2021 Jeep Wrangler Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, visibility, and steering issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Are you having difficult steering your Jeep Wrangler? See if you are eligible to join our Wrangler Steering Problem class action investigation.

People that own Jeep vehicles are looking for an off-road model with plenty of style. That’s exactly what was expected with the release of the 2021 Jeep Wrangler, especially with the promise that customers can “get dirty faster.” However, getting dirty seems to come from making numerous repairs to the engine, steering and visibility.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019  2020

Problems with the Engine

Behind every good vehicle is a potent engine that provides power and acceleration that’s reliable. However, this Wrangler doesn’t seem to have the level of durability people desire.

Read this NHTSA complaint. “Vehicle is brand new and the Check Engine Light came on only after 300 miles. Dealer diagnosed the problem with O2 sensor failure and valve cover defect. The vehicle ran very rough and felt like it was about to stall. Search on JLWRANGLERFORUMS shows there are others experiencing similar problems with less than 500 miles on the odometer.”

Who wants to pay top price for a new vehicle that is going to fail in less than 500 miles? Sadly, this isn’t the only major defect occurring. There has also been a major powertrain recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 21V028000 states that the clutch pressure plate could overheat. When this occurs, it can lead to a fracture or car fire. There could also be damage to other components nearby, which can result in losing the ability to drive. Instead of fixing the problem, Jeep has issued all dealerships to add software that reduces the capability of engine torque. Basically, the company is reducing the power to ensure the clutch pressure plate doesn’t overheat instead of replacing it with one that can hold up under the desired conditions. However, most customers don’t know this is the fix. They take their Jeep into the shop only to get it back with a little less oomph.

Problems with the Visibility

When heading off-road, it’s essential that drivers have the visibility needed to see obstacles ahead. However, the visibility from this Wrangler is one of the biggest complaints.

Read what this user wrote on the NHTSA website. “When driving during a medium snow fall: the front windshield defroster is terrible! Even with the front defroster on high heat, and full defrost mode, the defroster only blows hot air onto the center portion of the windshield. The right and left sides of the windshield get no hot defrost air (no air whatsoever) and snow and ice builds up on the right ½ and left ½ of the windshield. This also causes heavy snow/ice buildup on the wiper blades. Terrible and dangerous windshield defroster design. Air comes out of the center defrost vents only. No air comes out of the windshield vents in front of the driver or passenger. Horrible and dangerous design which makes visibility while driving during a snowfall almost impossible.”

It turns out that this isn’t the only visibility-related problem. According to Service Bulletin #S2008000180, the rear wipes also don’t park properly after operation. Basically, this rugged Wrangler is only meant to drive in sunny, warm conditions. It simply can’t handle an adventure the way it is supposed to. This Jeep SUV acts like the big, strong guy that can’t get out of bed when he has a cold.

Problems with “Loose Steering”

If there’s been one problem that has haunted the Jeep lineup, it is the defective steering. Enthusiasts hoped that the 2021 Jeep Wrangler would be repaired, but it doesn’t appear that is the case.

Read one more NHTSA review. “The Jeep has excessive steering play and wanders in the lane. When traveling in a straight line, the vehicle requires constant and significant steering correction. This issue becomes more pronounced and dangerous at speeds above 60 mph. Two repair attempts have been made by Jeep [dealership], but the problem persists. This vehicle has the new black steering gear box and 840 miles. After the last repair attempt, the problem is worse, vehicle is now too dangerous to drive.”

This isn’t the first time that Jeep has encountered a steering or suspension issue. In fact, there have been massive lawsuits related to what’s called the “Death Wobble.” Jeep vehicles have become uncontrollable and caused many accidents. FCA continues to fight lawsuits and it seems that the 2021 Jeep Wrangler will be the next in line. Here are some of the current complaints:

 

2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-07-02STEERING21VEHICLE WANDERS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AS WELL AS LOW SPEEDS. REQUIRES CONSTANT “ARMS/HANDS” PRESSURE TO KEEP VEHICLE TRACKING STRAIGHT. TRAVELLING ON A CURVY ROAD REGULARY THE VEHICLE ENDS UP CROSSING OVER THE YELLOW LINES ON OCCASION CAUSING A PANIC FOR ME AND ANY APPROACHING VEHICLE – SO FAR NO ACCIDENT. THE DEALER INSTALLED A PART RECOMMENDED BY JEEP BUT DID NOT FIX ISSUE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-29STEERING212021 Jeep Wrangler JL, build date 05/2021, apprx 1,000 miles, has the newer steering gear (black) that was supposed to fix the steering issue that Jeep has had since 2019. The Jeep is wandering within lane and requires constant wheel correction to stay within lane. This happens at slower speeds and highway speeds. Steering is overly sensitive. Lane changing requires overcorrection due to the wandering. Difficult to hold straight line. Dealer says nothing is wrong and that’s how it is and nothing they can do to fix. Dealer states they cannot duplicate. This is a known issue from FCA on previous years and has continued into some 2021 models. Not being able to drive within the lanes poses a hazard to driver, passengers, and other vehicles on the road. Overcorrection due to extreme sensitivity will create a roll over hazard.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-24STEERING21Vehicle has less than 1000 miles on odometer. Wandering, constant steering wheel input needed to keep vehicle on center. Steering feels loose. Have NOT experienced “Death Wobble”. Tires/wheels are OEM and of course new. Tire pressures are within OEM door label specs. Lug nuts checked and vehicle raised from ground and checked for obviously loose suspension/steering components; none found. Dealer states normal condition for type of vehicle; I disagree. Dealer has not worked on the vehicle. I have owned several Jeeps over the decades…this is by far the worst for steering issues. Tow and alignment have not been checked/adjusted.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-05-11STEERING21PURCHASED 1/3/2021. STEERING WANDER, PULLS TO RIGHT, AND 2′ DEAD ZONE IN STEERING WHEEL. DEAD ZONE HAS NO TIRE RESISTANCE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. ALWAYS A NEED TO KEEP A TENSION ON THE WHEEL TO PREVENT GOING TO THE RIGHT. MAIDEN VOYAGE UP THE AZ 87 MOUNTAIN FREEWAY AND SECOND TIME UP AND DOWN THE TWISTY 87 FREEWAY IN ARIZONA SEVERAL TIMES CONSTANT WANDERING. A COUPLE OF TIMES IT FELT AS IF I WAS ABOUT TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE JEEP AT 65MPH. IMMEDIATELY I SLOWED DOWN BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT. I AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH THIS FREEWAY. JEEP PULLS TO THE RIGHT EVEN FROM THE LEFT LANE. YOU CAN SEE THE STEERING WHEEL TURN A FEW DEGREES TO THE RIGHT AS THE JEEP EMBLEM IS NOT CENTER ON. THERE ARE TIMES IN THE DEAD SPOT YOU MOVE THE WHEEL BACK AND FORTH 2′ AND IT’S NO RESPONSE. SOME TIMES THE DEAD ZONE IS ALMOST 2′ ON THE WHEEL AND SOMETIMES IT’S LESS. DEALER ALIGNED AFTER AXLE REPLACEMENTS UNDER WARRANTY AND THEN 5/10/21 ALIGNED AGAIN. WAS RETURNED TO ME SAYING IT STILL PULLS. I TOOK IT OUT AND IT STILL WAS OFF, BROUGHT IT BACK AND THEY ALIGNED TWICE AGAIN AND IT STILL PULLS TO THE RIGHT. DUE TO GO BACK AGAIN 5/13/2021, TECH CALLING FCA. THAT WILL MAKE 20 DAYS IN THE SHOP WITHIN FIRST 127 DAYS OF OWNERSHIP. MILEAGE 3200. PULLING IS NOTICEABLE ON PAVEMENT OVER 40 MPH AND GETS MORE PRONOUNCED THE FASTER YOU DRIVE AND ON FREEWAYS.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-03-10STEERING21BRAND NEW AND FROM THE START THE STEERING WANDERS AND THERE IS A LOT OF PLAY IN THE STEERING. IT’S A NONSTOP BATTLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE GOING IN A STRAIGHT LINE AND IT GETS MORE DANGEROUS WITH THE SPEED INCREASES. THE WANDERING WITH THE VERY LOOSE STEERING CAUSES OVER STEERING ISSUES WHICH HAS CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CROSS THE CENTER LINE AND GO ONTO THE ROAD’S SHOULDER. TURNING HAS SERIOUS CONTROL ISSUES WITH CONSTANT STEERING ADJUSTMENTS THROUGHOUT THE TURN SO THE VEHICLE IS NOT TRACKING A STRAIGHT LINE THROUGH THE TURN. THIS IS ON CITY AND COUNTRY ROADS, STRAIGHT AWAY AND TURNING THROUGHOUT CORNERS.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-03-02STEERING21BRAND NEW VEHICLE WANDERS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AS WELL AS LOW SPEEDS. REQUIRES CONSTANT “ARMS/HANDS” PRESSURE TO KEEP VEHICLE TRACKING STRAIGHT. VEHICLES PULLS TO THE RIGHT DESPITE HAVING UNDERGONE 3 ALIGNMENTS NOW AT 3K MILES. 2021 WRANGLER HAS THE UPGRADED STEERING BOX AND WHILE NO DEAD SPOTS ON THE WHEEL, THE RIGHT PULL IS ANNOYING. PLENTY OF UNHAPPY CUSTOMERS. THE FIX WHICH SEEMS TO BE KNOWN AMONSGT JEEP OWNERS IS RELATED TO LONGER LOWER CONTROL ARMS IN ORDER TO INCREASE CASTER SO THE VEHICLE TRACK STRAIGHT.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-22STEERING21WHEN DRIVING SLOW OR FAST THE CAR WANDERS AND THERE IS ‘PLAY’ IN THE STEERING WHEEL. DIFFICULT TO STAY STRAIGHT AND IN ONE LANE WITHOUT CONSTANTLY ADJUSTING.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-21STEERING21A BUNCH OF CODES FLASHED ON MY DASH SCREEN AND THEN STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET I HAD JUST TURNED AND WAS GOING STRAIGHT AT ABOUT 30 MPH. I HAD TO USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO PULL THE CAR OVER AND TURNED CAR OFF AND ON AND THEN I REGAINED STEERING. ALTHOUGH THE STEERING WAS BACK, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. I WAS OUT OF TOWN SO I TOOK IT TO A DEALER TO SEE IF IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE 2HRS BACK HOME. THEY CHECKED IT SAID A BUNCH OF CODES CAME UP BUT THEY CLEARED THEM AND DIDN’T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THEY TEST DROVE IT AND COULDN’T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM SO THEY SUMMED IT UP AS A COMPUTER GLITCH, AND SAID IT WOULD MOST LIKELY NOT HAPPEN AGAIN AND SHOULD BE FINE DRIVING BACK HOME. IT WAS FINE THE REST OF THAT DAY. THE NEXT DAY AS I’M DRIVING IT HAPPENS AGAIN AND DOES ANOTHER 4 TIMES THAT DAY. 3 DRIVING THRU CROWDED CITY STREETS ONCE I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AT ABOUT 15 MPH, NEXT I WAS AT A STOP SIGN AND THEN I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE 4TH TIME THAT DAY I WAS ON THE FREEWAY HEADING BACK HOME. I WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC GOING ABOUT 40 MPH. SAME AS THE FIRST INCIDENT I HAD TO PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF AND ON AGAIN TO REGAIN CONTROL OF STEERING. AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-11-29STEERING21THE JEEP HAS EXCESSIVE STEERING PLAY AND WANDERS IN THE LANE. WHEN TRAVELLING IN A STRAIGHT LINE, THE VEHICLE REQUIRES CONSTANT AND SIGNIFICANT STEERING CORRECTION. THIS ISSUE BECOMES MORE PRONOUNCED AND DANGEROUS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 60MPH. TWO REPAIR ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN MADE BY JEEP ONLY OF LAS VEGAS, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. THIS VEHICLE HAS THE NEW BLACK STEERING GEAR BOX AND 840 MILES. AFTER THE LAST REPAIR ATTEMPT, THE PROBLEM IS WORSE. VEHICLE IS NOW TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-11-17STEERING21STEERING HAS EXCESSIVE PLAY. SEEMS TO BE MORE NOTICEABLE ON HOT DAYS. THE VEHICLE SEEMS TO DRIFT LEADING TO CONSTANT CORRECTION WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-11-03STEERING21TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2021 JEEP WRANGLER. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, HE BECAME AWARE THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS LOOSE AND FAILED TO STEER THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT. THE CONTACT STATED NO WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LINDSAY CHEVROLET LOCATED AT 15605 JEFFERSON DAVIS HWY, WOODBRIDGE, VA 22191, (571) 200-4754, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH NEEDING THE STEERING GEAR TO BE REPLACED AND THE STEERING MODULE UPDATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 225.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-10-20STEERING21WANDERING STEERING ABOVE 30 MPH WON’T TRACK STRAIGHT, EXCESSIVE PLAY IN THE WHEEL. ORDERED FROM DEALER WENT TO THE SHOP FOR STEERING ISSUES AT 52 MILES AND BACK AGAIN 2 WEEKS LATER, JUST PICKED IT UP FROM THE DEALER AND STEERING IS WORSE, I FEEL IT IS UNSAFE FOR MY 17 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER TO DRIVE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-10-21ENGINE7While towing a <3000 lb. trailer up a long grade (2.5 to 3 miles) on the interstate at the posted speed, warning messages were displayed on the dashboard approximately 2/3 of the way up the hill. “Service Electronic Throttle Control”, and Check Engine light displayed while the vehicle speed dropped dramatically from 70 mph to approximately 35. This same error occurred every time I tried ascending a long grade with the trailer (under load). Initially reduced speeds ( below the posted limit) did not change the outcome. Trying to use the optional manual shifting, did not change the outcome. Recreated initial problem following 1st dealership service for the events.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-10-14ENGINE7The engine caught on fire after a short drive. The fire burned the entire top of the rear of the engine and completely through the wiring harness before I could extinguish it with a fire extinguisher and water. The fire appears to have started at the top rear of the engine where the fuel line enters the intake. The manufacturer, Stellantis, hired a special investigator from EAA/Bosch to look at it, and he agrees that it is similar to fires in similar engines that were recalled in October 2020, NHTSA Campaign number 21V-665. Stellantis has not responded to repeated requests for resolution.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-09ENGINE7The car flashed a red icon and displayed a message saying power was lost and telling us to pull over safely and put the car on park. We were in the middle lane on the New Jersey Turnpike and people were driving around us at 80mph, and the car would not accelerate. We were able to pull over and restart the car and it worked as if nothing happened. I got an email on the UConnect system saying there was a charging issue, and then a second email saying I should get the car serviced. I took it to the dealership this morning and am waiting on a diagnosis.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-07-07ENGINE7The contact owns a 2021 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 41 mph, the hybrid mode failed to let the engine operate and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact mentioned that the power steering also ceased. The vehicle was restarted later under E-save mode. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the mechanic failed to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to another dealer where it was partially diagnosed that the Transmission Control Module was disabled. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided a case number. The approximate failure mileage was 940.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-09ENGINE7The engine has a manufacture machining defect causing the engine to lose oil. This component has been inspected my an authorized dealer and has spent 4 weeks in the service department trying to be repaired. Manufacture has asked dealership to modify the engine block by grinding down the engine and placing a new seal. The dealership is an agreement this is a temporary fix to a larger problem of poor manufacturing by FCA suppliers. The loss of oil can lead to unknown catastrophic engine failure, including on major highway posing a saftey risk.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-09ENGINE7LESS THAN 200 MILES ON CAR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTS BLINKING CAR ALSO SHAKING TOOK IT TO DEALER THEY REPLACED A SPARK PLUG THE NEXT DAY SAME THING THEY THEN REPLACED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS AND TOLD ME 2021 WRANGLERS WOULD HAVE A RECALL ON THIS BUT I DON’T NOTICE SAME PROBLEM ANYWHERE
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-10-24ENGINE7VEHICLE IS BRAND NEW AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ONLY AFTER 300 MILES. DEALER DIAGOSED THE PROBLEM WITH O2 SENSOR FAILURE AND VALVE COVER DEFECT. THE VEHICLE RAN VERY ROUGH AND FELT LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO STALL. SEARCH ON JLWRANGLERFORUMS SHOWS THERE ARE OTHERS EXPERIENCING SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH LESS THAN 500 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-25UNKNOWN OR OTHER7The backup camera turns off completely and the line marks for the parking spot disappears. According to the dealership this is a manufacturer defect that the manufacturer is aware of but haven’t taken any actions. It is a dangerous situation as the backup camera is standard feature in all cars and people rely on the camera when backing up the vehicle.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-05-31UNKNOWN OR OTHER7I have a brand new 2021 Jeep Wrangler 4xe, which is a hybrid and electric vehicle, which gives about 30 miles on a full battery charge. Since the electric mode distance is limited, the car has a hybrid and gas-only mode that runs on gas for when the battery needs a charge after 30 miles. The following problem occurred over 10 times in a 2 day timeframe: The vehicle gave a dashboard warning that stated “service charging system” and “service transmission” plus my Jeep app gave a message “a charge fault has occurred.” Within 10 seconds, the entire car shut off. At the time, I was going 60 mph on a freeway. This nearly caused a 10-car pile up, but I was fortunately able to get onto the shoulder despite the entire electrical system shutting down. I was lucky, because after 10 seconds, the car came to an immediate stop and I could not move it at all. At the time, I had two-thirds full tank of gas. I was able to start the engine about 15 minutes later. Shortly thereafter, the same problem occurred again after about 5 minutes of driving. This sequence repeated itself over 10 times until I was able to get towed to a nearby dealership. I was advised that the battery needed to be charged and this problem would not occur. This is an unacceptable explanation, since this vehicle has a gas-only mode to account for the 30 mile electrical battery distance. The following day, I got a full charge, but the problem happened again on the freeway, this time with 20% battery remaining and a one-half tank of gas. I had to get towed for the second time in two days. This is a very dangerous problem. This car should be recalled. Someone could have died due to the car completely shutting off while on a freeway and coming to a total half after only 10 seconds. The Jeep 4xe online forum reports 10 separate episodes of the same problem. I have attached a pdf of the formum to prove this is a recurrent issue. I am certain that someone will suffer a fatality from this recurrent problem.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-05-31UNKNOWN OR OTHER7While driving on the freeway at 70mph the car threw an charge error transmission error and the motor completely shut off. I was left coasting on a busy Bay area freeway with no running engine. I almost got rear ended twice while trying to pull off to the side of the road. I came to a stop and after 5min the car started up and no error lights showed up.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-04-24UNKNOWN OR OTHER7WITHIN A FEW DAYS OF BUYING IT BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT THE BACK UP CAMERA QUIT DISPLAYING THE LINE ASSIST INTERMITTENTLY WHEN VEHICLE IS PLACED IN REVERSE. WE HAD IT RESET AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE ISSUE CONTINUED. A FEW WEEKS LATER THE BACK UP CAMERA IS NOW FAILING TO DISPLAY ANY PICTURE AND APPEARS AS A BLACK SCREEN WHEN VEHICLE IS IN REVERSE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND PUT INTO REVERSE TO BACK UP. IT CONTINUES EVEN IF YOU ATTEMPT TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AND THEN REVERSE AGAIN.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-04-01UNKNOWN OR OTHER7THERE IS AN AUTOMOTIVE AFTERMARKET VENDOR “PANORAMIC JEEP WORLDWIDE” HQ IN AUSTIN, TX WHOM IS CUTTING AWAY STRUCTURE OF THE FACTORY JEEP FREEDOM TOP TO INSTALL STANDARD HOUSEHOLD TEMPERED GLASS AS SUNROOFS. ADDING WEIGHT TO THE TOP OF A VEHICLE, WEAKINING THE OEM ENGINEERED SAFETY OF THE FREEDOM TOP TO THE DEGREE THAT THE TOPS WILL FAIL IN AN IMPACT. AND NO ONE HAS CAUTIONED PEOPLE OR ISSUED A WARNING TO THIS BUSINESS. I AM AWARE YOUR PRIMARY DOMAIN IS WACHDOG FOR THE OEM’S SOMEONE NEEDS TO WARN THE PUBLIC ABOUT THIS.  M NOW TO ADD TO THE PROBLEMS- THIS GENTLEMAN A NIXON SANTIAGO, IS RECURUITING INSTALLERS IN NYC, PA, VA ALL PROMOTION DONE VIA SOCIAL MEDIA (INSTAGRAHAM, TIC-TOCK, AND FACEBOOK) YET IN ALL APEARANCES HAVE PREVENTED LISTINGS OF PHYSICAL ADDRESSES AND TRADITIONAL WEBSITES WITH LINKS TO A PHYSICAL ADDRESS WHERE THEY CAN BE SERVED BY A PROCESS SERVER. I BEG YOU TO LOOK INTO THIS FOR THE SAFETY OF US AMERICANS.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-22UNKNOWN OR OTHER7FRONT WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER ONLY BLOWS HOT AIR ON CENTER OF WINDSHIELD LEAVING THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER WINDSHIELD FROSTED AND FOGGY AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE ESPECIALLY IN THE WINTER.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-21UNKNOWN OR OTHER7THE BACKUP CAMERA ON MY 2021 JEEP WRANGLER UNLIMITED RUBICON JUST STOPPED WORKING. I GOT IN, STARTED THE CAR AS USUAL, WENT TO BACK UP AND THE SCREEN IS COMPLETELY BLACK. I’VE GONE 3 DIFFERENT PLACES TODAY AND THE CAMERA HAS NOT WORKED ALL DAY. I LITERALLY BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW 3 WEEKS AGO. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. SOMEONE WILL WRECK WHEN THIS GOES OUT ON THEM. IT LOOKS LIKE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WHEN I GOOGLE THE ISSUE!
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-13ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE5The vehicle all of a sudden shut down and the charging system alert came on and said service charging system – this was while starting to merge off 131 north at the Saginaw exit. I coasted to the side of the road put it in park I attempted to start again and at first there was nothing Then I did it again and it started I did not see the charging error but it went into my log. I drove home. When I got home I tried plugging it in and it blew every breaker I tried plugging into. Called dealership and there it sits. They have no idea.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-02ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE5I was driving at night on a 4-lane highway at approximately 55 mph southbound in the left lane. My hybrid vehicle had less than 1% of battery power and was running using the gas engine. With no warning the vehicle suddenly experienced a sudden deceleration to less than 10 mph then a warning light came on stating “service charging system- place vehicle in P and start engine. Fortunately there were no vehicles in close proximity either in front, behind, or in the lane to my right, so I was able to make it over to the shoulder before it came to a complete stop. At that point I received an alert from my UCONNECT app that stated “Your 2021 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited was unable to charge.” It also stated to “Get service immediately.” I placed the vehicle in park and attempted to start the engine with no response. I repeated the procedure and the engine started after which I was able to drive home. I had the vehicle towed to the dealer the next morning where, after two days, the dealer returned the vehicle and told me they could find nothing wrong. no codes in the computer, and no information from Jeep on any similar problems, despite getting the aforementioned alert received from the UCONNECT app. My main concern is that this type failure, the sudden engine failure/deceleration with no warning either inside or outside (brake lights), especially at night, can easily result an accident. I was very fortunate that I was on a highway with other cars near me. A crowded street, highway, or freeway would be a totally different story.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-07-11ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE5The vehicle gave a Service Hybrid Electric System error and disabled the engine at approximately 60 mph when traveling in E-Save mode, with <1% battery, and half a tank of gasoline. After navigating the vehicle to the side of the road, it came to a hard stop at about 5-8 mph. After 10 minutes, the vehicle restarted in Hybrid mode as was able to operate without error until reaching our destination. Weather conditions were clear at 85 degrees. Issues occurred on a two-lane byway. No injuries, other damage, or police reports at this time. The vehicle will be delivered for service for recreation and diagnosis of the issue. Issue occurred with approximately 246 miles, direct from the dealership upon delivery. The vehicle has no aftermarket accessories.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-28ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE5It’s over heating while drive at has 12000 miles on it and getting over 250 degrees derating and dash lights came on flashing red saying over heating to hot air shut off going 60 miles an hour. Had to pull off road because it had no gas pedal with cars behind me almost getting hit.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-25ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE5A charging system error caused engine to shut down. I was driving down the road at about 30-40 mph and the vehicle just shut down. I was stopped in the right lane of traffic. A red plug appeared on the instrument panel. The vehicle started back up after several attempts to restart it. The red plug disappeared. I was able to drive the rest of the way home with no issues (about 1 mile). When the vehicle stopped it was in electric mode, had about 50% battery left, and had slightly less than a quarter tank of gas. I called dealer and made a service appointment for today. The vehicle was at the service department for about 3 weeks previously for the service light being on. We picked up the vehicle 2 weeks ago and the issue was not resolved. We had been texting with the service advisor about it while it was there and as soon as we picked it up and noticed the service light was still on he quit responding to us and would not get back with us.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-11-02ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM5The two main wire harnesses are faulty. It would not charge or hold a charge. Driving it was dangerous and would stop drastically at any given random moment. A jerking motion would occur while driving. Lights on dash would come on, engine, charging fault station. Charging fault. And lightening bolt warning signs. Sometimes it would say don’t drive call for assistance. The dealership has had my vehicle since June 4 2021. The parts I’m told won’t be available until end of January 2022. I purchased the jeep on April 30th 2021. It’s very scary when you’re on the road, w my family and it decides to lock up or sounds like the transmission is falling from the under carriage. Luckily we weren’t rear ended or pushed through an intersection.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-09-10ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM5Charging Fault Error came on as my wife was driving home when her 2021 Jeep Wrangler 4XE suddenly shut off and came to a immediate halt. She was barely able to prevent a major accident, which could’ve caused serious injury to herself and others on the road. Vehicle would not restart and was not even able to put the vehicle in neutral to push out of harm’s way. The moment it happened I received a message on my Jeep UConnect app that a Charging Fault Error occurred. I didn’t know what this meant, but about 60 seconds later my wife called me in distress and told me what happened. She was terrified couldn’t even drive the rest of the way home and had to stand in 100F heat for an hour waiting for a tow truck. Result: The Jeep Wrangler 4XE is still in the shop (it’s been in the dealership for over 3 weeks now, and we’ve owned it for 3 months and 3500 miles. They have no diagnosis and say they are still ordering parts. Asked 2x to speak with upper management at FCA and was told someone would call in 24 hours, it’ been over 72 hours now. Included file of Jeep case number and Jeep 4XE forum with multiple chats on this same issue.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-09-03ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM5As I approached a stop sign while braking, the Jeep seized up, shut off, and gave the Electronic Stability Control warning. I attempted to restart and it didn’t start or get out of park. It then gave Blind Spot Monitoring System error and Service Charging System error. I’m grateful that I was at a stop sign unlike some of the other reports of this issue that were on the highway. It was quite a jolt when the vehicle seized. The vehicle has been at the dealership since 8/24. It was thought the hybrid battery needed replacement. A new one gave the same errors to the service team. The vehicle remains with the service department awaiting another battery.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-18ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM5Veh shuddered while driving. Warning light on dash for Hybrid system malfuction/red lighting bolt on dash. Veh taken to dealer 3 weeks ago. Needs new Power Inverter module. Wont drive. Part eta is 3 months out.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-03ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM5I was driving vehicle on HWY 610 in Houston, Texas at approximately 55-60 MPH. Suddenly, vehicle simply stopped working in the middle of driving. Everything on my dash was reading zero. Car were swearing to avoid hitting me. I also had a baby in the backseat of my vehicle. Suddenly, the dash started to read place car in park, Service Charging System. The P at my gear shift was flashing rapidly. I was able to slowly and dangerously coast to the emergency lane. Where I was able to turn the vehicle off. This is a very dangerous situation. At this point, Jeep has no idea what the problem is an this is very frustrating.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-10-06POWER TRAIN5The contact owns a 2021 Jeep Wrangler. The contact stated that while driving at 55 – 60 mph, the RPM gauge went high but the temperature gauge was normal. A burning odor was detected, metal grinding noises were heard, and the vehicle inadvertently lurched forward. The contact pulled over and saw that there was smoke coming from under the hood. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and remained at the dealer, not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact had the vehicle serviced at the dealer in March 2021, for NHTSA Campaign Number: 21V028000 (Power Train). However, the failure recurred related to the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 9,700.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-12POWER TRAIN5My jeep wrangler has axle lockers. They are only supposed to be able to be engaged when the vehicle transfer case is set to 4wd low (4L). Since buying this jeep brand new, the vehicle information intermittently shows the axle lockers being engaged in 2wd high (2H). I have brought it to the dealer twice for this problem. First they reset the computer. The second time they replaced the 4wd module. The incorrect status is redisplayed again. I have only had this jeep for 2 months, it has less than 3000 miles on it. The dealer doesn’t seem to know what the problem is. I have talked with Jeep corporate who also says they can find no reports of this issue. However the internet jeep forums are full of people reporting this problem, supposedly it is related to failed axle locker sensors on the Rubicon wranglers. It is common enough an aftermarket company sells a wiring harness that bypasses the sensor. Because the sensor is not available separately, eventually this requires the entire axle be replaced. Some people have had their axles replaced 3-4 times. There really should be a recall. More than a few posters have also stated their axles have locked by themselves in 2H. This could cause a crash as axle lockers are not designed for use on pavement or at high speeds.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-14POWER TRAIN5ONLY 500 MILES ON VEHICLE, WENT OFF-ROADING FOR THE FIRST TIME AND WITHIN A SHORT TIME AFTER CLIMBING A STEEP HILL, SMOKE CAME FROM UNDER VEHICLE AND CLUTCH WENT TO FLOOR AND STAYED. TURNED JEEP OFF, PUMPED CLUTCH WHICH SEEMED FINE BUT SMOKE CONTINUED FOR A MINUTE. WENT UNDER VEHICLE AFTER SMOKE STOPPED AND SAW BURNT FIBERS COMING OUT FROM TRANSMISSION CASE. RESTARTED VEHICLE AND NO MOVEMENT. TOWED JEEP OUT TO HOME. JEEP ROADSIDE TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP. APPARENTLY THE CLUTCH SWITCH PLATE OVERHEATED, FLASHED, AND COMPLETELY BURNED AWAY! THERE’S A RECALL I WAS UNAWARE OF BUT NOW 500 MILES ON BRAND NEW JEEP AND CLUTCH PLATE, PRESSURE PLATE, ETC MUST BE REPLACED. JEEP IS AT TATE BRANCH JEEP IN CARLSBAD NM WHERE THEY CAN GIVE DETAILS ON DAMAGE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-09POWER TRAIN5THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL FOR THIS JEEP MODEL. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TODAY, FEBRUARY 9, 2021, TO GET IT FIX AND THEY DO NOT HAVE THE PARTS. THE DEALER (PLANET DODGE IN MIAMI, FL) INSTRUCTED ME TO CALL FCA GROUP (FIAT CHRYSLER AUTOMOBILE — OWNERS OF JEEP), WHICH I DID IN FRONT OF THEM, AND NO FIXING OR RESOLUTION. PART OF THE RECALL STATES HEATED DEBRIS EXPELLED FROM THE TRANSMISSION CASE MAY COME IN CONTACT WITH COMBUSTIBLE MATERIALS IN THE VEHICLE, POTENTIALLY LEADING TO A FIRE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-08POWER TRAIN5DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND “SERVICE SHIFTER” WARNING APPEARED ON AND OFF. ALSO, WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET THE WARNING CAME ON AND OFF. LIGHTS ON THE SHIFTER FLASHED. DEALERSHIP SAYS THE VALVE BODY IN THE TRANSMISSION IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED OR THE WHOLE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THEY STATED IT’S A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE THE CAR CAN STOP SHIFTING ALTOGETHER WHILE DRIVING.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-10-21ELECTRICAL SYSTEM4I purchased this vehicle new and over the past 12 months, the back-up camera and stereo has stopped working four times. It usually fixes itself after a day or so, but this time it has been 3 days and it still will not work.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-07-25ELECTRICAL SYSTEM4Pulled out of parking lot and into street. Several different warnings came on and the vehicle stopped on its on and became totally unresponsive in the middle of the street. Warnings included E-drive charging fault, check engine, shift error, among many others. Car push button would not allow the car to turn off.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-05-27ELECTRICAL SYSTEM4The backup camera does not work at different times. Local dealership said it was a common issue and should resolve itself in an hour.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-01-16ELECTRICAL SYSTEM4BRAND NEW 2021 JEEP WRANGLER BACKUP CAMERA ISN’T WORKING THE DAY I PURCHASED IT. JUST GOT A BLACK SCREEN WHEN I PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE FROM A PARKED POSITION. I’VE RESTARTED THE VEHICLE MULTIPLE TIMES THINKING IT’D RESET THE SCREEN BUT STILL NO LUCK.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-10-15VISIBILITY/WIPER4Drivers-Side Sun Visor broke loose while driving, momentarily blocking vision and disrupting driving, while at hwy speeds. New vehicle with < 10kms mileage at time of event. Due to apparent design flaw, and high frequency of failures, replacement visors are back-ordered for months. The Safety issue is that due to the tall windshield design of the vehicle, I am unable to block the sun up to 2 hrs after sunrise or 2 hrs before sunset, until new parts come in, some time in January 2022, per the dealership. Appears to be a design issue originating with the introduction of the Wrangler JL model, back in 2018. Refer to the following Wrangler on-line Forum for details:https://www.jlwranglerforums.com/forum/threads/sun-visor-fix.44865/
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-02-12VISIBILITY/WIPER4I WAS DRIVING IN FOG WITH AMBIENT TEMPERATURES OF APPROXIMATELY 9 DEGREES, WINDSHIELD ICED OVER APPROXIMATELY 2/3RDS FROM THE OUTSIDE IN WITH ONLY THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDSHIELD CLEAR, FRONT DEFROSTER ONLY WAS ON MAXIMUM, WITH NO AIR FLOW TO ANYWHERE ELSE, BUT WOULD NOT CLEAR THE WINDSHIELD IN FRONT OF THE DRIVER NOR THE PASSENGER SIDE. PUT HAND ABOVE DEFROST VENTS AND WAS ONLY BLOWING IN THE MIDDLE, NO OBSTRUCTION. WE CONTACTED OUR JEEP DEALER AND TOOK IT TO BE LOOKED AT, THEY SUBMITTED STARS CASE #101853238 AND TOLD US THAT NO ISSUES OF THIS TYPE HAD BEEN REPORTED TO THEM FROM JEEP.  AND FOUND THIS SAME ISSUE ADDRESSED EXCEPT ON A 2021 JEEP GLADIATOR (JEEP PICKUP). WHEN IT HAPPENED TO US, WE DID NOT TAKE PICTURES AS WE WERE MORE CONCERNED ABOUT GETTING TO OUR DESTINATION AND THEN HOME.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-01-28VISIBILITY/WIPER4THE BACK UP CAMERA STOPPED WORKING FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2020-12-25VISIBILITY/WIPER4WHEN DRIVING DURING A MEDIUM SNOW FALL: THE FRONT WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER IS TERRIBLE! EVEN WITH THE FRONT DEFROSTER ON HIGH HEAT, AND FULL DEFROST MODE, THE DEFROSTER ONLY BLOWS HOT AIR ONTO THE CENTER PORTION OF THE WINDSHIELD. THE RIGHT AND LEFT SIDES OF THE WINDSHIELD GET NO HOT DEFROST AIR (NO AIR WHATSOEVER) AND SNOW AND ICE BUILDS UP ON THE RIGHT 12′ AND LEFT 12′ OF THE WINDSHIELD. THIS ALSO CAUSES HEAVY SNOW/ICE BUILDUP ON THE WIPER BLADES. TERRIBLE AND DANGEROUS WINDSHIELD DEFROSTER DESIGN. AIR COMES OUT OF THE CENTER DEFROST VENTS ONLY. NO AIR COMES OUT OF THE WINDSHIELD VENTS IN FRONT OF THE DRIVER OR PASSENGER. HORRIBLE AND DANGEROUS DESIGN WHICH MAKES VISIBILITY WHILE DRIVING DURING A SNOWFALL ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-08-13ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL3While driving on 131 northbound just before the Saginaw croton exit my Jeep lost power I was in the left lane had to merge across to the right to exit and all the lights were on noting charging system needs service I got off highway onto ramp and coasted to side of ramp and realized it was not even on anymore. I immediately shut it off checked my uconnect app for a service warning and it said charging system failure all the lights on the dash were alerting me until it shut down I sat for a bit and tried to start it and it did but was jerky when attempting to drive. I switched to esave and the engine kicked in but was also doggy. I had 60% battery so I’m not sure what happened. I attempted to plug in when I got home and it blew breakers anywhere I attempted to plug it in and made a very loud pop! I didn’t try it anymore at home as it scared me. Contacted the dealer and two weeks later it’s at the shop. They have no idea what is going on – it’s acting up but now doesn’t even put the info into the log according to my service technician at the dealer. They are waiting on Chrysler engineers to get back to them with what to do.
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-20ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL3While driving on a one way high way. Was about to overtake a semi truck. While half way on the opposite lane doing a legal overtake my acceleration decreased significantly, nearly causing my passengers and I to get into a head on collision with the another vehicle. All of this was due to the fact that the Jeep’s acceleration was decreased. The following warning appeared and code was registered: Check engine light code P00AF Service Electric Throttle Control stop/start unavailable Service stop start system Acceleration issues after shutting down my engine all the codes disappear and vehicle precedes to normal driving. I am extremely worried that this might happen again and pace me and my loved ones in a dangerous situation as well as other people on the road
2021JEEPWRANGLER2021-06-02ELECTRICAL SYSTEM|ENGINE|VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL3We were on the way to drop our kids off at school when the car gave us a bunch of errors (see pictures). Once we got out of the driveway, the Jeep would not go faster than 5mph. It was towed to the dealer on May 4 and has been there ever since. I have been given conflicting information on what is wrong with it from the dealership and the manufacturer. No ETA on fix.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work on your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chrysler pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

User Profile Image

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Chandra

    We bought a brand new 2021 Jeep Wrangler in Mar this year. We drove from Sugarland to Galveston one night and the next day morning I saw a flat tire and a crack in the windshield about 1” long.
    By afternoon the crack had spread to 8 inch long. So mind it, No Off road driving was done
    So we paid $275 for an authentic brand new 2021 Jeep windshield.
    The next day on our way to the airport an other small stone hit it and now we have a 12inch crack on our windshield. Obviously this is no STURDY vehicle, Its a lemon
    The tire and windshield being repaired in under 6 months???
    I have had 7 cars in the last 30years. None of them fared so poorly.
    I’m extremely disappointed with Jeep Quality. Never again will I buy a Jeep

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.