2019 Audi A7 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, vehicle speed control and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 Audi A7 claims to provide exceptional beauty and sleek styling. Even the automaker labeled the newer models as “iconic since day one,” but owners think it will be known for its defects more than anything else. From the glitchy electrical system to the defective powertrain and issues with the vehicle speed control, this company has a lot to answer for.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Audi pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Audi A7

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
7
Power Train
6
Unknown Or Other
4
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Structure:body
2
Engine
2
Steering
1
Back Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
1
Visibility/wiper
1

Problems with the Electrical System

Today’s luxury cars are constructed with sophisticated electrical systems that run just about everything. However, when something goes wrong, it becomes a real nuisance.

That’s precisely what this Edmunds review discusses. “Our two month old 2019 Audi A7 had to be towed to the dealer leaving us stranded 200 miles from home. Had low tire pressure warning several times — dealer checked it out and said everything was fine. The check engine light had been on for a couple of weeks, which the dealer said could wait till we got back from our trip. Had a brief message about some system failing, had very slow acceleration, which we understand was a turbo problem. Closing the sunroof takes multiple attempts — just before closing the sunroof keeps retracting.”

One of the most popular areas for service bulletins on this vehicle is the electrical system. In fact, there are already 80 bulletins, including #A9419142056219_1, which discusses the need to repair a wiring harness that is causing DTCs to set on cars without a suspension control module. From the crazy warning messages to sunroofs with a mind of their own, this car is one major malfunction and not worth the additional expense to owners that drive it. Even a cheap Chevy or Ford would function better than this luxury model.

Problems with the Transmission

When it comes to the powertrain, the main component is the transmission. This part is responsible for creating a smooth-shifting experience, which should be a given with a luxury brand such as Audi, but it’s not.

Look at this NHTSA complaint. “I got this brand new car. However, it has major defects pertaining to Drive Shift, Auto Shut, sensors, speedometer and the virtual cockpit. I was driving on Freeway 5 southbound when I shifted the gear from ‘D’ to ‘S’ and it went into Neutral and it lost power. There were cars behind me who were honking and scared for my life. The car was brand new when I got it; I got the car on 11/29/2019. I drove it for only three weeks before I started to have issues with the virtual cockpit, where it blacks out. The speedometer blacks out completely and I wouldn’t even know the speed of my car. Upon these issues and the other related issues related to Virtual Cockpit, I took the car back to the dealership. The dealership kept the car for two and returned the car back to me on 1/18/2020. I started experiencing issues with the auto/shut as when the car gets stopped at a signal. It doesn’t start and have to restart the car and later I had issues with Drive Shift going into Neutral when I shift from ‘D’ Drive Mode to ‘S’ Sports Mode on freeway.”

This owner doesn’t know what to do with the overpriced paperweight sitting in his driveway. Sadly, it turns out that there are even larger powertrain issues than even what’s been shown through the complaint. Audi issued Service Bulletin #A3019252053597_3, which states that there could be a leak that needs to be repaired coming from the lower bellhousing. These are just not issues that should be occurring on a new vehicle, especially one that’s supposed to be made with premium parts. It appears that this model is going to go down in history as an iconic failure.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

With today’s modern equipment, there should be no trouble getting a vehicle to travel at the speed intended, but this A7 really seems to struggle.

One more Edmunds review states, “I purchased the 2019 A7 premium plus. In the four months since ownership, the vehicle had a few issues. Upon entering the highway from a stop, the vehicle rolled backwards and the rear view camera turned on. On another occasion, the vehicle braked unexpectedly. There were also warning lights and error messages that would come on, but when you restart the vehicle, the messages would go away.”

Again, Audi has issued plenty of documentation, showcasing multiple concerns. One such communication, Service Bulletin #A911930 2053776 states that some cars are equipped with adaptive driving assistance that can’t be activated or isn’t available at all. It turns out that the technicians have to perform a software update in order to get it running correctly. At this point, it would appear that this Audi model has a mind of its own, but it’s leading owners astray and putting them at risk for an accident. It won’t be long before these models are taking up space at the local junkyards.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Audi pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 06, 2022
StateLA
Description
My vehicle had a complete electrical failure, when caused everything to shut down. The engine, door locks, hazards, power steering, e brake, etc. Were all inoperable. On sunday, nov 20th, I received a yellow warning light that said, "electrical system malfunction, please contact service." I parked the car and called the dealer the following morning to ask how sever this warning was (could I drive the car or does this require a tow?). They advised me to bring the car in. While heading to the dealership, I received several other warning lights in rapid succession: electrical system malfunction, safely stop vehicle; parking aid malfunction, transmission malfunction, rear spoiler malfunction, and others. The vehicle died about 30 seconds after these warning lights appeared. I was on the highway in morning rush hour traffic at the time, but I was in the right lane and was able to coast to an off-ramp and park on the side of the road. With little to no control over the car, I could have easily been in accident. The dealer has confirmed that the cause was the start-stop generator, which caused a fault in the mild hybrid system and 48v battery. The car is still "bricked" and located at audi new orleans. It is available for inspection if needed (parts are not expected anytime soon).
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Steering
DateNov 29, 2022
StateTN
Description
I had just purchased a used 2019 a7 prestige and the next day (april 1st) while coming back from an appointment 7 miles away I had five electrically related failures in a very short time frame. The last error message was ominous so I was glad I was in my driveway when it happened. When the spoiler failure happened it automatically popped up. In addition to all these failures the ac was not working. So it seems to be an electrical system wide issue. Alas, this is a known issue with the 2019 a6, a7, and a8 models. I've posted the error messages in an online audi owners site to spread the word and found many, many more people that have had this same issue. Note: the vehicle in/out mileage on the service report is incorrect. The correct numbers are 37702/37705. The car sat at the dealership for days before the repair parts arrived. There we no loaner cars available which caused additional inconvenience.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 22, 2022
StateIN
Description
I received a warning and multiple dash lights indicating electrical malfunction. Upon coming to a red stoplight, the car died and would not restart. After the light turned green, I was nearly rear-ended by a large truck traveling at ~50 mph but luckily it was able to swerve out of the way. After about 10 minutes, the car restarted but the warning messages persisted. I drove immediately to the dealership for service where they diagnosed an issue with the mild hybrid 48v battery system and starter/generator/alternator. There are no parts available and it is sitting at the dealership along with at least 12 similar vehicles with the same issue. This needs to be recalled immediately as it is a major safety issue as I was nearly in a major accident due to the issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 audi a7. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v155000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the fuel gauge indicated there was a quarter tank of fuel remaining in the fuel tank. However, after refueling the vehicle, the fuel gauge reading was inaccurate. The local dealer was contacted and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 18,500. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera
DateMay 18, 2022
StateNC
Description
Intermittent failure of back-up camera. This can cause injury or fatality to a child behind the vehicle who cannot be seen when the camera is not working. This has been reported to the local audi dealership but they say they cannot repair it unless they can reproduce the problem. I have photos of the failure notification that appears on the dashboard, what audi calls the mmi. The front camera has also failed from time to time but the rear seems to me to be the more critical. I have provided these to the dealer. Below I have given the date of one failure but it has happened on multiple occasions.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJul 31, 2020
StateCA
Description
Similar to a complaint I read above, I do often have concerns over the start/ stop system. When the hybrid system is active, it's extremely sensitive in activating (not only when cars are in front but also pedestrians just walking by. However, sometimes when stopped at a light, stop sign, etc. When I press the gas after the engine reengages, the car often has a serious lag and does not accelerate for several seconds, to the point where I have to wonder if it's actually on (it is) the concern is that drivers behind me, if not extremely cautious could rear end me. I've been honked at several times, due to this issue on normal roads. Thankfully, no incidents or accidents have occurred, but I fear it could only be a matter of time, if this persists, particularly in stop and go highway traffic.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateMD
Description
The start stop system is always active upon each driving session of the vehicle. However at times the hybrid system when it kicks in, doesn't activate the engine quickly enough so when I press the gas pedal it is not responsive and I can't propel forward. This is of concern when I'm not at a traffic light and the start stop system kicks in during stop and go traffic.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 11, 2019
StateTX
Description
Yesterday morning, while driving north on I-35 to work, there was a loud "pop" from directly above my windshield. This scared me to death! The sound was so frightening that I ducked and for a moment, I thought I had been involved in a wreck but quickly noticed nothing out of the ordinary had occurred. Typically, traffic is very heavy, only moving about 20mph. However, on this particular morning, traffic was somewhat lighter and moving about 40mph. I had clear visibility across the front window and could tell that nothing had flown in my direction. I was not trailing behind or around any suvs, dump trucks, or other large vehicles that could have kicked up a rock. I also had not driven under an overpass, so I knew nothing could have fallen from above. Once I arrived at work, I discovered the front section of my panoramic roof was cracked and shattered all the way across the width of the vehicle and pressed inward, exposing the interior lining.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 14, 2019
StateDC
Description
2019 audi a7 has throttle lag and at times severe throttle lag causing a multi second delay that put me in in the path of oncoming traffic with a near hit. At the time of this incident, the throttle lag had never been that severe but has resulted in a vehicle that I have no confidence in with respect to performance. Details: I was slowing down (1mph) and as the lane next to me cleared, I attempted to change lanes but there was like a 3 second delay. I'd thought the car had stalled and then it lunged into the adjacent lane and I almost was hit. In general, I can hear the transmission engage, but nothing happens, no acceleration without some hesitation. Frequency: throttle lag happens during almost every drive, multiple times per drive. I've taken vehicle to two dealerships and they maintain it operates as it should. While these events are frustrating, this incident described in the beginning with a few others that have matched its severity can only be described as unsafe. There is a community of people that have the same issue and thus far audi has not responded with a fix. I fear this problem may cause an accident.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 07, 2019
StateFL
Description
1st- having numerous sensor warning lights coming on at indiscriminate times while highway driving including telling me to put my hands on the wheel when they are on the wheel, cruise control sensor warning comes on and shuts of the cruise control and the lane guidance sensor comes on with warnings. I may get all three warnings appear on one 45 mile trip or I may not get any. Sometimes it's the same one 3,4 or even 5 times.. 2nd mmi screen randomly does not come on and having issues after I hang up the phone the radio will not come back on and will continue to show phone in use. I restarted the car two or three times touching the screen over an over before it finally comes on. 3) seats randomly does not remember our key fobs. 4)paint is coming off the car in different spots please note that on the drivers side real quarter panel where the paint started peeling, the peeling spots are many many inches away from each other and they are in varied spots and not in a row. 5)shuttering when trying to turn. It acts like it doesn't want to go (like somethings coming at it) and it's stopping you. This was an issue in the very first visit when a sensor had to be replaced as well as something they did to fix the headlight issues then to. 6)new - warning sensor went off saying vehicle light malfunction. We got a picture of the triangle and the exclamation point. Also there a funny light (looks like a snow flake) show 6) windshield visual of speed and all the other stuff went off and on then out before everything blipped and came back on. 7) lock sensor malfunction. All these things are happening numerous times and have been to the dealer 4 times. Found out that a stop sale from audi was issued for 2012-18 for our exact vehicle and others but ours is a 2019. This stop sale was issued because of numerous faulty sensors.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 22, 2019
StateNY
Description
From the attached audi rochester service invoice: "there is a hesitation type jerking sensation felt on take off, it is pronounced so much that it makes your head jerk. On previous visit road tested similar model vehicle and found the same jerking sensation, does not happen when driving in automatic mode [where it is always silky smooth acceleration -- as expected] in manual s-tronic shift mode, the car double jerked violently snapping both my head back and the audi rochester tech's had back. Not only was it dangerous, but I lost momentary control of the car. This becomes more pronounced on a small incline. Audi corp. Rep stated: "the car is designed this way." I asked for updated firmware since the audi rochester tech stated during that test drive: "I can't fix this hank. It needs a firmware update." jdpower also noticed something related, but less intense: https://www. Jdpower. Com/cars/expert-reviews/2019-audi-a7-review . In my opinion audi's language is purposely "cya" in a way: -"tested similar model vehicle and found the same jerking sensation" as well as audi of america's: "the car is designed this way." my audi of america [rick} complaint number is: 190808989 . Rick also refused to contact germany to see if there was a firmware update..
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateSep 26, 2019
StateCA
Description
Among many other issues, the screen that includes the speedometer goes blank during drive, backup camera doesn't work while reversing, pre-sense applied brakes on freeway while nothing was ahead and the car swerve hard on the freeway while driving at speed 65 miles/hour
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 13, 2019
StateLA
Description
Each time I use cruise control and completely out of the blue, the car will suddenly slow down and an indicator lane light will come on. I never use the lane assist so that is not the problem - I checked that first. Hands are on the wheel, attention is fully on the road and there is no driver error. I will be cruising along and the car suddenly (very suddenly!) will slow down - almost as if the engine was shutting down. I'm no longer using cruise control because of the potential danger. In addition to this issue, the virtual cockpit will go black and never works consistently I. E. The bluetooth connection and apple car play. I've spoken to my dealership and they said to call audi connect. Still no solution as to why the problem happens. Very frustrating.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
2 days after taking delivery of a 2019 a7, the transmission/sport differential light came on and indicated to shut down car immediately due a transmission problem. The car has under 300 miles on it.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 27, 2019
StateOH
Description
Purchased 2019 audi a7 brand new. Currently have approximately 2800 miles (2 month old car). Has prestige package with driver assistance option. There have been multiple instances where the driver assistance suddenly and significantly slows the car without any car/object in front. This has happened to me on multiple occasions on local roads (hasn't happened on freeway speeds yet). Usually happens 30-50mph local roads. The car/driver assistance "slams on the brakes." this can be scary and very dangerous especially when a car is behind. Second issue is that there is a significant 1-3 second lag after pressing the accelerator pedal. This is very dangerous when taking left/right turns with cars on the coming road.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 19, 2019
StateCT
Description
2019 audi a7: at a stoplight, or stop sign, where there is even the slightest incline, after my 2019 audi a7 has come to a complete stop, and the engine shuts off, when I remove my foot from the brake to engage the gas pedal, the engine does not engage immediately and the car shoots/rolls backwards. The rollback is significant enough that the rear camera turns on. Because of the lapse in time before the engine engages again, I have no control over the vehicle when this happens and am unable to keep it from shooting backwards I've spoken to my sales representative and audi's customer service, and have had the vehicle looked at by technicians at both the fairfield and danbury connecticut audi locations, and have not been given a solution to the problem. In fact, I have been told on several occasions, and have saved voicemails from audi service, that all their vehicles are doing this because of the double-clutch, that it is "completely normal," and that I would just have to adjust my driving. Because I have no control over the car when it does this, and audi is not resolving the issue for me, this is going to leave me open to liability should the car roll/shoot back into any vehicle stopped behind me, or person who may walk behind my car when I am stopped. I am frightened to drive this car for fear of injuring or killing someone, and haven't driven the car in over a month.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 24, 2019
StateCA
Description
I got this brand new car. However it has major defects pertaining to drive shift, auto shut , sensors, speedometer and the virtual cockpit. I was driving on freeway 5 south bound when I shift the gear from "d" to "s" and it went into neutral and it lost power. There were cars behind me who were honking and scared for my life. The car was a brand new when I got it, I got the car on 11/29/2019. On I drove it for only three weeks before I starting to have issues with the virtual cockpit where it blacks out. The speedometer blacks out completely and I wouldn't even know the speed of my car. Upon this issues and the other related issues related to vitual cockpit I took the car back to dealership. The dealership kept the car for two and returned the car back to me on 1/18/*2019. I started experiencing issues with the auto/shut as when the car get stopped at a signal, it doesn't start and have to restart the car and later I had issue with drive shift going into neutral when I shift it from "d" drive more to "s" sports mode on freeway. Please contact me to get more detail on it. *tr

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.