2020 Kia Sportage Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2020 Kia Sportage is a well-known vehicle that is designed to offer a value-based ride for the family. The automaker claims that it offers “room to roam,” but that doesn’t speak to the quality. It turns out that this Sportage might suffer from a defective engine and a shoddy electrical system.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2018   2019   2021   2022   2023

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Kia pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Kia Sportage

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
16
Engine
6
Service Brakes, Hydraulic
5
Electrical System
4
Structure:body
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Visibility/wiper
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Steering
2
Service Brakes
2

Problems with the Engine

Arguably, the most important part of any vehicle is the engine. It must be powerful and reliable, but should also be efficient enough to impress customers. This motor doesn’t seem to fit any criteria.

One NHTSA complaint states, “Product improvement program which requires a program update to my car’s engine control unit. This is because my engine may experience catastrophic bearing failure possibly destroying the engine. My complaint is that this notice should be a recall notice. They are not improving anything. The underlying problem that will cause the engine failure has not been addressed and won’t be by this so called ‘product improvement program.’ I asked Kia why they aren’t fixing the problem with the engines at the factory instead of just adding an early warning system to the ECU? This is absolutely crazy. I don’t’ want a brand new car that can possibly have a total engine failure. I don’t want a car that warns you that your car is about to have an engine failure. That is not a proper way at all to fix a problem. You fix a problem at the engine factory…not in the field. I am having this program update done tomorrow and then the next day I am getting rid of my brand new 2020 Kia Sportage and buying a car, any car, that doesn’t have an engine that could possibly blow up at any time. Kia has put this problem on the backs of their customers. It doesn’t belong there. It belongs on Kia.”

The problem being addressed in this complaint is related to Service Bulletin #PI1806_TSB_R1. The technicians are installing new ECU software that lets customers know if excessive connecting rod bearing damage is occurring to the engine. The Knock Sensor Detection System provides an alert that the engine is starting to fail. As the customer above said, the engines should be fixed, not merely have software that tells someone when it is about to die. It will be difficult for this SUV to “roam” anywhere once that engine fails.

Problems with the Electrical System

A deep look into the electrical system of the Sportage shows the same level of problems.

Here is an Edmunds review to read. “Unfortunately, one day we came out and the SUV was dead! We have had it in several times to the dealership to see what is going on. The 2nd time they replaced the battery and when we got it home, the alarm kept going off. There is something wrong with the electrical system which is disappointing and it is currently in the dealership for the 3rd time.”

While this particular situation isn’t discussed, there are other communications worth mentioning. One, Service Bulletin #PS612, talks about a loose connection with the Lane Keep Assist program that could lead to a malfunction. In addition, it could cause the LKA, High Beam Assist or Forward-Collision Avoidance-Assist system warnings to illuminate on the dash, thereby causing drivers to panic. Whether it is because of the engine failure or the electrical system defects, it might be better if customers started roaming in another vehicle.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Kia pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 30, 2022
StateIL
Description
I have and had many problems including: steering components that break suddenly, causing partial or complete loss of vehicle control, problems with fuel system components, particularly in their susceptibility to crash damage, which result in leakage of fuel and may cause vehicle fires or gets a strong fire smell at the moment, the accelerator controls that break or stick and has been acknowledged a kia dealership repair man. Most recently, wheels that make loud cracking sound, which may result in loss of vehicle control, had a poor windshield wiper assemblies that fail to operate properly causing bad vision for driving, critical care components that are constantly and simantously needing repair. Beyond belief. Also, wiring system problems that result in a strong fire smell, or loss of lighting, wiring system problems that result in a strong fire smell or loss of lighting, or loss of power. Many times, I have been left stranded after having 20 seconds of power flickering and then the car abruptly shuts off. This is very hazardous. I fear for my 5 year old child when this happens. I also have proof of emergency road side assistance for loss of power. Furthermore, I have proof and evidence via road side assistance, many invoices to different dealerships all keeping my car for several hours for diagnostic testing. Then after paying for the services, my car will have another episode of leaving me stranded in bad situations., I have pictures and videos of all these malfunctions occurring and its only a part of what I have been able to catch on video and camera because it happens so fast. I had all of the lights light up on ths dash almost looks like christmas lights. On and off I have pictures.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 17, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact stated while driving at 35 mph, the check engine and the oil pressure warning lights were illuminated, and the engine seized. The contact veered to the side of the road. The contact opened the hood and noticed that there was no engine oil in the vehicle though he had completed the oil change on june 4, 2022. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine oil had leaked due the oil drain plugs missing. The dealer informed the contact that the oil drain plugs may not have been properly tightened during the last oil change. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 23,027.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 15, 2022
StateMO
Description
Where you insert the key to start the car can be broken and started with a cell phone charger which intern makes it a target car theft. No safety whatsoever. My kia was stolen in st. Louis missouri along with hundreds of others if not thousands. I do have a police report along with everyone else in the city who has one too. No one should be able to start a car with a cell phone charger.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateOct 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, an unknown object struck the middle of the windshield and formed a spiderweb crack. The contact called the dealer to file a claim but was informed that the windshield was not covered under warranty. The contact then called her insurance provider and an independent mechanic performed a minor repair to the windshield which made the crack less visible. Since the initial failure, three additional cracks had formed on various parts of the windshield after a minor impact. The contact stated that the cracks obstructed her vision while driving. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 23, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact then stated that on multiple occasions while attempting to accelerate above 25 mph, the engine revved but the vehicle failed to respond. No warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the starter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the intake boot was torn and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that the dealer performed a brief examination. The contact stated that he was provided a case number, but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 19,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 20, 2022
StateOH
Description
My car was stolen august 4, 2022. My 2020 kia sportage was stolen out of my yard they smashed the back window face they busted the column and they use my iphone charger to steal my car. It took 43 days for me to get back. I'm scared to park the car anywhere I don't want the car anymore.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 07, 2022
StateNY
Description
Dashboard showed drivers side brake light was out. I visually confirmed it was. Next day I started car again and the dashboard did not display the warning. I checked and confirmed the brake light was indeed working. A few weeks later, same thing happened: dash display indicated drivers side brake light was out, I visually confirmed it was. The next time I drove the car, dash no longer indicated brake light was out. I visually confirmed brake light was working. Took vehicle to dealer, showed them photo I had previously taken of dash display when it showed brake light was out. Dealer said he couldn't replicate the problem and can't do anything until he could see the dashboard indicating light was out - even though I showed him the photo. Although as of this writing, the brake light is working fine, I am fearful it will happen again.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateSep 05, 2022
StateIN
Description
Over 5,000 vehicles are being stolen because of a defect in the steering and ignition of kia cars made between 2011 and 2020 just in my area where I live. I bought a ,000 car that I can't even drive to work or to a store unless I have someone with me to stay in the car. I couldn't even take grandkids to a fest this past weekend cause I don't want it to get stolen. I even have to walk to work despite owning a car that I just bought four months ago. Kia dealer did not tell me about the flaw or defect. They did not tell me that kia can be started with a usb cord or I would not have bought it. They failed to tell me that so many kia's were being stolen and I would not have bought it. They are hiding flaws and defects and costing taxpayers thousands of dollars and nothing is being done about it. Do I have so spend more money to file a class action or is the nhtsa going to finally stop and make kia issue a recall? Stolen kia's are wasting police officer times and city money to recover and while causing damage to other vehicles and lives of other people when they flee and a pursuit exists? When is enough is enough? This is a safety issue because these are kids stealing them and crashing them and hurting other people. Are you going to wait until someone gets killed from fleeing stolen cars before you do something?
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 01, 2022
StateIL
Description
Driving on hwy going to pass a car look and the mirror and was black smoke minutes later I was trying to get out of the car took car to the shoulder car was on fire totally lost no answers yet over what happened be careful second kia sportage lost
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 30, 2022
StateCA
Description
Since I took delivery of the sportage on 1/18/20, there has been a fuel leak. On three occasions, I asked kirby kia to check it and they said there was no problem. I notice that they did not include on their paperwork my requests to inspect this problem. The gas fumes are so strong that if I'm idling or stopped in traffic, I have to close all my windows and set air to recirculate. I am a senior and need someone to step in and help with this issue. Thanks.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 27, 2022
StateOH
Description
On sunday I was getting on the expressway and my car accelerated on its own. I hit the brake and the car was ok. That was may 22, 2020, on wednesday, may. 25,2020 I was pulling into a parking spot at kroger store and my car accelerated on its own and I hit a pole. Over 00. 00 damaged to my car but I was not hurt. I took my car to the dealer and they checked it and said nothing was wrong. I am afraid to drive it. I don't want to hurt anyone or myself. There were no warning lights.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 09, 2022
StateKS
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph, another vehicle crashed into his rear driver's side door and wheel well. None of the air bags deployed upon impact. The contact's head hit the seat belt anchor ring upon impact. The contact later received medical attention for a tear in his shoulder and whiplash. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard and then to a body shop where it was repaired. The tow truck driver informed the contact that the rear axle had fractured from the sub-frame. The vehicle was not deemed totaled by the insurance company. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v031000 (air bags) however, the vin, year, and model were not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 01, 2022
StateNC
Description
While driving a week ago with the panoramic sun roof open, I heard a loud pop. It was loud enough for me to jump and look up because I thought something had fell on the car while driving, but nothing came inside. Once I got home, I was looking at my car, the panel before the sunroof, between the windshield and the panoramic sun roof had a deep cracked line from left to right.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateAL
Description
My car caught on fire in campground where I was staying. Also burned up 2 other vehicles, my rv was deemed a total loss and it also damaged 2 other campers. There was a fire investigation which was ordered by my insurance and there is another mechanical engineer investigation pending. There was a recall on my car and I had taken it to dealership last year for repair. There was no warning lights.
CategoryExterior Lighting, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJan 21, 2022
StatePA
Description
I am writing because this is an accident, just "waiting to happen." I buy a new car every 3 or 4 years. I purchase every option, and even purchase the extended warranty package to 7 yrs, because of all the electronics in newer cars. I have never noticed on any of them, what I believe is an unsafe driving condition, until now. On my 2020 kia sportage... At night, when dark, and you turn off either left or right... For some reason, the light does not follow you... It stays focused straight ahead. So, for some seconds, you cannot see, until your car straightens out again. This, I believe is a safety issue. If there was something, in that blind spot few seconds, you would hit it; a child, a biker, a large hole, an animal or some unexpected thing... Because it is impossible to see until the car totally straightens again. Accidents happen in seconds. I drive very slowly in turns, since I realized the bad decision someone at kia made with the lighting package on this car..... But with that extra caution I take, I realize also, that someone coming behind me on the turn, could actually run into me, not expecting me to go slow as I turn off left or right.... Much slower than I would in daylight. I have called kia service and the 800 customer service number as well... They just refer you back and forth. So, I am writing to consumer safety hoping you can help. This is not an "option", it is a safety issue. Sincerely, [xxx] I bought it from jim shorkey dealership in wexford, pa information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategorySteering
DateJan 20, 2022
StateOH
Description
My vehicle was stolen some time between the evening of 01/09/2022 and the morning of 01/10/2022. The rear left window was smashed to allow entry into the vehicle, and no alarm was heard overnight. This vehicle was stolen without the use of a key, as both keys were inside my apartment at the time of the theft. The thieves stripped the steering column and used what appeared to be a screwdriver and/or a usb port (both items were found inside the vehicle upon recovery) to start the vehicle. This problem has made national news in milwaukee, wi, and is becoming more common here in columbus, oh.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline:storage:evaporative Emissions:canister
DateDec 28, 2021
StatePA
Description
Oxt 2021 check engine light illuminated on my 2020 kia sportage. Code p242200 was pulled. Service technician replaced the canister close valve due to sticking open. Nov 2, 2021 the check engine illuminated again during a trip out of state. During the trip the engine light would go from illuminated to off a number of times. The car was returned to the dealer on november 16, 2021 the service technician retrieved code 2422 and contacted kia tech line. It was decided to drop the fuel tank and inspect the evap canister. Spiders (yellow sac spiders) were found on the canister and webbing and spiders found in lines. Since this was an “environmental” condition and not mechanical defect this service was not covered under warranty or by a tech service bulletin. At issue is that this problem (spiders being drawn to the evap canister and fuel lines) has previously been identified by the automotive industry circa 2004 to present. This is clearly a safety defect that could cause fuel tanks or lines to rupture and environmental issues the affected parts were meant to help prevent. At issue is that this problem (spiders being drawn to the evap canister and fuel lines) has previously been identified by the automotive industry circa 2004 to present. This is clearly a safety defect that could cause fuel tanks or lines to rupture and environmental issues the affected parts were meant to help prevent. See additional attachments.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateOct 26, 2021
StateCO
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer and medved kia (11201 w interstate 70 frontage rd n, wheat ridge, co 80033) were made aware of the issue and confirmed that parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 28, 2021
StateWI
Description
Car was stolen using a known design flaw in the steering column. Have been without my car for over two months now.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
This complaint is against fox rent a car . We rented a car from fox car rentals located near denver airport . Unfortunately our car was hit by a deer we called the police and they prepared a report the deputy sheriff also mentioned that fox rent a car has rented us and expired registration and under repo/recall vehicle which may have serious consequences for us. Nevertheless we returned the car and filled a accident form with our insurance policy and police report details . The employee at the location confirmed that since we are insured with allstate we are only responsible to pay the deductible which in our case was 00. Now we are received a demand from fox rental for 10. 53 . We have agreed to pay the deductible but not a single cent more . Also we would like to claim any appropriate damages / compensation for negligence and irresponsibility by fox rental for renting us expired registration car under repossession . Police officer card and case number with damage form attached
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2021
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact stated while vehicle was parked, with the engine running, the contact noticed that the check engine warning light illuminated on the vehicle and would not turn off. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) which the contact thought was the reason for the warning light being illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be repaired, however the warning light remained illuminated. The contact stated that the local dealer inspected the vehicle but was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJul 19, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owned a 2020 kia sportage. The contact stated that while driving at 75 mph, he and his wife began to smell a fuel odor emitting from the vehicle without warning. Soon after smelling the fuel, a flame had ignited from the engine as a dark, black smoke began to emit from the vehicle. The contact immediately pulled over and both he and his wife exited the vehicle as the vehicle became engulfed in flames. The authorities were called to the scene and the fire department was able to extinguish the fire. A police and fire report was filed. No injuries were reported at the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent scrap yard as it had been completely destroyed by the fire. Three weeks after the failure, the contact received a call from the dealer where he purchased the vehicle that there was a recall on the vehicle for nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The contact informed the dealer of the failure with his vehicle and the dealer hung up the phone. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and had received no assistance. The vehicle was a total loss. The failure mileage was 10,500.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 14, 2021
StateTN
Description
I was driving my sportage home one night when about a mile away. The car suddenly dropped in power and the car barely moved. I couldn't get it to go any faster than 25 mpg. Cause unknown. It was late so I got it home but it had to be towed out to the kia dealer. When I checked on it the next week, they told me they didn't have it in their system and blamed the tow company. "the keys were given to the "big guy in the office out front." the tow person told me. I haven't been able to get any information other than " if I want to walk the lot and find it , they would see about putting it in line. "
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateJun 01, 2021
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The dealer was made aware of the issue and confirmed that the part was not yet available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 26, 2021
StateFL
Description
I need your clearance to return this vehicle after acknowledge the dangerous safety issue thru a letter from kia motors inc. It's a recall, the manufacture had a duty to create a vehicle that was safe for use. The law provides the manufacturer with three options for remedying the defect: repair, replacement, or refund. The replacement option is not provided to me, means my right have been violated by kia.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateMay 25, 2021
StateKS
Description
The contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. An unknown dealer was contacted and confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2021
StateCT
Description
The screen in car goes completely blank and will not go back on till you turn car back on. Blind spot warning doesn't always work on highway collision light comes on when there isn't anyone in front of you backroads and highway.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateApr 20, 2021
StateIN
Description
Rear hatch window shattered on bumper contact with a closed garage door from 6 inches. There was no damage to the aluminum garage door and no mark on the rear bumper. Car was put in reverse with foot on brake. Car idled into door when foot was removed from brake pedal.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic
DateApr 15, 2021
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 kia sportage. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v137000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was taken to sterling kia (197 n. Earl rudder fwy, bryan, tx 77802) where it was confirmed that the part was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 13, 2021
StateAZ
Description
I was driving on the highway on a clear day with no cars around me when my sunroof exploded. The glass was defect and the manufacture isn't trying to accept responsibility. The dealership will not confirm how the denial was determined nor will they produce a formal denial letter. The biggest issue in my opinion is I don't even think kia looked at the photos because when I asked the dealership for them (because it's needed for a claim with kia consumer affairs) I was told they didn't have them. When I asked the body shop how they provided them to the dealership I was told by text. I opened a case with kia consumer affairs but they have yet to reach out to me and the case has been open for 34 days now. I was told by a different dealership they kia consumer affairs usually takes 3days to reach out.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 06, 2021
StateMN
Description
I was driving and I began smelling a burning smell when I hit the brakes. The smell has gotten stronger and not gone away. I made an appointment at the dealership after finding out there was recalls on vehicle that were my make and model and the recall described exactly what was happening. The dealership was not helpful. They said they had not gotten a recall on my specific car yet and though they could detect an 'odor' they weren't certain what it was from and literally told me to not park indoors. And if my car caught fire to exit quickly. I also called kia and they told me the same thing and that I could try another place for a second opinion. I told them there was a recall and my fuses needed to be checked. No one wanted to help me.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 28, 2021
StateTX
Description
My vehicle has been under recall since march 4th of 2021. However, every kia dealer I have contacted has said my sportage doesn't have one, even though my vehicle meets the parameters of make, model, year, and manufacturing date. The manufacturer recall number is sc206a and the nhtsa recall number is 21v137. My vehicle was manufactured in april of 2019 which falls under the sportages affected. Given that this recall is a serious matter, I would like this resolved as soon as possible.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
As I was pulling into a parking spot the car suddenly accelerated with great speed and lunged the car forward into a cement wall. I was in a parking garage and going very slow when it darted forward. It damaged the front number and the electronic sensors
CategoryEngine
DateMar 10, 2021
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2020 kia sportage. The contact was at a red light when a smoke odor was detected and another driver informed him that black smoke was coming from the exhaust. The contact stated that as he was exiting the vehicle, he saw flames igniting under the hood of the vehicle and moments later the vehicle burst into flames. The vehicle was towed to a lot and the insurance company deemed it totaled. The contact informed the dealer of the failure but the dealer wanted to sell the contact another vehicle. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,600. *dt
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 15, 2021
StateCT
Description
Animals are chewing on the wires, causing the electrical system to fail while driving. This has happened multiple times in a car less than a year old
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 25, 2020
StateNY
Description
I was driving on the highway into pennsylvania at approximately 70 mph (the speed limit) and all of a sudden my son and I hear a loud sound. It sounded like a gun shot and startled us both. I quickly looked around and above me I see a gaping hole in my panoramic sunroof and realize that my son and I are covered in shards of glass. I shut the sunroof cover immediately and call my insurance and put in a claim. I was still over 200 miles from home at this point with the threat of rain so we made our way home as safe as possible. A quick google search shows me that this is not a new issue. What if I had caused an accident because of the very loud sound? What if that accident caused a roll-over even with seat belts would my son and I have potentially become projectiles? Why is this not being addressed by kia, hyundai, and any of the other cars that offer the panoramic sunroof? Is the manufacturer of these sunroofs to blame? I have only had this car for 8 weeks- I bought it brand new. It's garage kept when I'm not traveling for work. I will now be nervous every time I drive even after repair because I don't know if the manufactured sunroof will be safer or if it's the same as what I bought with the car. It's unsettling for me because I drive around 1000 miles a week for work and spend significant time in the car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 22, 2020
StateNY
Description
The rear view mirror is unable to sufficiently move up due to the placement of the eyesight mechanism in the middle of the front windshield. A person of average height and body size cannot see out of the rear view mirror since it's movement range will not allow the mirror to move up. This is a design defect.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
My car wouldn't start twice. When I did get it to start, the engine light came on. Once on the freeway, the gears did not change until after 45 mph. This all happened before my first monthly payment and I bought the car with 56 miles on it.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 18, 2020
StateIL
Description
The freezing point of the windshield washer fluid is too high. It froze while I was driving with outside temperature at 6 fahrenheit. Which made cleaning the windshield impossible and diminishing driving visibility because I couldn't use windshield washer fluid to clean the windshield. This was very dangerous and in all honesty downright scary. This was a brand new kia sportage that had 5 miles when I picked it up from budget rental cars.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 26, 2019
StateIL
Description
While driving/turning left out of a school parking lot, the light turned green, all cars starting moving. Going about 10-12 mph, the car in front slams on breaks, the safety feature alerted me as well but when attempted to press on the brakes, they were resisting. I could not brake and had no control of stopping. The weather was dry and sunny that day. About 35 degrees.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 19, 2019
StateMA
Description
Kia sent me a letter telling me my car is subject to a "product improvement program" which requires a program update to my cars engine control unit. This is because my engine may experience catastrophic bearing failure possibly destroying the engine. My complaint is that this notice should be a recall notice. They are not improving anything. The underlying problem that will cause the engine failure has not been addressed and won't be by this so called 'product improvement program'. I asked kia why they aren't fixing the problem with the engines at the factory instead of just adding an early warning system to the ecu? This is absolutely crazy. I don't want a brand new car that can possibly have a total engine failure. I don't want a car that warns you that your car is about to have an engine failure. That is not a proper way at all to fix a problem. You fix a problem at the engine factory... Not in the field. I am having this program update done tomorrow and then the next day I am getting rid of my brand new 2020 kia sportage and buying a car, any car, that doesn't have an engine that could possibly blow up at any time. Kia have put the onus of this problem on the backs of their customers. It doesn't belong there. It belongs on kia, not me.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
5 COMMENTS
  • Ellen B

    My tire pressure symbol stays on and continually gives different tire pressures all the time. I stopped the first time I saw this and went and checked all the air in the tires and all seemed fine but it continues to give different tire readings and it will not shut off.

  • Sharon c

    I have a Kia Sportage and I have electrical problems sometimes while driving it acts like it wants to stall also my doors sometimes won’t allow me to lock it I’m concerned what’s wrong

  • Gail R

    I bought my 2020 Kia Sportage in the summer of 2019. Everything was great until about last summer. I started having problems with the radio / backup camera. The radio started just blacking out and then eventually come back on . I had Kia look at it when it was in for an oil and they didn’t note it on my service record. Then it would keep the backup camera in no matter what gear you were in , it skips like your playing a CD and there is no CD player , it will stay on for a half hour after securely locking the car , it will get stuck in whatever position the volume is in or channel it’s on. I started taking videos and sent them to my service advisor at Kia . He said if they can’t diagnose it then Kia won’t fix it even with the videos. It does these spurts randomly. Also the collision alert will start going off for no reason . No one around me and in my lane. My advisor won’t return my calls , the service manager won’t return my calls , I have left a bad review on the website as well as emailing them with my complaints. Three days ago I called to speak to the general manager and got a sales manager who was supposed to call me back that day and didn’t . So yesterday I went there and the general manager had the day off and the service manager was not in . A different advisor scheduled me for next week to leave the car all day to see if they can see anything. Also my key fobs are bad on my remote start so they had to order me new ones. I was supposed to receive a call that they were in. 2 months after that oil change I call and they are in but I have to schedule with my advisor to have it programmed. I left a message and no call back. So when I went in yesterday they scheduled that for next week . In oct 2022 I had gone in for an oil change and they didn’t put my oil plug in all the way and all the oil came out of my car while driving it.

  • Durybhoy@gmail.com

    I have a Kia sportage 2015 plate which the engine block cracked or something is this part of the recall engine problem with this type of car?

  • Ed h

    I no cars.. I bought a new 2020 Kia Sportage.. Engine sounded great when I bought it. Now even when it’s warm you fire motor up it’s so load it’s embarrassing. It rattles so loud I no it’s high pressure fuel pump and how gdi motors work. That motor will be lucky to get 30,000 miles. I got 13,000 on it now. Started getting load after 3,000.. I don’t no how a company can sell brand new car sounds like that. It’s a rip off. That’s why when Kia dealers show you the car they never want to talk about motor. They no they are junk.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.