2020 Tesla Model X Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Suspension, vehicle speed control, and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Premium-focused drivers want an electric SUV that outperforms the other options on the road, which is why they spend more for the 2020 Tesla Model X. The automaker claims that this luxury model is “designed for efficiency,” but customers don’t seem to agree. This model struggles with the suspension, vehicle speed control and electrical system

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2019   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Tesla pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Tesla Model X

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Suspension
17
Unknown Or Other
14
Vehicle Speed Control
14
Electrical System
12
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
9
Steering
7
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
7
Service Brakes
4
Seats
4
Structure:body
4

Problems with the Suspension

The suspension of a vehicle is necessary for a smooth ride. Yet, the Model X seems to completely overlook the comfort of the occupants.

Here is one NHTSA review. “Upon accelerating the front end bounces and vibrates unsafely. Tesla is aware of the faulty dangerous design, yet they continue to sell their Model X without disclosing to purchaser. Additionally, they refuse to repair the vehicle, indicating that new front half axles will only temporarily solve the issue. The bounce happens when starting from a complete stop or often when accelerating from one speed to another. The bounce has been happening since April but repeated repair requests to Tesla have been refused.”

Tesla knows there are severe suspension concerns. Service Bulletin #SB-20-31-001 talks about how the front stabilizer bars might have the wrong vulcanized bushings installed, which create a squeaking noise while going over roads with imperfections. Maybe the noises have something to do with making the Model X more “efficient.” Certainly customers spend less time driving the SUV because of the annoying noise.

Problems with the Vehicle Speed Control

Another major fault with the Model X has to do with the speed control. This system is causing a lot of concerns for customers.

Here’s one NHTSA complaint to look at. “I was the fourth vehicle in line at a bank drive thru and when the vehicle in front of me moved up in line, I placed the vehicle in Drive and suddenly the vehicle accelerated out of control and hit two vehicles and then went over a curb into a parking lot and crashed into two other vehicles, which resulted in a serious accident involving four other vehicles. Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt. My vehicle was a total loss.”

While Tesla has remained quiet about these problems, it’s clear that there is nothing efficient about the Model X. Actually, in this situation, there was a small amount of efficiency, in that the driver was already at the bank, so the money needed to pay for everyone else’s repairs was at least handy.

Problems with the Electrical System

One final look occurs with the electrical system. Considering that this is an electric vehicle, one would think this system would be perfected, but that’s not the case.

One Edmunds review states, “I bought a Model X with a warranty from Tesla, warranty of course includes the battery.  It is rated for 237 miles of range. Within four days of purchase, I noted I am getting 40 miles on it before it is at zero.  The car is also losing 24 miles per day when it’s not being driven.  Published documents indicate you shouldn’t lose more than 5-10/day. Their service support indicates it is completely normal and refuses to do anything about the battery – in fact they told me my car’s battery is outperforming the average Model X.  I don’t understand how this is normal.  How is it normal that the car only is able to do 1/6 of its rated range?  The average American drives 18 miles to work – good luck making it home.  It’s misleading advertising and poor warranty support. I wish I wouldn’t have bought the car.  Buyer beware.”

Again, Tesla remains quiet about the electrical system problems. Imagine getting behind the wheel of this SUV that doesn’t drive straight and unintentionally propels forward only to find out that it’s impossible to go beyond 40 miles of drive time. When one considers how much is paid for this vehicle, it’s clear that a lot is being spent per mile. Maybe it’s time to consider a bus pass instead. That would be a great way to become more efficient.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Tesla pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
The rear back doors will not open. The car's computer says an obstacle is detected however there is no obstacle in the way of the doors. (I have a video to prove my claim) the safety of my passengers in the rear seat are at risk as they can not exit the car through the rear door. I have had the vehicle inspected by the dealer (tesla) however they said they can not recreate what has happened. The warning light "obstacle detected" appeared however there was no obstacle in the way. After rebooting the car's computer it still happened. I was able to drive the vehicle to another location and try the back doors and then they finally opened. I feel the back doors should open any time and any place when the car is in park.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
Was pulling out of the starbucks drive thru when the car accelerated quickly on it's own. The brakes also failed. The vehicle only stopped after hitting a tree and a light pole. Very dangerous situation as this occurred in the morning when starbucks is busy. State farm insurance is in possession of the car currently. We are awaiting their findings. Police report is also pending. I did not see a warning indicator on the car or any indications of any problems. However, the car had been serviced frequently for different issues with tesla. After the accident, tesla offered no assistance regarding finding out if there was a safety issue and said we were on our own.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 02, 2022
StateNY
Description
On 8/16/2022 tuesday, I went to work at about 10:24 and parked by the road next to mcdonalds to call my husband. I wanted him to take the car to park elsewhere as that spot had no parking starting at 10:30. My husband was not available so I was about to move the car and had my feet slightly touching the brake. At that point the car suddenly accelerated and jumped forward without any control and hit a car that was coming out of mcdonalds driveway. That car was about 15/20 feet away from my car and I hit on the driver's side. My car was in such speed that it pushed the other car 6 feet on the other side which in turn hit a pedestrian crossing the road. I am 100% sure that I did not press the accelerator and the car moved by itself in such force that I had no chance of controlling it. I've asked tesla to investigate as well
CategoryTires:tread/belt
DateSep 01, 2022
StateNC
Description
Both rear tires (original tires) on the vehicle had broken belts at about the same time. My understanding is that broken belts can lead to tire failure which can pose a significant safety risk. Our local tesla dealer diagnosed the problem, and the tires have been sent to the tire manufacturer for their own inspection. There were no warnings. Tire size: 275/45 r20.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Steering, Suspension
DateAug 29, 2022
StateNV
Description
Tesla model x is infamous for its acceleration shudder. They have replaced the drive shafts twice already. When you accelerate the wheel vibrates only between 15-35 mph. When you brake hard it does the same thing.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Seats
DateAug 11, 2022
StateWA
Description
I have experienced several issues with my car: it brakes suddenly for no reason in the middle of the freeway it displayed an error message that said the right rear seat safety system has failed and needs service it displayed an error message that said the ultrasonic sensors are not communicating with each other (I believe these are used for the driver safety systems). I reached out to tesla asking to look into these issues. Each time tesla denied service and asked me to note down the exact time that these issues happened to help them investigate (they specified the format with an example 06/20/2022 5:22pm pst). If I'm driving the car, how is it safe for me to note down time with this precision? Also, the car has functionality to record all of these alerts but tesla's software updates wipe them out (instead of retaining them). Further, tesla asks to schedule service through their app but in my case, my app doesn't allow me to schedule service for unknown reasons. I have contacted tesla about this issue and so far there is no resolution. I feel very unsafe driving my car after receiving these alerts and not getting any help from tesla to investigate and fix them. I feel they are placing an undue burden on me to record the time. Please help me get my car looked at and fix the issues mentioned above.
CategorySeats
DateAug 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
I got two issues with seats: driver seat issue: I parked my car to charge at a supercharger. I reclined all the way back to relax. After completing the charging, I tried to move the driver seat back to its position, the seat wouldn't move. I tried moving forward and back, it doesn't move. I complained to tesla twice, they couldn't fix the issue. Rear seat issue: I got rear seat restraints at fault error thrice. I took it to service center, they mentioned that they are investigating the error for the past two years. The don't have fix for this issue.
CategorySuspension
DateAug 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
My model x vibrates at low speeds. I took it to service center multiple times. They couldn't fix the issue. Looks like the suspension issue as it makes noise when the car goes up or down using air suspension.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 13, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Recurring phantom braking every drive
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
When I'm using the driving assistance on the highway, and I'm doing like 60 or 70 mph, all of a sudden the car brakes to 45mph if it (falsely) thinks we are in a construction zone I believe. I have almost gotten in 3 accidents because the car suddenly brakes hard on its own, without me braking.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 03, 2022
StateNJ
Description
When using any driver assistance function (autopilot, adaptive cruise control, or autopilot with navigation), phantom breaking is common and terrifying. I am scared to use the systems now because of how unpredictable phantom breaking can be and how jarring (and unsafe it could be) when it happens.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 11, 2022
StatePA
Description
Had failure of leaking coolant fluid in my model x. First time occurred november 2021. Second time april 2022. Both times the 3&4 way values failed and started leaking fluid which disabled my vehicle. This is the 3rd time in 1 year that I've gotten the low coolant leak warning. This is a real problem and I'm concerned since my warranty is running out soon. The 3&4 way value shouldn't last less then 6 months.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
There is an abnormally loud squeaking noise when driving, turning, and going over any surface at all speeds. The noise sounds like metal is being stretched and is about to break. After carefully listening to the vehicle, it is found that the noise is coming from the control arms. Although unbearable, the problem has not put my passengers and me in danger. The issue has been reproduced and confirmed by the tesla service center in burlingame, california. The tesla dealer has inspected the vehicle or component, and a re-inspection is scheduled for may 11, 2022. The problem appeared suddenly while driving last thursday, april 28, without any prior symptoms or warning. The vehicle and parts are available for inspection upon request.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 04, 2022
StateFL
Description
Tires wear out only inside all 4
CategoryWheels
DateMay 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
I noticed a metal-sounding noise while driving that got louder when running over the road markers. After careful observation and visual inspection, I saw the left rear tire slowly deflating. I also noticed that the tread on the rear tires is excessively uneven. The outer thread measured 7/32nds while the inner tire was down to the steel belt. The problem could have caused a safety risk to me, and others had it happened on the freeway.
CategoryPower Train, Steering
DateApr 27, 2022
StatePA
Description
Coolant leak in less then 5 months. Had this same problem in november 2021. Tesla replaced value no. 3. In april 2022 tesla replaced value no. 3&4. Very concerned since my warranty is running out soon.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateApr 06, 2022
StateFL
Description
While idling in drive having applied my foot to the break, the dash displayed h for holding the break. My car accelerated by itself forcefully into the vehicle in front. My seat belt did not lock up, air bags did not deploy, emergency braking didn't work, the tesla box report does not match the dash cam timeline. This was sudden unintended acceleration and I pray it doesn't happen to anyone else.
CategorySeats
DateApr 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
On sunday, march 27 at approximately 3:00pm pst, while the vehicle was traveling on the freeway at approximately 70mph, the driver seat moved towards the steering wheel unprovoked. My wife was driving at the time and screamed so everyone in the car could hear how dangerous the situation was. The driver seat continued to move forward by itself unprovoked and stopped as my wife was uncomfortably close to the steering wheel. She was able to keep control of the car until we pulled over safely to our destination. Once at our destination while parked, the driver seat again moved towards the steering wheel while my wife was sitting in it unprovoked. Within a span of 15 minutes, the tesla somehow automatically triggered the driver seat to move towards the steering wheel (once while in motion, once while parked). We brought the car to the tesla dealership on tuesday, 3/29. They kept the car 7 business days and was not able to diagnose the issue and I was given the car back. I would like to point out that my wife's "saved" seat profile setting is the closest to the steering wheel. I am a taller gentlemen so my profile of the seat is set farther back. This is key because my wife was driving on her profile, so they wasn't a chance that we hit a different seat setting while driving.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 02, 2022
StateAL
Description
As I was slowly backing into a supercharging parking space watching the rear view video on the car's lcd screen, unbeknownst to me the image from the rear view camera froze. To me it appeared that the car had stopped moving so I applied a little more juice and promptly ran into the protective bollard at the back of the parking space, at which point the rear view camera started working again. If there had been someone behind me, I would have hit them. As it was, I only damaged the car's rear hatch. I tried backing up again and had the image freeze again. I then re-booted the car's system and the problem was not experienced again on that trip. Since then I have had the problem occur one other time and re-booting the system again seemed to fix it. The problem appears to be due to a failure in the car's software as it relates to the rear view camera. I have not taken the car to a dealer yet to see if they can fix the problem and the car has not been inspected by another party. There were no warnings or messages when the problem occurred.
CategoryElectrical System:adas:autonomous/self Driving:software
DateMar 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated while driving 45 mph with the self driving feature activated, the contact was unable to disengage the feature by tapping on the brake pedal. Approximately 5 to 10 minutes later, the vehicle lost motive power and stalled without warning. The contact scheduled an upcoming appointment with the dealer for the vehicle to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The manufacture was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
1) cruise control randomly resets itself to different speeds. Happens several times daily. I can set it to 55 and 5 seconds later it will reset itself to 80 and accelerate suddenly, or vice-versa. It can change to any speed-either higher or lower than what I've set. Happened yesterday afternoon (3-17). First noted it being a problem 2-28 at about 6 pm mst while driving on 4 lane highway in colorado, with multiple episodes of randomly resetting speeds itself. Given the rapid acceleration/deceleration of a tesla, when the cruise control resets itself, the acceleration/braking can be abrupt and significant. 2)ghost braking has been and remains a problem with this car. It was serviced by tesla 2-18 and a "chip" was replaced per tesla. I reported about a dozen incidents of ghost braking to tesla shortly after picking it up but don't have exact times/days. There are 3 episodes of ghost braking that were truly dangerous. I was driving on the interstate at 70-75 mph and the car slammed on the brakes for no reason, and it seemed it would have stopped completely in the middle of the interstate if I hadn't accelerated manually. Speed went from 75 to 50 within 1-2 seconds before I was able to react and accelerate. Twice this happened at about 1-2 am on a completely empty interstate in nebraska with no one around me at all, but the 3rd time was on a busy highway (I-55) near chicago. I was nearly rear-ended by another car when this braking occurred. He was able to swerve around me, but was unhappy and made his displeasure known. Even if it didn't directly cause an accident it certainly triggered road rage, which is probably more dangerous than actually having an accident these days. Have told tesla about it before but they always tell me it's just "software" and will get better with updates I have notified tesla of these incidents (with written record) but haven't heard back from them. I have a service appointment 3-21-22 to get them to try and address these issues
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 16, 2022
StatePA
Description
The side mirrors opened unexpectedly while backing out of the garage causing damage to the right side mirror. The side mirrors typically opens after we have driven a few feet from our house. I reported the issue to tesla with date and time of the incident, tesla representative confirmed that the car computer gave a command to open the mirror but unable to explain any further root cause analysis and taking responsibility for the glitch that caused the damage. Tesla declined to state this in writing. The real concern is what is tesla's responsibility when a serious crash and damage happens due to another glitch. Additionally tesla is not being transparent and decline to take responsibility for defects in their product.
CategoryElectrical System:adas:autonomous/self Driving, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateMar 02, 2022
StateCO
Description
The contact owns 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated while using the self-driving feature or the cruise control, the vehicle would brake independently. The contact stated an unknown warning light was illuminated. The contact stated he had experienced the failure on multiple occasion. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure by the app. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateVA
Description
While cruise control is activated, the car brakes aggressively for no reason. This has happened multiple times in the last few months. I saw that news articles mention model 3, y and s but this is a model x and it is happening on this model as well.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Rear view parking camera will freeze. At times when putting the vehicle in reverse the rear view camera will freeze and be stuck on the same frame. When rolling back slowly this can, at times be hard to recognize. Especially in areas of bad visibility this has led to near misses. Recently when backing out of a parking spot at rady children's hospital, the camera was once again stuck and I only realized 1-2 seconds into slowly backing the vehicle out of the parking spot inside a cover parking garage. During the time I almost hit cross traffic that was invisible on the stuck rear view camera. Even after finally backing out without the help of the camera, the image was still frozen.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Vehicle randomly breaks hard when either in cruise control or auto pilot. Either on normal highway lanes or in the diamond lane. Happens frequently - at least weekly on local southern california hwys
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateIA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds with the cruise control or autopilot functions activated, the brakes inadvertently engaged, causing the vehicle to come to an abrupt stop. The vehicle experienced phantom braking. The contact stated that after the full self-driving beta program was installed, the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer transferred the contact to the tech department. The tech department informed the contact that they would repair the failure with an over-the-air software update. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000. The contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds with the cruise control or autopilot functions activated, the brakes inadvertently engaged, causing the vehicle to come to an abrupt stop. The vehicle experienced phantom braking. The contact stated that after the full self-driving beta program was installed, the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer transferred the contact to the tech department. The tech department informed the contact that they would repair the failure with an over-the-air software update. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
While on autopilot or cruise control, the car would suddenly and abruptly slam on the brakes for no reason. There's no traffic or objects to avoid. It was very startling because it could have caused a massive rear-end collision had I not intervened to cancel the autopilot and speed up again. . Because of this, I have stopped using the autopilot feature altogether. I cannot trust it will work properly. I have mentioned it to tesla and they simply say the software update will solve it. It has not!
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
Rear passager falcon door does not consistently close on on the first attempt. Would need a second or multiple pressing of the button to close. The wing door scrapes the c- pillar and is misaligned. Apparently, there is a flaw in the calibration and sensors. Every time I close the wing, I have to wait around to make sure it is completely closed. Frequently, the wing just gets stuck halfway and the passenger has to go over the side to exit or enter. The other door operates perfectly fine. This is unsafe because it makes it more difficult for passengers to get out of the car if the door refuses to open or close completely as it should. Have taken the vehicle to the service center and complained multiple times. Telsa simply says it operates within their standards, which is absurd. They suggest cutting the glass on the c pillar to stop the scraping, and pay for it out of my own pocket even though it's still under warranty.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 19, 2021
StateWA
Description
I saw a warning light briefly about the suspension then the car started making very large squeals is sounds like metal on metal in the steering underneath me as the driver and the front end - looked at the suspension pictures and not seeing anything with the ride on the computer screen. I have 62,000 mikes on my car - owned it for a little more than 14 months - drive a lot as a real estate broker
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 15, 2021
StateCA
Description
This vehicle has had a number of issues. One after another. Vast majority are infotainment and software issues. Just recently while traveling at a highway rate of speed, the software froze and the instrument panel was frozen. I had no idea as I thought everything was working. And of course I was using auto pilot and full self driving feature. I darn nearly hit the concrete divider as the function was not working but the dashboard/instrument panel was leading me to believe that it was!!!! This is super dangerous. The car has been in the shop countless times. I now text the service manager on his cell phone and have gotten to know him a little too well. They have tried fixing it but he admits that they don't have a fix for the issue. The infotainment system was also replaced a few months ago, with no results in solving the problem. My car re boots interleaf all the time while driving making it highly unsafe with it's self driving and auto pilot feature. Today the service manager called me to tell me that tesla can not fix the car and is willing to buy it back at a reduced price of ,000! What? No.. You either fix the car which is still under warranty or give me all of my money back including sales tax, which was 5,0000. I've owned this problem riddled car for less than 2 years and it can't be fixed.. Not my fault. This is on top of the vibration issue that they are also aware of and don't have fix for. And many other issues...... I have several pictures and videos of many incidents. This needs to be looked into asap as I believe this is an issue with many of the tesla model x cars as well as possibly model s. The software/hardware glitch will kill people guaranteed. The incident below is one of many
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateDec 03, 2021
StateSC
Description
We received the full self-driving beta software from tesla this week. How nhtsa has permitted tesla to enable this software for use on public streets is mind-blowing. It is that dangerous! Do the public a favor and go drive a tesla with fsd enabled. You can read my full comments on our blog: https://nerdvittles. Com/the-10000-hoax-meet-teslas-full-self-driving-vehicle/
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 16, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated that the autopilot feature was activated while driving 70 mph however, the vehicle was unresponsive. The vehicle failed to slow down, and the brakes and steering wheel would not engage. The contact had to hold down both scroll wheels to reset the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the dealer replaced the tires with snow tires. The dealer informed the contact that it was illegal to drive the vehicle with a secondary fault detected since the system crashed while on autopilot. The dealer provided a loaner vehicle. The dealer repaired the vehicle by replacing the gateway micro 8 gb sd flash drive card. However, the failure recurred. Additionally, the audible function was inoperable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that they would escalate the concern to the engineers and would contact him back. However, the contact had not heard from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was approximately 37,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
I purchased a tesla x. They advertise 450 miles per charge. I have not gotten more than 300 miles per charge. The sales people lied about it and I have returned the car but now they don't want to refund the money. I am now in an expensive law suit.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateOct 23, 2021
StateNC
Description
While driving on an interstate at night traveling at 70mph the computer/console froze navigation and wouldn't respond to touch commands. Then everything on the car went dark. No screen, no signal lights, nothing. Luck is the only reason I did not have an accident. This was terrifying and dangerous and I and others could easily have gotten hurt. My car had no lights and other cars couldn't see me as I changed lanes (without being able to signal) to pull in the emergency lane. The car has had connectivity issues starting at 1 year after purchase (about one month ago). I am sometimes unable to play music and the computer screen reads “no connectivity”. It may be a coincidence that the free 1 year trial of premium connectivity just ended at the same time these issues began. I now pay /month for the service. Right before the screen went dark I had been on the phone, which was docked in the charger. This all just happened and I have an appointment in 10 days at the tesla service center.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 02, 2021
StateGA
Description
Around 1:50 p. M may 27, 2021, I left my house driving my tesla 2020 model x with my son in the front passenger seat to his school. We returned to our home around 2:19 p. M. At our front gate, I slowed down to a close stop as I turned the vehicle into my driveway. Once descending the driveway, my tesla vehicle suddenly accelerated to an extremely high speed. While I attempted to brake; however, none of the speed controls seemed to work. The vehicle hit my 2009 toyota camry parked on the left side of my driveway first, then took out the heavy duty wrought iron fence post and gate door located about 100 ft from my front gate. My tesla vehicle kept moving at a very high speed and knocked down and damaged all trees, plants, and garden arbors along the vehicle's path and, then, crashed through the rear wrought iron fences about 200 ft from my front gate. Finally, the vehicle stopped after crashing into two large trees and stop there. My son got injured and was taken to an urgent care facility after the crash. Two of my vehicles including 2020 tesla model x and 2009 camry le were totaled and a large portion of my backyard, fence and gate were destroyed due to this tesla crash. This tesla vehicle suddenly accelerated for no reason, indicating that there must have been something seriously wrong with this vehicle at that time. The resulting skid marks on my driveway discovered after the incident demonstrates that braking was applied even though the vehicle accelerated. I had reported this crash to tesla on may 27 and followed up on may 29, june 1 and june 3 and have not received a response from tesla at this time. The investigation shall be performed to find why this tesla vehicle suddenly accelerated to prevent other tesla vehicle drivers from similar dangerous incidents caused by the vehicle's sudden accelerations. I have the videos and photos from the crash. Please let me know should you need this information for the investigation.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 24, 2021
StateCA
Description
Sudden forward unintened rapid acceleration resulting in personal injury and property damage
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateJun 13, 2021
StateCA
Description
I had my car for almost 12 months and have drive ~11000 miles. In the past one month, I started experiencing a violent shudder/vibration during initial acceleration between ~30-40mph. Tesla service has refused to act upon this issue saying they don't have a fix for this issue. They do have a service bulletin sb-21-39-001 issued for this problem but mentioned that this is not a permanent fix for this issue. Finally, nothing was done to address the issue.
CategoryElectrical System:adas:control Module
DateJun 04, 2021
StateHI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, the driver screen and the center console screen went dark which caused the contact to have no access to electrical features in the vehicle. The contact restarted the vehicle and temporarily the vehicle operated as designed. The failure recurred several times. During the failures, the electrical functions and safety features were inoperable. The local dealer sent a mechanic to the residence to reformat the software however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,311.
CategorySeats
DateMay 20, 2021
StateVA
Description
The driver's seat did not hold a firm position and would slide slightly on the base tracks, when driving or stopping. Tesla repaired the defect by replacing the entire seat assembly, but I'm reporting it as a defect in case other car owners experience the same issue as a possible widespread defect. Tesla's final invoice makes no mention of the seat replacement, although I can confirm the work was performed. The invoice simply lists “courtesy inspection”.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 07, 2021
StateFL
Description
Both rear tires are severely worn on the inside shoulder/tread after only one year. The driver/owner cannot inspect the rear tires because visibility is severely limited. In my case, I had a nail in the tire. The tire store removed the tire and noted the tire was worn down to the cord at the extreme most tread on the inside of the tire. Also, these tires cannot be rotated since the front tires are a different width (275 rear vs. 265 front). Tesla indicated that there was no adjustment to the rear wheel camber for the model x. While at the tesla store in etonville, fl another customer was at the store with the same problem. His tires had 15,000 miles on them and you could easily see the exposed radial belt of the tire. In my case, the tires had 11,000 miles on them. Safety issue: if the owner/driver is not aware of the problem and cannot inspect the tire it can resort in a catastrophic failure event leading to an accident.
CategorySuspension
DateMay 04, 2021
StateGA
Description
Front half shaft vibration on acceleration
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2021
StateNV
Description
While driving at highway speeds, my two info screens that provide all feedback to the driver (e. G., speed, warning lights, etc.) go dark. This has happened on multiple occasions and I have documented with tesla. They acknowledged the issue and said they are working on a fix(?)
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 03, 2021
StateNC
Description
I was driving my model x (june 2020) home last evening on a road I normally drive. (6 lane road) I was approach a traffic light that turned yellow and I determined I didn't have enough time to stop - so I hit the accelerator to get through the light before it turned red and then everything on the car stopped working. No alarms, no sounds, no warnings, nothing - music even stopped playing. The only indication something was wrong was the dashboard flashing yellow light indicator that the car thought it was slipping (complete dry @ 5:50pm -- temperature was 45 degrees). The car would no longer accelerate (I hit the acceleration pedal and nothing happened), regenerative braking stopped working and the car was only coasting and quickly slowing down (it is a heavy car). I managed to get it into a nearby parking lot and called tesla roadside. The car would not accelerate after rebooting 2+ times and when it finally managed to begin to move the car behaved like it thought it was "slipping". No alarms showed up until I was instructed to reboot by tesla emergency roadside - at which point they recommended I bring the car to service.
CategoryElectrical System, Suspension
DateJan 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
The screen has turned off a number of times while driving on the highway. Couldn't see any controls, speed, navigation, camera, etc. Screen was completely turned off. Also the suspension (ball joints) feel loose and make an odd sound.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 01, 2021
StateMO
Description
New software update has made the font of the display too small to read so the driver can no longer see what gear has been selected like drive, park, neutral or reserve. The font is smaller than the average person over the age of 42 can read if they have any degree of presbyopia.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Structure:body
DateDec 20, 2020
StateCA
Description
After I put my car in park mood .. Within few second car started taking off speeding over the grass /plants area of parking lot in to the office unite ( meta/ glass door ) shattering glass was all over broke through frame work of the office unite all the way to the examination chair of dr office .. Had there be any worker / patient/ dr in the unitr someone would have been dead or injured .. I am scared for my life to drive this car around after police & fire department arrived at the scene I was informed by firefighters that code they were called in to a house near me for another tesla speeding through the garage to the living room of the house I believe there is defects in these cars as most of complaints file 2020 has reported same issue .. I received my car in the middle of pandemic where no body walked me through this car so I had any idea there has been injury and death reports as well ..
CategoryEngine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 17, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 tesla model x. The contact stated while driving 5 mph, when the vehicle began to accelerate independently. The contact was able to depress the brakes pedal and stop the vehicle. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated she had experience the failure again on 12/14/2020, after parking the vehicle and while the vehicle was off when it accelerate independently and drove into a building. The airbags did not deploy. The contact did not sustain any injuries or seek medication attention. A police and fire department report was filed. The contact called local dealer tesla (6701 amador plaza rd, dublin, ca 94568; (925) 361-1173) and was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired as of yet. A the manufacturer had been informed of failure. The failure mileage was approximately 200. *bf the consumer stated the vehicle's lights independently turn on and of.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 13, 2020
StateOH
Description
On the beginning of october 11, my reverse camera stops functioning. At night, when I park my car in the garage, my front screen (behind steering wheel) was blank. Shortly after, my car suddenly self-accelerated while I was parked. This resulted in the car smashing through my garage wall, causing loads of damage in the room opposite of the wall. Some damage included: a broken wooden bar, shattered glasses & liquor bottles, and damages to the front of my tesla. This car was newly purchased, with a milage of simply 40 miles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 27, 2020
StateIL
Description
Since we received new car, wiper makes noise https://www. Youtube. Com/playlist? List=plh8jf6x4gduadmsw3kafehuhhtlwsur9u several times we tried to fix this issue, tesla said nothing wrong with wiper. I have been heard for a year since I bought this car
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 19, 2020
StateIL
Description
While driving the car - the car's central computer rebooted. When this happens the music stops, all the screens (center console + driver display) go black. I was not using any autopilot functionality during this time. I'm curious what would have happened if I was. It takes about 30 seconds for the driver display to fully recover. I have a video of this in action.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateOct 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 tesla model x in the junkyard https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/37336502? Rownumber=125 the front wheel has gone all whompy because the top ball-joint has popped apart. This car has only travelled 4000 miles since being pushed out of the tesla tent. It is unlikely that the ball has suffered enough wear and tear to allow it to pop apart. It is more likely that the ball-joint was made by stoned monkeys at the local zoo. Would it be too much of an ask for you to take these wretched junk-heaps off the highways? Have an exciting day. Regards keef
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 07, 2020
StateCA
Description
I've created several bug reports for the autopilot system which is, a very real danger. The vehicle accelerates towards parked or stopped cars, slams on the brakes without explanation on the freeway, begins to change lanes on the freeway then violently swerves back into the original lane without explanation. I've taken the vehicle into 3 different service centers. The explanation is "software" and they recommend "updating the software" when new versions come out. The version of software released are not ready to be released to the general public. As a pilot, I understand how autopilot systems should behavior. The tesla autopilot behaves so dangerously it doesn't appear the software engineers even bothered to test it before release.
CategorySuspension
DateSep 30, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 tesla model s in the junkyard: https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/37573752? Rownumber=3 despite having the new improved redesigned suspension giblets it has gone all whompy. The rh back wheel is leaning out and the front suspension is. Completely copulated. The steering knuckle has cracked in half, the lower ball joints have snapped. The whole thing is fornicated. This is not crash damage. It is self inflicted injury caused by bad design, bad materials and bad elon. Please take these junkheaps off the roads. Thank you keef
CategorySuspension
DateSep 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 tesla model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/37531471? Rownumber=2 it has not been in a collision, no airbags have deployed and there is no impact damage to the bodywork. The air suspension has collapsed and due to the ludicrous design having no limit stops all four wheels have jammed up into the wells. The back lh tire has been rubbing against the wheel-well for so long that it is completely shredded (see attached photograph) the owner must have been oblivious to this. Perhaps he was using the tesla self-pleasuring device that is so popular with tesla owners - https://www. Gizmodo. Com. Au/2020/07/this-blowjob-machine-designed-for-teslas-on-autopilot-is-a-terrible-idea-but-probably-not-why-you-think/ if you can spare the time would you please get around to issuing a recall to get these deadly defective contraptions off the roads. Thank you keef
CategoryWheels
DateSep 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
Our tesla model x 2020 has only 6300 miles. After noticing that one of the rear tires was flat, I realized that the two rear tires were extremely worn on the inner rim, even exposing the steel belt on both.
CategorySuspension
DateSep 17, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/37336502? Rownumber=63 the front wheel has gone whompy because the top ball-joint has popped apart. This exact same ball joint is used on all models of teslas. Tesla seems to have got a bad batch of these ball joints that have insufficient lubricant causing squeaking as the dry metal parts rub against each other. Many owners are complaining about this on the forums and are resorting to diy repairs like making a hole in the boot and spraying in lubricant. These failures are now so common that a meme has been generated. Pop goes the ball joint https://www. Reddit. Com/r/enoughmuskspam/comments/f9k8g6/pop_goes_the_ball_joint/ not really funny though. This failure will kill people. Please take action. Thank you keef
CategorySuspension
DateAug 28, 2020
StateCA
Description
here is a 2020 model x in the junkyard https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/37239417? Rownumber=4 both rear wheels have gone whompy (that means they are leaning over at an angle) the car has been involved in a major whoopsie and has a bit of damage here and there. Regardless of this, even in the event of a hard impact to the wheels it should have been the wheels that broke rather than the suspension. I think it is long overdue that you should stop giving tesla the benefit of the doubt on these absurdly fragile suspension components and that you should demand an immediate recall. Thank you keef
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Power Train, Suspension
DateAug 26, 2020
StateFL
Description
Upon accelerating the front end bounces and vibrates unsafely. Tesla is aware of the faulty dangerous design, yet they continue to sell their model x without disclosing to purchaser. Additionally, they refuse to repair the vehicle, indicating that new front half axles will only temporarily solve the issue. The bounce happens when starting from a complete stop or often when accelerating from one speed to another. The bounce has been happening since april but repeated repair requests to tesla have been refused.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 18, 2020
StateCA
Description
The instrument cluster does not show a valid speed. Speed is shown as '0' even when vehicles is traveling and even when cruise control or 'auto pilot' is driving.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 01, 2020
StateCA
Description
I was driving on freeway 99 near chowcilla, california in my tesla model x with under 7,000 miles on autopilot and there was no cars in any direction near me. This freeway was a straight line with no bends or curves. The car was traveling at 75 mph in the middle lane on autopilot and the car suddenly decelerate very aggressively for no reason. The tires screeched as the car's speed suddenly came to a near standstill at the speed of 10-15 mph. The driver ([xxx]) took manual control and drove the car without any potential fatalities. If there was a car or truck behind us, we would have died. This has happened on two previous occasions, but the deceleration was not as sudden as this life threatening occurrence. Redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *cc
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJul 01, 2020
StateTX
Description
I was the fourth vehicle in line at a bank drive thru and when the vehicle in front of me moved up in line, I placed the vehicle in drive and suddenly the vehicle accelerated out of control and hit two vehicles and then went over a curb into a parking lot and crashed into two other vehicles, which resulted in a serious accident involving four other vehicles. Fortunately, no one was seriously hurt. My vehicle was a total loss.
CategorySuspension
DateApr 25, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a video of a tesla on the drag strip https://www. Youtube. Com/watch? V=5rfddimydp4&t=589s the commentator notes that the tesla looks as though its axle is about to snap. Both the front and rear wheels are whomping around so as to be in danger of jamming up in the wheel wells. This is not just the compression of rubber bushings in the suspension. It is the result of strain in the suspension components. Teslas that are driven "enthusiastically" are certain to stress the cast and extruded aluminum components well beyond their elastic limits. Tesla owners often enjoy the ludicrous and insane acceleration. Teslas also often enjoy spontaneous lunatic acceleration aka unintended acceleration. I petion you to investigate these deadly contraptions. Thank you unhinged citizen
CategorySuspension
DateApr 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 tesla model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/36107917/20 it has done just 500 miles and the back wheel has gone all whompy. The tread is partly worn away on the whompy wheel. This shows that the driver continued to drive after the wheel started to go whompy . Oh well, I guess you have to be brainless to buy a tesla in the first place. How about you do your job and recall these deadly defective electric battering rams before even more people get killed. Thank you. [xxx] redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *cc
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 07, 2020
StateCO
Description
When pulling into a parking space the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated causing the vehicle to jump the parking curb and strike a retaining wall. I have the video from the car. While turning right into an available parking spot, I was about 80% into the spot when the vehicle surged.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 06, 2020
StateLA
Description
While I was parking, my tesla model x suddenly accelerated into my office building. I am sure that my foot was on the brake at the time.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Here is a 2020 tesla model x in the junkyard. Https://www. Iaai. Com/vehicledetails/35799520/8 it has done just 2000 miles and already the wheel has gone whompy. Despite there being a tsb out for weak suspension links https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2019/mc-10153421-9999. Pdf tesla is still sweeping this issue under the rug. They have not fixed the older cars on the roads but worse still the new cars coming off the line still have suspension giblets made from play-dough.. Good heavens to betsy.... Are you guys asleep at the wheel? Please recall these defective death traps immediately. Regards. Citizen keef.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 21, 2020
StateMO
Description
At approximately 6:18 pm on 3/21/2020, I was driving my brand new 2020 tesla model x (7 miles starting odometer) home from taking delivery of it (!), and after 20 miles of mostly highway driving, I was nearing home and stopped at a traffic light (with several cars stopped ahead of me). After about 30 seconds of sitting dead-stopped, the car vigorously accelerated with no action on my part, and I had to turn the car hard to the right to avoid a full-on collision with the stopped car in front of me. Fortunately, to my right there was a curb and then an empty parking lot and so I was able to avoid any serious property damage or injury. Both of the passenger side tires on my vehicle were flattened, and there was some very minor damage to the front drivers side bumper, and to the rear passenger side fender of the vehicle in front of me. (I had left enough distance when stopping at the light in between my car and theirs and I also somehow reacted very quickly given how in shock I was.) the car was not drive-able because of the flat tires, and so I contacted tesla roadside assistance. They towed the vehicle back to the tesla facility from where I had just originated. After the incident, I immediately contacted the sales person because -- you know -- I had literally just purchased the car. Someone else on the sales team answered the phone. My sales person called me back shortly thereafter, and I eventually spoke with the sales manager around 7:45pm. All four of those individuals (3 sales, 1 roadside assistance rep) said something to the effect of: "we've never heard of a vehicle doing this before." thankfully I thought to google the issue, and an article in car & driver about your pending investigation popped up. So I feel like they were probably gaslighting me per some script from legal, which is a really great feeling after you spend 3,000 on a car.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJan 17, 2020
StateTX
Description
The car suddenly accelerated to full speed when parking the car in a mall parking lot. I tried to park the car, it did not fit so I went reverse a couple of feet and when I put the car in drive, it accelerated on its own and the steering wheel turned all the way to the left. The car went over the tire stoppers and came to a complete stop when it crashed against a post. This was 100% the car's fault, I am sure I did not press the accelerator. I have submitted the claim with tesla and they are reviewing the data. I saw the news that other cars had similar problem and I wanted to share my experience as well. This is very serious and needs to be addressed

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Jessie H

    My 2020 X has a bad vibration in front wheel motors upon excelleration, plus issue with fan when running AC.
    we have an appointment on Wed. Hope they can fix it, we paid a ton of money for the car

  • Hernando

    I have a Tesla Model X with the vibrating issue and Tesla keeps taking the car for repairs almost every month for the last 14 months but no fix is done, after 30000 miles driven the car still vibrates shakes. No fix.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.