2022 Jeep Wrangler Problems and Top Complaints

Electrical, steering, and fuel system problems are among the top complaint issues received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Jeep Wrangler is punted as being “tried, tested, and Trail Rated,” and “a legend that keeps evolving.” But, as an 80-year-old brand that is supposedly the original icon of adventure, it’s been causing owners some unwanted adventure in recent years. Jeep wrangler owners have all kinds of problems, from faulty fuse boxes and false error codes to malfunctioning brakes and defective steering

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019  2020  2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Jeep Wrangler

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
19
Electrical System
17
Steering
16
Suspension
12
Power Train
8
Fuel/propulsion System
7
Unknown Or Other
7
Wheels
3
Vehicle Speed Control
3
Structure:body
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Jeep Wrangler

Some alarming issues affected the previous year’s Jeep Wrangler. A large percentage seems to impact the potential safety of the model, including serious steering defects.

Unfortunately, complaints to the NHTSA indicate that steering is also an issue with the 2022 model.

Although there is no single, identifiable problem, engine problems top the list of NHTSA complaints in terms of numbers. There are also a lot of complaints about the electrical system, most of which are also filed in the category, Engine.

Complaints to the National Highway Traffic Administration (NHTSA) cover a range of different components. In addition to those already mentioned, complaints are also filed under Fuel/Propulsion System, Power Train, Service Brakes, Structure, Suspension, Vehicle Speed Control, and Wheels.

These include other recurring issues from the 2021 model including error code malfunctions and faulty brakes.

A complaint filed under Electrical System, Service Brakes, and Engine describes a crash.

“The Wrangler accelerated while doing regenerative braking or while my foot was on the brake,” it states. This resulted in the Jeep crashing into a building, and the police were called to the scene of the accident.

“My safety and my child’s safety was put at risk … Those inside the building were also at risk. The problem has not been reproduced yet as the incident just happened.”

The complainant, from Iowa, states that insurance would be inspecting the vehicle. She intended to file a claim with Jeep too.

“I was running it in full electric mode and I don’t remember any issues.” Additionally, the Wrangler had recently been rewired.

Problems with the Engine

Complaints to the NHTSA about engine problems are varied. Here are two examples.

Wrangler Stalls

An owner from California was driving at about 25-30 mph when the Wrangler “completely died and the D on the gear shift started blinking.” She said she wasn’t able to get to the side of the road because of traffic.

“My husband and I were at risk of being rear ended as the car died without any warning. There was also a large CLUNK sound when it died.”

Coolant Issues

An owner from Illinois states that the “check engine” light went on for the first time when there were only about 2,286 miles on the clock.

“The dealer indicated it was a ‘coolant issue’ but did not provide any additional information. I dropped off my vehicle for repair on 4/25/22 at my local dealer. The vehicle was not fixed until 5/4/22.

“The check engine light went on for a second time on 5/29/22. When taking the vehicle to my local auto store the report indicated another ‘coolant’ issue. This should not be happening on a new car with less than 4,000 miles on it and 3 months old.”

Liberty Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram confirmed the diagnosis. But the owner has serious concerns:

  1. This could be a sign of additional issues, especially with under 5,000 miles on the vehicle.
  2. Unless Jeep fixes the problem, the vehicle is at risk of serious malfunction while driving. This could put the safety of the driver and passengers at risk of “a serious accident and even the possibility of death.”
  3. Continuous coolant malfunctions will put the engine block at risk which would be a serious safety and financial issue.

“The more stress on the engine and components the lifespan of the vehicle could be diminished and resale value severely affected. There were no indications of anything wrong with the vehicle prior to the check engine light coming on in both instances.”

Problems with the Electrical System

Several owners report faulty codes that seem to be an electrical system problem. Another issue is the fuse box.

Faulty Error Codes

An owner from Tennessee reports multiple faulty messages in a 2022 Wrangler with only 12 miles on the clock. It happened after driving home, parking, and locking the vehicle.

“Later in the evening when I went to get into the vehicle the key fob would not unlock the vehicle. Went to unlock it with the key and anti theft was engaged.”

Then there were multiple messages from Sirius Guardian “stating our vehicle was stolen.” Not only was the Wrangler still at the house, they were “unable to shut the alarm off, unlock or lock the vehicle, or start the vehicle. No warning deployed on UConnect, just through Guardian, but the vehicle is immovable and inoperable.”

A North Carolina owner also reports error messages.

“While coasting or braking, (a) message appears stating performance limited service fuel system. Fuel economy is affected, as well.”

An owner from California had owned a brand new 2022 Wrangler for two days when the error codes started. “I went to start it in my garage and (the) instrument panel lights all started flashing. It was cycling through all of the error codes with emergency lights flashing and would not start.”

It restarted after a couple of hours, but the check engine light stayed on. “I test drove the vehicle around the block and it stopped in traffic.”

The owner had it towed to the dealership and filed the complaint two weeks later. The first diagnosis was a shifter, which they replaced. Then they said “it is the entire wiring harness.”

The dealership staff were unable to reset the error codes and refused to acknowledge that the vehicle was safe to drive.

“I am not comfortable putting my family in this vehicle.”

Fuse Seating Issues

Another owner from California maintains that his 2022 Wrangler has fuse seating issues. His complaint states:

“During routine driving at highway speed, the vehicle’s electronic stability control (ESC) warning light illuminated on the dashboard. Within seconds, the vehicle’s check engine light (CEL) also illuminated. At that point, the vehicle stalled without battery or engine power via any internal combustion or battery power. I was able to safely coast the vehicle to the side of the road narrowly avoiding any accident.

“I shut off the vehicle hoping this was some sort of electronic error since the vehicle only had 800 miles. However, when restarting the vehicle, both warning lights still remained illuminated and would not clear. I was able to successfully have the vehicle taken back to my home while inoperable.”

The owner did some research via relevant forums and discovered that many other Jeep 4XE owners claim their vehicles have fuse seating issues. So, he inspected the fuse box and found “nearly 15 fuses were improperly seated. Once seated by me, I was able to start the vehicle and the ESC and CEL light cleared.”

While the vehicle is operating normally, he says: “My wife and I live in permanent fear that this type of vehicle will stall again and we will be unable to dodge traffic to coast to the shoulder.”

His request is for the NHTSA to inspect the vehicle and its components.

Problems with the Steering

As mentioned above, steering defects were a serious problem with the previous model Jeep Wrangler. You can read more about this issue in another article we published. This refers to what has been dubbed a severe “death wobble.”

A 2022 Wrangler owner has a similar complaint. Test driving the new vehicle on a highway at 70 mph, “the steering wheel acting out and feeling loose. It was a very short drive. The dealership personnel reassured me that everything was fine with the car and I would be safe while driving it.

“I was ready to drive back home to Corpus Christi. Unfortunately, the 140 mile ride turned into a nightmare. After speeding to 60 mph on the highway, the car started acting weird. The wheel felt loose, the steering not under control. The next curve on the road, and I completely lost control over the car; the car just went into the right lane, and I was lucky the truck behind managed to stop. And then it happened again when I was slowing down. I had to stop to calm down. I was shaking and was scared to keep driving home.”

The journey home took more than three hours traveling no faster than 50 mph.

When the dealership checked and test-drove the vehicle, they found “a wobble when hitting a bump.” They changed a part, but “the main problem of the loose steering wheel hasn’t been fixed. At higher speeds the wheel goes left and right, and the car does not follow. I don’t have control of the vehicle and it goes into the right lane on its own. Very unsafe!”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Even though you know in advance what components of the 2022 Jeep Wrangler might be problematic, it’s impossible to identify a lemon on the shop floor.

If you find your new Wrangler is a lemon, Lemberg Law can help you. If it is a lemon, we can negotiate a replacement vehicle, buyback, or refund at no cost to you. The law makes the manufacturer, in this case, Stellantis, pay lemon law legal fees.

What’s New for 2022?

Stellantis released its Jeep Wrangler Fact Sheet on 20 December 2021, which includes what’s new for the 2022 model.

  • A 4.88 axle ratio is available on certain Rubicon models with the 3.6-liter V-6 that is equipped with the 8-speed automatic or 6-speed manual.
  • Remote Proximity Keyless Entry comes standard on Sahara and Rubicon. It is also in the optional Technology Group for other models.
  • Premium audio with an 8.4-inch touchscreen is standard on Sahara and Rubicon.
  • A 7-inch touchscreen radio comes standard on Sport and Sport S except for two-door models that don’t have aircon.
  • Blue tow hooks are standard on Sahara 4xe.
  • A blue pad print is added to all 4xe wheels.
  • High Altitude 4xe has a new 20-inch wheel design and exterior mirrors that have integrated turn signals.
  • Standard cabin filters remove 95% of air particulates.
  • There is one updated exterior color. Silver Zynith replaces Billet Silver.

Additionally, Sting Gray and Hydro Blue are new exterior colors along with Tuscadero, a magenta-pink color that has limited availability. Hellayella and Snazzberry are no longer available.

Interior colors remain the same: black, black/Dark Saddle and Heritage Tan.

What’s the fuel economy for the 2022 Jeep Wrangler?

According to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), consumption of the 2022 Jeep Wrangler 4-door, 2.0 liter, 4-cylinder, automatic 8-speed, turbo, regular gas vehicles will be 20 miles per gallon. Consumption of the hybrid 4xe (same specs as above) will be 49 miles per gallon.

According to the DOE’s Fuel economy website, annual fuel costs are likely to be around $1,900.

Powertrain options include:

  • 6.4-liter V8 engine (Rubicon 392)
  • A 2-liter turbocharged inline 4-cylinder engine with ESS technology
  • A 4-cylinder engineer that is integrated with two electric motors and a 400-volt battery pack (4xe)
  • Standard 3.6-liter V6 engine with engine stop-start (ESS) or mild-hybrid e-torque technology
  • A 3.0-liter EcoDiesel engine with ESS

What are the Trim Packages & Pricing for the 2022 Wrangler?

Jeep offers a “Build” option on its website, along with starting prices for all 2022 Wrangler models. Some have two- and four-door options, others are only available with four doors:

  • Sport – $33,225 – 2/4
  • Willys Sport – $35,580 – 2/4
  • Sport S – $36,720 -2/4
  • Willys – $39,575 – 2/4
  • Sport Altitude – $38,715 – 4
  • Sport RHD – $39.590 – 4
  • Sahara – $40,745 – 4
  • Rubicon – $44,295 – 2/4
  • Sahara Altitude – $44,340 – 4
  • High Altitude – $51,175 – 4
  • Rubicon 392 – $75,095 – 4

There are also two 8-speed automatic, plug-in hybrid models:

  • Sahara 4xe – $52,530
  • Rubicon 4xe – $56,230

Trim choices include:

  • Exterior and interior colors
  • Wheels and tires
  • Top, including the Sunrider flip Top for Hardtop, available on all models
  • Door design options – eg hinge-gate reinforcement
  • Side steps and running boards
  • Exterior mirrors
  • Grille
  • Stripes and decals
  • Fuel-filter door
  • Seating configurations
  • Entertainment options
  • Consoles and storage
  • Floor mats
  • Locks and keys
  • Powertrain options include engine, transmissions, axles, gear ratios, and additional mechanical features – see also Fuel economy above.
  • Some models have safety and security systems
  • Gorilla glass windshields on Sport S, Sahara, and Rubicon models

Depending on the model, packages include:

  • Smoker’s group with cigar lighter and removable ashtray
  • Load and towing groups or trailer-tow or heavy-duty electrical group
  • Cold weather group options that include heated front seats and steering wheel
  • Safety group that includes blind-spot and cross-path detection, LED tail lamps, and the Park Sense rear park assist system
  • LED lighting group that include front fog lamps
  • Steel bumper group
  • Xtreme Recon 35-inch tire package for the Willys, Rubicon, and Rubicon 392
  • Quick Order Packages for Willys, Willys Sport, Sport, and Sport S models

What Technology does the 2022 Jeep Wrangler Have?

Top technology features include Apple CarPlay and Android Auto for entertainment.

There are more than 75 safety and security available features. These include blind-spot monitoring and rear cross-path detection, as well as adaptive cruise control and forward-collision warning. There is also standard electronic stability control (ESC), hill-start assist, and brake-traction control.

There is an optional TrailCam forward-facing off-road camera with 8.4-inch touchscreens.

Complaint Data

CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 01, 2023
StateMI
Description
Death wobble at highway speeds in a 2022 jeep wrangler 4 door with full stock equipment and roughly 3,500 miles in october 2022. No previous experience or difficulties with vehicle but when temperatures lowered to freezing for the first time, the vehicle had significantly diminished performance on stability. After the initial death wobble, carefully driving the wheel continued to pulsate when hitting cracks in the pavement (wheels going into a downward bump, bumps in the up direction did not impact steering as heavily). Took more than 9 weeks to be see by the dealerships after calling multiple dealers and working with jeepwave- warranty. After the vehicle was confirm to have a front track bar defect and steering dampener defect, the dealer informed me the car "was safe to drive" until parts were available with a 5-6 week window before they'd arrive - due to another defect my vehicle was in the shop for most of that. Upon return of the vehicle, immediate test drive by myself noted the steering is now improved but still inconsistently experiencing the steering wheel shaking (no vibration in the pedals but vibration is noticable for passengers sitting in the vehicle). Called the dealership again, was told this is just the 1st fix they've been told to try and it'll be another 3 weeks prior to the dealership bringing the vehicle in for "additional diagnostics" without a clear plan for what parts they plan to replace next. Concern for me to send this note - the vehicle at speeds as low as 62 mph starts to have a pulsating wheel that if roads are icy, an unsuspecting person were to drive my brand new vehicle with only 6,500 miles at this point, or a particular bump arises and fully loses control. Jeep knew of the issue and did not expedite my ability to get into a dealer - they played dumb on the issue until it was in the shop. There has been no urgency on my driving this vehicle as they deem it "safe to drive".
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 31, 2023
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact stated while driving 55 mph in the middle lane of a highway, an unknown warning light was illuminated, and the vehicle lost motive power. The contact stated that the control buttons became inoperable. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The contact was able to veer to the side of the road with the assistance of a police officer and coasted to a parking lot. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who informed the contact that parts for nhtsa campaign number: 22v768000 (electrical system) were on a national back order. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised as the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySuspension
DateJan 09, 2023
StateCA
Description
The vehicle shakes radically after going over a bump. After pulling over, the suspension normalizes.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 06, 2023
StatePA
Description
Most importantly, this occurred about 7 days after the nhtsa 22v-865 recall for this issue was performed. Driving rural paved road at approximately 35 mph. Vehicle abruptly lost all motive power and went to electric only mode with a top speed of about 3-4 mph showing a red turtle icon on dash and “service hybrid electrical vehicle system” and “service charging system” messages. After stopping to investigate, vehicle could not be shifted out of park or moved. Vehicle required tow for repair a few hours before this occurred, vehicle experienced two short intervals of similar loss of power, both of which abated within less than a few seconds. Most concerning is that this occurred after recall 22v-865 was performed, indicating that the safety issue is unresolved by that recall or is an independent issue. Total and unanticipated loss of power creates a safety issue in our hilly and populated terrain.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateDec 21, 2022
StateCA
Description
Recently experienced the "death wobble" on a high speed highway. My entire car started wobbling and seemed like I lost balance in all 4 wheels. Dealership claimed it was a defective steering wheel damper, in which is the steering stabilizer. This is so dangerous, especially going at a high speed on the freeway. This can potentially cause a huge accident. Please help recall.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact became aware that the vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v865000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact became aware that the vin was included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v865000 (engine) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
The vehicle is a 2022 jeep wrangler with less than 6800 miles and is completely stock as delivered by the factory. On 12/17/2022 I was driving my 2022 completely stock (unmodified) jeep wrangler 4x4 on a paved city street at approximately 55 mph. Suddenly, without any warning whatsoever, the vehicle began violently shaking and the steering wheel was pulled out of my control. I was barely able to control the jeep and the violent shacking was extremely difficult to control and keep in my lane. The vehicle continued shaking until I was able to come to a complete stop. This incident occurred in traffic, at 55 mph, and without warning. Vehicle's behind me also had to emergency brake due to my panic and cars in the opposite lane had to swerve as the violent shaking caused my car to to cross into oncoming traffic. I contacted the jeep dealer who I bought the car from and they were totally aware of the problem and called it “death wobble.” dealer further stated they have no way of guaranteeing they can fix it. Please investigate this! Someone is going to die. This is totally unacceptable and should be stopped! I am now without a car and jeep/chrysler continue to sell these cars with full knowledge of this ongoing danger. I will never trust this vehicle. This vehicle has never been taken off-road or involved in an accident. I have never been late on a payment. I am stuck with a vehicle that has a known, severely dangerous problem. Please investigate this. I am lucky to be alive. Upon reviewing this incident on the net there are numerous complaints of death wobble, numerous. This problem is terrifying! Please investigate and stop this company from knowingly putting people in danger for profits!
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Suspension
DateDec 16, 2022
StateFL
Description
My 2022 wrangler hybrid only has 6500 miles on it and it had two significant/scary events. First, the motor cut out while driving on the expressway. Fortunately I was able to pull all the way over and start it up again but it was dangerous and scary. Second, and most significant, my vehicle experienced the "death wobble." when you travel over 60mph and hit a bump, the entire vehicle wobbles so much that the wheels and steering are nearly uncontrollable. This happened to me 20 times while driving my vehicle one day. It was terrifying for me and my passenger and I was even pulled over by other concerned drivers on the road. My vehicle has now been in repairs for over 2 weeks because the part to fix the vehicle is backordered. I no longer have confidence in this vehicle, it scares me to drive it and yet the manufacturer won't take it back because lemon laws don't apply, yet (has to be 30 days in service). I don't want this to happen to other drivers. Please investigate jeep and keep people safe.
CategorySteering
DateDec 16, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact stated that while his wife was driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle experienced the death wobble. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the steering damper needed to be replaced; however, the replacement part was on backorder. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateDec 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign numbers: 22v768000 (electrical system) and 22v865000 (engine) however, the parts to do the recall repairs were not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 15, 2022
StateWI
Description
The jeep when driving at above 50mph will hit a bump and the front tires and steering wheel starts shaking uncontrollably. Upon research I've found that this is called a “death wobble” on a jeep. It has a history on jeeps. This happened with under 5k miles on the jeep with no changes to the vehicle to the tires or suspension which came with it from the factory. I took it back to the dealership in ripon wi and they have indicated that this is common in jeeps. They indicated the dealerships cfo's wife had the same issue on her new jeep recently. They have put a new steering dampener on order but it is on back order.
CategorySteering
DateDec 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
The steering becomes lose when hitting small bumps at highway speeds. Vehicle must be slowed below speed limit in order to regain control.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 09, 2022
StateNV
Description
I was driving a longer distance from las vegas nevada to california victor ville and was coming down in speed and vehicle claimed a sudden stop in power and turned off. After a min of attempting to pull into a close parking lot the jeep 4xe alarms were going on and off uncontrollably with zero power or capability to shutting off. After a few times of attempting to turn the jeep on and off and no success I got out of my vehicle, disconnected the battery and reconnected it. We were on the freeway with our infant in the back seat and on a thanksgiving trip back home. We just thought it was random until a recall lawyer reached out about our post on it and mentioned this is a lethal and serious issue. At this moment, we are not driving it as we seen a news channel mention this issue. I say this with the tone of seeking a new solution that is not in this death trap… we as a family would like to find a way to get a refund and away from this completely. We do not feel safe, we just bought this vehicle a month ago.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 09, 2022
StateVA
Description
Driving on the interstate with adaptive cruise control on at 72mph the vehicle loss power. Error message appeared, "performance limit pull over put in p and start " plus "service charging system". Vehicle quickly decelerated and luckly I had a place to pull over out of traffic. I then restarted the vehicle without issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateDec 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
Engine shut down condition caused by diagnostic reactions to faults caused by communication of the car. Motive power has been lost while driving. The vehicle has not been inspected by police or any authority. I have contacted manufacturer and dealership and they have not offered any options since this is a recall issue that has no solution or parts available they told me to wait it out. Therefore I am now paying for a car that is not safe to drive and these concerns have not been fixed or addressed by manufacture.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 05, 2022
StateVA
Description
12/03/2022 was backing up. Went to put the vehicle into drive to move forward. Vehicle locked itself into neutral on the gearshift, but acted as if it was in park. Was blocking a road, could not move or shift into gear. Eventually, was able to shift into "auto-stick" m1 and move the vehicle, then it went into drive. Was able to proceed as normal.
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateNov 29, 2022
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle started to wobble. No warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The contact stated that the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where all four tires were replaced; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but was not yet diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 350.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateNov 28, 2022
StateID
Description
Driving in weather from -4c to 0c with medium snow coming down. Normally not a problem at all. Was with a friend in a ram 1500 2019. We both had stock led headlights. Within approximately 5-10 minutes the snow flakes directly infront of the car but above the hood height got brighter and brighter even though my high beams were off. My headlights also lacked any beam distance at all. I was forced to reduce speed to 10 miles per hour unless other cars headlight were illuminating the area infront of my car. My friend was still able to go 40mph safely and comfortably. Traffic was passing me constantly on the snowy road due to my inability to go a reasonable speed and having nowhere safe to stop. Upon stopping I found a caked layer of snow on both headlights complete diffusing their beam into every direction including vertically up into the snowflakes that had been so disruptive to my ability to see. On the remainder of the drive home I had to stop every 15 minutes (5 times) to clear the snow from the lenses. The diffusion of the beam also meant that while my beams were less bright, they were always in the eyes of oncoming traffic and I would regularly get flashed with high beams to let me know.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Steering
DateNov 26, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving my vehicle shut off and steering wheel locked up making the vehicle inoperable. Thankfully I was close to home on a side street. I restarted the vehicle and a “please service charging system error” displayed along with a red turtle error light. The vehicle would not travel more than 5mph. I had to park it and have my husband come look at it. It's scary to think this could have easily happened on a busy highway. Being a hybrid vehicle it was fully charged from the night before.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 22, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact stated while driving 35 mph over a shift in the pavement between the end of the road surface and a bridge, the steering wheel started shuddering violently. The contact stated that as she depressed the brake pedal and veered to the side of the road the failure stopped. The contact was able to continue driving; however, the failure had been reoccurring 5-7 times per day. The contact stated that the failure would occur while driving over minor changes in the road surface. The local dealer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that she needed to pay for a diagnostic test, because the vin was not included in a recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.
CategorySuspension
DateNov 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
The front end of the vehicle shakes uncontrollably at speeds of 45 mph or higher—issue is often referred to as “death wobble”. The vehicle currently has less than 9,000 miles and I have brought it into the dealer where the vehicle was purchased brand new in february of 2022. The dealer informed me that it is a common problem, but that the manufacturer allows each dealer service department to order only a couple of the replacement parts (steering damper) each month. The dealer service department avoided answering any of my concerns, such as, will it get worse, can I lose control of my vehicle, etc.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 18, 2022
StatePA
Description
I was driving on the highway in the middle of rush hour traffic going about 60 mph and my car went in to auto shut off mode with no warning.
CategorySteering
DateNov 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
On thursday, november 3rd, I was on the freeway and was going 70 miles per hour when the car suddenly started violently shaking without wind turbulence or any external cause for about three minutes. I slowed down and the shaking stopped. No warning signs or messages were displayed in the car prior to, nor during the sudden, violent shaking of the vehicle. My safety was put at risk in the form of sudden shock and fear that made my heart race and could have potentially caused a heart attack as I am a 52-year-old woman. I called the redlands jeep dealership around 8 am. I came in for an appointment on friday, the 4th and the same violent shaking occurred around the same mileage. The person who inspected my vehicle told me to not drive on the freeway anymore and that it may have been a problem with my tires in terms of the tires needing to be balanced. Later on, a representative called and said that the issue was not with the tires and was with the steering damper. The maintenance/repair appointment has been postponed until the 23rd of november, which has caused me distress and more gas expenses than necessary.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 14, 2022
StateVA
Description
In october, my brand new car straight from factory with only 3900 miles on it broke down at a gas station. The dashboard said “service charging system”. The car would not move or allow me to switch gears. It was locked. It took 3. 5 hours for a tow truck to come. The car was in the shop for 30 days. And the dealership determined the issue was related to faulty wiring harness that many jeep wrangler 4xe have been having issues with. After the dealership resolved the wiring harness issue, I was delivered the car back home on november 11. After driving the car for 24 hours, the car stopped and broke down on an interstate while I was driving 65 mph. The car came to a sudden stop and the wheels locked. All the cars behind me braked suddenly and I was stuck in the middle of an interstate hoping cars wouldn't pile up and crash into me. The car dashboard and interior lights were flickering. I kept restarting the car and after 4 min. The car turned back on. This jeep wrangler 4xe is repeated having incidents where it's power shuts completely off while driving and it's very dangerous. There will be a fatality on day of this problem is not resolved.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 07, 2022
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v768000 (electrical) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 04, 2022
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact received notification of the nhtsa campaign number: 22v768000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer was notified of the recall notice and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified, and the contact was informed that the parts were anticipated to be available in december. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 04, 2022
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact received notification of the nhtsa campaign number: 22v768000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The local dealer was notified of the recall notice and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified, and the contact was informed that the parts were anticipated to be available in december. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 02, 2022
StateFL
Description
Vehicles tires begin to shake violently at speeds in the 50-70 mph range after hitting a small bump on the road/highway. The condition are so violent, that I have to slow the vehicle from 70+ mph to about 15-20 mph to stop the shaking that creates safety issue for other drivers on the road
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 29, 2022
StateVA
Description
Military member stationed overseas. Purchased vehicle through military auto source. Dealer has to take wrangler into local jeep dealer. Dealer heard banging on right side of wheel. When local jeep dealer completed inspection they noted the chassiss weld completely missing. This is a huge safety issue. This car has not even been driven 100 miles yet. I would like someone to look into this issue. My wrangler can't possibly be the only one in this situation.
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 27, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Svc 4wd light went on in the car after start-up, and I tried to reverse from my parking spot with the wheel turned and it felt like the emergency brakes were on. I stopped to check and they were not. I tried to reverse again and the car starts making a grinding noise and jerking motion as it pulls out slowly. When I drive straight I almost can't accelerate and the car randomly jerks and stops which could cause an accident if the person behind me doesn't brake quick enough. I immediately brought it to the jeep dealership since this is the second time in a week this has happened but the first time it seemed to resolve itself. The service tech put a device to check the cars computer and I was told the car is no longer driveable and said something is wrong with the transmission and transfer case. They did not have loaners or rentals so now I am careless.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 22, 2022
StateGA
Description
Rear window glass exploded out of no where
CategoryEngine
DateOct 21, 2022
StatePA
Description
Vehicle would not start. Drove to a distant high school. Parked. Went to leave and the vehicle will not start. I had to have the vehicle towed to the dealership. I have been advised that it is a hybrid engine coupling. There were no warning lights.
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Suspension
DateOct 20, 2022
StateKS
Description
The vehicle violently shakes when it encounters a bump, pothole, or other road surface deviation while driving over 60mph. The steering wheel and front wheels of the vehicle both do this until speed is reduced to under 50mph. Control of the vehicle is greatly reduced during this period. The vehicle is currently at the dealership with 3,000 miles and was purchased new in june of 2022. There are no warning lamps, messages, or other symptoms that appear prior to this behavior. The behavior is consistent, occurring anytime its driven over 60mph and a road surface deviation is encountered.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 19, 2022
StateWA
Description
Brand new 2022 wrangler sahara 4xe randomly stalled in traffic. There was about 450 miles on the vehicle. This happened about 2 weeks after I purchased the vehicle. I've seen that others have been having this issue and there's even a lawsuit regarding this. I had two passengers in the car with me and I was driving at night with a line of cars behind me down a windy road and could have caused a pile up. When I first got in the car, the pure gas range was around 135 miles. I put the car in electric and drove for about 3 minutes till I arrived at my destination. Right after I put the car in park, the low fuel sign came on but there was still around 126 miles left of gas so I was very confused. I drove for another 5 minutes and this time the fuel dropped down to 34 miles. So within a matter of minutes, I lost 100 miles in gas range. I went to fuel the car and when I turned it off and on, the low fuel sign disappeared and the car was back to 126 miles of gas range before I even put any additional fuel into it. I figured this was just a fuel sensor issue and ignored it. After I added fuel, it drove fine for 30 minutes or so and then as I was driving home, I noticed that the car seemed to just suddenly slow down and I got a warning sign to put my car in park and turn it off and on. I was able to pull to the side but I noticed that on the side where you can choose between, electric, hybrid, and e-save, all of the options were not lighted. It appeared as though the engine had stalled. Once I restarted the car, it ran fine. I do not believe I received a check engine light or any other warning signs except for the car telling me to restart and once I did, everything went away. Some folks on the 4xe forum said to check the fusebox and 90% of the fuses were loose or not seated properly. However, this should not be related to the fuel sensor issue. Brought it to a dealership and they said nothing was wrong with it and no codes came up.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 15, 2022
StateNY
Description
Drive at highway got the following error messages "service charging system" and "service transmission." I also got an error message on my jeep u connect app "a charge fault has occurred." I'm lucky to be alive. At the time, I had two-thirds full tank of gas and 6% battery charge (see attachment).
CategorySteering
DateOct 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
Car is less than 3 months old. When I am driving at highway speeds 55-65 mph the steering wheel starts to vibrate and shack to a point, I have to slow down to get control of the wheel once again. The vibration is so bad that some people may lose control of the car. It has happened off and on with no pattern (random). Jeep dealership has no clue to wat it is.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Back Over Prevention: Warnings
DateSep 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
The reverse collision detection sensor are randomly activating when jeep is in reverse. It is available for inspection. The safety of other is put at risk at the technology is unreliable and immediately goes off when the jeep is shifted into reverse. The problem has been reproduced by an independent service center. The vehicle has been inspected by others. Their are not warning lamps or any indication from the dash or vechical that anything is wrong. They appeared from factory/ start of ownership.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Steering
DateSep 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
Vehicle was being driven at about 10 mph or less in a busy and congested area. Left turn was made. There was an immediate loss of braking and steering with this turn. The vehicle engine began to roar and the tachometer went to highest number. Just about all warning lights on the dash were flashing and there was audible beeping as well. The ignition was turned off but all warning lights continued to flash and there were audible beeping. The vehicle had locked itself into an "auto park" mode, and it was unable to be driven or placed into gear. The battery was disconnected, allowing the computer to reset. Although the vehicle continued to malfunction, I was able to drive it out of the main traffic and into a parking lot. A wrecker was called, and the vehicle was transported to a local jeep dealership. The local dealership kept the vehicle for several days, and tested it extensively. They were able to reproduce the loss of steering. They found some erroneous solders on a component, the "star connector". It is believed that this may have shorted something in the electrical system. The safety of myself and family and all others in the vicinity of the jeep 4xe were in grave danger when the initial brake, steering and engine failure occurred. Other people may well have been run over during this event. The problem of loss of steering was reproduced by the jeep dealership that worked on the 4xe, and they feel that it was corrected by replacing the star connector. I have paperwork from the dealership to document the incident. The vehicle is available for inspection and I currently have to drive it, although I have loss of conficence and feel afraid to drive it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was driving on the highway at speeds of 75 mph and the car suddenly stopped entirely and began decelerating at a very quick speed to almost 30 mph in just a few seconds. Luckily, nobody was behind me, otherwise the speed at which it was slowing down would have caused a collision. The car would not accelerate in the time that it was decelerating and the gas pedal stopped working entirely. There were no warning signs or messages that appeared, and the car said that electric mode was unavailable at this time then began to decelerate. I allowed the car to come to a complete stop and then restarted it with no issue until the exact situation happened again, at highway speeds, for a second time after only around 300 miles since the first incident. Then I realized there was a problem with the car and it was not a one off incident.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 02, 2022
StateNC
Description
The car has twice come to almost a complete stop while driving as if it lost power with a close to full charge and plenty of gas. Car goes into a blinking d mode and has to be put in park and restarted. Happen in daily traffic very dangerous!
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle excessively started leaking fluid from the front end of the vehicle. The car then reported a message on the dashboard "transmission hot", thus explaining the fluid. Transmission fluid was leaking from the pan excessively. Dealership stated there was a recall on the water sealant, however I do not see any recalls on the website. They seem to be making a false claim on recall. Perris valley jeep center, city perris ca
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 26, 2022
StateCA
Description
Purchased this jeep brand new and 2 days later I went to start it in my garage and instrument panel lights all started flashing. It was cycling through all of the error codes with emergency lights flashing and would not start. I let the vehicle sit and after a couple of hours it restarted but the check engine light was on. I test drove the vehicle around the block and it stopped in traffic. Vehicle was towed back to the dealership where it was purchased where it has been since 7/13/2022. Originally I was told it was a shifter and that they replaced it but now I am being told it is the entire wiring harness. The shop manager at the dealership has tried resetting the error codes several times with no resolve and he will not put his stamp of approval that this vehicle is safe to drive. I am not comfortable putting my family in this vehicle.
CategorySteering
DateJul 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 jeep wrangler. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle experienced loosened steering control. The dealer was made aware of the failure; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 186.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJul 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
During routine driving at highway speed, the vehicle's electronic stability control (esc) warning light illuminated on the dashboard. Within seconds, the vehicles check engine light (cel) also illuminated. At that point, the vehicle stalled without battery or engine power via any internal combustion or battery power. I was able to safely coast the vehicle to the side of the road narrowly avoiding any accident. I shut off the vehicle hoping this was some sort of electronic error since the vehicle only had 800 miles. However, when restarting the vehicle, both warning lights still remained illuminated and would not clear. I was able to successfully have the vehicle taken back to my home while inoperable. I began researching various forums pertaining to the jeep 4xe with many owners claiming the vehicle has fuse seating issues. Upon inspecting the fuse box, nearly 15 fuses were improperly seated. Once seated by me, I was able to start the vehicle and the esc and cel light cleared and normal vehicle operations now exist. My wife and I live in permanent fear that this type of vehicle will stall again and we will be unable to dodge traffic to coast to the shoulder. Please investigate this troubling concern on this vehicle model. Thank you. The vehicle and components are available for inspection. The incident has not been replicated and a dealer has not seen the vehicle yet.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 30, 2022
StateIL
Description
My vehicles check engine light went on for the first time with approximately 2,286 miles driven on the brand new car. The dealer indicated is was a "coolant issue" but did not provide any additional information. I dropped off my vehicle for repair on 4/25/22 at my local dealer. The vehicle was not fixed until 5/4/22. The check engine light went on for a second time on 5/29/22. When taking the vehicle to my local auto store the report indicated another "coolant" issue. This should not be happening on a new car with less than 4,000 miles on it and 3 months old. This issue has been confirmed by liberty chrysler, dodge, jeep and ram located at 1000 e park avenue, libertyville illinois 60048. I am concerned for several reasons. (1) this could be a sign of additional issues, especially with under 5,000 miles on the vehicle. (2) I am concerned that unless this issue is fixed completely by jeep the vehicle is at risk for serious malfunction while driving which would put the safety of myself along with anyone driving or in the vehicle at risk for a serious accident and even the possibility of death. (3) I am also concerned that continuous coolant malfunctions will put the engine block at risk which would be a serious safety and financial issue. The more stress on the engine and components the lifespan of the vehicle could be diminished and resale value severely affected. There were not indications of anything wrong with the vehicle prior to the check engine light coming on both instances. The vehicle is available for inspections upon request.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 23, 2022
StateMD
Description
Purchased brand new 392 jeep wrangler with second set of factory doors. Unfortunately, water will come through when it rains. This is a hazard for electronics, mold, etc. Took to dealer, who was unable to fix, but acknowledged defect.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
Driving 25 to 30mph, car completely died and the d on the gear shift started blinking. Unable to get to side of road due to traffic. My husband and I were at risk of being rear ended as the car died without any warning. There was also a large clunk sound when it died.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 18, 2022
StateTN
Description
I just bought this vehicle new less than two weeks ago. The, service shifter, message started the day after purchase. I took back to the dealership today. Before getting home "service shifter" message happened twice. I am taking it back again tomorrow and they are giving me a rental and are going to look into it more thoroughly. After researching this message I have found that it is very common and has led to vehicles going into neutral while driving.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateApr 10, 2022
StateTN
Description
Vehicle purchased with 12 miles on it, drove it home and parked and locked it. Later in the evening when I went to get into the vehicle the key fob would not unlock the vehicle. Went to unlock it with the key and anti theft was engaged. Received multiple messages from sirius guardian stating our vehicle was stolen. Unable to shut the alarm off, unlock or lock the vehicle, or start the vehicle. No warning deployed on uconnect, just through guardian but the vehicle is immovable and inoperable. Vehicle is currently at the dealership.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
While coasting or braking, message appears stating performance limited service fuel system. Fuel economy is affected, as well.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateMar 20, 2022
StateIA
Description
The wrangler accelerated while doing regenerative braking or while my foot was on the brake. This caused it to hit a building. It is available for inspection. My safety and my child's safety was put at risk when contact was made with a building. Those inside the building were also at risk. The problem has not been reproduced yet as the incident just happened. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. Insurance will be inspecting. Police were called to scene of accident. I will file a claim with jeep as well. I was running it in full electric mode and I don't remember any issues. The vehicle was just re wired as well.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateMar 05, 2022
StateTX
Description
On 03/03/2022 I purchase a new 2door jeep wrangler s 2022 at the victoria dealership in texas. During the test drive, while driving on the highway at 70 mph, I expressed my concern about the steering wheel acting out and feeling loose. It was a very short drive. The dealership personnel reassured me that everything was fine with the car and I would be safe while driving it. I was ready to drive back home to corpus christi. Unfortunately, the 140 mi ride turned into a nightmare. After speeding to 60 mph on the highway, the car started acting weird. The wheel felt loose, the steering not under control. The next curve on the road, and I completely lost control over the car; the car just went into the right lane, and I was lucky the truck behind managed to stop. And then it happened again when I was slowing down. I had to stop to calm down. I was shaking and was scared to keep driving home. It took me over 3 hours to get home—the most extended 3 hours ever. I kept the speed 50 mph and below the whole time, and my sister was driving behind me. On 03/05/2022 the vehicle was at the dealership in corpus christi to be checked and the problem fixed. They test drove it, find a wobble when hitting a bump, changed a part. The main problem of the loose steering wheel hasn't been fixed. At higher speeds the wheel goes left and right, and the car does not follow; I don't have control of the vehicle and it goes into the right lane on its own. Very unsafe!

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Raymond S

    I both a jeep wrangler unlimited (e-torque) 2022 1yer ago, in Autocentro de Caguas Puerto Rico and after 10,000 miles this lifter noise came up.
    I am being take the jeep to the dealer 3 times in the last 6 month because the noise it’s really an issue. I follow the dealer instruction on change the gasoline brand to minimize this noise and still heard the noise really bad, the dealer suggest adding a gas boots and still the same, every week and every month is worst, they said don’t worry because this is normal.
    I’dont undertand how a bought a jeep almost 50k and the noise is like normal, and it seems like is not real.
    Jeep is Jeep and the brand talk by them self. How can addresses this issue.?

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.