2019 Ford Mustang Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When it comes to pony cars, enthusiasts were thrilled to learn more about the 2019 Ford Mustang lineup. There were a lot of new options that allowed owners to “customize your view.” Sadly, the hype wasn’t worth the wait as this sports car suffers from a faulty electrical system, defective engine, malfunctioning powertrain and shoddy wheels.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017  2018  2020  2021 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Ford Mustang

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
15
Unknown Or Other
8
Power Train
7
Structure:body
5
Engine
5
Wheels
3
Latches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
3
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
2
Service Brakes
2

Problems with the Electrical System

The modern vehicle electrical system runs everything from the start of the engine to the radio equipment. When something malfunctions, it can cause glitches to every system involved.

Here is one relevant NHTSA complaint. “Passenger power window rolls down without any buttons being pushed (uncommanded). When rolled up by either passenger or driver’s button, will roll down by itself again within 30-60 seconds, sometimes immediately. Only way to keep window up is by constantly holding either button in the up position. Does this at any speed and road condition every time it is driven. Took to [dealer], they will replace the passenger window electric motor. Should not be happening on a car bought on October 19 with less than 6k miles.”

This vehicle wanted to be a convertible instead and is hoping to bring more fresh air into the cabin. However, these aren’t the only electrical-system concerns. NHTSA Campaign Number 19V076000 states that the instrument cluster can go blank and refuse to start up at all. This leaves drivers without access to temperature levels, fuel level, vehicle speed and safety system warnings. Apparently, the Mustang wants you to “customize your view,” unless that requires access to important operating data

Problems with the Engine

The Ford Mustang lineup has been an iconic symbol of sports car tradition, thanks to many years of having a powerful engine. Unfortunately, the 2019 Ford Mustang can’t boast of the same condition.

Here is a review left on Edmunds. “Engine and Trans started making ticking noise at 6k mikes dealer saying it’s normal.”

Sadly, dealers are telling people that engine noises are normal. Service Bulletin #TSB19-2144 states that it could make a moderate knocking noise while idling, which is completely normal and doesn’t hurt the engine. The automaker directs technicians to do nothing for repair and to leave it alone. Meanwhile, Mustang drivers are stuck driving their hot rod with this annoying engine sound that causes panic. It wouldn’t be shocking if long-term Mustang fans switched brands after driving the 2019 model.

Problems with the Transmission

The same can be seen with the defective powertrain. It creates a driving experience that no one wants to have.

Here is yet another Edmunds review. “It lunges a little at low speeds and the shifts when on part throttle are a little unrefined, Mushy and harsher shifts than other well sorted cars.”

Ford states that the vehicle might hesitate or surge forward because of an inoperative cruise control system. Service Bulletin #TSB 19-2135 states the issue comes from a loose transmission output shaft flange nut that creates trouble. At this point, it would seem that none of the major systems on the Mustang are operating as they should. Sure, owners might be able to customize the view, but what if the sports car doesn’t move. Oh well, at least the view looks good as the owner waits for the tow truck.

Problems with the Tires

What’s one of the first things that’s noticed on a high-quality sports car? Often, it’s the stylish wheels and large tires, but this Mustang has severe issues.

There is an NHTSA complaint that discusses wheel-related issues. “Wheel whining noise shows on or above 40 mph (like wheel hub bearing humming sound). Dash and rear driver rattling noises. Front end bushings squeaking noises (especially can be heard while passing a car on parking bumps).”

There are also concerns about the tires. Service Bulletin #SSM 47978 states that the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tires that come on some models might appear to be wearing out prematurely. However, the automaker wants to assure technicians and owners that this is just the unique tread design which is shallower than most tires. Instead of replacing the tires, people are supposed to get educated about what the tires should look like. That is, of course, until one blows out because it’s excessively worn.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryAir Bags, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateSep 29, 2022
StateWA
Description
My name is michelle wright and I have purchased ford vehicles most of my life. I love ford vehicles and have had amazing experiences with westlie ford and landmark ford. I purchased my vehicle at vancouver ford, which is the most unprofessional and unethical dealership. My story starts october 2021, when I purchased a 2019 ford mustang from vancouver ford. I paid cash for the vehicle and was provided an autocheck, not a carfax the day I had purchased this car. Over the last 8 months I have had several issues that made think my car was an accident but was assured it was never in an accident. After pulling the carfax, I realized it was in a wreck and had an accident date of july 2019. This led me to look for an accident report, which was filed by a portland police officer on july 23, 2019.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
Heated/cooled driver's seat stopped functioning due to a shorted or overloaded wiring harness causing a small electrical fire at the harness.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
The instrument panel, which is entirely digital with no actual dials or needles, stopped working and went totally black for a short period of time while I was driving.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
Passenger door unlocked and opened by itself while driving 75mph with no one in the passenger seat. Appears to be the same issues as the 2011 - 2017 mustang recall.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateSep 06, 2022
StateDC
Description
The performance of the car is impacted by the following: service advance trac steering assist fault service required hill start assist not available. As a result, the vehicle drivetrain aggressively responds with drop in rpm and steering wheel gets tight; to a point the car is hard to navigate
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the instrument cluster went blank for several seconds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The dealer informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 19v076000 (electrical system) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 45,500.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJul 19, 2022
StateNC
Description
My car has started to have problems with some of its features. Cruise control, pre collision assist, traction control, back up camera and some other features have all become unavailable.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 01, 2022
StateMI
Description
In the last 5 months I have had at least 3 incidents where the electronic dash goes blank, while driving. So far it had come back on within a short time. I took it to the dealer and they said they tried reprogramming it (but also said they found nothing wrong). The dealer said that reprogramming didn't fix it so they ordered a part. That was march 22, 2022 and the last time I heard anything from brighton ford - no idea if they ordered the part or did anything and no contact in over a month.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 22, 2022
StateVA
Description
I parked my manual car at work. Put the emergency break on and the break disengaged on its own and 15 mins later the car ran into the metal frame of a pick up truck.
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Power Train
DateDec 26, 2021
StateGA
Description
My my trunk has a set of cords that have been caught in my trunk door and severed in half. They are then too short to fix. Basically im stuck I do believe it wasn't thought through very well. I have a 2019 eco boost convertible in which the adaptive cruise control has never worked. Current problems(these are all on my ford app) -restraints indicator lamp warning - pre collision assist not available vehicle health report: problems 1. Power train malfunction / reduce power 2. Brakes & suspension 3. Restraints & driver assist 4. Check fluids & filters 5. Recall - door latch 21n10
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 04, 2021
StateIL
Description
On 11/27/21 I was driving my 2019 mustang gt convertible with approx 15,000 miles. While going around a curve (not at an excessive speed) on dry pavement, the car became uncontrollable and began to spin out. As much as I tried to brake and steer into the slide, the car became more and more uncontrollable and felt as though it were speeding up. I only came to a stop after slamming into a tree and rolling over to the other side of the road. Vehicle is a total loss. I was lucky and only suffered minor injuries, but it very easily could have been much worse. The police and paramedics who arrived at the scene were expecting a fatality or severe injuries. In the end I was ticketed for failure to reduce speed. I'm losing my mind explaining to the police and insurance that the car sped up on its own and all control of the vehicle were lost. I am in danger of losing my license because of this and no one is believing that this could possibly happen and convinced me to state that I was probably driving too fast. This is a deadly problem. The internet is full of videos demonstrating this same problem: complete loss of control in a low speed turn. Before you ask, I wasn't racing, I wasn't drifting, I wasn't spinning my tires or doing donuts; I was just trying to go home to my kids who almost lost their father. If there is any saved data or physical evidence that needs to be saved, action is needed asap before the insurance company scraps it. Also, it should be noted that in the week leading up to the accident, the rear end would become loose when going around corners. I had planned to have it addressed at the next oil change.
CategoryWheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateNov 22, 2021
StateTN
Description
Swollen lug nuts. Unable to have regularly scheduled rotation as they could not be removed. Was advised to purchased new lug nuts.
CategorySteering
DateNov 04, 2021
StateTX
Description
Electronic power steering makes a grinding noise at low speed when turning steering wheel. The noise is getting progressively louder.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 13, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated that the vehicle was jerking while idling at a stop light. The failure recurred while driving at highway speeds exceeding 65 mph. The contact stated that the vehicle would eventually regain stability. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the radiator cooling fan was replaced. The dealer also diagnosed that the transmission gasket was leaking. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the failure recurred while driving 80 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal and the push to start button simultaneously to regain normal vehicle operation. The failure persisted; however, the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a case was opened. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 01, 2021
StateNV
Description
The 10 speed automatic transmission is not shifting properly. The car lurches and it feels/sounds like the transmission is going to fall out of the car when putting the car in drive or reverse from park. There is hesitation while shifting during acceleration. The car should downshift to a lower gear when extra power is needed. Also, the transmission shifts hard when coming to a stop and feels like undo wear and tear is being placed on the transmission. The issues I am having are the same I see other ford mustang and ford f150 owners are having with the transmission. I want this issue fixed and the car is available for inspection. Also, this issue has been ongoing since jan 2021 when I purchased the car used.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateAug 16, 2021
StateAL
Description
The contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated that the front passenger door failed. The contact stated while driving at various speeds the front passenger's door was unlatched independently. The contact received a warning on the instrument panel that the passenger's door was unlatched. The contact was able to move onto the road shoulder and secured the front passenger door latch. The contact stated that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic test performed. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign 17v652000 (latches/locks/linkage). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 31, 2021
StateOK
Description
Car was taken to ford for diagnosis because it was running oddly and the service light kept coming on. After taking it in ford said there was nothing wrong with it and 2 days later it blows a head gasket and comes to a screeching halrt and the motor seizes.
CategoryElectrical System: Instrument Cluster/panel
DateJul 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
When I start my car the digital dash would just be black so I cant see how fast im going at all
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch, Structure:body
DateJul 28, 2021
StateLA
Description
While driving on highways, passenger door will suddenly partially unlatch and open door warning tone and advisory displays on the dash. I must pull over in order to open and reclose the door. First event was several months ago and I assumed it was an isolated event. It has increased in frequency to at least once a week. The door is closed and locked yet it comes partially unlatched and seems to only occur at highway speeds between 60mph and 75mph. Highly distracting when driving on interstate highway and I am unsure if it comes unlatched all the way since I have not had a passenger when this occurs. Poses safety hazard both as distraction and unsafe door lock.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 23, 2021
StateAK
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated that while starting the vehicle, the lcd dashboard failed intermittently to light up. Excel ford of carthage (2228 southeast loop, carthage, tx 75633) and the manufacturer were made aware of the failure but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 12,480.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 16, 2021
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated while driving at 15 mph, the contact heard a knocking sound in the engine. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact was concerned about driving the vehicle and had the vehicle towed to bill currie ford (5815 n dale mabry hwy, tampa, fl 33614) where it was diagnosed with the engine needing to be replaced. Prior to the contact owning the vehicle, the previous owner had the original engine replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not under warranty. The failure mileage was approximately 28,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 16, 2021
StateMD
Description
Rear window defroster shattered glass
CategorySeats
DateNov 13, 2020
StateTN
Description
On october 20, 2020 I was driving my 2019 ford mustang 5. 0 gt to work. As I was driving down the highway, I began to smell a burning plastic odor. It got stronger so I pulled my car over on the shoulder to inspect it. I got out and got down on my knees to check around my steering column, under my dash and driver seat but saw nothing however the odor of burning plastic got stronger. I went around to the passenger side and did the same inspection as I did on the drivers side. As I was doing this, I looked up and saw smoke coming from up under my driver's seat. I ran around to the driver's side and fire was coming up from under the seat and shooting up the back of my driver's seat. I grabbed my purse and work booklet, grabbed my phone and dialed 911. The inside of my car was completely engulfed in flames in less than 1 minute. Traffic stopped on the highway due to the small explosions and flames. Fire trucks, highway patrol and sheriff's started showing up and a short while later the car was finally extinguished and towed away.*dt*jb*dt*dt*dt
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch, Structure:body
DateNov 04, 2020
StateFL
Description
Passenger side door will unlatch and open while driving, the digital alert will come on and say door ajar. Seems to do this when you're driving anywhere from 20 to 40 mph. It has happened a total of 4 times in the last 2 weeks.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 15, 2020
StateIN
Description
Electronic dash panel goes blank. Vehicle only has 1800 miles . It has happened several times. Seems to be only at night after stopping on an errand and then getting back in and restarting. Have had in a ford dealership and they stated they can't find anything wrong. There was a safety recall on this problem for mustangs manufactured ip to 1/19. Mine was built in 4/19.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 29, 2020
StateFL
Description
Digital dash goes blank for few seconds while driving. Dealer can't replicate the issue and says there's nothing they can do.
CategoryWheels
DateJul 01, 2020
StateSC
Description
I noticed premature inner tire wear on the front left tire. I took the vehicle to my local ford dealership for repairs. They verified the alignment was incorrect on my vehicle and caused the tire damage but would not warranty components due to "aftermarket wheels and tires" installed on the rear of my vehicle. I contacted ford customer relationship center. Customer relations contacted the dealership and the dealership stated the alignment was correct (despite a print out given to me showing improper alignment). Customer relations suggested I take the vehicle to another dealer and install my factory wheels and tires on the vehicle. I did as suggested. The second dealer corrected my alignment issue and submitted a claim for tire replacement. Ford denied the warranty. I contacted the customer relationship center and they stated "most commonly this is due to aftermarket parts being installed". I reiterated that there was "aftermarket wheels and tires" installed on the rear of the vehicle but the factory parts were re-installed due to their suggestions. My car currently has 18,557 miles on it after visiting 2 dealerships with no prevail and I am expected to pay out of pocket to replace tires that were damaged at no fault of my own while ford hides behind modified parts that are in no way related to incorrect front alignment. *tr
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 21, 2020
StateCA
Description
2019 mustang gt equipped with mt82 from factory (d-4) horrible trans cars only got 4000 miles the shifts are harsh reengagement is inaccurate and could lead to failure , disappointing from ford and ive been a mustang fan since the age of 7 . The clutch pedal is awfully light and cant ever feel engaged point , needs to replaced or fixed to par .
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 19, 2020
StateTX
Description
2019 mustang with 6-speed manual transmission problem. Selling ford dealer denied any issues with it. Had a scratch between 5 and 6th gear from day one. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 02, 2020
StateNC
Description
All 18 & 19 mustang have a defect from the factory passenger side front bumper under headlight has a noticeable gap separation. Dealerships will not repair it tell customers that they damaged it by scuffing the bottom of the bumper. I am a licensed automotive technician this defect is being ignored. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 14, 2020
StateTX
Description
Car would not turn over. When I pushed the brake down to push the start button the brakes made a weird noise and it said brake system failed across dash. All the lights came on and would try to start over but would not. The brakes locked up and then the car completely died due to the head light started flashing and couldn't turn them off. The car would not lock or unlock. Could not pop open the hood or trunk. *tr
CategoryPower Train:driveline:differential Unit
DateMay 08, 2020
StateND
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. The contact stated that four months after the vehicle was placed in storage, the contact became aware of a leak underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to eide ford lincoln (800 e bismarck expy, bismarck, nd 58504) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the differential coolant line needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer informed the contact that part needed for the repair was on back order. Westlie motor company (500 s. Broadway, minot, nd 58701) confirmed the part was on back order. The failure mileage was 2,600. *ln consumer stated due to negligence of the dealer, transport blocks were not removed from rear, endangering the driver.*jb
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 05, 2020
StateFL
Description
In my car when driving after 45 minutes or so (longs drives) the radio screen is freezing, you could see everything in the screen but can't use it even buttons, nothing works, I can note it by clock time in the screen is way back in time, when I touch the screen is hot if I shut off the car for about 30 to 50 minutes to cold down then the radio is back. Happens again if I drive another 45 minutes. Nothing happen if I drive downtown short drives. *tr
CategorySeat Belts, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 27, 2020
StateNJ
Description
The car was purchased last november 2019, during the first month, I noticed that the icp was not properly working while using the gps- it gives wrong direction even the settings were correctly set, like it was remotely controlled. Besides that my battery was discharged that I needed to jumpstart it and towed it because the 1st time jumpstarting didn't work. It happened 4x, brought it twice to ford dealer to check everything was okay. It even send me alarm thru ford app that it was put on "sleep mode" even it was parked and it is frequently used. Not only that, the both windows were opened when I got back from an hour errand. With regards to the seat belts, there's no warning that flashes on the dashboard when not in used while on the passenger side despite riding with someone. It is also loose after removing it, you need to pull it manually to return to the short length when not strapped. The engine stalls when shifted from reverse to drive, it needs about 5-10 secs to work.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 21, 2020
StateGA
Description
Passenger power window rolls down without any buttons being pushed (uncommanded). When rolled up by either passenger or driver's button will roll down by itself again withing 30-60 seconds, sometimes immediately. Only way to keep window up is by constantly holding either button in the up position. Does this at any speed and road condition every time it is driven. Took to savannah ford dealer (jc lewis ford) they will replace the passenger window electric motor. Should not be happening on a car bought in oct. 19 with less than 6k miles.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 22, 2020
StateNV
Description
My icp in my mustang will randomly blank out while driving. This has happened while braking and driving down the highway. The car stays running, but I have no information. Since it is a digital screen I lose my speedometer, tachometer and everything else on the icp. It will boot back up after 10 seconds and work properly.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 20, 2019
StateCA
Description
Transmission goes by its self very dangerous car drives its self when foot off the brake and being given no gass will go as fast as 15 mph by itself
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Wheels
DateDec 19, 2019
StateDE
Description
2019 ford mustang gt 5. 0l with 10 speed automatic transmission milage: 14,000 -engine stalls when car comes to a stop (happened more than 10 times). -harsh transmission shifting from 4th to 5th. -dipping and irritating rpm when idle. -exhaust sound valve squeaking noise (like the sound when the metal has corrosion squeaking sound) while the valve changes from quite to normal or from normal to track. -wheel wining noise shows on or above 40mph (like wheel hub bearing humming sound). -dash and rear driver side rattling noises. -front end bushings squeaking noises (especially can be heard while passing on car parking bumps).
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 09, 2019
StatePR
Description
Riding under normal driving conditions, car stalls from a v8 to a v2. No power at all, if you want to switch from normal, to any selectable driving modes from toggle switch or steering wheel, wont change. Turn of car, turn it back on and continued with same problem.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 09, 2019
StateKY
Description
The car is equipped with automatic emergency braking (aeb) which does not work. 2 dealers have found no codes but say they have no way to test on the road. Called ford and they were no help. Referred me back to the dealer.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 27, 2019
StateKS
Description
I purchased a new 2019 ford mustang ecoboost on october 16, 2019, since day one the gear shift select lever has not been lighting up at night to show me which gear I am in. It does not illuminate at all. I believe it is unsafe, especially because if I happen to bump the shift lever, I am unable to see which gear I am in and could cause an accident.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 10, 2019
StateKY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford mustang. Once the vehicle was placed in reverse, the backup camera failed to operate. Simultaneously, the traction control, cross traffic system fault, drive mode selection not available, hill start assist, rod suspension, and blind spot system fault off warning indicators illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to crossroads ford lincoln, inc (1070 versailles rd, frankfort, ky 40601, 502-695-1990) and was informed that the vehicle had a defective battery. The battery was replaced, but the failure continued. The contact took the vehicle back to the same dealer on multiple occasions; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and was informed that a regional manager would call him back to provide additional assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 166.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 06, 2019
StateNJ
Description
While driving my gt350 on a highway at around 55 mph the engine made metallic grinding noises suddenly, and without warning. I instinctively pressed in the clutch pedal and then engine stopped spinning and locked up. I was fortunate to be in an area with a pull-off area and thin traffic. It could have been very dangerous at higher speeds, in thicker traffic, or with a less experienced driver. Once stopped, I checked the car and confirmed that the starter could not spin the motor due to mechanical failure. There were only about 450 miles on the vehicle when this happened. I was later told by the dealer that the engine had an issue with a rocker and valve, which caused the engine fail and lock up. A replacement engine also had 'valvetrain noise' and was determined to be no good by the dealer. I did not see or use the car with that engine. Beyond that, this issue is still unresolved as the car has not been repaired.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJul 17, 2019
StateNV
Description
This car was purchased on 4/27/19 brand new with 3 miles on it. As I was driving on 4/29/19 it was raining and as it began to rain harder, I adjusted the interval on the wiper switch to a higher speed and the wipers shut off and did not come back on. It continued to rain and I moved the switch up and down and nothing, they wouldn't come back on. I notified the dealer immediately and was asked to bring the car in for inspection on 4/30/19. They could not repeat the problem as it was not raining at that time and told me to come back again if it happens. On 7/12/19, it began to rain and I was on the highway and turned the wipers on and once again, as I tried to turn up the speed, they shut off and did not come back on. I had to drive 15 miles on the interstate with non-working wipers in the rain. I recorded the incident with my phone for evidence. Took the car back to the same service dept at gaudin ford on 7/15/19. The service dept foreman and tech looked at the video. It is 7/17/19 and it is still at the dealer. They say it doesn't show any codes and they cant repeat the problem. Well it isn't raining, so how can they test it without driving through a car wash or something? I notified ford customer relations on 7/16/19 of the issue and am waiting to hear back. As I stated, I have video evidence of this safety issue and they are not repairing it.
CategoryWheels
DateJun 25, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 ford mustang gt equipped with michelin tires, tire line: pilot sport 4s, tire size:255/40/r19 and dot number was unknown. The contact stated that on one occasion while driving at approximately 10 mph, both the front and rear passenger tires began to vibrate and both tires imploded. The vehicle was taken to a ford dealer (gilbert ford 3175 u. S. Hwy, us-441, okeechobee, fl 34974 (863) 588-7825). The dealer diagnosed the tires as being slashed and they were ultimately replaced. A police report was filed, case number 19s02663. On another occasion, the same front passenger tire blew out while traveling at approximately 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to a ford dealer ( gilbert ford 3175 u. S. Hwy, us-441, okeechobee, fl 34974 (863) 588-7825. The dealer diagnosed the tire as having a nail inside as well as wires coming from the tread of the tire. The tires were not replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and instructed the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer. The vehicle mileage was approximately 15,000 and the tire failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 18, 2019
StateFL
Description
Instrument cluster is blank upon start-up. This vehicle should be included in the nhtsa campaign number 19v076000. At vehicle start-up, the instrument panel cluster assembly sometimes misfunctions and shows a blank display. This has happened 3 times since I have owned my car for only 1 month. I brought it in for service on 6/4/19 and walker ford supposedly updated the instrument panel cluster software to fix this problem but it happened again and on 6/18 upon starting the car, the instrument panel was blank. The vehicle was stationary in my garage. I got in it to go to work and started it and the panel was blank. I turned car off and went inside the house and called ford. I then went back into car and restarted it and it was fine. It was working again.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Philippe

    I own an ecoboost 2019, the 10speed auto does feel rough under low throttle input, the problem doesn’t exist when driving in sport+ and track, might be something to do with the fact that the transmission is built for around 700hp, when it has enough power getting sent to it, the transmission is ultra smooth tho, you can ear it shift quick and leave some air noises coming from under the car when shifting, cool noises.

  • Nancy C

    I do love this car BUT the transmission has been hesitating or lunging forward after a few months of owning it. I am halfway through my warranty and it has been in the shop for this issue several times with no fix. Not what I was expecting from a brand new car. I brought the car in for this in May and was told they need it for a few days but they had no loaner cars, so I was put on a list. I was never called back…………………..

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.