2020 Chrysler Pacifica Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Families have been moving away from minivans over the past few years, but the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica continues to have a following. For this model, the automaker claims it offers “street smarts,” but many people consider it to be the corner bully instead. It holds customers hostage with the faulty electrical system, defective powertrain, poorly running engine and non-functioning air bags.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017    2018    2019    2021     2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chrysler pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
17
Engine
17
Power Train
13
Fuel/propulsion System
8
Service Brakes
6
Unknown Or Other
6
Vehicle Speed Control
6
Steering
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
3
Suspension
3

Problems with the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica Electrical System

Modern vehicles have an electrical system running to every part, which can be a good or bad aspect depending on how things work.

Here’s one Edmunds review that shines a light on the problems. “I have a Chrysler Pacifica Limited. It’s had one issue after another. Electrical issues, infotainment screen freezing, fuel pump failed, issues with sliding doors, and the latest is the compressor on the A/C is bad. It’s unbelievable how many times I’ve had to take it to the dealership for repairs. I love this van as far as the interior features and comfort but it has not been reliable and I’ve spent hours taking it on for repairs.”

Beyond this, there is a recall that affects over 300,000 vehicles. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V191000 talks about a software error that allows the rearview camera image to remain on the screen even when the vehicle is not in Reverse. This can be distracting, possibly leading to an accident. If the automaker were smart, they would simply claim that this screen is another aspect of the entertainment features.

Complaints to the NHTSA about Electrical System Problems

2020 Pacifica owners are reporting lots of error codes and safety issues caused by the electrical system. Here are some extracts from the complaints.

One of the first complaints is from the owner of an electric and gas hybrid vehicle. “While driving the vehicle at highway speeds, the vehicle goes completely dead. There is no power to accelerate, no power steering, reduced braking.”

Despite the dealer installing a new electrical inverter, the malfunction recurs. The reported error code is “service charging system.”

After his wife experienced the malfunction while driving with her child in a one-lane express lane, where people travel fast highway speeds, he took the minivan to the dealership. “It is extremely dangerous for the people in the vehicle and for cars around the stalled vehicle. Thankfully they did not get struck.”

Other Error Messages

Another complaint reports a service charging system message followed by “put in park to start” as the van decelerated. While he could stop the van, he couldn’t turn it off and the gears wouldn’t move. He wasn’t able to put it in Park. Eventually, it was towed to a dealership. But they couldn’t duplicate the issue or find error messages.

“I have found that this is not a unique situation and the exact thing has happened to many other Pacifica owners. Unfortunately, I do not believe this is the last time this will happen. I am TERRIFIED to drive this van. I would guess a battery, electrical, or computer issue, only because of the many messages on the dash and the inability to turn off the vehicle.”

A complaint that reports the complete failure of the electrical system says it started with the display screen warning “the vehicle will shut down soon. Suddenly everything started turning on and off, (and) the transmission disengaged. The motor started racing with all electrical components turning on and off and suddenly everything shut off. All vehicle components were rendered useless.”

The dealership was unable to jump-start the vehicle because there was no power at all. They found that the auxiliary battery had failed and that the Power Control Unit (PCU) was the issue. After repairs, the vehicle, which was less than a year old with 9,338 miles on the clock, was not charging so they replaced the PCU.

Error messages mentioned in other complaints include:

  • Stop Safely, Vehicle Will Shut Off Soon
  • Service Charging System
  • Battery Conditioning Leave Ignition in Run

Problems with the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica Transmission

The transmission is a critical aspect of the powertrain. When it shifts properly, the ride is smooth. Otherwise, any commute becomes cumbersome.

According to a complaint shared on Edmunds. “The transmission on the Pacifica is awful. Hard shifts (and I mean really hard!) are common occurrences and started while it was new. Problems with the electrical system and the automatic doors not closing correctly. My first and last Chrysler.”

Even the automaker knows there is trouble with the transmission. Service Bulletin #S2018000008 talks about the engine surging and a turbo under boost condition after performing an update to the Powertrain Control Module. It might be that Chrysler simply wants to provide further entertainment for young passengers by allowing them to believe they are at the amusement park.

Complaints to the NHTSA about Transmission Problems

Most transmission problems seem to be linked to electrical and battery problems. Here’s an example:

“While driving at freeway speed a check engine light came on followed by ‘service electrical system’ then limp mode which limits the vehicle to 40mph. Very dangerous on the freeway. Luckily we made it off the freeway but the vehicle locked itself in park gear and began to make loud grinding noises with wipers going on randomly. This happened in a busy intersection. Car was inoperable (and) had to be towed. Would not roll so flat bed tow was not possible.

“Dealer says the 12v battery was bad and it also needs a new transmission. If a 12v battery caused this to happen, this is a serious problem that could lead to a bad accident. Many more accounts of this online and (on) YouTube.”

Problems with the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica Engine

Along with the transmission, the engine must be running at full force to create the power needed to move. Yet, this is one more defective part of the Pacifica.

This NHTSA complaint made in February 2020 states, “The contact owns a 2020 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced uncontrolled acceleration for 20 seconds, the Check Engine warning light illuminated, the brake pedal was losing the ability to hold the vehicle, the engine revved up to 7000 RPM and there was a ticking noise coming from the engine after the vehicle cool down. The vehicle was restarted and was driving to [dealership] but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 200.”

While Chrysler doesn’t want to acknowledge any sort of problem that is this dangerous, the company did tread on shallower issues with Service Bulletin #18-089-19. This communication talks about a small EVAP system leak that could affect performance. Taking all of these defects into account, it might seem like the better “street smart” idea would be to ride a bike instead.

More Recent Complaints to the NHTSA about Engine Problems

This NHTSA engine complaint logged in January 2022 states: “I was sitting at a traffic light when an alarm went off. The message came up that read “Auto/start stop not available” my car automatically went into Park on its own, the emergency brake came on and a warning light came on. I had to turn off the car and restart it. I was in very busy traffic. The light remained on until I was able to get home. It was a holiday weekend so I could not take (it) to (a) service station and it is my only vehicle. I turned the car on the next day and everything was fine. This happened 3 months ago as well. The engine has not been stopping I noticed at a traffic light now.”

Another complaint made in July 2021 states: “Vehicle shut off (the) engine and directed driver to shift to park while driving at full speed on (an) interstate highway. After coasting to (the) emergency lane and shifting to park, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle is currently at the dealership.”

Problems with the 2020 Chrysler Pacifica Air Bags

Finally, a look at the air bags leads to further concerns. After all, this system is designed to keep the occupants protected during an accident. With many families trusting the Pacifica, this is the one aspect no one wants to fail.

Yet, according to this NHTSA review, it did. “The contact rented a 2020 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, crashed into two deer. There were no reported injuries. The driver’s and passenger side air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the Dallas Ft. Worth airport. The local dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The failure mileage was 3,100.”

It would be “street smart” for this customer to avoid Pacifica rentals in the future. Even the automaker wants nothing to do with this complaint and has not addressed any air bag problems. It must be a touchy subject. Maybe the Pacifica should be outfitted with plush pillows around the entire cabin, just in case.

Complaint to the NHTSA about Airbag Problems Causing Injury

In October 2020 a Georgia resident was injured after the airbags in her 2020 Chrysler Pacifica failed to deploy.

“My wife was stationary at a red light with my daughter in the second row. A car approached the light and slammed into the back of her car. (I don’t think they were slowing down). She then hit the vehicle in front of her. The airbags did not deploy and the seatbelt did not fully engage. As a result, she hit the steering wheel causing fractures, a concussion, and a minor brain bleed.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chrysler pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 06, 2022
StateKS
Description
I was driving the car around 70 mph on a highway with charged batteries and a 3/4 full tank of gas when the engine shut off a red dot appeared under the check engine light and a message appeared saying charging system fault, shift to park. Before this the van had been in the shop multiple times for a periodic check engine light that have a "cam shaft position sensor fault"message but the dealership was unable to locate the issue.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
Driving on the road and vehicle lost all propulsion. Warning comes up on the dash saying service charging system and shift to p. At that point, one has to coast to a stop on the side of the road. Vehicle would not restart. After waiting and completely shutting down the vehicle, it did restart. This is the second time this has happened over the past two months. The dealer updated software as a "fix" the first time, which has not fixed the issue. It also happened a third time when pulling into the dealer for service today. Dealer was able to see the issue. It is extremely dangerous, as there is no warning before losing all propulsion and it can happen at any speed and at any time. Please note that this appears to be the exact same issue addressed with nhtsa recall 22v-865, and both vehicles are manufactured by fca and likely use the same hybrid electric powertrain. By addressing this loss of propulsion issue in the chrysler pacifica hybrid now, there is a chance to save lives (there was a death caused by the jeep 4xe recall issue) by mandating this same recall for the chrysler pacifica hybrid.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
All of a sudden while driving 40 miles per hour, “service charging system” warning showed up on dash, asked to put car in park and unable to accelerate. Car stopped working in the middle of a busy road, unable to be restarted for 10 min.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 12, 2022
StateMD
Description
I was returning home from a road trip and with five miles left the accelerator stopped working and the check engine light came on with the service electrical system message. I was able to safely coast to the side of the road. It started working again but it stopped working 5 more times and barely made it to my driveway. It's been in the shop since 7/6 and now they say a new hybrid transmission will be in on 8/3. This is the worst situation that I have ever had with any vehicle!
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 11, 2022
StateGA
Description
The start/stop battery on the pacifica is a problem. I owned a 2017 model that failed 3 times. I traded that can in for the 2020 model and in less than 2 years it failed. I had it repaired under warranty on 09/27/2022 and it has failed again less than one month after the repair. This is an issue that many pacifica owners have dealt with. This is something that chrysler needs to correct so that the consumer is not replacing the batteries every year or so.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 06, 2022
StateMS
Description
The car alerted me that it would shut off while driving down the highway at 65 mph. It had 65 mile range on gas. Gas pedal was unresponsive and I coasted to a stop. Car would restart but gas pedal would not make the van go.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 02, 2022
StateAL
Description
Vehicle completely lost all electrical and drivability components while driving. Car could not be restarted or shifted into gear to get out of lane. Gave multiple warning lights. Vehicle was towed to dealership and was assessed a few days later.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 26, 2022
StateVA
Description
Has stalled on freeway twice now. All check engine lights come on, car goes into limp mode then stalls. Will not allow moving from park into drive. Has left us stranded 3 times. Chrysler including dealers not helpful.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 19, 2022
StateMI
Description
On july 30th 2022 the van suffered total loss of motive power while driving on a rural highway at 65mph. The incident put my family as risk as I was required to coast the car off of the side or the road to keep from becoming an obstruction to traffic. If the incident had occurred on a 3 lane highway or in heavier congestion I may have been unable to pull off the road before losing my momentum. The van showed no prior indication of malfunction until it shuttered as the engine stalled. Following the shutter and loss of all forward power the car dash produced a check engine light followed by a warning to pull over and place car in park. I pulled over to the side of the road and was able to place the car into park and shut it off. After that the car would not start or shift out of park and only displayed "service charging system" on the dashboard. The car was then towed to the nearest chrysler dealer (watson benzie, llc 1514 benzie hwy benzonia,mi49616-9650) where it was determined that "power inverter module" had failed and needed to be replaced. As of september 19th 2022 the car is still at the dealer awaiting a replacement part. The damaged part should be available for inspection.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact parked on the side of the road and attempted several times before the vehicle restarted and was able to drive to his residence. The contact stated he continued to experience the failure while driving. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
While stopped at a red light, the vehicle automatically put itself into park, activated the parking break, and turned off. Had to power the vehicle back on while still at the red light, turn off the parking break and put it back into drive.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Steering
DateAug 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
The vehicle, shortly after starting, says service charging system and loses power completely. Power steering goes out along with any brake assist and no gas pedal power. I've almost hit several cars while trying to regain control of the vehicle. When I finally get it to stop, the work around I've found is to power off the car for a few minutes, power it back on, then it'll work. But this happens about once a week. The dealer attempted a repair once but issue persists. We're taking it back in. But based on online forums, this is a dangerous and widespread problem with the pacifica hybrid. Please investigate! I have kids. Thanks!
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateAug 16, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle began to forcefully jerk. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing to complete tbs: 21-043-20 (flash update transmission controller). The vehicle was repaired but continued to experience a failure. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 18, 2022
StateNV
Description
Start stop feature has been enabled the doors don't open car won't start is not the battery mechanic says its an electric issue factory issue car now just stoped and im not able to use it
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 05, 2022
StateSC
Description
While driving down the highway at about 65mph on battery, the car suddenly lost power when the battery reached
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 27, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving at freeway speed a check engine light came on follows by “service electrical system “ then limp mode which limits the vehicle to 40mph. Very dangerous on the freeway. Luckily we made it off the freeway but the vehicle locked itself in park gear and began to make loud grinding noises with wipers going on randomly. This happened in a busy intersection. Car was inoperable had to be towed. Would not roll so flat bed tow was not possible. Dealer says the 12v battery was bad and it also needs a new transmission. If a 12v battery caused this to happen, this is a serious problem that could lead to a bad accident. Many more accounts of this online and youtube.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJun 22, 2022
StateNE
Description
My car has been going thru the refresh for gas and oil for the last few days. The motor has been running to empty out the "old" gas. So today, I took it thru a car wash on a conveyor belt system, with cars behind me. At the end of this I went to put it in gear so I hit the brake from the neutral position and put it in drive. I hit the gas and it went nowhere! There was a note on the dash that said I had to put the car in park, hit the brake and then put it in gear. I did this and it finally started to move. The car and five others behind could have been in serious trouble if I didnt get this figured out quickly, damn close to causing a wreck inside the car wash. Now you tell me why a safety feature almost killed me?????
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateJun 17, 2022
StateMI
Description
Coming to a stop in traffic at an intersection, at around 10 mph, decelerating at around 0. 1g, I did not get additional decel from the vehicle even with pushing the brake pedal to the floor. While coming to a stop I glanced in my rearview mirror and the vehicle in front of me abruptly came to a stop. During the reaction time delay from looking forward, recognizing the vehicle slowed and stepping on the brake harder, I received a fcw alert. I was already on brake pedal and after my reaction time elapsed I pushed hard on the brake pedal which sunk to the floor and gave no additional deceleration from the vehicle. This continued until the cib/aeb built pressure and stopped the vehicle, which was about 0. 25-0. 5s later. I didn't hit the vehicle in front of me but the very disturbing part was that the vehicle was not responding or decelerating with driver request.
CategoryTires:sidewall, Tires:tread/belt
DateJun 07, 2022
StateMI
Description
My tire size is 245/50 r 20. At 39,106 miles I had a bulge in the side of my front passenger tire. I had the tire replaced at the dealership. The cost was covered by my extended warranty with road hazard. A month later at 40,468, I had a bulge in the rear passenger tire. I went immediately to the dealership. They did not have the falken tires in stock or available from their suppliers. My remaining 2 tires were showing some normal wear for 40,000 miles. I made the decision to go with a different brand which would be available sooner. My warranty covered the cost of my second bulging tire. I of course had to pay for the 2 tires that were beginning to show some wear. I also chose to replace the front passenger falken tire as well. The one that was replaced at 39,106 for a bulge in in the sidewall. I did this for 2 reasons. It is always best to have 4 tires of the same brand on a vehicle. Most importantly, I had already had 2 falken tires develop a bulge in the sidewall. That is a failure rate of 50%. I did not feel comfortable with using falken tires. In all my years driving, I have never had a bulge in a tire. I understand that it is usually caused by hitting potholes, driving over curbs, etc. But my driving habits are the same as before. I paid over a 00. 00 for 3 tires. Perhaps, this is not a safety issue with falken tires that I should be reporting but I prefer erring on the side of caution. My feelings will not be hurt if you tell me I am wasting your time.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 27, 2022
StateMN
Description
Faulty brake booster. Brakes hissed upon decompression. When braking the vehicle would skip or jump ahead, while breaking almost causing me to rear end the car in front of me. The brake pedal would act like an accordion moving up and down while fully decompressed. Felt like I am driving a vehicle with air brakes.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateApr 12, 2022
StatePA
Description
Driving from pa to ga when after 775+ miles, and twenty five minutes from our destination we received an message indicating to pull over safety as the vehicle was coming to a stop. Three kids in car seats stuck on the highway waiting for a tow is not comforting. The car dealership plugged the vehicle into a charger and they indicated everything appeared fine. On the next leg of our journey driving to fl, we went about 350 miles before receiving the same message and braking down yet again. The engine eventually turned back on after 35 minutes and I was able to pulled into a charging station two miles away. We charged it 45% and make it to our destination some 175 miles later. We took it to another chrysler dealership in fl and they indicated their was an issue with some temp sensors and performed updates to the hybrid control processor software. The three error codes we rec'd were: "stop safely, vehicle will shut off soon," "service charging system," "battery conditioning leave ignition in run." there may have been a fourth. This is an extremely dangerous issue. We were fortunate that it happened in daylight hours and were able to pull off to the side of the road. Pray that we make the 1,200 miles track back to pa safety.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 08, 2022
StateOR
Description
The electric coolant heater can become in a locked state thus causing the demist function to stop working when driving in ev mode. This can potentially present visibility issues when driving in cool weather and there is no heat in the vehicle until the ice is engaged. The error code that occurs is poe15. This is a known problem and there is a supply chain issue
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 07, 2022
StateNJ
Description
On two instances when traveling on the expressway, the car lost acceleration entirely and the dashboard provided an error message "service charging system". The car slowly decelerated and had to be pulled over to the side of the road, across several lanes of traffic, creating an extremely dangerous situation. Once the car was turned off and turned back on, it appeared to work normally. This happened once on march 1 and once on march 6.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 03, 2022
StateWI
Description
Driving on a highway (55mph), ‘service charging station' message popped up and I was unable to accelerate. I was able to pull over to the side of the road. Message said to put the car in park. Unable to go back to drive. Heat/radio remained working. Turned car off and on, car appeared to run but the service charging station error popped up. Repeated many times, but the wheel would lock and error message came back any time I was in drive and took my foot off the brake/tried to accelerate. I had 90% battery and 7/8th tank of gas when this happened. Presume the car was running on electric power at the time. Temp outside was about 25 deg (have driven in much colder recently), I had been driving for about 10 min (about 7 miles. I started with a full charge and didn't do anything different than any other time I've driven or charged the car. The car had to be towed to the dealer. Error came up before once when car was parked in the garage. It had been plugged in, but I could not start the car because the hybrid battery completely drained while plugged in. Reset the charger and let it charge and it ran normally after that (about 3 months ago). There are about 13000 miles on the vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 11, 2022
StateCA
Description
The braking system does not respond in time - there is a delay which almost caused an accident once and did end up causing an accident in dec of 2021. My daughter was in the car, and my husband was driving. His back was injured, and thank goodness my daughter was not hurt. I tried to contact chrysler three times (2 times via filling their customer service form and once over the phone), and they said there is nothing they could do and finally gave this form to complete if I was concerned hence writing today. The delay in the brake system is a significant issue, and our local dealership and repair stated there is nothing they could do. Contact customer service of chrysler and chrysler service representative said there is no recall, so he cannot do anything about this critical safety matter. After a lengthy conversation, he referred me to you. We bought this van for our family, including young children (purchased days before the birth of my son) and elderly parents, and it cost us over ,000. I am very disappointed in chrysler for not taking this braking delay issue seriously. We even tried to sell our vehicle, but the price is 000 less than what we paid in just about a year, which we cannot afford anymore. Besides this vital safety issue, we are very much satisfied with our vehicle and are concerned that others might be in a similar situation to us while chrysler is not even listening to this vital safety concern; hence I am writing.
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateJan 31, 2022
StateMI
Description
Ice buildup in the fender well to the tire which effects turning and steering. It happened all last winter and twice this year.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 19, 2022
StateOH
Description
The van has experienced loss of braking twice during our 17,000 miles of ownership. During a braking sequence, the brakes essentially gave out and almost felt like the van lunged forward. Driver instinct was to push the pedal to the floor and after a second or so, the van braking recovered. I believe it to be an issue with the transition between regenerative braking and traditional braking. I have read forum posts with similar experienced, but have not received support of confirmation from chrysler. I have driven many vehicles over my 22 years and have never experienced a loss of braking this significant.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 16, 2022
StateWI
Description
Complete failure of electrical system. When it happened the display screen said the vehicle will shut down soon. Suddenly everything started turning on and off, the transmission disengaged. The motor started racing with all electrical components turning on and off and suddenly everything shut off. All vehicle components were rendered useless. Chrysler dealership tried jump starting the vehicle and nothing happened, no power at all. They then tested both batteries with a gr8 and found that the auxiliary battery had failed. After testing the charging system they found that the power control unit was the issue. They corrected by replacing the relay, and the pcm powertrain control module. They replaced the auxiliary battery and cleared all codes. Started and found that the vehicle was not charging. They then replaced the power control unit. The vehicle is charging the auxiliary battery correctly. This happened on a vehicle that was less than a year old and had 9,338 miles on it
CategoryEngine
DateJan 13, 2022
StateNY
Description
I was sitting at a traffic light when an alarm went off the message came up that read "auto/start stop not available" my car automatically went into park on its own, the emergency brake came on and a warning light came on. I had to turn off the car and restart it. I was in very busy traffic. The light remained on until I was able to get home. It was a holiday weekend so I could not take to service station and it is my only vehicle. I turned the car on the next day and every thing was fine. This happened 3 months ago as well. The engine has not been stopping I noticed at a traffic light now.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 14, 2021
StateVA
Description
I was travelling on I-95. My 2020 chrysler pacifica hybrid completely shut down while driving at 65-70 mph. A service charging system message flashed on the dash. The van decelerated and another message "put in park to start" flashed. All of this was while I was driving on the interstate. I was able to brake to a stop on the shoulder and turn on the hazards. I was not able to turn off the car. The gears would not move. I could not put it in park. After 20 minutes I was able to put it into park and turn it off. I restarted the van, but the same message flashed and I could not move. The van was towed to a chrysler dealership. They had the car monday and part of tuesday. They could not duplicate the issue and could not find any error messages. They said they checked the battery several times and it was fine. There was nothing else they could do and sent me home with the van. Fortunately, I was in the right hand lane when this happened. I don't know what would happen if this occurs while in the middle lane and would need to maneuver to the shoulder. I have found that this is not a unique situation and the exact thing has happened to many other pacifica owners. Unfortunately, I do not believe this is the last time this will happen. I am terrified to drive this van. I would guess a battery, electrical or computer issue, only because of the many messages on the dash and the inability to turn off the vehicle. I will gladly offer my van for inspection if requested.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateNov 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
My wife recently noticed that the garage door opener intermittently stopped working and then unfortunately she was driving in the rain and figured out the windshield wipers do not function anytime the garage door opener stops working. Fortunately no accidents, but safety hazard indeed. Taking to dealer tomorrow. I have a video but cannot get it to upload
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 18, 2021
StateGA
Description
While driving on electric only power at highway speeds, the van stalled. The dash showed "put vehicle in park to restart" and I had to pull over with no ability to accelerate, come to a complete stop, and place the vehicle in park in order to start the van again. This happened several times, the dealership was unable to recreate the stalling issue, but found two codes stored from the check engine light coming on just prior to the stalling: p0a43 - drive motor a position sensor circuit intermittent p0a3f - drive motor a position sensor circuit both chrysler and the dealership initially refused to attempt any repairs, and wanted me to take possession of a vehicle that is randomly stalling at highway speeds, which is extremely dangerous. When I refused and pushed them to actually address the codes, they decided to replace the transmission, which houses drive motor a. This same issue and process has been repeated with pacifica hybrid models ranging from 2017-2021, and is widely reported on the website pacificaforums. Com
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 08, 2021
StateWA
Description
Husband was driving the vehicle on a highway during a road trip and it turned off while he was driving. It generated a “charge fault” message on my phone (uconnect). He pulled over to the shoulder, had to start it again, got going, and it died again. He managed to limp it into the nearest town, we had to pay to have it towed and rent a car to get our family home. Vehicle has fewer than 8,000 miles on it, was purchased new december 2020.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 04, 2021
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica hybrid. The contact stated while driving 5 mph, the front windshield wiper arms started to malfunction. The contact stated that the driver's side wiper arm seized and caused damage to the body of the vehicle. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and advised the contact to file a complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 13,500.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJul 17, 2021
StateKY
Description
Vehicle shut off engine and directed driver to shift to park while driving at full speed on interstate highway. After coasting to emergency lane and shifting to park the vehicle restarted. The vehicle is currently at the dealership.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJun 30, 2021
StateNJ
Description
On my pacifica hybrid the vehicle drivetrain loses all power and requires the driver put the vehicle in park and turn off the ignition and start the vehicle again. Typically this happens when both of the following conditions are met: 1) battery for the hybrid drivetrain, not the 12v accessory battery, runs to 0% or less than 1% state of charge 2) hard braking or sudden braking or braking when going down a hill. The hard braking seems to overwhelm the recharging system when the battery is at 0% causing a powertrain shutdown and all kinds of error lights flashing. It eventually ends with a "service charging system" message. Once the vehicle is in this condition it is very easy to replicate as I was able to do in this video that I recorded: https://www. Youtube. Com/watch? V=s6nf-kkpx5w this is quite dangerous and has left me barely able to get to the shoulder of major highways several times.
CategoryStructure:body, Suspension
DateMay 22, 2021
StateMD
Description
First component failures - passenger sliding door: a) while driving, the passenger sliding door mechanism engages and attempts to open the door - the driver then sees a notification "to operate the sliding door, put the vehicle in park"; b) when parked, if the door is open and we want to close it, we can engage the closing mechanism with button or fob, but then it will not stop and re-open even if there is an obstruction; it has closed on my wife's arm and almost hurt one of the kids. One can even try to stop the door from closing with their full body weight, or the use of the door handle, and the mechanism simply continues to closure. C) when parked, if the doors are unlocked, the door will sometimes start opening and then go into a cycle of back-and-forth opening and closing for several minutes; the only way to stop it is use the button on the ceiling to turn off the automatic sliding feature. Second component failure: electrical. When we return home after driving the car, and turn it off, and go inside, the dashboard lights stay activated and the message on the dash says to depress the brake pedal and push the start button. This even happens when the keys are not present and doors are locked. We put both keyfobs on the other side of the house as a test, and the vehicle appeared ready to be started. The battery dies daily. Third component problem: suspension. This is a new vehicle we had converted into a wheelchair accessible vehicle by freedom motors in battle creek, michigan, with a rear-entry ramp. For a wheelchair passenger in the back, the ride is extremely rough and unstable (a lot of swaying on curves). The car passed maryland state inspection after it was delivered to us, but we doubt validity of any safety self-certification freedom did post-conversion. See these two videos: https://drive. Google. Com/file/d/1tuozetmoy8rn2hn9-b0ar4vu9y5a1cw2/view? Usp=drivesdk https://drive. Google. Com/file/d/1dncspxzwjyrabbp_5s2lxli_fple67ss/view? Usp=drivesdk
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateApr 22, 2021
StateFL
Description
Vehicle was brought to dealership 3/9/21 for nocking on l/f. Dealer diagnosed strut as problem. Part is on b/o. Chrysler mfg. Has been contacted for assistance to secure part and attaching parts to remedy the situation. Currently they have not done anything but promise dates that parts will be available.(they are still missing two parts). They have not answered my request to provide solution or a rental so I can drive a safe vehicle. All of this is strange since chrysler is actively building the car. One would think they have the parts on the assembly line! ............ Thank you carl / galaxy medical
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateApr 15, 2021
StateTX
Description
The vehicle is an electric and gas hybrid vehicle. While driving the vehicle at highway speeds, the vehicle goes completely dead. There is no power to accelerate, no power steering, reduced braking. This happened in june of 2020 and the vehicle had to be towed to the dealership. The dealership had the vehicle for approx. 3 weeks to repair and a new electrical inverter was installed. A similar event happened on 04-13-2021, however this time once the vehicle went dead and the vehicle coasted to a stop, after trying to turn the vehicle back on it was again under power. The vehicle was able to be cautiously driven to the dealership and at the time of writing this it is being services for this issue. In both the june 2020 and current situation, there was an error code stating "service charging system". In both circumstances, this has occurred at highway speeds with significant urban traffic. My wife was driving the vehicle this last time with our child in the vehicle. When this happened she was on a one lane express lane where people travel at the highest highway speeds. She was so concerned about getting struck by another vehicle she considered having both of them depart the vehicle and cross multiple lanes of traffic to get to safety. It is extremely dangerous for the people in the vehicle and for cars around the stalled vehicle. Thankfully they did not get struck.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 16, 2021
StatePA
Description
Engine has shut off on its own 3 separate occasions since purchasing this vehicle 4 months ago. First occasion I was coming to a stop at a traffic light and the engine shut off. Second time I was starting up from a traffic light and the engine shut off. Third time I was driving approximately 35 mph and the engine shut off. All instances were on a city street. I had to press the start/stop button. Then press it again while pressing the brake to turn the car back on after putting the vehicle back in park. This issue is widely described on older years of the chrysler pacifica.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 02, 2021
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated while the vehicle was stationary and idling in a parking lot, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the failure recurred four times. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. Neither a dealer nor the manufacturer were informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1348.*dt consumer stated vehicle was taken in for "second opinion."*jb
CategoryService Brakes
DateFeb 09, 2021
StateCA
Description
Brakes did not engage when pressed, leading to collision with cars in front of us because vehicle did not stop.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 25, 2021
StateFL
Description
Went for 1st ever oil change, technicians noticed coolant reservoir was empty (should never be) and there was leaked coolant all over the engine and bottom of cars protection pads (bad issue). Told me (get it to the dealer immediately), which I did, taking it to phillips chrysler of ocala. In order for my engine not to blow up. I have been driving this for 7000 miles since I purchased it with zero miles. The dealership technicians said (they have never seen this condition) it came from the chrysler oem plant this way, said that all the bolts to the coolant temperature housing that fits onto the engine block with bolts were completely loose and the only way for this to happen is that the operator at the manufacturing plant that attaches these units to the engine did not or forgot to bolt down completely the cooling unit to the engine. This is gross neglect on the part of t he oem and could have easily caused the engine to freeze or blow. Call phillips chrysler in ocala fl at 352-732-7577 and ask to speak to abriel archer about mr. Knauer's chrysler pacifica v6.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 23, 2020
StateAL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle swayed. The sway, electric stabilizer, and crash warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was taken to walt massey chrysler dodge jeep ram (602 western bypass, andalusia, al 36420, (334) 226-8881) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that an unknown sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted however, no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 300. The vin was not available.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateOct 29, 2020
StateGA
Description
My wife was stationary at a red light with my daughter in the second row. A car approached the light and slammed into the back of her car ii don't think they were slowing down). She then hit the vehicle in front of her. The air bags did not deploy and the seatbelt did not fully engage. As a result, she hit the steering wheel causing fractures, a concussion and a minor brain bleed.*dt*dt*dt*jb*jb *tr*tr
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 29, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Stopped at a light, vehicle started accelerating until 3000 rpm for 2 seconds while only brake was pressed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 26, 2020
StateNJ
Description
While approaching a stop sign and almost completely stopped the engine revved and caused the vehicle to enter the intersection before I could stop it. The engine returned to idle a few seconds later. Fortunately there was no other traffic at this time. The second time this problem occurred I was stopping at a red light and almost completely stopped when the engine revved. I had to apply considerable brake pressure to avoid rear ending the vehicle in front of me. I observed the tachometer read about 2500 rpm and it returned to idle after about five seconds. No errors or other indicators of a failure were noticed. This vehicle had also been experiencing problems with the start/stop feature quite frequently but not at this time. I took the car to a dealership and they said the battery was low causing the start/stop issues but had no idea about the engine revving and could not reproduce the problem. This vehicle is basically new with approximately 2800 highway miles and has only been on the road since the end of june.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 19, 2020
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 20v334000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact spoke with poway chrysler jeep dodge dealer (13811 poway road, poway, ca 92064), and was informed that parts would be available in approximately four weeks. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 13, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact rented a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph crashed into two deers. There were no reported injuries. The driver's and passenger side air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dallas ft worth airport. The local dealer and manufacturer were not contacted. The failure mileage was 3,100. The vin was not available.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 20, 2020
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chrysler pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced an control acceleration for 20 second, the check engine warning light illuminated, the brake pedal was losing the ability to hold the vehicle, the engine rav up to 7000 rpm and there was a ticking noise coming from the engine after the vehicle cool down. The vehicle was restarted and was driving to champaign chrysler dodge jeep ram dealer, (1906 moreland blvd, champaign, il 61822) but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 200. The vin was not available.
CategorySeats
DateJan 06, 2020
StateVA
Description
I just purchased a new 2020 pacifica and discovered it has fixed second row seat headrests. The user's manual that came with my van shows illustrations of the headrests with arrows pointing to the headrest's adjustment buttons are but those buttons do not exist in my van. There are also written instructions on how to adjust or remove the headrests but I cannot do that because of the missing buttons. The dealership verified that the headrests are fixed. The fixed headrests mean that my forward-facing carseats (that use the seatbelt to secure them) do not fit properly (see attached pictures) and therefor are unsafe. The base of the carseat sits squarely on the van's seat but only the top edge of the back of the carseat makes contact with the van seat, at the middle of the headrest. There is a 1-4 inch gap between the back of the carseat and the van seat. Since the headrest is not adjustable there is no other position option. This single line of contact makes the carseat unstable and unsafe, not matter how tightly the seatbelt is pulled.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.