2022 Ford Edge Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Lift gate, software, and airbag issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The Ford Edge, launched 15 years ago, has been labeled a “smart SUV for a smart world” by Ford because it is the company’s most technologically advanced SUV. But the 2022 model has serious safety issues from lift gates that smack into people, and airbags that don’t deploy. Faulty software is also a problem.

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Ford Edge

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
4
Electrical System:wiring: Rear Compartment/trunk
2
Visibility:glass, Side/rear
1
Service Brakes
1
Vehicle Speed Control
1
Latches/locks/linkages:hatchback/liftgate:lock
1
Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
1
Electrical System
1
Latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
1
Suspension
1

The Ford Edge is one the oldest mid-size SUVs, but it’s high on technology. When the 2022 model was launched in 2021, Ford reminded us in no uncertain terms that it’s “intelligent by design.” But when you’ve been hit in the face by the lift gate or sustained multiple injuries because the Edge’s airbags didn’t deploy, you will likely question the validity of the word intelligent.

Complaints to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) tell it like it is.

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Ford Edge

Complaints to the NHTSA relate to 5 components and systems, plus two that are listed under the Unknown or Other category. The other categories named are Airbags, Electrical System, Equipment, Latches,Lock/Linkages, and Suspension.

The most common complaints to the NHTSA relate to the 2022 Ford Edge’s hands-free power liftgate at the rear of the SUV. One of the complainants reports an injury. There is also a reported injury that was sustained when the airbags of the SUV did not deploy in a crash.

There are also complaints on other platforms.

For example, the lessor of a 2022 Edge SEL with only 300 miles on the clock is afraid to drive the SUV. In a review published on Edmunds, he complains that he’s “got a lemon.” There are trans sensor issues as well as steering problems, and his Edge needs service after only 300 miles! Awarding the SUV only 1 out of 5 stars for performance and reliability, he gives the vehicle an overall 2 stars.

Liftgate Problems Blamed on Foot Sensor

The 2022 Ford Edge has a foot-activated liftgate. This enables you to open the trunk by tapping a foot sensor below the liftgate. There are three NHTSA complaints that relate to the 2022 Ford Edge liftgate, one that resulted in an injury.

After renting a 2022 Ford Edge, a Wisconsin resident says she was moving things out of the trunk of the vehicle. The liftgate, which she refers to as the rear door, suddenly dropped and hit her on the face. She sustained a laceration under her left eye and subsequently suffered from headaches, neck ache, and emotional stress as a result.

Another complaint, logged with the NHTSA in May 2022, describes how someone loading a 2022 Ford Edge was hit in the back and back of the head by the liftgate.

“This happened three times. The dealer told me that Ford relocated the foot sensor farther towards the back of the vehicle following consumer complaints that it was too hard to activate with your foot, as you had to extend your foot too far under the vehicle. This has now caused the liftgate to descend while you are loading/unloading cargo, without you intentionally activating it. This can pose an injury danger when the liftgate hits your back and/or head suddenly.”

While the dealer deactivated the sensor and didn’t charge the owner, Ford refused to reimburse the dealer.

“This is an engineering fault that should be corrected by Ford before unsuspecting users are injured when the liftgate suddenly, and unexpectedly, closes down on them. I found Ford’s attitude towards the dealer was arrogant. Apparently they are unconcerned about user injury.”

Software Problems

Rearview Camera

One of the major software-related problems Ford Edge owners face relates to a blank or distorted rear view camera image. There is a recall linked to this for both the 2021 and  2022 Ford Edge model years. Lemberg Law currently has a class action investigation underway for the 2021 Edge. Our post about this will give you more information about what Ford Edge owners are experiencing.

According to the recall, dealers are to update the rearview camera software free of charge. But there are lots of complaints that the software doesn’t work. As a result, Ford has issued software updates, most recently on August 31, 2022.

While there are many complaints about the software and updates to the NHTSA about the 2021 model year, there aren’t any about the 2022 model that has the same problem.

Sync 4A System

Another software problem that at least one 2022 Edge owner is aware of relates to the Sync 4A system. According to an owner from Michigan, his SUV has had “a random system lockup and reboot issue since delivery.”

It appears that this issue cannot be resolved. While Ford is apparently investigating the 2022 Edge software issue with Sync 4, he says:

“THERE IS NO RESOLUTION PLAN ISSUED BY FORD. The issue has existed since vehicle delivery. The effect of this issue is that all functions of the Sync system are disabled for minutes while the system locks up (the touch screen becomes completely unresponsive) and the system reboots. Phone calls are terminated, the backup camera is disabled, and driver attention is diverted while trying to determine what is going on with the Sync system and the aforementioned functional issues.”

Problems with the Airbags

The Colorado owner of the SUV that crashed said her son was driving the Edge at about 40 mph when a vehicle turned in front of him. He tried to brake, but crashed into the vehicle. The airbags didn’t deploy and the SOS system didn’t work.

The vehicle, which had about 2,000 miles on the clock, couldn’t be driven after the accident, but the driver was taken to ER with head, back, wrist, elbow, and knee injuries. They filed a police report.

What to do if your 2022 Ford Edge is a Lemon? Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

There may not be large numbers of 2022 Ford Edge SUVs that can be labeled a lemon. But if yours is one of them, one can you do?

Lemberg Law offers to assess and evaluate potential lemon law cases free of charge. If we agree that you might have bought a lemon, we can handle negotiations for a settlement deal on your behalf.

Just fill in our contact form or call our Helpline. Remember, the law says Ford has to pay the legal fees of lemon law cases. We will do all we can to help.

Complaint Data

CategoryVisibility:glass, Side/rear
DateNov 30, 2022
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford edge. The contact stated while driving at an undetermined speed, there was wind coming from the passenger's side rear window. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who heard the sound, but the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and provided a case number and referred him to the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was unknown. The vin was not available
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 10, 2022
StatePA
Description
Panoramic sunroof exploded while driving on the highway. No overpass or rock just exploded while driving.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 09, 2022
StateWA
Description
I'm getting warning lights on the dash that indicated that abs, traction control, cruise control and collision mitigation are inoperable. The dealership service dept. Had the vehicle for over 2 weeks trying to diagnose the problem in conjunction with ford engineers. They finally determined the the issue was a bad abs module. They then informed me that the needed parts were not available and it might take 2weeks, 2months or longer to get. This condition has existed since the day the car was delivered. As of now, the car has about 600 miles on it. We're reluctant to drive the car because we feel the vehicle is unsafe, particularly in winter road conditions. We are at a loss as to how to proceed and are hoping you cab help us resolve this problem. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:hatchback/liftgate:lock
DateOct 25, 2022
StateMI
Description
The faulty back door lift and/or sensor resulted in the back door closing without activating the close button and it hit me in the head and shoulders several times while I put groceries in and/or removing them from the back area. I was unable to activate the foot sensor to open or close the back door when I purposely tried to open the back door using the foot sensor. After bringing the vehicle to the dealer for an oil change and informing them that this occurred 3 months after purchase, they informed me they did not have time to look at it and I had to make a different appointment. Also they stated they did not have any other concerns or complaints involving the back door closing without activating the close button. We live 4 hours away from the dealer and when I made the appointment to have it checked, that morning before leaving home, my husband went to help me pack afew items in the back and the door slammed so hard and hit him in the head causing a small laceration, headache and neck discomfort. At that point, the door did not stay open at all and slammed closed hard, with all the weight of the door. The dealer did not have the part and told me to be careful until fixed. I am afraid to use the back area now because it is hard for me to hold the door open to use the back. The door slams with such strong force that it could cause great bodily injury if you were caught there when the door slammed shut. The part was ordered the same day on 10/14/22 and I did not get an appointment until 11/2/22 to get it fixed. A great safety concern especially if one had small children and this happened.
CategoryElectrical System:wiring: Rear Compartment/trunk
DateOct 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford edge. The contact stated that the liftgate of the vehicle would inadvertently close on its own while loading or unloading the truck. The contact stated that the liftgate had closed on her back persistently on one occasion. The contact stated that she immediately reached out to the liftgate manual button and the liftgate elevated. There was no further information provided. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who informed the contact that they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was then taken to a second dealer, folsom lake ford (12755 folsom blvd, folsom, ca 95630), who informed the contact that they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer also advised the contact that they could not make the liftgate only operable through the manual button as all the electrical wires systems of the liftgate were connected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened. The failure mileage was approximately 1,181.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateOct 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford edge. The contact stated while driving at 60 mph, the sunroof exploded. The shade guard was closed at the time of the failure. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The contact veered to the side of the road for a moment. The contact was able to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the sunroof needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was then taken to a auto body shop where it was being repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 01, 2022
StateMI
Description
The ford edge sync 4a system has a random system lockup and reboot issue since delivery. The vehicle has been examined by the leasing dealer's service department and they were unable to resolve the concern. The service tech writes in the service report "the ford is investigating software issue with sync 4 in edges". In multiple communications with ford customer support dept and the leasing dealer service manager, the issue is known, but there is no resolution plan issued by ford. The issue has existed since vehicle delivery. The effect of this issue is that all functions of the sync system are disabled for minutes while the system locks up (the touch screen becomes completely unresponsive) and the system reboots. Phone calls are terminated, the backup camera is disabled, and driver attention is diverted while trying to determine what is going on with the sync system and the aforementioned functional issues.
CategoryElectrical System:wiring: Rear Compartment/trunk, Latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateSep 22, 2022
StateWI
Description
The contact rented a 2022 ford edge. The contact stated while moving items out of the trunk of the vehicle with the rear door elevated, the rear door inadvertently dropped and hit her on the face. The contact sustained a laceration under her left eye. Additionally, the contact sustained headache, neck ache and emotional stress as the incident occurred while assisting her younger daughter to move to college. The contact sought medical assistance. The vehicle was returned to hertz rental company. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategorySuspension
DateSep 01, 2022
StateIN
Description
After car had about 350 miles on it the front suspension became very noise and rattled. As it continued I can feel very bouncy steering and less than desirable control on multiple bumps. I took it to dealer and they said it had a leaky strut and ordered the part. They recommended only driving around town. It is getting worse as I wait over a week for the part to arrive. I really think both struts should be replaced
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2022
StateCT
Description
Liftgate foot sensor automatically closes when loading goods into rear compartment . Comes down without warning and hits your head or back
CategoryAir Bags
DateJun 13, 2022
StateCO
Description
The contact owns a 2022 ford edge. The contact stated while her son was driving approximately 40 mph, another vehicle turned into his lane and he attempted to apply the brake pedal but still crashed into the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact also stated the sos system did not function either. The driver sustained injuries on his head, back, right wrist, left elbow, and left knee. The driver sought medical attention at the emergency room. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed first to a towing lot and then to a collision shop. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000.
CategoryEquipment
DateMay 23, 2022
StateFL
Description
The yakima roof rack system (base clips, towers and bars) were attached to the roof of my husband's new 2022 ford edge. Our thule hullavators and 2 eddyline kayaks were also on the roof rack. It was all secure and properly installed. After 90 min heading north on i75 the front passenger clip failed sending the entire roof rack flying. We pulled over immediately and one kayak landed, still attached to the bars, in the left 2 lanes of the highway while the 2nd kayak landed in the middle of the highway, close to the right 2 lanes. We ran out into the freeway to get the kayak out of the road and are very lucky that no one hit it, was hit by it or hit us in the process! One of our kayaks is a complete loss, the roof rack system, including the thule hullavators are also a total loss and there is damage to the roof of the car as well. We are working with state farm to repair the car there was zero warning this would or could happen though afterwards we have been able to find complaints on the better business bureau regarding this exact thing happening to other people! Needless to say we are very upset and saddened by the loss of our property. Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated as clearly there are others who have been harmed in this way by yakima's product. More pictures are available if needed.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 05, 2022
StateMI
Description
The hands-free power lift gate was inadvertently activated while I was placing items into the back of the vehicle, and hit me in the back, and the back of my head. This happened three times. The dealer told me that ford relocated the foot sensor farther towards the back of the vehicle following consumer complaints that it was too hard to active with your foot, as you had to extend your foot too far under the vehicle. This has now caused the lift gate to descend while you are loading/unloading cargo, without you intentionally activating it. This can pose an injury danger when the lift gate hits your back and/or head suddenly. The dealer deactivate the sensor for me, but ford would not pay to have this done. The dealer did not charge me, and considered it a courtesy. This is an engineering fault that should be corrected by ford before unsuspecting users are injured when the lift gate suddenly, and unexpectedly, closed down on them. I found ford's attitude towards the dealer was arrogant. Apparently they are unconcerned about user injury.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.