2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, structure, powertrain and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to finding a reliable heavy-duty pickup, many customers turn to the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD. This truck claims to be the “first in command,” but current owners are ready to give it back. This pickup suffers from a defective electrical system, malfunctioning engine, poor powertrain and horribly built structure.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
4
Electrical System
3
Power Train
3
Service Brakes
2
Fuel/propulsion System
2
Structure:body
2
Trailer Hitches
1
Engine And Engine Cooling
1
Exterior Lighting
1
Air Bags
1

Problems with the Electrical System

It might be easier to list all of the components the vehicle’s electrical system isn’t responsible for, because it isn’t many. A system this important needs to be reliable, but this Chevy truck only brings disappointment.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. The contact recently purchased the vehicle. The contact attempted to exit the driveway, the rearview camera screen went blank. The contact had to reverse back into the driveway, placed the vehicle into Park and the camera worked again. Also, ‘Service Rear Vision System’ appeared on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] to be diagnosed, but the test produced no results. The failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact to bring the vehicle to the dealer. The failure mileage was 20.”

Basically, this customer barely got the truck home before it began malfunctioning. With over 40 communications, it’s clear that Chevy is aware this truck has some major electrical issues. The automaker even instructs technicians to inspect the chassis wiring along the frame to ensure there is no damage when trouble occurs. Service Bulletin #18NA144 wouldn’t exist unless the company is facing these problems on a larger scale. While it’s unclear what caused the backup camera malfunction, it’s clear that this truck is only “first in command” unless the owner wants to move backward.

Problems with the Engine

A heavy-duty truck must be equipped with a potent engine to tow and haul with, but this particular pickup suffers from major engine concerns.

Here is another NHTSA complaint worth reading. “The contact owned a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 2500. While pulling into the driveway, the engine compartment caught fire. The fire spread and burned the entire vehicle. The police and fire departments were present. The fire was extinguished by the fire department. The driver was able to exit the vehicle before the fire spread. There were no injuries. The cause of the failure was not determined. The dealer was not notified. The manufacturer was contacted. The contact was informed online that the manufacturer decided not to mail the recall letter because no one was injured or killed, and there was no remedy for the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle remained at the contact’s home. The failure mileage was 5,000.”

It turns out that there are known issues that could be causing a fire. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V328000 shows that more than 300,000 vehicles could be equipped with an engine block heater cord that could short circuit and cause a fire. Dealers are instructed to repair the problem, but many are simply disabling the engine block heater, further upsetting owners. Of course, with all of the other complaints being dealt with, there are also drivers that are hoping their truck would burn up in a fire so they can get behind the wheel of a different model.

Problems with the Powertrain

As with the engine, the powertrain is a vital part of any vehicle, but even more so with a heavy-duty truck. Again, the Silverado 2500 has failing components that make driving anything but enjoyable. 

One NHTSA comment states, “November 20, 2019 with only 1380 on the new 2019 Silverado. While leaving a parking garage in the morning in Reno, Nevada it was 28 degrees. When driving out the transmission seemed to have lost connection. The engine was running but the transmission was not engaging. I feathered the throttle and it reengaged. After entering the street, I traveled about 300 to 600 feet and the transmission went to shift but neutralized. Again, I feathered the throttle and it engaged again. At about 2500 miles the transmission did it again. The dealership said that they have contacted Chevrolet about the problem, but Chevrolet does not have a fix for it. The dealership service advisor told me that in the future to start the vehicle and let it run for 3-5 minutes before driving the vehicle.”

When all else fails, just let the truck warm up and hope it doesn’t malfunction. What kind of advice is that? It’s almost as humorous as Service Bulletin #990420002K, which discusses all the possible reasons for driveline clunking noises and why many of them are acceptable. It seems that Chevy has lowered its standards, now allowing major malfunctions to be considered normal. Maybe the truck just needs to warm up first so it doesn’t make excessive noise. It’s only the “first in command” after it reaches a certain temperature.

Problems with the Structure

While the previous complaints looked at all of the mechanical defects of the Silverado 2500, it’s also important to look at how the structure was built, because it’s quite poor.

Here is one more NHTSA complaint to read. “My brand new, one month old truck has excessive paint chipping. My truck has only 4500 miles and I have over 20 spots where my paint is chipped or peeling. I have seen hundreds of other people online (some that were able to get the issue recalled) with the same problem. I do not find it acceptable as paint should last at least 4 years without the amount of chipping and peeling I’m experiencing. I have called just about every dealer within 80 miles of me, they all tell me they understand there is a paint issue, but none of them will do anything about it.”

It turns out that some dealers are covering paint concerns. Service Bulletin #19NA255 instructs technicians to repair the peeling wax coating on the frame when metal is showing through to prevent corrosion. Whether it is being repaired or not, the problems shouldn’t occur in the first place, especially on a brand new truck. How can Chevy call this model the “first in command” when it should be sent to the back of the line?

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Trailer Hitches
DateOct 12, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 2500. The contact stated while driving at 30-35 mph with a 2017 heartland bighorn trailer hitched to the vehicle, the message “check trailer wiring” was displayed. The brake pedal was depressed, however, the trailer brakes failed to respond and the trailer did not slow down as intended. The contact stated that the failure had been reoccurring for an extended period of time while driving. The contact stated that the failure persisted for 4 hours while driving at 60 mph. The contact stated that several unknown repairs had been completed on the trailer. However, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that no issues were found. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to a second dealer graff chevy durand (9009 lansing rd, durand, mi 48429), where it was diagnosed that no issues were found. The contact stated the pollak 7-way plug connector was installed on the vehicle under gm technical service bulletin number :pit5311e. However, the failure persisted. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent, which made it difficult to diagnose. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 26, 2022
StateNH
Description
I purchased a brand new chevy silverado 2500hd at the end of 2019. Periodically service trailer brake system would pop up throughout the beginning, and soon became an increasing event causing my trailer brakes to stop working while towing heavy loads. This is an extreme safety hazard, not only for the driver, but for others on the road as well. How this isn't a recall already for the mere fact of the distracting chime, light alone the fact that the trailer brakes become inoperable at a moments notice is beyond me. If and when an accident occurs due to the nature of this issue, chevrolet should be held fully responsible if a formal recall is not made within a timely manner.
CategoryEngine, Engine And Engine Cooling
DateAug 24, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 2500. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the service engine message was displayed. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer where it was diagnosed and determined that the oxygen (o2) sensor needed to be reset. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the service engine message was displayed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the failure was due to the o2 sensor. The vehicle was taken back to the local dealer who informed him that parts were on backorder. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no additional assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 71, 000.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Power Train
DateApr 27, 2022
StateTX
Description
Headlights are foggy causing less and less light to drive by. Transmission has a hesitation when going from p-d, p-r, d-r, and r-d. It does this most of the time but not all the time. Transmission makes loud popping noises at times. Seems to be mostly when almost stopped or from almost stopped and then accelerating. Seems to try and shift gears also when truck goes into regen mode when stopped at traffic light or stop sign making loud popping noises. It does this sometimes but not all of the time.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 19, 2021
StateKY
Description
Battery losing charge engine will not crank intermittent ammeter showing below normal voltage dealership is replacing all battery and alternator cables under warranty dealership is replacing ignition key switch
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 05, 2021
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 2500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the driver's and passenger's side front and rear side curtain air bags erroneously deployed, causing the driver to lose control of the steering and drive off the roadway. During the incidence, the driver sustained an injured neck and skin burns. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer daniels chevrolet located at 365 e main st, swainsboro, ga 30401 who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,000. The vin was not available.*dt
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Steering
DateJan 21, 2021
StateNY
Description
Severe shake when braking at high speeds, fuel tank failed (vehicle was spewing diesel) - it took 3 months to get a new tank, transfer case has failed multiple times. We have been having these problems since the day we picked up the truck. I have service records showing all the repairs. Gm is aware of the problems but claim 'there is nothing they can do but wait for a fix'.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 17, 2020
StateMD
Description
The truck was issued a recall for the engine blocker heater which was performed. Since that recall was performed I keep getting low coolant warnings on the dash in error. The vehicles was taken back to dealer and everything was checked. They refilled the system just incase there was an air pocket but they warned me about 4 out of 10 people that have the recall performed continually get a low coolant light. The truck was fine for 2 months and now I'm back to having the low coolant light on. The coolant level looks fine. I called the dealer and they said gm knows about it but no fix is available because throwing parts at it like a new reservoir tank and coolant sensor doesn't seem to fix the issue. We're being told to simply ignore the warning displayed on the dash for now. To me it is totally unacceptable that the "fix" for the engine clock heater recall has now created a secondary issue that has not been addressed. Since you have the database of vins that were part of the engine block heater recall I ask that you reach out to those people that have had the fix performed and find out how many are now having a low coolant issue as a result of that repair being made.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateMar 19, 2019
StateID
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 2500. While driving 65 mph, a loud explosive noise was heard from the engine compartment and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle decelerated and was coasted over to the side of the road. When the vehicle was powered off and restarted, the failure recurred. The contact was able to drive the vehicle at a low speed to her residence. The vehicle was later taken to peterson chevrolet buick cadillac (located at 12300 w fairview ave, boise, id 83713, (280) 323-5000) where it was diagnosed that the sensor connected to the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred ten minutes after leaving the dealer. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateFeb 18, 2019
StateMT
Description
When vehicle is accelerating anywhere from 30-50 mph, the truck loses power for several seconds, and starts sputtering or chugging. The rpm on the dash starts bouncing up and down. This goes on for several seconds and truck slows down. It then goes away and can continue driving. However, when towing trailers, the effect is only increased and the truck slows down even more.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 17, 2019
StateCA
Description
My brand new, one month old truck has excessive paint chipping. My truck has only 4500 miles and I have over 20 spots where my paint is chipped or peeling. I have seen hundreds of other people online (some that were able to get the issue recalled) with the same problem. I do not find it acceptable as paint should last at least 4 years without the amount of chipping and peeling I'm experiencing. I have called just about every dealer within 80 miles of me, they all tell me they understand there is a paint issue, but none of them will do anything about it.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 23, 2019
StateCT
Description
See nhtsa id number 10126955 manufacturer communication number pit5341c there is no way to turn off the auto door locks feature. 5 adults were on a ski trip, 4 entered the vehicle and one was delayed. Neither driver or other occupants noticed 1 was missing and and departed. The one passenger was locked out of the vehicle and hanging on to the door handle as the vehicle was driven out of the parking lot! After this event, I wish the door would have opened and the passenger could have jumped in. The driver would have noticed and let the passenger in, no problem. As the ultimately responsible driver, I wish I could have opened / unlocked the door, however the truck locked it automatically (unknown to the driver). Is there an nhtsa regulation that requires doors to lock automatically?

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.