2019 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Fuel system, powertrain and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

There are few heavy-duty trucks as capable as the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. The automaker claims the newest lineup “takes on any undertaking,” except customers argue that nothing gets repaired. From the faulty engine to the defective transmission and dangerous fuel system, there’s a lot that needs to be addressed on these pickups.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 3500

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Unknown Or Other
3
Power Train
2
Equipment
1
Back Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking
1
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
1
Fuel System, Other:fuel Filter
1
Engine
1
Fuel/propulsion System
1

Problems with the Engine

A heavy-duty truck is only as good as its engine. Under the hood of the Silverado 3500, there’s nothing but disappointment.

Read this Edmunds review as an example. “Bought a new 2019 Chevy Silverado 3500 Diesel LTZ 4×4. The window sticker indicated the vehicle was equipped with an engine block heater. I no purchased the vehicle and came to find out, according to the dealership the GM factory in Flint, MI cut the cord off to disable it due to a recall for vehicle fires. Neither GM or the dealership noted this fact on the window sticker nor did they tell me prior to purchase. Neither GM or the dealership will do anything other than say GM is working on a fix. I requested they purchase the vehicle back and they refuse. I call this consumer fraud GM and the dealer acts as if this is okay to do to a customer.”

The recall that is being referred to can be seen with NHTSA Campaign Number 19V328000. It states that more than 300,000 vehicles have a short circuit condition with the engine block heater. Instead of repairing it, the service departments cut the cord to disable it and avoid truck fires. Sadly, owners bought the vehicle with the optional engine block heater for a reason, without being told it wouldn’t work. It’s like buying a pickup truck without a truck bed and being told they are working on figuring out the solution. This really isn’t that complicated.

Problems with the Powertrain

The problems continue with the powertrain, which is an essential part that shouldn’t be defective. After all of these years of manufacturing transmissions, the Chevrolet Silverado still can’t get it right.

One simple comment on Edmunds puts it perfectly by saying, “Transmission won’t stay working.”

The issues with GM transmissions have reached the point of being involved in class-action lawsuits. In fact, customers are looking for some reimbursement for the transmission shaking, shuddering and jerking they have had to put up with. The ride quality could even be compared to that of a bucking bull.

Problems with the Fuel System

A final examination of the fuel system shows just as many defects, causing even more anger among consumers.

One NHTSA complaint reads, “The contact owns a 2019 Chevrolet Silverado 3500. While driving 45-65 mph and towing a Work and Play tow trailer, the contact noticed smoke rising from underneath the vehicle. The contact also detected diesel fuel leaking while the ignition was in the On position and that the fuel filter housing had detached. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to [dealer] where it was diagnosed that the screw detached from the fuel filter housing. The vehicle was not repaired.”

GM isn’t hiding any fuel system issues either. The company goes as far as issuing Service Bulletin #16NA383 that talks about an extended crank or misfiring situation, as well as rough idle and Check Engine Light alerts. To resolve the situation, the automaker advises customers to use a fuel injection cleaner instead of fixing the problem that is leading to the excessive buildup. It’s the classic tactic of diverting from the original issue in hopes that no one will notice who is to blame. However, all eyes are on Chevy at this point, making it impossible for the manufacturer of the Chevrolet Silverado to fool people any longer.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Chevrolet pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 16, 2022
StateFL
Description
Truck was parked, windows up with the key/fob partially inserted into the ignition. Spare key/fob was approximately 2 miles away. Mid afternoon on saturday I could hear a vehicle start run for a few seconds and shut off. I assumed it was a neighbors vehicle. This occurred at least 5 times and it peaked my interest. It was my truck starting on its own. I went outside and opened the drivers door… the radio stopped playing and the dash went dark. It has not repeated since saturday. Mileage 41256. Approximately 3 months ago the radio would automatically scroll/change channels…gm said it was not covered under warranty. So I decided to let it go. About 3 weeks ago the radio started working okay.
CategoryEquipment
DateDec 03, 2021
StateMN
Description
The contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 3500. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 21v496000 (equipment) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact called the local dealer who stated that parts were not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified but, no further assistance was provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Rearview System Braking, Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 11, 2021
StateMI
Description
The rear camera on this truck and many others is faulty. It is too blurry and foggy on a readily see anything in it. These have been made a required safety item, and what is the point of it if it is junk within 2 years on a 70k vehicle and is useless.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 19, 2021
StateUT
Description
Truck had a vibration in 4wd when accelerating since purchased new in september 2018. Found excessive metal on transfer case magnetic drain plug. After several warranty visits to multiple dealership service departments that denied any warranty issue existed, I paid out of pocket to have a reputable transmission company pull and open up the transfer case. The transmission company determined the transfer case had a manufacturing defect where a drive sprocket had been improperly spaced on the output shaft causing the 4wd chain to run at an angle destroying the chain and drive sprockets. Gm refused to admit any fault or pay for the repair on a vehicle with only 37,000 miles and a 5 year, 100,000 mile warranty.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 20, 2020
StateTN
Description
Vehicle is used to tow a fifth wheel rv. The exhaust heat from the truck has melted /deformed fiberglass and plastic on the fifth wheel directly behind the exhaust outlet. The truck is completely stock without any after market additions. The truck has less then 10 k miles, and the damage occurred around 8500 miles. I am concerned about the truck causing a fire on the rv. I have contacted the manufacturer but they have not offered any resolution to the problem. I cannot specify whether the damage occurred when standing or driving as it was discovered after a long trip. ## vin passed ## chevrolet silverado 3500 2019 6. 6 duramax diesel ##
CategoryFuel System, Other:fuel Filter
DateOct 11, 2019
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2019 chevrolet silverado 3500. While driving 45-65 mph and towing a work and play tow trailer, the contact noticed smoke rising from underneath the vehicle. The contact also detected diesel fuel leaking while the ignition was in the on position and that the fuel filter housing had detached. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to glynn smith chevrolet buick gmc (600 columbus pkwy, opelika, al 36801, (334) 787-9904) where it was diagnosed that the screw detached from the fuel filter housing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and referred the contact to the local dealer. The failure mileage was 6,280. The vin was invalid.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateNov 10, 2018
StateUT
Description
Experienced known chuggle issue at only 200 miles on the new vehicle. Information regarding this known issue by gm below (known issue since 2017). #pip5480: hesitation, bump or chuggle involved region or country: north america additional rpo/s: 6. 6 l5p condition: customer concern may be of a hesitation, bump, chuggle, jerk or a feeling of harshness under the following conditions:  1. Vehicle speed in the range of 25-45 mph.  2. Light accelerator pedal tip-in or tip-out maneuver.  3. Transmission in 3rd gear. Cause under investigation. Gm engineering is aware of this concern and is working on a resolution (since 2017 when l5p power plant was released yet they keep releasing vehicles with this issue)

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
1 COMMENT
  • Ray S

    I’m 36 years old I bought my very first new vehicle a 2019 Chevy 3500 the truck was nice enough and the price seemed fair I own a business and thought I need a reliable truck I shouldn’t have to mess with for at least a year well worst mistake ever I put 77,000 miles on the truck in 2020 at and it cost me 13,000 just to do that I hate this truck so much I parked it refused to drive it or fix it when the fuel system failed and the dealer told me it all had to be replaced at a cost of 9,000

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.