2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Powertrain, brake, electrical, & and engine issues are among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Trailer Brake system problems? Read about our investigation into the Silverado 1500 Faulty Trailer Brake Controller.

Among the top trucks on the road, the 2022 Chevy Silverado 1500, launched in 1999, continues to be hailed as one of the best from the automaker. Chevy claims it provides “a legendary engine for epic journeys.” But owners are finding fault with the engine, as well as the powertrain, electrical system, and both the trailer and service brakes.

Click on other model years to view more problems:  2017   2018   2019   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
23
Electrical System
12
Engine
7
Power Train
4
Unknown Or Other
4
Forward Collision Avoidance
2
Back Over Prevention
2
Steering
2
Air Bags
2
Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
2

Most Common Problems with the 2022 Chevy Silverado 1500

Complaints made by consumers to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) about the 2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 are incredibly varied. They cover 10 different components or systems, often citing problems with 2 or 3 of them.

The majority of complaints filed with the NHTSA between December 22, 2021, and November 15, 2022, relate to the brakes of this light-duty, half-ton truck. Most of these refer to trailer brake control, which is a huge issue for a truck that its owners use for towing. There is also a recall that relates to the brakes, although it isn’t the brakes themselves that are at fault, but rather a high-mounted brake light that doesn’t work This reduces visibility for other drivers, which increases the risk of a crash.

There are also almost as many about the powertrain (5 vs 6). Most of these complaints describe how the transmission slips, which is an issue that Chevrolet apparently knows about. But this knowledge doesn’t seem to be helping Chevy Silverado owners.

Complaints about the electrical system are varied, with most complainants listing these under 2-3 categories. At least one of the engine problems is related to the electrical system.

Airbag problems are worth mentioning because they are meant to provide the first line of defense during an accident. When they don’t work, occupants are put at risk. A woman from Pennsylvania tells how her husband was driving at 60 MPH started coughing, got distracted, and lost control of the vehicle. “The vehicle veered off the road and crashed into several trees. The airbags failed to deploy.”

The man was transported out of the vehicle to the hospital with the assistance of emergency units. Unfortunately, he had significant injuries

Problems with the Powertrain

There are serious issues with the powertrain, especially the transmission slipping.

The first complaint about this was lodged with the NHTSA in February 2022. “On the first drive every day, the transmission keeps slipping between 1st and 2nd gear and you have no power trying to accelerate until you find a gear. Took it to (the) dealership and they couldn’t find anything wrong. They said Chevrolet has a bulletin on this issue already. (This is) not okay.”

An owner from Illinois confirms that it is a problem that the manufacturer, General Motors (GM) knows about. “Since new delivery, (the) transmission appears to slip into neutral when (the) vehicle is first started and accelerated forward. (I) was advised by Chevrolet service that this is a known issue, and that GM is aware of the issue, but nothing can be done about it. Other than annoying, if a quicker move forward is required, the vehicle accelerates in neutral then grabs, causing the vehicle to slip on wet pavement, which could lead to a loss of control.”

An owner from Indiana describes how the “entire truck shudders and it feels as if the transmission slips” when driving at highway speed. This usually happens when “winding up to pass.” The vehicle doesn’t accelerate in the normal way, “it feels as if the transmission has issues finding the passing gear. After passing and letting off the gas it continues to shudder for a while until you reach a steady speed.”

Brake Failure Problems

A big problem here is an integrated trailer brake system failure. But there are other brake issues too, as the number of manufacturer communications filed with the NHTSA indicate. These are varied, with 4 relating to service brakes, 2 to service brakes, air, 1 to service brakes hydraulic, and another 4 to the parking brake.

An owner from Florida was driving when “the truck reported a brake system failure and I lost power to my brakes. I was able to pull over at the gas station and call the dealership. They said they couldn’t assist because they didn’t know what the issue was.” Nevertheless, he had the truck towed to the dealer, who kept it for 8 days and replaced the brake module. But driving home, the same thing happened. “The dashboard read “Brake system failure “. I called the dealer and this time they towed the vehicle. They said they are replacing the entire master cylinder but I don’t have faith that this will solve the issue. I’ve heard of other Chevy Silverado’s with the same issue.”

This owner reported the problem to GM HQ, but complains that “ it doesn’t seem like there is a sense of urgency or that they care about the safety concerns I have with this truck.”

Problems with the Trailer Braking System

The most recent complaint, from an owner in Pennsylvania, states that after the trailer braking system warning light came on, the dealer diagnosed an integrated trailer brake system failure. This was on November 15, 2022. But, the vehicle wasn’t repaired “due to the manufacturer not having a fix for the failure.”

According to the manufacturer communications filed with the NHTSA, GM has been working on a fix for this issue since at least September 2022.

Another complaint about the trailer brakes is from an owner in Indiana who got a “trailer brakes disabled service required” message. He was towing an RV trailer at the time and went directly to the dealership.

“They found #PIT5948A from Oct 6th, 2022 stating that engineers are aware of (the) issue for all models using this integrated trailer brake. This is an Urgent issue and critical for those pulling trailers with brakes. This is very dangerous to have trailer brakes disabled when pulling heavy trailers (and) can result in serious accidents and should be addressed immediately.”

Electrical System Problems

There are several complaints about the engine, one from an owner in Texas who states that an engine misfire caused an electrical system failure. While driving at about 75-80 mph, the truck suddenly decelerated to 40 mph “and jerked with the check engine warning light illuminated.” The dealer replaced the injector, but the failure recurred. At the time of the complaint, the vehicle was with the dealer.

A complaint from Michigan tells how a Silverado stalled while driving at 50 mph. The “Shift to Neutral” and “Restart Vehicle” messages were displayed on the instrument panel, and the vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer, where ”it was diagnosed with needing the engine to be repaired.”

Engine Problems

There are several complaints about the engine, one from an owner in Texas who states that an engine misfire caused an electrical system failure. While driving at about 75-80 mph, the truck suddenly decelerated to 40 mph “and jerked with the check engine warning light illuminated.” The dealer replaced the injector, but the failure recurred. At the time of the complaint, the vehicle was with the dealer.

A complaint from Michigan tells how a Silverado stalled while driving at 50 mph. The “Shift to Neutral” and “Restart Vehicle” messages were displayed on the instrument panel, and the vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer, where ”it was diagnosed with needing the engine to be repaired.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

You don’t have to be stuck with a lemon. So, if you think your Silverado 1500 is a lemon, contact Lemberg Law for a free evaluation of your problem. The law makes Chevrolet pay the legal fees, which means that you may be able to get your lemon out of your life.

Every year auto manufacturers buy back, replace, or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you. Call our Helpline to find out more.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateFeb 03, 2023
StateFL
Description
2022 chevrolet cilverado 1500. Consumer writes in regard to defective forward collision alert (fca).
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateFeb 01, 2023
StateTX
Description
Rear camera view intermittently displays a blank or distorted image. This issue occurs almost every time when in reverse. In most occurrences, the screen will alternate between a blank screen with a warning indication and the video display several times within the same occurrence. After the video display reappears, the camera view sometimes freezes and does not display a live feed. These issues contribute to considerable risk and liability when the vehicle is in reverse. This issue is identical to a current recall on another vehicle. Please reference safety recall notice 22s06/ nhtsa recall 22v082 for correlated information. The dealership refuses to acknowledge the issue and it has already contributed to physical damage when backing into my garage.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateJan 23, 2023
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the blind spot detection, back over prevention, and turn signals intermittently failed to operate. Additionally, the instrument panel went blank while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer replaced the headlamps; however, the failure recurred with the driver's side headlamp failing to provide adequate illumination. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 300.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJan 21, 2023
StateNY
Description
I own a 2022 silverado 1500. I purchased this truck for the purpose of towing my 20ft. Trailer, when connecting to my trailer within a few minutes a message comes on trailer brakes disabled service required, I connected to other trailers an get the same message. I took truck back to dealership and they confirmed there's a problem with truck I was told from service manager that gm is aware of problem but as of now there is no fix, I called gm and was told the same, this is totally unacceptable and dangerous
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 19, 2023
StateWI
Description
Trailer brakes disable with any trailer being plugged into. Gm has a service bulletin but no fix. It is not a plug issue either. I have tried 7 different trailers on my truck.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 17, 2023
StateMI
Description
The car has been running in remote start mode. Mode. The problem with this car is that even when I shut off the vehicle, the engine keeps running. Onstar was able to come in overnight to retrieve the truck and deliver it to the dealer. It's not safe to drive a truck in these conditions, but since my family and I were on the other side of town, we decided to slow down and head home. Note : the truck was full of gas this is a safety issue that must be addressed as people leave their trucks inside their homes while the truck is still on. It also increase the level of co2 inside the house hold . Another fact while the truck stayed on the air condition system also stayed on ( full power ) and I start smelling burned motor which I belive this would caused fire
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 17, 2023
StateWA
Description
The integrated trailer brake system fails shortly after plugging in a trailer. I have tried both my travel trailer and flatbed trailer. Both have the same issue. This started in november 2022, the first time I tried to pull one of my trailers. The message on the driver information panel would say trailer braking system disabled. System needs repair. I can't pull any trailer with electric brakes at this time. I purchased the truck in october 2022. Took it to the dealership I bought it from. They where able to make the message appear. This is reference document pit5948a-gm. They say it is being worked on, but no resolution at this time. Not sure what I am suppose to do, as I would like to use my trailers.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJan 16, 2023
StateTX
Description
When connected to a trailer with trailer brakes, the driver information center displays a message check trailer brakes when I apply the brakes. After usually the 3rd brake application the driver information center displays a message-trailer brake disabled. Local certified chevy dealer tested the brake components on a computer and verified it is the truck that has issues. They also stated there is no fix at this time and that chevrolet has known about the issue. Our dealership said to drive it without them, that is irresponsible. My vehicle is available for inspection at any time. This is very dangerous and the truck should not be driven while towing a trailer. This is a continuous issue and not intermittent.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJan 14, 2023
StateSC
Description
I was traveling on highway at 70mph and all of the sudden heard and odd noise. Throttle gave up everything was dampened. Stealing and brakes did not work. Several warnings went off which I have pictures and video of all. I got to the side of highway thank god safely. I place the truck in park and the lights & warnings remained on. I turned the truck off. Waited a moment and restarted. All warnings were gone and truck acted as normal. Let me be very clear this could have been catastrophic.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 12, 2023
StateSC
Description
error message states, trailer brakes disabled service required as your towing truck will disable trailer breaks took to gm dealer and simply stated there is no fix right now. This is unsafe when in tow to not have trailer breaks. Gm know and dealer hasn't fixed new truck tons of gm bulletin on this issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJan 09, 2023
StateOK
Description
When connected to a trailer with trailer brakes, the driver information center displays a message check trailer brakes when I apply the brakes. After usually the 3rd brake application the driver information center displays a message. Service trailer brakes. Trailer brakes disengage. Local certified chevy dealer tested the brake components on a computer and verified it is the truck that has issues. They also stated there is no fix at this time. My vehicle is available for inspection at any time. This is very dangerous and the truck should not be driven while towing a trailer. This is a continuous issue and not intermittent.
CategoryEquipment:mechanical:accessory Scissor/screw/bottle Jack/lift:stand
DateJan 06, 2023
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while attempting to change a flat tire with the vehicle jacked up using the factory-installed jack (part number 84617950), the vehicle rolled forward off the jack onto the ground. No one was injured. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and the contact was informed that the jack had not been placed on a flat surface, causing the vehicle to roll forward onto the ground. The jack was exchanged; however, the replacement jack was also defective. The contact went to a second dealer and attempted to exchange the defective jack, but the replacement jack was also defective. The manufacturer was contacted and notified of the failure, and the contact was informed to speak with a representative at the dealer for assistance; no additional assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 27,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateJan 05, 2023
StateTX
Description
I had several issues prior to this incident where certain sensors and features were not operating. The incident occurred while I was driving on the highway, I randomly lost my braking ability and my dash lit of saying my brakes had failed. I then tried to push on the brakes and even push the e brake button and got no response. Fortunately, there was no traffic as I was going 75 mph and could've been killed. I had to coast to a stop.
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic:power Assist
DateJan 05, 2023
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving 20 mph with a trailer attached, the “trailer brake disabled” message was displayed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The dealer confirmed knowledge of the failure however, there was no fix for the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted, and a case was filed. The contact was referred to the nhtsa hotline to file a complaint. The failure mileage was 1,400.
CategoryElectrical System: Integrated Trailer Brake Control, Electrical System:adas:parking Assist:sensors
DateDec 29, 2022
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that after purchasing the vehicle the rear trailer brake system was deactivated by the dealer and the contact was instructed not to tow a trailer with the vehicle. The contact was informed that the trailer brake system was faulty, and a fix was not yet available. The contact indicated that the rear parking assist was also inoperable due to a chip shortage and the audible alarm would not operate when needed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 29, 2022
StateKY
Description
My truck randomly stops activating the trailer brakes! This is a major safety problem! They are not doing anything to fix it!
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 29, 2022
StateTX
Description
Trailer brake controller, yes available for inspection randomly deactivates trailer brake controller, causing hard stopping when needed. Yes problem can be reproduced - has been confirmed by gm, they say they have no fix. Yes unit has been inspected by certified gm dealer, they say there is not a fix. Warning lamp came on same time, it quit working.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateDec 27, 2022
StateNV
Description
The adaptive cruise control does not maintain a safe gap to the vehicle in front in order to slow down or stop to avoid hard braking and/or collision. This is especially true when approaching a stopped vehicle, the adaptive cruise control continues at the speed selected and brakes really hard causing the collision warning to activate.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 19, 2022
StateLA
Description
The integrated trailer braking system will function momentarily and then disable entirely while towing a trailer. This is extremely dangerous as it will not allow the vehicle to come safely to a stop if needed. Emergency braking would be greatly hindered without functioning trailer brakes. Gm knows of this problem and "does not have a fix". See attached dealer description. This is not an isolated incident. See attached link https://www. Gm-trucks. Com/forums/topic/260521-2022-silverado-faulty-trailer-brake-controller-and-buggy-camera-when-trailer-connected/
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateDec 18, 2022
StateLA
Description
While on vacation, engine light came on , returned home due to excessive def usage, poor fuel mileage and heavy deisel smell in cab. Brought vehicle in to gerry lane on 11/8/22. *was told 7-10 days to get parts an not to drive, may catch on fire due to an open exhaust. (concerned because we drove home over 1,200 miles). From service advisor.. Our tech found the number exhaust gas temperature sensor missing from the diesel particulate filter and catalytic converter assembly, likely blown out due to excess pressure in the system. We're going to replace that sensor, the dpf/converter assembly, and the relevant seals, gaskets, and clamps for that repair.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 18, 2022
StateAZ
Description
Trailer brake system is not working. Vehicle is reporting trouble code c159c and is subject to service bulletin pit5948a per the dealership. The latest update states “gm is aware of the issue and is working on a resolution”. The latest update is almost 3 months ago. I have an active case with gm on this. Case sr:9-8884642509. They gave me a 0 credit to my chevrolet account to purchase chevy parts however I want my truck working. Not being able to use the trailer brake system is very dangerous when towing and the fact that this is a ,000 truck that I literally bought to tow my camper and can't even tow with it safely defeats the purpose of my paying for this truck.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Adaptive Cruise Control
DateDec 16, 2022
StateNV
Description
One week prior to the incident my engine had a loud ticking/knocking noise when starting up especially on a cold start, one night before thanksgiving driving to california I had my truck on cruise control 80mph when suddenly without any warning the engine shut off! My touch screen and speed gauge were still on I tried pulling over as quickly as I can with my emergency flashers on, I was almost side struck by trailers passing by me doing so! My truck got towed to the nearest chevy dealer where I was told it was an electrical issue at first, then 3 hours after that call the service team called again telling me they have found metal engine shavings and pieces in my engine while draining my engine oil. Service team told me they contacted gm for a new engine replacement and my truck will be in their shop for a month waiting for delivery and working on my truck. All this damage because of the afm dfm feature in v8 engines and it happening at 7,000 miles it's unacceptable.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 15, 2022
StateIA
Description
Purchased 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500 new on 10/4/2022. First used to tow on 10/7/2022 with less than 500 miles from new on vehicle. I hooked up our brand new camper (1 month old 2022 grand design imagine) to the truck and the integrated trailer brake controller for the first time and a message appeared on dic stating "trailer brakes disabled service required" and the trailer brakes disengaged. Restarted vehicle and the message west away, only to come back on the first time I applied the brakes. Dealership service department has been helpful in as much as they have evaluated both my truck and the camper. Found the truck integrated brake controller was not communicating properly and had a dtc of c159c. Dealership tested camper trailer brakes and found them to be working properly (as expected). Dealership service department states gm knows about this issue and has no known correction to the issue. They are keeping an open service ticket on this issue. In the interim the dealership service department has installed an aftermarket trailer brake controller so I do have trailer brakes until gm solves the issue.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
When driving with a trailer connected to the truck, the dic displays trailer brake disabled service required. Power to trailer brakes immediately ceases and the truck brakes are left to stop the truck and trailer. This is extremely dangerous for heavy loads at high speeds. Almost caused an accident due to this issue. Unable to use truck to tow out of fear for safety. Trailer was tested and inspected. Trailer was also used by another truck with no issue. Connected the truck to a different trailer with brakes and the problem replicated with the other trailer.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 08, 2022
StateGA
Description
The integrated trailer brake system will quit working mid tow. The warning something along the line of "service trailer brake, trailer brakes disabled" comes on and at that point I no longer have use of the trailer brakes while towing. This is very unsafe as I am regularly towing 4000-6000lbs. Gm does not have a solution to the problem at this time and has been no help resolving the issue. I have been told "hopefully there will be a solution soon."
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateDec 05, 2022
StateNY
Description
My 2022 silverado is affected by a couple different electronic safety issues. The first one has to do with the trailering system. When I have trailer connected that has electronic brakes on it, the vehicle gives an error message and then shuts the break control off. When this happens the trailer does not assist the truck in breaking when the pedal is pressed. The truck has to do all the work to stop not only itself, but the weight of the trailer as well. I found this out while towing my camper that weighs approximately 7500lbs. This is very dangerous and unsafe. The gm dealership has verified this issue and gave me a bulletin that came from gm that states that they are aware of the issue and they do not no what is causing it or how to fix it. I also have issues with my smaller trailers that have no brakes. When connected, the vehicle will give me random error messages about the trailer lighting. When this happens the trailer lights flash without me pressing the brakes or using turnsignals. This also is a huge safety issue. People following me may not know if I am turning or stopping, which could lead to an accident. The dealership also confirmed this issue and they believe it may be tied to the other issue outlined in gms bulletin. The bulletin doesn't say anything about trailer lights, so the dealership has no clue on what is causing it or how to fix it. The last issue is with the back up camera. It goes out periodically while backing up. This can lead to me hitting someone or something that I may not see in my mirrors. My vehicle is a truck and is pretty large. The backup camera is there to help in backing safety. The dealership did confirm this issue with a code in the computer, but they couldn't get it to replicate while it was in the shop so they are unable to get solution to fix it. I have to wait until it completely goes bad or gm releases a bulletin. I know I'm not the only one with this issue. It is documented on a few forums. I have a case with gm.
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 05, 2022
StateOK
Description
Started vehicle and all of the brake system warning lights were on. Vehicle stated that I could drive 43 mph with limited braking ability and limited steering. Basically the power assisted brakes and steering would not work. The vehicle was parked at my place of employment. Called the dealer to ask for suggestions. Ask discussing it we decided to take it to the dealership. That was a good idea as there was not enough braking power to stop the pick up in an emergency situation. It took all I could to get it to stop. Pedal to the floor and hold it tight. The service manager decided it should stay as driving it was terribly dangerous. I was told it needed a new ecs. The vehicle shouldn't be driven in this state. What if this was to happen on the highway while pulling a trailer. This would put the driver, passengers and others at severe risk. Something needs to happen. Once it's fixed do I even trust it anymore?? Gm knows about it
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateDec 02, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated when he placed the vehicle into reverse(r), the back over prevention systems failed to function as designed. The contact had taken the vehicle back to the dealer where it was purchased and was advised that the vehicle had been allowed to come off the factory line without the needed computer chips to activate the sensors and camera. The contact was told that as soon as the chips were available, he would be notified. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure and provided the contact with a similar explanation. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.
CategoryEngine
DateNov 28, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while driving at highway speeds, the front-end of the vehicle started to violently shake. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and the contact was informed that the hub extenders were defective and needed to be replaced; however, the parts for repair were on backorder. The failure persisted and the vehicle was taken to quebedeaux buick-gmc (3566 e speedway blvd, tucson, az 85716) and the contact was provided the same diagnosis and information as the previous dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided a case number. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 4,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 28, 2022
StateOK
Description
Gm is rolling trucks off the production line with a known trailer brake controller fault. This issue causes the truck to lock out the trailer braking function immediately after applying braking with a trailer attached. This causes stopping distance to be dramatically increased resulting in greater risk of an accident. Gm needs to correct this issue before loss of life occurs. This seems to be wide spread. Https://www. Gm-trucks. Com/forums/applications/core/interface/file/attachment. Php? Id=166822&key=85381e43bf444ec4cbd8ddc48e53190b
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateNov 23, 2022
StateWI
Description
While towing a 7500lb trailer the trailer brakes quit working. The module says trailer brakes disconnected. Servive teailer brakes. Gm dealer diagnosed, said they are aware of the problem. Issued a bulletin pit5948a. But there is no fix available. This could kill someone.
CategoryPower Train, Power Train:automatic Transmission:gear Position Indication (prndl)
DateNov 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that the service transmission warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the shift selector had seized. The contact called the local dealer where a service appointment was scheduled but the vehicle was not yet diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 3,500.
CategoryService Brakes, Trailer Hitches
DateNov 15, 2022
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that the trailer braking system failure warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who diagnosed that there was an integrated trailer brake system failure. The vehicle had not been repaired due to the manufacturer not having a fix for the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,750.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 11, 2022
StateFL
Description
On 11/10/2022 I was driving in moderate to heavy traffic at low speed; approximately twenty (20) mph. I applied the brakes and immediately experienced a hard pedal coupled with some pulsating. I pressed the pedal as hard as I could as there was traffic stopped in front of me. At the same time every warning light illuminated on the dashboard. My truck stopped just short of colliding with the other vehicle in front of me. The message displayed on the dash read “brake system failure” followed by a second message which read “trailer brake failure”, and then an additional message that read “do not exceed 42 mph”. Fortunately there was a chevy dealership nearby. I drove the vehicle at very low speed to their service department and currently wait a diagnosis. My chevrolet app also sent me a text at the time of the incident which read “diagnostic alert: service the antilock braking system in your 2022 silverado within 1 day”. My experience is similar to another incident which was reported to your agency in september of this year involving the same model truck. Note: I was not pulling a trailer at the time of the incident.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 02, 2022
StateIN
Description
Service trailer brake message with dtc c159c; upon attaching my rv trailer, the trailer connected to the integrated systems as expected. Went though light inspections. I adjusted trailer brake gain. Upon first drive the message: trailer brakes disabled service required. Took vehicle to dealership. They found #pit5948a from oct 6th, 2022 stating that engineers are aware of issue for all models using this integrated trailer brake. This is an urgent issue and critical for those pulling trailers with brakes. This is very dangerous to have trailer brakes disabled when pulling heavy trailers can can result in serious accidents and should be addressed immediately. I've also not seen any communications on this from gm.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 24, 2022
StateMA
Description
From day one of purchasing this vehicle the trailer brake controller would stop working after a mile or so while towing either of my two trailers. I brought the truck back to the dealer to get this issue fixed and their service response was "we could not duplicate problem, it must be with your trailer". I have two 10k trailers and both have same issue with my truck. I then went to and utility trailer dealer to determine if a new/never used trailer on the lot would duplicate them problem, which it did, proving the issue is not with my trailers, it is with the truck. This issue is a true safety issue because the warning 'brakes disabled' does not show up until you start driving/pulling a trailer. The brake controller message comes up on front display (trailer brakes disabled service required) and this shuts off trailer brakes which is a true safe issue if the vehicle needs stop. I've researched this issue extensively and social media platforms have this same issue reported however to my dismay there are no active or open recalls. I need this fixed and I will continue to pursue and raise this issue as it's both dangerous and frustrating that I purchased a very expensive vehicle where I cannot use it as I need to.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 15, 2022
StateAL
Description
This vehicle has integrated electric brake system. After hooking up homesteader hercules trailer, went through all settings, adjusted brake gain, brakes worked for 1 minute, then alert appeared "trailer brakes disabled" "service trailer brake system". This is an ugent issue; the trailer is a 6x12 dual axle and the electric brakes are essential. The silverado zr2 is a heavy truck, but depending on only the truck brakes on wet pavement could be disastrous! The dealership has been notified and will run a diagnostic check on it. But, one of the reasons I purchased this truck is the fact it came with the electric brake control system factory installed. (zr2 only has 237 miles on it currently)
CategoryEngine
DateOct 03, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while driving approximately 75-80 mph, the vehicle inadvertently decelerated to 40 mph and jerked with the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed with an engine misfire in cylinder # 4, causing an electrical system failure. The dealer replaced the injector; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer where it was determined that the injector needed to be replaced again. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000.
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 27, 2022
StateFL
Description
As I was driving my vehicle on 9/12 the truck reported a brake system failure and I lost power to my brakes. I was able to pull over at the gas station and call the dealership. They said they couldn't assist because they didn't know what the issue was. I called a tow truck and had it towed to the dealer. They had my truck for 8 days and replaced the brake module and gave me back my truck. I noticed that the truck had only moved 1 mile from the time I left it at the dealer. No one test drove the vehicle prior to giving it back to me. As I was driving home on 9/20 my brakes failed again and I lost power. The dashboard read “brake system failure “. I called the dealer and this time they towed the vehicle. They said they are replacing the entire master cylinder but I don't have faith that this will solve the issue. I've heard of other chevy silverado's with the same issue at the dealer in saint cloud and obt. I've reported this to gm hq and it doesn't seem like there is a sense of urgency or that they care about the safety concerns I have with this truck… I do not feel safe in that vehicle and need your help. The first file is from 9/12 and the second file is from 9/20. See attached
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System, Forward Collision Avoidance: Warnings
DateSep 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
Truck was less than a month old and one day would not start due to a dead battery. After putting a battery charger on the truck, I got it started. Drove it for a bit and had warnings appear in the cluster saying functions are shutting down to conserve battery power. I then received an e-mail from onstar indicating their is an issue with the airbags and to have the dealership look at this within 1 day. Truck was brought to the dealership the next day. After almost 2 weeks, a gm engineer had to get involved to diagnose why the forward collision module was shorting out which caused the battery to drain. The day after is was allegedly fixed, the light came on again in the cluster. The very next day, the brake pedal went rock hard when I tried starting the truck but could not start it since it appeared the truck did not recognize the brake being pressed on. After about 10 minutes of trying to start the truck, it did start. As far as earlier stated about the airbag warning, the dealership said it was a glitch in onstar trying to do an update which may have shorted out the forward collision module. Well, the truck is in for repair again for the same problem. In addition, the truck will lock randomly with the key fob inside the truck. This even happened at the dealership when the service advisor was checking my truck in the first time. I truly believe there is a serious electrical issue going on with this truck and feel unsafe driving it not knowing what might shut down, not work, air bags being deployed for no reason, or not being able to avoid a collision.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 24, 2022
StateMA
Description
Hood scoop is painted in a gloss and the angel makes the sun reflection on the back of it blind the driver. Needs immediate attention
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance
DateAug 16, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado. The contact stated that while her husband was driving at approximately 25 mph a vehicle in front came to a sudden stop, the contact stated that the vehicle is equipped with front collision avoidance equipment. The husband crashed into the rear end of the vehicle. The contact's vehicle had damage to the front bumper which was crushed following contact with the other vehicle's bumper and trailer hitch. The other vehicle suffered light scratch damage to the trailer hitch and bumper. The contact stated that the collision avoidance light was illuminated. There were no injuries, both vehicles were drivable. Additionally, the contact stated that the auto-high beam feature had stopped functioning. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer or independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,105.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 16, 2022
StateIN
Description
While driving at highway speed and winding the engine up to pass, the entire truck shudders and it feels as if the transmission slips. The vehicle does not accelerate normally and it feels as if the transmission has issues finding the passing gear. After passing and letting off the gas it continues to shudder for a while until you reach a steady speed. Occurs with or without a load. When loaded with weight in bed (such as a load of firewood) and/or towing a trailer the shudder/vibration and slipping feeling are more pronounced when just passengers are in the vehicle. Vehicle has about 3000 miles and the issue is occurring more frequently. Started at about 2. 5 k miles or so. Dealer was unable to duplicate on my first service call. I will take it back again when it happens.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJul 29, 2022
StateTX
Description
Was driving and all the lights came on check engine light, abs, parking brake light and traction control all came on at once. The rmp went up and wouldn't shift gears and we wasnt able to stop or even steer. The steering wheel got really hard. We turned the truck off and turned it back on all the lights went off expect the check engine light. Once we got home we turned off again and turned it back on and the check engine light came off. I also have a video of everything happening just wasn't able to load.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train:automatic Transmission
DateJun 01, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was turned off using the push start feature, the vehicle would start rolling away. The vehicle failed to shift to park(p) once the vehicle was turned off. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMay 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
Def system defect causes truck to reduce speed repeatedly until minimal 5mph. Message reads: “67 miles until 65 mph max speed”. Will repeat with repeated reduction of maximum speed. Placing vehicle in a dangerous position when not in proximity of repair facility or at night.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 18, 2022
StateIL
Description
Since new delivery, transmission appears to slip into neutral when vehicle is first started and accelerated forward. Was advised by chevrolet service that this is a known issue, and that gm is aware of the issue, but nothing can be done about it. Other than annoying, if a quicker move forward is required, the vehicle accelerates in neutral then grabs, causing the vehicle to slip on wet pavement, which could lead to a loss of control.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 15, 2022
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated while her son was driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the "shift to neutral" and "restart vehicle" messages were displayed on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not drivable. The contact towed the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing the engine to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,340.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 14, 2022
StateTX
Description
I have two gm vehicles. 1) 2022 gmc sierra denali 4x4; 6. 2 v8 and 2) 2022 chevy silverado high country; 6. 2 v8 as well. My chevy is producing a mysterious black substance, whereas the sierra does not. I am being told that this behavior is normal. I would expect the same behavior from both vehicles, but that is not the case.
CategoryPower Train
DateFeb 26, 2022
StateUT
Description
On the first drive everyday, the transmission keeps slipping between 1st and 2nd gear and you have no power trying to accelerate until you find a gear. Took it to dealership and they couldn't find anything wrong. They said chevrolet has a bulletin on this issue already. Not okay
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 22, 2021
StatePA
Description
The contact owns a 2022 chevrolet silverado 1500. The contact stated that while her husband was driving at 60 mph and coughing, he got distracted and lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle veered off the road and crashed into several trees. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact's husband did not recall whether a warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the following distance indicator feature of the vehicle that would cause the vehicle to decelerate when approaching an object failed to respond while the vehicle was veering towards the trees. The contact's husband was transported out of the vehicle to the hospital with the assistance of emergency units. The contact's husband sustained chips to his spine, c7+1 chips on his neck, a laceration on his forehead, bruises on the upper body, and a left broken rib. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a tow lot, then it was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 1100.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
3 COMMENTS
  • Karl

    Pulling with 2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Duramax – the truck shivers at 48 to 60 mph under a load. Had the Chevy Dealership look at it to no surprise no issues found at 1,500 miles and about 6,800 miles.
    Now at 10,758 miles check engine light comes on and OnStar sends a message to have the emissions checked. Have an appointment for two weeks out now and after researching this I find a number of folks with this issue and the DEF heating element/control.
    I will know more after Thanksgiving, and am I thankful I bought a Chevy, not!
    Hopefully they get their stuff together before long. Never should have gotten rid of my 2011 Ford F250 diesel.

  • Ismet k

    I purchased new 2022 Silverado 2,7 l
    And have issue with 1&2 gear took to dealer and was informed that they can’t do anything for me
    Contacted Chevy manufacturer was told same thing
    Looking for advice

  • calvin s

    i was the person in the artical talked to supervisor at gm, i was told the airbags were in compliance .do not beleve 60mph into a tree is in compliance .i need help still have problems from accedent.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.