2020 Honda CR-V Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Steering, brakes, electrical system and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

SUVs come in many shapes and sizes, but the 2020 Honda CR-V seems to be among the most popular. The automaker claims it is “engineered to take you farther,” but many owners simply drive to the dealership for more service. This model has an electrical system, engine, structure, service brakes and steering that continually fail.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018    2019    2021    2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Honda CR-V

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
31
Unknown Or Other
19
Electrical System
15
Service Brakes
12
Engine
9
Air Bags
7
Structure:body
7
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
6
Visibility/wiper
5
Power Train
5

Problems with the Electrical System

Modern vehicles need to have a top-notch electrical system, but the CR-V suffers from numerous defects.

Here is one listed on the Edmunds website. “I bought a new CRV 2020 EX L model and I got issues in display navigation system within a month. Also there are lot of issues in Apple CarPlay. If I give my vehicle to the service center to fix the issue then they are not testing the issue properly and I am not satisfied with this vehicle at all. In online review seems to be great but in reality it’s waste.”

In this situation, Honda has nothing to say. There are no communications or correspondence from Honda addressing the electrical system problems. While the CR-V might be able to go farther, the ride isn’t that enjoyable with all of the electrical system glitches. Customers should simply save their money and buy the base model without all of the technology. They are pretty much the same thing as the high-end models, but for far less money.

Problems with the Engine

The same quality concerns are seen with the engine. What once was considered a company that provided durable engines is now just a failure.

Another customer review from Edmunds states, “Honda needs to solve the problems that they’re having with their 1.5 turbo engines. I intended to purchase a new 2020 CR-V, but when I learned of the problems that are occurring with the 1.5 turbo engine, I changed my mind. In some cases, gas is getting into the oil.”

In this case, there are some minor topics discussed by Honda. Service Bulletin #APaS03272020903 states that some vehicles have an indicator light that is showing trouble with EVAP System Purge Flow malfunction. However, there is no solution. Instead, Honda is simply investigating the trouble and coming up with a solution. Maybe then, the SUV will be able to take customers farther.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

Honda also seems to have trouble with the structure. It seems durability isn’t what it once was.

Here is an NHTSA complaint. “Soon before driving my new vehicle, in a preliminary inspection, I found extensive rusting around the exhaust pipes and system. The mechanic from the dealership said that was normal.”

Even larger than this, is a recall issued for several Honda vehicles. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V865000 states that the rear subframe bolts might not have been manufactured correctly and could loosen. If this happens, the subframe could separate, causing an out of control vehicle. Apparently, to get farther, it’s easier if the SUV splits into two. After all, two are better than one.

Problems with the Brakes

When one of these defects occur, owners want a reliable system of brakes. Yet, this is one more common complaint.

Here’s another NHTSA comment. “Approximately 10-15% of the time, when trying to depress the brake pedal before pressing the start button on my 2020 Honda CR-V, the brake pedal cannot be depressed. It is firmly locked/jammed in place. In some instances, I can apply very firm pressure on the pedal, just enough to get the engine to start, but in other cases, the pedal cannot be depressed at all. When this occurs, pressing the start button initiates the electronic systems but does not start the engine. Once electronic systems are on, the pedal sometimes remains firmly locked, and other times may slightly soften to the point that I can press the start button again and start the engine.”

Surprisingly, Honda is aware of brake problems and is willing to talk about them. Service Bulletin #APaS07062020901 states that there could be a brake fluid leak. However, there is no remedy to the situation. Instead, Honda is “looking into it.” Hopefully, while they look into it, customers can continue to drive farther, but could also stop when the time comes.

Problems with the Steering

Above all, drivers want to remain under control while on the road, but the defective steering makes that difficult.

One more NHTSA complaint states, “Soon after I drove my car out of the dealership, I experienced 4 episodes of car becoming unstable, flipping from one side of road to the other. This occurred over 23 miles of driving on highway. I called the dealership immediately. They dismissed it as normal.”

There’s nothing to note from Honda. Apparently, the automaker got tired of saying “it’s normal” or “we want to investigate farther.” It’s just a broken record and it’s time to give up.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Honda pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateDec 06, 2022
StateMD
Description
The auto brake feature engaged on the beltway by itself and caused the car to come to a complete stop while cars behind us were forced to swerve out of the way to avoid a serious accident. My wife is afraid to keep driving the car and we are now figuring out a way to get rid of it. Reported to local dealer but did not get any response.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 29, 2022
StateFL
Description
Phantom braking incident. As I was driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle applied brakes for no apparent reason. Luckily, the vehicle traveling behind me didn't crash into the rear of my vehicle but had this happened when traveling at higher speeds, there would have been a serious accident. This has happened numerous times since owning the vehicle, but only the 2nd time I've reported it here.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 14, 2022
StateDC
Description
When driving at high speed on the highway, I have had instances of both fcw and/or aeb activating when there was no vehicle in front of me. This tends to happen without known cause and while I take the same route every day on my commute, the issue does not always occur. When fcw initiates with a large flashing brake warning on the dash and loud beeping while at highway speeds, I am startled and second guess myself that I am not seeing something I am about to impact with. This creates confusion and can lead to making a maneuver or my braking in error which can cause a crash. This issue has occured numerous times and in speaking with other owners of the same vehicle, they have witnessed the same issue. I have also had aeb initiate at least twice while at highway speeds when there was no vehicle in front of me. This is the most frightening and dangerous issue that I've experienced in any vehicle I have driven. As with the above issue with fcw, there seems to be no way to reproduce the issue and it happens at random. While at highway speeds after receiving the fcw brake warning, my vehicle instantaneously began emergency braking with no vehicle in front of me. This issue is unacceptable and can cause a serious crash on the highway. I speculate that these issues both may be caused by overhead highway signs or bridges but does not seem to occur in error consistently, even when driving the same route. I worry that these issues will cause myself or my family to be seriously injured due to failing safety technology and I have considered disabling these features in my vehicle. These issues have not been inspected nor verified independently as I have felt the issue is unresolvable based on feedback I have heard. At this point I consider myself lucky for not having been in a crash due to these systems failing.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 11, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I was driving and the automatic emergency breaking activated without warning. I was driving 40 miles per hour with no car near me and the car abruptly stopped without warning. This is the second time this has happened with a similar situation occurring
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 10, 2022
StateTN
Description
Twice, I've been driving down the road, and the emergency braking system has engaged with no car near me. I get thrown against the seatbelt hard enough that it triggers the seatbelt to lock. I'm sure I would have been rear-ended if someone had been behind me. My foot was still on the gas both times it happened. I'm now scared to drive my car because I don't know when it will suddenly break hard and, maybe, hard enough to trigger airbags.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateNov 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
Automatic braking system engaging when no cars or objects are present. Has happened while on highway at relatively high speeds and on regular neighborhood streets.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 05, 2022
StateWA
Description
August 13, I started my car and there was a loud noise. Then a alert on my dash, that there was a problem with my air bags. I could not get appointment with the honda dealer until august 30. They determined that parts were defective. Srs unit and weight sensor needs to be replaced. They ordered the parts but they are not available. So I am driving my newer honda because I have no other car but they said if there was a wreck, the air bags would not function. Real disgusting that about that time, I got an email that they were getting in 17 new honda crv. If they can produce new ones, they have the parts I need to stay safe. They need to take care of this immediately! Winter will be here soon. Chances of accidents increase.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateOct 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
I have noticed multiple times that when I exit from highway it will suddenly deaccelerate. I wasn't following any cars on those days and luckily no car behind me those times.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateSep 27, 2022
StateNH
Description
Too frequently the car automatically hard brakes & flashes "brake" on the dash with no collision imminent but has almost caused accidents in doing so. This has happened turning slowly thru a busy intersection, driving moderate speed straight on a dappled sunlit road with no car around, driving in light traffic on a multi-lane highway at higher speeds. I have had the local honda techs look at it last year and all they could do is ask if I want the sensitivity turned down. What good is the system if one thwarts what it is supposed to actually do?? Also there is no way to clean the front cameras which might have debris causing this. As it is happening more frequently, perhaps a debris collection is precisely the issue. Honda needs to take ownership of this faulty system & fix it!
CategorySuspension
DateSep 21, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph a loud banging noise suddenly occurred and the vehicle had become undrivable. Upon inspection, the contact discovered that the front passenger's side wheel had failed and was positioned sideways. The vehicle was eventually towed the local collision center who diagnosed that the front passenger's side lower ball joint disintegrated causing the wheel to pull away from the axle and the sway bar to fail. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer and local dealer were notified of the failure. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 10,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 20, 2022
StateVA
Description
Check engine warning light comes one, vehicle powers down from normal speed and will not exceed 30 mpg. This is a safety hazard on the highway. Problem has been reproduced by the dealer and we have recorded video of the occurrences. Vehicle was purchased new and is under warranty. Has been in the dealer for more than 40 days combined for issue with no resolution and the dealer has received instructions from honda usa not to attempt any further repairs. Dealer stated honda is aware of the issues in isolated cars and are working on a fix but does not have one. Honda has been sent a written notice and contacted by me on multiple occasions, has promised call backs but has never responded. There have been multiple occurrences of the same issue with no resolution to date from honda.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateSep 13, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that the fuel pump would remain activated after turning the vehicle off. The contact indicated that the failure was intermittent with a humming sound coming from the vehicle during the failure. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The local dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not yet contacted. The failure mileage was 30,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 10, 2022
StateOH
Description
Driving north toward lebanon, ohio on route 48. One passenger and one dog in backseat. No one in front passenger seat. Car beeped and alerted to brake then suddenly braked very hard with no cars around or in front.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist
DateAug 30, 2022
StateFL
Description
1. The vehicle will inadvertently and without warning, apply the brakes (phantom braking). 2. The lane keeping assist will not follow the road, especially when the road curves. The vehicle will sometimes not negotiate the required turn to stay in the lane.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 29, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, the collision mitigation braking system engaged and the vehicle stopped abruptly. There were no other vehicles or objects nearby. The contact depressed the accelerator pedal and resumed normal driving. The contact stated that the failure reoccurred on four different occasions. The dealer was notified of the failure and an appointment was scheduled. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateAug 29, 2022
StateCO
Description
Sunroof window spontaneously exploded while driving. I was the only vehicle on the road when the window exploded. Happened at approximately 630am. Have searched but no recalls on this issue, only a class action lawsuit.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateAug 19, 2022
StateNM
Description
Vehicle headlights -low beam or high beam are inadiquate and dangerious. An automotive tech confirmed the oem headlights fail safe driving at night even on lighted city streets. The plastic headlight assms do not allow light to safely show thru. Even after new led bulbs installed the assemblys defuse lighting. My wife and I no longer can safely drive at night with this vehicle. This safety problem has been reported to the selling dealer, to no avail! My son has driven this vehicle at night - and was also terrified. The technician who installed "led head light bulbs" confirmed that our 2020 honda crv outer "reflector assemblys are at fault ! And this is a dangerous vehicle to drive at night.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 16, 2022
StateMA
Description
My moonroof glass randomly shattered while driving on the highway. There was no sign of rocks or other debris that might have been the cause.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 15, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated his wife noticed an unknown warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle's oil was changed by a mechanic. On another occasion, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis and they stated that the vehicle needed a new engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that they would contact him back. The failure mileage was 14,700.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
For the 2nd time in a span of ~6 months, the 2020 honda cr-v randomly slowed down/tried to come to an abrupt halt in the middle of the freeway. Terrifying experience both times as it could have easily resulted in being in a fatal collision. I took this to the dealership immediately after the first time it happened but they deemed it as a "phantom issue". This happened again today and I don't know what to do. I did find that I am not alone with this problem via this article. Https://www. Cnn. Com/2022/02/24/business/honda-cr-v-accord-braking-investigation/index. Html there were no warning lamps or messages on the display. Battery meter seemed to be on the lower end but was not empty. Things seemed to be normal.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was in an accident this morning on the freeway where they are doing road construction. The lanes are very narrow due to cement wall placed for construction. The vehicle in front of me slammed on their brakes suddenly so when I did the automatic brakes kicked in on my car surpassing the level of my own braking and took over. The car came to a compelete stop. It was terrifying because I didnt have control to keep moving to try and get out of the way from the semi driving behind me. I moved over as much as I could even with a cement wall so close. I ended up getting rear ended by the semi. This automatic braking system is dangerous. With the car taking over my brakes lost me time to try and get out of the way even more which ccould have possibly prevented the accident from happening.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 05, 2022
StateTX
Description
The passenger side airbag sensor is not working properly. There is a light that goes on and says "passenger airbag off" when a passenger under 65lbs is in the seat. The passenger side airbag in this car is being deactivated when there are passengers that weight 95-150lbs sitting in the seat. The passengers are always buckled and the car is driving forward between 10-65 mph. I filed a complaint with honda and have brought it to 2 different dealerships. One dealership replaced the sensors but the issue continues to occur. I was told by simon from honda corporation that I needed to bring it in when the problem was occurring, so I did. That dealership weighed several people on a scale and in the passenger seat with a computer hooked up to the car. The weight the seat was sensing was off by about 40lbs. The sensors was "recalibrated". After they were "recalibrated" the weight was still off by 20-30lbs when we weighed a person by scale and then compared it to the weight that the seat was sensing. I was told that there was nothing else they can do, that it was a 2 sensor system and that is the "best they can do". The dealership reported back to honda that the system was "working without issues" despite it still being significantly off after calibration. I requested a regional engineer to examine my car and was denied by simon. I requested to speak with a supervisor and was denied by simon. I have multiple videos showing this malfunction and the discrepancies in weight. I offered to send them to honda and simon refused to accept them. The sensors clearly aren't weighing the passengers properly and disabling the passenger airbag inappropriately. This is a serious safety issue! I am certain there are other crv's with the same issue because the dealership hooked another crv up to a computer and compared sensed weights vs actual weights right in front of me and that crv seat sensor was off by 10-15lbs. I am concerned!! My car has had no accidents/front damage.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Sensing System: Camera
DateJul 26, 2022
StateAR
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while driving at speeds up to 50 mph, the forward collision-avoidance alert was heard however, there was no vehicle nearby. Additionally, while driving and exceeding 70 mph, the forward collision avoidance: adaptive cruise control independently activated, and the vehicle decelerated. The dealer was contacted and notified of the failure. The dealer suggested cleaning the forward-facing camera system. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,359.
CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 23, 2022
StatePA
Description
When I was driving my vehicle on 7-21-22 at approximately 4:20pm my emergency breaking system was flashing and breaking on it's own. There was nothing in front of my vehicle at the time. Later at approximately 4:25pm a woman hit my passenger side after running a red light. My passenger side airbag did not deploy. However, about 5-10 seconds after impact my steering wheel airbag deployed and hit me in the left side of my face. The delayed reaction has caused lacerations on my face, burns on my hand, bruising and loss of part of my tooth. I am also suffering from head issues and pain in my chest from this delayed airbag deployment. Vehicle had to be towed away to a garage and is not drivable.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while her husband was driving 5 mph, the brakes were depressed independently. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The driver was depressing the accelerator pedal but failed to accelerate causing the vehicle behind him to rear end their vehicle. The contact stated no one was injured nor sought medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to the local dealer but they were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the driver deactivated the forward collision on the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a collision shop and had the rear bumper replaced. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,076.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 03, 2022
StateCA
Description
I just leased my crv 2020 on may of 2019 and after a week or 2 I had my car battery die on me. Jump started it and took it to honda and they said they will change the battery. After 2 weeks it happened again and they changed it again. Around march of this year 2022 it happened again and they changed it again. And today it won't start again. Since it's 4th of july weekend I have to take it to them tuesday.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
On 5 separate occasions the crv has automatically braked hard while driving down the highway. On none of the occasions has another vehicle or obstacle warranted this automatic braking. We were about rear-ended while on the interstate driving 70 when the car automatically braked. I am including the latest automatic braking incident in this report.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 29, 2022
StateOH
Description
At 41,000 miles, my 2020 honda cr-v door lock actuator on the driver's side rear door quit working. When I would come to a stop at a stop sign/light, it would attempt to engage and make clicking sounds. I attempted to manually lock the door and use the key fob with no luck. The door lock absolutely would not lock. I have small children in the backseat so this had to be fixed asap. The dealer confirmed and I had to cover all costs.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJun 02, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while driving 35 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly came to a complete stop. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact was able to drive the vehicle home safely. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 31, 2022
StateGA
Description
While driving the vehicle on an interstate, the dashboard and infotainment system screens both went completely dark. Pulled the vehicle off the highway; shutting it off and restarting it did not resolve the issue. After using the steering wheel controls and screen brightness rotary control on the dashboard the displays eventually came back on. So far this is a one-time occurrence; however, a friend with the same year and model (2020 cr-v ex) just experienced a similar problem. In his case the dashboard display continued to work but the infotainment system went dark. I took the vehicle in to a local honda dealer. They were unable to find any issues with the vehicle displays and said there are no active recalls. Note that a similar problem resulted in a recall for 2017-2019 honda cr-vs. Apparently the 2020s have the same or similar issue which to date honda has not addressed.
CategoryTires
DateMay 22, 2022
StateAL
Description
235/55/p19 tire blew ou,t and split on edge of tread at 65 miles an hour about all way around between tire tread and sidewall
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMay 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
Car brakes on its own when no vehicle in front of or around my vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Vehicle Speed Control:cruise Control
DateMay 13, 2022
StateWA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph with the cruise control engaged, the vehicle began to brake suddenly. The contact deactivated the cruise control and the vehicle began to function normally. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMay 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
My car has been braking on its own the last 5 months. Today it braked for no reason. There was no car in front of us or to either side of us. There was nothing in front of us either. It braked super hard and there was someone behind us who luckily slammed on their brakes and didn't hit us. It gave me and my kids whiplash. Other times it will brake on its own if there's a shadow from a bridge or something. Again when it does that there are no cars in front or next to us or even remotely close to us. This is beginning to be a frequent thing happening once or more a week. It's super dangerous and I don't feel safe with it braking for no reason.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateApr 08, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact's mother owned a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that while her mother was driving at under 10 mph, the accelerator pedal was stuck and the brake pedal failed to stop the vehicle while depressed. The vehicle went over an embankment and crashed into a house, then came to a complete stop after crashing into several trees. The air bags were deployed upon impact. There were no injuries to the residents inside of the house. The contact's mother suffered soreness in her right leg, but no medical attention was received. No police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a body shop and was not yet deemed totaled by the insurance company. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,000.
CategoryTires:bead, Tires:sidewall
DateApr 05, 2022
StatePA
Description
In september of 2020 I purchased a brand new 2020 honda cr-v touring with 235/55r19 crosscontact lx sport m+s tires. On april 3, 2022 I was on a trip away (several hundred miles) from home when my 17 year old daughter (who drives the cr-v) contacted me about one tire that was low on air. She sent me a photo. I informed her to put air in the tire to see if it continued to leak and I would fix it when I got home. Taking initiative, she asked me if she could fix it while I was away. I gave her inspection instructions. She carefully inspected the tire and found no outside defects such as screw/nail/puncture foreign material. Since the leak was very slow, she filled the tire with air and safely drove the car to firestone tire at 395 eisenhower dr, hanover, pa 17331. Once she got there the tire technician attempted to find the leak. He was unable to find any outside defect or leak and continued by removing the tire from the rim. I then got a phone call from my daughter who had the technician on speakerphone. He described the issue to me as a tire manufacturing defect that he has never seen before. My daughter then texted me photos of the issue. The defect is easily seen on the inside molded lines in the sidewall. It is where the bead rolls into the sidewall. In the molded lines there are areas where the lines are interrupted/missing and with what appears to be several small holes in the rubber. Firestone could not advise how to proceed. The tire was remounted. The technician put a little extra tire sealant on the bead. She then drove the vehicle home. I have since also read the these tires, of other sizes, have had a vulcanizing problem. My tire clearly has this issue and continental needs to update their recall list to include these as well.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 27, 2022
StateLA
Description
I was attempting to park in front of a medical professional building with my foot on the brake slowly rolling between the parking lines when the car experienced sudden unintended acceleration. Although I realized the car was accelerating and lurching forward, the brake was not stopping the vehicle. The car jumped the parking curb and crashed into the building causing damage to both the exterior and interior wall of the doctor's waiting room. While neither myself, my passenger, nor any patients in the waiting room were injured, someone could have been. The air bags did not deploy, and the collision mitigation system did not engage preventing the collision. Damage to the vehicle consisted of mostly front bumper and grill damage. When I called the local honda dealership service department asking if I should have them evaluate the car before having body work completed, I was told that the dealership does not accept damaged cars until the body work has been completed. Consequently, I had the car towed to a body shop even though it was technically drivable. I did not feel safe driving the vehicle fearing it would suddenly accelerate again. I reported the incident to the honda corporate office and a case was opened. I was again told that damage to the car had to be repaired by the body shop before the car would be evaluated by honda. When the body shop completed the repairs, I had the car towed to the local honda dealership for evaluation. I specifically requested that the event data recorder be evaluated, but I received conflicting answers when I asked if it had been accessed during the inspection. I was told that the honda district representative reviewed the data from the inspection and invoice states, "no defects in materials or factory workmanship were found (name of tech) inspected and found no issues, relayed information to honda and they advised the vehicle is ok to drive at this time". The vehicle was released back to me, but I refuse to drive it.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 06, 2022
StateTN
Description
While driving the automatic braking system engaged even though there was nobody in front of me. The first time was on a freeway, it suddenly engaged even though there wasn't a vehicle anywhere close to the front of my vehicle. This could have been bad and I could have been hit from behind if a driver behind me wasn't paying attention and my vehicle stopped all of a sudden without warning. The second time it happened I was driving on a city road. My lane was empty ahead of me. The system automatically engaged and stopped my vehicle. I noticed the vehicle behind me had to stop quickly because of this. I have not had this checked by honda yet. I did see that honda has recalled other year model vehicles for having the same issues. If my vehicle is having the same problems then I would hope honda would inspect it at no charge. There were no warning lights or advanced warnings that this was going to occur. I feel it is very dangerous because the vehicle just stops all of a sudden and as the driver you are jerked forward. The first occurrence was not very long ago, within the last month. The latest incident was 3/5/22.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 04, 2022
StateCA
Description
What component or system failed or malfunctioned, and is it available for inspection upon request? Infotainment display. Yes it is available for inspection. How was your safety or the safety of others put at risk? The display periodically freezes in rear camera view when the vehicle is moving forward. It also freezes in other views and crashes. Has the problem been reproduced or confirmed by a dealer or independent service center? No, dealer could not reproduce. Has the vehicle or component been inspected by the manufacturer, police, insurance representatives or others? No were there any warning lamps, messages or other symptoms of the problem prior to the failure, and when did they first appear? No.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateKY
Description
I have a 2020 honda cr-v that is having a phantom braking issue. It has happened several times, 3 of which were while on the expressway and a tractor trailer was behind me. The cr-v warning system would flash "brake" and then stop suddenly, there was nothing in front of me, nothing to either side of me. When I took it to the dealership, the technician could not replicate the issue and said 'it was a common issue with all vehicles' and recommended that I 'just turn it off, I did so on my vehicle.' after seeing the news I now know that I am not the only one with this issue. I purchased this vehicle from the dealer in june 2020, and this began in september 2021.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
On multiple occasions during highway or other driving, the automatic emergency braking has engaged causing the car to either slow quickly or attempt to come to a stop which required immediate intervention to avoid potentially being rear ended. Driving was occurring during daylight hours and not in traffic.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield has a significant refraction causing issues with visibility at night. Light passing through windshield is variably refracted depending on eye level and viewing angle. Issue has existed since car delivered. Vehicle was taken to dealer and advised of this several times with no fix attempted to date. Will continue to seek remediation from manufacturer and will consider lemon law if not resolved. This is becoming a common issue with more windshields as there are no real standards for windshield light refraction.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 26, 2022
StateNC
Description
On several separate occasions our honda 2020 crv has applied braking in circumstances where it should not have. On one occasion the vehicle ahead was maintaining the same speed and distance and our car applied brakes although the vehicle ahead was more car lengths ahead than 1 per 10 mph. On other occasions there were no vehicles ahead or beside, while we were traveling at highway speeds on open highway and the car abruptly applied brakes. In each instance the braking stopped after a short jerk. In other words, it behaved as if the driver had lightly tapped the brakes, although that was not the case.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateFL
Description
Almost 2 weeks ago I was driving on the florida turnpike (about 77mph) and suddenly the gas quit on the car. It slower down to about 50mph as I kept trying to give it gas but to no avail. Meanwhile I was lucky enough to be able to steer it into the right lane. This seemed to last a long time but in. Truth it was probably only about 5 - 7 seconds. Then suddenly the gas came back on. This happened two more times during the same trip but these were shorter in duration amounting to a big hiccup on the gas. It has never happened to me again. I took it to the honda dealer. They said they took it out for a spin and couldn't replicate it and had no idea what was wrong. Now I rarely drive on roads that are high speed so perhaps that is why it has not happened again. I see that you are investigating a similar issue for crv's that are 2018 -19 but mine is 2020. It sounds as though it's the same problem. Luckily I was never in an accident with the car so the police and insurance was never involved.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateNC
Description
Driving down I-40 with lane keeping and cruise control on the car tries to stop when it comes up to a car on the right. Driving down a two lane road with lane keeping and cruise and it will try to stop for vehicles coming towards me but they are in their lane.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateNJ
Description
We were cruising along rt 130 in new jersey when suddenly the automatic emergency braking system "brake" flashed on my dashboard and my vehicle braked for a while (from 50mph to 30mph) although there were no cars or any obstacles ahead of us. I had to step on the gas pedal to avoid any rear-end collision on me. Luckily, there were no vehicle behind me at that time.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateWI
Description
My car has applied the automatic emergency braking 4 times with no emergency needed as no other cars were around. All events included shadows from either a highway sign or a group of trees and occurred throughout the summer/fall of 2021.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateMI
Description
The vehicle battery drains if parked for a week without driving. The battery needs to be boosted to start the vehicle if parked for a week without driving.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateFeb 24, 2022
StateCA
Description
Automatic braking applied even when nothing in front of vehicle, on freeway at freeway speeds.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateFeb 24, 2022
StateFL
Description
Following a car that then pulled over in to the breakdown lane the automatic braking engaged when there was nothing in front of us reducing the speed causing other cars behind us to have to lockup their brakes for no reason. This was very dangerous to myself and the cars behind us. The system does this often with nothing in the lane.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 26, 2022
StatePA
Description
My car was parked in my driveway all day and all night. At some point during the evening all of the windows and moon roof were opened without my knowledge (my keys were on the counter). It rained all night and my car obtained substantial water damage which cost approximately ,000. 00 to repair. I couldn't drive my car until the repairs were made due to risk of electrical incident while driving. Honda has taken no responsibility. My car is a 2020 honda crv. It was recently brought to my attention that windows opening unexpectedly on honda crvs has been an issue since at least 2017 with the most recent incident that I know of happening on a 2021 model. Honda has been aware of this “glitch” for at least five years but has done nothing to correct it. It is a safety issue for many reasons. I would like this “glitch” to be corrected so that others will not have to suffer the loss and damages that I did. Insult to injury is I purchased my car from honda in 2020 for ,000. 00 and then in 2021 I had to pay honda almost ,000. 00 to fix damages sustained due to their negligence in addressing an issue that they knew about for at least 5 years.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 19, 2022
StateNV
Description
Spontaneous sunroof shattering/explosion. While driving on a highway the sunroof on my honda 2020 crv awd vehicle suddenly shattered and blew out completely. As I was on a two lane busy highway - I-80 going east 2 miles south of colfax I had to slow down and exit after driving 2 miles and find the frontage road. There have been many owners of honda's that have experienced the same event. Honda should be responsible for installing faulty glass in their sunroofs.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 04, 2022
StateNM
Description
This our 2nd honda vehicle - quality vehicles. The headlighting system is highly inadequate in night driving in low light and very dangerious. Contacted dealer service director ,but the responce was"I never heard any thing about that ! The dealer need to be alerted about this dangerous headlights ! I have found out thru research, this in adequate head lighting is somewhat common ! This dealership is great and I will continue to referr people to them, its like dealing with family ! My wife will not drive this vehicle, truth be told we avoid driving at night. Something must be solved with this vehicle ! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 04, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while the vehicle was parked with the engine on, the emergency parking brake was not engaged, she reached the vehicle to push the push/start button to turn off the vehicle, and the vehicle started to roll backward. The contact stated that the vehicle rolled over both legs and she required medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact stated that the vehicle stopped once it collided with the neighbor's house across the street. The vehicle was towed to a collision shop for diagnostic testing and body repairs. The diagnostic testing has not been performed on the vehicle. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact to call the honda manufacturer. The contact stated that she has not been able to reach the manufacturer to make them aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 13, 2021
StateCA
Description
After cleaning window, I knocked the wiper blades back on the windshield & the far-weighted end of the wiper blade cracked the windshield so badly that it needed to be replace, about 2 fourteen inch cracks.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 10, 2021
StateNM
Description
We have a 2020 honda crv lx -purchased new. This is our second honda vehicle, that has the same defect, poor head lights. Night driving is a nightmare and we limit it as much as possible. High beams and low beams on a dark street are driving at risk. Several honda crv lx owners on our street have the same night driving experience. I contacted the dealer staff regarding this saftey fault, but the responce was "I never heard any thing about that ! ? They need to be updated ! This is a great vehicle, had prior great dealer service, we have been treated as family, from the owner on down ! But my wife and I have dangerious vehicle as I have found out thru research. Jack j. Swift
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Power Train
DateNov 19, 2021
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that while his wife was attempting to park the vehicle at 1 mph, the vehicle independently accelerated without warning. The vehicle jumped a curb and crashed into a tree which stopped the acceleration; the contact, who was in the passenger seat, was able to place the vehicle into neutral and shut off the engine. The contact stated that the airbags did not deploy upon impact. The police were called the scene and a police report was filed. The contact was able to drive the vehicle back home despite the severe front-end damage. The contact was also able to drive the vehicle to an independent body shop as several warning lights had appeared on the instrument panel which he linked to the accident. They remained in the possession of the body shop for repair. The contact and his wife sought medical treatment from a doctor where his wife was treated for a large lump on the back of her head and the contact was diagnosed for chest contusion after having a chest x-ray. The dealer was notified of the contact of the failure and was informed that they do not perform body repairs. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 11,500. Consumer stated the total repair cost of the car was ,446. 10.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateOct 14, 2021
StateWA
Description
My 2020 honda cr-v will randomly auto brake on the hwy when approaching a shadow at a hwy overpass. It doesn't happen every time so not predictable. It is terrifying when it does happen as I am driving at hwy speeds and then my car randomly slams on the brakes. This is not ok! I have experienced this about 5 times in the last 6 months.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 28, 2021
StateTN
Description
When I bought the car it had collision mitigation technology. Now it does not. I took it to airport honda in alcoa tn yesterday for this problem along with regular service. They said they contacted honda, who had no answer on why this system failed to work. I paid for a safety system that worked. Now it doesn't any honda has not idea why and offers no solution or recourse. I consider this a safety issue that I hope you will take some involvement in. Thank you very much. [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 05, 2021
StateMN
Description
This was my first explanation of my cars defect when submitting a claim to honda through the ncds. Good morning, I have had trouble with apple car play since I purchased my new vehicle. I called the dealership in november and asked how to fix it. They suggested to try an apple usb/iphone charger so I tried varies different usb cords and got them to work for awhile. In jan. 2021 my apple car play just stopped working all together. I would plug in my phone and the car would tell me that this function is not available. Then when I did occasionally get it to work, about 5 minutes into my drive. My touch screen monitor would turn completely black and I wouldn't be able to use any other functions, even after turning my car off and back on, the screen would remain black until the next time I drove it. It works for a short period of time after doing a factory reset but only for about 12 hours, then it either turns black or the message “this function is unavailable” pops up and my device isn't detected. I can't even use the ipod function just to play music, it's like it doesn't recognize my phone, yet it will charge my phone. It just won't recognize anything else. I have brought it into the dealer 6 times regarding this issue before the last two attempts to fix it, I even called apple support as recommended by the dealership. They were aware of the issue and told me to wait until the next update for it to be fixed. So I did... And it still didn't work. That's when I went in two more times and no one can seem to figure out what's wrong. Thank you for your time, I hope we can resolve this issue soon. Have a great day! Cassie I had sent in multiple documents and a testimony explaining my cars defect and due to that defect the loss of use, value and safety to the vehicle. My request to fix this defect was denied. My case manager then notified me to move forward with my case and file a claim through the minnesota lemon law and they recommend also submitting a claim to nhtsa
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced at a tire shop and failed to shift into reverse. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing an unknown fuse to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred on july 23, 2021. The contact stated while driving 5 mph, she heard an abnormal sound coming from the vehicle before the vehicle stalled. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated she was unable to shift gears. The contact stated a bystander assisted her to manually shift the gear to be able to drive back to her residence. The contact towed the vehicle back to the local dealer. The vehicle was not repaired but was pending repairs. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,400.
CategoryTires:pressure Monitoring And Regulating Systems
DateJul 19, 2021
StateMD
Description
This is the second visit to the dealership involving a faulty sensor with the air pressure monitor. Warning light comes on indicates that the vehicle has low tire pressure. Running the risk of over inflating the tires. First time the vehicle was checked and told there was no issue and the tire pressure monitor was reset. Second visit and again the same issue. Told this was reoccurring problems with the honda system and if it occurs again, just return and the technicians will check it and reset it again. The pattern of the problem occurring with highway travel for about an hour.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline:delivery:fuel Pump
DateJul 14, 2021
StateIN
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that an abnormal, humming was heard intermittently coming from the passenger's side rear wheel after turning off the vehicle. The contact believed that the fuel pump might have been the cause of the failure. The dealer was contacted about the issue and informed him that the vin was not under recall. The contact was also informed that if the vehicle was inspected by the dealer and no failure was found, no action would be taken to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 01, 2021
StateTX
Description
There is a wiring harness for automatic mirror dimming that runs out of the front headliner to the back of the rear-view mirror (p/n32155-tla-a31 32119) that seems to be without sufficient strain relief inside the mirror. On 5/9/2021, I started my cr-v only to have multiple system failure warnings scrolling across the dash. On 5/10/2021, I took the vehicle to the dealership. They found a blown fuse (p/n 38221-sna-a41) but were not able to determine why it blew. On 5/25/2021, the same problem reoccurred. I took the vehicle that day to the dealership. The only difference was that (at least as I knew at the time) was that both failures happened after I used the remote start function. On 5/26/2021, after many attempts to duplicate the problem using remote start, the dealership contacted me saying they needed to do more troubleshooting. On 5/27/2021, the dealership contacted me saying they had determined the problem was a short in the above-mentioned harness and asked if I had hung anything on it. I mentioned that I occasionally hung my handicap placard (net weight 0. 7 ounces) on it, but it would also be bumped by the windshield sunshade I use. The service advisor said that the repairs were not covered under the warranty since it was something I did, and not the fault of the vehicle. I asked the dealership to provide me with the damaged harness for my inspection, and the service advisor agreed to that. When the vehicle was returned to me on 6/4/2021, the harness was not in the vehicle, nor, according to the service advisor, in the building. I am an engineer with years of experience in cabling and harnesses, I wanted to see the damage for myself, as well as what physical harness strain relief accommodations were made for it. When the second incident happened, we were near home, and the dealership. It could have happened a week later when we were on our vacation and driving through the middle of the wheat fields of kansas - stranded.
CategoryAir Bags, Service Brakes
DateJun 23, 2021
StateCT
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated while reversing out of a driveway, when depressing the brake pedal it failed to stop and crashed into a high voltage box. The contact stated she was unaware if any warning lights were illuminated. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustain injuries on her neck and back but did not seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact was able to drive to her residence. The contact called the local dealer and they were made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,300.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateJun 07, 2021
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated she added of fuel into the fuel tank and after an hour of driving the low fuel warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled due to running low on fuel. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to local dealer. The repair was still pending. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJun 03, 2021
StateDE
Description
Had the very first oil change for my new 2020 honda crv at approx 6200 miles and was told there was gasoline mixed in with my oil. The shop brought out a sample and you could smell the gas. Took to a honda dealer and they did not find any problems. Oil change was not done at a honda dealer. Was told by the shop that performed oil change that they have seen this problem with other honda motors
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 22, 2021
StateKS
Description
Unknown: computer touch screen periodically shuts down. It also loses connection for unknown reason with apple play. I've rebooted the computer and sometimes that helps but not as much as I'd hope for it to resolve the connecting issue.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMay 08, 2021
StateFL
Description
Seat belt buckles on the left side and the middle will make the seat belts cross over each other.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 02, 2021
StateIA
Description
The cover for the undercarriage came loose and started dragging. I was driving on a blacktop county road.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 28, 2021
StateIL
Description
My sunroof expoloded/shattered spontaneously. I was driving on the highway. I was mostly alone on this stretch of highway. I was not in a construction zone, under a bridge/overpass, or otherwise in an area that would produce any kind of projectile. There was not a truck or vehicle in front of me that could have kicked a projectile into the air. There was nothing that came through the sunroof into my car that I could identify as a projectile. My sunroon shattered at random. I have discovered others with this same issue both with honda and other manufacturers.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
While driving on the i70 to go skiing with 3 passengers, during portions of the road with steep grades, the car was unable to go the speed limit. Despite applying 95 to 100% power, cars were passing. This is a new car and is clearly a design flaw - as a hybrid once the assistive batteries are depleted, it is only running on the engine - at altitude the engine is starved for oxygen and doesn't have enough power. This is extremely stressful on the driver and unsafe while in the mountainous terrain.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 17, 2021
StateMI
Description
I got in to start the car in the parking garage and it would not start because the battery was dead. I was informed the battery was dead because I did not drive it enough by the dealership. I am nearly 78 years old. I do not know how much I need to drive the car to keep it charged. I think this is a design flaw.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 16, 2021
StateTX
Description
If my vehicle is parked for a week or more, the battery has to be jump started. The car has under 2000 miles on it. This creates an unsafe environment when the car won't start after that short of a period. The dealership said to drive it more often! This has happened more than once.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateMar 15, 2021
StateKS
Description
Car has auto lift and close for rear door. When loading rear or vehicle door will close without warning. This has happened twice, both times I was under door when ir closed, once it hit me it stopped and went back up, I almost fell down. Item 2. When washing rear of car rear door will open on its own while spraying door . If this would happen in an automatic wash it could cause serious damage or injuries to occupants. This can happen when car is off not running. Thanks.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 13, 2021
StatePR
Description
Dash panel freeze running the vehicle , cant see speed up or down , revs etc.. And radio panel freeze too have to turn off the vehicle every time this happen.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 12, 2021
StateTN
Description
After finishing a 300 mile trip, we unloaded the car and parked it. This vehicle is a month old, with 557 miles after this trip. I spent 60 minutes looking for road dings and any scratches. Found nothing! I went back out to be sure we locked and found a 5 inch crack on the right side of the windshield. I spent another 30 minutes looking for a reason/cause. There was no marks on this vehicle when arrived at our destination. And after sitting parked for at least an hour the windshield was cracked. It appears that both layers of glass are damaged!
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 10, 2021
StateAZ
Description
New vehicle with approx. 3,000 miles became completely disabled on highway and exposed occupants to extreme danger. Dealership reported that a "faulty brake sensor" was the cause of the vehicle becoming inoperable. Vehicle was being driven at 60 mph and engine died on an underpass turn barely visible to traffic behind and was almost hit by a semi cruising at 60+ mph. Failure of all systems resulted and could have killed the honda cr-v occupants.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 26, 2021
StateTN
Description
I leased a brand new cr-v and 12 hours after I left the dealership it malfunctioned. While driving 7 mph in my apartment complex my brakes and steering wheel locked up causing me to bump into a concrete sidewalk barrier. My computer system alerted me to system failures for power steering, braking, awd, etc. The only damage was scuffed up tires and hubcaps. After having it towed to the dealership they said I wrecked the vehicle and there was no malfunction. They also said the wheel rod was bent to a 90 degree angle. I find it very concerning that the wheel rod could be bent that much while only going 7mph. The dealership does not believe that the vehicle malfunctioned causing me to wreck an are adamant I caused all the issues. This is a serious malfunction an I am lucky to be alive today.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateFeb 25, 2021
StateKS
Description
The tire pressure monitoring system does not work and can't be corrected. It will come on showing a tpm problem. This is not monitoring tire safety. On city streets it will remain correct for several miles. On the highway it registers the tpm problem after two to three miles.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 22, 2021
StateMN
Description
The car looses heat when idling or going down a hill. You loose heat and the windows fog up and you cant see.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 21, 2021
StateNY
Description
I use my vehicle regularly once a day o maybe twice, short rides, sometimes highways short time 1h total in a day. The car is asking me a change oil very often, around 1500 miles when the regular is 3-5k I asked another drivers and they have the same problem. Could you please help us with this ?
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 08, 2021
StateNY
Description
Ice can get stuck in the exterior door handle, not allowing you to open your car door from the inside. A scary issue in colder climates. I replicated the issue with my passenger side door.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateSC
Description
While in motion, dashboard and radio display go dark and become unreadable. So far has recovered, but can take more than an hour. In meantime, can't tell speed of car and lose map directions. Same thing happened on 2017 honda crv. Honda has no tech bulletins on this. Hard to imagine if it's been happening for at least 4 model years.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 02, 2021
StateIA
Description
Crankcase fuel/oil dilution problem on honda 1. 5l direct fuel injected, turbo engine. Upon the first oil change on our 2020 honda cr-v exl at about 6300 miles we found the oil level in the crankcase to be overfull by approximately 1 pint. The oil smelled faintly of gasoline and appeared thinner than normal. See attached picture. We live in a town of 22,000. Most trips around town are 2 miles each way at most, which according to honda is part of the problem as the engine does not run at normal operating temperature long enough to evaporate fuel in the crankcase. We do take occasional trips of an hour or more each direction. Honda says this problem is made worse by cold climates, however, our winter where we live had been very mild compared to most winters when our oil was changed. Most days the outside air temp had been in the 30's to low 40's. I've been told by my honda dealer's service manager this is a common problem and honda has no fix for this problem. I am concerned about having proper oil viscosity. If the oil level in our honda engine crankcase was a pint over full, that would be equivalent to a 13% fuel content since the engine only holds 3. 7 quarts of oil. That seems excessive and viscosity has to suffer allowing excessive engine wear. Honda says it will be fine. I have written to honda corp. About this problem and have not received a reply.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 26, 2021
StateMA
Description
Bought 2019 accord new had the rotors replaced at 8,000 first I went in they turned them made it worse had to go back they turned again still bad so they replaced with a new set . I'm at 16,800 and it's starting to do it again and the dealer says they can't feel it yet and . Now I have to show them the chattering that's just starting but it shouldn't be they only have 8,000 miles I have 3 other honda all my brakes are fine except my new car that's a problem
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 26, 2021
StateTX
Description
Hood is misaligned from the factory resulting in hood latch misalignment and bending. Latch drags on mechanism when closing. Per honda certified body tech, metal fatigue will eventually cause latch to fail possibly leading to hood coming unlatched during driving. We didn't notice until several days after accepting delivery
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 08, 2021
StateIL
Description
My vehicle ( 2020 honda crv) was traveling approx. 50 mph on a highway when hit by a ford 350 van as it attempted to cross the highway. My vehicle was hit directly on the drivers side demolishing drivers side back passenger door and a portion toward back end including fuel door. No air bags deployed !!! My drivers door was jammed! I was unable to exit my vehicle on the drivers side and had to crawl out front passenger side . I was injured in this accident
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 28, 2020
StateAZ
Description
My 2020 honda crv was on a city street in motion less than 50 miles per hour when we heard a very loud noise/ explosion. We were not near any overpasses or underpasses. No object struck the vehicle. At our destination, we looked over vehicle and discovered the sunroof/ moonroof had exploded. The temperature outside was around 65 degrees to 70 degrees. This vehicle had just came out of the garage 10 minutes prior.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 11, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that his wife was attempting to make a left turn from a stop light, the driver's air bag from the steering wheel suddenly deployed right in the middle of her making the left turn. The contact's wife was stunned and impaired from seeing and the vehicle collided with another vehicle in the opposite lane. There were no injuries that required being transported to the hospital. A police report was filed. The front driver's side wheel well and the front bumper were damaged. The vehicle was towed from the crash scene. The manufacturer was contacted and they gave the contact a claim case number # 11744718 and said the contact would have to go through an insurance company. The contact inquired about a possible black box in the vehicle to find out why the air bag deployed but the manufacturer stated to ask the insurance company about that issue. The dealer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 2,200.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 07, 2020
StateLA
Description
Approximately 80% of the front windscreen is completely black and the driver can only see the road ahead through the lower 20% of the field of view. This occurs at night in situations with minimal surrounding lighting (eg. Not in the city). The distance which can be seen is less than 100 ft. There is a straight line with abrupt change from the lower illuminated region to the upper completely black windscreen through which hardly anything can be visualized. I have never seen this completely black windscreen in any other vehicle. The dealership told me the headlights were at factory specifications and there was nothing else they could do. It is completely unsafe to drive in low light conditions with the low beams and the illuminated area becomes even smaller on inclines. Visibility is slightly improved with high beams but the upper 2/3rd to 1/2 of the windscreen remains darker. The iihs safety test confirms marginal illumination on honda crv ex l model with inadequate lighting on certain turns, so the deficiency of the low beams is already documented however testing apparently did not occur in low light conditions because that is when the black windscreen condition occurs. That would have given this model a poor performance/failing grade. I have found other similar complaints with this problem online and so I am surprised that a fix/recall has not been issued for this problem with the low beam headlights.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 06, 2020
StateMD
Description
I was driving at about 35 mph and a message flashed on my display of a problem with my transmission. I was able to pull over and turn the car off. When I restarted the car it seemed ok. The cast has about 5000 miles on it.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateDec 03, 2020
StateWV
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The vehicle began to emit a fuel like odor inside the vehicle. The failure only occurred while the vehicle sat idle. The vehicle was taken to urse honda (772 barnetts run rd, bridgeport, wv 26330; (304) 842-5600) who stated they were unable to recreate the failure and therefore were not able to diagnose the vehicle. The failure recurred. The contact had taken the vehicle to the same dealer three times however, the inspection results were the same. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and suggested the contact go to another dealer for a second opinion. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.*dt*jb *js
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 13, 2020
StateAZ
Description
2020 new honda cr-v hybrid - there's a vibration and noise associated with it. At two months old, honda detected it in both my car and two other new ones they pulled from their lot to see if it was in any other new ones. I was told "they both have the same issue only worse than yours". Originally I noticed it at 63 mph (so did the shop foreman who drove it with me), but now, I'm experiencing it on surface streets as well. It remains constant regardless of acceleration or deceleration. The dealership made every attempt to correct it - tried new tire(s), rear alignment, etc. They test drove it more than once, but in the end, they admitted to me that it was still there and likely a characteristic of this model. "drive train" was mentioned as a possible cause. I did test drive it before I bought it and while it did feel a bit different from my 2017 cr-v, I attributed it to me not being accustomed to awd. However, the more I've driven it, the more I realize it's significant enough that I would be very uncomfortable on a long trip. All this said, the issue of safety keeps looming - if it is the drive train, is it wearing down already (not being mechanically minded, does a drive train wear down?) and at what point might it cause a real problem at high speed (or any speed!)? For clarity - the car has never been driven roughly nor hit any obstacle or curb. I am writing a letter to honda corporate offices as well. A shout out to every single person at my honda dealer. I know first year revamp (first year of cr-v hybrid in this case) can be tricky and very possibly is in this instance. Everyone has been wonderful and worked hard to try and pinpoint the problem. Perhaps a rhetorical question, but I did ask "so, are you going to sell those other two on the lot as is?"
CategoryWheels
DateNov 12, 2020
StateNY
Description
I purchased a new 2020 honda cr-v'eco in february 2020. On november 6 2020 I took the car to the dealership where I purchased it because of tire disturbance. Their diagnosis was that the front tires were worn to 4/32 and rear sworn to 6/32 and tires were feathered. Tires are bridgestone ecopia factory originalmtires with onlyn16,481 miles on them . The branding info on the side wall states these arev70,000 tread wear tires. Dealer advised to buy 2 new tires to replace the most worn and feathered ones and do nothing more : I became aware that oem tires are not warranted by the tire company because the are built to special specs from honda. Also isn't using differently worn tires a safety issue on awd vehicles
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 09, 2020
StateCT
Description
The cabin of my crv smells nauseatingly like gasoline causing severe headaches. It happens while the engine is running at low and high speeds, and also when the engine is not running. My vehicle has less than 4000 miles on it. I thought this problem was fixed in the 2020 models.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 13, 2020
StateNM
Description
Car was only two months old from the shop and had a severe gas leak from the bottom of my honda cr-v 2020 dealership told me it was rodents that ate the fuel pump and then lent me the exact same care honda cr-v 2020 and again a week later had the same problem. This was reviewed by my own mechanic and said that there was whole on the fuel tank. Honda-cr-v leaks gas when turned on. It is leaking large amount of gas.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 12, 2020
StateWI
Description
The automatic closing of the tailgate is hazardous and has closed on me several times. Car was parked and not moving every time leaning into the rear of the vehicle with feet under the bumper is enough to close the tailgate.. Turning around when near the bumper will cause it to close. One time I was knocked down tring to avoid the closing and fell and took several layers of skin off my shoulder and arm. Once it starts it will not stop even if a person tries to hold it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 10, 2020
StateAR
Description
We purchased a 2020 honda crv less than two months ago. Since then we have found out that one of the features of the key fob is that if you push the unlock button, then push and hold the unlock button, it will roll down all of the windows and open the moon roof. So if this happens accidentally while the keys are in your pocket or pusre you will get up the next morning with the windows rolled down. This has happened to us multiplel times already with no warning or alerts. The dealer says that this feature can not be reprogrammed. This may not be a safety issue but it is definitely is a security issue if your sits outside in a driveway or in a parking lot. Or if happens when it is raining it would make a real mess of the vehicle.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 08, 2020
StateIL
Description
When driving on a city street, there was a flat metal plate on the street (a plate that is commonly found when a street is under construction. Suddenly the car came to a violent, abrupt stop before the plate. The car stopped so suddenly that the whole car shook as if I was hit by 3 cars. My body jolted forward and my groceries flew off the back seat. I was on the phone (hands free) and the person I was speaking with became alarmed since they heard a loud, concerning sound. I had to sit there for a few minutes in the middle of the street to get my bearings. It was so alarming that I couldn't figure out what happened for a few minutes. I did not apply the brakes myself, so this must have been caused by the honda collision mitigation braking system. This experience was so jolting that it stayed with me all night. This was very dangerous. I'm lucky there weren't cars around me because it would have caused a bad accident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 29, 2020
StatePA
Description
All 4 of my windows and my moonroof automatically opened while I was in a store. It was pouring down rain and all of my seats, carpet, and entire inside of my 2030 honda crv are completely soaked. I locked my door when I parked it and everything was closed up since it was storming.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 10, 2020
StateVA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 honda cr-v. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced sudden deceleration while driving 75 down to 10 mph. No warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle would not respond and that the electrical system remained functional. The contact stated that the vehicle would not generate enough power to drive onto the flatbed. The contact stated that he was able to steer to the left but almost was hit and was able to coast on the grass and waited a couple of hours until the tow truck arrived. The contact also mentioned that the engine remained running. The vehicle was towed to a local unknown dealer in delaware and later was towed to joyce koons honda (10640 automotive dr, manassas, va 20109) where the dealer was able to replicate the failure but was unable to provide a cause for the failure. The mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the dealer called the manufacturer and was provided a case number. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 19v865000 (structure). The failure mileage was approximately 950.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 05, 2020
StateSC
Description
Navigation head unit spontaneously went erratic during route navigation. Display flashing on and off, brightness control appearing and disappearing. Unresponsive and unable to reboot system. Dangerous distraction for driver because of sudden nature of system failure. Stopping and restarting vehicle returned normal function.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 15, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Recently purchased a 2020 honda crv. I noticed the back seat belts (left and center) crisscross when buckled. I went back to honda to complain and saw that all honda crv's had this configuration. I looked up on a honda complaint web site and found the three similar complaints. It was also a problem on the 2019 vehicles. It appears that we all believe this is a safety issue. If you have to get someone (possibly unconscious) out of the car this configuration could prove to be a problem. Here is one example of another complaint: seat belt problem #1 my husband and I were sitting in the back seat of our 2019 cr-v and noticed that the seat belt inserts on the seat directly behind the passenger and middle seat were in the wrong position. In order to buckle the middle seat we have to pull down the strap from the top and connect one buckle directly next to the seat belt insert for the left passenger seat belt. So when we try buckling both the middle seat and the rear left passenger seat belt they are twisted around one another, making it unsafe to travel with three passengers in the back at a time. We have gone back to honda in order to get the issue resolved but were unable to due to the fact that all of the 2019 cr-v models were like that. We believe this is a safety issue. We often need to travel with three people in the back seat and this is truly an inconvenience for us, on top of it simply not being safe. We didn't think we'd have to check the back seat seatbelts when we purchased the vehicle, we've never had an issue like this in any of our previous cars.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 10, 2020
StateNJ
Description
The car was parked in a private garage. During the night, a crack approximately 12 inches in length spontaneously developed in the front windshield on the passenger side. The crack appears to have started at the bottom of the windheild. The car was less than 1 week old at this point.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateJul 23, 2020
StateHI
Description
I bought the car on the 22 of may 2020. On the 17th of july 2020, I lost all brakes, tpms, lane control, emergency braking warning. I returned the car to the dealer. They kept if for 5 hours. They told me the computer was updated. On monday the 19th I had the same problem. I returned to the dealer on tuesday the 20th of july, I went back to the dealer. They kept the car and gave me a rental telling they ordered the part from ghe mainland(I am in hawaii). They said it would take 5 to six days to get the part and fix the problem. This is a new car, what's going on?
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 18, 2020
StateTX
Description
Instrument display went dark and failed while driving at night. Car still ran and was drivable, but I had no idea about speed or engine status. While taking it to the dealer later that day, the display became visible but all the warning lights came on in sequence repeatedly. The dealership contacted honda and after 2 days in the shop determined it was due to an instrument display cluster failure. I am still awaiting a final resolution/repair. Note that the lights did not fail during this event, but it still was very disconcerting for night driving. I was driving on a city street at the time of the event at about 30 mph in a straight line. Ac was on but no radio or wipers. *tr
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 15, 2020
StateVA
Description
Approximately 10-15% of the time, when trying to depress the brake pedal before pressing the 'start' button on my 2020 honda cr-v, the brake pedal cannot be depressed. It is firmly locked/jammed in place. In some instances, I can apply very firm pressure on the pedal, just enough to get the engine to start, but in other cases, the pedal cannot be depressed at all. When this occurs, pressing the 'start' button initiates the electronic systems but does not start the engine. Once electronic systems are on, the pedal sometimes remains firmly locked, and other times may slightly soften to the point that I can press the start button again and start the engine. During instances when the pedal remains firmly locked, I may have to press the 'start' button several times, cycling electronics on and off before the pedal eventually softens enough to allow the engine to start. The pedal issue seems random, regardless of warm or cold engine, terrain, weather conditions, use of parking brake, pressing the pedal repeatedly, etc. Based on other similar online reviews, there is growing concern that the pedal can lock while the vehicle is in motion, causing a loss of braking capability in affected vehicles including cr-v, pilot, and ridgeline. Speculative causes may be a brake vacuum/booster defect. Two local dealerships claimed they are unfamiliar with the problem and a technician reviewing the vehicle said everything was working fine, so they apparently have not experienced the jammed brake pedal in person. *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 01, 2020
StateTX
Description
Very distracted operation when the avas acoustic vehicle alert system produces strange noises at low speed. This has no value in any normal driving situation except to unnecessarily distract the driver and the vehicles nearby.. The system can not be disabled. No more than addition noise pollution without value. *tr
CategorySteering, Suspension, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 28, 2020
StateMA
Description
I purchase a honda cr-v 2020 on february 3 2020 two month later I started to hear a clicking and clocking noise while steering and driving along also on bumps it was taken to the shop on april 22 2020 to curry honda on april 23 2020 I received a called from curry that it was the front side axle they repaired the axle and the noise occurred. Curry honda check swaybarlink and remove them and the noise still occurred then curry honda said it was the struck assembly and they said they reinstalled the struck and the noise still happened curry honda then advise me they have to contact tech line to see if a engineer can come to look at vehicle the engineer found it was a faulty transmission mount on may 5 2020 I pick up my honda cr-v staying the vehicle was fix on may 9 2020 the noise occurred again I returned the vehicle again on may 11 2020 [xxx] service manager had master tech test drive my 2020 honda cr-v to verify the noise the technician drove around the parking lot came back in verified the noise [xxx] service manager said they need to get the honda filled engineer back to curry to look at my vehicle so on may 14 2020 drop my car off for the same noise car was there until may 20 2020 stated in was a faulty transmission mount that was replaced on may 21 2020 I started to hear the same noise slightly when steering and hitting bumps now I'm waiting on honda corporation to do with this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tr
CategoryEngine
DateApr 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
This is a 2020 honda crv. The problem is an intermittent acceleration hesitation. A definite safety issue.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering, Structure:body
DateMar 15, 2020
StateNY
Description
Soon before driving my new vehicle, in a preliminary inspection, I found extensive rusting around the exhaust pipes and system. The mechanic from the dealership said that was normal. Just before driving, the millage screen read as 000019. The dealer told us this is 0. 019 of a mile. Soon after I drove my car out of the dealership, I experienced 4 episodes of car becoming unstable, flipping from one side of road to the other. This occurred over a 23 miles of driving in high way. I called the dealership immediately. They dismissed it as normal. At arrival, after driving 23 miles, the mileage screen read 42 miles. The dealer then admitted the initial read was in fact 19 miles not 0. 019 mile.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 15, 2020
StateMI
Description
I am experiencing the engine oil dilution problem. I had the oil changed after less than 2000 miles driven because it looked like spent oil (dark and cloudy) and smelled heavily of gasoline. Technicians at honda advised that I keep getting the oil changed regularly, but that there was no fix that they could make to the oil dilution problem.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 26, 2020
StateTN
Description
While parked and locked all four windows rolled down without any one in the suv

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.