2022 Mazda CX-30 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Oil consumption & Engine issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2022 Mazda CX-30 is the third model year for this subcompact crossover SUV. It has all the standard features of the 2021 model and is largely unchanged.

According to Mazda, sales from 2020 to 2021 almost doubled, moving up from 38,064 units to 60,185. This trend looks likely to continue, since they had already sold 27,767 CX-30s between January and July, 2022.

So, it’s relatively popular, but it’s certainly not without its problems.

Lemberg Law currently has a class action investigation into oil consumption issues plaguing the 2021 Mazda CX-30. It’s not difficult to see that this same problem is carried through to the 2022 model.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Mazda pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Mazda CX-30

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
2
Visibility/wiper
2
Engine
2
Service Brakes
1
Steering
1

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Mazda CX-30

It should come as no surprise to learn that the most common problem 2022 CX-30 owners are complaining about to the Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is the oil consumption issue.

Evidence of a crash indicates that there are other system failures as well.

2022 Mazda CX-30 Engine Problems

So far, the only engine problems reported to the NHTSA by 2022 CX-30 owners relate to oil consumption without leaks. This is exactly the same problem reported by 2021 CX-30 owners. For this reason, it’s worthwhile having a closer look at the 2021 experience.

2022 Mazda CX-30 Oil Consumption Problems

Mazda issued four technical service bulletins (TSBs) to the NHTSA between April 30 and November 24, 2021.

The first reports vehicles that display the “check engine” light. The reason, they said, was contamination in the engine oil. This “may cause the engine oil solenoid valve to become stuck, resulting in improper operation of the oil pump and improper oil pressure.”

The solution was to:

  • Replace the engine solenoid valve
  • Replace the engine oil filter and the oil
  • Reprogram the PCM and/or the electronic control unit (ECU)

Later TSBs, including the most recent one filed with the NHTSA on November 24, 2021, offer very different advice.

These confirm that some vehicles get the “low engine oil level” warning and a “check engine” light when engine oil levels are low. But “there doesn’t appear to be any trace of oil leakage in the engine compartment.”

This problem usually occurs when the mileage reaches approximately 3,100 – 4,700 miles.

In the most recent, November 2021, TSB dealers are instructed to tell customers:

“A small amount of the engine oil may be leaking into the combustion chamber, causing the oil consumption. Mazda has confirmed this oil leakage into the combustion chamber will not cause any immediate engine damage and the vehicle may be safely driven. The warning message and CHECK ENGINE light will go off by topping off the engine oil level.

“This is only a temporary repair and as soon as Mazda identifies the root cause, a complete repair procedure will be announced. Mazda will top off or replace the engine oil at no charge until the complete repair is provided.”

You will see from the complaints below that the issues experienced by 2022 CX-30 owners are clearly the same. However, Mazda hasn’t extended the TSBs to cover this model. Also, Mazda hasn’t yet announced a complete repair procedure.

Complaints to the NHTSA

An owner from Massachusetts states: “Low oil light came on twice in (the) first 6,000 K. Had to use a quart of oil (total) to refill. Oil dipstick showed low oil both times. Engine is consuming oil with no obvious leaks noticeable on exterior components.”

An owner from Tennessee states: “I purchased a new 2022 Mazda CX-30 in early 2022. While driving home from out of state recently, a low oil warning light popped up on the dash. I immediately pulled over and checked the level to find only 2-3mm of coverage on the dipstick, well below the safe range. I topped the engine off with a full quart of oil. The vehicle only had 68xx miles on it when this happened.”

2022 Mazda CX-30 System Failures

Although there is only one complaint about system failures, it’s a serious one that resulted in a crash. Although listed under Steering, Service Brakes, and Unknown or Other, it could be categorized as a forward collision avoidance problem.

The owner reports he put the car into reverse, “and it leaped forward and crashed and caused property damage.” Shocked by the incident, he blames a “faulty system” as well as “collision system failure” and “reverse gear failure.”

On two other occasions, the car initiated warnings like the misuse of pedals when the car was rolling downhill. He blames this on “false lane assist warnings.”

What to do if your 2022 Mazda CX-30 is a lemon? Your Lemon Rights

When a manufacturer admits they cannot identify the root cause of a problem, this is cause for concern. Apart from anything else, if they can’t fix it, the problem may recur many times.

A lemon, by definition, has persistent defects that substantially impair the safety, use, and value of cars and other items. So, if your car cannot be repaired, there’s a good chance you’ve bought a lemon.

In that situation, it’s a good move to let experts take over and negotiate a settlement of some sort for you.

Lemberg Law specializes in lemon law and helps to solve your lemon problems at no cost to you. Options we negotiate include replacement cars, buybacks, trade-ins, and cash settlements. It depends on the car and circumstances. But the good news for you is that the law insists Mazda must pay legal fees for lemon cases.

So, call our Helpline and we’ll see how we can help.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateSep 21, 2022
StateIN
Description
The windshield is wavy. I don't know if it is the shape of the window, but very hard to see it of. Several owners have the same problem in online forums. Can't drive my vehicle long distances because I get extreme headaches, and visibility is decreased.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateSep 13, 2022
StateSC
Description
I took delivery of a 2022 mazda cx-30 recently, and noticed that the windshield was very distorted. Moving my head caused the image to shift in unexpected ways. The windshield was noticeably wavy and caused double vision. The dealer replaced the windshield, but the replacement is also noticeably wavy, with an almost orange peel look through the new windshield. The new windshield also distorts the active driving display as well, which was not apparent on the original. When I complained about the replacement, the dealer's service manager said that what I am experiencing is "normal", and that "all cx-30s are this way", even though he previously admitted that he had never seen it before, and that the cx-50 he was driving did not have this issue at all. I see that mazda has a technical service bulletin for this problem for older model cx-30s. Https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2021/mc-10203731-0001. Pdf it seems that mazda has not fixed this issue, as it is very noticeable on my 2022 model cx-30. I can understand that glass will be refractive under extreme angles, but this is when I'm looking directly ahead. If I move my head at all, the image bends and distorts. Unfortunately, the issue does not lend itself well to photos, as it is most noticeable when you have both eyes open (two eyes see through the glass at slightly different angles and points on the glass). If I close one eye, I no longer get double vision, but I doubt that's the safest way to drive.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 15, 2022
StateTN
Description
I purchased a new 2022 mazda cx-30 in early 2022. While driving home from out of state recently, a low oil warning light popped up on the dash. I immediately pulled over and checked the level to find only 2-3mm of coverage on the dipstick, well below the safe range. I topped the engine off with a full quart of oil. The vehicle only had 68xx miles on it when this happened.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 08, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Car was put on rear and it leaped forward and crashed and caused property damage and driver was shocked. Faulty system, collison system failure, reverse gear failure. On two different occasions car initiated warning like misuse of pedals when car was rolling down which was errored warning. False lane assist warnings.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 19, 2022
StateMA
Description
Low oil light came on twice in first 6,000k. Had to use a quart of oil (total) to refill. Oil dipstick showed low oil both times. Engine is consuming oil with no obvious leaks noticeable on exterior components.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.