2021 Hyundai Venue Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical & acceleration issues are among the top complaints from vehicle owners

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Was your vehicle recalled for seat belt pretensioner issues? Read our post on the Hyundai & Kia Seat Belt Pretensioner Recall.

The Hyundai Venue made a world debut at the New York International Auto Show in 2019. It was launched officially in Miami, Florida a year later.

Initial U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 5-star safety ratings weren’t great. These are the ratings that NHTSA gives after testing vehicles for crashes and rollover possibilities.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2020   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2021 Hyundai Venue

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
7
Electrical System
3
Seat Belts
2
Electrical System:horn
1
Seat Belts:front
1
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
1
Service Brakes
1
Exterior Lighting
1

The overall frontal crash ratings for the front driver and passenger sides were both 4 out of 5 stars. Side crash was 5 stars all around. But the rollover risk rating after the first Hyundai Venue model went through NHTSA tests also got 4 out 5 stars. The rollover resistance test measures the risk of rollover if a vehicle is out of control. NHTSA ultimately found that the new Venue’s rollover risk was 14.30%.

These ratings haven’t changed for the 2021 Hyundai Venue.

Most Common Problems with the 2021 Hyundai Venue

There are 8 complaints on file with NHTSA so far, with a total of 10 problems cited. But, ironically, most of the problems reported (6 in all) are recorded in the category, Unknown or Other. Additionally, there is 1 complaint each in the categories: Exterior Lighting, and Service Brakes, and 2 in Electrical System. So we’re going to try and break these down.

Two of the supposed “unknown” issues are linked to the electrical system. One of the others is linked to navigation, and the last 2 to steering and/or acceleration.

2021 Hyundai Venue Electrical Problems

The two complaints that officially blame electrical problems relate to the horn. Both state that temperature is the issue.

  1. “Had the horn replaced under warranty in January of 2021. Worked great until the temperature got below 30.”
  2. “The horn started losing volume but would regain it back once the weather warmed up. I have to park overnight outdoors for work and when it snows and gets between 2-25 degrees outside, the horn starts being symptomatic. Now it doesn’t work at all and it affects my alert and safety system because I have no way of warning other drivers and pedestrians around me.”

The second complaint adds that the problem becomes “extremely dangerous in night time and snowy conditions.”

2021 Hyundai Venue Acceleration Problems

The two acceleration problems are listed as “unknown” because there isn’t a category for acceleration in the NHTSA system.

One complaint describes a crash. The driver says the steering locked and resulted in her running over a curb and 2 tires popping. The owner’s conclusion, based on a previous experience, was that it was probably an acceleration problem.

The other complaint states the car doesn’t accelerate when the accelerator pedal is depressed. Also, the warning light doesn’t illuminate.

2021 Hyundai Venue Lighting & Brake Problems

Both these issues are reflected in one complaint each.

Lighting Problems

The lighting issue was highlighted six days after the complainant bought the vehicle.

“When I turned on the headlights, I was shocked to find that they only illuminate a very small portion of the road, hindering my ability to see traffic in front of me, or anything else that may be on the road beyond a few feet. It’s as if I’m driving in a dark tunnel, and also cannot see the side of the road. If a deer or other animal or person suddenly ran into the road, I would have no reaction time.

“I immediately filed a claim with Hyundai, and three months later I heard back saying they deny that anything is wrong with the vehicle. The dealer service manager has looked at the car twice and has admitted that it’s a known problem but states, ‘that’s just the way they are made.’

“I have found Facebook groups and posts with other owners stating the same issue. This is an enormous safety hazard. I requested that Hyundai replace the headlights or buy back the vehicle but they refuse. I can’t safely drive my new car at night.”

Brake Problems

This complaint states that the brake pedal travels “to the floorboard” when the driver tries to depress it at various speeds. There is also “abnormal vibration in the pedal.” The stability control warning light also illuminates.

According to the complaint, the car was taken to a local dealer and they were still waiting for a response. The mileage on the clock was 23,000.

What to do if your 2021 Hyundai Venue is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

It’s difficult for 2021 Hyundai Venue owners to know whether or not they have bought a lemon. If you’ve got a car that you think might be a lemon, don’t try to decide on your own. Lemberg Law specializes in lemon law and our team can help you.

Call our Helpline and we’ll evaluate your case.

There are several possible resolutions ranging from cash settlements to vehicle replacements. At the end of the day, if you’ve bought a lemon, Hyundai will have to pay your legal fees. That’s the law!

Complaint Data

CategoryElectrical System:horn
DateFeb 04, 2023
StateNC
Description
My horn and car alarm would work and stop working for about two months now it does'nt work at all. I feel this is a safety issue because I can not blow my car horn to warn other drivers when they are cutting me off.
CategorySeat Belts
DateNov 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
The seat belt light comes on continually on my new kia. I've been advised there is a safety recall on the seat belt system / defect and received a letter regarding it. I've contacted the dealer several times (3 times) and they always state there is a "nationwide back order" on the parts. Since this is a safety item I believe they need to expedite the correct repair with pressure from your organization!
CategorySeat Belts:front
DateAug 29, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai venue. The contact referenced nhtsa campaign number: 22v458000 (seat belts). The contact stated that on multiple occasions while driving at undisclosed speeds, the front driver's side seat belt inadvertently disconnected. No warning lights were illuminated. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer had been notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,618.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 25, 2022
StateUT
Description
I have had my horn fail 4 or 5 times since owning the car. It first failed when I got the car and somehow the horn wires has came loose. The second time it failed it completely failed and was replaced under warranty. The horn that was replaced the under warranty failed over the winter in like november of 2021. I had it looked at and they said that it worked when they tested it in a warm environment. Left the dealership and was told that if it failed to just call them and they would order a replacement for it under warranty. That had never happened they looked at the horn again and ordered the replacement that was installed in march or april this year. And it failed again yesterday 8/24/22. Please have this addressed under a recall since I really do not want to keep pouring money into replacing the same part that fails every 4-6 months
CategorySeat Belts
DateJul 02, 2022
StateMI
Description
Rear passenger seatbelt is constantly locked while passenger is wearing seatbelt. It will not expand to give the passenger some space, it's so tight it cuts into your carotid artery. It's a constant issue and a safety hazard.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateApr 16, 2022
StateFL
Description
Cruise control system failure. Safety at risk due to sudden un-commanded full acceleration to 180% of speed while on cruise control. Problem is reproducible - see txt and video attached. Unknown if inspected but it was reported to enterprise renta car upon return april/16/2022. No warning lights lamps audio warnings or anything.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateVT
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai venue. The contact stated while at various speeds the vehicle would not accelerate while the accelerator pedal was depressed. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2021 hyundai venue. The contact stated while driving at various speeds and attempting to depress the brake pedal, the pedal would travel to the floorboard. Additionally, there was an abnormal vibration in the pedal. The contact stated that the stability control warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a local dealer to be inspected. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was approximately 23,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 17, 2021
StateUT
Description
Horn stopped working had this issue last year and had the horn replaced under warranty in january of 21 worked great until the temperature got below 30
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 02, 2021
StatePA
Description
My daughter was driving the car and about to go around a turn when she says her steering locked up and she ran over a curb on the opposite side of the road, popping two tires. She was going slow enough at the time that there were no injuries, only damage to the car. We told the dealership about the incident and had it towed to the dealership. The dealership did not thoroughly address the problem. When I took the car from the dealership I tried to jiggle the keys as I was driving. I had this problem with a chrysler years ago. If the key was bumped while driving the power would shut off and the power steering would fail. In this case the power to the car did shut off when I slightly turn the key towards me. I was in drive road going about 40 miles per hour at the time. I did not lose steering but I did lose all acceleration. The car acted like in had been parked. I put the car in neutral and restarted the car with the key and everything returned to normal operation. I repeated this process several more times that night with the same results. Total loss of power to the car and the engine turned off. I can only imagine what could happen to an inexperienced driver when they lose all acceleration at a high rate of speed due to a simple 1/4 inch or so twist of the key.
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 28, 2021
StateCA
Description
I purchased this vehicle on 7/25/2021 and didn't drive it at night until 6 days later. When I turned on the headlights, I was shocked to find that they only illuminate a very small portion of the road, hindering my ability to see traffic in front of me, or anything else that may be on the road beyond a few feet. It's as if I'm driving in a dark tunnel, and also cannot see the side of the road. If a deer or other animal or person suddenly ran into the road, I would have no reaction time. I immediately filed a claim with hyundai, and three months later I heard back saying they deny that anything is wrong with the vehicle. The dealer service manager has looked at the car twice and has admitted that it's a known problem but states, "that's just the way they are made." I have found facebook groups and posts with other owners stating the same issue. This is an enormous safety hazard. I requested that hyundai replace the headlights or buy back the vehicle but they refuse. I can't safely drive my new car at night.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 17, 2021
StateLA
Description
My vehicle disconnects from navigation pireodically causing me to have to re-enter the destination and taking my attention away from the road.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2021
StateNV
Description
The horn started losing volume but would regain it back once the weather warmed up. I have to park overnight outdoors for work and when it snows and gets between 20-25 degrees outside, the horn starts being symptomatic. Now it doesn't work at all and it affects my alert and safety system because I have no way of warning other drivers or pedestrians around me. The other fault I have noticed is that the applecar play or the display itself loses its connection between apple carplay and the display. This causes the driver to lose attention from the road and the driver loses access to the visual map which is extremely dangerous in night time and snowy conditions.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 12, 2020
StateSC
Description
Just picked up 2021 venue sel on monday for my 23 year old daughter and drove 1200 miles to tx. Car play continuously drops out and no way to connect through usb. The only way to have navigtion is to use the wireless and several times the maps dropped out although we had cellular service and the map went blank while navigating and missed turnoff and almost had accident because it also locked up the iphone screen. Went to two hyundai dealerships in san antonio and neither had ever seen this problem. Service manager and salepeople spent almost 2 hours using 5 different iphone, xr, 11, 11pro, 12 pro and 6s with the most current ios 14. 2 and could not make it work correctly. This is an extreme safety problem for 23 year old that just moved to a big city that you have to have maps.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Unique 1

    I had a 2020 Venue Denim Edition SEL that when it hit
    20,000 started having transmission problems & at 26,000 transmission replaced. Due to pandemic first they were looking for new transmission then 4 months in then Hyundai said remanufactured so, it had to go. And the service manager was great however the service dept people were never welcoming.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.