2019 Lincoln Nautilus Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There aren’t a lot of luxury crossover models to choose from, although the segment continues to grow in popularity. While it was the first model for the company, the 2019 Lincoln Nautilus gained a lot of attention because of the sleek design and promises of high-class travel. Even the automaker claims it comes with “a new generation of technology.” Once the owners spent some time driving it, they found that it does, in fact, come with a lot extra – in the form of problems. This SUV can’t seem to maintain a functional electrical system or responsive powertrain

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Lincoln-Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Lincoln Nautilus

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
18
Power Train
9
Unknown Or Other
8
Engine
3
Electronic Stability Control
3
Exterior Lighting
2
Seat Belts
2
Steering
2
Tires
1
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
1

Problems with the Transmission

Owners might be able to overlook some faulty accessories, but it is impossible to ignore when something goes wrong with the powertrain. Luxury vehicles should always shift smoothly for a comfortable ride, but that’s not what happens with the 2019 Lincoln Nautilus.

Another Edmunds reviewer says, “The transmission slips a great deal when trying to shift between 3rd and 4th gears. The vehicle has less than 2000 miles and the local dealer tells me that the transmission is still learning my driving patterns. That is bull because the problem is getting worse. I plan to take it in for servicing in the next week. In my state they get three tries to fix the problem. You must fill a lemon law case within the first year of owning the vehicle or eat it. My guess is that is why the dealer is trying to get me to delay bringing the vehicle in for servicing. Took the vehicle in to have the transmission to service. Dealer found the problem to be in the transmission control software and fixed the problem. However, at about 8,000 mile it is coming back again, but not as bad as before. The transmission has developed a new problem in that it bangs on occasion when shifted into drive. No noticeable pattern to the problem.”

With Service Bulletin #TSB 19-2103, we see that Lincoln is aware of transmission issues. The company discusses how some transmissions create a harsh, bumpy upshift, downshift and engagement concerns. They blame the problem on the PCM software and its parameters for upshift flares, stationary and rolling engagements. It requires a reprogramming of the PCM. It’s a shame that the dealer isn’t taking care of the problem for the reviewer above; leaving them with a malfunctioning luxury automobile. For the price paid to get behind the wheel of this Lincoln model, owners require much more than they are receiving. If they wanted Ford quality, that’s what they would have purchased instead.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Lincoln Nautilus Transmission Problems:

TRANSMISSION JERKS DURING AUTOMATIC SHIFTING AND AT SLOW SPEEDS ACCELERATES FORWARD. DEALER SAYS FORD IS AWARE AND THEY CAN’T REPAIR. OCCURS WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. HAPPENS EVERY TIME I DRIVE.

I HAVE CAR IN REVERSE , AFTER BACKING UP I PUT IT IN DRIVE AN FEEL AND HEAR A BIG CLUNK NOISE

MY 2019 NAUTILUS IS EQUIPPED WITH THE 2.7 LITER ENGINE. WHEN ACCELERATING HARD TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY OR PASSING ANOTHER MOTOR VEHICLE. THERE’S A STRONG ODOR OF VEHICLE EXHAUST. THE ROTTEN EGG SMELL TAKES OVER THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE FORCING YOU TO PUT DOWN ALL THE WINDOWS TO REMOVE IT.

Problems with the Electrical System

To compete in the luxury SUV market, the vehicle must contain the latest technologies and gadgets. Aside from that, everything must work well. Otherwise, owners have simply wasted their money.

One Edmunds reviewer is quite upset about the electrical system in the Nautilus. The review states, “The wireless charging system has no cut off. I purchased a new LG L6 phone specifically because it offers wireless charging. After about a 2 hour drive the alarm on the phone went off indicating a high temperature. And wow was it ever hot. If we did not have the door to the pocket open we would never have noticed and perhaps the Lion battery would have exploded. The pocket is unusable if the phone is on the charger. The glass is facing up and nothing should be put on it. This was not thought out too well by the designers.”

It’s clear that the electrical problems go beyond inconvenience in this vehicle. There have been two recalls related to the defects. The first one, labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 19V076000, states that the instrument cluster might not start-up or will go blank. This prevents drivers from seeing vehicle speed, temperature levels, safety system warnings and fuel data. To repair this, the automaker must reprogram the Panel Cluster Assembly.

In the second recall, labeled with NHTSA Campaign Number 19V031000, we see another failure, this time with the hands-off wheel alerts. It turns out that the Lane Center Assist can’t accurately tell if the driver has taken their hands off the wheel. This just proves that the new round of technology isn’t what the consumer wants if it doesn’t work correctly. Paying a premium price used to give customers the reliability and peace of mind that they paid for. Today, it simply means more recalls and trouble.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2019 Lincoln Nautilus Electrical Problems:

WHILE STOPPED AT A DRIVE THRU TODAY THE CAR STARTED GIVING OFF MULTIPLE WARNINGS OF SAFETY FAILURES–BLIND SPOT MONITORING, CAMERA, LANE KEEP, HILL ASSIST, AND AUTO HOLD. THE FINAL WARNING WAS A POWERTRAIN MALFUNCTION. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE A QUICK TWO MINUTE TRIP HOME AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP.

WITH LESS THAN 700 MILES ON THE NEW CAR, MY INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WENT BLACK. I TOOK IT TO THE SELLING DEALER WHO KEPT IT FOR SEVERAL DAYS AND SAID THEY COULDN’T REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I WAS INFORMED WHEN THEY RETURNED MY CAR THAT WHEN THEY FIRST STARTED THE CAR MY ISSUE WAS NOT THERE. WE RECEIVED SEVERAL TEXT MESSAGE WARNING FROM LINCOLN

19C03 RECALL WAS PERFORMED ON 4/22/19 AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL HAS GONE BLANK 7 TIMES OVER THE PAST 30 DAYS AND HAS BEEN IN THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP FOR A TOTAL OF 3 TIMES. I AM TOLD THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A FIX. SOMETIMES THE SCREEN IS BLANK ON START UP AND SOMETIMES IT GOES BLANK WHILE DRIVING. IN EVERY CASE AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES THE SCREEN WILL BEGIN TO OPERATE CORRECTLY. THERE IS NO PATTERN AS TO WHEN THIS ISSUE WILL OCCUR SO IT HAS BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO GET IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHEN IT IS BLANK. THIS HAPPENED ON MAY 1,6,7,15,17,19,AND 21.THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. HOPEFULLY LINCOLN WILL HAVE THIS ISSUE RESOLVED SOON.

STARTED CAR AND INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS BLACKED OUT. RESTATING CAR DID NOT CORRECT IT SO HAD NO VISIBILITY TO ANYTHING FROM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAY

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Lincoln pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
Leased 2019 lincoln nautilus has needed 10 roadside assistance calls and has been in the lincoln service for warranty work at least 9 times in the last 6 months for the same issue. The vehicle's battery is being drained when the vehicle is completely shut off. I've had numerous issues when going to start my vehicle for work or personal transportation and the vehicle's battery is drained. As a first responder my vehicle operational dependability is a priority. I've needed numerous jump starts from lincoln roadside service to get to work. At times I was unavailable to get to work because of the dead battery. I've had the car in lincoln service for the same issue 9 times with no resolve. My vehicle has been in the service department over 9 times now. I am currently in a loaner car because my vehicle is in the service department. When the problem first started my rear hatch door opened while I was driving the vehicle. Shortly after that the battery was draining when the car was shut off. This is a not only a transportation issue but also a safety issue.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 18, 2022
StateSD
Description
Water has entered a headlight and has caused the turn signal, drl and headlight functions to fail intermittently. Ford/lincoln has inspected and acknowledge the defect, and it is covered under warranty. However, they have not and do not admit to having a replacement headlight available. They do have headlight assemblies available for new car production and choose to use the new assemblies for new car production but have not set aside a headlight to honor my warranty claim in over 2 months. This is a significant safety issue for me and my family.
CategoryTires
DateMar 04, 2022
StateVA
Description
Tire size 265/40 r 21. I had 2 tires fail with sidewall breaks on this car, which was purchased on 8/23/2019. These were the original tires that came with the car. First sidewall problem occurred on 3/25/2021 when the car had only 6,700 miles on it. That tire was replaced. Tires were maintained and rotated as recommended by dealer. Then on 10/12/2021 when the car had 9,234 miles on it a second original tire cracked on the sidewall near the rim. Two tires failed in the same way in under 10,000 miles. Continental refuses to pro-rate the cost of the new tires or take any responsibility. I have since replaced all 4 tires with a different brand. Since contintental has a record of recalling tires for sidewall defects in the manufacturing process, and I have no recollection of damaging the tires while on the road, I believe them to be defective.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 27, 2021
StateTN
Description
Exhaust smell in cabin (interior) of car happens when full acceleration when passing or entering highway a/c on, outside air recirculate switch off (inside air only) has happen since new on car. Ford/lincoln dealership has checked for exhaust leaks, proper operation on climate control system, check rear hatch for proper sealing. No issues found. Dealership has verified problem. Oct 26 2021 east tennessee ford
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 08, 2021
StateFL
Description
Out of nowhere, a full accessory power active display showed, the ignition started to jerk and car shaking. Car was towed for a detailed dealership investigation, which is currently pending.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
DateSep 24, 2021
StateFL
Description
The backup warning at times doesn't alert you to cross-traffic. Also the backup camera image is terrible in the daytime and at night is almost impossible to see the image quality is so bad.
CategorySeat Belts
DateAug 25, 2021
StateOH
Description
With booster seats in rear seat, passenger side seat belt is extremely difficult to snap in in place. Got extenders but will not work on passenger rear seat different than the other 2 rear buckles. Wife can not strap grand children in and I the grandfather have a hard time. Shouldn't all the belts be the same? No problems with the other's.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 19, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving down the road, the outside mirrors folded inward, thus unable to see traffic passing to left or right
CategorySeat Belts
DateJul 27, 2021
StateSC
Description
The contact owns a 2019 lincoln nautilus. The contact stated that the front driver's side seat belt failed to unlatch as designed. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 16, 2021
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 lincoln nautilus. The contact stated that the instrument panel would intermittently go blank upon start-up of the vehicle. The contact stated that the instrument panel would remain blank throughout the duration of the drive and would resume normal function the next day. The contact had taken the vehicle to tuttle-click lincoln (43 auto center dr suite b, irvine, ca 92618) on numerous occasions however, the dealer was unable to replicate the failure after multiple attempts. Upon investigation, the contact linked the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 19v076000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was then notified of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not under recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateFeb 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
12/30/20 stopped at red traffic light with foot brake. Engine and electrical shut down. Vehicle went to park and would not start again or shift out of park. Nothing worked! Had to be towed to lincoln dealer. The mileage was 6,000! July 2020 I had complained of transmission banging shifting to drive or reverse. Dealer said all was fine. It has been 34 days, dealer replace a module witch did not fix problem. They are now replacing the transmission. The incident occurred at a shopping center light to enter highway 525. Approaching the signal vehicle was only traveling 2-3 mph.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2021
StateKY
Description
Cruise was set at 79 mph and the car shut down while the vehicle was in motion going straight on the interstate in the far left lane. This occurred 4 times with a lot of traffic, very fearful experience. The car died without any warning, I only knew it died because it stopped accelerating. Dealership had it for two week following the incidents. Gave it back to me explained that nothing was wrong with the vehicle, and then this same incident occurred again on 12/28/2020, again, causing fear,. This vehicle is in no way safe to be on the road. I am lucky to be alive.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateNov 11, 2020
StateVA
Description
I was driving in the left lane, of a multi-lane interstate. I had the cruise control on. There was a standard-sized dump truck in the lane next to mine, up ahead. The road was straight, with only a slight incline. There were no vehicles in front of me for at least a half of a mile or more, and all traffic was running smoothly. As I passed the truck, the car suddenly jammed on the brakes. I'm not sure, but I either instinctively hit cancel on the cruise control, or I put my foot on the brake. Either way, it arrested the hard braking situation. I noticed that the sun was at my 2 o'clock position, and as I began to pass the dump truck, its' shadow was thrown onto my vehicle. I'm surmising that perhaps the computer thought the shadow was an object and took action. Regardless, this was an enormous safety issue. Had there been a vehicle close behind me, it would have certainly resulted in a massive accident. If this car contains an event recorder, I would be happy for you or lincoln to download the data. I have lost all confidence in the "safety" features of this car, particularly the active braking system / collision avoidance system. I have noticed in the past, that it will jam on the brakes as it's coming around a curve on a multi lane road, when it doesn't "see" that the car ahead of me, is actually in another lane. I had learned to anticipate that behavior, but not the behavior experienced yesterday, with the all-out panic brake. If there is anything I can do to help investigate this incident, please contact me asap.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 09, 2020
StateLA
Description
Transmission shift ruff. Sometimes the transmission act as if want change gears but doesn't. Transmission is slow to engage from reverse to drive. The vehicle has a rotten egg smell after it gets hot.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 09, 2020
StateNY
Description
Driving and heard a load bang similar to a gunshot sound, scared the shi* out of me. Heard it a few more times and then had friends in the car and the same thing. Scared all in the car as well. Sounded like it was coming from the roof/above me. Figured it out that it is only when driving from one level to a different level surface. Like driving out of a driveway going over the little edge to the main road surface or into /out of a parking lot. Level/surface angling, then the bang... Looked over the vehicle to find a stress crack in the roof surface.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
There have been several instances when shifting from reverse to drive and shifting from drive to reverse, there is a loud metal on metal noise and the engine seems to race higher. This has happened when I'm backing out of the driveway or a parking spot. I do come to a complete stop before shifting.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2020
StateTX
Description
The dash screen goes completely black while driving. All safety features disabled. Randomly comes back on.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering
DateAug 12, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Lost power steering in middle of driving. Almost got into serious accident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 17, 2020
StateAZ
Description
The screen freezes up or goes blank while driving or upon starting up this is happened over a dozen times. When this happens the driver assist stops working along with the back up cameras the bluetooth the navigation everything that is on the screen is not available to me this is a huge safety hazard the dealership is aware of the issue and I am not the only one having this problem this needs to be fixed. Lincoln is aware of the issue and does not have a fix for it. The first time this happened was in september 2019 and it's been happening ever since!!!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 01, 2020
StateMD
Description
The sunroof exploded while driving north on md state highway 235 at approximately 60 mph. Purchased suv less than a month and hardly driven under covid conditions. Garaged when not on the road and no rocks or projectiles hit the sunroof. Although purchased as new, had over 800 miles driven. Took it to nearest ford dealership in a la plata, md. They stated that it was hit by a rock. Will pick suv back up tomorrow and take to dealership where it was purchased less than 30 days ago. Left message with sales rep who answered the phone and also on salesmanship voicemail.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 17, 2020
StateSC
Description
Driving about 65 mph on interstate highway, partly cloudy day, 70-75 f. Heard cracking sound, like crumpling aluminum foil for a few seconds before a loud explosion of overhead tempered glass sunroof and glass falling down on us. Not aware of any road debris hitting car or windshield prior to incident. Heard no object hit sunroof before glass cracking sound. No evidence afterwards of road debris damage to any car surfaces or windshield. Cause of failure may be large size of highly stressed tempered glass in conjunction with rigidity/flexibility of surrounding support structure, internal defect, or edge flaw. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 27, 2020
StateTN
Description
Driving car and stopped to get gas, blank instrumental panel when I restarted the car. The problem will not resolve unless car is turned off for a period of time, hour or longer. After it occurred 5 times march - august 2019 and has since occurred again december 24 2019 and april 26 2020. "air bag restraint fault" alert goes off every time. Each time I have had it in the dealership with nothing resolved. Implemented and update in august but only after I got ford corporate involved. I am so tired of dealing with this issue and it's not safe!
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 25, 2020
StateWA
Description
The dashboard would not light up when the vehicle was started. Stopped and started 3 times on the 2 hour trip, still not working. The next day, started vehicle to take to dealership, dash began to work?? There is a recall for this problem but my vin is not included?? Trip began on a city street, went to highway travel and back to city street.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 05, 2020
StateCO
Description
I am writing you because of my concern with the 2019 lincoln nautilus suv. I have leased this car from landmark lincoln in englewood, colorado. I had a frightening experience on friday night, december 20, 2019. I was driving slowly through a parking lot in a commercial area when my car went dead. No lights, no power ' everything inside and outside the car was dark. I was blocking cars parked perpendicular to where I was stuck. They couldn't get out as I was in their way. Of greatest concern was that I was left 'in harm's way' with a completely dead car and no way to move it to a safe area. We could not push the car because it was locked in gear and not in neutral. Lucky for me I was in a parking lot. If this had happened on a highway with speeds of 55 mph, I could have been killed and my car ruined by someone crashing into me. It was dark and I would have no protection for me and my car if someone inadvertently slammed into me, not seeing me or my vehicle. There needs to be some type of emergency lights or another way to prevent this potential death trap happening to someone else. Please work with lincoln and other manufacturers to insure better safety for consumers.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Steering
DateFeb 22, 2020
StateMD
Description
While driving the 2019 lincoln nautilus on a 4 lane highway with adaptive cruise control and lane centering on, the car all of a sudden turned into the next lane. It does this both to the right and the left. I was on the phone with both my mother and the lincoln service manager on separate incidents when it occurred. Also, I took it on a test drive with the lead mechanic and it did the same thing to him to the right, right where our veterinarian office is located. Center line was still there. After they had the car for a few days, and a conversation with the general manager, they determined that it was working as designed, they checked other non-nautulis vehicles and found the same thing. They told me that it would not happen on an interstate. I was shocked. There is no difference between a 4 lane highway and an interstate. I am a retired navy operational test pilot, and we would never allow this to be given to the fleet operators. I checked the operators manual on page 239. Here is what it says: the system may not correctly operate in any of the following conditions: ' your vehicle is not centered in the lane. ' the lane is too narrow or wide. ' the system does not detect at least one lane marking or when lanes merge or split. ' you switch the direction indicator on. ' limited steering torque input is applied. ' areas under construction or new infrastructure. ' when modifications to the steering system have been made. ' when using a spare tire. Note condition above: ' the system does not detect at least one lane marking or when lanes merge or split at the time of the incidents there were turn lanes on each side of the car with small openings to move into the turn lane. The center lane markings were always there.
CategoryElectrical System, Steering: Steering Wheel/handle Bar
DateJan 29, 2020
StateNJ
Description
2019 lincoln nautilus. Consumer writes in regards to heated steering wheels. Consumer stated that steering gets so hot that you cannot hold steering wheel. *ld *js
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 25, 2019
StateNJ
Description
My car had been in twice for repair and computer software update. I was rounding a corner and the engine shifted into neutral, stopping the car. The precollision aid was disabled. Luckily no one was behind me or they would have plowed into my car.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateNov 15, 2019
StateVA
Description
Unable to put gas in the tank more than 1/2 a gallon at a time. Fuel station pump shuts off as if the tank is full. This has happened on more than 1 fill up.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 05, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 lincoln nautilus. While at a red light, the vehicle stalled and shut off completely without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle without incident. The contact stated that the failure recurred on three separate occasions. The contact took the vehicle to al packer ford west palm beach (1530 n military trl, west palm beach, fl 33409, (561) 689-6550) where the contact was informed that the dealer was waiting for a part to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that the vehicle had been in the dealer's possession for close to a month. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that a manager would call back. The contact had not heard back from a manager. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 28, 2019
StateWV
Description
I reported a similar problem a few weeks ago; as I drive I get alerts of safety features not being available and a powertrain malfunction. While driving this afternoon speed less than 15 mph, I got the same alerts, but were followed by a complete loss of displays. The radio showed a "vehicle network communication error" and I could still see the prnds, but I lost all other controls: speedometer, odometer, tachometer, turn signals, and door controls. Additionally, when I pulled over to a safe location, I attempted to put my vehicle in park but only the emergency brake enabled. I have videos of both and have attempted to upload.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 14, 2019
StateWV
Description
While stopped at a drive thru today the car started giving off multiple warnings of safety failures--blind spot monitoring, camera, lane keep, hill assist, and auto hold. The final warning was a powertrain malfunction. I was able to drive a quick two minute trip home and had the vehicle towed to the dealership.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 11, 2019
StateDE
Description
I have car in reverse , after backing up I put it in drive an feel and hear a big clunk noise
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 02, 2019
StateCA
Description
My '19 nautilus is equipped with the 2. 7 liter engine. When accelerating hard to merge onto the freeway or passing another motor vehicle. There's a strong odor of vehicle exhaust. The rotten egg smell takes over the interior of the vehicle forcing you to put down all the windows to remove it.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 29, 2019
StateAL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 lincoln nautilus. Upon starting the vehicle, the instrument panel went completely blank and failed to function. The contact drove to stivers ford lincoln (4000 eastern blvd, montgomery, al 36116, 334-613-5000) where they informed the manufacturer of the failure. The manufacturer replied that they were unaware of the defect. The vehicle was returned to the contact unrepaired. The contact associated the failure with nhtsa campaign number: 19v076000 (electrical system); however, the dealer stated that the vin was not included. The dealer offered no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 3,500.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 26, 2019
StateMI
Description
Transmission jerks during automatic shifting and at slow speeds accelerates forward. Dealer says ford is aware and they can't repair. Occurs when vehicle is in motion. Happens every time I drive.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 22, 2019
StateFL
Description
With less than 700 miles on the new car, my instrument cluster went black. I took it to the selling dealer who kept it for several days and said they couldn't replicate the issue. I was informed when they returned my car that when they first started the car my issue was not there. We received several text message warning from lincoln. Photo attached.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 06, 2019
StateTN
Description
Purchased car march 23. On march 31, stopped to get gas, when restarted the car, the instrument panel was black. Did not come back up until next day. This has repeated on may 15th, may 29th, june 26th and aug 3rd. Navigation screen has frozen twice, april 16th and aug 2nd. I have had it into the dealer each time, kept it for nearly 2 weeks after the june 26th event and have yet to duplicate the problem or identify it. Problems present when starting the card, and disappear after the car has been turned off but only after a period of time (meaning if I turn it off and on immediately, it does not fix the issue).
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control
DateJun 08, 2019
StateTX
Description
On multiple occasions the hill start assist and forward collision warning both failed at the same time. Following that, when restarting the vehicle, the instrument control panel fails to illuminate. This disables the view of any of the control panel notifications, along with the speedometer. While the instrument control panel is disabled, the supplemental restraint failure notification appears several times. Restarting the vehicle does not seem to remedy the problem, it typically takes 24 hours before the function returns.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 22, 2019
StateGA
Description
19c03 recall was performed on 4/22/19 and the instrument panel has gone blank 7 times over the past 30 days and has been in the local dealership for a total of 3 times. I am told that they do not have a fix. Sometimes the screen is blank on start up and sometimes it goes blank while driving. In every case after about 20 minutes the screen will begin to operate correctly. There is no pattern as to when this issue will occur so it has been impossible to get it to the dealership when it is blank. This happened on may 1,6,7,15,17,19,and 21. This is a serious safety issue. Hopefully lincoln will have this issue resolved soon.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 02, 2019
StateTN
Description
Started car and instrument panel was blacked out. Restating car did not correct it so had no visibility to anything from the instrument panel display.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 23, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was driving on 3/22/19 at a speed of 55. I had been driving for aprox 30 min when my entire instrument panel went dark. It stayed dark for 2 min and then came back on and kind of re-booted itself.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 08, 2019
StateMI
Description
Headlights. The headlights during the night when in auto mode will flash the high beams without indication on the dash. The flashing lights cause distractions on the roads while driving, blinding oncoming traffic and signaling other drivers. The vehicle does have auto high beam feature but the headlights are flashing when traffic is present in well lit areas. This is a major safety concern and has been address with lincoln who has failed to address the issue. Vehicle lighting is a huge safety issue and has the potential to cause a deadly accident on the roads. In inclement weather conditions such as "fog" could blind the driver or other drivers and cause a crash. There has been other lincoln nautilus brought in for the same issues and we are being told that it is our vision and not the vehicle. I have a recording of the vehicle in motion at highway speeds flashing the high beam lights in well lit conditions with traffic. This was noticed when the vehicle only had less than 1k miles on it and continues to do so. I was also flagged by police for flashing lights and lincoln told me that if it happens again to let the officer know that I had it serviced. If I cause an accident I will file a lawsuit against ford motor company and/or lincoln motor company.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
6 COMMENTS
  • LDeShon

    My boss had a 2019 or 2020 Navigator, and she ended up filing Lemon law because there were so many issues with it. They finally took her car back after her throwing a bitch fit. I have a nautilus and I’m ready to be done with it. The transmission shifts when it shouldn’t, it goes into low when I try to accelerate, and I was stuck in a lane while everyone was trying to just get around me…how embarrassing. And this is after we had the engine already replace at $6000 because it was out of warranty due to mileage. This car just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I’m so ready to move on!!

  • C. S

    Anyone having an issue with the touch screen being jumpy and staying on climate control and not the Home Screen

  • LaVon L

    I leased this car brand new in 2019 and just bought out in cash- the lease in April 2022.
    I’ve had nothing but problems with it. From the display screen going black, transmission slipping into reverse on the highway, slipping into park at the red light. Car pulling while I drive, the hatch back slamming down while putting groceries in the back, collision alarm malfunctioning, radio not working, voice command not working, and the latest is on May 15th- car shaking, overheating, smelling rotten eggs/fireworks, had to be towed to shop.

    Dates of service:

    10/18/2019 Miles 8104 Oil change
    03/10/2020 Miles 11,831
    08/12/2020 Miles 14,570
    08/14/2020 Miles 14,647
    10/14/2020 Miles 15,409
    12/04/2020 Miles 15,957
    11/19/2021 Miles 22,527
    01/13/2022 Miles 23,491
    05/15/2022 Miles 25,614

  • Barbara W

    Does lincoln nautilis have rear shock problem

  • Larson R

    The All Wheel Drive (AWS) system. Today I loaded up my 2019 Lincoln Nautilus V6 2.7T Twin Turbo SUV at my Storage Unit. Upon exiting the facility, a snow plow had plowed a snow bank across my exit path. It did not seem like that big a snow bank, so I thought I could get a running start and punch right through it. Bad idea. When I hit the snow pile the front wheels got stuck and everything came to a halt. I put it in reverse and the rear wheels spun a bit then a warning light on the dash said ” rear wheel drive disabled”. The car wouldn’t move. I tried to rock it back and forth, but the rear wheels would spin for a short while then the warning light would come on again. If I waited about 5 minuets the rear wheels would re-ingage and the cycle repeated. I got out and looked. It really was not that much snow. I called the Lincoln Roadside Assist and amazingly a tow truck appeared in about 20 minuets and got me unstuck. The back of the SUV was loaded down with stuff from my storage unit and I thought the weight over the rear wheels would get me out, but the first timed I needed the 4 wheel drive to save me, it disengaged. I don’t get it. I could have bought the Front Wheel Drive version of this car and saved a lot of money. Tomorrow, I’m going to the Dealer service dept and see what they say. I’m glad my lease will be up in 12 months so I can move on. Thanks.

  • Matthew a

    Been having problems with our 2019 Natilus since month or less after purchasing it in October 23 2019. Started with roughness with transmission when changing gears or when in driving normally. This subsided gradually then the missing ot delay in changing gears started Ns still continues presently. Have taken it in for the 4th time. At Lincoln Ford dealership now. Second time within 2 weeks. Really tired of it. I believe Lincoln know what is going on with vechile but in denial. Not a happy customer. First time I have had any thing like this with a Lincoln or any other vechile after purchasing. Mileage is only little over 7000 miles. Less thN 2000 when problem started. Too much money invested

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.