2022 Chevrolet Traverse Problems and Top Complaints

Powertrain and brake issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Chevy Traverse is a three-row SUV designed for family fun. The automaker claims that it is “a mid-size SUV with full-size flex.” However, the “flexibility” is only seen by the defective electrical system and shoddy structure, leading to many customer complaints.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2018     2019     2020     2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Chevrolet Traverse

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Exterior Lighting
3
Service Brakes
3
Engine
2
Electrical System
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
1
Fuel/propulsion System
1
Lane Departure: Assist
1
Air Bags
1
Seat Belts
1

Problems with the Electrical System

Today’s automotive electrical systems run just about everything in the car. When something isn’t put together correctly or it’s missing pieces, a lot of issues can be caused.

KBB says, “The Traverse’s layout and technology don’t feel as fresh as a Kia Telluride with its widescreen display and airy feel, but the Chevy’s functions are logical and simple to use. Common things like climate and audio are controlled by dials and buttons.”

But there are also issues with the chip shortage leading to trouble. One Traverse Forum user wrote, “I don’t know exactly where the chips are and how they are accessed but I’m not crazy about the idea of my car getting finished then parts being removed and reinstalled so the chips can be installed. This just sounds like a recipe for quality issues.”

Prior to the chip shortage, Chevrolet dealt with many issues on previous models. It is only going to get worse now that parts aren’t being installed. Previous class-action lawsuits dealt with power steering systems that failed after 30,000 miles. One can only imagine what systems are set up to fail now.

Problems with Vehicle Structure

It’s clear that the Traverse hasn’t been put together the way it should, but even the design is poorly thought out.

Car and Driver stated that there are “Big blind spots toward the rear, plasticky interior parts, [and] most appealing options cost extra.”

It’s difficult to believe that Chevy is going to put the Traverse together in a way that brings peace of mind to customers. It just doesn’t seem like there is much thought put into how this family SUV is constructed. Even Service Bulletin #PIT3099U talks about teaching the technicians how to install GM parts and kits. Aren’t these components that the factory-trained technicians should already know how to handle? Maybe it’s time to exercise some “full-size flex” and get some new workers for the company. Hopefully, the automaker can choose some technicians that understand what a car is in the first place.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 01, 2023
StateMI
Description
2022 traverse won't start everyday, needs jump start multiple times a day. "battery saver active" is displayed on dashboard. Randomly noticed "service ecs", "service parking brake" messages on dashboard. This vehicle is not reliable and will have you stranded in middle of road, vehicle is driven only 6k miles.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 28, 2022
StateOH
Description
Driving home tonight there was a car in front of me so my low beams were on. I saw a deer approaching from the right side of the roadway while at the same time dropping down into a small dip in the road and because the headlights are so low I lost sight of the deer as it was then in the shadows with no illumination because the headlights were now facing further downward. I had to turn my high beams on coming to a complete stop to then see the deer to avoid hitting it. This is very unsafe. Small hills and dips cause you to lose sight of the road up ahead at night.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateDec 28, 2022
StateOH
Description
As I was pulling out of my parking space on the street a car was coming toward me and the forward collision alert lights and sound went off as well as a terrible grinding started as if it was trying to brake as I was driving but not slowing me down. This has now happened 4 times. The first two times there were cars coming toward me but we were not in jeopardy of a collision. The grinding only stops once I remove my foot from the gas pedal. I took it to the dealership after the 2nd time and they checked the brakes and couldn't recreate the issue and said everything looked good.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateDec 13, 2022
StateNE
Description
The headlight position on the 2022 traverse is horrible and a tremendous safety hazzard. Driving in rain, at night, the headlights being lower on the front end dramatically inhibits visibility. Unless you drive with the high beams on, you can't see at all. Last week I drove in falling snow at night and visibility was again inhibited due to the position of the headlights. But also, I had to keep pulling over to wipe the headlights off because snow off of the vehicles in front of me was covering the headlights due to them being so low on the vehicle. This was a safety hazzard in that the visibility was horrible, but I was also sitting on the side of the road, during a snowstorm, every time I had to get out to wipe them off. I did not have this issue with my 2018 traverse
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 07, 2022
StateMI
Description
2022 chevy traverse ls with 5k miles only. Brakes have been a problem. The front brakes make grinding noise randomly. Sometimes I feel that car runs fine and few days, it make lot of grinding noise. Did a search on internet and noticed that 2021 traverse is having similar issue with brake parts (material). Disappointed that this vehicle is having issue.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Lane Departure: Assist
DateSep 20, 2022
StateMI
Description
4021890 fuel pump- is available for inspection upon request date occurred: (07/25/22) 4050420 exhaust front pipe- is available for inspection upon request date occurred: (09/15/22) 4021890 occurring- while driving on the expressway going +70mph vehicle message came on, without any warning stating the following: "service parking brake, drive assist in active and reducing engine power". Vehicle lost all power steering control, and the engine was "revving" as if the vehicle was placed in neutral while trying to drive. Not only was my safety placed at risk during this occurrence, but that of my 5year old daughters as well who was traveling with me, when the power steering was inoperable at +70mph. This could have turned into a very ugly accident at the expense of the manufacturer. Dealership was able to "reproduce/confirm" issue. The vehicle was towed to the purchasing dealership where it was inspected by a dealer service tech and deemed necessary to replace. During 4050420- vehicle started making a "fluttering" noise from the front right side of the vehicle while vehicle was placed in "p" and idling. The vehicle was taken in for a dealer inspection, which found a leak in the neck weld of my front exhaust pipe. The vehicle did not display any warning lamps or messages to indicate there was an issue. Dealership was able to "reproduce/confirm" issue.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts, Seats
DateSep 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
The service restraint system and air bag lights come on intermittently while driving my 2022 chevrolet traverse. According to the stonebriar chevrolet dealer in frisco, tx, the airbags will not deploy if the vehicle is in accident while the light is on. The dealership said they believe there is a wire harness routed in the drivers seat that is pulled too tight and needs to be to rerouted, but they did not have the time to fix the issue that day.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 24, 2022
StateNM
Description
Incident 8/22/2022 where driver put vehicle in park, turned car off, as exiting, vehicle rolled backwards. Driver fell to ground sustaining injuries, vehicle stopped moving after approx. 5 ft. When driver looked at shifter after standing back up, the gear was in drive. Driver saw er for medical attention. Chevrolet gm has been notified via telephone. Service appt to evaluate vehicle has been scheduled with a gm service dept.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 28, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet traverse. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and lost motive power. There were no warning lights prior to the failure. After the vehicle stopped completely, the message to shift to neutral appeared. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer and diagnosed with no failure being found. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure reoccurred, and the contact pressed the onstar button; however, was informed the vehicle has not sent a failure message or check engine indication. The failure reoccurred continuously; then the onstar service had a tow truck arrive at the last failure. As the vehicle was placed onto the flatbed, approximately 5 gallons of gasoline leaked out. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 437.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJan 30, 2022
StateMI
Description
First I will say I am an experienced driver with 40 years of driving experience and owned may automobiles. This is the first automobile I have owned with led headlights. During my product research, car review magazines touted led headlights as superior. Sadly, I have not found this to be the case. I have found with the led headlights, there is a very distinct horizontal line, almost a focused, horizontal beam of light, which can literally be described as night and day. The headlights, while driving on a perfectly flat surface, illuminates the road quite well in the distance and seem to work best on the expressway. But no road is perfectly flat. Driving through my neighborhood at night, with cars parked on the side of the road, a road with a slight rolling waviness, as I am travelling down one of these rather gentle crests, the road in the distance front of me is not illuminated (as the beam of light is projecting downward), and I have found that in general, dark colored cars parked on the side of the road are hidden until I am almost upon them. To make matters worse, just driving through the neighborhood at night, irregardless of the road, I have found that these head lights do not cause the reflectors on parked cars to illuminute at all due to the beam of light projecting low and not enough light scatter, which makes it difficult to identify dark colored parked vehicles. Also, I live in a neighborhood with no sidewalks. People are out on the streets walking. If they have dark colored clothing on, it is extremely difficult to see these people as once again, the beam of light is projected low. On the older cars with halogen lighting, there was enough light scattering about to fully illuminate pedestrians as well as activate the rear relectors on cars. I feel these led head lights are quite dangerous and hope inprovements can be made. No incidents have occured, but I feel this will be an ongoing problem.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.