2019 Mercedes Benz C300 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle structure and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

High-quality luxury sedans can’t be found around every corner, but the 2019 Mercedes Benz C300 is meant to top the charts. The automaker claims it will help “turn a summer fling into lasting love.” However, customers have found very little to love, including the structure, electrical system and wheels.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Mercedes-Benz pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Mercedes Benz C300

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
6
Engine
4
Service Brakes
4
Unknown Or Other
3
Seat Belts
2
Communication
2
Structure:body
2
Steering
2
Tires
1
Back Over Prevention
1

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

Premium vehicles should be constructed to the highest level of quality, but the C300 suffers from a lot of problems.

Here is one Edmunds review discussing the concerns. “The building quality is slightly poor for the car. In the past 6 month, a front collision sensor and a power tailgate motor have been replaced.”

It turns out that the problems go even deeper. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V839000 shows that the seat belt pre-tensioners might not work correctly during an accident because of a defect. This problem requires new buckles, showing that Mercedes can’t even get a basic safety system done right. If the company was so concerned about “love,” it would ensure that customers could survive a crash in order to live another day.

Problems with the Wheels

The wheels are considered part of the structure as well, but there are additional concerns with the C300.

Another Edmunds review states, “For a car with nearly 400 hp. A 225/245 width for the tires are a bit too narrow which caused the car to slide a lot on the dry roads.”

Along with the steering system, it’s important to also look at the recall for the steering system. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V850000 states that there is a locknut in the steering rack that could break when under a high load. If this occurs, the steering system could become stuck, refusing to allow the driver to change direction. If someone can’t steer the C300, an accident is imminent. At this point, it would seem that all Mercedes loves is the opportunity to get people into dangerous situations.

Problems with the Electrical System

One final system worth looking at is the electrical system. From the smallest parts, this system must be working correctly, but it’s not with the C300.

Here is a Cars.com review to consider. “Auto began to give problems from the 5000 mile multiple noises and check engine light. Electrical problems vibrating sound under transmission crank and now after several times on mechanical workshop need another revision.”

As far as this system is concerned, Mercedes has several recalls to focus on. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V586000 says that the 12-volt battery mounting bracket might not be secured properly. This could cause the battery to shift, which could disconnect the terminals and lead to an accident. Additionally, NHTSA Campaign Number 20V449000 says that the software in the instrument cluster might lead to a faulty seat belt warning system, which could also increase the chance of injury if someone forgets to put on their seat belt. Finally, NHTSA Campaign Number 18V761000 talks about how the Central Powertrain Controller (CPC) could reset in the middle of driving. Guess what could happen if this occurs? That’s right – an accident. At this point, it seems all Mercedes really loves is recalls because the C300 is leading the pack in defects.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Mercedes-Benz pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
1) seatbelt not retracting to proper position causing breakage 2) belt stopper broke off 2x. Replaced 1x and broken again
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateJun 03, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v232000 (back over prevention) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMar 22, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was involve in a accident, I was tbone and the driver side airbags didnt deploy.
CategorySeat Belts
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateAL
Description
On both front seatbelts. After disconnecting, they both do not retract. Often they get stuck hanging below door after closing the door (both sides). I have brought the car to mercedes benz service dept in mobile al. I am told that as long as I can manually feed them back there is no problem. This explanation is absurd!
CategorySteering
DateJan 13, 2022
StateTX
Description
The steering wheel tilt no longer works
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
Mercedes c300 4matic 2019 model, active brake assist malfunction (not working )
CategoryTires
DateJan 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
I got my mercedes c300 4matic 2019 model car back in 2019 august and since the purchase, I have unfortunately visited the service center more times than I would ideally want and lack of product safety (tires) endangers my life on the road. I'm listing out all the visits for your reference. 10th feb 2020 (at 3,683 miles) left front tire. 23rd mar 2021 (at 14,002 miles) left front, also change right front to balance the car. 13th nov 2021 (at 19,984 miles) right front tire. 28th dec 2021 (at 21,084 miles) left front tire. "front tire details: continental 225/40r19 y xl"
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 27, 2021
StateIL
Description
2019 mercedes c300 sunroof exploded while driving 60 mph on highway.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateSep 07, 2021
StateVA
Description
The automatic trunk lid started to close and hit my head while I was loading groceries into the trunk. It also started to close and hit my wife in the head when she was unloading the groceries about 15 minutes later. This situation was not reproduced or confirmed by a dealer or independent service center. There was no notice or warning of pending failure. There appeared to be no visible injury to either person except for a short pain in the head.
CategoryCommunication, Electrical System
DateJun 07, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v058000 (communication, electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer along with several other unknown dealers were contact and the contact was informed that the recall repair would be done by the manufacturer as an over-the-air (ota) update. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact that a timeline for the over-the-air (ota) update was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 07, 2021
StateCA
Description
Dear friends, I have received a safety recall message and contacted to my car dealership. Despite I called few times to different mercedes my dealership (mercedes dtla, mercedes corporate office) the recall issue has not been fixed. It has been 3 months since I am calling them and requesting to fix the recall as I am psychologically uncomfortable when I have recalls in my car. Unfortunately, recall on my car has not been fixed and they are not able to give me any answer when this issue will be fixed. Kind regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateApr 24, 2021
StateIL
Description
Automatic emergency braking engages unnecessarily when driving under chicago's elevated train tracks and similar overhead structures. For example, when driving on wabash ave in chicago's downtown loop, or on lower wacker drive, the automatic emergency braking engages when there is no risk of a collision, paradoxically creating a dangerous driving situation. The dealership is aware this happens in other similar vehicles, and when I brought the issue to their attention, suggested I merely changed routes.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 22, 2021
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes benz c300. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v058000 (communication, electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called mercedes-benz manhattan (770 11th ave, new york, ny 10019, (212) 629-1600) where it was confirmed that the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and informed the contact that the update would happen automatically. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 05, 2021
StateFL
Description
Software design of the communication module to communicate correct vehicles location for the emergency call system. Received a recall notice when I called they said it was only a preliminary notice - a second one would be coming out shortly. Which it never has.
CategoryCommunication, Electrical System
DateMar 19, 2021
StateMI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v058000 (communication, electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact experienced the failure while approaching a stop sign when the vehicle failed to accelerate forward without warning. The contact coasted the vehicle 5 mph to the shoulder of the road. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to mercedes benz of bloomfield (36600 woodward ave, bloomfield hills, mi 48304, (248) 644-8400) where it was diagnosed that the over the air (ota) module needed to be updated. The ota was updated however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,004. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 10, 2021
StateTX
Description
I was pulling out of a parking lot onto a highway with a posted limit of 55 mph. As I pulled out onto the highway the gas pedal just stopped working. The car was on but it just wouldn't go anywhere. A vehicle coming from my left at a high rate of speed had to put on it's brakes in order not to strike the driver's side of my door. It came within 2 feet of my vehicle. I turned off the car and restarted it. When I restarted the vehicle I turned off the "eco" button and drove a couple of miles back to my home with no problems. Note.... I have no idea if the "eco" button has anything to do with it. The vehicle has been at the mercedes dealer in fort worth since saturday january 30th. They tell me they can't find anything wrong with the vehicle. I'm not sure what they expect me to do about it. The car is unsafe to drive.
CategoryWheels
DateFeb 10, 2021
StateCA
Description
Noticed a bulge on the front drivers side tire, on the side wall. A couple of weeks later, with minimal driving, rubber on side wall opened up where bulge was at. According to a recall on other model tires, "tires that are over-cured may develop a break in the sidewall resulting in sudden air loss or a belt edge separation which could lead to a tread/belt loss. Either condition can cause a loss of vehicle control, increasing the risk of a crash". This is pretty much what was going on with mine. Taking back to dealership friday to be replaced.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact stated while stationary, the vehicle shutoff without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer keyes european (5400 van nuys blvd, sherman oaks, ca 91401 (818) 574-5053) where it was diagnosed with no failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of failure and informed the contact to take the vehicle to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 4,700. ## vin passed ## mercedes-benz 2019 c300 ##
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 06, 2020
StateFL
Description
On september 5th around 4:30 pm, I made a complete stop at a red light, on the intersection of sykes creek pkwy and sr 520 in merritt island, florida. Weather was perfect no rain or wind. I applied the brake hold feature and lifted my foot off the brake pad. About 3 minutes passed and suddenly the engine turned on and the car moved and collided with the car in front of me and she hit the car in front of her. It was not hard hit as evidenced by the minor scratch on my front bumper (car #3) and another minor scratch on the car in front of me (car #2), and no sctraches at all on the car in front of her( car #1)
CategorySteering
DateSep 21, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact stated that whenever the steering wheel was turned left or right, there was a grinding sound coming from the steering wheel. The contact contacted mercedes benz of brooklyn (1800 shore pkwy brooklyn ny 11214; (718) 258-5100) who stated they were aware of similar issues however, there was no recall. The vehicle had not been diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the failure was typically caused by an impact. The manufacturer had not inspected the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 17,506.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 27, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact leased a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently to 30 mph with the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure was experienced three times. The vehicle was towed to three unknown dealers where the vehicle was diagnosed and the contact was informed that the high-pressure fuel pump needed to be replaced. The ecm was also replaced however, the repair failed to fix the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 6,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 23, 2020
StateIA
Description
2019 mercedes benz c300. Consumer writes in regards to defective automatic brake sensor. *ld the consumer stated the automatic brake sensor was being triggered without reason. The consumer requested to be reimbursed for the vehicle. *js
CategoryEngine
DateJan 02, 2020
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly shut off without warning. The vehicle was towed to euro motorcars bethesda (7020 arlington rd, bethesda, md 20814) for diagnostic testing, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,250. The vin was unknown.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 27, 2019
StateTX
Description
The panorama sunroof exploded, no other cars near me, no rock hit it no big bump in the road, it just exploded... Was traveling at normal highway speed, and it sounded like the car had exploded, very scary, and if the inside cover had not been closed would have had glass shards rain down on me and possible get in my eyes... Mercedes needs to address this problem right away before people get into accidents when this happens.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 11, 2019
StateNJ
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300w4. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 19v586000 (electrical system). The contact stated that mercedes-benz of caldwell (located at 1230 bloomfield ave, west caldwell, nj 07006, (973) 227-3600) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The part was not available for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Dynamic Brake Support/brake Assist, Service Brakes
DateAug 08, 2019
StateNV
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300w4. While driving various speeds, the active brake assist engaged without warning. The failure was experienced several times while driving. The vehicle was taken to mercedes-benz of reno (11500 s virginia st, reno, nv 89511, (855) 661-9151) to be diagnosed, but a failure code could not be located. The vehicle was also test driven and the failure was not duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 750. *bf consumer stated problem may have been identified and corrected by dealer on subsequent visit (09/20/2019).*jb
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 11, 2019
StateMD
Description
The driver side wiper blade is constantly skipping and shuddering, preventing the windshield from being properly cleared in the rain. After 3 visits to the dealership they finally told me that this is an existing issue and mercedes doesn't have a fix for it and may not wish to fix it. I should constantly spray washer fluid on the windshield, even during the rain as a temporary fix is what I was told. I have video of the problem.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 18, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 mercedes-benz c300w. The contact purchased the vehicle on april 6, 2019. On april 10, 2019 he took the vehicle back to the dealer (mercedes-benz of sarasota, 4754 clark rd, sarasota, fl 34233, (941) 275-1293) because it shook violently while driving and the engine felt like it was losing power at 20 mph. Also, an abnormal noise was heard. The dealer stated that the failures were not abnormal. The dealer test drove the vehicle with the windows up and could not replicate the failures; however, they stated that the noise was due to a design fault that occurred when the rear windows were open. The contact spoke with the state attorney general's office and was advised to pursue his concern under the state lemon law. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the case would be assigned to a case manager and he would be called back within 24 hours. If the issue could not be resolved, the case would be turned over to an executive investigating squad. The dealer called the contact and asked for a call back. After several attempts to call the dealer, the contact had not heard back. The failure mileage was 1,700. *bf *jb
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 10, 2019
StateOR
Description
Led headlights and taillights are far too bright. They are damaging people's eyes. These cars need to be taken off the road immediately!

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.