2019 Toyota Sienna Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brakes, fuel system, engine and steering issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 Toyota Sienna received a lot of acclaim for being one of the only AWD minivans on the market. Plus, it has room to hold seven passengers and the automaker claims that it is where “life meets style,” yet customers need more than just good looks with a family-friendly vehicle. Instead, this van suffers from a defective engine, a malfunctioning fuel system, a dangerous steering system and service brakes that have a mind of their own.

Click on other model year to view more problems:   2018     2020     2021     2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Toyota Sienna

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Fuel/propulsion System
6
Unknown Or Other
5
Fuel System, Gasoline
5
Electrical System
4
Engine
3
Structure:body
3
Exterior Lighting
2
Seat Belts
2
Air Bags
2
Power Train
2

Problems with the Engine

The engine is the heart of any vehicle and must be powerful enough for owners to feel safe on the road. That’s precisely where the Sienna goes wrong.

Just look at this NHTSA comment. “Pulled out into oncoming traffic and vehicle hesitated and would not accelerate. Dash lights came on and car stalled. Attempted to crank van and it restarted but would barely move with the accelerator pressed fully. Had to call a tow truck to have it delivered to the dealer. I called Toyota Roadside Assistance number and 2.5 hours later, no one showed up. Called again and demanded a different tow company respond and 30 minutes later someone was at the scene. This episode started at 2:30 pm and van was picked up at 6:37 pm.”

Toyota has been quiet about engine issues, probably because the company has six other recalls on the Sienna for the other defective systems. To acknowledge one more fault might just throw people over the edge and prove that the Sienna is truly a lemon dressed up in a pretty package.

Problems with the Fuel System

A vehicle’s engine will only run as good as the fuel system does since this is what supplies the power. Yet, the Sienna has some major malfunctions when it comes to transferring fuel correctly.

Here’s another NHTSA complaint worth reading. “I pulled onto a highway and reaching about 25 mph the Sienna hesitated for at least 10 seconds as if it was not getting gas. I pressed the gas wanting to get out of the way of traffic and it jumped slightly but would not go. Then it kicked in with a few hesitations and took off. Another 100’ or so, it did it again. Prior to this I had already brought it to Toyota complaining that there is a hesitation when the van is not warmed up yet between 20-40 mph. It is only slight, but noticeable and fells like it is not getting gas. The van does this every time after it has been sitting long enough to cool down. The long hesitation only happened twice so far (Dangerous Enough!), there have been a few shorter ones, and then there is the every time slight hesitation. Toyota has told me nothing shows in their diagnostics and they do not know what is wrong. They tried cutting the power to the power to the computer to reset the memory, but this did not change anything.”

It turns out that there is a dangerous fuel system issue with the Sienna. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V012000 states that the fuel pump can fail on nearly 700,000 vehicles. If this occurs, the engine will stall and the minivan could be involved in an accident. This goes beyond the hesitation discussed earlier but takes the level of danger to new heights. But hey, the Sienna has good “style” so who cares if it runs or not?

Problems with the Steering

One of the main concerns for most drivers is how well the vehicle steers. With the Sienna, this isn’t just a source of contention but also shows how poorly this vehicle was built.

One review on Cars.com discusses some of the rideability concerns. “Bought a 2019 Sienna XLE in December. It’s been in for service 7 times already for a severe vibration. Toyota is saying it’s caused by snow/dirt compacting in the wheels and ‘resolve’ it by pressure washing the wheels. By the time I get home 50 miles away (freeway driving) the vibration is back. Toyota headquarters says it is not a vehicle defect and not warrantable and I need to pressure wash my wheels at least twice a week. This is my third Sienna, never had a single issue wIth the other two (driven in much severer weather in Alaska, Colorado, eastern WA, etc.) NEVER again!!!”

There’s yet another recall, this time related to the steering system. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V532000 says that the steering shaft extensions weren’t manufactured correctly, leading to fractures, which can cause a complete loss of steering ability. Driving the Sienna is like being in a cartoon when the steering wheel suddenly comes off and drivers aren’t sure what to do. While the wheels aren’t falling off into the owner’s hands, the defects create the same panic and concern.

Problems with the Brakes

With all of these other malfunctions, it would be reassuring to know that the braking system works as it should, but that would be too hopeful.

Another Cars.com review states, “Bought a brand new 2019 Sienna for its Technology improvements. Every time taking to highway causes sudden brake applies and engine & TRAC lights are ON. Called Toyota and they certified the vehicle is safe but the problem still exists. It is risky to drive when electromechanical malfunction applies breaks in the middle of highway. Escaped accidents three times so far with the van.”

Just when consumers thought that the Sienna couldn’t become any more of a lemon, NHTSA Campaign Number 19V410000 was released. This recall states that some brake lines might have the incorrect tube nut fittings on the braking system, which can cause the pressure to drop and power to be reduced. Without properly working brakes, steering system, engine and fuel system, this Sienna is more likely to end up stranded on the side of the road than it is to make it to the next destination.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Toyota pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
The microphone has an issue and it is tied to the sos call button in the car. I asked my dealership, they wanted to charge 0 to run a diagnostic scan, I contacted toyota directly, they basically said the dealer can charge it if they want and reverse the charge if they find a problem under warranty. I originally thought the issue was with the blue tooth. I found this video on youtube, his fix did work-my concern is, if I had needed emergency help-the button would not have called anyone, disconnecting your car battery is not something I should I have to do to fix a 2019 vehicle. Https://www. Youtube. Com/watch? V=fkadmrkhs_0
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 19, 2022
StateMD
Description
I was traveling on the capital beltway (495) during morning rush-hour in my 2019 toyota sienna minivan. Normal road conditions: stop & go traffic in the right-most lane around 9:30am on december 14, 2022. All of a sudden and without warning, when attempting to accelerate and keep up with traffic after the vehicle was stopped, I found that I was unable to move forward. (there was no indication that my vehicle was suffering from mechanical failure prior to this incident and no visible alert or alarm was triggered) at that point, I powered down the vehicle after turning on the hazard indicator lights. After re-engaging the ignition, I then tried to move forward, and found the vehicle to be unresponsive. A tractor trailer was directly in back of me and was inching closer as to keep up with the rush-hour traffic. I was immovable at that moment and waived the truck around. After finding a break in traffic, I attempted to move out of the right-most lane, but with the transmission not responding to the drive function, found that my only course of action was to to engage reverse and move to the right shoulder of the highway. I then notified triple a and my vehicle was towed to a local garage for evaluation. Upon initial evaluation is was determined that it was either related to where the shift cable goes in to the transmission, or complete transmission failure. It is highly unusual for a toyota transmission to fail at 71. 000 miles (odometer reading at the time of the incident). I currently have two other toyota vehicles with odometer reading in excess of 140,000 miles. I am concerned for the safety of my family and myself, as this is the primary vehicle used for transport. A 3 year old car with less than 100,000 miles should not suffer from transmission failure. This is a major safety concern. What if this happened and I was not in stop and go traffic or already in the slow lane, on a major highway?
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Structure:body:tailgate
DateSep 26, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated that the liftgate failed to lower while using the remote. While reversing, the back-up camera became inoperable. The air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who stated the failure was due to the remote start feature that was installed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that she noticed the mirrors were fractured. While driving at an undisclosed speed, several unknown safety features became inoperable. There was a burning odor detected inside the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and offered to pay a nominal portion of the repair for the mirrors and referred her to the nhtsa hotline for assistance. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.
CategorySeat Belts
DateSep 26, 2022
StateOH
Description
Second row passenger seatbelt jammed. Unable to be repaired needs new seatbelt part. We were out of town and a passenger was unable to be restrained on way home. The part is on back order. I cannot use this seat which I need for babysitting grandchildren. I cannot eve sell this van because part not available. Van is available for inspection. Colerain toyota cincinnati is the dealership I also contacted toyota complaint department.
CategoryTires:sidewall
DateAug 25, 2022
StateFL
Description
This tire separated at the side wall nearest the rim. The last one separated and swelled roughly the size of a ping pong ball, prior to that the same thing. This is the 3rd pirelli scorpion verde all season tire to fail. After this last one, I realized it's got to be something with the construction of the tire so I googled and found recalls for other pireeli tire models. I contacted the mfr and they refused to assist. Spoke with very rude individual at pirelli usa in rome, ga location who stated 'if I am concerned about the safety of the tire, report it to the nhtsa' and that in order to obtain a replacement I would have to contact the retailer to initiate a return. As instructed, I spoke with the retailer simple tire (trevose, pa), an individual named shailesh. I was told since there is no nhtsa recall therefore there is no replacement.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 27, 2022
StateVA
Description
The headlight on the passenger side has led daylight running lights. A number of the led's are not working of flickering. Toyota refuse to cover this under warranty even though the car was bought 8-31-2019. Not having working daytime headlights is a major safety issue to me.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateJul 25, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact called on behalf of her husband who owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated while her husband was driving approximately 65 mph, there was an abnormally loud bang heard. The driver became aware that the sunroof glass had shattered and that a part of the glass was missing. The driver continued to his destination. The vehicle was not diagnosed; however, the contact spoke with the local dealer; who informed him that a foreign object probably had struck the sunroof for the glass to shatter. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 05, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The power sliding door on the driver's side of the vehicle is malfunctioning. When the door is opened with the electric opening function, it detects resistance and starts to close. While closing, the door closes with great force and no longer attempts to detect closing resistance. Me, my wife, and my infant daughter have been crushed/trapped by the door. My daughter had her arm trapped in the door. My wife had her back crushed. The toyota dealer in tucson, az (precision toyota) said the electrical cables inside the door are binding, causing the resistance when opening. We have not modified or otherwise touched the electrical door opening cables during our three years of ownership and therefore believe this is an engineering design flaw, or manufacturing defect. My concern is that there may be several other doors with this defect which could eventually lead to great harm on a young child, in the form of a crushing injury.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 30, 2022
StateCA
Description
June 17, 2022, driving on san diego freeway north near sherman oaks california, the transmission suddenly loses power, however the engine still running feels like the gearbox out of any actions, luckily it's downhill, managed sliding to the shoulder stopped, the warning light says” turn off traction control”, and “ check engine “ it was rush hour, it was dangerous, after parked few minutes turn off and turn on the engine shift to drive gear the transmission only shifting to lower gears ( 1 or 2) moving slowly, so I managed get of next exit, and stop for few minutes, the I try starting again and driving low gear home, next morning I turn on the engine the check engine light still on but transmission acted normal, I drove to the northridge toyota dealer, which is 2 miles away from my house, took them 3 day, to return to me, they said it was a coil issue and luckily they didn't charge me,
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 23, 2022
StateMI
Description
The fuel door hinge has separated from the fuel door. The fuel door now opens partially and can impede the proper function of the power sliding door as it opens or attempt to close.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateApr 29, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated that the front end of the vehicle would lunge downward towards the road surface when depressing the brake pedal. Additionally, the contact stated while reversing in a parking lot of the doctor's offices, the vehicle accelerated at high speed independently. The contact depressed the brake pedal as hard as he could with both of his feet; however, the rear end of the vehicle crashed into the rear end of another occupied vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. An unknown warning light illuminated. The contact sustained bruises on the left arm but did not seek medical assistance. The other occupied vehicle had three passengers including a baby asleep in a car seat located in the rear seats. The contact was unsure whether the other three passengers sustained injuries. The police arrived at the scene but there was no police report filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer informed the contact that they could not diagnose or repair the vehicle as it was involved in an accident that may have injured other individuals. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that a field engineer would contact him for the vehicle inspection. The contact stated the manufacturer took possession of the vehicle edr but has not informed him of a diagnostic. A case was opened. The vehicle remained at the dealership but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 6,800.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJun 29, 2021
StateAR
Description
I own a 2019 toyota sienna with 52,200 kms. I bought it january 29, 2021. On saturday, june 26, 2021, I was exiting the quebec to lévis ferry on the lévis side. As I went up the metal ramp at 10-12 km/hr, all the airbags suddenly deployed with a great boom. We hit nothing. All the front and side airbags deployed. The front windshield was broken and one of the side windows was totally shattered. In fact it was not there any more. Pieces of broken glass flew all over the car and hit us. The vehicle filled up with smoke. On board was my wife and I and our two special needs sons. We had to hurriedly get them unstrapped and hand them to ferry workers on the outside. I was the only one injured. I received the airbag straight in my face and it hurt my neck. I have had a headache and neck ache ever since (today is june 29). I ignore the reason for which the airbags deployed. But I do know that toyota has had to recall other 2019 siennas for spontaneous deployment of their airbags. Maybe it is an airbag defect. My vehicle was still under warranty. The fire department and police were on the scene. The levis ferry director wrote a report. The levis police report is lvs-210626-008. Thank you.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 15, 2021
StateMD
Description
The car was parked in a parking lot and turned off. We were entering the vehicle and the automatic side door of the van failed to reopen upon sensing something in the way. The door closed and someone's foot with shoe was caught in the closed door.
CategoryStructure:body:door
DateMay 11, 2021
StateMN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated that while getting his child from the rear passenger sliding door without warning the sliding door closed on the childs right hand. The child was taken to the hospital to treat the injuries. The vehicle had not been repaired or diagnosed. No dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and provided the contact with a case number. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 10, 2020
StateLA
Description
My fuel pump has been replaced by the dealer with the recalled part. The vehicle still does the same thing it has been doing since purchasing. It acts like it is not getting gas so hesitates multiple times constantly while driving. Sometimes I pull out and there is a delay in the engine getting gas then it kicks in and is a jerky ride. It mostly happens below 45 mph. I have felt the delay occasionally above 55 mph. The problem is not the fuel pump that they are recalling since I already have the new one and the problem is not fixed.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 30, 2020
StateNY
Description
I went to the toyota dealership at 62-10 northern blvd queens ny 11377 on august 26th at 9. 00am. They said they can not fix my recall problem because I have a fr conversions( wheel chair car)please suggest me what should I do? Thank you.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 30, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. Alamo toyota located at 18019 north u. S. Hwy 281, san antonio, tx 78232, (210)494-1604, was contacted and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the vehicle was modified to transport her daughter who was wheelchair bound. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryEngine, Fuel System, Gasoline:delivery:fuel Pump
DateJun 16, 2020
StateOR
Description
Toyota notified owners of a fuel pump problem in january 2020. It is now 6 months later and toyota still does not have a fix for this problem. I am unable to safely use my car and not even the toyota dealership will offer me enough money to cover my loan in order to sell the car. I am paying 0 a month for a car I can't use and can't sell. *tr
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 16, 2020
StateCO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated that on several occasions after refueling, the vehicle failed to restart. After several attempts, the vehicle restarted with the check engine warning light illuminated. Prior to the failure the contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the parts to do the recall repair was not yet available. Stapp interstate toyota (8019 raspberry way, frederick, co 80504) was contacted and confirmed that the part was not available. The vehicle remained at the dealer however, was not repaired. The contact was promised a loaner vehicle which was not provided. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 24,500. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 16, 2020
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. An unknown dealer was contacted and confirmed that parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 10, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact stated that on numerous occasions, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to ourisman fairfax toyota (10287 fairfax blvd, fairfax, va 22030) where the contact was informed that the failure was due to the keyfob being placed in her purse while attempting to start the vehicle. The contact continued to experience the failure intermittently. The contact then received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The same dealer was contacted and confirmed that the part was not available for the recall remedy. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact to request a loaner vehicle from the nearest authorized dealer. The contact stated that her vehicle was custom made for her son who has a disability and that a loaner vehicle would not suffice. The failure mileage was 1,749. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJun 01, 2020
StateIL
Description
I lease a 2019 toyota sienna. There has been a recall since january, 2020 on the fuel pump which may cause the car to stop operating and could increase the risk of a crash. Toyota has not still not remedied the recall. I have called for the past five months, and yet the recall is still in the interim stage. This is a breach of the lease and causes us to be unable to use the vehicle. Due to the danger in driving the car, I contacted 4 different toyota dealers to obtain a comparable rental car that toyota has agreed to provide. Not one of the dealerships I called has a comparable car in their fleet. I also called toyota customer experience twice and on both occasions they hung up on me stating that their agents were "too busy". In addition, this has caused us to cancel a road trip. *tr
CategoryWheels
DateMay 28, 2020
StateIL
Description
We purchased 2019 sienna with 4k miles , regularly changed oil together with tire inspection. Now our car have 29k mile and at the time than we was changing oil , they told us we need new tires . It is no way its normal for brand new car with michelin tires to need new sets of tires . We founded its main problem with this car , so manu people complains . Please help us solve this problem. *tr
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateMay 04, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 toyota sienna. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v012000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. An unknown dealer was contacted and confirm parts not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Seat Belts, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 01, 2020
StateAZ
Description
The first weeks seemed like everything was fine with the vehicle until we started feeling low levels of electrical shocks. It was mostly on the steering wheel so we thought that the sensation would go away, but it actually started going worse to the point that we started having discomfort on the seatbelt and the last three weeks before we dropped the vehicle at the dealership the hazard started to intensify and get stronger. The seatbelt of the 2019 toyota sienna had provided a lot of pain to my ovaries (to the point that my period had been altered during the months of october to december 2019), it caused so much pain in my stomach while being a driver and a passenger specially the last three weeks before I dropped the vehicle at the dealership. Also due to the fact that I am five feet tall, the seatbelt rested on my neck which was the most uncomfortable experience. In those past three weeks prior to dropping it at the dealership, I even felt shocks from the seatbelt while it was resting on my neck causing numbness in my legs. On regards of the steering wheel, I felt electrical shocks that caused tingling in my hands going all the way up to my elbow causing pain on my elbows (having greater discomfort on my left arm as I tended to drive most with my left hand) and making my arms feel tingling and eventually numbness.
CategoryEngine, Exterior Lighting, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 15, 2020
StateFL
Description
Pulled out into oncoming traffic and vehicle hesitated and would not accelerate. Dash lights came on and car stalled. Attempted to crank van and it restarted but would barely move with the accelerator pressed fully. Had to call a tow truck to have it delivered to the dealer. I called toyota road side assistance number and 2. 5 later no one showed up. Called again and demanded a different tow company respond and 30 minutes later someone was at the scene. This episode stated 230 pm and van was picked up 637pm.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 08, 2019
StateLA
Description
I pulled onto a highway and reaching about 25 mph the 2019 sienna hesitated for at least 10 seconds as if it was not getting gas. I pressed the gas wanting to get out of the way of traffic and it jumped slightly but would not go. Then it kicked in with a few hesitations and took off. Another 100' or so, it did it again. Prior to this I had already brought it to toyota complaining that there is a hesitation when the van is not warmed up yet between 20-40 mph. It is only slight, but noticeable and feels like it is not getting gas. The van does this every time after it has been sitting long enough to cool down. The long hesitation only happened twice so far (dangerous enough!), there have been a few shorter ones, and then there is the every time slight hesitation. Toyota has told me nothing shows in their diagnostics and they do not know what is wrong. They tried cutting the power to the computer to reset the memory, but this did not change anything.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateAug 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
Interior of van was consumed with fuel vapors. Exterior front of van engine compartment also smells like a fuel leak. Problem taken to dealer and they could not find the source of leak. Van was released to me in a unsafe condition. Intermittent fuel smell became more progressive to the point the van was not able to be driven to to saftey concern of fire. Second trip to dealer they could not find source of fuel leak. Description of problem. When van was driven with or without ac fuel vapors would be noticed on the exterior of the van. This progressed to the interior while driving. I also tested the van with the engine on and both ac on/off with the van in the parked position and still notice a very strong order of fuel vapors. The van is unsafe for transportation on public roads and unsafe to drive in with my family. The problem was noticed when the van was stationary or in motion on city/highways.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 23, 2019
StateAZ
Description
I have a concern that the frontal impact sensor on my van may not be working. I bought the van new about 3 weeks ago. In that time I have driven it around town, on the freeway and made a roundtrip to cal. In that entire time I have never received any type of audible or visual alert that a frontal impact is about to happen. I have the sensitivity set to very high. Over the course of the last few weeks, I have tried to safely simulate the conditions in which the frontal impact should activate, but I have not heard anything or seen any type of visual alert. I took it into the dealership today and was told everything is fine with it. However, I still believe that it is not working correctly, since the vehicle has never made any type of audible or visual alert or warning.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 20, 2019
StateCA
Description
As soon as I got home after purchasing my 2019 toyota sienna se, I noticed the popping noise coming from both front door hinges. I guess I missed that popping noise when I took the delivery of the car at the dealership. The popping noise can be heard every time either front doors hinges are in motion. I have read that many of the previous year toyota siennas has the same popping noise issue due to the defective door check pockets.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 09, 2019
StateUT
Description
I was told there is a recall uta van under warranty
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateMar 04, 2019
StateMI
Description
Immediately after purchasing this new 2019 toyota sienna I became aware of the vehicle having acceleration problems while attempting to accelerate gradually in a low speed/low torque setting. This occurs at what could be described as parking lot speeds, 5 to 25 mph, primarily, although the vehicle hesitates and then lurches also at higher speeds when downshifting to gain torque in a 30-50 mph range also. This hesitation, balking, and then rapid lurching forward at low speeds has caused passengers to comment about "whiplash" and being pushed back into their seats when the vehicle does engage with unexpected forward motion. This vehicle was purchased on 2-18-2019. After driving the vehicle for a reasonable amount of time and miles I contacted our sales agent who set a service appointment for monday feb 25, 2019. On 2-25-2019 I drove the vehicle to the dealer's service dept with "mileage in" of 250 mi. And "mileage out" of 251. Service invoice number 784852 states that the ecu was calibrated and reset. Upon driving the vehicle it became obvious that the problems were no different and perhaps worse. On march 1, 2019 I returned the vehicle to the dealer and took the service manager and a tech-expert for a ride. The tech acknowledged the stall and lurch phenomenon and said he "has dealt with this before". The tech and the service manager told me they were opening a case with toyota for possible input to resolve this problem. I believe this a serious potential safety issue as the forward lurching of the vehicle could result in serious injury as a result vehicle design and engineering. Other toyota owners have discussed this problem via internet forums. It would appear to affect 2018 & 2019 siennas with "throttle by wire" design and their 8 speed transmission.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.