2022 GMC Sierra 1500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical system & engine issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Trailer Brake system problems? Read about our investigation into the Sierra 1500 Faulty Trailer Brake Controller.

The 2022 GMC Sierra 1500 is a truck meant for getting jobs done. The automaker claims it also contains “next-level technology.” However, customers are quick to complain about the glitchy electrical system, a defective engine and terrible service brakes.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes GMC pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 GMC Sierra 1500

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
12
Engine
5
Electrical System
4
Unknown Or Other
4
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
2
Steering
1
Lane Departure: Assist
1
Lane Departure: Warning
1

Problems with the Electrical System

With the newest technologies, there’s nothing holding a vehicle back. However, the bad electrical system in the Sierra 1500 is only keeping it from succeeding.

One NHTSA complaint says, “Check engine light came on at 458 miles. Took it in and after an hour they determined it was the ECM. They said it was bad. Now they’re on the hunt for one. In the meantime, in a day the truck has started feeling like it’s over shifting and then bogging down. 458 miles, really! I’m going to need a loaner for longer than I’ve had it and still make payments.”

Of course, there are more problems than can be counted quickly. Even Service Bulletin #21-NA-166 discusses how the turn signal stalk isn’t canceling or it’s canceling when it shouldn’t. It probably looks funny to be behind the Sierra with a crazy turn signal. It looks like it can’t make up its mind whether it should be on or off. Otherwise, it could just be grandma driving.

Problems with the Engine

The engine in a truck is essential for providing reliable power, but this motor is a disgrace to the pickup lineup.

Another NHTSA complaint says, “Purchased 2022 GMC Sierra on 1/18/2022 with 0 miles on it…On 04/08/2022 the engine started a loud knocking noise…sounded like a piston trying to shoot out of engine. Very loud. I was afraid to drive it. We took it to the dealership and they said they have had a few come back for lifter problems. Not very happy for my purchase of a brand new truck with 0 miles on it after driving for less than 3 months.”

If this wasn’t enough, take a look at Service Bulletin #PIP5844. It states that DTC P06DD gets set because there’s no oil pressure following an oil and filter change. It’s something that happens because the filter was drained and empty. However, the filter is always drained and empty for a second after an oil change. This shouldn’t lead to trouble codes setting unless it’s a defective system, which is what the Sierra 1500 is.

Problems with the Brakes

The “next-level technology” should carry over to the service brakes, but this is just one more system with major trouble.

One final NHTSA complaint says, “The contact owns a 2022 GMC Sierra 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 MPH, the “Service Vehicle” warning light displayed. Additionally, while depressing the brake pedal, the brake pedal extended to the floor however, the vehicle failed to respond or decelerate. The contact stated that the ESC, trailer brake, and brakes warning lights then illuminated. After stopping the vehicle, the contact restarted the vehicle however, the warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was then towed to the local dealer who replaced the brake master cylinder and ABS module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 9,700.”

With this problem, GMC chose not to issue a service bulletin. In fact, from the automaker’s standpoint, there seem to be no problems with the brakes besides there being more than 100 other manufacturer communications. It seems a little strange that the automaker is so willing to discuss other defects but nothing that has to do with the braking system.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes GMC pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 21, 2022
StateMT
Description
I bought the truck to pull a trailer and the truck is equipped with a max tow package. When pulling a trailer after a short distance a warning comes on a says the trailer brakes have been disengaged. I have had it to two gmc dealers and they refer me to a gm pit5948a. C159c document and is says there is no fix. I bought the truck to tow and it is unsafe to do so.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 21, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 gmc sierra 1500. The contact stated while pulling a trailer and driving 45 mph, another vehicle entered his lane spontaneously, he depressed the brake pedal; however, the vehicle failed to stop. The contact stated that the “trailer brakes disabled/service required” warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to quickly maneuver to the right to prevent an accident and continued depressing the brake pedal forcefully to stop the vehicle. The contact was able to continue driving to his residence. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer but was unable to find a fix for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that he continued to experience the failure. The contact took the vehicle to a second dealer: scenic chevrolet buick gmc (2300 rockford st, mt airy, nc 27030: (336) 429-5457) however, the mechanic was unable to find a repair for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that he continued to experience the failure. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,200.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 10, 2022
StateCA
Description
Electrical component- dashboard is constantly glitching, blue-tooth will not connect properly, electrical appears to turn off randomly while driving to the point we have to pullover because it appears and feels like the truck is turning off. Power step running boards malfunction- they don't open or close when they are supposed to. Power step running boards also malfunction while driving. It is a risk because we've had to pull over in conditions that aren't safe, putting a family of five in danger. The problem has been reported to the dealership and manufacturer and has gone unresolved.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
When I initially started the vehicle, I noticed the parking assist would not turn on. No warning lights or messages were displayed so I didn't think much of it and continued on driving. Approximately 5 miles down the road while traveling around 45 mph, I came upon a stoplight with other cars waiting. I pressed the brake to start decelerating and the pedal went all the way to the floor and vehicle did not slow down/decelerate. The check engine light, esc, trailer brake, and brakes warning lights/messages then illuminated. I was approaching the vehicle in front of me quickly so, to avoid a rear end collision, I swerved into the shoulder and was able to coast through a right turn and on to a side street where I eventually coasted to a stop. I narrowly missed a major collision and was fortunate that there was no cross traffic approaching when I turned on to the side street. This could have been catastrophic, especially if pedestrians had been in the area. After stopping, I restarted the truck and the brakes seemed to work, however, the warning lights remained illuminated. I drove slowly to the nearest dealership. They replaced the electronic brake control module. Truck has approximately 20,000 miles on it and is well maintained.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 05, 2022
StateMT
Description
While operating the vehicle, the radio went to full volume on its own. Attempts to turn it down did not work. The radio turned down, when the buttons on the steering wheel were pressed, but turned back up faster than I could turn it down. The power button on the radio also didn't work. I tried pushing it and then tried pushing and holding it down for a few seconds. I had to end up grabbing my phone and shutting the bluetooth off on the phone to get it to stop. Very unsafe and distracting. It has been documented in a forum where others have had the issue as well. It is the new infotainment system and appears to be a software bug. Here is a link to a forum where others have had the same issue. Https://www. Gm-trucks. Com/forums/topic/260308-2022-refreshed-sierra-audio-issue-max-volume/
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 03, 2022
StateSC
Description
I have owned this gmc sierra now for 4 weeks. I went to trailer our new boat and trailer with eoh braking system and during my ride home I would a trailer brakes disabled pop up then finally stayed on and lost all braking to the trailer. Trailer was check and all good then found out that many others with gmc sierras and chevy silverados had had this issue now for the past 3-4 months with gm still not having a solution yet we all have defective and very dangerous vehicles losing all braking with the trailer due to this issue. They need to be pressured to get this fix asap before someone dies. Here is the forum with many others complaining about this issue. Https://www. Gm-trucks. Com/forums/topic/260521-2022-silverado-faulty-trailer-brake-controller-and-buggy-camera-when-trailer-connected/
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 01, 2022
StateOH
Description
The braking on this vehicle is dangerous! Very poor stopping power. I'm am frightened to tow a trailer behind the vehicle because of its extremely poor stopping distance. This is so bad that I think there must be some sort of design error or something. Someone needs to look into this.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 31, 2022
StateVA
Description
New vehicle purchase on 10/17/2022. Attempted to tow 7300 lb travel trailer on 10/21/2022. When tow began dic warning message said “trailer brake disengaged. Service required” trailer is 2023 airstream with no brake failure. Disabled trailer brakes not safe to operate. Gmc dealer acknowledged the failure but unable to fix.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Service Brakes, Steering
DateOct 27, 2022
StateOK
Description
After leaving my truck parked for a couple of hours over dinner I returned to find error messages stating "service power steering / drive with care" and "service esc". I also received a notification from onstar stating "diagnostic alert: service the antilock braking system in your 2022 sierra within 1 day." my power steering was non-functional, nor were any cruise control functions. Repeated stop / start cycles did not clear the errors or regain functionality. After parking overnight everything was functional, and the errors on the dic were gone. Using a code scanner there were historical codes of u0131 and u0422.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 20, 2022
StateNM
Description
Reference gmc pit5948a : service trailer brake message with dtc c159c - october 6, 2022. When I connect my trailer that has trailer brakes the system recognizes my trailer and the trailer brakes work until I try to drive. I get an error message "trailer brakes disabled service trailer brake system". This may happen within a few feet or the longest is about a mile. Gmc has no fix and the dealer while cooperative didn't/couldn't trouble shoot the problem as the above pit has no known corrective action. Now I own a truck that has the "max trailer package" that is rated to pull 13000 lbs but has no trailer brakes. I have eliminated my new trailer as the source of the problem by making a trailer brake emulator, see pit #5509h diagnostic tip. The error continues to happen. This puts myself and the public at risk if the trailer is heavily loaded.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 11, 2022
StateWV
Description
The integrated trailer brake system errored and disabled during transport of a 5,000 pound trailer. There was a complete loss of trailer brakes. The problem has been reproduced by the dealer and the manufacturer informed. The warning was displayed at the time of the component failure.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 07, 2022
StateCO
Description
Vehicle is equipped with a max trailering package and includes an integrated brake controller. Trailer brakes become disabled within 1-2 brake applications. A "check trailer brakes" warning is displayed on the dic followed by a "trailer brakes disabled" alert. Gm has issued a bulletin no. Pit5948. Currently there is no work around or fix for the problem.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Assist
DateSep 08, 2022
StateUT
Description
The forward collision assist and lane keep assist are suddenly not working. This seems to be a software or eletrical issue.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings, Lane Departure: Warning
DateJun 22, 2022
StateMS
Description
Truck has the safety package on some point stop working bring the truck to the dealer but they don't know how to figure out I need help with this.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 16, 2022
StateCA
Description
The engine shut off completely at a traffic light and didn't start when I pressed the gas pedal to move. It has auto start to save gas and normally starts and stops at lights. This time, the car shut off completely, and I had to completely cycle through starting the car. I almost got rear ended because I took my foot off the brake to drive, and then nothing happened when I pressed the gas.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateMay 30, 2022
StateFL
Description
On 05/28/2022 my family was driving my brand new 2022 gmc sierra 1500 3. 0 diesel at a rate of 60mph. There was suddenly a loud clunk (transmission) after proceeding a little further and getting speed back to 60mph there was a similar “clunk”… the diesel truck then immediately gained several various check engine / sensor lights all over the dash and went into limp mode. Speed slowly decreased from 60mph and finally as we were navigating our final left turn to our destination the truck would not accelerate thru an intersection subjecting our entire family to utter danger of oncoming vehicles. As a last ditch effort to save ourselves I put the truck in reverse and was able to reverse about 2mph. Then proceeded to shut the truck down and turn it back on to get out of the intersection, but the truck would not come out of park. Onstar emergency was contacted to call the police as we were in an extremely dangerous situation. This truck nearly caused our entire family to get in a very bad collision. The truck was stuck in the middle of the intersection for over 2 hours. The police even attempted to help getting the truck out of park , but was unsuccessful. The truck was scanned on site and had various codes including c1555 (x4) u0101 (x2) p25a2 u220f collision assist light check engine light service traction control light service esc the truck experienced catastrophic failure at only 319 miles. Day 4 of ownership. This vehicle needs to be investigated if it is failing this early on. There also needs to be a manual release for the parking gear. Truck has no way to be placed in neutral upon failure of the transmission relay.
CategoryService Brakes, Service Brakes, Air:antilock:control Unit/module
DateApr 28, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 gmc sierra 1500. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the "service vehicle" warning light displayed. Additionally, while depressing the brake pedal, the brake pedal extended to the floor however, the vehicle failed to respond or decelerate. The contact stated that the esc, trailer brake, and brakes warning lights then illuminated. After stopping the vehicle, the contact restarted the vehicle however, the warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was then towed to the local dealer who replaced the brake master cylinder and abs module. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 9,700
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateApr 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
Check engine light came on at 458 miles. Took it in and after an hour they determined it was the ecm. They said it was bad. Now they're on the hunt for one. In the meantime, in a day the truck has started feeling like it's over shifting and then bogging down. 458 miles, really! I'm going to need a loaner for longer than I've had it and still make payments.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 12, 2022
StateOK
Description
purchased 2022 gmc sierra on 1/18/2022 with 0 miles on it... On 04/08/2022 the engine started a loud knocking noise... Sounded like a piston trying to shoot out of engine.. Very loud.. I was afraid to drive it.. We took it to the dealership and they said they have had a few come back for lifter problems.... Not very happy for my purchase of a brand new truck with 0 miles on it after driving for less than 3 months...
CategoryElectrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateMar 27, 2022
StateNM
Description
Truck drove as expected with no prior warnings. We pulled over for road snacks/drinks upon starting the truck we got a whole slew of warnings and warning lights. The warnings included:. Service esc, service trailer brake system, service brake assist, steering assist is reduced drive with care and finally brake system failure 43 mph top speed. The check engine light, traction control off and brake light stayed on. We slowly drove to an o'reilly's and got the odb code p25a2 (1 of 2 stored) and p25a2 (2 of 2 pending). I then noticed I had an email notification from onstar advanced diagnostics: this is a diagnostic alert for your gmc sierra. Dear [xxx], an issue with the antilock braking system in your 2022 gmc sierra has been detected. Please service your vehicle within 7 days. The following morning the truck was was started and all seemed normal like nothing ever happened, no warning lights or warning messages our of concern we dropped off at garlyn shelton buick gmc service center to diagnose the issue. They reported finding code c05b0 for brake fluid leak. Further states no external leaks found, brake fluid test passed 2 of 3 times, recommend needs master cylinder assembly but no replacement parts available. Information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMar 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
Service trailer brake system, service esc, steering assist is reduced, brake system failure. Almost had an accident because of the brake system failure
CategoryLane Departure
DateFeb 16, 2022
StateND
Description
The contact owns a 2022 gmc sierra 1500. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the lane departure assist function failed to operate as needed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and diagnosed as a malfunction of the lane departure assist system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • Kayla

    I have a 2022 GMC Sierra Denali 1500 i purchased March 2022. I live in Florida where it rains a lot! I’ve had leaking in the top roof of my truck near the visor on the from driver and passenger side! I have reported it to my nearest GMC service team they stated they sent it out to be fixed August 2022. Once it rained again in September 2022 I got in my truck and noticed the puddle of water in same spot again. Took it back to the GMC Service center September 2022. Hurricane Ian came in October 2022 and noticed it again. I went back to the Service center they stated they fixed it but now I get in my truck this morning and it isn’t fixed! I’m still getting rain leaking in the truck and service is saying there is no recall! What are my next steps? I paid Cash for my truck I need to know what I need to do because I’m over it with GMC!

  • Reinier

    My new gmc denali diesel 1500, no display on radio maps etc. Went to the dealer 1st time, was module problem, 2 months later, again the same problem, I thought that I bought a good truck, but now I really concerned about this.

  • Johnny

    Just bought a 2022 GMC Sierra 1500 Slt and it hasn’t even been 30 days and I haven’t Made my first payment and my Brakes became defective twice not allowing me to stop, as well as the check engine light coming on, and is yet still on. After the brake failure a message displayed in the center of my dash reading “Service Brake assist”.

  • Santos

    Just bought a new 2022 gmc sierra 1500
    I drove it for 3 weeks now and it gave me the check engine light I took it to the dealer service department and said the diesel was bad or the water was bad and smelling bad.
    They stayed with the truck service call me back and said it was the injectors they need a week to fix it..now I don’t feel right driving it I feel unsafe, it has warranty 3 years ir 36 thousands miles ..but I feel that after all thus the truck is new and it should drive right without any problems but with this I dont want it ni more
    Give me new one without problems but I havent paid my first Month and is giving problems already what can I do or should I do
    I lost with this problem.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.