2020 Jeep Compass Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, electrical system and forward collision avoidance issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2020 Jeep Compass is meant to be as popular as the iconic lineup from the automaker. This SUV claims that “first impressions matter,” but any initial reports are negative. It turns out that this model suffers from a defective engine, a malfunctioning electrical system and trouble with the forward collision avoidance.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Jeep pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2020 Jeep Compass

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
23
Electrical System
12
Power Train
5
Service Brakes
4
Visibility/wiper
3
Tires
3
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
2
Unknown Or Other
2
Electronic Stability Control
1

Click on other model year to view more problems:  2018   2019   2021   2022

Problems with the Engine

The engine is by far the most important component of any functional SUV. Without a properly running motor, the ride is anything but smooth.

That’s what is seen with this NHTSA review. “My 2020 Compass stalls while driving on the street and freeway and while turning. I have had this happen 6 or 7 times and one time a guy slammed on his brakes and swerved around me so he didn’t hit me. I took it to the dealer 2 times and it’s been in the shop for 25 days and I provided video proof of the issue and the dealer said if they don’t see it they won’t do anything.  The car keeps getting different Check Engine codes and they just clear them. There is obviously an issue the dealer won’t verify driving the car two miles. There is clearly an electrical issue.”

Jeep isn’t doing anything to hide engine concerns. Even Service Bulletin #09-004-19 talks about an engine vibration noise and feeling while shifting into gear. To correct this problem, the technician must replace an engine mount. So far, customers’ first impressions are noises coming from the engine and a trip to the dealership for repair. The Compass takes a step in the wrong direction.

Problems with the Electrical System

The electrical aspect of any modern vehicle is also vital to its proper function. Yet, the Compass is struggling to get this area right either.

Here’s another NHTSA complaint worth reading. “Vehicle has shut off while driving on two occasions. Both times I had slowed to a stop and when I hit the gas to reaccelerate at a green light the car shut off. The infotainment screens remained on and the lights on the shift knob started to blink. I had to put the car into Park, turn it off and restart it all while sitting at an intersection. It was not a quick process. The car has an idle feature to save on gas, however this was not the feature in action the car was off completely.”

Jeep can’t seem to manufacture a solid SUV that works the way it’s intended. While not an electrical system issue, there is a recall that proves the company can’t get the basics down. NHTSA Campaign Number 20V208000 states that the windshield wipers might not operate correctly in more than 425,000 vehicles. The situation comes down to a windshield wiper arm defect that can allow the wipers to loosen. If owners can’t use their wipers during inclement weather, there is a serious safety concern to worry about. Guess customers won’t have to worry about the impression made since they can’t see anything anyway.

Problems with the Forward Collision Avoidance

Advanced systems in modern vehicles require a lot of precision, but there is also a lot that can go wrong. That’s what we see with the forward collision avoidance in the Compass.

One more NHTSA review states, “The contact owns a 2020 Jeep Compass. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the Forward Collision Avoidance system failed function as designed. The contact stated that the speed was not reduced neither was there a warning of stopped vehicles ahead. The contact depressed the brake pedal and stopped the vehicle. The Forward Collision Avoidance system was reset and the vehicle operated as designed. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to [dealership] where the contact was informed that the vehicle operated as intended. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The contact was informed that the Forward Collision Avoidance system front sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 600.”

Of all the concerns listed with the Compass, this one features no response from the automaker. Instead, drivers are left making their own first impressions on the other people on the road. Hopefully, that first impression doesn’t come by rear-ending the car in front.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Cadillac pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling
DateDec 07, 2022
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated while in stop and go traffic, the temperature gauge rose into the high temperature range. The contact stated that the vehicle lost motive power; however, after several minutes, the vehicle started and operated normally. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted or notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,685.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 30, 2022
StateFL
Description
Electrical transmission problem. Car stopped working in the middle of street almost got in accident. Won't accelerate over 20 miles. Problem turning on after turns off automatically. Seen so many people with this problem. This car needs to be investigated is not safe.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateOct 31, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated while attempting to start the vehicle, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and both batteries in vehicle were replaced. On another occasion, the contact turned on the heater in the vehicle; however, there was no heat coming out of the vents. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, no failure was found. The contact stated that the failure persisted. The manufacturer was contacted and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline to file a complaint. The failure mileage was 32,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
Just bought vehicle at 33k miles, 1 owner. Records show they changed oil and maintained vehicle ever 3500-4000k miles. Test drove a certified vehicle from big chain dealer, 4days later decide to purchase. Driving home car didn't feel right. Felt jumping? While driving like bubbly? Anyway got home. Lift hood. I hear engine knocking, I hear hissing under hood on top, also and clank clank nosies underneath by cat converter. A certified vehicle a 125 point inspection by a major dealership. I feel I been scammed. There's no way this should have passed inspection at all.
CategoryEngine, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Power Train
DateSep 19, 2022
StateNC
Description
I did an oil change mid august and found bits of metal in the oil at 50,000 miles, ive change the oil every 5000 miles. I haven't been rough with it and also every time I get on the highway or rev my engine up to 4000 rpm the transmission slips hard on the 4th gear usually. If I have it on fwd it slips as well. The blind spot warning goes off randomly sometimes as well.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 17, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The vehicle has 44k miles on it. Upon starting the car in my driveway today it would not start and was throwing an ecm error code along with "engine coolant temperature too hot". The vehicle fluids levels are perfect but it just will not start. I called the dealership and was advised they've seen lots of these issues but have no clue how to fix the problem. The car will automatically shut down if being driven and this occurs (we read other blogs on this issue) and it is truly a hazard.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 15, 2022
StateTX
Description
Over the past month my car has had issues with my car not starting up and killing out my battery. Today I had was driving and my vehicle shut off at a stop light and wouldn't turn back on. After getting the battery powered up I went to work and turned off my car and now it won't start again. When trying to start my car it will tell me that my coolant temperature is high and then it will tell me the coolant temperature is to low and it will flash and tell me ebs system. The car has even stopped suddenly as I slowed down to make a right hand turn almost causing me to get into multiple accidents. The auto start/stop light is always on. I have already been through 2 batteries in this car so far and I am so frustrated as is my job over this issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Wheels
DateAug 31, 2022
StateTX
Description
Second time vehicle refuses to turn on. Purchased a "new" battery from the dealership and just a few months later the vehicle refused to turn on once again. According to the dealership the electrical wires were burnt out by the computer in my jeep. Tire pressure on my vehicle are always incorrect and I have purchased four sets of new tires trying to correct this error. First claim filed with jeep case number: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2022
StateMS
Description
8/30/2022 started the vehicle in the drive way foot still engaged on break and the vehicle accelerated forward with my foot on break and damaged my home and vehicle. 8/28/22 emergency break engaged on its own and we couldn't move the vehicle it was turned off and restarted. 8/27/22 vehicle information screen was blank and black after starting the vehicle.. This happened at least three times.
CategoryAir Bags
DateAug 18, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact's daughter owned a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving at approximately 2 mph in a parking lot, she was involved in a head-on collision. The vehicle was listed as totaled by the insurance company. The contact's daughter and niece were injured when the air bags did not deploy, causing her daughter and niece to strike their foreheads on the steering wheel and the passenger's side dashboard. The contact's daughter was unaware if any warning lights were illuminated. A police report was filed. The contact's daughter and niece did not seek medical attention. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 07, 2022
StateIA
Description
Vehicle jolts back and forwards while shifting while driving
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateAug 04, 2022
StateTX
Description
We were going about 30 no more than 40mph and the coolant gauge on the dashboard shot up to the h and went back down so quickly while this was happening the jeep started jerking like it was gonna stop. Then it started driving normal again that was on a friday july29,2022 I was on my way to work on a wednesday august 3,2022 and I was going to work I had just exited the freeway go about 60-70mph I had to come to a smooth stop at a light when the light turned green the coolant gauge shot up again to the h and when I tired to press the gas pedal the vehicle was hesitant to move so I took my foot off the gas and press down again the jeep jerked then I was able to move again. When it does shoot up to over heating it does it really fast you're unable to catch a picture. When we open the sunroof I smell this kinda burnt smell almost like someone is burning plastic or something.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 03, 2022
StateIL
Description
Burning or loosing coolant, no leaks or busted hoses.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 25, 2022
StateVT
Description
Electrical issues. Bought this vehicle late february 2022. Radio screen, which controls everything goes from dim to really bright, multiple times on its own. Been to the dealership many times for this problem, continuing to have this problem with no resolution in sight. Can not get dealership to call me back with a resolution at this point. Vehicle is still under warrenty.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateJul 06, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Engine shut itself off by itself at a stop light. The car flashed a “coolant temperature too high” message then immediately turned off. As I was driving I always check my dashboard. I was going 45mph reached the stop light and the engine/coolant temperature gauge was normal in between the cold and the high sign. But even then it flashed that “coolant temperature too high” message and shut itself off right when the red light changed to a green light. It was over 100 degrees fahrenheit outside and inside the car without ac it was awful. I immediately turn on my four ways but cars still kept coming up behind me even though I could not move my car. The car would not turn on. I called 911 and my insurance for help moving my disabled vehicle. Even with my four ways on, drivers kept pulling up behind me even two semi gasoline trucks despite my four way lights being on. Two drivers almost rear ended me because they kept coming up behind me. I kept pressing my brakes praying cars would not hit me because the car would not come back on. I was sweating and trying not to pass out from the heat. I tried to turn my car back on multiple times and after 15 minutes it finally came back on. Out of fear, I did not continue driving the vehicle because I didn't want to keep driving knowing it would turn itself off at the next stop light. Help was on the way and the tow came to help with my disabled vehicle and the police arrived as well to help divert traffic. I was scared and almost got hit by a car, truck, and two semi gasoline trucks. This has happened multiple times every year. Happened on the driveway at my house, has happened on the freeway where I am going over 65mph and messes up with the braking system and with my steering, and most recent at a stop light driving home from work. Scariest day of my life. It is a safety hazard. Can cause accidents even death.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 22, 2022
StateNJ
Description
During my drive on 6/1/2022 I noticed as the heat intensified outside that my windshield started to look like it was melting and each time it gets hot the same occurs. I've also noticed this defect in a smaller yet in my sight line on my driver's side window and the rear window. Yes, my safety is put at risk as well as others due to the lack of true visibility while driving. I took my vehicle to 2 dealerships, auto glass center, auto body and auto detailer all have physically seen this issue happening. It is very difficult to take a photo to send for viewing as it is best to see this in person due to the reflection the windows cause. I am told that despite being with in the 3yr 36000 mile warranty for a "leased" vehicle chrysler will not cover the replacement due to the manufacturers defect.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Exterior Lighting
DateMar 21, 2022
StateFL
Description
I purchased this vehicle a year ago. About 2 months ago I started having problems getting the vehicle to start. Aaa & geico have come several times to jump me. The vehicle also states high coolant temperature sometimes when it does this. At one point it would not go over 35 mph. I took it to the jeep dealer to be told start by replacing both batteries for 0 and then we can go from there! She also stated it was probably electrical. I don't have 0 to spare, especially on a vehicle that's a 2020. Took it to auto zone they tested both batteries & said they both tested fine. I ended up purchasing a jump box as this happens at least 3 times/week. Well as of today, now that wont even work.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateNov 05, 2021
StateCO
Description
An issue with my 2020 jeep compass has been reoccurring, regardless of the engine temperature whether at operating temperature or cold, the vehicle will flash a message of "coolant temperature too high", the vehicle will shut itself down and the operator will need to press the brake, press the start/stop button to fully turn the vehicle off, press the brake again and press the start/stop button again to restart the vehicle. After restarting, the vehicle will run normally until the error message flashes again. This issue will occur when pulling out of the drive way after the vehicle has been sitting over night and when it is stopped at a stop light. When driving at highway speeds the vehicle will flash the same "coolant temperature too high" message, act as if it wants to shut itself off for a split second, steering and braking is effected when this happens, and after a split second the vehicle returns to normal operation. The vehicle has been into a jeep dealership multiple times, on one occasion the auxiliary battery was replaced and that seemed to have solved the issue for a few months but the same coolant temperature message and associated issues returned. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership again and no issues were found. After the most recent trip to the dealership the vehicle drove and operated normally for four days until the next day, the same message and issues listed above happened twice in one morning. I have filed a complaint with fiat chrysler, the dealerships have no solution to this issue which in my opinion is a safety hazard, due to the fact the vehicle wants to turn off while traveling at highway speeds.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 10, 2021
StateNY
Description
Unknown
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 12, 2021
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated that her son was driving at undisclosed speeds when he arrived at his destination turn into a parking lot. Placed the gear actuator in park, within second a warning indicated that the vehicle was not in park however, the contact stated that the vehicle was in park. The gear actuator seized not allowing the contact to change gears. The contact attempted to turn the vehicle off however the vehicle failed to turn off. Unknown if any odor appeared. The police department was contacted and came out and try to assist. Within a second the vehicle went up in flames. The fire department was contacted and extinguished the flames. No injuries were sustained. No medical attention contacted was contacted. The vehicle was towed by the police department to a tow yard (unknown location). The police department deemed the vehicle a total loss. Usaa was contacted and will collect the vehicle but as of now, no further information was provided to the contact. The manufacture was informed of the failure however no further assistance was taken at this time. The failure mileage approximately 12,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 08, 2021
StateNY
Description
19000 miles and consumes 1 quart of oil a month. This has been doing this since bought new. Told dealer on two services and dealer (smith haven jeep, st. James, ny) said this is normal. I know this is not normal for a new car. I drive about 400 miles a month unless going on vacation.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated while driving at 35 mph in the rain, when he attempted to use the windshield wipers but they failed to function. The contact stated he attempted to park the vehicle and was unable to see another vehicle which caused him to crash. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The air bags did deploy. The contact stated he sustained whiplash, neck and lower back injuries and did seek medical attention at the hospital. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. Upon investigation, the contact was made aware that the vin was associated to nhtsa campaign number: 20v208000 (visibility). The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 19,126.
CategoryTires
DateMay 31, 2021
StateMI
Description
I was driving on the highway approximately 50-60 mph when the tire immediately deflated. I did not seem to hit any debris or hazard in the road.
CategoryTires
DateMay 24, 2021
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2020 jeep compass equipped with continental tires, tire line: procontact tx, tire size: 225/55/r18, dot number: a35lwbjd4419. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21t001000 (tires) however, neither the tire size nor the dot number were included. The contact stated he had experience the loss of tire pressure with his tires. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and was informed to take the vehicle to a tire shop. The vehicle was taken to a tire shop and the contact was informed that the passenger's side front tire needed to be replaced. The tires were not replaced. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 24,000.
CategoryTires
DateMay 20, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact called on behalf of her daughter who owns a 2020 jeep compass equipped continental tires, tire line: contipro contact, tire size: 235/45/r19, dot number: a35lwbjd3419. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving approximately 35-45 mph, the front passenger's side tire felt as though it was losing air pressure. The driver pulled over to the side of the road and required assistance to inflate the tire. The driver noticed that the sidewall of the tire was bulging out. The tires were brought to a local tire shop and the tire was patched. The contact learned of nhtsa campaign numbers: 18t012000 (tires) and 18t006000 (tires). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and confirmed that the tire was not included. The approximate failure mileage was 4,500.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateApr 05, 2021
StatePA
Description
I was filling up my gas tank, the automatic stop on the gas pump never shut off. Gas began spilling out of my car onto the ground. I placed the gas pump back and attempt ed to start my car, my car started but shut off right after signaling my oil was low. I just got my oil changed a week before. My car is now at the shop and I am out of pocket to fix this issue. This was a brand new car and it continues to stall and won't hold a charge. After searching this issue it seems to be a common issue with this vehicle. Also I am told by the dealership that my warranty will not cover this issue.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
Brakes squeak and squeal when coming to a stop or slowing down from 2mph down to 0. The noise has gotten worse over time. I have taken the jeep to two different dealerships with one finally changing the brake pads and rotors at 5k miles! Issues cont. Was only told that a star case was opened and I was able to drive away in my squeaky vehicle. Issue not fixed and I'm fed up with jeep! The vehicle had been in and out of the service dep. Numerous times. Must be a lemon.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateMar 08, 2021
StateFL
Description
While driving about 60mph with no vehicle in front of me the car started dinging and the word brake! Came up on the dash - again, no vehicle in front of me. I pushed the brake and it went away - took it to the dealership and they said the front camera was defective and replaced it. About a week later while driving about 45mph- no one in front of me - the same thing happened only this time the car slammed the brakes on on it's own and I almost got rear ended. Took it to the dealership but they cant' diagnose what's happening because there's no codes.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateFeb 04, 2021
StateNC
Description
My cameras quit working first. 2nd time in the shop, due to stalling when driving. 3rd time loosing power/stalling while driving. Loosing all power to center console. Radio, heat, phone wouldn't connect, screen wasn't working. Nothing. Came. Back on when driving.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 24, 2021
StateOH
Description
I purchased a 2020 jeep compass trailhawk with the 2. 4 tiger shark engine on 2/24/20. While on my way to sign papers, I saw a friend with a 2018 model leaving the dealership. When I informed him that I was picking up the same car he told me to "watch my oil". He had his shut down driving down the road without warning due to low oil. His was using a quart in under 1k miles. The dealership ended up replacing the engine but the same oil consumption issue remained. When I asked about the issue before signing papers, the salesman checked with service & was told that they had taken care of the issue. They did not. I had my oil changed at 830 miles (I don't drive a lot) and it was 1 quart low. It has come to my attention that a recall had been issued for model year 2018 but not 2020. It is the same engine and same issue. It is a software update for excessive oil consumption. Why not 2020?
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 05, 2020
StateAL
Description
Driving down the road, in neighborhoods, interstate, etc - random times the vehicle transmission will overheat up to 295 degrees, and cause the vehicle to stall engine wise. All power is lost to the gas pedal and I'm not able to accelerate. Sometimes the electrical will shutter, lights will dim. Another time vehicle was completely immobilized and all power was lost. The overheating and stalling has happened 4/5 times now - and all jeep can tell me is they can't replicate the issue. The check engine light comes on, service transmission message, and overheat warning comes on as well. I've shown them pictures of the overheating temperature as well as error messages. They (jeep service) has told me when they hook it up to their machine in service, it tells them nothing - so they claim they don't know how to fix it or what causes it. This car is a death trap waiting to happen. I do not feel safe driving this car. My car has been "in service" for 4 weeks now with no resolution in sight, and I'm being told since the issue can't be duplicated it's not a warranty issue and that I have to pay for the loaner I was given. I was told by the service advisor that they couldn't get the car temperature over 200 degrees, and that they cannot drive the vehicle over 65mph per their insurance policies. So, I told them I would drive the car for 20 mins, and bring it back to them over 200 degrees. I came back in 25 mins, and gave them the car at 230 degrees. The service advisor took the car immediately back to the shop to be hooked up to their "machine" and said he received no error message, even though the mechanic says the car should never go over 200 degrees. The vehicle transmission temperature runs over 200 degrees daily.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 03, 2020
StateFL
Description
When ac is left in the on position and the vehicle is turned on there is an audible squeak noise that comes from the passenger side of the engine, this also occurs when the stop start system engages at stop lights and stop signs. This squeak sounds much like a belt slipping or a pulley tensioner needing to be lubercated. This issue occurs consistently regardless of ambient temps or car temps. This squeak also happens when the ac is running and you accelerate quickly from a dead stop, at around 3,000 rpms you can hear the squeak.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 20, 2020
StateCA
Description
My 2020 compass stalls while driving on the street and freeway and while turning. I have had this happen 6 or 7 times and one time a guy slammed on his brakes and swerved around me so he didn't hit me. I took it to the dealer 2 times and its been in the shop for 25 days and I provided video proof of the issue and the dealer said if they don't see it they won't do anything. The car keeps getting different check engine codes and they just clear them. There is obviously and issue the dealer won't verify driving the car two miles. There is clearly an electrical issue.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateSep 08, 2020
StateWV
Description
I bought my jeep compass in february. Last month when coming home my service parking brake system and service auto shut off system light both came on. When I got home I was like that's odd and called the dealer. They said they would look at if I brought it to them. I got ready for work, went to leave and my car wouldn't move. The parking brake was stuck on. I was furious and called the dealer and said they needed to have it towed and they refused. My mom ending up taking me to work, then the next day the lights mysteriously went off. Now yesterday both lights came on again. I plan on taking it to a dealer on thursday to have it looked at & hopefully fixed. I just have read a couple complaints saying they have been stuck at red lights and nearly hit due to similar issues so I might be trading this vehicle in.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 02, 2020
StateAZ
Description
I purchased my car on july 22nd 2020. The very first day while I was driving home I noticed that the car shut off while I was stopping. I thought perhaps that it was the auto off that triggered a little too early. Since then it happened twice and most recently while I was driving and making a turn the car just shut off. The only way to get the car going west for me too put the car in neutral and start the car again. Also, a google search of the tiger shark engine issues points out that there are many concerns and complaints affecting so many vehicles. There's also a class action lawsuit about this..
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateAug 24, 2020
StateMI
Description
I have had my 2020 jeep compass 4. 5 months and it has stalled twice. Both times as I was approaching a light to stop. My life has been endangered both times as I did not realize what had happened nor do the people behind me. I only realized what was happening when I attempt to accelerate. Both times I was almost hit from behind. The first time at approx at 1624 miles and the second time at approx 1742 miles. There is no warning or direction from the vehicle, but while panicking in traffic I see that my emergency bake is on!!!!! Suddenly and for no reason!! I have also have several problems since the first month with the auto stop-start. This function has never worked properly and shuts down all. The. Time. I was told by the dealership it was my fault for not driving my vehicle enough. Not driving my vehicle enough during a global pandemic. I'm to blame. I do not feel safe in this car.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 10, 2020
StateFL
Description
Vehicle has shut off while driving on two occasions. Both times I had slowed to a stop and when I hit the gas to reaccelerate at a green light the car shut off. The infotainment screens remained on and the lights on the shift knob started to blink. I had to put the car into park, turn it off and restart it all while sitting at an intersection. It was not a quick process. The car has an idle feature to save on gas however this was not the feature in action the car was off completely.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 12, 2020
StateFL
Description
Twice now, the vehicle has completely shut off while driving. The first time happened at a red light. This vehicle has automatic engine shut off when you press on the brake, but when you release the brake, the engine is supposed to come back on. When I was at the red light, the entire vehicle shut off and I needed to put the car in park and restart the vehicle. This happened again while I was making a u turn a few weeks later. As I was turning the car, the entire vehicle shut off and I luckily rolled to the edge of the road to put the car in park and turn the vehicle back on.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 29, 2020
StateAZ
Description
Purchased a 2020 compass on may 28th, 2020 within the first week it shut down or stalled completely at a stop street, had to put the car in park and hit the restart button. I was not sure if this had something to do with the auto stop/start so I switched this function off and in the following weeks it died 2 more times once when driving through an intersection the next time when I was starting off at a street light, this is not normal so on june 26th I returned the car to the dealership and filled a claim with jeep customer service. The service department phoned and said they had the same issue and it might have something to do with fuel. In the interim I researched this issue and there are hundreds of complaints on line from 2018-2020 compass and cherokee latitude owners, all complaining about the oil consumption, stalling, dangers of causing an accident etc. When I purchased the car it had 37 miles I returned it in less than 1 month and it only had 240 miles as we hardly drove it due to lockdown and working from home. If chrysler/jeep does not accept the car back and refund my deposit I will have a lemon law lawyer get involved. I have no confidence in driving the car and get anxiety attacks just thinking about driving this suv again, I cannot have it stall while in motion due to the danger it poses to my safety and other drivers safety. Please review this with all the complaints on the internet. We were always driving on the city streets when these happened but it stalled and we had to restart it each time even the service department who tried to figure it out said it stalled when they test drove it, this compass is flawed and dangerous it should be taken off the road, especially since chrysler/jeep knew of these problems with the compass since 2018, they are putting profits over safety and accidents will happen and lives will be lost due to the stalling issues.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateMar 25, 2020
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2020 jeep compass. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the forward collision avoidance system failed function as designed. The contact stated that the speed was not reduced neither was there a warning of stopped vehicles ahead. The contact depressed the brake pedal and stopped the vehicle. The forward collision avoidance system was reset and the vehicle operated as designed. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to brown's jeep chrysler dodge ram located at (483 ny-112, patchogue, ny 11772) where the contact was informed that the vehicle operated as intended. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The contact was informed that the forward collision avoidance system front sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 600.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • David G

    Battery died after one week of ownership of a new vehicle Jeep compass 2022
    Disable the auto shut off feature to save on battery power steering wheel locked up almost caused a major catastrophe scared to drive this vehicle.

  • Netta V

    I have taken my Jeep Compass Trailblazer to the dealership i pur gased it from. But was told to take it to Jeep. I’ve been to Jeep twice and called my advisor once, explaining this issue im having. The vehicle acts like it is going to stall. It jerks when I’m driving at a low dpeed or taken off from a light. The 1st rime I was told it was my tires. I didn’t understand that, but purchased the tires. I drove it for a week, called the advisor and left a voice mail that the vehicle was still doing the same thing. was told Carfax is only showing tires purchased for the vehicle. There’s nothing showing on my car history regarding issues reported. My plan is to sell the vehicle back to dealership.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.