2022 Hyundai Sonata Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Faulty brakes, wheels, tires, and various malfunctioning systems are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Hyundai maintains that “inspired innovation” makes the 2022 Sonata “the best thing to happen to sedans in forever.” But for owners who have problems with their cars, this means nothing.

Labeled by Hyundai as an iconic mid-size sedan, the Sonata made its debut in Korea way back in 1985. By 2015, the company had sold more than 7.3 million models, 2.3 million of which were sold in the U.S. from 1988-2015. In 2015 alone, 213,303 units were sold in the U.S.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Hyundai Sonata

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
4
Unknown Or Other
4
Electrical System
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Lane Departure: Assist
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Suspension
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1
Engine
1
Vehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
1

It was the 2nd generation Sonata that was first launched in the U.S. in 1988. The first 8th generation Sonatas were produced in the U.S. at Hyundai Motor America’s manufacturing plant in Alabama in 2020. The 2021 and 2022 models are also 8th generation vehicles. Despite the addition of new features each year, sales have been dropping ever since, from 199,408 units in 2016 to 83,434 in 2021.

According to Good Car Bad Car, the sales figures dipped under 100,000 in 2019. In 2020 they sold 76,997 units, 83,434 in 2021, and between February and August 2022, only 26,070 Sonatas have been sold.

Some say that it’s because an increasing number of drivers prefer sports utility vehicles (SUVs). But could it be because of mediocre performance, generally average features, and some tedious operating requirements? These are some of the complaints that owners make about the car. Other complaints are more serious because they cause safety risks.

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Hyundai Sonata

While there isn’t a large volume of complaints from Sonata 2022 owners to the Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there are varied complaints across the board.

Complaint issues range from problems with the electrical system, wheels and tires, and brakes that malfunction, to sunroofs that explode unexpectedly. They are posted in 7 NHTSA categories: Electrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance, Lane Departure, Suspension, Tires, Wheels, and Unknown or Other.

Interestingly, even though there has been a recall relating to a fuel leak that increases the risk of a fire, none of the NHTSA complaints, so far, have anything to do with the category, Fuel System, Gasoline. The recall potentially affects 15,752 Hyundai Sonata and Santa Fe 2021-2022 vehicles that are equipped with 2.5 liter turbocharged engines. Yet, the problem is that the fuel can leak where the pipe is connected between the fuel rail and the high-pressure fuel pump.

2022 Hyundai Sonata Visibility & Windshield Problems

There are 6 complaints related to windshield and visibility problems. One of these states the recall on the owner’s vehicle wasn’t successful. “There is still no remedy after one month.”

The recall, issued on 28 December 2021, is due to inadequate windshield bonding on as many as 26,413 Hyundai vehicles, including the Sonata. The fear is that it may detach in a crash and increase the risk of injury.

Two of the complaints relate to air or wind noise coming through the windshield when traveling over 55 mph. One complainant is convinced this problem relates to the recall. But the car’s VIN isn’t listed. “I know my windshield is defective or wasn’t properly installed.”

The other air noise complaint states there are a lot of other owners on forums complaining about the same problem.

The remainder of grievances is varied. They include a complaint that after a tiny pebble hit the windshield it spread vertically and horizontally. The complaint says that not only does it obstruct vision, but it also affects the lane assist sensor in the middle of the windshield. The dealer says the windshield must be repaired by a third party, the complaint says.

Another complaint describes how a panoramic sunroof exploded on an open highway. There was no sign of debris or stones hitting the car.

2022 Hyundai Sonata Brake Problems

Posting under Forward Collision Avoidance, an owner from Florida reports a crash that resulted in one injury in June 2022. The complaint states that the “vehicle locked up the brakes by completely depressing them automatically and didn’t use ABS when sensing another vehicle stop in front of it”. This caused the Sonata “to slide into the rear of the other vehicle.”

2022 Hyundai Sonata Tire & Wheel Problems

A tire-related complaint from an owner in Ohio describes how the tread on the driver’s side rear tire separated without warning when his Sonata had only 500 miles on the clock. He heard an abnormal noise, but there was no warning light. A towing company took the car in to have the spare tire fitted. The dealer was “unable to diagnose the cause of the failure.”

A tire- and wheel-related complaint comes from an owner in Illinois. It states that the rear wheel bearing and hub assembly sets for the new 2022 Sonata comprise “terrible-quality parts.” By the time the car had 2,400 miles on the clock, the parts had started to “deform.” The result was that the two rear wheels and tires cannot move forward straight, and the “rear wheels and tires are yawning during normal driving. And I am feeling jumping, shaking due to (the) imbalanced nature of wheel bearing, hub assembly and wheel tires. It is really dangerous, as (a) wheel and tire could be falling off on (the) highway.”

2022 Hyundai Sonata System Problems

A complaint filed by a North Carolina owner says the problems “started with a loud noise under the hood. That happened maybe four times. Then the car began to switch gears on its own. I would park the car and press P for park but the car would go to N instead. That happened about 20-30 times.

“Now the car is randomly switching gears while at stop lights. While at a pause the car automatically shuts off which is normal.” But the car also started to switch gears when stopped at lights. “I was at a light when the car shut down and went to D, N , and stayed in R. I had to cut my car off just for it to go to P and then D, all while the light was red. If I didn’t, I would have backed into the person behind me.

“The self driving is not accurate at all and the car tries to play bluetooth and Apple play at the same time.

“I’m reaching out because I’ve been to the dealership multiple times to have it checked out and they found nothing wrong.”

Other Sonata Problems

Not all complaints are directed at the NHTSA, as these complaint examples show.

Complaints on Edmunds

The owner of what he says is his “third and last” new Sonata hasn’t experienced crashes or explosions, but he has had lots of problems.

Sonatas, he says, “have gone consistently downhill over time. This car is not user friendly. If you like to turn on your car, put it in gear and go, this is not the car for you. You have to spend time disengaging stupid things before you can even start out.

“First off, it automatically sets the parking brake almost every time you park–even on level land, so you have to disengage that before you go. Then there is the annoying engine start/stop mechanism that you have to disengage before you start out. Then it is a toss up as to whether the push-button gear shift mechanism will work. You often have to push the gear you want two or three times before it will engage. Then there are the computer screens that randomly flip from the mode you have them set on to some other mode. The list goes on and on.”

Complaints on SureCritic

There are 479 customer reviews on SureCritic, some good and some bad. All those quoted are verified 2022 Hyundai Sonata owners.

Ahmed S ranks every element of the car only 1 out 10 stars. His complaint covers many malfunctions in the Hyundai Sonata 2022. These include the speakers having a knock on the doors. “Sunroof/moonroof has wind coming through as well as doors. Car has a lot of technology malfunctions from (the) factory.”

Another reviewer, Chester D, gives the car 2 stars, calling it “iffy.”

“I have driven it for one year. The inconsistencies are enough to drive me crazy.”

Here are just a few of the issues he mentions:

  • You cannot press a button when you exit to lock the doors.
  • The gas access cover does NOT lock. I have had gas siphoned out twice now.
  • Sometimes when I come back to the car it will not let me in until I find the key and use the fob. In the winter time that is NO fun.
  • You cannot clean your wiper blades or even change them because the car automatically stows them when you turn them off or stop the engine.

Franz M complains that the worst problems are with the brakes, the steering, and the battery, giving it an average of 2 stars.

Lacretia P gives it a one-star average complaining that the “Engine light came on less than 24 hrs after purchasing. They stated the issue was the thermostat.” But, two days after a service, the light came back on. “Now the engine is over heating and I’ve only had this car a little over 30 days!”

What to do if your 2022 Hyundai Sonata is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

If your 2022 Hyundai Sonata has recurring problems that impair its value, use, and/or safety, you might have a lemon. If you believe this to be the case, and the manufacturer is unable or unwilling to fix the problems, Lemberg Law is available to assess your issues free of charge.

Over the years, we have negotiated many settlement deals for vehicle owners who found themselves with lemons. These include buy-backs, trade-ins, and vehicle replacements.

All you have to do is fill in our contact form or call us. Because the law says Hyundai must pay the legal fees of lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
Shifter system malfunction service immediately was displayed on my dash 10+ times which caused me to not be able to shift my car out of drive or whatever gear I was in when this occurred. I was at an intersection and when I was coming to a stop the car displayed this error code and wouldn't allow me to go until I turned the car off and on twice till it was able to reset back to park then allowing me to start and shift to drive to actually go. This jeopardizes my safety and the safety of others considering my car could give out or not change gears at any given point. This is extremely concerning. The problem has not been reproduced by the dealership but has been in 2 times for this issue within a month. I took pictures and showed it to the dealership and they said hyundai won't cover it. They felt bad and believed me so much to the point their service department is covering the cost of the transmission shifter module (tcm) in hopes this will resolve the issue. Only a hyundai dealership has worked on my vehicle.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateNov 29, 2022
StateSC
Description
Car did not stop in time to avoid a front collision with a stopped car on a highway.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 29, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Car sometimes does not accelerate appropriately. Car needs to be shut off and restarted when this happens. Dealerships around me say they don't see anything wrong with the car. It happens randomly and shouldn't happen with a brand new car. I feel unsafe when it doesn't accelerate correctly.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Departure: Assist
DateNov 21, 2022
StateWA
Description
The bluelink subscription service for my hyundai sonata includes a feature to see the diagnostic codes my car has or has had. Attached is a document with all of the dtcs my car has reported since I purchased it new in november of 2021. There are 15 stored codes (not active) but they are still concerning to me because they have appeared from before the car was built to about 1000 miles after I purchased it. 5 codes are for the lane keep assist system, 1 for the electronic stability control, 5 for smart cruise control, and 4 for the tire pressure monitoring system. Three of the codes occurred after I purchased the vehicle with absolutely no warning or indication of any fault regarding the lkas system.
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 21, 2022
StateWA
Description
When driving down a hill, I downshifted to slow my descent and to not have to use the brakes as much. I downshifted once or twice making sure the engine didn't go far above 3000 rpm. The gear indicator showed 2nd gear but I knew that wasn't accurate because the car had yet to change gear and the rpm was too low for 2nd gear, I was still in 3rd or 4th gear. About a second or two goes by until the car slams into gear incredibly hard, physically jolting me and the car. The engine revved up loudly to about 4-5k rpm. Had a car been closer behind me, they could have run into me. There were absolutely no warning lights or indicators before or after the incident. The transmission had been shifting noticeably more rough for a few weeks after and perhaps a bit before the incident. The transmission always felt rough up until 4th gear when travelling at slow speeds. But this was something else. It hasn't happened again to the same degree but there have been automatic shifts on its own that are uncomfortable feeling. I have not had the car inspected yet because it is difficult to find a dealership appointment that isn't 2+ months in the future. I had scheduled a full thorough inspection with all of my complaints but had to cancel to due personal reasons.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
On multiple occasions, the car has intermittent acceleration issues and hesitates when the automatic transmission is shifting to the next gear. Without warning, the car completely turned off - engine failed - while driving and in the middle of making a turn, and luckily oncoming traffic stopped in time before we were in an accident. The local dealer has been unable to replicate the problem; however, there is an open recall on the same make and model but my vin is not currently included in this recall. This is not a coincidence and this vehicle is not safe to drive. I also already contacted hyundai directly but the case manager has yet to resolve the issue, just says the vin is not part of the recall.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateNov 16, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai sonata. The contact stated that while her husband was driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate while the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v746000 (power train) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 3,800.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 13, 2022
StateTX
Description
I suffered a flat tire and called my husband to change my tire. The jack that was included with the vehicle fell over in the middle of the tire change nearly pinning my husband's hands between the wheel well and the spare tire. The road was level. The jack was simply too small to hold the vehicle up. My car suffered approximately 00 in damages. I tried to deal with the dealership and hyundai consumer affairs to no avail. These jacks are dangerous and at least the base should be wider to prevent it from tipping.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai sonata. The contact stated that while his wife was driving at a low speed pulling into a parking spot, the vehicle accelerated over two concrete stopping blocks and crashed into a parked unoccupied 2015 toyota vehicle. There were no warning lights illuminated. A police report was filed. There were no reported injuries, air bag deployment, or fire. The contact called the local dealer who informed him about obtaining the event data recorder but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 1250.
CategoryService Brakes, Suspension
DateOct 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
Driving turning onto a ramp onto the expressway and when applied the brakes the car lost control and hit 4” curb and had no control over the car, which bounced to shoulder of road. Front tire was loose from suspension and rotor on braking system was broken in pieces. Caliber was also hanging and cv suspension was undone. Couldn't stop car until it came to a rest on shoulder
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 13, 2022
StateFL
Description
Driving on the highway my panoramic sunroof unexpectedly exploded over myself and passengers head!
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateAug 27, 2022
StateIL
Description
The rear sets (left rear, and right rear) of wheel bearing and hub assemble for a new sonata is really a terrible-quality parts. It deformed at a few thousand miles since delivery as a new car (I. E. I found it at 2400 miles, so it starts to deform and going bad earlier than 2400miles). As results, the two rear wheel and tires cannot go straightforward, rear wheels and tires are yawing during normal driving. And I am feeling jumping, shaking due to imbalance nature of wheel bearing, hub assembly and wheel tires. It is really dangerous, as wheel and tire could be falling off on highway. I don't know what kind of materials are being used for a new hyundai sonata. Please
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 01, 2022
StateAL
Description
Trying to return home(alabama) from louisiana, I tried using my key fob to get in my car, key fob was not working so I replaced the battery, still not working. Finally was able to get in my car by using the key, only to open the door and had no power to my car, no dash or interior lights. Had to car road side service, they jumped the car off long enough to get the car in neutral to get it on the tow truck and towed to the dealership. Now stuck out of state until the dealership can "get time" to look at my car. This is a brand new car and really didn't expect this but again no matter if it is just a battery issue or something else, hyundai's car has let me down and left me stranded. This is a huge problem especially when I need to get back home to family and my job so I can pay for this car.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateJul 01, 2022
StateFL
Description
Vehicle locked up the brakes by completely depressing them automatically and didn't use abs when sensing another vehicle stop in front of it. Causing the sonata to slide into the rear of the other vehicle.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 06, 2022
StateNC
Description
I'm reaching out to report the troubles and functioning of my hyundai sonata 2022. I am the first owner and received the car january 7, 2022. The car started with a loud nose under the hood . That happened maybe four times. Then the car began to switch gears on its on. I would park the car and press p for park but the car would go to n instead . That happened about 20-30 times . Now the car is randomly switching gears while at stop lights. While at a pause the car automatically shuts off which is normal. Recently the car would be at a light and switch gears . I was at a light when the car shut down and went to d, n , and stayed in r. I had to cut my car off just for it to go to p and then d , all while the light was red. If I didn't, I would have backed into the person behind me . The self driving is not accurate at all and the car does tries to play blue tooth and apple play at the same time . I'm reaching out because I've been to the dealership multiple time to have it checked out and they found nothing wrong. I will be making another appointment for this friday, may 6, 2022. I need to know what is going to be done and how should I go about this if it is said that nothing is wrong once again .
CategoryTires
DateAug 27, 2021
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 hyundai sonata equipped with pirelli tires, tire line: p zero a/s, tire size: 245/40/r19, dot number: 93792k. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, he heard an abnormal noise. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact stated he parked on the side of the road and noticed the tread on the driver's side rear tire had separated. The contact stated he contacted a towing company to replace the rear driver side tire with the spare tire. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The contact attempted to call the manufacturer but was unable to speak to a representative. The failure mileage was approximately 500.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.