2022 Hyundai Veloster Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Lane departure & Structural issues are among the top complaints reported from vehicle owners

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

Updated on Author: Brian Jones

The 2022 Hyundai Veloster is a funky hatchback that draws a lot of attention. It’s also meant to be powerful, with the automaker saying “own the corners.” However, customers are struggling to feel safe in the Veloster with the faulty lane departure system and terrible construction.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019    2020    2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2022 Hyundai Veloster

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Lane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
12
Power Train
1

Problems with the Lane Departure System

Today’s modern safety systems are designed to protect drivers. However, Hyundai seems to have dropped the ball with the basic lane departure technology.

One NHTSA complaint says, “After replacing the OEM summer tires to Continental DWS, the Blind spot detection system is malfunctioning always saying there is a car in my blind spot when there is no car there. Same tire size as OEM was put on my OEM Rims. My car has less than 1000 miles right now, brand new bought it with 11 miles and was working fine. Nothing has been changed other than tires. Hasn’t been in an accident, Windshield is spotless. Nothing has hit my rear bumper. I don’t know why and neither do dealerships why my BSD is triggering falsely with just a tire change. Please Help.”

Aside from the issues occurring when customers change the tires, there are also concerns with vibrations. Service Bulletin #20-SS-004H states that wheel and tire balancing must occur to stop the vibrations. In the meantime, drivers can “own the corners” while feeling a shaking and vibrating sensation that seems unnatural. Talk about a thrilling ride.

Are you having issues with your blind spot detection/lane departure system? Read our post on the Veloster Blind Spot Detection Problem.

Problems with the Vehicle Structure

A quick look at how the Hyundai Veloster was built shows that there are bigger issues to deal with. The structure doesn’t seem to be well-thought-out.

In fact, the Edmunds editors say, “long driver’s door can make tight parking spots awkward.”

Sadly, Hyundai doesn’t seem to have paid close attention to any component that was put into the Veloster, including the vital engine. In fact, looking back at 2021 models, it’s easy to see the problems that are coming down the pipeline with the 2022 lineup. NHTSA Campaign Number #21V301000 says that models with affected engines may not have properly treated piston oil rings. Because of this oversight, stalling and engine damage can occur.

Additionally, if there is an oil leak on the hot exhaust, a car fire could occur. Of course, this isn’t the first time that Hyundai has been facing lawsuits because of engine fires, so the company is probably used to it by now. At this point, it might be best for customers to trade in the thrill of the Veloster with something that isn’t trying to kill them.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMar 03, 2023
StateCO
Description
After replacing the tires with the same size tires on the oem wheels the blind spot monitoring system malfunctions. The lights in the side view mirrors flash and the audible blind spot warning alerts nearly every time the blinker is used. I have contacted hyundai consumer affairs and they claim there are no reports of issues.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateDec 26, 2022
StateNY
Description
After changing from stock summer tires to all season tires; the blind spot monitoring system malfunctioned and no longer works. There is no dealer fix for this problem.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateDec 15, 2022
StateIL
Description
The blindspot monitor system in the hyundai veloster n does not function as well as other hyundai vehicles do. While driving, the blindspot monitor will randomly go off even if there is no car in my blindspot and it will sometimes not go off when there is a car driving in my blindspot. I took the car to the dealership to fix the issue and after waiting for weeks to get my car back, my local hyundai dealership was unable to fix it and I was told there would be a recall for it eventually. Many other cars, including hyundai vehicles, have perfectly working blindspot monitors. The veloster n does not have the best visibility and I rely on them to help avoid crashing into the car next to me when I am changing lanes.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateOct 18, 2022
StateGA
Description
After changing to tires (michelin pilot sport all season) that can handle lower temperatures than the pirelli pzero, the bsm system is now giving false alerts, and is unreliable.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateOct 03, 2022
StateMO
Description
The blind spot detector is malfunctioning. The light is on even when there is no car present. I've talked with several other who have the same make/model car and they're all having the same issues.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 28, 2022
StateWV
Description
Dct transmission failed to shift out of first gear, engine over rev light came on (white, yellow, red - 7000 rpm!). Got it off the road. Car did it 3 times on the 50 mile trip. Had it towed to dealer, thomas hyundai in cumberland, md. They said they couldn't duplicate it, car is not showing any codes and they would not do any work on it without a tsb from hyundai. This is dangerous. It drove ok for a week or two then on thursday august 25 it did it again. Somebody is going to get hurt with this thing. Date below is most recent incident. Veloster forum has several people with same occurrence. Hyundai customer service told me that "if it was at the dealership now, unless diagnostics showed a problem, they could not work on it". I did tell them that this car is dangerous.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateMay 09, 2022
StateNC
Description
Left and right side blind spot indicators illuminate unnecessarily, causing undue concern while trying to change lanes as the car alerts to a potential collision when there is no hazard. The problem is very intermittent, and seems to have some correlation to the vehicle's tires, as the issue began occurring after I switched to michelin pilot sport a/s 4 tires from the factory pirelli p zero tires. This is especially problematic because hyundai has decided to ship this model vehicle with summer performance tires that are unsafe to drive in temperatures under 50°f all 12 months of the year, so there are numerous customers who have needed to switch tires for safety, and then had their bsm system malfunction. A software or hardware fix for this issue is needed as soon as possible.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateApr 29, 2022
StatePA
Description
The blind spot warning system no longer functions correctly after changing the stock wheels/tires on the vehicle. Immediately following the change of wheels/tires, the blind spot warning system reports false positives frequently, requiring me to turn off the system. This affects my safety and others because I can no longer trust the accuracy of the system, and need to completely turn it off. I have not yet had this issue inspected by the manufacturer, but this same issue has been reported by a large amount of users who also changed their wheels or tires on their vehicle. Many report that they have gone to their dealerships and have had replacement systems installed, but with no remedy to the issue.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateJan 18, 2022
StateGA
Description
After changing the stock tires to all seasons (continental extreme contact dws 06 plus) using the stock rims, the car started giving false positive blind spot warnings on the passenger side. This affect the use of such security feature as is not reliable anymore.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateDec 12, 2021
StateMD
Description
Right side bsd permanently turned on. Cannot signal right without it going off. Consistent false positive on right side bsd
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateDec 11, 2021
StateVA
Description
After replacing the oem summer tires to continental dws, the blind spot detection system is malfunctioning always saying there is a car in my blind spot when there is no car there. Same tire size as oem was put on my oem rims. My car has less then 1000 miles right now, brand new bought it with 11 miles and was working fine. Nothing has been changed other then tires. Hasn't been in an accident, windshield is spotless. Nothing has hit my rear bumper. I don't know why and niether do dealerships why my bsd is triggering falsely with just a tire change. Please help.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateNov 03, 2021
StateWA
Description
Blind spot monitoring system gives multiple false warnings on both passenger and driver side after replacing wheels and tires from oem spec. Issue is only resolved when oem tires and wheels are placed on the car. Oem tires had to be replaced as I live in a colder environment where the p zero's will start to crack.
CategoryLane Departure: Blind Spot Detection
DateNov 02, 2021
StateCO
Description
The car ships with "summer" tires that cannot be used when it is cold. I replaced the tires with goodyear eagle exhilarate 235 /35 r19 91y xl vsb. After the change the blind spot warning sensors continuously false trigger (both driver and passenger side). I contacted the dealer but they did not know how to resolve.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.