2022 Honda Accord Problems and Top Complaints

Engine and suspension problems and faulty brakes are the top complaint issues received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The Honda Motor Company’s flagship model, Honda Accord, is one of the best-selling cars globally. Even though it is safe and reliable, the 2022 model does have problems that cannot be ignored. The automatic emergency brakes activate randomly and the vehicle tends to wobble on slightly uneven surfaces. There are also complaints about engine failure and exploding sunroofs.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Honda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Honda Accord

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
12
Service Brakes
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
2
Suspension
2
Engine
2
Wheels
2
Electrical System
2
Lane Departure: Assist
2
Steering
2

Most Common Problems with the 2021 Honda Accord

Complaints to the National Highway Traffic Administration (NHTSA) show that the top issue with the 2022 Honda Accord is the faulty automatic emergency brake system. Many owners complain that they activate randomly, without warning, endangering those in the car and in other nearby vehicles.

But there are many other issues that have also resulted in complaints. These include problems with the engine, the suspension of the car, and the sunroof, which sometimes explodes.

Problems with the Brakes

Most of the complaints about brakes are filed under Forward Collision Avoidance. As they say, it’s very dangerous, especially when there are cars following behind. While the feature can be disabled, it automatically re-enables itself when the car is restarted.

As an owner from North Carolina states: “The automatic braking system activates at random times, even when nothing is around the car. I have almost been rear-ended several times because of this issue.”

An owner from California states: “When I set my cruise control and drive in the middle lane, the car brakes automatically even though there is no car or any object in front of me.”

An owner from Illinois says this has happened three times. “While making a lane change from a single lane to multiple lanes on a right curve, the vehicle suddenly decelerated and the braking system came on. Fortunately, no one was behind me.”

The driver was traveling at about 45 mph each time and it slowed abruptly to under 30 mph. It did not come to a complete stop.

An owner from Tennessee says that on numerous occasions “the automatic emergency braking activated out of nowhere. There will be either no cars ahead of me or cars in opposite lanes but nothing in mine. I’ve had this car for about 3 months and it has happened at least 4 times. No accidents have happened because of this, however, it easily could have resulted in one.”

This owner also has a complaint about the lane-keeping assist feature. Multiple times when driving with lane-keeping assist on, and hands on the wheel, it suddenly tries “to jerk me off the road. This is extremely dangerous. If I’d been paying less attention I would have definitely ended up in a ditch or worse.”

Problems with the Engine

There are a couple of engine-related complaints, with one stating that the car failed with only 22 miles on the clock. The car stalled while traveling at 55 mph. The brake system, admission system, tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS), and vehicle assist stability warning lights all came on.

“The vehicle was not drivable.” So, the owner had the vehicle towed to the local dealership. They diagnosed that the variable timing control (VTC) that varies oil pressure should be replaced.

The vehicle was repaired. However, the following day, the dealer informed the owner that the engine also needed to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired, but the manufacturer was informed about the failure.

Problems with Suspension

There are only two complaints that blame suspension issues for problems. But they are serious.

The first is from an owner in Michigan who reports that the 2022 Accord wobbles significantly on mildly rough roads. It happened the first time while he was driving at 70 mph in a vehicle with only 500 miles on the clock. No warning lights came on.

The dealer test drove the vehicle on a smooth road and said there were “no issues,” blaming the wobbling on the road.

The driver disputes this, having driven three other vehicles on the same mildly rough road surface without incident. In the complaint, the Accord owner says that the failure recurs increasingly when driving.

The second complaint is from an owner in Iowa who states that the car “shuffles on the concrete highway.” This causes safety issues. Within three days of the incident, he contacted the dealership and said he wanted to return the car.

“It’s a safety risk, and it causes vertigo for both me and my wife.” There is no indication of what the response is.

Problems with the Sunroof

There has been a myriad of complaints about exploding sunroofs in a wide range of vehicles. The Honda Accord is no exception. There was a complaint to the NHTSA about the sunroof blowing out of a 2021 Accord sedan when the vehicle was closed and driving on a highway.

A complaint from a 2022 Honda Accord owner states that the sunroof exploded while driving at 70 mph. When the owner took the car to a dealership, they insisted a rock was the cause of the shattered sunroof. The owner refuted the diagnosis and reported the issue to the NHTSA.

The vehicle had only about 700 miles on the clock at the time.

Your Lemon Law Rights

If you buy a new 2022 Honda Accord and suspect that you’ve bought a lemon, call our Helpline to see how we can help. Lemberg Law can help you get a replacement vehicle, or negotiate that the manufacturer buys it back or refunds your money. You can rest assured that you’ll be fully covered because the law is on your side. It says that Honda must pay your legal bills.

What’s New for 2022?

The biggest news for 2022 is that the Honda Accord’s Sport trim level is now available on a hybrid model. The previous year’s Accord Hybrid EX replaces a new Sport trim hybrid, which features:

  • 19-inch alloy wheel
  • Black rear spoiler
  • LED headlamps and fog lights
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto integration
  • Heated seats
  • Sirius XM radio
  • 8-speaker audio system
  • Sport pedals
  • Full suite of Honda Sensing safety and driver-assistive technologies

What’s the fuel economy for the 2022 Honda Accord?

Honda assesses mileage ratings based on U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) rating requirements. They do, though, advise that actual mileage will vary depending on driving conditions, how you drive, and how you maintain your vehicle. The age and condition of hybrid vehicle battery packs can also affect mileage ratings.

The ratings below are estimates for driving in the city, on a highway, and a combined average rating:

  • Accord LX – 30 – 38 – 33
  • Accord Sport & Accord Sport SE (special edition) – 29 – 35 – 32
  • Accord EX-L – 30 – 38 – 33
  • Accord Sport 2.0T & Accord Touring 2.0T – 22 – 32 – 26
  • Accord Hybrid & Accord Hybrid EX-L – 48 – 47 – 47
  • Accord Hybrid Sport & Accord Hybrid Touring – 44 – 41 – 43

What are the Trim Packages & Pricing for the 2022 Accord?

There are 10 model/trim levels of the 2022 Honda Accord. The manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) ranges from $25,470 to $36,540, excluding the $1,015 destination charge.

MSRP below includes the destination charge:

  • Accord LX – $26,485
  • Accord Sport – $28,945
  • Accord Sport SE – $30,435
  • Accord EX-L – $32,805
  • Accord Sport 2.0T – $33,625
  • Accord Touring 2.0T – $38,415
  • Accord Hybrid – $27,685
  • Accord Hybrid Sport – $31,035
  • Accord Hybrid EX-L – $34,005
  • Accord Hybrid Touring – $37,555

What Technology does the 2022 Honda Accord Have?

Every Accord model comes with an 8-inch touchscreen that is easy to operate and features crisp graphics. The screen is mounted quite high on the dashboard, which makes it visually accessible, even at a glance.

All trim levels have Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. But the EX-L, Touring, and most of the hybrids have Apple CarPlay and Android Auto with wireless functionality that includes a wireless charging pad. All models, except for the base LX and Hybrid, have two rear USB ports.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Service Brakes
DateJan 19, 2023
StateIL
Description
Hello, I bought a new honda accord hybrid from schaumburg honda, illinois on 11/23/2022. Within one week of buying the car, the following error messages appeared on the dashboard with the brake system light on 1. Adaptive cruise control systems problem see dealer 2. Collision mitigation braking system problem see dealer 3. Road departure mitigation system problem see dealer I took my car to the dealer at schaumburg honda on 12/13/2022 and they inspected the car and said they did not find anything defective and reset the error codes. After one week, adding about 30 miles, I had the same error message displayed. I contacted honda and raised a complaint – 13553020 reading this issue and on their advice, I had my car checked by a different dealer valley honda at naperville on 12/27/2022. They did the same and drove the car for another 30 miles and the code was gone. Again after two weeks, the same error messages are on the dashboard. I stopped using the car as it was a safety hazard to dive with the brake system malfunctioning and updated honda the same. The car has been used for daily commutes for work and driving within 40 miles per hour depending on the allowed speed limits. Even though this qualifies as a lemon car but honda is declining and asking me to take it to the dealer again (3rd time). The defects of the car substantially impacted my ability to use the vehicle. The defects also rendered the vehicle unsafe for use. Regards [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateDec 10, 2022
StateMI
Description
I purchased a new 2022 honda accord ex-l back in march. Twice I've had something happen while driving. Yesterday it was snowing quite hard and getting slick. So on the way home I was merging onto the freeway and gradually speeding up. Suddenly the car braked hard for about a second as if I was coming up on someone too fast. There was no one in front of me, and fortunately the person behind me wasn't close enough that I got rear ended. Obviously the radar sensor thought I was about to hit a car immediately in front of me--a car that wasn't there. I've been in touch with the dealer where I purchased the car. I see that there was a recall on the 2018-2019 accords for this very thing. I seem to remember that the other time it happened it may have been raining, but I can't remember for sure. In that case the car didn't brake as hard as this time. This time it actually threw me forward, and fortunately my tires managed to grip the snowy pavement.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2022
StateLA
Description
The stationary window on the back passenger side shattered while the car was parked in the driveway on a very hot day. There did not appear to be any single point of contact. The glass was uniformly shattered. First off—I took the car to the dealer and they didnt even bother to look at it and said I would have to file a claim with honda which I did. Then the dealer said the window must have been struck by a rock by looking at a few pictures that I submitted and honda customer representative ghosted me and wouldn't answer when I called or return vms. There were fine glass splinters on the inside of the car from the window which would be a safety issue.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Exterior Lighting
DateNov 27, 2022
StateMD
Description
Nothing happy was just left mirror
CategoryLane Departure: Lane Keep: Automatic Steering, Service Brakes, Steering
DateNov 02, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda accord. The contact stated that while attempting to move the vehicle from the parking space the vehicle failed to move. The contact made several attempts to start the vehicle and then waited for approximately an hour before the vehicle finally started as intended. The contact stated that while driving, the vehicle failed to accelerate above 17 mph. The contact stated the vehicle was decelerating while attempting to accelerate above 17 mph. The braking system, adaptive cruise control, collision system braking, road departure mitigation system, low speed braking control, and electric power steering warning lights were illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who was unable to identify the cause of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,800.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist
DateSep 21, 2022
StateTX
Description
When driving down the highway with lane keeping assist, system gets confused. System tries to correct itself even though car is in the middle of the lane and eventually breaks while on the highway
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 14, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The collision mitigation braking system malfunctioned the brake warning light appeared and the car started braking and the car started jerking.. It is a safety risk .... No one was around but if there was a car in back of me there would have been a collision hazard. This happened twice I brought the car to the dealership to be inspected they did an advanced diagnostic of the system and made sure no codes were stored in the pcm. I was told they could not find anything and they were working with hondas engineers about this problem. They said they could not release the vehicle until they had answer as it was a safety issue. Their conclusion was debris from he sensors... And it could happen again if a bug or rock it the sensor areas I also reported it to honda motor co. Case #13364245
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateSep 09, 2022
StatePA
Description
Experienced very hard and rapid braking from the collision mitigation braking system when no obstruction or collision was imminent. The dashboard indicated "braking" at the time of the event, but there was otherwise no other warning or indication before the event happened. Issue has happened several times. Sometimes when drifting over a dashed line when merging onto a highway, but also happened this week when driving in a straight line while it was raining. All hard braking was when vehicle was over 50 mph and on a highway.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateAug 27, 2022
StateGA
Description
The front windshield of the vehicle keeps fogging up and obscuring visibility. I have the a\c to come on only on my feet and my windshield still fogs up. No matter how hot or cold
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train
DateAug 26, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Was waiting at a red light and when the light turned green I started to accelerate. All of the sudden the car lost power and I had to pull over to the side of the road. The car won't move in drive or go into reverse. I was almost hit do to the fact the car lost power to the power train.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateAug 26, 2022
StateOR
Description
Multiple instance of the car providing "brake" annunciation, rapid deceleration, and brake application at highway speeds when passing vehicles. Often happens when passing semi trucks, but not limited to them. Several instances this rapid and unexpected brake application has required driver action to avoid rear-end collisions with the car behind who may be following too closely. Unable to completely turn off the cmbs system, must be done per drive. With that system turned off the braking application is expectedly absent during these events, but the car will still provide a rapid deceleration (as if a driver took their foot off the accelerator pedal) but without brake application which also has been problematic for cars following. Local dealer confirmed that the system is functioning without warnings or errors, no recalls are active for the car, and the alignment and function of all related sensors are per the manufacturer. Dealer claims they are unable to reproduce the issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateAug 07, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Car applies emergency braking with no imminent danger ahead. Very sudden, without warning, and very startling. Very dangerous especially with with cars following behind. Feature can be disabled but will automatically reenable when the car is restarted.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Wheels
DateJul 29, 2022
StateNC
Description
Within 15k miles the cars wheel bearing completely went and needed to be replaced. The steering in my opinion hasn't been the same since. I've had it in the shop 3-4 different times in relation to the wheels/steering. The car will also randomly brake as if it's going to hit something when forward collision assistance is on. It's nearly got me rear ended 3 times. The original dealership I took it too since I was out of town put that something was hit when in truth I never said that and it was actually the tow trucks wench that damaged the dust shield.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 12, 2022
StateCA
Description
When I set my cruise control and drive in the middle lane, the car brakes automatically even though there is no car or any object in front of me. This can endanger traffic.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Lane Departure: Assist
DateJul 09, 2022
StateTN
Description
While driving on numerous occasions and my 2022 honda accord the automatic emergency braking is activated out of nowhere there will be either no cars ahead of me or cars in opposite lanes but nothing in mine. I've had this car for about 3 months an it has happened at least 4 times. No accidents have happened because of this however it easily could have resulted in one. Also I'm filling and complaining about the lane keeping assist. Multiple times ive be driving with the lane keeping assist on hands on the wheel and all of a sudden it'll try to jerk me off the road this is extremely dangerous. If I'd have been paying less attention I would have definitely ended up in a ditch or worse.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateJul 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda accord hybrid. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the vehicle was independently braking. The contact stated that the lane departure warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to continue driving to his destination. The contact stated that he experienced the failure on 5 separate occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateJun 19, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Car is only 5 months old and 1500 miles. All lights on dashboard are on. Check engine, check brake, check emissions, check collision mitigation, check abs - literally all lights are on.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateApr 19, 2022
StateIA
Description
The car shuffles on the concrete highway and causes a safety issue, and we cannot drive safely in this new vehicle purchase. I contacted my dealer smat honda, and honda. Com within 3 days and told them that I cannot drive the car, and I want to return it. It's a safety risk, and it causes vertigo for both me and my wife.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 09, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda accord. The contact stated while driving at 70 mph on a mildly rough road, the vehicle wobbled significantly. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact continued to drive the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who test drove the vehicle on a smooth road and diagnosed that no issues were found. The dealer advised the contact that the issue was with the road where he had driven the vehicle; however, the contact had driven three other vehicles on the same mildly rough road surface and the vehicles did not experience the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the failure had been reoccurring increasingly while driving. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and a case was opened. The failure mileage was approximately 500. The vin was not available.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateMar 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
Purchased car on 11-30-21. Three (3) times, most recently 3-5-22, while making a lane change from a single lane to multiple lanes on a right curve, the vehicle has suddenly decelerated and the braking system came on. Fortunately, no one was behind me on any of the three (3) occurrences. The vehicle did not come to a complete stop. Speed at time of each incident was around 45 mph and the vehicle slowed to under 30 mph abruptly.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateNC
Description
I have a 2022 honda accord sport. The automatic braking system activates at random times, even when nothing is around the car. I have almost been rear ended several times because of this issue.
CategoryTires:pressure Monitoring And Regulating Systems
DateFeb 25, 2022
StateOH
Description
I have a photo of my car when I bought it people commented that the tires looked low however no sensors were on within 3 days of me buying the car and with less than 200 miles my tire started leaking air and became flat I believe the pressure in the tires was low and no sensors ever came on and after my tires were fixed the ride seemed stiffer leading me to believe the tire pressure may have been low.
CategoryVisibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 honda accord. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the sunroof exploded. The contact immediately pulled over to inspect the vehicle and discovered the failure. The next day, the contact took the vehicle to the dealer where they informed him that a rock had caused the sunroof to shatter. The contact refuted the diagnoses and stated that a rock could not have caused the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 700.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 02, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact bought his goddaughter a 2022 honda accord. The contact stated while his goddaughter's husband was driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated the brake system, the admission system, the tpms, and vehicle assist stability warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was not drivable. The owner towed the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing the vtc to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the following day, the dealer informed the contact that the engine also needed to be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 22.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Mike G

    The so called safety system is a hazard , car breaks engaged very hard when a truck entered the highway and I was in the center lane . If I was being tailgated the person would’ve definitely rear ended me .

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.