2019 Audi Q8 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Transmission and engine lag issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2019 Audi Q8 is a newer luxury SUV that is supposed to become a leader in the company’s lineup. As part of the marketing, the automaker claims that “expectations put limitations on possibilities.” While this statement is used to sell the vehicle, it actually backfires. Customers quickly learn not to have any realistic expectations with this model because it is riddled with issues. From a malfunctioning engine to a defective powertrain, this SUV is nothing like what owners hoped for.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Audi pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Audi Q8

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
36
Electrical System
19
Engine
16
Vehicle Speed Control
5
Steering
4
Fuel/propulsion System
4
Unknown Or Other
3
Fuel System, Gasoline
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
1
Exterior Lighting
1

Problems with the Engine

The engine is arguably one of the most important parts of any vehicle. When it comes to driving a luxury model, it’s natural to anticipate plenty of power and reliability, but that’s not what the 2019 Audi Q8 offers. Instead, there are some major motor issues that must be addressed.

Just look at this NHTSA complaint. “There is a noticeable throttle lag (hesitation) when the auto start/stop feature is enabled, and the car comes out of a rolling stop (ex. When making a left turn). Disabling the auto start/stop feature or selecting Sport mode negates the issue.”

The auto start/stop system shuts down the engine and restarts it automatically to reduce how long it spends idling. This reduces fuel consumption and lessens emissions, which is a major reason that owners want to drive a car with this feature. Disabling it defeats the purpose of having this innovative technology on-board. Still, it appears there are many engine issues that Audi doesn’t know how to fix. Service Bulletin #A0119232054182_2 talks about how the engine can misfire. Instead of offering a fix, Audi states for technicians to “explain to the customer that a solution is forthcoming and currently scheduled for the late 4th quarter of 2019. No repairs are necessary at this point.” Instead, the luxury car company expects drivers to continue operating their overpriced SUV with a misfiring engine. Maybe it’s time to lower expectations.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Audi Q8 Engine Lag Problems

EXCESSIVE AND DANGEROUS DELAY IN THROTTLE RESPONSE DUE TO AUTO START/STOP SYSTEM CAUSING VEHICLE TO COAST WHEN SLOWING DOWN AT A YIELD SIGN OR INTERSECTION ETC BEFORE TRANSMISSION RE-ENGAGES. THE VEHICLE IS POWERLESS FOR SEVERAL SECONDS DESPITE APPLICATION OF GAS PEDAL, CAUSING ONCOMING TRAFFIC TO POTENTIAL COLLIDE WITH “STALLED” Q8. THIS IS A MAJOR DESIGN DEFECT IN THE AUTO START/STOP SYSTEM AND OCCURS EVERY TIME THE SYSTEM IS ACTIVE.

Problems with the Transmission

As we evaluate the various transmission issues, we see the same rough ride illustrated earlier.

On the NHTSA website, another driver wrote, “On multiple occasions, Q8 will not accelerate when gas pedal applied for roughly 1-3 seconds when coasting to a stop or immediately coming out of a stop, causing the vehicle to remain stationary although gas pedal is applied. Once the vehicle responds to the depressed accelerator, after a delay, then the auto can accelerate beyond the requested acceleration. It feels like the vehicle is trying to decide whether or not to respond to the depressed accelerator, leaving the vehicle vulnerable if trying to cross traffic, accelerate from a stop sign, or turn left between oncoming traffic. The problem feels intermittent although feels like it’s becoming more common. Vehicle responds this way whether or not the auto stop feature is engaged or not.”

The issues don’t seem to be related to the auto start/stop feature. While there are nearly 200 service bulletins, the luxury automaker decided not to discuss one powertrain problem. Maybe they expect everyone to believe that there are no troubles present. It’s just another way to help owners lower their expectations while Audi does nothing to fix the issues.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Audi Q8 Transmission Lag Problems

THERE IS A SIGNIFICANT LAG IN THE POWER TRAIN OF THE Q8 AFTER BREAKING TO A COASTING SPEED AND THEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AGAIN. THE GAS PEDAL IS COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE FOR 3-4 SECONDS DURING THIS TIME. THIS POSES A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD IN SITUATIONS WHERE YOU ARE COASTING WITH THE EXPECTATION TO CROSS ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE ISSUE IN COMFORT MODE. SIMPLY APPLY THE BREAK IN ORDER TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN WITHOUT COMPLETELY STOPPING. WHEN YOU ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE, THE GAS PEDAL DOES NOTHING. AFTER THE LAG PERIOD, THE VEHICLE BEGINS TO ACCELERATE. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPRODUCE THIS PROBLEM IF I COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND THEN PROCEED. I RAISED THIS AS A CONCERN TO MY LOCAL AUDI DEALER BUT WAS ADVISED THAT THERE ARE NO SERVICE BULLETINS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. MY SOFTWARE WAS UPDATED TO THE LATEST VERSION DURING A RECENT SERVICE APPOINTMENT, HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM PERSISTS.

DANGEROUS LAG/PAUSE IN THROTTLE RESPONSE WHEN ACCELERATION IS NEEDED. WHEN COMING TO A ROLLING OR ALMOST COMPLETE STOP, THE AUTO START/STOP SYSTEM IS ENABLED. IF I GO TO TURN/ACCELERATE THERE CAN BE SEVERAL SECONDS OF TIME LAG BETWEEN PRESSING ON THE ACCELERATOR AND ANY THROTTLE RESPONSE. IT IS DANGEROUS AT TIMES WHEN PULLING ONTO A STREET AND THE CAR WILL NOT RESPOND AFTER A FEW SECONDS. ADDITIONAL THROTTLE PRESSURE DOES NOT INDUCE A THROTTLE RESPONSE, AND SUDDENLY THE CAR WILL SURGE AHEAD. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT AND AND SEEMS RELATED TO TRANSMISSION PROGRAMMING WHEN THE AUTO STOP/START SYSTEM IS ENGAGED, WHICH IT IS BY DEFAULT. THE DEALER SAYS THE CAR IS WORKING AS DESIGNED. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHEN MAKING CROSS-TRAFFIC LEFT TURNS BECAUSE OF THE UNPREDICTABLE DELAY.

THERE CAN BE A PROFOUND LAG IN ACCELERATION AT CRITICAL TIMES. I CAN COME TO AN INTERSECTION AND SLOW. WHEN THE GAP IS SAFE TO TURN WITH TRAFFIC OR ACROSS TRAFFIC THE CAR WILL NOT PICK UP AND GO. IT WILL LAG AND NOT ACCELERATE. I WILL COAST INTO THE INTERSECTION AND I FEEL AS IF I COULD BE BROADSIDED. THE LAG IS ABOUT 3-4 SECONDS. NOTHING….JUST A DEAD ROLL. IT WILL PICK UP AND ACCELERATE AT 3-4 SECONDS. I FEEL THAT THE GAP I WAITED FOR WAS TYPICALLY SAFE FOR OTHER VEHICLES I HAVE DRIVEN. IT IS NOT TURBO LAG….I OWN PLENTY OF DIESELS. IT IS DANGEROUS. IT CAN’T BE PREDICTED. IT CANNOT BE PREDICTED. THIS NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED BY YOU. AUDI SAYS THAT THE PROBLEM DOES NOT EXIST. THEY ARE UNABLE TO REPLICATE. THEY STATE THE VEHICLE OPERATES AS DESIGNED. BUT IT KEEPS HAPPENING AND CANNOT BE PREDICTED.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Audi pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Steering
DateJan 26, 2023
StateTX
Description
Got electrical system malfunction to start. I called service and they said car was safe to drive. Continued driving got a fault for automatic start/stop malfunction, followed by: right lug nut loose right brake light malfunction parking brake malfunction distance indicator malfunction power steering malfunction drive train ,malfunction. Car engine started hesitating and dash went totally blank. Car was hard to steer , luckily I live near the dealership. Dealer said there are 30 cars in their service department with the same problem. I am #3000 on audis waitlist for parts to fix problem. 48 volt battery and alternator.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 25, 2023
StateNV
Description
Alternator/ignition generator died while driving vehicle causing vehicle to die in the middle of the road.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 25, 2023
StateIN
Description
The car completely shut down in the middle of traffic with an electrical system malfunction and safety system malfunction.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 20, 2023
StateAZ
Description
Generator failure. Car has been at the dealership for 45 days. Waiting for a replacement at a cost of 00??
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 11, 2023
StateCA
Description
My alternator failed with "electrical malfunction" alerts until the car decided to shut down on the highway with my newborn and wife. The bigger issue is I'm being told there is a national shortage for this part with no eta on receiving the part and that it could be months until they receive the alternator replacement. My car is in dealership since dec 6 2022. Today is 01. 10. 2023
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 11, 2023
StateOH
Description
Electrical malfunction warning light. Vehicle stop and was steering wheel locked and then unlocked. Then stated ok to steer but steering was very hard. No power. Multiple systems fail warnings lights. Alternator is what they have stated. No part available. They currently (from what the service dealer states they have approximately 15 cars waiting). One dealer the issue is the in-operability of the car. Just stops which is highly worrisome.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJan 10, 2023
StateMA
Description
While driving in heavy traffic on 12/23/22 the entire electrical system shut down and all power was lost. Fortunately I was not hit by another vehicle and coasted into a parking lot with no power. This is very dangerous. Per conversations with the dealership and with audi (1/10/23), alternators on thousands of vehicles are failing (possibly due to a software issue). The vehicles are sitting on dealer lots and in driveways useless. Audi online forums confirm this as well. There are no alternators available. No recall has been issued and no warning of this unsafe situation has been made by audi. Per the dealership, they are largely in the dark as well as there has been no meaningful communication by audi. Someone will get hurt when their car dies on a highway. People are paying thousands for their cars to be undrivable. Audi dealers will not trade the vehicles because they are effectively worthless until repaired.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJan 03, 2023
StateOH
Description
The generator (part #: 4n0903028p) failed causing the car to shutoff while driving. This is a known issue by audi as it has issued a tsb. Further steps must be taken by the oem to ensure safe operation of the vehicle by its owners. This is a safety issue that must be resolved soonest!
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateDec 25, 2022
StateNC
Description
Vehicle lost all power and control while driving 45mph. First electrical system failure warning came on. Within 2 minutes the transmission slipped into neutral and 15 seconds later the vehicle lost power and I coasted to a stop. I was told by audi dealership service that the starter generator failed. They mentioned they currently have over 20 vehicles in their shop and over 25 at their other location with the same problem. They also said over 1,000 cars nationwide had same problem and the part to repair is back ordered and no reasonable estimate of repair time.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 22, 2022
StateNH
Description
Critical failure - alternator/48v generator issue in audi q8 prestige. By now, I am well aware that the problem I'm experiencing is in the top 25 repair issues for audi and currently there are 15,000 cars affected in the united states according to my dealer, waiting for these parts. Out of nowhere while driving on an interstate, at a high speed I got all mix of signals and the amount of time to react between the first sign that something is going wrong to the "stop operating the vehicle and pull over to the side message" and vehicle shut down, without ability to start is within just few minutes from each other. First I get a random battery error message. Battery light had popped on the dash panel. Then, system malfunction message, the whole array of different malfunctions. Noticed odd things like the auto start/stop not enabled and about 10 others error messages in regards to every system in the car. Then the speed sign sensor wasn't working, like limp mode, then the lane departure went, then the traction control system went, then the transmission something went off. I couldn't possibly make it to the dealer from that point, it was only few minutes and it told me to pull over to the side. car would not start again, the panel wouldn't light up and only weird stuff, like windows would go up and down as I try to start the vehicle.  had to tow vehicle to the dealer (car is still under the original warranty). Was notified that the alternator is out and needs to be replaced. There is more to it, that part is on the back order all across the us and there is no estimate on when they're going to get it. No solution been provided and every dealership in the state has multiple vehicles awaiting for this same part. 
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 06, 2022
StateLA
Description
Alternator failed, multiple electrical/ computer systems shut down, eventually left me stranded.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 05, 2022
StateIL
Description
48v starter generator went bad. Vehicle shut down on the high way. I have been without my car for nearly a month as the part is on back order, and there is no eta for the part.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train
DateDec 05, 2022
StateGA
Description
Electric system mal function. The car was flashing all signals. It asked to pull over and said there is a danger of car turning over. We called audi assistance. The tow truck driver could not load the car as the wheels were all locked up.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 05, 2022
StateIN
Description
Driving down the road when sensors stopped working. Car read electrical system malfunction and engine shut down. Had to coast to the shoulder. This is a known safety issue, and should be completely recalled.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 01, 2022
StateGA
Description
An "electrical system malfunction" warning, check engine light and the battery light came on. Was informed to notify service. Few hours later multiple system failure started to appear. Dashboard went dark and I was unable to tell the speed of the vehicle. The window rolled down on it is own. After coming to a stop the vehicle was unable to start again. Dealer informed me the "affected parts" are being ordered. No further updates were available.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
While driving, all the warnings came on the dash. "electrical malfunction", "child seat belt malfunction", "start/ stop malfunction", "steering wheel malfunction" "power brake malfunction" and when I came to a stop, the car completely stopped. I could not put it into neutral to push it out of the road so my car blocked a lane on a highway making it very dangerous. 2 service reps from 2 different audi dealerships have confirmed that is this a known defect with the v48 generator/ alternator
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateNov 22, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2019 audi q8. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v516000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The local dealer was contacted. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 17, 2022
StateIL
Description
Alternator / generator issue causing car to electrical malfunction.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateNov 09, 2022
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 audi q8. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v516000 (fuel system, gasoline) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed and then stopping at a traffic light, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that he restarted the vehicle several times however, the failure recurred several times. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 36,700. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 31, 2022
StateIN
Description
Rear middle light (brake) bar that attaches to the rear trunk cracks repeatedly. Has been replaced twice by audi indianapolis under warranty. Third middle brake light has curing issue with plastic that causes light to crack on its own. Part has been sent back to audi for inspection on the first replacement ; however, even the second replacement has now begun to crack. In time this will affect the middle brake light from functioning. 2019 audi q8 current mileage ~7000 miles.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 24, 2022
StatePA
Description
I was driving yesterday on a highway and the car completely shut down. Got stranded in the left lane with 4 kids in the car - could have been killed. I had previously brought the car into the dealer for a fuel pump related issue. Apparently there is a recall but they don't even have the part to fix it.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 14, 2022
StateVA
Description
1. Steering wheel malfunction: sudden loss of steering control increases risk of crashing. Steering wheel now feels more loose. Issue is listed under recalls for 2019 audi q8 suv's. Yellow warning light (triangle with exclamation point), loud " dinging" alert. Appeared 10/13/2022. 2. Central lock malfunction: randomly unable to lock or secure vehicle. Vehicle & belongings open to public theft & damage. Central lock malfunction message appears on dash. Appeared 10/12/2022.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 01, 2021
StateTN
Description
I purchased a used 2019 audi q8 prestige plus, with sportline pkg on 9/7/21. Car had approx. 18,500 miles. The car attempts to shut off when deaccelerating at any speed below 3000 rpm. There is also a significant throttle delay between the time you push the gas pedal and when the engine responds. To be clear the car is in dynamic mode and the start/stop mode is deactivated. It appears that under certain conditions the car is trying to determine if it should shut down or continue running. The audi 37m6 update has been performed on my car which was supposed to correct the problem. The audi knoxville shop foreman drove the car and experienced the problem, contacted audi technical assistance center (case# hs-822562) and was told that the car had the latest software correction. The shop foreman wanted to erase the transmission clutch adaptations to see if the car could relearn the shift process but was advised by audi technical assistance not to erase the transmission clutch adaptations and would not allow the shop foreman access to the car software in an effort to diagnose the problem. Note: there was a class action lawsuit in may 2020 for this problem that was dismissed because the car manual states the car can experience a delay when restarting from the start/stop mode. However, my issue occurs when the start/stop system is turned off. There is no continuous throttle response below 3000 rpm with the start/stop system turned off. I was given a 2021 q7 with a 2. 0 as a loaner car while my q8 was in service and I did not experience any of the issues I have with my q8. I was advised by my dealership to also write a letter to audi usa as the dealership acknowledges there is a major problem and they want to try fix the issue but will not be given access to the car software to troubleshoot the issue. This is a dangerous problem.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 07, 2021
StateUT
Description
The auto start/stop feature of this vehicle is horrible, on several occasions I've almost gotten into an accident turning at an intersection. The engine loses power for 2-3 seconds despite pushing the gas pedal all the way down. I've also scared pedestrians at cross walks on several occasions when the vehicle is at a full stop but then suddenly lunges forward at them. The sensors on this vehicle are also very faulty. The ones that are supposed to open the rear hatch do not work despite me waving my feet and hands under them for several seconds at a time. The key fob also doesn't open the rear hatch like it's supposed to. And the sensors to detect objects around the perimeter go off all the time without any apparent reason. I've had the vehicle in for multiple service visits and none of these issues have been resolved.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateJun 21, 2021
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2019 audi q8. The contact stated that while attempting to exit the vehicle by pulling the interior door handles, the doors would not immediately open. The failure had occurred on the front driver and passenger side doors along with the rear passenger door. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not yet contacted. The failure mileage was 16,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 21, 2021
StateCA
Description
The spare tire is stored deflated and must be inflated for use. The factory tire pump overloads the circuit and blows a fuse. For all practical purposes, my vehicle was shipped without a spare tire which is a significant safety and security issue. This failure has occurred twice during roadside emergencies (loss of tire pressure). My dealer technician confirmed and recreated the circuit overload but offered no 'fix'. There are reports in online forums of similar experiences and the 'fix' appears to be replacement of the factory tire pump. My dealer has not been cooperative / timely with this proposed 'fix'.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 09, 2020
StateFL
Description
I'm very upset with nhtsa and audi. I submitted a complaint with nhtsa on 10/22/20 and the complaint number is 11365744. Again as stated in my complaint this is an actual safety issue. I then took the vehicle into the dealership for them to look at the problem. Well it turns out that the dealership's service department has had a number of complaints just like mine. It also turns out that audi has a fix for the problem. The fix is a software update 37m6. I'm glad the issue has been fixed on my vehicle but the real issue is that nhtsa and audi are aware of this fix but both of these entities are not requiring the fix to be made via a gov't issued recall. Audi calls this fix a "campaign". Audi is avoiding the standard practices of nhtsa by referring to this problem and fix as a campaign which is outside of the normal technical service bulletin and safety recall process. Has no one at nhtsa or audi learned the lessons of the gm debacle with the ignition switch. This cover up by nhtsa/dot and audi is a complete an utter disgrace. To allow audi to operate outside of the nhtsa system is a complete failure. Nhtsa needs to mandate audi issue a safety recall asap!
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 22, 2020
StateFL
Description
Our a8 has issues with lag time when accelerating from a stop or a slow speed of less then 10 mph. The vehicle seems to stop running prior to a full stop and if the accelerator is depressed nothing happens for about 5 seconds. This is extremely dangerous and leaves us at risk of being injured or killed. This issue started just a few months after purchase and has gotten continually worse. We have also encountered this issue even after a full stop and then trying to accelerate from a full stop. It has even happened when driving on an interstate highway when trying to pass another vehicle. The delay in acceleration is very disconcerting and dangerous to say the least.*dt*jb
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 18, 2020
StateIL
Description
After most recent software update, the backup camera does not automatically engage or displays a black screen. The backup camera previously worked fine. Other times, it will display the front facing camera instead of the rear camera despite being in reverse.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 16, 2020
StateGA
Description
Every time it rains the technology sensors malfunction ex: the blind spot, lane change assist, intersection assist, audi pre sense, and rear cross-traffic assist. Also the center console has blacked out of a few occasion when the vehicle was idle and moving. And overtime I have brought it in for repair and showed the video, they state the diagnostic does not pick up any errors and that the vehicle is performing properly despite the videos I have provided. The final result is always they have performed a software update!
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJul 30, 2020
StatePA
Description
I leased this 2019 audi q8 in december 2018 from my local audi dealer and it has had so many technical issues from the start. I've had it in for service issues 5 or 6 times. It kept showing the oil symbol and said there was too much oil and was checked and they said it was just a computer issue. Then they replaced a part and it happened again not long after. They then claim the replacement part was faulty. Since the beginning, it has had issues accelerating when it is in the energy saving mode, which is default and you have to disable it every single time you use the car. The check engine line has been illuminated multiple times and when serviced, they claim it is safe to drive and that audi is working on a computer fix to this problem. Now the "drive system: malfunction! Please contact service" light is constantly illuminating as is the check engine light (picture attached). This is by far the most expensive car I have ever had and it has had more issues than any other car I have had. I'm now very concerned that I am putting myself at risk for driving this car.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 13, 2020
StateNY
Description
The car will unpredictably lose all power for 2-3 seconds. This has more than once nearly caused a fatal accident!!!!!!! The manufacturer is aware of the problem but unable or refusing to fix it. Please save lives today and recall the car.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 09, 2020
StatePA
Description
When driving in any standard driving mode, when you start to come to a stop with auto s/s enabled (e. G. Slow down) to less than 6mph, then accelerate again, there is a considerable lag for the vehicle to start accelerating again (about 1-2 seconds). This is especially dangerous when making left turns when there is cross traffic as the vehicle often drifts into the intersection and you can't quickly accelerate away. Have had many close calls and the issue is easily replicable on any 2019 q8.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 07, 2020
StateTN
Description
Auto start/stop is so laggy when re'starting the engine, especially at large crossings w heavy traffic or roundabouts. I had almost 5 accidents in the past year because you anticipate oncoming traffic and from experience you know you can easily turn or go, and then you just roll a bit and there is nothing happening and you have no chance to do anything.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 06, 2020
StateCA
Description
When start/stop system is enabled, the engine will shut off when coasting to a stop. If you try to accelerate it takes 2-3 seconds for the car to accelerate. This is extremely dangerous on left hand yield turns where there is oncoming traffic. This problem can be solved by turning off the start/stop systems or putting the transmission into sport mode which will automatically turn off the start/stop system. In addition, the car does not remember your setting when the car is turned off. So everytime you start the vehicle you have to remember to turn off the start/stop systems. Audi dealer asknowldeged the issue and performed update, but the issue still persists.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 03, 2020
StateNV
Description
The vehicle has major throttle lag from a stop state of the car, if you are not aware, the vehicle will lag on acceleration and sudden jerk forward at full speed which is a major safety hazard if you are not paying attention. The turbos take too long to send power to the wheels and result is sudden acceleration.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 02, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Throttle lag from a near (but not full) stop. If coming to rolling stop, from 1-8 mph, and then hit accelerator, the car engine revs but no acceleration to vehicle. After a 2-3 second delay, car will lunge and accelerate normally. Scary when need to accelerate from a near rolling stop. Left hand turns especially dangerous. Explained issue to dealer, and q8 car forums have same issue. Dealer says functioning "normal", which I disagree it is not. I have tried all settings for start/stop, transmission settings, etc., and nothing fully alleviates the problem. This is not episodic and a consistent, reproducible dangerous issue.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 26, 2020
StateGA
Description
Auto start/stop is turning off the engine and putting the car in neutral before the vehicle is completely stopped. If you need to accelerate suddenly to clear an intersection, it takes a few seconds for it to start back up and move the vehicle. Like most people do, the throttle gets pressed harder in the hopes of the vehicle moving. By the time the vehicle starts back up I'm 3/4 to the floor with the throttle which causes the vehicle to take off like a rocket. This is overly aggressive start stop is dangerous. It should operate like other systems and not shut off the engine until it is at a complete stop. I have taken my concerns to my local dealer and they tell me that it is operating as designed.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 25, 2020
StateFL
Description
There is a significant lag in the power train of the audi q8 after breaking to a coasting speed and then attempting to accelerate again. The gas pedal is completely unresponsive for 2-3 seconds during this time. Dangerous delay in throttle response due to auto start/stop or mild-hybryd systems and causing vehicle to coast when slowing down at a yield sign or intersection etc before transmission re-engages. The vehicle is powerless for several seconds despite application of gas pedal, causing oncoming traffic to potential collide. Already reported to audi service but they said it's normal, which I totally disagree
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 29, 2020
StateNC
Description
Serious safety issue with throttle delay from dead stop to get going; does not happen all the time and it is impossible to replicate the issue; audi claims they do not know anything about this - multiple past complaints. I would not purchase this vehicle until this is resolved. It will kill someone. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 27, 2020
StateTX
Description
The vehicles auto start/stop feature puts the driver in compromising situations when power is demanded from the accelerator after an engine power-down. The engine does ignite timely, (as soon as the brake pedal is released) but the delivery of moving power is delayed (lag period) following an auto "shut-off and leaves the vehicle in compromising situations where no power can be demanded from the drivetrain. When this delay period (lag) has passed, and power is finally transferred to the wheels, the vehicle expels the demanded energy forcefully, jerking you forward. I find this to be a safety concern particularly for left hand (yield) turns where accelerator responsiveness is critical both the passengers of the vehicle and oncoming traffic. Audi dealership checked open campaigns, recalls but "cannot replicate" customers concern. They did however, train me on how to "disengage" the auto start/stop feature, but this needs to be done at every startup. (if there is no problem, why disengage it?) audi experience center (1-800-822-2834) says they rely on the judgment of their service centers and cannot provide further guidance. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 27, 2020
StateTX
Description
Auto start/stop feature kills engine prior to vehicle being completely stopped resulting in the driver not applying enough brake "force" to keep the vehicle stationary after the engine's re-ignition. When the engine subsequently starts, the the vehicle is jerked forward and the driver needs to re-apply additional brake force to the pedal in order to keep the vehicle stationary. This is a safety concern as the driver is mislead to have "complete control" of the vehicle when brining it stationary the first time, then subsequently having to rely on "quick reflexes" to counteract vehicle behavior to avoid collision (from the vehicle in front of you, or from intersecting traffic). Audio dealership performed search of open campaigns & recalls. None currently available for this model. Service center paperwork indicates "could not replicate customers concern", but I was provided extensive training on how to 'disengage' the auto start/stop feature (if there's no problem, why disengage it?). Audi customer experience (1-800-822-2834) is unable to provide additional guidance and relies on their service centers to have the final word in vehicle issue resolution.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 26, 2020
StateMI
Description
As reported by others, if the car does not quite come to a complete stop and one accelerates, there is a several second delay as the engine seems to bog down. This is related to the auto stop/start system as this delay does not happen if the auto start stop is disabled.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 11, 2020
StateOK
Description
When trying to accelerate from a stop the car exhibits a 3-4 second delay before accelerating. This is a dangerous condition when turning into traffic or when needing to quickly accelerate away from a hazard. It also creates traffic backups by delaying light changes for vehicle behind. The vehicle as it currently performs is a safety risk.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 04, 2020
StatePA
Description
Terrible hesitation at stop sign leading to close call. Car will not start off without hesitation of 2 or 3 seconds leaving driver with no control. This is a very dangerous. See google coments about 'q8 problems'
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 18, 2019
StateTX
Description
Vehicle will have a delay (1-3 seconds) when pressing the gas pedal while the car is idle, causing a dangerous situation and leaving the vehicle vulnerable to cross traffic, as it rolls forward into traffic. Vehicle then jolts forward as it finally engages. Has continuously happened since purchasing the vehicle. We have reported it on multiple occasions to our dealership, yet they basically say there is nothing they can do or give us the run around. Their solution was to turn off the auto stop feature, which seemed to work at first, but now the vehicle is exhibiting the same problem, even with the auto stop disabled. Think it has to do something with their new mild-hybrid system. It is not working the way it was intended. Please look into this matter before before a serious injury occurs.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 17, 2019
StateNC
Description
This vehicle as a serious intermittent issue with throttle lag. When pulling out of parking lots if you do not come to a complete stop the throttle seems to lag 1-3 seconds. Then it surges forward when it finally does move. As others have said it does not happen 100% of the time which makes it even worse. You never know if it's going to go or wait a second or two before it moves. Being in sport mode does help but who can remember to engage that every time you start the car. I have had several close calls due to this issue. I refuse to let my daughter drive the car because of this issue. I've discussed it with the dealer but they have no fix or acknowledgment of the issue.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 18, 2019
StateIL
Description
The car has a several second delay when pressing the gas pedal in the engine idle auto on/off feature. I have not heard of any recalls or fixes to this problem. Dealer has no fix for problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 18, 2019
StateTN
Description
On multiple occasions, q8 will not accelerate when gas pedal applied for roughly 1-3 seconds when coasting to a stop or immediately coming out of a stop, causing the vehicle to remain stationary although gas pedal is applied. Once the vehicle responds to the depressed accelerator, after a delay, then the auto can accelerate beyond the requested acceleration. It feels like the vehicle is trying to decide whether or not to respond to the depressed accelerator, leaving the vehicle vulnerable if trying to cross traffic, accelerate from a stop sign, or turn left between oncoming traffic. The problem feels intermittent although it feels like its becoming more common. Vehicle responds this way whether or not the auto stop feature is engaged or not.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 07, 2019
StateWI
Description
On numerous occasions vehicle enters an intersection or cross traffic while starting a turn and acceleration lags for a 1-3 seconds. When applying more and more gas pedal, it eventually will engage almost catapulting you. Have come very close to getting hit in the side of the vehicle due to the lack of any response for acceleration. Clearly there is a mechanical flaw in the way the vehicle operates and it leaves the driver and passenger at great risk of injury because you can not get out of the way. Seems as if the transmission is not downshifting to first gear and by staying in 3rd gear or more, it can not respond to the acceleration. It does not downshift fast enough to alleviate the lag. After researching the problem online, this appears to be a known problem by the drivers of this vehicle but no manufacturer recognition of the safety hazard; obviously trying to avoid liability. Please investigate before someone gets injured (if they haven't already).
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 18, 2019
StateWI
Description
This vehicle has inconsistent acceleration that is dangerous. When accelerating, particularly from a rolling stop or slow speed below 10mph, there will be a delay in acceleration. When the engine does engage it takes off 'like a rocket'. It does not always do this, which makes it so dangerous. However, it has been happening inconsistently for 9 months and more than 20,000 miles and it continues.
CategorySeat Belts, Seats
DateOct 08, 2019
StateAL
Description
Seatbelt apparatus and seat detached during rear end motor vehicle crash.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 03, 2019
StateWA
Description
There is a huge (several seconds) and dangerous lag when the car slows down to the point the start/stop system kicks in (and stops the engine) and acceleration is immediately needed (e. G. The card does not come to a complete stop.) in that situation, pressing the accelerator will result in the engine starting again immediately (as it is supposed to) but the card will not accelerate at all no effect for up to 3 seconds and then it will suddenly start moving too fast with a jolt (depending on how hard you were pressing the accelerator) this situation happens very frequently (daily for me), including in the context of left turns where cars are coming in the opposite direction, making it a severe security issue. This problem is not caused by turbo lag. It is most likely caused by the software failing to downshift because it believes the car is coasting. This issue is not isolated and has been reported by plenty of other audi q8 users. There is a long thread online discussing it: https://www. Audiworld. Com/forums/audi-q8-227/intro-auto-start-major-throttle-lag-issue-2966888/page2/
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 18, 2019
StateTX
Description
There is a significant lag in the power train of the q8 after breaking to a coasting speed and then attempting to accelerate again. The gas pedal is completely unresponsive for 3-4 seconds during this time. This poses a major safety hazard in situations where you are coasting with the expectation to cross oncoming traffic. I have experienced the issue in comfort mode. Simply apply the break in order to slow the vehicle down without completely stopping. When you attempt to accelerate, the gas pedal does nothing. After the lag period, the vehicle begins to accelerate. I have not been able to reproduce this problem if I come to a complete stop and then proceed. I raised this as a concern to my local audi dealer but was advised that there are no service bulletins regarding this problem. My software was updated to the latest version during a recent service appointment, however, the problem persists.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 02, 2019
StateIN
Description
Dangerous lag/pause in throttle response when acceleration is needed. When coming to a rolling or almost complete stop, the auto start/stop system is enabled. If I go to turn/accelerate there can be several seconds of time lag between pressing on the accelerator and any throttle response. It is dangerous at times when pulling onto a street and the car will not respond after a few seconds. Additional throttle pressure does not induce a throttle response, and suddenly the car will surge ahead. This is not an isolated incident and and seems related to transmission programming when the auto stop/start system is engaged, which it is by default. The dealer says the car is working as designed. This is dangerous when making cross-traffic left turns because of the unpredictable delay. The date noted below is just today's date, since this situation may (and does) occur)anytime under the specified circumstances/conditions.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 28, 2019
StateIL
Description
There is a noticeable throttle lag (hesitation) when the auto start/stop feature is enabled, and the car comes out of a rolling stop (ex. When making a left turn). Disabling the auto start/stop feature or selecting sport mode negates the issue.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 27, 2019
StateGA
Description
There can be a profound lag in acceleration at critical times. I can come to an intersection and slow. When the gap is safe to turn with traffic or across traffic the car will not pick up and go. It will lag and not accelerate. I will coast into the intersection and I feel as if I could be broadsided. The lag is about 3-4 seconds. Nothing.... Just a dead roll. It will pick up and accelerate at 3-4 seconds. I feel that the gap I waited for was typically safe for other vehicles I have driven. It is not turbo lag.... I own plenty of diesels. It is dangerous. It can't be predicted. It cannot be predicted. This needs to be investigated by you. Audi says that the problem does not exist. They are unable to replicate. They state the vehicle operates as designed. But it keeps happening and cannot be predicted.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 26, 2019
StateDC
Description
My gorgeous new audi q8 has a dangerous hesitation issue when acceleration from a full start with auto start/stop enabled. The issue is described thoroughly in the article @ https://techcrunch. Com/2019/06/10/review-the-stunning-2019-audi-q8-has-a-deal-breaking-flaw/. Accelerator response is very inconsistent such that you can't count on the car accelerating in a consistent manner. It either hesitates or surges forward. Turning auto start/stop does improve performance, but one must remember to turn it off every time you start the vehicle. I got my q8 2 months ago. I tried to learn how to predict acceleration from a standstill, but gave up after almost getting into an accident while changing lanes around a car at a red light. I took it to the dealer who says audi has not issued any service bulletins to resolve this issue and the problem was not happening at the time of this test drive.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 12, 2019
StateUT
Description
Excessive and dangerous delay in throttle response due to auto start/stop system causing vehicle to coast when slowing down at a yield sign or intersection etc before transmission re-engages. The vehicle is powerless for several seconds despite application of gas pedal, causing oncoming traffic to potential collide with "stalled" q8. This is a major design defect in the auto start/stop system and occurs every time the system is active.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateJun 12, 2019
StateSC
Description
Start/stop system has nearly caused two major accidents for me. Turning left at an intersection with approaching traffic and plenty of time under normal circumstances to proceed...... Push accelerator and 2 to 3 second hesitation (turbo lag). Car does not move. There is no way to permanently disable this defective system in the audi q8.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 11, 2019
StateMA
Description
The auto stop/start system on the audi q8 presents a dangerous situation when a driver attempts to accelerate from a complete stop. Frequently, when I do this (with the auto stop/start engaged - it's default setting) the car will not move for approximately 2-4 seconds. When it does engage, it finally does so with excessive force. This is particularly dangerous when taking a left hand turn either across a lane of traffic or taking a left turn onto a road. For the driver, it's very disconcerting as (1) you don't get the power when you want or need it and (2) when the power finally does come, it's excessive and if you may need to slam the brakes on to avoid traffic that you were not expecting to be close when you first began the turn. This happens repeatedly. If the auto stop/start system is disengaged, then this behavior goes away and the car operates as expected. However it relies on the driver to remember to disable the "feature" each and every time. For someone like my wife, who will use the car a few times each year (when her car is unavailable), she may not be aware (or I may forget to tell her) how to adjust the car. Same with anyone else who might drive the car.
CategorySteering
DateMar 20, 2019
StateFL
Description
The automatic lane centering (alc) and lane keeping assist (lka) are unreliable. The alc infrequently causes the car to swerve off the road and both functions do not warn when necessary and inexplicably fail to recognize the lane markings.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Steve B

    I have a 2019 Audi Q* that has received the 37M6 update and did not correct my issue. The Audi dealership confirmed the problem but Audi USA will not grant the dealership access to the car software to diagnose the problem.

  • Alex W

    An ECU software update was released by Audi. It improves a lot the throttle lag issue. In EU they release the update mid September.
    Is a pity although it took so long.

  • Dave

    Has Audi provided a throttle modulator fix to get rid of the throttle lag?

  • Sam

    I leased The Q8 3 months ago and have been experiencing lag many times thinking that it was me.
    I also have a misfire thinking its bad gas. I was wrong. It makes no difference where you get your gas or what level octane.
    Have these items been fixed yet.
    Any Thoughts?

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.