2021 Kia Telluride Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Powertrain, visibility, and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Did your windshield crack unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible for compensation.

Or has your sunroof shattered unexpectedly? Find out if you are eligible to join our Telluride Shattering Sunroof class action investigation.

The 2021 Kia Telluride is advertised as a family car that offers premium features and class. The automaker says there is “no holding back” when driving this SUV. However, customers tend to agree that it contains a defective powertrain, visibility issues and a faulty electrical system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Kia Telluride

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
43
Unknown Or Other
17
Visibility:windshield
8
Power Train
6
Electrical System
5
Engine
5
Exterior Lighting
4
Structure:body
4
Service Brakes
3
Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
3

Problems with the Powertrain

A smooth-shifting experience is what customers want, but it’s not what they receive. It seems these SUVs create excessive vibration that is causing some major complaints.

One NHTSA review says, “There is a known issue with Tellurides and Hyundai Palisade vehicles right now with excessive vibration when speeds reach 55 mph – 70 mph. Kia Consumer Assistance and dealers are not being helpful. They road forced balanced my wheels and sent me home…I told them it’s not fixed and now they want me to take it back. There are multiple people on forum/messaging board with the same problem. Kia replaces driveshafts/AWD couplers on some which resolves the issues but ignores others. They need a TSB to fix this universally. This piecemeal approach has gotten them in trouble with NHTSA already.”

While this might not seem like a big deal, if an accident were to occur, occupants could be in a lot of trouble. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V164000 states that some affected vehicles may not detect when there is a child restraint system in the front passenger seat, thereby the air bag could inadvertently deploy and cause a further injury. It appears the air bag system is just following the tagline – no holding back – not even when it is supposed to.

Problems with the Visibility

Probably the most talked about issue has to do with the auto glass, which continues to cause the same problems as previous models.

One NHTSA complaint states, “Windshield cracked, unsure of when or where, but went from 2 inches long to whole windshield in a matter of a day or two. Can’t for the life of me figure out how it happened, noticed it in the driveway. Mileage was approximately 8k miles.”

After facing class action lawsuits on the 2020 Telluride models, it seems Kia hasn’t learned anything. It’s only a matter of time before the 2021 models end up with lawsuits attached to them too. 2020 Kia Telluride SUVs had windshields that cracked, chipped or fractured without warning, and the same continues on with the newest lineup. Kia isn’t learning the lesson, going full steam ahead with this defective manufacturing process. There’s “no holding back” the company, not even expensive penalties.

Problems with the Electrical System

With a modern SUV, owners want a seamless electrical system that operates all the bells and whistles with ease.

One Edmunds review discusses a different outcome. “After a 4 month wait to get my new Telluride I have become quickly dissatisfied.  The car is a perfect size and rides great. When the features work I love it. Unfortunately I have had it in the shop 4 time’s for the same problem. The blind spot detector doesn’t work. Currently in a loaner car. I also had an emergency when the car wouldn’t start. Lights were flashing. Called 2 dealership’s for 2 days without a return call. I called a roadside service for help.”

The problems go even deeper. Service Bulletin #TSB_ELE213 talks about trouble with the camera display that requires female coaxial cable replacements. Without the repair, intermittent issues with flickering or displaying lines on the display might occur. At this point, owners should decide to “hold back” on any future Kia purchases, knowing that the automaker doesn’t seem to care about building quality systems.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 27, 2022
StateAK
Description
Three windshields in a row have cracked seemingly without cause. My windshields never chip, they have only cracked or shattered.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateNov 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
Driving on the highway on 11/20/22, at approximately 65-70 mph, when there was a loud bang above the driver's head causing the driver to become startled and swerve. The wind noise became louder and there was also a noise like something was moving on top of the sunshade. Exited the highway and pulled into a parking lot. Got out and the front sunroof had exploded and shards of glass were on top of the closed sunshade. The glass that remained was blown outward as if something inside the vehicle caused it to explode. Luckily the sunshade was closed and contained the glass or it would have come into the vehicle cabin and potential caused an accident or injuries to the occupants, and one could have been my one year old daughter. There were no cars around, no debris in the road, and not near an overpass.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 30, 2022
StatePA
Description
While applying the brake at an approaching stop sign the brake pedal was completely depress and the vehicle continued to roll forward into the intersection. This happened twice in a week. Kia dealer assessed the vehicle on two occasions and was unable to find a fault. This could very well cause a major crash and impact the safety of myself, my family and others on the roadway.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:exhaust System:emission Control:catalytic Convertor
DateAug 29, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph there was a loud rattling sound that came from under the vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact then pulled over safety. The contact stated there were parts of the vehicle that fell onto the highway. When the contact was on the side of the vehicle they checked under the hood, and located smoke and fire from the engine. The contact exhausted the flames with liquid from a nearby driver. The chp and fire arrived on the scene; however, the fire was extinguished by the time of their arrival. There was no chp report filed that the contact was aware of. There were no injuries or medical treatments needed. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer and diagnosed two pistons came from the engine, and it was a catalytic failure. The vehicle currently was being repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateAug 23, 2022
StateGA
Description
The windshield failed spontaneously, overnight while not being driven and not having been impacted by any object. The crack began as about 10 inches long, and has grown to more than two feet long. The windshield requires replacement for safety. The problem has been confirmed by safelite (which will replace for

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,000, as compared to kia's

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,600), but has not been inspected by others. There was no warning or any symptom of the problem prior to the failure.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 09, 2022
StateMI
Description
Part number 97279-s9010 fell on my feet while I was driving from under dash. Part block access to the brake as it fell on my feet between my foot and the brake/gas making it impossible to apply the brake. Fortunately, was a rural road so I put in neutral and coasted to the side of the road. Very confusing until I saw the part blocking the brake and gas pedal.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 29, 2022
StateKY
Description
Safety and security bypass via usb port in steering column making vulnerable to theft with only a usb cord
CategoryTires, Wheels
DateJul 21, 2022
StateNE
Description
These tires ball super quick and are a danger to the road. Others have complained as well on review sites. Since they wear fast they also pop easily. Have popped 3 tires in 1. 5 years all different tires. 1st tire popped at 12k miles 2nd tire popped at 20k miles 3rd tire popped at 26k miles scorpion zero all season - size: 245/50r20 these need recalled. They are pour quality and are a road hazard if anyone pops their tire at higher speeds. Thankfully all three of mine were lower speeds. I have now replaced the latest tire with a different brand as these tires put me at risk.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 15, 2022
StateOK
Description
Upon driving my new vehicle for approximately 5 months, the windshield got chipped. I took this to an individual and had this sealed. Last week, after driving my telluride for about a year, the windshield began to crack in a different spot. The crack has grown and grown and now encompasses most of the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 16, 2022
StateTN
Description
The windshield cracked without getting hit by a foreign object. It happened overnight while parked in a garage. It wasn't there the day before or I would have noticed it because it was so visible. It cracked from the very top and spread down around the rearview mirror and spread across and you can't feel the crack either from inside or outside, it is very smooth and you can only see a line.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
I was driving over the harbor bridge in corpus christi, texas with my kids and nephew when suddenly my front sunroof exploded. It blew from inside out based on the way the glass is pointing outward. Luckily I didn't wreck into another car, or even have my sunroof headliner open. Kia said theirs no recall under my vin, but there are several other people I've found online with the same car and issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
Tiny rock, not visible to me but heard a soft tink sound, hit the windshield causing tiny chip and a huge crack from near the top of the drivers side to the bottom near the wipers. No reason for a tiny pebble to completely crack a windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 06, 2022
StateNM
Description
Windshield cracked about 7 inches in diameter with no point of impact.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Windshield appeared to have 6 inch crack in windshield, even though no rock or chip were noticed. Crack grew to an 18inch crack within 1 day. Crack will likely spread across entire windshield and inhibit visibility. This was 1 year to the day of purchasing the vehicle. Brought it to the dealers attention, and they are aware of the issue with 2020 models, but didn't have guidance from kia on 2021 models.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 31, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was parked and wanted to bring window down the one in back seat made a weird noise and put the window back up but did not close completely and tried to close it from driver seat and nothing
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 30, 2022
StateCT
Description
Driver side rear window stopped going down while car was in motion. Window will no longer go up or down and is stuck about 1-1 1/2 inches open. Vehicle has only approximately 9,000 miles on it. Have seen several other posts with similar issues.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 27, 2022
StateTX
Description
The child safety locks will randomly start latching and unlatching until the button is disengaged. I have videos of it and the dealership has been able to reproduce the issue multiple times. If the button is not on, the issue does not occur. This is a problem since I have a 3 year old and he has had opened the door while I drive on at least 1 occasion. The issue began october 2021, I took it in for service in december and had to wait for the replacement part until almost march. At this point I have taken the car in for service 6 times for the exact same issue, they have replaced multiple components, actuator, master key lock system, etc. The issue will be fixed temporarily but will then reappear within as little as a day to a week or two. There are multiple reports of this happening on kia forums and the issue is not model specific. This also happens with palisades which happen to share the same frame as the telluride. I have contacted kia corporate, case number 14666961, to let them know and will be sending a certified letter.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 21, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owned a 2021 kia telluride sx. The contact stated while the wife was driving 70mph the vehicle was stuck on the rear driver's side and crashed into a tree. No warning lights were noticed. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to an impound yard. The vehicle could possibly be totaled. There was a police report. The driver sustained injuries to the face, head, knee, chest, and shoulder. The passenger sustained back injuries. The spouse drove the passengers in a separate vehicle to the hospital where they received medical attention. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 21,000.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateApr 07, 2022
StateWA
Description
Chip in front windshield due to a rock quickly became an 12 inch crack.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 28, 2022
StateNE
Description
Driving on smooth road about 40 mi/hr heard loud boom. Sunroof had broken, sounded like an explosion. No rain or anything overhead to cause breakage. Weather mild, above frost temp and overcast. Cover was closed so no glass in interior of car.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 23, 2022
StateMO
Description
I was broadsided by a chevy cobalt traveling over 40mph. The impact was so great it spun my vehicle. No airbags deployed at all and the rear passenger door took the brunt of the impact.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 23, 2022
StateMI
Description
The windshield of the car cracked on its own. There were no chips in the windshield and nothing hit the windshield of the car but it cracked while driving and continued to grow significantly in a very short period of time affecting visibility.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 22, 2022
StateKS
Description
The windshield began to crack on the edge of the glass and spread across the entire windshield for no apparent reason. Nothing impacted the windshield like a rock or debris during driving. This happened overnight and then continued to spread, again, for no apparent reason. I have had windshield repair technicians look to see if I am missing something and they also agreed there were no chips or anything obvious that would start the crack on the windshield.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateMar 20, 2022
StateIA
Description
Had a new transmission installed in february 2022. Now, beginning march 13, warning lights come on to check blind spot and forward collision systems. About 10 seconds after the car lurches violently. This has happened at full speed on interstate which is a huge risk for injury/death. I have video of this phenomenon.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 02, 2022
StateAR
Description
Windshield cracked without reason
CategorySteering:column
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated while driving 65 mph into a right curve, the steering wheel did not respond while turning. The contact stated the "take to dealer immediately" warning message was displayed. The contact was able to regain control of the steering wheel and drove the vehicle to her residence. The contact had the vehicle towed to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed that a bolt had become loosened and fell off into the driver's side from the steering column. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The contact had the vehicle towed to the same dealer who diagnosed that the entire steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
This incident has happened twice in a short matter of time. While driving a small rock hit the windshield, and then the windshield cracked immediately. This seems to be a major complaint from many owners and I know it was an issue for 2019 and 2020. There are now two cracks spanning across the windshield that obstruct a clear view. This is a major safety issue and it is difficult to get a windshield due to supply issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 11, 2022
StateIA
Description
We were driving the car and it began lurching unpredictably. It was difficult to maneuver safely. It is now 3 weeks past that time and my kia has been at the dealership this entire time. The dealer says that they cannot do anything without checking with kia hq and each time they do, kia has them run another diagnostic.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 11, 2022
StateIA
Description
The molding on the left side of the windshield, driver's side repeatedly came lose and impaired my vision when turning left.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 11, 2022
StateIA
Description
We were sitting in the a parking lot (not driving), and heard a loud pop. The windshield had spontaneously cracked. There were no chips prior. The entire windshield had to be replaced. I had to pay 3 (insurance deductible) to have it replaced.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateMI
Description
When starting in the cold (approx 30 degrees f or less), the kia has a very high pitch squeal. The sound appears to be coming from inside the engine and is not a pulley or slipping belt. There is a lot of discussion about this issue on the web, and kia has not issued any resolution to any of the customers who have complained and taken to dealers. This link is not my car but is the same noise - if necessary, I too have my own video I can share. Https://drive. Google. Com/file/d/1-68j5bocqvxzplidpabmgd_st6cmoxky/view note: dealer was able to replicate, and has a video of the issue from us, but has stated that they do not know how to fix.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 25, 2022
StateIA
Description
Sustained small rock chip in lower left of windshield. After a few miles formed a crack that extended half way across windshield. Research shows that kia claimed 2020 vehicle issues and would replace windshields for no charge. They will not for 2021 kia telluride. I feel they have a quality issue in the windshield of the model I own, yet they refuse to take ownership if the issue. I see forums with owners having the exact same issue. I have owned vehicles for over 50 years and have never seen a windshield crack as easily as these.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 16, 2022
StateNY
Description
On cold mornings when the temperature falls below thirty degrees, the car emits a loud screeching noise from the area of the throttle body. I had the belts and pulleys checked at my last oil change (two weeks ago) and they were fine. It it's distinctly coming from the area of the air intake and throttle body. The high pitched squeal will last for about 10 seconds and stop. By the time the vehicle gets to the dealer, it has warmed up or the temperature has gone above 30.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 11, 2022
StateND
Description
Optional led headlight buckets fog up and will not dry out. Kia has a service bulletin out regarding this issue, it was performed and the situation has not improved. Recently, in minus 20-30 degree f weather, the condensation inside the housing frosted up the entire inside of the housing. The led headlights do not generate enough heat to adequately melt the frost creating decreased headlight performance. The vehicle has been into the dealer multiple times and the service bulletin was performed once and the desiccant packs were replaced the second time. The frost issue occurred after both had been done. Kia states that this is normal operation for their led headlight bucket and the dealership, claiming to be under orders from kia will not dedicate any more time to the investigation of my issue.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJan 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield cracked and quickly spread with no sound or impact. Inspection at dealership reveals a tiny chip along the crack that the dealership says indicates and impact. Windshield seems very fragile as I have had other cars that have suffered more serious impact and not had major cracking issues. Also windshield replacement cost is very high as the dealership claims they need to recalibrate the camera that is use for lane keep assist. The previous years also had windshield issues that were covered by warranty.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 18, 2021
StateMI
Description
While driving, small amount of snow fell from roof on to windshield and was unable to see the road clearly. Wipers were unable to lift the small about of snow to clear the windshield. Luckily I was not on a busy road an was able to stop. After clearing the small amount of snow the wipers were able to function.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 16, 2021
StateTX
Description
A tiny rock hit the windshield going 30 miles an hour. The crack has consistently grown every day. My whole windshield has to be replaced. I've never had a vehicle that has such a weak windshield. This car is only 11 months old. The crack is horizontal and affects my view if the road because it's right in the middle.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
As I started the car, it began to shake and shudder while idling. And the check engine light turned on. I could smell the unburied gas inside the car.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 08, 2021
StateCA
Description
kia has been on notice of the telluride's deficient headlights with the es model since at least 2019 and have done nothing. The highest end model has led lights so kia is more than capable of fixing this problem. I know that dozens of consumers like myself have filed complaints with the nhtsa and other organizations and nothing has been done. I have called kia headquarters at least 3 times to complain. The headlights do not provide enough light to safely drive at night. I'm not an engineer (I'm a lawyer) but I know that the design is faulty. Now that it's wintertime and dark at 5:00, I am unable to drive the car at night for fear of killing myself, my family, a pedestrian, or pet. Why hasn't nhtsa done anything to investigate these numerous complaints? Why have years gone on with resolution or recall? Is kia (or the nhsta) waiting for someone to actually die before they do something? (it seems so based on the below questions). I guess it's not enough that consumers like myself can't use our cars at night. I can't be any clearer: someone is going to get killed. You are on notice. Please let me know the results of your investigation into this matter because this has gone on long enough. Conduct an investigation and get to the bottom on this please.
CategoryElectrical System:instrument Panel:speedometer/odometer:sensor/sending Unit
DateNov 29, 2021
StateMI
Description
What happened: the analog speedometer and digital speedometer were not working. I was driving the car and I would be moving but my speedometer and digital readout remained at 0 mph even with my rpm showing as moving. All other gages and read outs were working except for speed. Safety risk for myself and others: I was unaware of how fast I was driving problem also happened once prior a few weeks ago I put the car into park and put back into drive and it fixed it. This time however when I tried that it did not fix the issue. I even tried turning the car off and back on and it did not fix the issue. The issue was fixed after waiting until the next day to drive and when I got in to drive it worked again. Unable to repeat the issue as it is happening sporadically and does not seem to have a specific cause. There were no warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to failure.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 11, 2021
StateIN
Description
The front windshield cracked. There was no known hit by an object and the windshield has cracked on the passenger side and continues to grow. Visibility is reduced due to this crack and it is a known issue in the 2020 model year and it appears to be continuing in the 2021 model year. The windshield will need replacement.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 27, 2021
StateOH
Description
Two chips are in the windshield . Low speed. Then the windshield cracked. At low speed and nothing hit the windshield.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
Windshield chipped very easily when driving on the highway. Only have 2000 miles on here. Reading this model has this issue commonly
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateOct 12, 2021
StateVA
Description
The windshield on my vehicle chips and crack easily. It is a common problem among other kia tellurides as well.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 08, 2021
StateCO
Description
The sunroof exploded on us driving down the highway. We had the sunroof close, but the shade was open so glass fell down on us when driving. There was a loud pop when this happened, but we didn't see any objects flying towards our car before this happened. Looking this issue up, it appears to have happened to other owners of this car. Glass hit me in the face while driving at highway speeds, luckily I remained in control of the car. There were no other symptoms prior to this happening, and the car was taken into the dealer for inspection afterwards.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 06, 2021
StatePA
Description
Unknown. Crack on the windshield appeared overnight. Starts at the top of the windshield and comes down the center, affecting visibility. Vehicle did not provide any warning or indication prior to the crack.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateOct 05, 2021
StateIN
Description
Windshield cracked while driving starting at drivers side edge under trim propagating left to right across half the windshield. There was no impact from an object; simply stress crack. This has been shown to dealer and confirmed by the glass shop they use as “no impact” crack. It affects safety because it is directly in drivers vision and is blinding when the sun reflects and refracts through the crack. No action taken by dealer to replace the windshield. Seems clear that this is a defect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 02, 2021
StateAR
Description
3 cracks from separate small rock incidents in one week period on front windshield. Never had a crack on any of my cars in 10 years and in a week I got 3 different ones at different times with the telluride.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 20, 2021
StateAR
Description
While driving at speed no more than 55mph a small pebble hit my windshield by the mirror and created a small chip that within minutes changed into full blown crack on my windows. It's a safety issue. There is no option of fixing the windshield it needs to be replaced.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 17, 2021
StateOH
Description
The brakes on my 2021 kia telluride failed while pulling into my side entry garage. The telluride's brakes went limp, losing pressure and dropped to the floorboard. The telluride crashed into the interior of the garage, coming to a complete stop after slamming into the foundation of the house. Once stopped, the telluride could be put in park and braking was restored. Home surveillance captured the event and it is available for viewing at: https://youtu. Be/adj6txyk57k
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Warning, Visibility/wiper
DateSep 14, 2021
StatePA
Description
On my wished a small object hit my windshield on the passenger side and within an hour it spread more by the best day it was almost on the driver side of the windshield. Second, the forward collision and lane departure lights came on. I took the suv to kia they said it was an issue with the camera and they where going to order the part and replace it for me. It seem I was not the only one with this issue.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateSep 09, 2021
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated while driving 70 mph, he heard an abnormal popping sound coming from the vehicle. The contact was able to drive the vehicle home and upon inspection, he discovered that the sunroof glass had exploded without incident or impact. The contact called the dealer and reported the failure. The contact was informed that a representative would call him back with more information. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 8,137.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 31, 2021
StateSC
Description
The windshield cracked spontaneously on its own. There is no chip in the windshield and no object hit it. The crack is over twenty inches long and curved. I fear for my safety driving the car now.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 27, 2021
StateTX
Description
Closed rear hatch door with button on dash (because button on hatch door only works if key is in hand)/walked back to rear of car to walk around/door was still closing and landed forcefully on my head, hitting it 3 times, with no ‘obstacle in path' safety response, and knocking my feet out from under me, landing me on my butt/door hit head so hard I saw stars, became light-headed, shot pain through my neck/left three bumps on my head, and a headache that has lasted for 3 days/if this had hit a child, we'd be having a much different conversation/the hatch never did release and return to an open position/it continued to close.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 19, 2021
StateKS
Description
A small foreign object hit our windshield and created a small chip on our brand new 2021 kia telluride (bought in april). When the repair company (that was sent out by insurance) came out repair the small chip the windshield cracked even further when the technician put pressure on the chip to repair which is now resulting in a full replacement.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2021
StateVA
Description
Speedometer, both analog and heads-up display failed to work while operating the vehicle. I pulled over to see if turning it off then back on would correct it, and it did not. I have a video I was unable to upload.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateAug 13, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Car was parked in the driveway as usual. Next day, went out for evening supermarket run. Foot long crack appears. Check cameras, no one came by and nothing hit it. Awesome.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 03, 2021
StatePA
Description
I was driving my car at about 35 mph when suddenly the window in the rear door behind the driver's seat exploded, crumbling into countless pieces and shards. I saw nothing hit the window. I called murray kia in conshohocken, pa, today, who said he could do nothing to replace the window. He also tried to refute my statement that the glass pieces had left about a dozen scratches in the paint. He had no idea what kind of glass kia uses in these windows, despite the fact that he is david murray, owner of the dealership. I believe this to be a safety issue and that kia needs to correct their manufacturing processes. Tempered glass should not shatter unless defects develop during manufacturing and/or installation. Attached below are picture of the window frame with small pieces of glass to show that the glass is missing. We wrapped the window in plastic until the glass can be replaced.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 30, 2021
StateFL
Description
The instrument cluster failed in less than 30 days on my new 2021 kia telluride lx. Bought the vehicle with only 9 miles on it and I am shocked to take in for service so soon. The engine starts up and the car drives but none of the gauges light up or work in the instrument cluster.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2021
StateWI
Description
Windshield cracked. No noticeable rock hit, but does have small pit near drivers side. Started small 4 “ or so, but now crack has grown across the whole drivers side. Directly in line of vision. Touching the windshield makes it crack more
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 24, 2021
StateAZ
Description
Windshield glass issues purchases telluride 5/23/21 first chip on drivers side (lower area) repaired 5/25. Slightly visible. Second chips (2) on passenger side (lower area)-medium chips with some spidering: repaired 6/23 but still visible. Third chips (2) center windshield below the rear view mirror-large and spidering. Very visible and right near sight lines. To big for repair. Requesting replacement 7/24. Waiting for confirmation to replace. Safelite auto glass has been very responsive and do a nice job on all repairs. Did mention to mark kia in general conversation about glass issues. I was told not covered under warranty. I will be back to mark kia this week for oil change and will mention to them again. The safety concern is that this has all happened within 2 1/2 months of owning the brand new vehicle. The constant repairs and concern about driver and passenger safety is disheartening. My request it so see if this is ‘normal' or an ongoing issue with tellurides? The expensive replacement and interruption to driving is also a concern. I have replaced 1 windshield in my many decades of driving and find these windshields may be defective in design, angle and thickness. Please check into this safety concern. Thank you.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 20, 2021
StateCO
Description
This car is very dangerous to drive at night particularly when making turns. There is a total blackout when turning on darker roads. Obviously test drives are done during the day so you wouldn't notice this problem. After reviewing a telluride forum this was apparently a problem on the 2020 vehicles that has not been addressed by kia. Some members of forum have suggested switching front headlights out to led but that is not a good option as I live in an area where visibility can be made worse with led when snowing. Had I been aware of this problem never would have purchased this car. Very scary to drive at night.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 20, 2021
StateFL
Description
I'm reporting a fuel tank failure where fuel started leaking from the seal of tank (see photos). My safety & safety of my kids was put at risk, as this could have likely caused a fire. The vehicle was inspected by the dealer who confirmed & stated that the side of gas tank developed a hairline crack about 1-2 inches (see dealer photo) from a road hazard causing it to leak a drop of fuel every 10 seconds, this creating a potential fire/explosion hazard. Though fuel leak problem is confirmed by the dealer, they are trying to put blame that an object caused a strike and created the crack. However, from the photos taken by me, clearly shows leak coming from the seal with no surrounding surface damage. I'm unknown of timing when this problem occurred but noticed this issue into 5 months after purchasing the vehicle from the dealership. The vehicle was purchased brand new, first owner. I believe this problem occurred do to manufacturing defect (possible due to either poor construction or pressure of the single one bar holding the tank in place). The gas tank only has one bar in the middle holding the entire up the tank, this could have likely caused the crack due to pressure with constant usage of vehicle. As stated prior, the vehicle presents with no hit or incident, so unlikely to have this happened due to damage. Dealer denies issue could have been a defect and states due to a crack from road hazard, again there is no impact/hit marks on the surface of tank or near crack. In addition, no warning lamp or message came on to notified me of this potential treat. The dealer mechanic & supervisor was made aware of this. I am concern about the saftey of this vehicle as it can be a hazard & the beginning of series of complaints against this particular model of kia car, as evident from other kia models where the fuel tank was reported leaking as well. Please make awareness to this potential problem from the kia tellurides , as this is a newly manufactured vehicle.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateJul 19, 2021
StateMD
Description
I drove my brand new telluride off the lot with approximately 12 miles on it. About a month after having it I noticed the following: when entering a highway from about 20-25 mph, the vehicle would not gradually accelerate allowing me to enter the highway. As I continue to press the accelerator pedal the rpms would eventually jump up and the vehicle would launch itself forward. Reaching 5000-6000 rpms. When I let off the accelerator the engine would downshift similar to a manual transmission and would jerk as it changed gears and the rpms decrease. Additionally, when creeping in traffic I notice jerky and hesitation from the engine/transmission. This is quite dangerous as one time it almost launched me into the back of the vehicle in front of me. Merging onto a highway is also quite dangerous as I am not confident the vehicle will accelerate when I attempt to merge. I have taken it to a dealership and had the technician drive it and he concurred that there is a problem. The dealership has tried working with the manufacturer but to no avail after 3 months. Now the dealership won't even call me back. The dealership, via the recommendation of the manufacturer, has reset "adaptive values" at least 3 times, but that did not fix the problem. There are no warning lights or messages of a problem. While quite noticeable, this problem is even more noticeable when it is in sport mode.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJun 21, 2021
StateMA
Description
The blind spot warning light doesn't work all the time. I have read through the kia owners manual and couldn't find an explanation for the malfunction. I have tested in local and highway driving both low and high speed during good days and nights. Warning only comes up sometimes, then stops and comes back only after vehicle restart, then repeats the issue.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 15, 2021
StateWA
Description
My wife came out of her place of work and there was a six inch crack on our telluride windshield. She wasn't driving, it was just sitting in the parking lot. There are no signs of an impact like a rock chip or anything. The vehicle is three months old and has 4000 miles on it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 10, 2021
StateMD
Description
Located a crack on my windshield. The crack is below the windshield wipers towards the bottom and below the line of the hood. No bullseye nor a stone chip mark. Crack is about an inch long. Saw on kia's website there were similar problems with the 2020 models. We've only owned the vehicle for about 4 months and have just over 6000 miles on it. No other signs of rock damage on entire vehicle.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 09, 2021
StateMN
Description
Very rare for me to have an issue with the windshield, but appears to have a rock chip while no indication of impact was heard. Others with same make/model also reflect this issue. Rock chip was repaired and this resolved the issue for now. Insurance covered all expenses of repair.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 27, 2021
StatePA
Description
After 3 months the windshield has cracked by itself. No rocks signs, crack went from the top frame. We reported it to our dealer and scheduled an appointment for them to take a look.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
Component: windshield safety risk: driver visibility problem reproduced: no inspected by others: no symptoms prior to failure: very small rock chip, size of a pencil eraser. I had a glass company come out to repair a rock chip on our 2021 sx, production date 03/21/2021. When the technician applied the suction or pressure to remove condensation from the chip the windshield cracked. The repairman is professional and experienced so I don't think this was malpractice. He had done hundreds of windshield repairs and never ran into something like this.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 22, 2021
StateAR
Description
The car is less than a year old and the windshield has cracked. A small rock pebble bounced against the top of the windshield and minutes later a foot long crack was going down and across the windshield. The windshield is very poor quality. I've never had this issue with any vehicles in the past and they were much more durable. Im concerned that this front windshield will shatter before I'm able to have it replaced.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 18, 2021
StateOR
Description
Went to pick up our new car from the dealer on saturday 4/17 and noticed the windshield had a chip. Waited a couple of hours for the dealer to fill the chip. On sunday 4/18 I noticed a second windshield chip, so I called safelite and scheduled an appointment to have it filled tuesday 4/20 which was their first available date. However, the chip turned into a crack on monday 4/19 even though it was parked in the garage overnight. The initial crack was about 4 inches long and since then it has traveled across the windshield. The cracked windshield impacts visibility, and I'm also concerned about the integrity of the windshield and the possibility of glass shards breaking away and becoming a hazard for the driver and occupants.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
Driver's side window remained stuck open about 1 inch when driver rolled down window with slight tap on window switch driving motion at highway speeds. Window would not go up or down while in motion when using switch to open or close window even after coming to complete stop (on shoulder of road) and shutting down vehicle. Was able to fix when putting vehicle in accessory mode (not running or in motion) and place hands gently on both sides of window to gently move up to highest allowed position then close window with switch. This fixed the problem and window switch operated as usual. Vehicle mileage was around 3,100. We believe the cause is a safety sensor in the window switch component that detects obstruction in window which stops window from operating. Read other forums that stated window got stuck open at highway speeds and would not move. Their fix was to open sun roof and then shut drivers side window. This did not work for us. Https://tellurideforum. Org/threads/less-than-40-miles-and-the-window-is-broken. 912/ [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 01, 2021
StateWA
Description
I drove my brand new telluride off the lot with 11 miles on it. Before I gained speeds over 50mph my vehicle would jerk as it changed gears and the rpm increased. After I stopped at stop signs or red lights and then began to accelerate again, the car would jerk, the engine would rev up and no acceleration would happen. If I kept pressing the gas, eventually the car would jerk again, catch the gear and drive. This happened every single time I would stop and go again. Over speeds of 50-60mph I did not have this problem.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 23, 2021
StateOK
Description
When driving the vehicle at highway speed the passenger nad drivers window flexes and will not always rollup. The window flexes enough that it contacts the door gaskets and it assumes there is a pinch point and roll the window down. The only way to correct this is slow down to less than 55 miles and hour or fiddle with the windows to try and get the back pressure reduced. The kia dealer can replicated this and kia tech line says this is operating within design. It is not a sefey issue to slow down on a highway to rollup[ a window or be distracted with a workaround.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 12, 2021
StateAR
Description
While driving at highway speeds on the highway, we heard a loud crack and our sunroof burst open and showered us with temped glass. It was very startling and caused my wife to veer into the opposite lane momentarily. The sunroof burst open in an upward fashion. Nothing hit the sunroof glass. The weather was clear. Outside temperature was approximately 55 degrees fahrenheit.
CategoryAir Bags:passenger Side Frontal:cushion, Seats
DateApr 05, 2021
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated upon placing a seat cushion in the front passenger seat, the passenger side occupant sensor would not recognize the weight of an occupant in the seat with the cushion. The contact stated that the cushion was a necessary safety feature needed for her husband due to a disability. The contact called grindstaff kia (3608 bristol hwy, johnson city, tn 37601, (423) 262-4200) and was informed that they could not assist her with the failure. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure and provided the same information as the dealer. No further assistance was offered. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 500.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 05, 2021
StateOH
Description
The windshield has a chip and 12-inch crack after 2000 miles of highway driving. There was a minor rock hit but nothing that should have caused this sort of issue.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 02, 2021
StateNJ
Description
Bought kia telluride 2021 in dec 2020, its windshield broke it self which appears to be frame stress related issue, dealership engineers came to the same conclusion. I researched more and found the same reported issues on year 2019 and 2020 telluride. Looks like kia has not fixed this critical defect and refusing to accept that there are serious design issues with kia telluride. I reporting this as I believe this defect if not corrected will result in innocent deaths. This is shameful that a multibillion dollar company doesn't care about the lives of their paying customers.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 27, 2021
StateMO
Description
Windshield cracked, unsure of when or where, but went from 2 inches long to whole windshield in a matter of a day or two. Can't for the life of me figure out how it happened, noticed it in the driveway. Mileage was approximately 8k miles.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 22, 2021
StateMO
Description
We just took our first trip in our kia telluride - 1,700 total miles. The vehicle had 1,200 miles before the trip. By the time we returned home, there is one major chip, one minor chip and over 20 micro-chips/pock marks in the windshield. The windshield already looks worse than the seven-year old, 115,000-mile honda odyssey's we came from (which traversed the exact same route at least 10 times). You would think the front of the telluride would be a mess if the windshield is that bad, but we can find only one small nick in the paint on the hood. There was one, audible rock hit on the trip - we assume that is the big chip. The aforementioned odyssey took several similar or bigger hits than that with no damage whatsoever. As for all the pock marks, it seems those were caused by simply driving down the interstate. They are not concentrated in a particular area of the windshield - they are all over. We love everything else about the vehicle but now have to look through what seems like a 10-year old windshield after six weeks of ownership, and are left to wonder if any of the micro-chips will lead to further damage. The telluride windshield is clearly not up to par. We are not interested in replacing it with new kia glass until they rectify the problem. The attached photo is of the big chip. Above the big chip (above the black dots), you can see a few of the pock marks/micro-chips mentioned.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMar 09, 2021
StateNY
Description
My kia telluride windshield chipped two months after purchased and the chip spread into a six inch crack immediately. Never had a chance to repair the chip. I was on a regular nyc street when the chip and cracked occurred. I drove less than 1000 feet after noticing the chil when the small chip turned into a large crack.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 02, 2021
StatePA
Description
While driving this vehicle at 65-70mph a high-speed low-tone oscillating vibration can be heard and felt and continues through 75mph.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 15, 2021
StateKS
Description
021 kia telluride, february 13, 2021. Temperatures are single digits or below and got worse as the week went on. Started the engine and a loud squeal or whistling noise came from the top of the engine. Last about 30 seconds then slowly stops. Engine also starts to sound like it has more power once noise stops. Been going on for the last 8 days. Belts and pulleys seem to be working fine and cannot see any issues. Sound like it is coming from under the engine cover but do not want to remove cover cause too cold and do not want to jeopardize warranty stipulations. Contacted midwest kia in wichita, kansas. Sent them a video and they think it is a vacuum leak of some kind. Midwest kia said they cannot report it to kia until they can see the car but we are 2 hours away and cannot get off work to take it and need our car for work. I own a mortuary and have funerals and my wife is a teacher and cannot get substitutes do to covid. I said based on my research it sounds like intake manifold. On the kia forums, many people experiencing these very cold temps are experiencing the same noise and encouraged me to report the issue. I feel it is cold related and hope kia looks into this problem. This only happens when the car has been sitting for several hours. If we use it off and on without sitting too long the noise does not happen. Car runs great once the noise stops.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 28, 2021
StateOH
Description
The kia telluride has a serious issue with air flow between second and third rows and on left and right side output flows. It makes it difficult to keep air flow even in the car and with children in the car it requires frequent stops on the side of the road to address the temperature issues or me trying to change it while driving with kids who are too hot or cold and hoping I don't crash. It's a dangerous situation and very inconvenient. Second issue is that I was driving on highway not close to any other cars and I heard a faint noise and it looked like bird poop but when I looked closer I saw a crack in the windshield. I have driven for 22 years and had much harder things hit a window without breaking it - whatever did hit the window which was impossible to hear should not have been able to cause damage. This car has faulty windshield and faulty ventilation system in last two rows.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 18, 2021
StatePA
Description
We were driving at about 45-50mph on a straight, smooth, road when we heard a loud pop or thud and then glass fell in on the driver and front passenger plus some on the second row, where my 2 year old daughter was seated. The front sunroof panel had exploded or shattered somehow. We were on a section of road with nothing overhead. Our telluride only had 190 miles on the odometer when this happened.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 02, 2021
StateFL
Description
Have not even made my first payment on my ne 2021 telluride and have had to replace the windshield twice. Both times the damage was cause by road debris hitting the windshield, but the crack quickly spreads across the windshield. It just seems a little questionable whether or not the windshields are defective somehow. The time between the first and second occurrence is approximately 5 weeks (two weeks between the first replacement and second crack.) I researched online and found forums where other telluride owners had similar experiences. Not sure what the cause is, this is my first time ever having a windshield replaced much less twice almost in the same month.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 18, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Windshield was found with a 4 foot crack. In it . Nothing hit the windshield
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateDec 18, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Tl* the contact own a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked due to a snow storm however, the next day the contact went to clean off the vehicle and noticed a crack in the front windshield. The contact took the vehicle to route 23 kia (1 windbeam rd, riverdale, nj 07457) and was informed that there would be a fee assessed for the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,500.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 17, 2020
StateTX
Description
The vehicle started vibrating within a month of the purchase at speeds between 60-80. Several trips to kia with kia tech line and they deny the vehicle has an issue. They said the vibration measured with a picoscope was within the normal range. After fighting with kia consumers, I took it to a driveshaft specialist for an independent diagnosis. The findings from the driveshaft specialist were quite alarming and it's obvious kia is trying to hide the problem and forcing customers with the same problem to live with it. Driveshaft specialist told me this problem would get worse and affect other areas of the vehicle. I have been following a kia forum and they are literally hundreds of telluride awd's with the same problem. Yesterday I traded my vehicle off at a k loss so I did not have to deal with the headaches and keep fighting kia. This is not right to consumers and has been going on since their 2020 awd telluride. It appears to be a manufacturing design flaw. I filed a complaint with the texas attorney general #cgs-266219 in october. I have filed numerous complaints with kia consumer assistance case #13767404. They offered me 00 and wanted me to sign off on the complaint. I have not signed anything or received any monies. I just lost ,000 because of these people so 00 is not covering my loss. I have recently recovered from surgery, chemo, and radiation and do not have the strength to fight this giant. They need to be held accountable. There is a kia forum on vibration where there are literally several hundred people with this problem. Please help us hold them accountable.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 16, 2020
StateNJ
Description
There is a known issue with tellurides and hyundai palisade vehicles right now with excessive vibration when speeds reach 55mph - 70mph. Kia consumer assistance and dealers are not being helpful. They road forced balanced my wheels and sent me home... I told them it's not fixed and now they want me to take it back. There are multiple people on forum/messaging board with the same problem. Kia replaces driveshafts/awd couplers on some which resolves the issues but ignores others. They need a tsb to fix this universally. This piecemeal approach has gotten them in trouble with nhsta already.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 12, 2020
StateNC
Description
We purchased our 2021 telluride november 14th and less than 24 hours later a chip appeared or was minor beyond something we recognized when we purchased it since it was dark when we left the dealership on the front windshield and within seconds escalated to a full blown crack greater than 6 inches when we were turning down a road where there were no other vehicles or outside influences around. They said because it appears as though impact damage caused it that they refuse to replace the windshield even though kia already has a well known issue on the 2020 models where a chip quickly becomes unrepairable because of a defect in the window. We didn't even get the opportunity to get the chip filled because it happened within seconds. I've owned many other vehicles that have been hit by rocks and other debris on the the road of from simply being outside and have never seen a crack appear so quickly and escalate beyond minor repairs in seconds.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateDec 09, 2020
StateLA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2021 kia telluride. The contact stated that while driving in stop and go traffic, the sun roof shattered without warning. The contact notified all star kia east (27700 juban rd bldg. 2, denham springs, la 70726) of the failure and was informed to bring in the vehicle for repair the next day. The next day the vehicle was taken to the same dealer and the contact was provided a loaner vehicle. The contact then received a call from the dealer and was informed that they would not repair the vehicle due to the belief that the vehicle was vandalized. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was filed. The vehicle was not repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 900.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
Purchased vehicle and after 2 weeks noticed a major crack in windshield starting from edge to almost middle of windshield. No evidence of a chip.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 01, 2020
StateOH
Description
My engine light came on on the first cold morning. When the engine light came on, it started spitting and sputtering and idled funny. I shut it off.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
The steering wheel and seats vibrate while driving between 60-80mph. This is a known issue on tellurides and palisades that is fixed by replacing with a properly balanced driveshaft. However the dealer refuses to proceed and kia consumer affairs has been difficult to work with.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
While driving on the highway a small pebble hit the windshield and caused a chip. After parking and then returning to the car 2 hours later the chip had spread into a very large crack across the entire windshield. The windshield should not crack after a chip like this. The entire windshield must now be replaced at significant cost.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 19, 2020
StateFL
Description
I recently drove my new 2021 telluride sx to my cabin in ga. And found a major issue with the headlights while driving through the backwoods. The visibility using the led headlights and high beams are terrible and pose a danger. If you are driving downhill and the road goes up or turns you have zero visibility, it actually creates a line as in my picture. I brought it into my kia dealer and they said corporate is aware of it but there is no fix as of yet so they adjusted them as best they could. This is extremely dangerous and people will die if they do not get a a fix for this issue.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 03, 2020
StateLA
Description
While driving the vehicle on a rural highway, taking my children to school, I heard a loud pop noise coming from the top of the car. At the time this happened, the vehicle was on a straight section of the highway moving at approximately 55 mph. The drivers side window was open slightly and often vibrates at certain locations of how far down the window is opened. Upon returning home from school drop off, I checked the exterior of the car and got a chair to stand on to see the top of the car. That is when I saw the large hole in the middle of the second row sunroof. The hole looked similar to a volcano with the jagged edges pointing upwards. The surrounding areas of the hole were also at an upward incline. This tells me the sunroof exploded upwards from the interior of the car, not from an outside influence. Also, the fact that both front driver and passenger windows vibrate when the windows are open tells me there is an air pressure issue within the interior design of the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 30, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Last week the front collision warning and lane departure warning illuminated on the dash and today the windshield has a crack in it, nothing has hit the windshield it was parked in the driveway. 2021 s model 2800 miles on the clock
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 01, 2020
StateOH
Description
Chipped glass from rock/debris, windshield instantly cracked.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateSep 27, 2020
StateMS
Description
09/26/2020, 2:30pm cst, while vehicle was in stationary 'auto hold' position, stepped on accelerator, causing vehicle to lurch forward violently, resulting in a rear-end collision with another vehicle in front of telluride. Filed under progressive claim #201457380, 09/26/2020.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 10, 2020
StateMN
Description
Brand new with only 772 miles on vehicle and the first rock to hit windshield caused quarter size crack on windshield. An I literally mean first time a pebble hit windshield since I drove it off the lot. Was driving 62mph on freeway when I heard a small tick and looked and immediately went really? I have had two chips on my previous 8 vehicles and both time the noise made startled me and this I only heard it cause my radio was off.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 20, 2020
StateGA
Description
I drove to work, on a regular road, at 40-45 mph. No issue. I parked my car and when I came out 12 hours later I had a crack that started at the base of my windshield and spread about a quarter of the length of my windshield. I was not parked under a tree and there was no inclement weather. There was no reason for it to happen. To make matters worse, I have only had the car for less than a week.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
21 COMMENTS
  • Mary H

    2021 Telluride, 2nd owner. 23k mikes. Loud “clunk” noise (in rear, or at least it seems) when rolling at a low speed from Park to Drive. LOUD noise. Started the same week i purchased the vehicle. Had the “boot” or “dust cover” (can’t recall exact name) put over the shocks per Kia corporate…didn’t fix it. Dropped it off again, they had it for over a week and told me they don’t hear the noise and can’t fix anything they can’t hear themselves. I went to drive away, LOUD noise 2x while pulling out of my parking spot. Had to throw a HUGE tantrum to convince the dealer to keep it there so they can continue searching for the issue. The service manger drive with me and it made the noise 6 times. They kept it and replaced the rear differential. Didn’t fix it. My vehicle has now been in the shop this time around for 4 weeks, and the dealer said they have no clue what’s wrong with it. I’ve also had an issue with my backup camera going completely blank and my transmission had hesitated to shift at low speeds 2x previously. They have really backed me into a corner here. I had to beg for a loaner vehicle, they put me in a tiny kia Neuro that’s the bare minimum package which doesn’t even have remote start. Got ride of my Ford Expedition for this Kia, HUGE mistake!!

  • Mark B

    I got my Kia Telluride in March of this year and the battery light popped on. I’ve called several times to schedule an appointment to have it looked at and they tell me they’re booked until the end of November! What the heck am I supposed to do until then?! The car is only a year old, why are lights popping in already? I was told it sounds like it’s the alternator what I had the battery charged at AutoZone. But I’m not happy about this at all.

  • Monica

    I bought a SX Telluride and 3 days after I drove it home I went to the grocery store and it felt like it won’t accelerate then it would pop into gear. I was driving an S before this and never had any problems. Loved how it drove. I don’t know what is going on and now I have to take my 3 day old car to the dealership to figure out what the heck is going on. This is so frustrating. I am concerned this is a safety issue.

  • Rick

    My 2022 Kia Telluride is less than 1 month old and has been in the dealer for over 2 weeks for an electrical issue that they can’t seem to fix. This car only has 400 miles on it and I haven’t even made my first car payment. I have never had any issues with any other new car I’ve purchased in my life…ever. This is ridiculous and I am interested in joining a class action lawsuit.

  • D'Anestine

    I have a 2021 Telluride. I brought it in April 2021. Since I’ve had the vehicle to which I love, I had my windshield replaced 1x and the gel applied 1x. AC went out in March of 2022. Took it to a Kia dealership, the car needed a new Low End hose-7 days for part, all day to put it on. April 24 no AC again. I took it back to same dealership. Mechanic said that a pebble or object kicked back into the grill and damaged the condensor–10 days until part comes in and 4700 to do the job. I want part of any and all class actions. This is crazy!!

  • Arthur V

    2021 telluride purchased new in 2020 early on I noticed the smell of coolant in vehicle after keeping a eye on reservoir between oil changes I noticed it was low . Dealership said cylinders 1 and 3 were wet and I need new head gaskets( car has 23000 miles ) head gaskets are not available in USA it’s been over 3 weeks , do I have any recourse.

  • Ronald C

    I bought my 2021 Telluride SX in October 2020. I have a heavy foot so it hasn’t been babied. My only complaint is that in heavy rain the back up camera gets moisture in it and shows on the screen. It’s still effective so it’s ok.
    I have the Nightfall edition with brown Nappa leather. I added a 2” lift, luggage rack, aggressive snow tires and I get a lot of admiring comments.
    It’s a wonderful car and I expect to keep it the rest of my life.

  • Erick K

    Have a 2021 Telluride sx. And around 70 mph to 80 I have a vibration. Been to the dealership several times. And they tell me there is nothing wrong. So I had the valet mode on and noticed they never drove it. Then the other dealer rotated the tires and said they solved the problem. And off course that was wrong.

  • Tracy

    I bought my Kia in August of 2020 but it was brand new 2021 with only 13 miles on it. About 4 months in I brought my 2021 Kia Soul for its 1st oil change I had also told them about a noise coming for the heater but it seemed that they wanted to brush me off until I became a big pain in their ass then they fixed it. After the first oil change I noticed that the mileage to drive under until the next oil change was different then what the manual stated they said you could go 7500 but the dealership I took my car to because the first oil change is free used synthetic blend oil and not full synthetic when it came for the factory. So my next oil change I asked for full synthetic. I have under 20,000 miles on my car and I’ve had to add 6 quarts of oil since I purchased it. I’ve taken back to the dealership they stated we need to have you drive the car 1000 miles and then we can measure how much oil it’s using. So on Thursday 2,2021 half way into the 1000 miles go to start the vehicle the check engine light came on and was shaking brought it back parked it at home before it blew up. Called the dealership where I bought it they gave me road side assistance number to get it towed but I couldn’t to them because I live about 50 miles away. So I had it towed to another Kia dealership and for the past 3 days I’ve called left messages and all I know is we are waiting to see if if it’s covered under warranty. Which is very confusing to me because why would I be told to call roadside assistance if it wasn’t. It’s been 3 days and they don’t return any calls I feel like going sitting in the lounge area and not leaving until I get some answers but instead I’m paying $75 a day for a rental car because they don’t have any loaners to give me. So, I’m paying for a car a can’t drive and car I need to have for work. Some one needs to make this right. I feel Kia new of this issue and still let hard work Americans that are trying to survive a pandemic buy theses cars. They need to make it right it so unfair that they can take our money for a defective product.

  • Brenda

    My 2020 Telluride has been in the shop for two monts at Crain Kia in Sherwood Ar waiting for an alternator i keep getting the run around when I call to chevk on it. I was not offered a loaner or rental

  • Chris

    Mine was having at 35k vibrations at 60mph. They had the tires balance and it worked, however when braking the vibration still the same when going over 45mph, other than that i feel like there is a sound when turning left but not sure if im imagining these.

  • Sharena

    My 2 month old Telluride with 3,700 miles has been in the shop for over 3 weeks with no update. The collision sensors went crazy one day while I was driving causing the car to brake excessively for no reason. Ultimately it stopped and wouldn’t start back up. I had to have it towed to the dealership. They did not have any loaners so I am out of over $2,000 on a rental car and they only plan to reimburse 1/3 of the amount. Another week and I am contacting a lawyer!

  • Sharena

    My 2 month old Telluride with 3,700 miles has been in the shop for over 3 weeks with no update. The collision sensors went crazy one day while I was driving causing the car to brake excessively for no reason. Ultimately it stopped and wouldn’t start back up. I had to have it towed to the dealership. They did not have any loaners so I am out of over $2,000 on a rental car and they only plan to reimburse 1/3 of the amount. Another week and I am contacting a lawyer!

  • Sharena

    My 2 month old Telluride with 3,700 miles has been in the shop for over 3 weeks with no update. The collision sensors went crazy one day while I was driving causing the car to brake excessively for no reason. Ultimately it stopped and wouldn’t start back up. I had to have it towed to the dealership. They did not have any loaners so I am out of over $2,000 on a rental car and they only plan to reimburse 1/3 of the amount. Another week and I am contacting a lawyer!

  • Drema

    2021 telluride my cellphone won’t work through the car and the display screen don’t come on like it should and then all of a sudden it comes on have it tontje dealership several times about this issue and they tell me it’s my cellphone and they can’t find nothing wrong any help or advice

  • Drema

    My cellphone won’t work through the car and tje display screen don’t come on like it should and then all of a sudden it comes on have it tontje dealership several times about this issue and they tell me it’s my cellphone and they can’t find nothing wrong any help or advice

  • William B

    Have a 2021 Telluride and has a bad vibration at 65mph or above. Had it dealer twice and after being there over 3 hours KIA Headquarters finally admitted it’s a driveshaft problem and authorized a new one. There are many other people with the same problem. BEWARE

  • mike

    2nd day with a brand new telluride and the blind spot monitor on one side of my vehicle is not working. not sure what is going on with it i have to take it back to dealership tomorrow, only 900 mile’s on it. drove 300 miles to pick it up considering there is not many out there right now.

  • Lynn B

    The next day after purchasing our Telluride all the electrical lights came on the display. It was in and out of the shop multiple times. After 6 months of haggling we finally got a full refund under the lemon law.

  • Larry B

    Shocking / some reports including car and driver say most satisfied by drivers , after reading this , not so sure … just like politics no 100% happy on anything … what do you believe ?

  • Nelms G

    My daughter has a new(less than 3000 miles) that has serious electrical issues, the most prominent issue being a repeating failure of the electric door lock/unlock system to respond to commands to operate. I believe that in light of todays lawlessness conditions, especially for young women, that this is a safety issue.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.