2022 Nissan Sentra Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Powertain and structure issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Originally introduced to the U.S. market in 1982, the Nissan Sentra has been one of the manufacturer’s best sellers for many years. The current model was redesigned in 2020, and it retains its popularity.

At the same time, with no design changes, it makes sense to take complaints about the previous two model years into account when assessing 2022 Nissan Sentra problems. After all, forewarned is forearmed.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2016   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Nissan pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Nissan Sentra

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
7
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
5
Steering
4
Power Train
3
Unknown Or Other
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Service Brakes
2
Wheels
2
Air Bags
2

Main Points

We have based this report on information provided by the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Here are some interesting points to note:

  • So far, there are four formal complaints about the 2022 Nissan Sentra on file with the NHTSA. These are listed under five categories, Air Bags, Electrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance, Suspension, and Unknown or Other. Several complaints cite two areas of concern.
  • All the complaints involve some sort of malfunction or failure.
  • 8 of the 23 complaints about the 2021 Nissan Sentra were about forward collision avoidance, and 6 were about the electrical system. Close to 50% of the 51 complaints about the 2020 Nissan Sentra relate to forward collision avoidance and 7 to the electrical system.
  • NHTSA’s 5-star safety ratings show that, with only three stars, the front passenger side doesn’t fare well in a head-on collision. The front driver side is rated five stars.
  • As at mid-2022 there were no recalls affecting the 2022 Sentra.
  • There are currently 18 manufacturer communications on record. These relate to 14 components, with the electrical system topping the list with 14 notifications. Most combine other components including equipment, engine and engine cooling, and forward collision avoidance.

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Nissan Sentra

As  mentioned above, the Nissan Sentra is now in its third model year. And it seems that the 2022 Sentra complaints pattern may follow in the footsteps of the 2020 and 2021 Sentras. The most common problems, as with the previous two years, are the electrical system and forward collision avoidance.

Airbags are another problem worth mentioning.

2022 Nissan Sentra Forward Collision Avoidance Problems

Even though this complaint made by a Sentra owner in Florida in May 2022 is filed under Forward Collision Avoidance, there seem to be multiple problems. These include stalling for no reason, a faulty transmission, lack of acceleration, and other issues.

“My car continuously feels like it’s going to stall out and actually is just sitting at a red light. With no warning the car just stalled on me. The throttle body has been replaced already, they reset my RPMs a different time, and just replaced the entire transmission. It’s a brand new 2022 Sentra and only had 14 miles on it when I bought it in March. I should not have had the transmission replaced already on a brand new car. Even with the transmission being replaced, the car is still wanting to stall out. This makes for very unsafe driving and could lead to an accident as well.

“It also has acceleration issues. When pressing the gas pedal it doesn’t want to go, then out of nowhere speeds up real fast. Very concerned and wondering if I’m the only person with such bad luck to be the only car owner of a brand new Sentra having this problem with my car.

“It’s been to the repair shop 4 times already and I will be going back less than a week later after having the transmission replaced. The forward collision sensor stops working when it’s raining outside as well. That’s the time you need it the most. It says it’s been disabled and the sensor is blocked even though there is nothing blocking it.”

2022 Nissan Sentra Airbag Problems

This airbag complaint is filed under Air Bags and Forward Collision Avoidance. According to the owner, the airbag warning light went on after purchase of the car in California. He took the vehicle to a dealer who replaced an airbag sensor. But this did not remedy the problem.

“Needs airbag control module that has an unknown ETA for replacement. For issue with auto braking and forward collision, was merging on freeway, and while accelerating, the dashboard warning lights activated, and the center dash communication area notified me of an error in the system.”

2022 Nissan Sentra Electrical System Problems

2022 Sentra problems relate to malfunctions.

An owner from Oklahoma states that after starting the car one day, a malfunction signal popped up “and we lost power to everything.”

A Washington DC owner was told the throttle of the car malfunctioned. ”I was driving on the highway and the car would not accelerate, the dash said (it was) malfunctioning and the cars driving beside me had to swerve around me. I took the car back to the dealership where I purchased it and was told that parts had to be ordered and that it was a throttle malfunction.

“The car has not been inspected by anyone except those at the Nissan dealership where it was purchased. There were no warning signs before the malfunction. In the middle of driving, the car slowed down and would not allow me to accelerate to match the speed of the other vehicles around me (70 MPH). As I continued to push the gas, the lights on the dash lit up and said malfunction.”

What to do if your 2022 Nissan Sentra is a Lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If you experience problems or safety issues with your 2022 Nissan Sentra, you might have bought a lemon. Generally, these issues keep recurring, and they impact your safety or use of your car.

You can try and get your dealership to rectify the problem, or you can contact Lemberg Law to do it for you. We negotiate all kinds of settlements for clients who have bought lemons, including buybacks and replacement vehicles.

Call our Helpline so that we can do a free assessment of your case. You’ll be fully covered because the law makes Nissan pay the legal fees of lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 07, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle idles low when driving and rpms rev at stops, then almost stalling. When applying the break the vehicle lunges forward. When accelerating vehicle doesn't want to move. Near misses when making left turns and in heavy traffic. Repeating and ongoing issue. Steering wheel goes limp and fails to respond.
CategorySteering
DateNov 29, 2022
StateCT
Description
While driving down the highway, the steering wheel moves slightly, almost feels like I am slipping on ice. The steering wheel gives play at that movement, you have to jerk the wheel back to keep the car driving straight. I have 13, 500 miles on the car. It just started about 2 weeks ago. I called the dealer for an inspection, they tell me no recalls on car and its my imagination. I do not want to get a high invoice for them to check this out.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
vehicle inexplicably drained the battery again. For the 10th time in 1 week. Sunday november 20, 2022. The, the vehicle does not start. I take it to the dealer's service center and they tell me there is no problem with the car or the charging system or battery.” “car will not start. Unexplained battery depletion.
CategoryPower Train, Steering
DateNov 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
While driving on the expressway the steering wheel moves slightly and feels like it is slipping. With both hands on the wheel it feels like it gives and has some play in the wheel. Happens when driving a steady pace and all of a sudden there is movement in the wheel. Coincidentally there is a shudder in the front end around the same time, almost feels like something is slipping or about to give out.
CategorySeat Belts, Seats
DateNov 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Passenger seatbelt is hard to use and difficult to insert, due to the it resting below the seat itself. It is also difficult to release because it is lower than the seat and close close to the center console.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Parking brake fails to engage the first few times and when attempting to engage it the rpms rev high. System seems confused and thinks it's still driving hence the difficulty for the brake to be applied (mostly on an incline). In other instances the parking brake disengages on its own after the vehicle is turned off. Something isn't right. Dealership can't duplicate because no incline exists.
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateNov 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Rattling noise coming from front passenger side, while turning and going over speed bumps.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
While cruise control is on (not adaptive cruise), the slightest turn in the steering wheel causes the vehicle to slow down. Vehicle slows on a small curve up to 5mph, since the brake isn't being applied anyone approaching from behind may not adjust quickly.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 04, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 nissan sentra. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the traction control, abs, esp fault, and master brake system warning lights illuminated. The contact then stated that several other warning lights on the instrument panel started to malfunction. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the sensor had detached from the module and that the failure was possibly caused by rodents chewing through the wiring or when the vehicle had driven over a pothole causing the wiring harness failure. The contact was informed that an unknown module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the contact was concerned that the failure could recur. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximate 93,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateOct 02, 2022
StateMD
Description
While driving the car this morning at about 30 mph, and with no obstructions around, there was a sudden red flasher on the dashboard (a red long bar with a hazard triangle in the middle, three flashes) and I could feel abs with the car applying emergency brakes automatically. My wife had told me that she also encountered the same problem about two months ago. At that time, we thought it could have been a one off. I bought this vehicle in april 2022. It has done only 1,800 miles. Today's incident was after the 6-monthly (first) service that was done yesterday. I have written to the dealership about this incident today. I am concerned the impact if emergency brake is activated for no reason when driving on the highway. Both my wife and I take turns using the car, and often travel with our two children.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 23, 2022
StateVA
Description
Case of "parasitic draw" on the battery? (I see that nhtsa issued ntb21-053b.) car was purchased new from nissan dealership in springfield, virginia, march 3, 2022. On tuesday, sept. 13, roughly 5:00 p. M., I parked in my driveway as usual. The vehicle had approximately 8,980 miles. I did not move the car all day wednesday, sept. 14. On thursday, sept. 15, around 11:00 a. M., when I attempted to open the car door, the battery was completely drained. I had to use the physical key to open the door. I know for certain that the lights, including the dome light, were not on. Doors and trunk lid firmly shut and locked. (the only thing I can imagine is that I had a cell phone charger plugged into the cigarette lighter port, but the cell phone was in my possession.) I called aaa, a technician tested the battery, and it was completely dead. (see photo 1.) he jumped the battery and it started. I drove to the nissan dealer where I purchased the vehicle, and they said they put the car on a charger for more than an hour, and reported the battery tested okay. (see photo 2.) but incident was very disconcerting.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateSep 16, 2022
StateNV
Description
The pre collision system light kept turning on and off. Also alerting of a malfunction that the system was not working. This happened around sep 7 2022. I took the car to a nissan dealership on sep 16 2022 and inspected. They found out that there was a problem with the system and according to them it was fix. I just want to bring this to your attention because doing some research some nissan owners are having the same problem. In addition, I found out that none of the extended warranties dont cover any electrical system.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 01, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Vehicle fails to accelerate and breaks for no reason. Driver is not in control of vehicle. Last I checked I have the drivers license not the vehicle, yet I am unable to accelerate when pressing the gas at times. Other times driving 65 on the expressway the vehicle abruptly stops nearly causing me to be rear ended. Nissan isn't addressing safety concerns. I'm traumatized by this vehicle.
CategoryAir Bags, Steering, Wheels
DateAug 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
At approximately 1400 on 08/07/2022 just past the intersection on ayers and the spid access road, I was driving at about 30 mph with my grandfather in the front passenger seat and my younger sister in the rear driver's seat in my 2022 nissan sentra. When passing the turn-around in the left lane of the access road, I suddenly felt the car lean towards the driver's side and then the airbags deployed on the driver's side, pushing my vehicle into oncoming traffic, towards a truck passing in the right lane of the access road, and I also felt the car drifting towards oncoming traffic as well; at the time I felt the drift of the vehicle, I had not hit any objects or debris in the road and I did not collide with the curb. To avoid getting hit by the truck, I forced the wheel against the airbag and drift of the vehicle, scraping the front-driver's side tire on the curb while the truck passed. I then turned the wheel towards the right lane in an attempt to get put of the road and avoid getting hit or causing an accident. During the maneuver to the right lane, I pulled the vehicle as far onto the curb as I could because there was no marked breakdown lane, and the vehicle would not move anymore. I then assessed to ensure that my passengers were unharmed, but my grandfather complained of pain to his abdomen, my sister complained of a burn injury to her l upper arm and I was suffering from tinnitus. After confirming no one was severely injured, I called my parents and asked them to come and pick up my sister and my grandpa while I tried to figure out what I needed to do about the vehicle. While on the phone with my parents, a bystander came up to my car and asked if we were alright and told us that he had already called 911. We told him no one was badly injured. I also verified with this witness that I did not come into contact with anything; he stated that he heard a loud pop and then saw me swerving and then come to a stop.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateAug 02, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Safety features such as front crash detection and other preventative features fail when the interior of the vehicle gets gets hot (due to climate). Among safety the cruise control, radio and center display no longer operate. Unable to use bluetooth or any vehicle settings when the screen is completely black and nonfunctional.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 02, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Defective egr valve. No eta of repair. Vehicle failed to accelerate several occasions and was almost hit due to defective part. Dealership was able to get a code off the vehicle, yet no warnings for driver. Valve failure could have caused fatalities. Dealership advised nissan is aware of defective egr valve and that is why the mechanic could identify the problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 21, 2022
StateAZ
Description
At 505 miles vehicle center radio/control display failed to work also suspending the use for sensors for crash prevention. Vehicle has less than 2500 miles on it and doesn't want to accelerate. When driving and attempting to make turns the vehicle fails to go forward with pressing the gas pedal to the ground. Vehicle continues to feel like it is going to stall, shutters at various times and is unstable when driving as the vehicle does what it wants when it wants, driver is not in control. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2022
StateOK
Description
We started it one day and popped up malfunction signal and we lost power to everything
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2022
StateFL
Description
My car continuously feels like it's going to stall out and actually has just sitting at a red light. With no warning the car just stalled on me. The throttle body has been replaced already, they reset my rpms a different time, and just replaced the entire transmission. It's a brand new 2022 sentra and only had 14 miles on it when I bought it in march. I should not have had the transmission replaced already on a brand new car. Even with the transmission being replaced the car is still wanting to stall out. This makes for very unsafe driving and could lead to an accident as well. It also has acceleration issues when pressing the gas pedal it doesn't want to go then out of no where speeds up real fast. Very concerned and wondering if I'm ge only person with such bad luck to be the only car owner of a brand new sentra having this problem with my car. It's been to the repair shop 4 times already and I will be going back less then a week later after having the transmission replaced. The forward collision sensor stops working when it's raining outside as well. That's the time you need it the most. It says it's been disabled and the sensor is blocked even though there is nothing blocking it.
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension
DateMay 17, 2022
StateDC
Description
I was told that the throttle malfunctioned. I was driving on the highway and the car would not accelerate, the dash said malfunctioning and the cars driving beside me had to swerve around me. I took the car back to the dealership where I purchased it and was told that parts had to be ordered and that it was a throttle malfunction. The car has not been inspected by anyone except those at the nissan dealership where it was purchased. There were no warning signs before the malfunction. In the middle of me driving the car slowed downed and would not allow me to accelerate to match the speed of the other vehicles around me (70 mph). As I continued to push the gas the lights on the dash lit up and said malfunction.
CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMar 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
Airbag warning light on after purchase. Took vehicle to dealer, repalced an airbag sensor, did not remedy problem. Needs airbag control module, that has an unknown eta for replacment. For issue with auto breaking and foward collision, was merging on freeway, and while accelerating, the dashboard warning lights activated, and the center dash communication area notified me of an error in the system

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.