2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Service brakes, fuel and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Full-size trucks come in a variety of styles and formats, but all owners want capability and durability. For many years, Chevy was known as a reliable automaker for pickups, but that might not be the case anymore. Despite the tagline on the Silverado saying, “The strongest, most advanced Silverado ever,” we just can’t agree. Instead, it seems this company is allergic to advanced technology based on how often it fails.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
28
Electrical System
21
Service Brakes
20
Engine
17
Steering
17
Unknown Or Other
13
Air Bags
7
Structure:body
4
Wheels
4
Vehicle Speed Control
4

Problems with the Electrical System

Even though the Silverado is often used for work, owners want a reliable electrical system to enjoy the comforts and amenities. However, this system is just a disappointment.

One NHTSA complaint states, “The backup camera brightness is so excessive it creates a hazard backing at night not being able to see out passenger side mirror, no brightness control for nighttime.”

It turns out that the faulty electrical system creates much larger trouble. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V888000 states that there is a possible defect in the battery positive cable that could lead to intermittent electrical connection. If this occurs, the vehicle could stall and an accident could happen. Additionally, there is the chance of electrical arcing, which could cause a fire. If Chevy believes that this is the “most advanced ever,” why would they want to burn it to the ground.

Problems with the Fuel System

The fuel system helps the gasoline reach the engine, when it is working correctly. Yet, this basic system doesn’t work the way it is supposed to.

Read this Edmunds review. “The gas gap was deleted on this truck in favor of a rubber flap.  Standard pump nozzles will fight you a little to remove them after filling up.  Not much, but just enough to drip gas on the body paint underneath the filler hole.  Annoying and eventually that will ruin the paint.”

Along with this fuel system complaint, there is also a recall to make note of. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V837000 states that some fuel pumps don’t have a pressure regulator, which causes over-pressurization of the system. If this happens, the fuel pump could crack and cause a leak, which once again, increases the chance of a fire. Again, this strong Silverado is subject to spontaneous combustion – which must make it the “most advanced.”

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

To be strong and advanced, the Chevy Silverado must have a solid structure, but that doesn’t appear to be the case.

Here’s one more Edmunds review to look at. “Unfortunately this big beautiful truck, is that’s all it is. I have owned one for three months and I drove to go to the store in heavy rain all sorts of water rushing everywhere. I’m thinking suckers no water will hurt me. I guess I was wrong. I just left my home and I guess if you hit a small amount of water at the correct angle it will create a vacuum and draw water from under the front of the truck. So here is my big beautiful truck broke down and small vehicles are passing me by. Btw GM says it’s my fault??? I guess I missed the disclaimer that tells me not to drive during rain. I guess I don’t understand stand what a Trail boss Z71 mean? Don’t get wet?”

The structure is sub-par to say the least, but a recent recall affecting more than 550,000 vehicles is even more alarming. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V814000 says that if a fire occurs on the front seat belt tensioners, the hot gas could vent through a bracket and ignite the carpet. While this might not be something most truck owners would ever think about, the Silverado has already proven to be susceptible to fire.

Problems with the Brakes

Above all, one of the most vital safety features is the brakes. Again, this Chevy truck can’t seem to get the basics down.

Another NHTSA user wrote, “When I stop slowly, the brake pedal starts to make a noise and starts to shake. You can literally feel your foot shaking when stopping slowly. It does not make it every time but when it does it makes it like 4 times. I first noticed this when driving on the highway while on a road trip then it started doing it on the city street. It does it when you are making a stop but haven’t stopped completely because when you come to a complete stop it stops doing it.”

As one would assume, there is yet another recall, this time for the braking system. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V116000 applies to more than 20,000 vehicles. It points out that the bolts meant to attach to the brake calipers were not heat treated. Because of this misstep, they could break under a heavy load. Not only can this defect interfere with wheel rotation, but it could also lead to decreased brake performance and a higher chance of an accident. Of course, this isn’t a compact car – it’s a full-size truck. Therefore, it is meant for heavy-duty loads, or supposed to be. Apparently, handling heavy-duty loads wasn’t accounted for when the company decided this was the “strongest” yet.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes, Trailer Hitches
DateJan 30, 2023
StateWI
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the trailer disconnected from the tow hitch. Additionally, the trailer brake warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and brake switch was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact related the failure to gm pit: 5948a. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 17, 2023
StateOH
Description
I have 75,000 miles on my vehicle and in the last 15,000 miles my check engine oil keeps going off. I change my oil every 5000 miles, I am having to add 1 quart of oil about every 1000 miles. I do not see any leaks or old oil on or around engine.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic:foundation Components:master Cylinder
DateJan 17, 2023
StateMS
Description
The contact's son owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while her son was driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled with the "service brakes system" message displayed. The contact stated that the failure recurred and that the vehicle was unable to accelerate over 40 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed that the brake master cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle remained at the dealer awaiting the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,500.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 16, 2023
StateNY
Description
Truck was purchased new in 2020. The transmission has worked fine until recently. Since this summer there is a distinctive whine coming from the engine department. Very hard to isolate. The transmission this winter has been terrible. The cold functionality of the transmission now is even worse than when new. It hesitates to shift to second and to third gear when cold. The transmission now also exhibits a failure to up shift when the vehicle is moving. It will hang with elevated rpms 2300 to 3000 for a second or two before upshifting and lowering the rpms. The truck now also has random clunking when shifting into reverse from dead stop. The transmission does not shutter but there is definite loss of power and that can be contributed to a bad torque convertor. If it is not locking up correctly when in gear power will suffer to the convertor failing to engage the transmission correctly. The shifting issue have persisted and gotten worse. Dealer said he put a computer on it and said there were no codes. The dealer mechanic did not even try to road test the truck that is just ridiculous. I will be taking the truck in again
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic:foundation Components:master Cylinder
DateJan 13, 2023
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving 55 mph and coming to a stop, the check engine warning light and traction control warning light illuminated. Additionally, a message indicating that the brakes had failed, and the vehicle could only drive at 40 mph was displayed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the brake master cylinder was replaced; however, the failure reoccurred while driving and coming to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the same repair was completed; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and sent the parts to the dealer for repair. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 64,000.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJan 09, 2023
StateAL
Description
I drove approximately 8 miles to lunch and parked the truck. It sat about an hour and when I started the truck to leave I had a message to service esc and power steering reduced. The tuck had no power steering. Returns to work and the truck sat about ten minutes. Then everything started normal and is fine.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 02, 2023
StateMI
Description
At approximately 42k miles my 2020 silverado started flashing a very frequent “service safety restraint system” warning light and beeping (either constant or every 10-15 minutes). Immediately contacted a chevrolet dealer to have it corrected. They have assured me that the repair is simple, will cost me 2 to replace a few steering wheel component parts to get the clock spring working correctly. They assured me they knew the issue would be resolved since their tech has “seen this a lot” but it took them all day to diagnose, and said since I was just past my bumper to bumper warranty it was not covered. That I could pay the diagnosis fee and take it home if I wanted. Since when is a faulty safety restraint system “fine” to drive? Of course I immediately authorized the out of pocket repair to be safe, but I am surprised and alarmed that chevy would allow them to return an unsafe vehicle to a customer and tell them it's “fine” rather than put them in a loaner vehicle or report the issue, since there are thousands of similar complaints for these silverado's. Truck is currently in the shop, on my dime and I am terrified that this will end up costing me more than 2.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 26, 2022
StateTN
Description
Shaking an jerking in transmission in all gears. Could be a serious issue if it locks up or stops pulling at speed or in heavy traffic
CategoryEngine
DateDec 21, 2022
StateWI
Description
Lifter failure caused several different warning lights and misfiring and chugging. Vehicle never died, but might have if it had continued to be driven.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
The 2020 chevrolet silverado has a known issue with the torque converters and they are currently on back order and our service manager told us we are able to drive with it messed up and that it would not cause anymore damage but it causes transmission lockup and engine lockup which results in loss of control.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 08, 2022
StateFL
Description
Brake system failure. While driving vehicle, brake system and traction control stopped working. Vehicle was then limited to 62 mph. Almost no braking available and pedal needed to be pushed very hardly to the floor.
CategorySteering
DateDec 05, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle and attempting to drive out of a parking spot, the power steering failed to function as needed. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact had taken the vehicle to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed and determined that the wiring harness for the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle had been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,624.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 04, 2022
StateSD
Description
I hit a concrete light pole at 10-15mph on the right side and zero air bags went off, I hit my face and arm and chest on steering wheel, broken my nose, messed left arm up and brushed left lung it's got fluid on it and ribs are bruised it's hard to breathe and move after a week happened on 2022 thanksgiving around 1030 pm cops showed up truck was undrivable, had x-rays and ct scans and have a heart scan this week,
CategoryElectrical System, Steering
DateNov 21, 2022
StateMO
Description
I keep getting battery saver activated. I go to start my truck and it will not start. On dash says battery saver activated. I have had in the dealer 4 times and it keep happening. I also have had the power steering go out while driving. This has only happened once and after a couple hours it started working again but seems very dangerous.
CategorySteering
DateNov 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The esc warning light was illuminated. The contact then stated that he turned off and restarted the vehicle and the steering wheel returned to normal operation. There was no warning light illuminated; however, the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 63,000.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 15, 2022
StateMS
Description
This is a huge vehicle. Side indicators were required back in 1968, and yet this monster truck doesn't have any definitive side markers. Also, the standard package does not have any turn indicators on its side mirrors. Even compact cars have this safety item.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateOct 31, 2022
StateMD
Description
I was involved in a 3 car accident where I was stopped and rear ended into another vehicle in front of me. My car experienced severe damage which led to multiple minor injuries and a concussion because the airbags were not deployed. Because they were not deployed, I aggressively hit my head on the steering wheel and dash area of my vehicle. I had my seatbelt own but because of the airbag not deploying, I experienced multiple injuries. The vehicle that rear ended me was going 40-50 mph when they collided and pushed me into the truck stopped in front of me. I did receive an alert right when this happened from my application on my phone stating “issue with airbag system. Schedule service now” meaning that the airbag was not able to deploy when it was supposed to do so. The police, ambulance staff and witnesses all did not understand why the airbags did not deploy considering how hard the collision was. As a result of the airbag not deploying both my wife and I have injuries to our head and neck and and multiple areas of our body.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateOct 24, 2022
StateIN
Description
Vehicle exhibited sudden loss of power at highway speed while in west texas. Without warning, the vehicle displayed an "engine power reduced" message and the vehicle immediately slowed from highway speed to a maximum speed of 25mph. This sudden reduction in power required the drive to take emergency action to leave lanes of travel for the shoulder. On a road with insufficient shoulder-area, this could have resulted in a collision. Prior to the loss of power, a check engine light illuminated followed by a "service emissions system soon" warning on the driver information display. The elapsed time between the messages and the loss of power was less than 5 minutes. The vehicle did not exhibit any erratic behavior at the time of the warning lights or prior to the loss of power. The vehicle is currently at bill estes ford in indianapolis, in. Diagnosis is underway. Indications are that this is related to issues with the emissions control system. The vehicle was up to date on all service at the time of the incident.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
Sunset jerking of vehicle, hesitation of vehicle when accelerator is hit at random times, when taking off from a traffic light or while cruising. If simmering need to get out of the way this could lead to vehicle hesitation and safety issues that could cause a crash. No errors were given in computer when dealership looked at it.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 15, 2022
StateWA
Description
Torque converter faulty and told vehicle unsafe to drive. Only about 12,000 miles on vehicle. It was skipping gears while driving. It appeared initially very small and almost unnoticeable, but got worse over time going back a few weeks at least. The dealer has had the vehicle for over 30 days and cannot get the part shipped to them. They told me it may be shipped on october 22, while I dropped the car the first week of september.. Being told it is unsafe to drive, it definitely put us in danger driving it. Service bulletin so they know about the problem: https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2020/mc-10184489-9999. Pdf
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateOct 11, 2022
StateWI
Description
Truck mileage approx 26000 miles. 2 wiring harness locations rubbed wires enough to cause wire to wire contact resulting in 1 location, burnt wires, according to service tech and the other resulted in truck malfunction. Threw numerous codes, transmission repeatedly went p, d, p, d.... Unable to put in park for sometime and then finally was able to. Additionally, when serviced out of state, was recommended to have service done for leaky oil pan. Upon returning to home state, truck went in for oil leak, was returned due to parts ordered because it's leaking at the rear main seal and not the oil pan. Waiting on this service to occur.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
First I I'd notice my pedal kick every once in a while then pulling into driveway all warnings kicked on and truck was hard to stop almost hitting garage. I got engine light, traction control light, and brake light ,service ecs,brake system failure 43mph max speed , service brake assist
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTN
Description
Purchased the truck through carmax and two weeks later received the “service brake assist” and “brake system failure” message on the console. This has happened twice in in one month.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
Vehicle didn't start; got stranded. Tried to jump start with another vehicle. It turned, but didn't turn on. Had it towed to mechanic (closed on sunday). Was lucky to be in an area I was familiar with during the day and not traveling over 250 miles the following day with family at night. Mechanic called monday and stated fuel pump has to be replaced after a diagnostic test. 2020 chevrolet silverado @ 50,000 miles
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Vehicle was parked. Rear window shattered.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateSep 29, 2022
StateWV
Description
Locks will go up and down by themselves tranmission will downshift randomly broke down on highway service light service esc service parking brake and traction control vehicle only has 32,500 miles been complaining nothing getting done just want something else.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 17, 2022
StateGA
Description
Transmission keeps over heating to the point that a message comes on display “transmission hot idle engine” have had this same problem before to it to the dealership they installed a temperature bypass on and this problem continues
CategoryEquipment:electrical:infotainment
DateSep 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
While using backup camera, display is intensely bright and blinding. There is no dimming function. Display reflects off side windows making visibility to side mirrors impossible. Very dangerous to backup in the darkness.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
My truck felt like running over rumble strips. At 17500 miles they replaced my torque converter under warranty. Now at 24690 miles they had to replace again, under warranty. With less than 25000 miles it is on it's 3rd torque converter. I fear that transmission is being damaged and feel chevrolet needs to admit there is a problem. My current dealer calls it a lifetime warranty, with lots of strings, but chevrolet should protect me.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
Passenger door lock failed. Door will not lock with any door button, key fob, automatic lock function, or when vehicle shifts to drive. Door must be manually locked by pressing lock down and unlocked by pulling door handle risking safety of passenger. Issue has been reproduced, inspected, and confirmed by independent mechanic but no diagnostic has been ran yet. There were no warning lamps, messages, or symptoms present prior to failure.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 03, 2022
StateWV
Description
My silverado 1500 has developed torque converter shudder again over the course of the past few days. My current mileage is around 42,000. This is actually the second time this has happened on my specific vehicle and the current torque converter is actually the second, as I had my other one replaced after being confirmed by a dealer several months ago. I have only managed to drive around 10,000 miles between the replacement of the first part and the start of the second one failing. For information regarding the first failure please use reference id 11458308. This has not yet been confirmed by a dealer, but I'm scheduled to get this serviced on tuesday. I am certain that is what this is as this happened so recently. Primarily while driving at highways speeds between 1500 - 2000 rpm my silverado will continuously surge forward every few seconds with a notable clunking in the rear. While this is happening I will watch my tachometer bounce up and down approximately 300 rpms constantly, despite the fact cruise is set and this is on flat ground. The problem gets worse while driving uphill and increases the magnitude of the clunking/shaking. Under light throttle acceleration my truck will have a vibration coming from under the vehicle that feels exactly like driving over a rumble strip. This was the sensation that helped the dealer identify this as torque converter shudder the first time. No warning lights were present at time of incident.
CategoryStructure:frame And Members
DateAug 31, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that upon purchase of the vehicle, he noticed an orange-colored rust underneath the chassis of the vehicle. The salesman assured him that the rust would be cleaned off once the sale was finalized. Months later, the contact noticed the same orange colored rust had returned. Upon inspection of the vehicle, he discovered severe corrosion located in several spots on the subframe. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer for the repair. The contact then received a call back from the dealer and was informed that no corrosion was found, the dealer linked the failure to structural rust. The contact disputed the diagnoses and the dealer agreed to have a further inspection performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000.
CategorySteering
DateAug 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
Popping and/or clunking type noise heard during hard turns at slow speeds and backing up. Seems to be a problem with the control arm
CategorySteering
DateAug 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that after being parked for several hours, the vehicle was started and operated in drive(d) and reverse(r) however, the vehicle failed to turn to the right or left. The contact stated that the steering wheel had seized. The contact was able to disconnect the battery then reconnect the battery once the torque rebooted. The failure occurred twice. The warning light displaying an open wrench stating esc needed resetting was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that the failure might be caused by the sensor in the steering column, or the module. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 13,500.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:exhaust System:emission Control
DateAug 05, 2022
StateTX
Description
While driving, the service emission system light activated indicating the truck would be reduced to 65mph. This was due to a faulty egr wiring harness that controlled the egr sensor.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 01, 2022
StateID
Description
The advanced trailering system will fail to load, preventing the user from entering the correct vehicle being towed and the entire system screen is blank and won't load. This could be a huge safety concern if the driver cannot select the correct vehicle being towed since the brake gain is stored in the advanced trailering system and then the incorrect amount of braking force will be applied to the vehicle while it is being driven, which could cause insufficient or excessive braking forces applied to the towed vehicle. This could lead to rear end crashes or jack-knifed crashes. The problem is random but repeatable quite frequently and has been confirmed by the dealer (refer to included gm bulletin pit5792 published on 11/5/2020) gm has been aware of this problem for almost 2 years and has not provided a fix for it. I have had this vehicle in the dealer on at least 3 occasions to fix the problem there is no advanced warning, message or other symptom prior to this problem. The problem started within a month of purchasing the vehicle
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJul 20, 2022
StateOK
Description
My truck had been randomly misfiring but the dealership couldn't resolve the issue because the check engine light would go away on the way there. They were able to pull codes showing a misfire taking place and told me to return if it continued. The truck started having misfire issues again periodically fir the next 2 weeks but once the check engine light stayed on I scheduled an appointment. On the way to the appointment to hidiburg chevrolet we were on the interstate the cruise control kicked off, the service parking brake indicator, misfire flashing of check engine light, an esc warning, and the traction control light came on as the truck randomly pulled to the right real quick then it stopped. Once the indicators went off all warning indicators were off and cruise control would not work. The dealership pulled codes and saw every cylinder misfired and that the other issues that took place. They tested everything and could not find the source and said that they had to wait until the indicator stayed on so they could see the issue. I left with no resolution and concern that when the misfiring could damage parts and the computer. I also fear that the issue if someone isn't aware of vehicles not fixed could lead to severe accidents and potential for death if not fixed.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJul 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
As I was backing out of a parking spot in a lot my vehicle lost it's power steering. I got an service esc error code, a wrench indicator, and a service power steering/drive with care warning. I also got a diagnostic alert from on star. Diagnostic alert: service antilock breaking system in your 2020 silveragod pithing the next 7 days. I was unable to move steering wheel, and could only pull my vehicle forward. So it was stuck sideways in the parking lot for about 20 minutes. My car did restart again and the code cleared. I was able to drive it to the dealer. They ran diagnostics but were unable to duplicate the concern. They did find a history of 1 fault where several modules (ecm, ebcm, tcm, tccm) had lost communication with the power steering control module. They also looked at data com schematic doc 5257308 and found modules before connector x182 had lost communication. My safety was a risk in this situation because I was stuck sideways in a parking lot with very limited ability to move my vehicle for incoming or outgoing traffic. Had this happened while I was driving the vehicle in a roadway I believe it could have caused an accident. The dealership did find that a harness was making contact with the upper control arm bolt. They re-taped the harness and secured it away from the control arm bolt and bracket. A new bracket was ordered.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
I was driving and a few different warning appeared. Service parking brake, service trailer brake system, steering assist is reduced drive with care. Along with these warning my speed was limited to 62 mph, my steering was reduced and my braking was reduced, all 3 of them to dangerous levels.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 01, 2022
StateMN
Description
I am a volunteer firefighter. On friday, june 24th 2022, I was responding to an emergency call around 1am. There was an active rainstorm and standing water on parts of the street. While driving through roughly 5-6" of water on the way to the fire station, my truck's engine suddenly shut off and I came to a stop. While stalled, I watched multiple cars travel through the same intersection with no issues. My fellow firefighters helped me get my truck to a nearby parking lot to sit and dry out. The following day my truck still would not start so I had it towed to the dealership where I leased the truck which was still under a full bumper-to-bumper warranty. After initial diagnostics, I was told there was water in my intake and I had to get my insurance company involved for the dealership to continue with the repairs. With no other choice, I opened up a claim and was given an estimate of over ,500 for the repairs due to the engine being "hydro-locked". I called gm and filed a complaint. They called the dealership and called me back stating the dealership told them I drove through a flooded road and damaged my engine. I did some brief research online and found several examples from multiple sources with the exact same issue. I feel that this is a design flaw and that this needs to be investigated further as I was stranded by myself, in a heavy rainstorm, in the middle of a roadway at 1am. There is no reason that a 2020 chevy trail boss should not be able to travel through the amount of water that stalled my engine. There was nothing negligent about my actions and at no point was I worried about traveling through the water that I drove through. I feel like I am being treated unfairly in this situation and I would like someone to look through the databases to see how many similar consumer reports there have been regarding this design flaw. This is a major safety issue!
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJun 26, 2022
StateSC
Description
The component that recently failed on my 2020 chevy silverado is the side detection/blind spot warning. It no longer works and upon startup of my vehicle the notification on my dash shows “side detection temporarily unavailable”. This problem started 3 weeks ago. After doing research online, it seems that there is a common issue in chevrolet vehicles with water getting into the rear sensors in the bumper. There were also several new model silverado's with the same issue. As you can see, this is a safety issue as this feature all of a sudden stopped working on my truck so I no longer get warned if someone is in my blind pit while I am driving. I contacted my local chevrolet dealership and they stated that because my vehicle is over 30,000 miles (36,000), I am no longer covered under warranty to have this issue repaired. My vehicle is scheduled to be looked at by the dealership on 6/27/22.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
Transmission shuddering and shaking while driving. Once in blue moon service light flashes for less than 1 minute then goes off with no diagnostic codes to show.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 14, 2022
StateWA
Description
Abs light came on during breaking to avoid an accident and did not break the vehicle at all. Now there is a alert on the driver information center(dic) stating a break system failure.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 13, 2022
StateTN
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while stopped in her driveway, the vehicle started rolling forward. The brake pedal was depressed aggressively several times however, the brakes failed to respond. After several attempts, the vehicle came to a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the mechanic stated that the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure however, there was no response. The failure mileage was 14,562.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 05, 2022
StateMN
Description
I have been researching rust on frame components and found there have been service bulletins issued (e. G. Pi0564k) for this same issue. However, the latest service bulletin only covers up to model year 2019. Is there anything in progress to extend to model year 2020?
CategorySteering
DateMay 26, 2022
StateIN
Description
Electronic problem caused failure of power steering.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 24, 2022
StateCO
Description
I bought the truck a year ago drove it home it stalled out on me for no reason thank goodness I was in a neighborhood when that happened, fast forward a year of driving it and now my gauges aren't working it's throwing all these warning signs and spent a lot of money on this truck and for what for all these problems that it's having it's my only vehicle for my kids and me and the wife and now I'm worried it's going to cause me to get into an accident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 09, 2022
StateCA
Description
When I drive this car on the free way or on a very windy day, a loud air gap is caused by the front driver and passenger window. It hasn't been inspected by the dealer or anything but I believe there could be something wrong with the quality of glass or the seal that hold the glass. I've also driven with the windows lowered on a windy day and saw the edge of the glass bend. I'm worried it's gonna snap or shatter one day. It's been happening since I bought it but I didn't notice until I drove on the free way.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Steering
DateMay 06, 2022
StateNY
Description
Vehicle had several lights on dashboard and messages, service brake system,engine power reduced, service trailer brake controller, service esc, service power steering. Vehicle lost power steering and brakes were nearly all impossible to push…luckily I was near my house and got home safe, my family or myself could've been seriously hurt
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control:accelerator Pedal
DateMay 05, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle shutoff without warning. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer module was faulty. The vehicle was repaired. Additionally, while driving, the brake pedal was depressed however, the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle revved and there were several unknown warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the same local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure after performing a test drive. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 04, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Airbags failed to deploy when I hit a deer going 50-55 mph. There was a chemical smell after the impact but no airbags deployed,
CategoryEngine
DateApr 26, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle experienced reduced engine power. The reduced engine power warning message was displayed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear main seal needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the rear main seal; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, and the dealer replaced the rear main seal a second time; however, the failure recurred with engine oil leaking onto the ground. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened. The failure mileage was approximately 11,340.
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateApr 19, 2022
StateGA
Description
Right front wheel control arm broke on the interstate running 70mph with no control.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
The passenger door is attached properly, when the truck reach 70 mph or higher and little cross wind, there is really loud noise like the brakes sticking. I was afraid the door might flew off while I'm driving and I have infant in the back. I took the truck in to the dealership where I purchased and the problem was never fixed. When I took the truck back the 2nd time, the dealership told me to take my truck to gm dealership. I took the truck to the gm dealership hour later my truck was ready, apparently this problem happened to another vehicle. Now the noise is worst and it's on both side when I'm driving 70mph or higher with cross wind. I took the truck back to the dealership and now I'm waiting on parts to arrive 2 weeks later no call back. It's been one year 6 months with less than 19000 miles, afraid the doors might pop off and still the problem is not fixed.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 25, 2022
StateWV
Description
Vehicle developed a sensation at approximately 28,000 miles similar to driving over a rumble strip. At approximately 32,000 miles this was diagnosed as a failing torque convertor. There are tsbs related to this for the 8 speed transmission, but dealer stated no known tsbs exist for the 6 speed. The truck is currently in the shop getting the torque convertor replaced and should be available for pick-up in the upcoming week. Rumble strip sensation occurred under light throttle acceleration and presented more frequently on an incline. There were occurrences on flat ground, but this was not as common. The vibration occurred most often at highway speeds of around 70 mph, but also occurred several times in the ranges of 20-30 and 40-50 mph. Tachometer reading during these occurrences was around 1,500 - 2,000 rpm. Issue was intermittent and would come and go. Most of the time the sensation was mild, but periodically the vibration would be severe enough the driver felt like he had been rear-ended. A separate symptom would occur while going up hills and the tachometer would bounce up and down approximately 300 rpms with a noticeable surging sensation. When presenting, the vehicle would surge forward every few seconds until the hill had been crested. This only occurred at highway speeds with cruise set and would not present when the rumble strip vibration was present.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 10, 2022
StateTX
Description
I was driving down i27 10 miles south of lubbock when my 2020 silverado 1500 3. 0 diesel engine stopped accelerating. I was going 75 miles per hour and the truck just stopped causing trauma for me and my family we were lucky enough to get to the side of the road. I ended up calling gm roadside assistance and they sent a tow truck to pick us and the truck up. The truck wouldn't engage into drive nor reverse. Once towed to the dealership, gene messer chevrolet, in lubbock, texas, a service tech mentioned that a ton of the lifters bending push rods are going out on the late 2019, 2020 model silverado due to cheaper lifters added to the vehicles due to covid shortage supplies. In essence, they wanted to get these models out with no regard to safety of the consumer. I'm not pleased with the craftsmanship gm has lined out on these trucks, this could've ended way worst. They jeopardized my families safety for profits. Right now the truck is still awaiting diagnostics still won't drive nor reverse per dealer service tech. It's just a terrible situation, the truck is new only has 25,500 miles on it, this needs to be recalled.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 01, 2021
StateTX
Description
Service esc and service parking brake error. This was followed by loud pinging noises from the engine. Sounds like a misfire and knocking heads or valves.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 28, 2021
StateTX
Description
At least 3 times while driving the entire radio and information system has shut down while driving and completely gone black for 2-3 minutes and reset to factory reset this does not show as recall but worried that it may shut down vehicle completely have told dealership during routine maintenance and they said they find no problem obviously there is a reason this is happening
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Steering
DateMay 28, 2021
StateTN
Description
Driving 50mph and the truck starts bucking, backfiring, and missing. Code appeared on the dash stating service esc. Lack of power steering and braking I parked the truck.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateMay 26, 2021
StateWV
Description
I was leaving work on may 17th and got in my 2020 silverado and started the vehicle. Immediately codes were thrown on the dash stating that the power steering was out and that the esc system needed serviced. The traction control system/esc light was also illuminated on the dash. I was unable to turn the steering wheel whatsoever. I turned the vehicle off and restarted approximately three times all of which still were displaying the codes listed above. I let the truck sit for approximately 20 minutes and the codes had cleared themselves and the vehicle was functioning as it should. I immediately drove to the dealership and had it serviced. Dealership stated there was a programming issue related to the ebcm, which if I'm not mistaken was a recall already issued for the 2019 models. I have seen many instances online of this same issue occurring and sometimes impacting the ability to brake (if vehicle was in motion at time of onset). My onset occurred at approximately 14,000 miles while in park. Since the servicing (approximately 1 week) issue has not been replicated, but I am not sure if the problem has been fixed or if the computer is just functioning properly and will glitch again at some point in the future.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Parking Brake
DateMay 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle suddenly started to shake and misfire. The contact stated that the esc warning and service parking brake warning lights were illuminated. The contact coasted to the side of the road and restarted the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who diagnosed that the electronic stability control module had performed an automatic reset as designed. After the reset, the misfire occurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,700.
CategoryPower Train, Suspension, Wheels
DateMay 09, 2021
StateAR
Description
My truck has already had a shimmy feel in the transmission around 60 mph it shook and would slip gears. I just had it get worse this week. I also noticed that the front end is not shaking really bad from 60-75 mph on newly paved roads. The truck used to drive like a dream now its driving so rough and there is something going on!
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
The vehicle does not shift into 4wd low range. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer 4 times to correct the issue but the issue still occurs.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 19, 2021
StateNV
Description
Infotainment system randomly shuts down completely(screen turns off along with all audio and connected devices). Also the usb port refuses to connect and/or randomly disconnects items attached to it. This happens while the vehicle is stopped or in motion. It has done it on the highways, freeways, interstates, city streets, country roads, dirt trails, my works private property, everywhere in short. Happens on hot summer days and cold winter nights. Its 100% random. Chevy knows of the issue but has refused to fix for more than a year now.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 16, 2021
StateTX
Description
I was involved in an accident that included a role over and the air bags did not deploy. Gm sent out engineers to investigate but said nothing was wrong even though the air bag malfunction light came on during and after the accident. My roof, windshield was caved in and my front end took heavy damage. All four tires were blown and they said nothing was wrong with the air bag system. Onstar reported the air bag issue to me through email as well.
CategoryWheels
DateApr 15, 2021
StateCA
Description
Michelin tire exploded while driving on a highway approximately 30 mph, no problems before. Only 14,500 miles driven
CategoryStructure:body, Wheels
DateApr 10, 2021
StateCT
Description
Vehicle bought new from dealer dec 2020. I decided to replace some lights so, I lowered the spare tire for better access while replacing a light bulb. I noticed everywhere the spare tire and the frame cross members come into contact the paint has rubbed away and rust has begun to form. Also, the sidewall of the spare tire has corresponding spots where the rubber has worn away. This leads me to have concerns as to the spare tire's availability in the event of a flat.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateApr 05, 2021
StateGA
Description
The engine light has come on 3 times with a truck with only 9000 miles on it I took it to the dealership who gave me a code of p12a6 they told me chevrolet is aware of this problem but has not come up with solution yet or even wrote a program to reflash the computer. Now I have a paper weight in my driveway and being that I live in a dual town trying to find a dealership that will fix it and provide rental car or truck. This defect can be multiple reasons with the engine harness wires chaffing or torque converter or transmission plus the whole electrical system not cranking over the truck from what I was told last time. Now I'm waiting till 730 to call a dealership see if they have a roll truck to pick it up and get it to a dealership where they can try to fix this problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
2020 silverado 1500 duramax. Torque converter failed with 6700 miles on new leased vehicle. Originally began having transmission issues in nov 2020 with surging while stopped in cold weather. Dealer reseated all connections. Began to have loud whining when shifting. Took back to dealer and informed it is turbo whine. Not convinced. March 2021 began surging again. Returned to dealer and kept for week. Mechanic stated could not produce problem. As I drove to the main street at dealership began surging. Returned to service, mgr goes with me and confirms issues with whine and surge. Back in the shop. That was 22 march and as of 8 april; torque converter failure and ordered new bell housing. Going on 4 weeks without truck.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Power Train
DateApr 02, 2021
StateMD
Description
My lights in the dash inside the truck. Go from bright, to dark black all the time since april 2020. My 4 wheel drive engage, wont work. 12/12/2020 in the snow trying to drive home
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
This truck has 2700 miles on it. Got in to drive it home from the store today and the service engine light is on. Says stabilitrak error and antilock brake error. Brake pedal felt strange so I was afraid to drive it after reading similar stories about trucks veering or not braking when the pedal is depressed. Called dealer to schedule service. This truck hasn't even had its first oil change yet and already having electrical problems.
CategorySteering
DateMar 23, 2021
StateOH
Description
Loss of steering . I started truck and put in drive as I was trying to drive forward I realized the steer wheel would not turn at all. I looked down to see lights on the dashboard service esc and something about loss of steering on the info screen. I cant believe this truck is not even a year old have an issue like this. I am lucky I wasn't at highway speeds or in traffic and just in my driveway. I turned truck off and restarted it and it seems as nothing happened . Everything is normal and no lights on. I tell you I am very scared and worried to drive this vehicle and cannot believe this has been overlooked by gm and the nhtsa since I have seen and heard multiple complaints about this.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateMar 20, 2021
StateAL
Description
Battery keeps discharging. Making sure no lights left on in vehicle. Totally drained battery in just 3-4 days without cranking or moving. After recharge cranked normally
CategoryElectrical System, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 09, 2021
StateIL
Description
This truck doesn't even have 7500 miles on it. It was driven to work this morning without issue and parked for approximately four hours. Upon attempting to start it for lunch hour three messages showed up in the dic: 1) 'service esc', 2) 'service power steering', and 3) 'park assist off'. In an attempt to evaluate I pulled the truck forward and the available steering reflected an inoperable power steering system. I backed into the spot again and shut the truck down. I started the truck and shut it down four or five more times with the same messages presented (although park assist stopped appearing) and only on the last time did the messages go away and power steering returned.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 07, 2021
StateTX
Description
One of the coolant hoses rubs up against the crankshaft causing hose to bust and leak reduced engine power light comes on and check engine light chevy had to use a different hoes to not rub against the crankshaft
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 23, 2021
StateMI
Description
Frame paint peeling off within 6 months. Drivers and passenger side frame above rear axles. Multiple complaints documented on chevy forums. Paint falls of with simple wash exposing bare metal frame which will lead to premature rust and corrosion
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 23, 2021
StateMI
Description
Rear passenger pillar leaking and causing rust, staining of headliner and pillar covers. Documented by many owners on chevy forums. Leak may be from roof seal or rear window.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 18, 2021
StateWA
Description
My truck is only a year old and one morning I was reversing out of driveway and back up camera stopped working
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateFeb 09, 2021
StateTX
Description
My wife got into an accident where she rear ended ford fiesta and hit it so hard that vehicle pushed a 2006 dodge full size pickup 100 feet down the street and the airbags didn't deploy
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 22, 2021
StateIA
Description
Backup camera only is functional in perfect weather conditions. If it's dark with no light, the camera has resolution similar to a 1950 tube tv. If it's rainy or cloudy, the backup camera is not functional either. There are numerous yellow lines and extremely poor quality picture in many other conditions too. Chevy has not done anything to fix this issue in my truck. The visibility is so bad I hit my trailer hitch on the bumper 7' off of my hitch location. I couldn't see that my trailer was that close to me on the screen
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 21, 2021
StateCT
Description
Multiple instances of service esc, service parking brake and check engine light come on. The brakes are then affected and are tough to press causing the braking to be slowed down and the abs kicked on while in motion.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 10, 2021
StateFL
Description
2020 silverado rst 1500 4x4 allstar with 8 speed transmission. At 4,000 miles developed a shutter in transmission and slipping and hard shifting mainly between gear 1-2. Bad enough when you start from a stop when it shifts you fall forward. The acceleration pushes you back and then it just slips to no where till it catches and goes. Contacted shop and was told at 1st oil changed they would flush the fluid per the service bulletin. This made it way worse. Shifting is more rough and shudder is more frequent. Took it back for the 2nd time and had to drive with a tech so they could experience the issue. It is going back to the shop tomorrow 1/11/2020 with only 7,500 miles with hopes of a new torque converter. This should be a recall and result in a class action. This issue is so common and this truck is brand new. Had it in shop with 2,000 miles with an oil leak.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 09, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving around 40 mph and higher truck suffers extreme wind noise which the dealership describes as wind turbulence. Truck sounds like a window is cracked open while driving even though all windows are all the way up.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 30, 2020
StateAR
Description
This truck is 2 months old and only has 2300 miles on it. On sunday 12/27, the truck would not start. All dash panel and light indicator warnings came on including 4 wheel drive assist failure, brake system failure, tps failure, check engine, battery error, etc. After jump starting the battery, the truck turned on but the check engine light stayed on all day. On monday 12/28, the truck did not start again however, this time, no indicator lights, dash panel or anything came on and I was also unable to even lock the truck. It was towed to the dealership and after 2 days they still have not found the problem with the truck although they have indicated there is a clear problem. The truck is still currently at the dealership.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 18, 2020
StateMA
Description
Drove to work no issues no lights after work I start the truck check engine light is on service ebrake light is on and the ebrake light is flashing truck will not move ebrake is stuck on and I did not set the brake when I parked
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 16, 2020
StateID
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving 55 mph downhill, the vehicle independently shifted into neutral with an unknown warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle resumed normal operation after the vehicle was turned off and restarted. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to young buick gmc (325 overland ave, burley, id 83318) to be diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000. ## vin passed ## chevrolet 2020 silverado ##
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateDec 14, 2020
StateLA
Description
In may I purchases a 2020 silverado. On december 05th, 2020. I was driving on the interstate heading home from my son's football game . The "service brake system" message displayed on the vehicle's dashboard. Braking became sluggish and stiff. I initial thought the brake fluid had had leaked out. The vehicle maintained power to all other systems. Once home I checked the engine bay and brake calibers and found them to be intact. At this time the vehicle has 12,400 miles. After a initial assessment, was informed that it was determined to be a "computer glitch" that was effecting the transmission and brake sensors. The brake module was replaced and transmission "software" was updated. This was completed on december 09th, 2020. Upon completion the techs conducting a "drive test", at which time the warning appeared again. My vehicle remains at the service department, while they "troubleshoot" the problem. Due to the vague responses being provided by the dealership service staff and the lack of an estimated time line for the completion of the repairs. I believe there is a much larger issue that they don't want to reveal.
CategorySteering
DateDec 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
Drove to sams club and returned to my truck an hour later. Turned on the truck and I had a service power steering message, drive with care warning as well as service esc. It was really hard to turn the steering wheel. I turned off the truck and pulled out the manual. After 5 minutes, I turned the truck on and no change. I kept reading and about 15 minutes later I turned on the truck again and this time the steering was back to normal with no dash messages. I drove home and scheduled an appointment for 12/14/202 with my dealer, ancira chevrolet, san antonio, texas. I read on the internet that other silverado owners are having the same problem. My truck only had 4,529 miles when this happened.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 09, 2020
StateCA
Description
Im getting a hard clunk sound when shifting into reverse. It just started happening and its not frequent enough to take it in to replicate.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 09, 2020
StateNC
Description
Traveling at about 75-80mph, on a highway, - brakes engaged, slowing vehicle by about 15mph causing the truck to jerk as if it missed a gear. "service esc" diaglogue, traction control light, and check engine light came on.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 07, 2020
StateFL
Description
My new 2020 chevy silverado trail boss truck burned down in my front yard. I had driven it that morning for a short duration and it was operating normal. I arrived home around 1:30pm, parked it and awoke to it fully engulfed in flames just before midnight. The truck had been parked for approximately 10 hours before it ignited.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateDec 02, 2020
StateCA
Description
When attempting to start from a stop at an intersection when the auto start/stop function has stopped the engine, the vehicle will frequently hesitate to start, then once started exhibits unusual engine/transmission behavior. This truck is now on its fifth check-engine light service for identical failures of the auto start/stop function. The gm onstar diagnostics reports indicate 2 failure modes, one with the engine/transmission and the other with the lithium-ion battery. I have several concerns. 1, I may be stranded at an intersection with a vehicle that will not restart and/or has stalled in the intersection and 2, the lithium-ion battery will fail catastrophically leading to a vehicle fire.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateNov 18, 2020
StateCA
Description
Repetitive faults of the auto start/stop system. I have notifications on three separate occasions while driving the vehicle from the onstart diagnostics service of two identical faults. One, a defect with the engine & transmission system and one a defect with the lithium-ion battery. To date there has not been an effective repair. The latest attempt, replacing the lithium-ion battery, somehow has forced the system to no longer function under any condition. Driving conditions varied each time.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 10, 2020
StateNY
Description
Whille sitting at a red light, the automatic engine stop feature activated and stopped the engine. When I released the brake and stepped on the gas peddle the engine did not restart. The vehicle had to be towed in for repair. The dealer made repairs in a somewhat timely fashion except that the part had to be ordered from the factory as none were available. Would have thought a starter designed to start and stop numerous times a day would have lasted just a while longer?
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 06, 2020
StateTX
Description
The 2019-2021 silverado's have a major safety issue with their rearview cameras at night time. The infotainment screen on these vehicles dims appropriately at nighttime to ensure safe viewing outside of the vehicle, however at nighttime with the infotainment screen dimmed, when shifting into reverse the screen goes to full brightness and makes visibility outside of the vehicle almost impossible on partially lit areas. This causes safety issues as you are not able to make use of your mirrors to see obstructions or obstacles. This is further magnified as the quality of the rear view camera at night is very poor, so the poor camera quality coupled with the inability to even use the vehicles mirrors to see outside causes safety issues. Many others have complained and documented this same issue and have raised concerns with gm and dealerships to no avail. This should be as simple as a software update to maintain screen brightness when shifting into reverse during nighttime or dark conditions.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Service Brakes
DateNov 02, 2020
StateMT
Description
1st occurrence, 9840 miles- slowing to stop sign, about 10mph, truck jumped violently, felt like I was rear-ended. Service parking brake, service esc, traction control off messages and cel on. Stuck in gear. Restarted truck, resumed normal operation but cel remained. 2nd occurrence, 9865 miles - 65mph on highway going around curve, truck jumped violently causing rear end to break free slightly, though I kept control. Transmission now several gears lower and stuck there, turning 2400 rpm at 65mph. Same three warning messages and cel. Tried manual transmission mode, but it displayed no gear indication, and the +/- buttons did nothing. Pulled off highway, restarted, all messages went away, cel remained. Truck resumed normal operation. 3rd occurrence, 9905 miles (on the way to the dealer) - I was stopped at traffic light, first in a string of cars. Light turned green, I started to accelerate, just into the intersection, truck jumped violently, same warning messages, still had the cel from the last time. Truck was now stuck in a higher gear, could barely get through intersection. Vehicle behind me narrowly missed rear-ending me, and others were blowing horns as I limped to the far side of intersection. This is a massive safety concern. If any of the above scenarios had occurred on snowy/icy roads, I could have injured or killed someone, including myself and/or my [xxx] year-old. Dealer replaced tcm, but is still noting "loss of communication" codes being generated. A chevy engineer has requested them to investigate the wire harness for damage in a particular location, suggesting chevy knows of a manufacturing issue. If that's so, and chevy hasn't issued a recall - or even a tsb - then this poses a strong case for negligence on their part. Are they waiting for someone to get injured or die before acting on this? I've now been without the truck for 10 days. Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateOct 22, 2020
StateTX
Description
Radio and dashboard electronics shutoff completely while driving and then will come back on a minute later! Looses all connections to phone, maps, bluetooth etc...., then out of the blue today the airbag light and service safety restraint system warning came on! This is so dangerous and is going to cause me to have a wreck!
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 19, 2020
StateFL
Description
Backup camera is completely washed out at night and during the day is fuzzy and out of focus. Dealer says this is normal. Its a safety its a safety hazard to me.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • TRIN

    I purchased (cash) a 2020 Chevy Silverado RST Duramax last year and I’ve had nothing but issues with this vehicle. When I purchased it, it only had approximately 14k miles on it so to me… it was still fairly new.

    After a few months of owning the vehicle, I noticed that it seemed to be losing power when driven. I took it into the dealership for maintenance and they told me everything seemed to be running as normal. They reset my indicator lights and sent me on my way.

    Less than two weeks later while on the California freeway… the vehicle completely lost power and I almost crashed. Lucky for me, I had OnStar and was able to get my vehicle off the freeway safely and back to the dealership where they kept my vehicle for over a month.

    According to the dealership, my wiring was all messed up so they deemed the vehicle unsafe to drive. As I started the truck to get the mileage… all of my indicator lights flashed and my door locks began to lock and unlock on their own right in front of the service team.

    It was a crazy site to see but I’m glad they were there to witness the madness for themselves. Almost looked as if the vehicle was possessed. Nonetheless, they were able to figure out the issue after holding my vehicle for over a month, and I was able to take my vehicle with me back home.

    Everything was going well for about three weeks, then all of a sudden… my check engine light popped back on. I was extremely frustrated at that point and drove BACK out to the dealership once again.

    My vehicle is currently back at the dealership for maintenance and has been for almost two months now. I don’t think I’ll be buying any Chevy or GM vehicle in the future. This is absolutely ridiculous and GM really needs to look into all of these issues or they’ll more than likely lose a lot of great customers.

  • Mark

    I bought a 2020 rst with the duramax with 37000 miles on it. The first 6 weeks I had it , it was in the shop 5 times. They replaced the Transmission module then the range selector. Then I was at the gas station put it in reverse to backup hit the fuel pedal and lunged forward almost going threw the doors. Finally they replaced a wiring harness between the module and selector and it seems to have fixed that problem. Now the brakes are quite spongey. Hope it stop my 7000 lb camper this spring.

  • Craig

    I just purchased a 2020 Silverado 1500 RST at 15k miles.. what issues did you have with yours that I need to be aware of? I’ve noticed the hard down shifting and the backup cam at night not so good. I did not purchase the optional warranty besides it having the 100k mile power train warranty.

  • Mike

    I leased a 2020 Chevy Silverado RST December 29, of 2020. The truck has been in the shop more then its been out. I am seeking legal representation to get it declared a lemon.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.