2021 Toyota Supra Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Oil consumption issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2021 Toyota Supra is part of the fifth generation of the Supra which started production in 2019. The original Supra hit the market in 1978 in Japan and 1979 in the United States. The current Supra is based on the same platform as the BMW Z4.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2020

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Toyota pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Toyota Supra

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
4
Electrical System
1
Power Train
1
Steering
1
Service Brakes, Air:antilock:control Unit/module
1
Service Brakes
1

Most Common Problems with the 2021 Toyota Supra

The most common issues impacting the 2021 Toyota Supra are regarding oil consumption which makes up the majority of the complaints lodged with the NHTSA. The other complaints are regarding steering and brakes.

2021 Toyota Supra Oil Consumption

It’s been reported that the 2021 Supra has excessive oil consumption issues. There is even a technical service bulletin (TSB): Engine oil level low, oil level at minimum that Toyota has issued to dealerships twice, on February 15, 2021, and on March 23, 2021.

The TSB states that customers may complain about high oil consumption. It also states that some Toyota Supra owners report illuminated dashboard warnings that say, “Oil level at minimum, add one quart.”

Online reports state that this oil consumption problem can cause engine failure in moving vehicles.

But Toyota doesn’t have a fix. Instead, the TSB is a tool for dealerships to gather information about the problem. Rather than recommending a diagnostic or repair solution, Toyota asks dealers to gather the following information from customer:

  • Is this the first time the customer has stated the vehicle’s oil is low?
  • Has any oil been added to the vehicle?
  • How do they drive the vehicle? Aggressive, Moderate, Easy
  • Where do they drive mostly? Highways, city, racetracks
  • Frequency of driving per week?
  • Average miles on daily trips?
  • Average length of time for each trip?

Then dealerships must create a technical assistance (TAS) case and contact TAS for instructions on how to proceed before trying to diagnose or repair vehicles.

What are Toyota Supra Owners Experiencing?

Complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and in Toyota forums state, very simply, that their vehicles are using much too much oil. The Supra manual recommends the first oil change at 10,000 miles, but some owners are finding they need to top off with oil after they have traveled less than a third of this distance.

Here are some examples of comments and complaints.

2021 Toyota Supra Oil NHTSA Complaints

A Supra owner from California states: “Oil consumption of 1qt at 2,800 miles and another one at 5,800 miles. Warning message prompted at each time to add a quart. Contacted dealer and tech. Advised same thing with no further assistance.”

An owner from Missouri states: (My) car is consuming a lot of oil in low mileage. Oil has been changed twice, once at 1,200 miles, again at 2,500 miles. Manual states oil change interval is 10,000 miles. Had an oil consumption warning at 7,xxx miles. Many other 2021 3.0 Supra owners are complaining of consumption issues.”

Both of these complaints are filed under Engine problems.

2021 Toyota Supra Oil Forum Complaints

There are several different forums where Supra owners are complaining.

“I bought a 2021 Supra in April 202. It used the first quart of oil at 3,821 miles and the second quart only 2,181 miles later. I will not allow Toyota to do any engine work or engine replacement. I have filed all necessary complaints with Toyota. So far they have offered me an Extended Warranty. Toyota USA is going to contact me within 30 days.”

In response, another forum member with a 2021 3.0 premium Supra states: “Same issue here, almost 5000 miles and going for a second time to the dealer soon.”

In another forum, a Supra owner who got rid of the vehicle states: “Just returned mine because of oil consumption. I was going to keep both a new Z and a Supra, but alas that is not my fate. I look forward to getting a manual Z, but it doesn’t diminish the joy the Supra provided for a year. A (mostly) phenomenal car. Hated by internet warriors but loved by regular folks. I spent a lot of time in parking lots answering questions from giddy passersby who were awestruck. And track days were spectacular.

“A quart per 750-1000 miles was too much. My other B58 (M240i) did the same every 5-7.5k miles. I’ll enjoy the manual in what is likely to be my last gasser.”

What Should you do if your 2021 Toyota Supra is a Lemon?

If you’ve had similar problems or have suffered issues that are completely different, you may believe you have bought a lemon. Lemberg Law can assess your problems and advise whether we can negotiate a settlement on your behalf.

All you have to do is contact our Helpline so that we can assess your problems. You’ve got nothing to lose because the law says Toyota must pay the legal fees of lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 20, 2022
StateCA
Description
I own a new 2021 toyota supra and along with other owners of this new model, there is a safety issue that has been identified. There is a repeating issue with unresponsive/unpredictable throttle behavior for me and other toyota supra owners. It only happens on a cold start, when going in reverse on a slope (exiting the garage) and when traction control gets engaged (the wheel gets in the air for a second due to the curb/slope). After this maneuver either the engine gets stalled or the throttle starts to behave unpredictably. Specifically about the latter — pressing on the pedal does nothing for 2-3 seconds but then suddenly the engine revs go high and the car jumps ahead, even if the pedal is not pressed anymore. As if it's a 2-3 seconds lag between the pedal press and the wheel spin. This happened to me at least 20 times during the time of ownership (6 months). My trip to the dealership didn't help as I could not replicate the issue (only happens on cold start). I've contacted the manufacturer (toyota usa) but they were unable to help and only documented the case. I have tens if not hundreds of supra owners in an online community reporting the same issue. We are also aware that this issue is affecting owners globally, but toyota has not yet made any statements about it. This issue is a safety concern and I almost got into an accident because of it. It requires attention before anyone gets hurt. Will be happy to assist and provide reports from other owners in the us. I've also attached the error codes that appeared at the time of the last accident and an invoice from the dealership. Thank you.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 17, 2022
StateGA
Description
After a cold start, the vehicle will have sluggish/hesitant acceleration from a dead stop initially while trying to pull out of an intersection after the brakes have been applied. This has occurred several times and other owners have reported similar issues. Additionally, under rare situations the vehicle will shift into neutral and shut off when encountering this problem (other owners have also reported a similar problem).
CategorySteering
DateJul 05, 2022
StateFL
Description
Drivers side tie rod has completely broken in half. This happened whilst just backing the car out of my garage and just starting down the drive at 1 mph. Had vehicle picked up and taken to the local dealer where I purchased the vehicle. Toyota refused to cover repair under warranty, saying I would have to pay for a 00+ repair
CategoryEngine
DateJun 08, 2022
StateCA
Description
Oil consumption of 1qt at 2800 miles and another one at 5800 miles. Warning message prompted at each time to add a quart. Contacted dealer and tech. Advised same thing with no further assistance.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 08, 2022
StateMO
Description
Unknown. Car is consuming a lot of oil in low mileage. Oil has been changed twice, once at 1200 miles, again at 2500 miles. Manual states oil change interval is 10,000 miles. Had an oil consumption warning at 7,xxx miles. Many other 2021 3. 0 supra owners are complaining of consumption issues
CategoryService Brakes, Air:antilock:control Unit/module
DateApr 07, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 toyota supra. The contact stated while driving at 40-45 mph and approaching a stopped vehicle, he decelerated to 20 mph and continued to slightly depress the brake pedal; however, the anti-lock braking system engaged inadvertently and the vehicle failed to decelerate as needed and started skidding. The contact depressed the brake pedal harder but it failed to operate as needed and the vehicle operated as if he was depressing the accelerator pedal at the same time. The vehicle crashed into the rear end of the vehicle in front of him. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact did not recall whether there were warning lights illuminated. The contact did not sustain any injuries and he was able to drive to the local body shop. The occupant of the second vehicle sustained back and neck injuries but did not seek medical assistance at the time. A police report was filed. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 13,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 02, 2020
StateFL
Description
I was about 8 miles into my drive and came up on a red light and went top push the brakes and there was no assist, I had to swerve into another lane and stand on the brake pedal to avoid rear ending the stopped cars. The cars brakes still have no assist and there are no warning lights or malfunction indicators

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

 


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.