accelerated on itself. I noticed right away after my right foot moved away from the gas pedal (from 50 to 55 then up to 65mile/hr, I stopped my observation since it was getting too fast). I have to constantly hit the brake pedal to reduce the speed for about a mile or two. After I reached the next traffic light, I had to push the brake pedal very hard to make the car fully stop, so I decided to switch the transmission from d to p to see if it could get out of acceleration problem. Once I switched to park, I tried to switch it back to drive mode, however the car did not respond and stayed in parking mode. I then tried to turn off the engine and turned it back two to three times, it just didn't allow me to change back to drive mode. I also noticed that the car made a lot of noise since it accelerated on its own. I realized it was too dangerous to sit in the car in front of the traffic light even with the emergency light on. So I decided to turn it off and left the car. I smelled a very strong burning smell even though I quickly moved away from the car. I waited on the street side for about 2-3 minutes and went back to the car, I was finally able to switch to d mode and drove away slowly. I had similar problem happened last year around october for 3-4 times (not as bad as it was today, I can turn engine off and turn it back on, it will return to normal) and I brought the car back to bmw dealership (bmw at gwinnett place in duluth ga, where I bought the car in nov 2019) and they won't be able to create the problem. The technician just told me to drive slowly (25-35mile/hr for the first 3-4 min) everyday at the beginning. I recorded two videos at the traffic light.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 08, 2021
StateTX
Description
We left our residence to take our kids to school when the operating portion of the sunroof exploded. We were traveling at around 65 mph through a rural road with the sunroof closed. Clear skies, no rain. At first we thought something had fallen through but there was nothing inside except shards of glass. When we were able to pull over, we inspected the vehicle for signs of external damage but then noticed the leftover glass was protruding outward.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateApr 07, 2021
StateCA
Description
My brand new bmw x 5 could not be stopped on the traffics time in am this happened two times bmw doesn't want to help me this car not safe and dangerous to drive makes a lots of mounded from the engine and cannot stop the car
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateMar 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was driving on 10 freeway west 750 am on 2/23 there was traffics everybody was behaving I was keeping distance of at least 2-3 car distance all of sudden my car accelerated making a loud noise from the hood my foot was on the brakes but I could not stop the car I hit from car my foot was althe way on the brakes I let it go after the impact bmw doesn't not want to take responsibility I have a police report from me and from driver that we had a good distance between two cars it was at the baldwin park city on 10 freeway
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 16, 2021
StatePA
Description
Vehicle has had the main driver gauges/dash cluster randomly turn off with no warning while driving, multiple times a day now for the last several months, with instances happening at all sorts of speeds and on local roads and highways. There appears to be no way to recover the electronic dash cluster until the vehicle is left to fully shut off for a few minutes and then restarted. Bmw service as well as bmwna have attempted to assist in 8+ service visits and have not been able to rectify what's a clear safety hazard, as it has led to multiple near accidents now. This started in january 2020, when the vehicle was relatively new (
CategoryEngine
DateMar 13, 2021
StateCA
Description
Our vehicle is in for the 4th visit for a persistent oil leak. The first 2 visits resulted in a vehicle inspection and cleaning of engine area with no leak found, stating is was most likely left over oil from messy oil change. The 3rd visit resulted in replacing the rear main seal and problem was resolved per dealer. Vehicle continued to leak after we brought it home. 4th visit resulted in replacing oil pan gasket but leaks are now popping up in other areas. Bmw engineer has been requested by dealer. In th process the vehicle was damaged for the second time by the dealer requiring body work/paint.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 23, 2020
StateNY
Description
2 months after purchasing the vehicle a rattling sound comes up when I start the vehicle I took it in for servicing and I'm told they don't find the problem, but it sounds like something is loose. Finally, my dashboard goes blue after long drives. Again, this was reported and pictures were taken and I'm told they can't find a problem. *tr
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJun 02, 2020
StateCO
Description
This vehicle was purchased in august of 2019 and has had this problem from day one. The dash display and information display next to the dash are hard to see during the day. The clusters can get very dim and you have to stare at it for several seconds to see what you need to see. This is dangerous while driving. I've had it at the dealer and have call bmw of north america on this as well and they have not fixed the problem. They blame it on the window tint that they did and at the same time indicate no one else that got the window tint have this problem. *tr
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 16, 2020
StateNY
Description
The wipers over shoot hitting the pilar. I have switched my wipers three times in one year; I thought the wipers where of poor quality but everyone in the forums complains that the wipers jump certain sections in the windshield and then overshoot hitting the pilar. It? S incredibly difficult to drive in the rain due to this problem. There are going to be serious accidents because when your in a city managing with traffic and pedestrians and you can? T see right in front of you because that? S part of what the wiper misses . *tr
CategoryEngine, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 06, 2020
StateNC
Description
Bmw auto start/stop will turn off engine before the car comes to a complete stop causing a loss of steering. This can happen up to while the car is still moving as high as 5mph, often occurs between 3-1 mph when coming to a stop. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Suspension
DateMar 02, 2020
StateCO
Description
I am writing to ask for your assistance in my matter of my 2019 bmw x5 i40 suv, which unfortunately has been repaired 6 times for numerous electronic stability control, electrical, and suspension failures serviced at 3 different bmw colorado dealerships. The vehicle was purchased new with lease june 2019, and continuously reported & experienced failures/issues by owner, numerous passengers, including multiple bmw service managers: engine buttons not turning off the engine intermittently, or not turning off the vehicle electrical power. After high acceleration on a interstate highway coming to a complete stop the engine would terminate and thereby having to quickly place the vehicle into park to restart the engine, this had to be done rapidly due to high speed traffic. Vehicle would repeat issue on rural roadway stops, but not as often on interstate above 60mph. Gps had software malfunctions after being repaired 2x for electrical stability issues this continued to malfunction then corrected at an alternative bmw dealership. Side assist alerts and notifications were continuing to fail after 4-5 attempts to remedy. Key fab would fail to communicate and fail to lock vehicle after several attempts to fix by bmw. Vehicle software programming would not maintain consistency with various component response for back doors, trunk/tailgate failure to respond most importantly vehicle power overall. Finally, the vehicle has suspension issues, still a concern this could have been caused by the numerous times under bmw repair shops being lifted by pressurized components; or when it was initially delivered off the truck from manufacturer to dealership? The vehicle is defective & has been defective since purchased. This is considered a lemon per the colorado lemon laws, in addition per the numerous bmw service managers who have repaired the defective vehicle.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 31, 2020
StateTX
Description
I parked my car in my garage, turned it off (the electronics powered down inside the car), and went inside. Approximately 4. 5 hours later, my carbon monoxide detectors went off. I searched the home for the source and when I opened my garage door I discovered my vehicle engine had been running for about 4. 5 hours in the closed the garage. I attempted to turn the engine off, but it did not work. I had to power the car on before it would then allow me to turn the vehicle off, including the engine. It was very scary. I have also made a report to the dealership I purchased the car from.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 22, 2019
StateHI
Description
I was driving about 25 to 35 mph when the emergency action system got activated that I was possibly going to get something in front of me there were no cars in front of the vehicle I almost got rear-ended and almost broke my finger on the steering wheel as it turned around. The vehicle stopped for absolutely no reason. It stopped like it was going to crash into something. This could've killed me as this was very dangerous. I have drop this off at the bmw dealer and they have no idea what happened.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 11, 2019
StateCA
Description
Sunroof exploded. On freeway driving approx 70 mph. No debris in road, not near over pass, weather clear and 65 degrees. Loud bang like a gun shot, sun screen was closed so it kept most glass out of vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 21, 2019
StateMN
Description
Intermittently and without explanation the vehicle cannot be started using normal procedure even though the key fob is on the driver's person. Since the vehicle was purchased new in april 2019, the dealership has had five opportunities to address this problem without success. I have been instructed that should the vehicle fail to start normally, retrieve the fob; lock and unlock the vehicle using the key fob and then start the vehicle using the fob which (dealership language here) has been "awakened." as a semi disabled 73 year old male this necessitates that I exit the vehicle and, in standing position, create the ability to remove the key fob from my front pant pocket in order to follow the procedure to "awaken" the key fob for purposes of starting the vehicle. I can think of any number of situations in which this could create a hazardous situation and am therefore submitting the problem to ntsb for review.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 29, 2019
StateSC
Description
Driving on I-95, dashboard displayed: "vehicle on fire." immediate call to bmw. No such icon or possible entry in bmw vehicles (2 dealerships). Drive to dealership and diagnostics run with no issue with system. Bmw maintains that no such diagnostic code or warning to customers ever employed in any bmw vehicle.
CategorySteering
DateSep 21, 2019
StateNY
Description
When driving the vehicle under 30 degrees f, the steering will pull left or right on its own, causing the vehicle to slide in slippery conditions. Speed does not matter and it will pull/twitch the steering right consistently or sometimes left. Very unsettling and extremely dangerous with no fix available. Car will do this from speeds of 1-65 mph.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 20, 2019
StateFL
Description
Issue: my right hand rests often rests on the shift lever while driving. Six to seven times my braking has inadvertently caused the shift lever to move forward to neutral without my realizing it. Then, when I attempt to accelerate I am not moving when traffic approaching from the rear anticipates my movement. Twice there has been very close calls to me getting struck from the rear. This is dangerous! My other car (lincoln mkt) requires the shift lever release trigger be depressed before I can move the shift lever. This is not the case in this bmw. Please advise.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJul 24, 2019
StateNJ
Description
While I was driving the vehicle it suddenly felt as if the car downshifted aggressively and at the same time I lost power steering, power brakes, and my hud for speedometer, etc. The car displayed several warnings simultaneously as well.
CategorySteering
DateJul 15, 2019
StatePA
Description
Vehicle has aggressive steering corrections/intervention. The vehicle is difficult to keep in the lane due to steering wheel play/wobble.
CategorySteering
DateJun 27, 2019
StateNJ
Description
The vehicle has had erroneous, extreme, and unexpected behaviors related to the active driving assistant features. Where the system activates too early, too late, or unexpectedly. After vehicle was delivered in november 2018 the car took an uncommanded left turn nearly hitting the moveable concrete barrier traveling westbound on the walt whitman bridge during heavy rain. Car was returned to the dealership. Was advised to turn off active steering intervention as a sub-feature of lane departure warning. System remained off. On june 10th the active steering intervention was reactivated and pulled the vehicle into another lane of traffic that would have resulted in a crash if the driver of the other vehicle had not pulled off into the side median. The active steering intervention was checked 'off' and should not have activated and there were no visual cues that the system was on, active, and could take control of the vehicle. Car was returned to the service department. Shop foreman drove and confirmed the same action. Took vehicle back, and still can activate steering intervention when it is in the 'off' position. Service manager said that bmw engineering has confirmed that this is how the system was designed. Automation that was not properly disclosed killed 300+ people in 2 separate aircraft accidents. This vehicle does not notify, disclose or in any way warn the driver that an automated system may take control and if this is the design of the vehicle it is not safe and could cause serious injury or death.
CategorySteering
DateApr 22, 2019
StateIL
Description
During cold temperatures, the steering has a twitch which causes small movements left and right without any manual input. It has the feel that it is receiving inputs from a sensor or other system, which requires override by the driver. It creates a dangerous situation.
CategorySteering
DateApr 20, 2019
StateKS
Description
1) several instances of driving at highway speeds in dry conditions, the steering drifts slightly to the left and right requiring constant steering corrections. I have the steering wheel centered in the lane but the car will slightly drift in one direction, once corrected it will drift in the other direction. It doesn't happen all the time but is noticeable when it does. Wind and road crown were not a factor. It reminds me of cars built in the 1970's that had a bit of "play" in the steering. 2) x5 was parked outside on a road trip through des moines in early february. Overnight temperatures were in the mid-teens. Departing the next morning and immediately driving (dry road conditions) on the highway the steering wheel had slight jerking movements taking the car left or right at highway speeds. You could definitely feel the movement in the steering and it required constant adjustment. This went away after about 15 minutes. It appears the steering is receiving uncommanded inputs from sensors or software which is unsettling when it occurs.
CategorySteering
DateMar 25, 2019
StateNY
Description
Steering is always moving either right or left. Will never stay in center feels kind of filmsy. When turning car sometimes slips and will change direction of wheel and affect acceleration
CategorySteering
DateMar 11, 2019
StateIA
Description
When temperatures are
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateMar 07, 2019
StateNY
Description
When the car has sat outside and the cold the steering is very loose causing the car to be unresponsive to turning. The driver assist is almost no. Functional turns on and off on its own. Shutting down the blind spot awareness as well as front collision auto braking
CategorySteering
DateMar 04, 2019
StateNY
Description
During very cold conditions (below 10 degrees fahrenheit), the vehicle's steering feels loose, numb and disconnected. At first I thought it was an issue with the driver assistance systems/lane keep assist. I turned all those systems off and the issue persisted. When conditions became warmer, the issue went away. It has only occurred in extreme cold. My bmw dealer advised that they were aware of the issue and that the service manager's vehicle is doing a same thing. They indicated that bmw advises a software update is forthcoming, but when? We have had a number of issues with this vehicle since delivery in november. All software related, and none have been corrected by updates yet. The rest of them are annoyances, unacceptable yes, but this steering issue is a safety issue. It is concerning that it exists in the first place and shocking that weeks later, it still has not been addressed. Other owners are reporting the same issue in owners' forums.
CategorySteering
DateMar 04, 2019
StateMN
Description
When the vehicle is operated in cold temperatures (
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateMar 03, 2019
StateMI
Description
#1: steering wheel jerks from side to side almost like a twitch in very cold weather on a cold start. Almost feels like driving on ice. Taken to dealer twice and they said "bmw is aware of this issue and not sure on eta for fix". Unacceptable and unsafe in cold climates. #2: automatic emergency braking doesn't work. I've had multiple instances when the car did not respond to emergency situations. Both on city streets and highway driving
CategorySteering
DateMar 03, 2019
StateMN
Description
In temperatures below 15 degrees, the steering becomes erratic and will push the car is directions when driving at lower speeds (below 35). At higher speeds on freeways the steering is requires constant adjustments, vehicle feels like it is driving through high winds. Both situations are dangerous.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 03, 2019
StateMN
Description
The drivers assist system disables itself frequently in colder and snowy weather. This removes a number of safety systems from the vehicle.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 04, 2019
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 bmw x5. While driving 35 mph, "leveler select defect" appeared on the instrument panel followed by "transmission defect, do not turn vehicle off". The contact stated that the vehicle was able to shift into drive, neutral, and reverse, but could not shift into park. In addition, the service transmission warning indicator illuminated. When the vehicle was finally able to be placed into park, it automatically shut off and would not restart. The vehicle was taken to davis automotive group (6135 kruse drive, solon, ohio 44139, (440) 542-0600) where it was diagnosed that the entire gear shift and transmission needed to be replaced. The dealer was unable to restart the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact filed a complaint with the corporate office. The contact was awaiting a response from bmw. The failure mileage was 860.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • David w

    Have a 2012 BMW X5 xdrive50i, live in California where there is a lot of rain. Seem like water leaked into the light housing in the back and into the fuses because dashboard does not light up now and battery discharge has been up constantly. And not sure because of battery issue water pump seems like not working or the aux fan. Not sure if the dealership won’t Notice low battery level when I brought it for repairs they recommended for high price. But I parked it at home after feeling not so right. And dealerships said I need to change the axle boots and sway bar because of crack I barely see and car still don’t drive straight after replacing it. I found out later there is a extended warranty for the driveshaft not sure if it has anything to do with car not driving straight. I feel all the recalls they put out should be for all of the BMW X5 of those year. And when I contacted the dealership, they just try to deny responsibility and said if I had the car fixed anywhere else they aren’t reliAble.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.