2022 Subaru Forester Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Faulty headlights, cracking windshields, and issues with malfunctioning airbags and fuel systems are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Subaru Forester includes standard all-wheel drive and features to carve a new path. In fact, the automaker claims it is “the SUV for all you love.” However, when windshields crack spontaneously, vehicles burst into flames, airbags fail to deploy, and headlights create a visibility hazard, you can’t blame customers for complaining.

Click on other model years to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Subaru pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Subaru Forester

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Visibility/wiper
12
Unknown Or Other
9
Exterior Lighting
6
Electrical System
5
Engine
4
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Service Brakes
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Power Train
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Subaru Forester

Between February 28 and November 9, 2022, 32 consumers complained to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about their 2022 Subaru Foresters. Manufactured in Japan since 1997, it was originally launched as “SUV Tough, Car Easy.” But the 2022 model doesn’t seem to be that tough.

You don’t have to be superstitious to be alarmed that 13 consumers have experienced problems with their windshields cracking. All 7 of the complaints about exterior lighting focus on the vehicle’s headlights, which they say create a dangerous visibility hazard at night.

All other complaints, which span another 12 components and systems, reflect 1-3 complaints. Some, of course, mention more than one component. For example, complaints about the fuel/propulsion system are also filed as electrical system and/or engine problems. Two of these describe how the Forester burst into flames.

The 2 airbag complaints, both of which describe what happened when they didn’t deploy, are seen as vehicle speed control or forward collision avoidance issues as well.

Other components that are the subject of complaints include the powertrain, seats, structure, suspension, and steering, as well as lane departure.

Cracking Windshield Problems

A total of 13 owners with windshield problems have filed complaints with the NHTSA under Unknown or Other, Visibility, and Visibility/Wiper.

An owner from California states that the windshield cracked on the driver’s side when the vehicle was two weeks old. The crack appeared while the SUV was stopped. There was no debris on the road at the time.

A Nebraska owner reports a crack on the windshield starting from the bottom, expanding to the driver’s side. It was “causing a visibility hazard.” All the dealer did was take a photograph and forward this to the manufacturer. “The windshield was not replaced.”

An owner from New York states: “This is my second Subaru Forester. On my first, I had a cracked windshield in 5 places due to small debris hitting the vehicle in a normal operating matter. This was replaced. My current vehicle, with less than 500 miles on it, already has 5-6 chips in the windshield due to some defect in the glass that causes the glass to crack under nearly no pressure at all. I can’t even imagine where the cracks came from with such low mileage and driving in near-perfect, normal operating conditions. It is only a matter of time before I will need to have the windshield replaced on this vehicle. It is also hazardous to know that it may shatter and injure me at any time. I have had the vehicle (for) less than 5 weeks.

And an owner from Alabama tells how the “Windshield spontaneously cracked while stationary on a level paved major thoroughfare. There was no impact on the windshield of any kind. No prior damage. Just sitting at a red light (with) no traffic approaching from any direction and the windshield cracked in the middle sections of the glass, on the right edge.”

Faulty Headlight Problems

Multiple owners are complaining that there are serious safety issues with the Forester’s headlights. They report 3 major problems, all of which are perpetually moving and visible all the time because the headlights are steering responsive:

  1. Two large, shaded black spots appear directly in the driver’s field of vision. They are between 15 and 20 feet in front of the vehicle.
  2. The projection cutoff lines are irregular and jagged, with low points dropping downwards.
  3. Two rectangular, black areas below the cutoff area, but in the driver’s field of vision.

An owner from West Virginia states that his wife works nights. “She drives home in the dark and into work in the dark during half the year. This vehicle is horrible for night driving. I have never seen headlights so bad.”

A Pennsylvania owner states: “The first time I drove the vehicle at night I became almost completely disoriented and would have had an accident if I had been driving faster than 20 mph under cruise control. I stopped, got my bearings, and drove the last quarter mile home. I thought I had a brain seizure.​​”

An owner from New York is most concerned about the dark rectangular shadows. “This is very unsafe and definitely very annoying because all you see are those two shadows right in front of your eyes.”

Problems Relating to the Fuel System

Of the 3 complaints relating to the vehicle’s fuel/propulsion system, one vehicle exploded because of a faulty fuel line. Another caught fire, possibly because it was leaking oil. The third reportedly has issues with oil and onion-like sulfur smells, and possible exhaust fumes.

A fourth fuel-related complaint filed in the Unknown or Other category describes a “nasty, burning smell” in the cabin. The owner, from Oregon, also detected “an unknown fluid” leaking from under the engine when the Forester had only 100 miles on the clock. He says he “saw someone on Reddit who had their 2022 Forester catch on fire and burn up at 70 miles. Subaru blamed a hole in the radiator. I highly doubt that.”

The owner of a 2022 Subaru Forester from Maine states that a few months before a fuel line malfunction caused his Forester to catch fire and explode, the SUV’s engine was replaced after it had failed. The car exploded 600 miles later after he had smelt gas while driving on the highway.

Terrifyingly, he says, he “barely got out of (the) vehicle in time before (the) explosion.” He wasn’t injured but lost all his personal belongings that were in the Forester. A few weeks later, Subaru of America confirmed that a faulty fuel line had caused the fire and explosion.

The second incident involving fire also resulted in the total loss of a 2022 Subaru Forester. The owner states that he bought the vehicle on July 25, 2022. It only had 78 miles on the clock when it was destroyed on August 3, 2022.

“I was driving to work and my car started stalling. So I pulled into a parking spot and when I got out I noticed a trail of oil behind the car. I closed the door and the car started smoking and within seconds it was in flames.”

Airbag Problems

When airbags malfunction there is always a risk that people in the vehicle will be injured. This happened when the owner of a 2022 Subaru Forester from North Carolina crashed.

In a complaint filed under airbags and vehicle speed control, the owner states that while pulling slowly into a parking space, “the vehicle suddenly experienced unintended acceleration and drove over a curb and traveled up a hill before crashing into a tree. During the crash neither the driver nor passenger-side airbags deployed. The driver and front passenger sustained chest injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and towed away.” The cause of the failure had not been determined when the complaint was filed.

The second complaint from an owner in Texas also describes a crash where the airbags malfunctioned. Fortunately, there were no injuries, but the vehicle was badly damaged. The owner believes that the automatic emergency braking system may also have failed.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Not every 2022 Subaru Forester is a lemon, but it appears that there are multiple reasons why some may be. If you are plagued by issues that affect the use and value of your SUV, contact Lemberg Law for advice.

Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners. We have negotiated many deals for our clients. All you have to do is call our Helpline or fill out a contact form. We will assess your problem and advise you. You don’t pay us because the law says that Subaru must pay the legal fees of lemon law cases.

Complaint Data

CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 24, 2023
StateFL
Description
Windshield developed multiple small chips for no apparent reason. I am the only one who drives the car and never felt any rock or pebble hitting my windshield. Chips were small (less than 1cm). I took the car to my authorized subaru dealer (pembroke pines, florida) to be inspected and they told me that windshield needed to be replaced. They did not accept that this was a manufacturer problem and they told me it was not covered by my warranty. They referred to a company they work with to replace my windshield. I am uploading pictures of some of the chips. There were more but I did not take pictures of all of them. Chips were all over the windshield which obviously is very unlikely to happen and never happened to me before with any of my cars.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateJan 13, 2023
StateWA
Description
2 incidents. First day we took car home the vehicle infotainment system failed while phone was connected to apple carplay. Screen went black and there was a loud noise like interference. Has happened repeatedly since, supposedly due to needing a firmware update but it's been a well documented problem in subaru automobiles for several years and the manufacturer has done nothing to alleviate the flaw. Second incident involves the windshield cracking in the lower driver side with no apparent cause from anything striking the windshield. Again, this is a well documented issue and there are several complaints on nhtsa. Gov from other unhappy customers
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJan 08, 2023
StateAK
Description
Over the past year that I have had my vehicle, having bought it in april 2022, I have had my windshield crack 3 times. Each crack has occurred around the end he's of the windshield. One was caused by a rock hitting the windshield while driving less then 20 miles per hour - resulting in two cracks up the windshield.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateJan 04, 2023
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated that after the vehicle had been parked for approximately 3-hours, the alarm sounded indicating that the locks were being tampered with. The contact stated that the doors were locking and unlocking independently. The contact stated that several electrical features had malfunctioned. The contact stated that on occasion, the brake pedal was spongy when depressed, and the check engine and several other unknown warning lights were illuminated. Additionally, the vehicle occasionally failed to start up as needed. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 01, 2023
StateIL
Description
The hood wobbles in light wind (imagine a windy day) or from a passing vehicle or semi, it seems very flimsy in protecting the hood from just flying open one day.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 16, 2022
StateOR
Description
Because of your regulations mandating the black spot in cars with hid/led headlights, we notice a dark line in our windshield when driving in unlit areas at night. This makes it hard to see. Using the brights help, but this is an infraction within our neighborhood and similar dark, forested places. It seems that you have solved one problem but created a new one. This dark windshield line is particularly hard on seniors, whose night vision is commonly diminished.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 13, 2022
StateIL
Description
The battery was completely discharged overnight when the car was only 4 months old. We had a flatbed tow to a dealer who charged the battery and performed tests which all checked out ok. Said we weren't driving the car often enough. This same battery discharge happened 3 more times, approximately 30 days apart each time. August 20 was the first time, september 19, october 13 and november 16, all in 2022. Car was purchased new in april 2022. Took it into the dealership where we bought it; they did tests also saying everything was ok, not being driven enough. The 4th time the overnight discharge happened was about a week after our dealership tested it. Every time this has happened the car was driven the previous day. Car is driven 4-5 times a week for local errands. Currently has 1,100 miles and is 8 months old. We are senior citizens and need a dependable car.
CategoryService Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 12, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated while pulling into a parking space, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning, causing the vehicle to drive over the curb. The contact desperately depressed the brake pedal several times and the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 1,430.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
Went to my car on the morning of dec 10 and found a 4” crack in my windshield. I drive the car the night before around 9pm and it was in my secure garage overnight. No crack the evening before. Next morning - cracked. This is an ongoing problem with subaru
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateDec 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
Woke up this morning to a cracked windshield. Car was garaged over night and I drove it around 8:30pm the evening before and their was no crack. Now have a 4” crack in the passenger side windshield.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateNov 09, 2022
StateNJ
Description
I purchased my forester wilderness on 11/5/22 - this problem is with the headlights. I have a serious safety concern 1. There are two large shaded dark spots directly in my field of vision. These are approximately fifteen to twenty feet directly in front of the vehicle and never go away - because the headlights are steering responsive, they are always moving which is distracting and dangerous. 2. The cutoff lines of the projection are jagged and irregular with low points dropping down. These too, are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights. 3. Two rectangular black areas below the cutoff area in my field of vision. And these too are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights. These headlights create a variety of safety concerns. The dark shaded areas result in a reduced clarity in the most needed area; directly in front of the car in the dominant field of vision. The jagged irregular moving cutoff lines are extremely distracting. When the lowered dark cutoff areas move across your field of vision, it's as if something is jumping out in front of the car. As the driver, it's hard to know if there is an actual need for emergency action or not. Then perhaps the greatest concern of well being is the two dark moving rectangular boxes below the cutoff lines. My eyes tend to fixate on these moving rectangles. This is distracting and I'm concerned I and other forester drivers are not giving complete attention to the whole field of vision. 4. This is especially prominent and dangerous on unlit roads which is what I mainly travel. I first thought it was an issue with my vehicle and mentioned it to the dealer a day or so after purchase. But today I found many other 2022 forester owners reporting the same problem. Subaru needs to create a fix for this dangerous issue!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
Windshield cracked on driver's side - appeared while at a stop. No debris on road, no accidents. Vehicle is 2 weeks old.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateOct 31, 2022
StateME
Description
-engine failure: fuel line issue causing 2022 subaru forester wilderness to catch fire and explode - beforehand rod bearing was pulverized in separate incident a few months prior - engine was then replaced and car exploded 600 miles later causing total loss of vehicle. -car exploded while driving in it, lost all personal belongings in car, barely got out of vehicle in time before explosion. -investigation completed by subaru of america and confirmed as a fuel line issue a few weeks later. -smelt gas on highway while driving a few moments prior to car exploding.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateOct 26, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated that while driving at night with the low beam headlights activated, the illumination was extremely poor causing a visibility failure. The contact indicated there were dark spots and shadowy lines present on the windshield within the driver's field of view, creating a visibility hazard for the driver. Additionally, the contact indicated that the headlights failed to illuminate the roadway adequately for safe nighttime driving. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The manufacturer and local dealer were not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10.
CategorySeats, Visibility/wiper
DateOct 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
Two things have already failed on this vehicle. The first being the seats/seat belt clips on the driver and passanger seat. The seat in constructed in such a way that no matter what adjustment is made, the driver feels as if they are falling into the steering wheel. Any attempts to correct the positioning leaves the driver feeling as if they do not have control of the vehicle. Additionally, the inward positioning of the seat-belt clip on the right side on the driver facing inward pushes into the drivers hip and/or thigh causing extreme pain. The narrowing of the seats does not allow the driver to get away from the pain of the seat belt clip. Second, the issue with the windshield. This is my second subaru forester. On my first, I had a cracked windshield in 5 places due to small debris hitting the vehicle in a normal operating matter. This was replaced. My current vehicle, with less than 500 miles on it, already has 5-6 chips in the windshield due to some defect in the glass that causes the glass crack under nearly no pressure at all. I can't even imagine where the cracks came from with such low mileage and driving in near perfect, normal operating condition. It is only a matter of time before I will need to have the windshield replaced on this vehicle. It is also hazardous to know that it may shatter and injure me at any time. I have had the vehicle less than 5 weeks.
CategorySuspension
DateOct 25, 2022
StateTN
Description
At only 3,000 miles front suspension “clunks” at low speeds over speed bumps, potholes, and other uneven surfaces
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 05, 2022
StateAL
Description
Windshield spontaneously cracked while stationary on a level paved major thoroughfare. There was no impact on the windshield of any kind. No prior damage. Just sitting at a red light no traffic approaching from any direction and the windshield cracked in the middle sections of the glass, on the right edge.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 02, 2022
StateOR
Description
2022 subaru forester touring leaks an unknown fluid under the engine compartment. Left a pizza size stain on the driveway that slowly dissipated. Placed cardboard under the vehicle to identify leak location. Sizable amount of unknown fluid on cardboard. It also dissipated. Nasty burning smell that enters the cabin and smells horrible outside of the vehicle happening multiple times at only 100 miles. I thought it was residual that would burn off. Nope. Now have only 350 miles on it. I've owned two new foresters in the past and nothing like this. Taking it to the dealer tomorrow. Saw someone on reddit who had their 2022 forester catch on fire and burn up at 70 miles. Subaru blamed a hole in the radiator. I highly doubt that. Need your help on this one please.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateSep 15, 2022
StateIL
Description
I was driving to work and my car started stalling. So I pulled into a parking spot and when I got out I noticed a trail of oil behind the car. I closed the door and the car started smoking and within seconds it was in flames. I bought it on 7/25 and on 8/3 it was gone. It only had 78 miles on it, 100% driven on city streets. I have several pictures and videos of the event but this site doesn't support them so I can share separately if needed. You are also welcome to inspect the car as it will be hauled to a salvage yard shortly.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 06, 2022
StateIN
Description
My new 2022 forester wildness is equipped with an automate "start and stop" function which (while driving) shuts the engine off if the sits still too long in traffic or a stop light. While the car has a button to disable this function. You must press the button every time you start the car to disable the auto ss. Today I had forgot to disable the function. The car stalled at a busy intersection nearly causing me to be rear ended. I think there is a safety concern here. Someone could get hurt trying to save a small amount of gas. Also, the wear and tear on the starter and associated engine components could result in premature failures over the life of the vehicle.
CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 31, 2022
StateTX
Description
I had adaptive cruise control set to the speed limit of 55, I looked down to input directions and then heard the collision warning tone. There was a large box truck sitting at the stop light ahead of me. I slammed on the breaks and swerved into the right-hand turn lane. The vehicle did not make it entirely out of the way and hit the back passenger corner of the lift on the box truck at a slight angle. The vehicle was shredded from the front driver's side bumper to the beginning of the driver's door frame and the hood went through the windshield. No air bags were deployed. --I believe the components/system that could have potentially failed if any, was the airbag system or the automatic emergency breaking system. --unsure if the problem has been reproduced. --the vehicle was inspected by police & insurance representatives. Unsure if the manufacturer has completed an inspection. --the front collision warning tone & red warning image populated on the center screen of the instrument cluster ~3 seconds prior to collision.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 22, 2022
StateMI
Description
Windshield cracked easily
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 19, 2022
StateNY
Description
Driving through a parking lot under 5mph, and the glass cracked with no warning or sign of anything hitting the windscreen.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateAug 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
Purchased car on 8/15/2022 and encountering issues with: 1. Oil in the air when engine is turned on 2. Onion smell when engine is turned on 3. Ac if affected by oil and onion smell ; too hot when sitting in car with engine on .. Sulfur? 4. Please check the gas tank for possible leak. 5. 3-yr old grandson is affected by onion, oil and possible exhaust fumes leaking into the interior of the car. Daycare made a notation of oil smell and onion smell on grandson. We need oxygen to our brain and body; without it we cannot live.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 05, 2022
StateOH
Description
My brand new 2022 subaru forester will accelerate and stall while I am driving. It is more noticeable between 0 - 40mph speed shifts, especially 20 to 40mph. It is frightening because this may cause an unintentional accident.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 29, 2022
StateIL
Description
Windshield cracked while in the hot sun. I was sitting inside my car and started hearing a cracking noise and noticed my windshield was cracking. Eventually it developed a 7 inch crack.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 28, 2022
StateMN
Description
New vehicle with less tan 100 miles on it . Vehicle was parked in garage with garage door closed. Vehicle engine started horn, honked, and lights were on and engine ran for less than one minute. Two safety issues. Risk for carbon monoxide poisoning and personal safety of driver. Cannot trust if someone has control of vehicle. Dealer tried to sign us up subaru link, which we declined.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 25, 2022
StateND
Description
2 separate windshield cracks in 2 days!!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 24, 2022
StateWA
Description
Subaru installs terribly delicate windshields on their vehicles. I just bought this car in may of 2022 and already there are chips and cracks in the windshield. I had to replace the windshield on my previous 2019 forester within months of purchase, too. If the slightest pebble (even at low speeds) hits the windshield, it will crack - currently the crack on my windshield is about six inches long and growing.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 22, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the vehicle experienced phantom braking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed; however, no fault codes were retrieved. The vehicle returned to operating as designed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 250.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 12, 2022
StateNC
Description
Windshield cracked for no reason. While driving turning on ram windshield cracked
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateJul 05, 2022
StateWV
Description
Three issues with the headlights. First, major shadowing. From the bumper to 6 feet out there is a dark spot. Second issue. Vehicle is two weeks old. We drive twisty windy roads. Headlights are almost a foot and a half low at 25ft. You can not see more than 50 feet on roads that are hilly due to the headlights being low and the auto level not correcting fast enough. I do not understand at all how this is ok from subaru or federal agencies. Multiple times we had to slow down due to not being able to see or the headlights being so slow to adjust. Maybe raising them would help but why is this not being checked before deliver. Last issue, the high beams are literally no brighter than the low beams. My wife works nights. She drives home in the dark and in to work in the dark during half the year. This vehicle is horrible for night driving. I have never seen headlights so bad. This is after owning 4 brands of vehicles. I can send video and pics if needed.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control:cruise Control, Visibility:windshield
DateJul 05, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, a rock struck the bottom middle of the windshield glass. The rock became imbedded inside the windshield glass which caused water to leak inside the vehicle. The dealer was notified of the failure and insisted that the windshield glass be replaced with the same type of glass and not an aftermarket glass. The contact waited a month for the windshield repair; however, the eyesight and cruise control features both became inoperable after the repair. A month later, the contact stated while exiting the highway, an unknown object struck the windshield and caused another crack to form on the bottom left side of the windshield. The contact stated that each crack obstructed her vision while driving. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 500.
CategoryVisibility:windshield
DateJun 21, 2022
StateNE
Description
The contact owns a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, she noticed a crack on the windshield which started from the bottom of the front windshield and expanded to the driver's side casing a visibility hazard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed. The representative at the dealer took a picture and forwarded the picture to the manufacturer. The windshield was not replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,600.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Steering
DateJun 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
Incident on highway 80 on may 30, 2020. Entered highway 80 (east) from donner sumit roadside rest, accelerated in the slow land and passed a truck and accelerated in the fast lane to 65-70 mph. Began feeling a severe/violent shaking of the steering wheel, a couple of inches or so, side to side. Pulled over and steering wheel was still shaking and brought the vehicle to a full stop. Shaking stopped. Inspected wheels for looseness and nothing appeared abnormal. Lane keeping system was not engaged at the time. Could be new automatic emergency steering but activated falsely. Felt very unsafe and had to hold steering wheel tight to retain control took vehicle to dealer who could not find anything wrong with car, no codes in diagnostic. No warning lamps or messages appeared.
CategoryAir Bags, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 07, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owned a 2022 subaru forester. The contact stated that while slowing pulling into the parking space the vehicle suddenly experienced unintended acceleration and drove over a curb and traveled up a hill before crashing into a tree. During the crash neither the driver nor passenger-side air bags deployed. The driver and front passenger sustained chest injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and towed away. A police report was taken at the scene. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer and local dealer were notified of the incident. The failure mileage was 1800.
CategoryStructure:body, Visibility/wiper
DateMay 18, 2022
StateMS
Description
On may 12, 2022, when I got in my vehicle and closed the driver's side door, I heard a crackling sound. When I looked in the rearview mirror, I could see a gaping hole in the rear windshield and glass falling everywhere. I got out of the vehicle to inspect it. The rear windshield had not been impacted by anything; it just spontaneously cracked. I house the vehicle in my garage, and that's where the situation occurred. I bought this vehicle brand new on march 1, 2022.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMay 17, 2022
StateNC
Description
When driving at night, there are two black dots that appear in my headlights on the road. They move with the steering and become an extreme nuisance. Its all your eye can focus on and are right in the field of view from the lights. They move and create blind spots.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 23, 2022
StateNY
Description
There seems to be an issue with the led headlights. When on they are projecting two dark shadows of something looking like rectangle objects. This is very unsafe and definitely very annoying because all you see are those two shadows right in front of your eyes.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 08, 2022
StatePA
Description
Same complaint as nhtsa id number: 11454147. I have a serious safety concern with a new vehicle purchased in february 2022. I have there are three issues concerning the vehicle's headlights: 1. There are two large shaded dark spots directly in your field of vision. These are approximately fifteen to twenty feet directly in front of the vehicle. 2. The cutoff lines are jagged and irregular with low points dropping down. These are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights. 3. There are two rectangular black areas below the cutoff area in your field of vision. These too are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights. These headlights create a variety of safety concerns. The dark shaded areas result in a reduced clarity of vision in the most needed area; directly in front of the car in the dominant field of vision. The jagged irregular moving cutoff lines are extremely distracting. When the lowered dark cutoff areas move across your field of vision, it's as if something is jumping out in front of the car. The driver struggles to know if there is an actual need for emergency action or not. Then perhaps the greatest concern of well being is the two dark moving rectangular boxes below the cutoff lines. Your eyes fixate on these moving rectangles. When fixated on these boxes the driver is not giving complete attention to the whole field of vision. The first time I drove the vehicle at night I became almost completely disoriented and would have had a accident if I had been driving faster than the 20mph under cruise control. I stopped, got my bearings and drove the last quarter mile home. I thought I had had a brain seziure.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateWA
Description
Bought my brand new forester less a month and I have to replace a windshield already!!! Discovered about 5 inches crack while warming up the car on the snow day. Subaru have a glass action agains them about windshield so easily to crack. Service dept refused to replace my windshield because of a super tiny hold that can not be seen by normal eyes, I think it was a damage from crack . We have a different brand vehicle which has about 10x bigger intake but never cause the crack for year. Now I know the reason why subaru offer the limited windshield replace program.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateVA
Description
this is not a specific incident but a serious safety concern with a new vehicle purchased in january 2022. There are three contributing issues to the concern with the vehicle's headlights: 1. There are two large shaded dark spots directly in your field of vision.  these are approximately fifteen to twenty feet directly in front of the vehicle. 2. The cutoff lines are jagged and irregular with low points dropping down.  these are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights.  3. The most glaring problem is two rectangular black areas below the cutoff area in your field of vision. These too are always in motion with the steering responsive headlights.  up close to a wall these are about eight inches wide, but when projecting on the road these grow exponentially to several feet. Note - these matters are most prominent with the low beam headlights.    these headlights create a variety of safety concerns.  the dark shaded areas result in a reduced clarity of vision in the most needed area; directly in front of the car in the dominant field of vision.  the jagged irregular moving cutoff lines are extremely distracting.  when the lowered dark cutoff areas move across your field of vision, it's as if something is jumping out in front of the car.  the driver struggles to know if there is an actual need for emergency action or not.  then perhaps the greatest concern of well being is the two dark moving rectangular boxes below the cutoff lines.  your eyes fixate on these moving rectangles.  when fixated on these boxes the driver is not giving complete attention to the whole field of vision. This seems to be a design flaw.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.